Charleston Regional Business Journal - August 23, 2021 - Includes Market Facts Supplement

Page 4

4

www.charlestonbusiness.com

August 23 - September 5, 2021

LOWCOUNTRY NEWSROOM Executive Editor - Andy Owens aowens@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3142 Editor, Custom Publishing Division Steve McDaniel smcdaniel@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3123 Staff Writer - Teri Errico Griffis tgriffis@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3144 Research Specialist - Paige Wills pwills@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3125 News Editor - Alexandria Ng ang@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3124 Digital Editor - Rob Lyle rlyle@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3119 MIDLANDS NEWSROOM Editor - Melinda Waldrop mwaldrop@scbiznews.com • 803.726.7542 UPSTATE NEWSROOM Editor - Ross Norton rnorton@scbiznews.com • 864.720.1222 Associate Editor, Custom Publishing Division Jim Tatum jtatum@scbiznews.com • 864.720.2269 Staff Writer - Molly Hulsey mhulsey@scbiznews.com • 864.720.1223 LOWCOUNTRY ACCOUNT EXECUTIVES Account Executive Thomas J. Giovanniello, Jr. tomg@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3104 Account Executive Amanda Alford aalford@bridgetowermedia.com • 843.849.3109

South Carolina’s Media Engine for Economic Growth

Group Publisher - Rick Jenkins rjenkins@scbiznews.com • 864.720.1224 Director of Advertising - Robert Reilly rreilly@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3107 Creative Director - Ryan Wilcox rwilcox@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3117

Best Advice

Accounting - Robin Tillotson ar@pbmbrands.com • 336.605.1025 Subscription Services service@bridgetowermedia.com • 877.615.9536 CUSTOM MEDIA DIVISION Director of Business Development Mark Wright mwright@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3143

PRESIDENT 1ST CHOICE A/C, HEATING, PLUMBING & GAS

“THE BEST ADVICE I’VE EVER RECEIVED … is to trust in God and ask for the guidance to have his blessings in life and be a blessing to others. I truly believe that if you ask then you will receive and if you give you will get. I take great pride in helping others in the A/C, heating, plumbing and gas industry to be able to come to a happy place they call work and to be an elite team. We want everyone to succeed, grow, have opportunities, feel cared for, be well trained, well rested, excited to take care of our customers and always do the right thing. It’s the people with the same values and mindset that are selected to represent the company and are the company. It’s not a one-person hero it’s a family team. Those people have to be taken care of and rewarded just like we are with the blessings that we work and pray for. At 1st Choice A/C, Heating, Plumbing & Gas LLC we happily serve the community with honesty, experience and a great attitude that is for the customers best interest.”

INTERESTING FACT

Myers is conuinely creating, including graphics on his company’s vehicles, grills, smokers and fire pits where friends and family are always gathering. He also creates his own spice rubs and recipes. “There’s nothing better than providing for others and the smiles and laughs that come along with the different foods prepared. It’s a hobby. I always say build a longer table. Not a higher fence,” he said.

Events Account Executive - Melissa Tomberg mtomberg@scbiznews.com • 864.720.1220 Events Manager - Kim McManus kmcmanus@scbiznews.com • 843.849.3116

TIM MYERS

Photo/Stan Foxworthy

HEART OF AN ENTREPRENEUR

Tim Myers started working very young mowing lawns, bailing hay, planting bluberry bushes, haulig sand. detassling corn, stocking shelves at a grocery store and anything else he could do to earn money. He joined a heating and air conditioning company when he was a teen, where he worked on milk coolers at a farm and commercial A/C units in his small town. Soon after he moved from Indiana to South Carolina to be with family, he started working at the local company in Mount Pleasant. Myers thought he could do a better job out on his own by charging honest prices and making sure problems were diagnosed correctly. “They knew I cared, and it wasn’t just money to me. It is so much more.” He ran is company from 1999 to 2010, and eventually he decided to sell, but after working for someone else for several years, he decided it as time to start a new company: 1st Choice.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION Charleston Regional Business Journal (USPS 18822) is published biweekly, 27 times per year, including one special issue in February, by SC Biz News. 1802 Dayton St, Suite 101, North Charleston, SC 29405. Periodicals postage paid at Charleston, SC. Mailing address: 1802 Dayton Street, Suite 101, North Charleston, SC 29405. Postmaster: Send address changes to: Subscription Services PO Box 1051 Williamsport, PA 17703-9940

Annual subscribers receive 27 issues of the Business Journal including The Book of Lists and Newsmakers, plus four special supplements: Profiles in Business, Event Planning Guide, Market Facts, and Giving. One year (27 issues) for $57.95; two years (54 issues) for $92.95; three years (81 issues) for $ 129.95. Subscribe, renew, change your address or pay your invoice by credit card online at www.charlestonbusiness.com or call 877-615-9536.

NWS Company LLC A portfolio company of BridgeTower Media

The entire contents of this newspaper are copyright by NWS Company LLC with all rights reserved. Any reproduction or use of the content within this publication without permission is prohibited. SCBIZ and South Carolina’s Media Engine for Economic Growth are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.


Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.