Page 1

A year in the life of The Salvation Army SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 1

ANNUAL REVIEW 2012

THE SALVATION ARMY UK AND REPUBLIC OF IRELAND TERRITORY 17/1/13 09:23:54


The year in facts and figures There are more than 800 Salvation Army social service centres and churches (corps). We run 120 drop-in centres offering support and help for people in need and serve 3,000,000 meals every year at community and residential centres.

We run 6 specialist drug & alcohol detox centres. We provide structured resettlement and support programmes within 50 Lifehouses. The Salvation Army’s work with older people includes 17 care homes and 2 day centres.

Every working day, we reunite 10 people with their families through our Family Tracing Service.

CONTENTS 3

A word of welcome from our UK Leaders

4

A year of service to people in crisis

6

A year at the heart of our communities

8

A year of faith and Christian witness

10

A year of action against global poverty

11

A year of good stewardship

SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 2

The Salvation Army is a worldwide evangelical Christian church. Our message is based on the Bible; our motivation is the love of God as revealed in Jesus Christ. Inspired by our faith, we engage in a programme of practical action to serve the community, to help those who are suffering and in need, and to fight for social justice.

17/1/13 09:23:57


A word of welcome from our UK Leaders familiar to people who know us well. But even if you think you know The Salvation Army, you may be surprised by the diversity of the work we do, often in the front line of society’s gravest and most pressing problems. Where people are hurting most – as result of economic hardship, family breakdown, drugs, gambling, crime, violence or human trafficking – The Salvation Army is there, working in practical ways to heal people’s suffering and set them free from the evils that oppress them. We have never been slow to challenge injustice, and this past year has been no exception. We have continued to highlight the things that are wrong with our society, such as poverty and social exclusion, and to press those in authority to take action to put them right.

John Matear, Commissioner, UK Leader 2006-12

‘For us, every new day is a fresh opportunity to put our faith into action.’ ‘It is by deeds that I will show you my faith.’ These words of St James’ Epistle (2:18) sum up what The Salvation Army is all about. To us, our Christian faith would not be complete if it wasn’t expressed in service to others. This Annual Review bears witness to the continued vibrancy and dynamism of The Salvation Army and puts on record just some of the life-changing work we have done over the year. Much of it will be

ONE MAN’S STORY

At the same time, we have always had clearly in our minds and hearts the driving force of our lives: our burning desire to draw people to Christ. We have also played our full part among the Free Churches and in the wider Christian church. The Salvation Army is one of the most highly professional and effective charities in this or any other country. Yet we judge our success, not by budgets or performance indicators, but by the difference we have made to the lives of our fellow human beings. In this Review, you will read about some of those we have helped, but they are only a tiny fraction of the people whose lives we have touched in the past eventful year. Please enjoy reading this Review. We hope it will give you new faith in what people can achieve when inspired by their Christian beliefs and their love for suffering humanity.

Commissioners André & Silvia Cox, UK Territorial Leaders from April 2012

‘You caught me at my lowest, put a roof over my head and

helped me move on’ Then, out of the depths of despair, Bill saw a glimmer of hope. The Salvation Army offered him shelter at our local Lifehouse. Lifehouses – more than 70 of them across the UK – are centres for homeless people which don’t just offer a meal and a bed for the night, but a whole new start in life. At the Salvation Army centre, Bill’s life took a turn for the better. We made him feel welcome and valued for the first time in ages. We taught him the social skills to mix with other people again, and helped to build up his self-confidence. Now his health is much better, and his old zest for life has returned. Through our caring support, we have given him a sense of purpose and belonging. Bill is typical of thousands of people whom The Salvation Army has helped in their hour of greatest need. A decent, hard-working man, he took tremendous pride in his job as a chef. But a combination of stress and ill health caused him to give up his job – and from there his life unravelled. After falling behind with his rent he was evicted from his home. For seven long months, Bill was living rough on the streets – a miserable, huddled shadow of his former self. Becoming homeless knocked the stuffing out of Bill. He lost his selfconfidence and his optimism. Months of sleeping rough took its toll on his health. He even began to wonder whether there was any point in living.

What’s made the biggest difference is the opportunity we gave Bill to work in our Salvation Army community café. Every day he cooks for residents, staff and local people – and being back working in a kitchen has done wonders for his morale. Now Bill is starting to apply for restaurant jobs – and he’s feeling good about the future. ‘The Salvation Army have been real friends to me,’ he told us. ‘You caught me at my lowest, put a roof over my head and helped me move on.’

FACT: The Salvation Army runs 47 residential centres for homeless people, offering accommodation for 2,579 people. For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/homeless

3 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 3

17/1/13 09:23:58


A year of service to people in crisis

Fighting the

slave trade

Out of chaos came the

hand of friendship

in our midst Girls like Mai are escaping from forced prostitution and starting new lives with The Salvation Army’s help Mai is a young Thai girl who came to England as a tourist, but her dream trip soon turned into a nightmare. She was introduced to a Thai lady who took her travel documents and her mobile phone. ‘She said she had bought me and that I had to pay back the debt,’ Mai remembers. To her horror, Mai was forced to work as a prostitute and to take drugs. She was also forced to appear on websites offering massaging services. After the police rescued her, it was The Salvation Army who gave her shelter in our safe house. We also gave her the care and support she needed to recover from her ordeal and got her the right medical help until she was ready to return to Thailand. ‘The Salvation Army were so kind,’ she told us. Many people in this country know about human trafficking as a worldwide problem, they may not be aware that this cruel trade is thriving in the UK. It includes not just trafficking for sex but domestic servitude and exploitation of labour. In July 2011, the Government gave The Salvation Army the responsibility for managing support for all adult victims of human trafficking in England and Wales. We work every day to take victims of trafficking from their point of rescue to safe houses. We give them access to the services they need such as legal advice, health care, counselling and educational opportunities. We also provide our own safe house to give loving, professional support in a secure environment.

‘I am proud that we are working with the police to end this exploitation.’

- Major Anne Read Major Anne Read, of our anti-trafficking unit, says it is poor, uneducated women who are most at risk. ‘Traffickers will promise a better life, a good job, education – anything to lure their victims,’ she says. ‘I am proud that we are working with the police to end this exploitation. We aim to reunite these women with their families in their own countries – and often The Salvation Army will work with the families to increase their incomes so that they will be less vulnerable to trafficking in the future.’

FACT: The Salvation Army is part of a network of antitrafficking organisations which together operate 19 safe houses across England and Wales. For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/Trafficking

Highlights of the year n The Salvation Army’s role in promoting sport as a way of building self-esteem in homeless people has been highlighted in the news. Three members of a Scottish football team that beat Mexico 4-3 in the Homeless World Cup in Paris were from Salvation Army Lifehouses in Scotland. Rob Senior, centre manager of the William Hunter Lifehouse, says: ‘Football is only one of the ways we encourage service users to get healthy, stay healthy and build their confidence.’ (Pic 1) n The achievements of formerly homeless young people were celebrated at an awards ceremony at The Salvation Army Housing Association’s Braintree Foyer (homeless centre). Young residents aged between 16 and 25 gained a range of academic and vocational qualifications at the centre. Centre manager Mark Watson said: ‘These young people have overcome being homeless or spending time in care and have worked hard to gain qualifications that will help them find work.’

4 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 4

17/1/13 09:24:02


the

friendship

When people were driven from their homes in the London riots, The Salvation Army was there to help

told their stories of how they were forced to leave their homes. It was a privilege to minister to them, especially as for many this was their first direct contact with The Salvation Army.’

When rioting broke out in Tottenham in August 2011, over 60 families lost everything they possessed after their block of flats was burnt out. But The Salvation Army was there to help them cope with the crisis and get their lives back together.

We continued to work with the homeless residents to help them fully come to terms with their loss. ‘It would be a unique person who does not have a reaction, because losing your home and possessions is like bereavement,’ says Major McClenahan. And one local resident reflected the thoughts of many when she tweeted: ‘The Salvation Army are doing great stuff to support those affected by the riots.’

The role we played was to help run an emergency assistance centre that was set up in Tottenham by the local council. Here, in a quiet, calm and professional way, we gave much-needed practical and emotional support to people who had had to move out of their homes. We also handled the donations which members of the community brought to the centre to help the people worst-hit by the riots. Major Muriel McClenahan, of The Salvation Army’s emergency services, remembers how grateful people were that The Salvation Army was there. ‘There were so many occasions when a sympathetic approach and words of comfort meant a great deal to people, particularly as they started to fully realise that they had lost all their possessions and personal effects,’ she says. ‘A great many people were glad to have someone to listen as they

The work The Salvation Army did in Tottenham is one example of the work we do every day throughout the UK to help people caught up in emergencies of all kinds. A fleet of purpose built mobile canteen units provide food, drink and emotional support to emergency services personnel at the scene of an incident. We are also ready, day or night, to provide a place of safety for people who have been evacuated from their homes as a result of a flood, fire, or other disasters.

FACT: During the year The Salvation Army responded to 183 emergency incidents across the UK. For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/EmergencyServices

‘I never thought I’d be

free of drugs’ How The Salvation Army is helping people break free of addiction – and getting amazing results ‘I never thought I would be able to get off drugs. When I moved to Ty^ Gobaith, it was a bit of a struggle, but after a few weeks I never looked back.’ These are the words of a young man called Steve who was able to break a heroin addiction when he came to Ty^ Gobaith, The Salvation Army’s Lifehouse (centre for homeless people) in Cardiff. In July 2011 it was named Salvation Army Centre of the Year at our Social Services awards – and no wonder, when you see what the team there is achieving. Ty^ Gobaith (which means Hope House) puts into practice what our Founder William Booth meant when he spoke about needing to change the man, not just the surroundings. It offers homeless people, including people with addiction problems, a whole new start in life. There are three main elements to this. First of all, we work with residents to overcome drugs and alcohol addiction problems. Secondly, we provide residents with the opportunity to learn the skills they need to get back on their feet and live an independent life. And finally, we help residents to resettle in the wider community.

For example, we helped Steve to get his first qualifications, which include a forklift truck licence and manual handling training, so that he could look for a job. In the meantime, he is volunteering around the centre by tidying up. Ty^ Gobaith has been strikingly successful at helping residents obtain recognised qualifications. In 2010-11, 40 per cent of them earned National Open College Network qualifications. A further 23 per cent engaged in regular and ongoing volunteering and 10 per cent were helped into employment or higher education. And for people like Steve, the turnaround can seem almost like a miracle. As Steve says: ‘The Salvation Army has looked after me and shown me the right direction for my life.’

FACT: The Salvation Army offers 82 places at its residential substance abuse centres to help people break free from their addictions. For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/Addiction

1

2

3

4

n The spotlight was on The Salvation Army’s work with drug and alcohol addiction when the MP for Poplar and Limehouse, Jim Fitzpatrick, visited our detox centre in London’s Docklands. After touring the centre, Mr Fitzpatrick commented: ‘The Salvation Army here is clearly making a huge difference to the lives of dozens of people. Over the years, this turns into hundreds and then thousands. This is about saving lives.’ (Pic 2) n The Salvation Army’s Great Yarmouth corps was visited by Eric Pickles, the Government’s Communities Secretary, for the launch of a new initiative to tackle under-age and street drinking. The Community Alcohol Partnership, which initially covers Great Yarmouth, will bring together The Salvation Army, other agencies and local businesses to combat alcohol abuse and encourage responsible drinking. (Pic 3) n Formerly homeless people in Swindon are taking part in an imaginative scheme to encourage workers to cycle to work by providing them with free bikes. The bikes will come from Recycle, a social enterprise run by the Salvation Army’s Swindon Lifehouse, which enables homeless people to gain work experience and rebuild their selfconfidence by repairing and refurbishing old bicycles. The scheme is being backed by Swindon Borough Council and local businesses. (Pic 4)

5 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 5

17/1/13 09:24:04


A year at the heart of our communities

Feeding Britain’s hungry people

But the increased hardship that many people are facing means that The Salvation Army is not just providing this kind of support at the festive season. A growing number of desperate people are turning to us for help all the year round. Lieutenant Joyce Baynes from Chesterfield has a regular food parcel ministry and distributes 40 parcels each Sunday. She says: ‘People tend to be living in vulnerable conditions such as sleeping on friends’ floors or in bed and breakfasts. The parcels give them very basic provisions for a day or so.’ Rising unemployment has meant that more people have gone on to benefits. At the same time, major changes to the benefit system mean that people often experience delays or errors in benefit payments, leaving them desperately short of money. Some Salvation Army centres are responding to their needs by running food banks.

‘One older gentleman was wearing three pairs of trousers because he couldn’t afford to heat his home.’

The Salvation Army’s food parcels are a lifeline for people facing hardship The Salvation Army’s officers and volunteers handed out 40,000 Christmas presents to needy children and served up over 17,500 hot dinners to older people over Christmas and the New Year. Nearly 35,000 food parcels were handed out over December and January to the homeless, vulnerable and families – a big increase on last year.

Territorial Envoy Angela - Territorial Envoy Angela Nunn Nunn, who works in North Scotland, told us about some of the people who had come to her for help. She says: ‘I have encountered some lovely people with unbelievable stories. One older gentleman was wearing three pairs of trousers because he couldn’t afford to heat his home.’ Major Ray Irving, Territorial Social Services Secretary for The Salvation Army says: ‘Our focus is on giving people a hand up, not a hand out. As well as meeting their immediate needs we help them get on their feet by offering practical support such as teaching them how to run a household budget and helping them to find a new job.’ For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/heretohelp

A Chance to change A Salvation Army course gives young people responsibility and a goal in life

Highlights of the year n The Salvation Army’s Irvine and Arran Befriending service has received our Centre of the Year Award for 2012. This recognises the huge amount of work the service does to help lonely and isolated people come together and make friends. One of the Befriending Service volunteers says: ‘Being part of the service has got me out of my flat and back to meeting people. I have found a purpose and look forward to meeting people every week.’ n A new church and community centre was opened by the Newark Salvation Army in November 2011. The eco-friendly building is capable of producing its own solar energy and feeding unused electricity into the national grid, in line with the Salvation Army’s policy on sustainability. The building will provide spaces not just for worship but for a range of community activities. n TV chefs Tom and Henry Herbert, from the hit series The Fabulous Baker Brothers, have donated kitchen equipment used in their Channel 4 programme to The Salvation

6 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 6

17/1/13 09:24:09


e

DAVID’S JOB IS A dream come true He’s one of thousands of people who are finding jobs The Salvation Army way David is a young man with a range of medical conditions, including Asperger syndrome. At one time, he thought he would never be able to get a job – but that changed thanks to The Salvation Army. David took part in a training programme which we run in south Essex. It is part of the Government’s Work Choice programme and it is targeted specifically at people with learning difficulties and disabilities. We focus on what people can do, not what they can’t. And when we talked to David, it was obvious that he had a lot of employment potential. We gave him vocational training at our Hadleigh training centre and built up his confidence. We also encouraged him to apply for a wider range of jobs than he had previously considered. Then, finally, his dream came true and he was offered a job by a local firm. We kept in touch with him to make sure he was coping in his new employment. But we were delighted to discover that he was doing fine. ‘I feel very comfortable and have settled in nicely. I am really happy.’ he told us. This is just one example of how The Salvation Army’s Employment Plus services are opening up job opportunities for people who thought they would never be able to work. They include not just people with disabilities but those recovering from addiction problems and mental health issues. In total, in the year up to April 2012, we supported over 8,500 people on the journey into employment, either by helping them find paid jobs or by giving them opportunities to gain work experience or to increase their employability and other skills. Not only have they become productive members of the community, but they have found a new sense of purpose and fulfilment that has changed their whole outlook on life. For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/unemployed

14-year old Claire lives on a deprived estate and has a disruptive home life with her divided family. She also has an explosive relationship with her 14-year-old boyfriend, who finds it hard to control his anger. In this environment it’s not surprising that Claire had very little self-esteem. Claire is one of the young people who have been chosen to take part in the Change programme which The Salvation Army youth wing ALOVE is running for marginalised young people who are not in education, employment or training. An 8-12 week programme of life-changing training, it aims to help them turn away from their selfdestructive behaviour and aspire to a better way of life. All the young people who have taken part in the Change programme so far have achieved a bronze or silver Youth Achievement Award. The young people learn communication and teamwork skills by setting up their own business and running it. As an incentive, they are allowed to keep any profits they make. Going on a course like this was a big challenge to Claire, as she

wasn’t used to respecting others or behaving responsibly. She was chosen as the leader of a team enterprise, so she had to take responsibility for the planning and presentation of the team’s business idea which was a card making craft business called Creative Cards. She also had to motivate the other members of the team. In important ways, this experience changed Claire’s life. She started to believe in herself and discover that she was a person of ability and worth. Now Claire has started to think about her future and she says she wants to become a dance teacher. She has chosen to study performing arts at GCSE level and is determined to do really well. ALOVE Associate Director Major Andrea Sawyer says: ‘We are excited about the future of this programme. We believe Change can play a significant part in improving the lives of young people who live in some of our most deprived communities.’ For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/alove

Army’s Hadleigh Training Centre. The centre provides vocational training for a wide range of disadvantaged groups – and the brothers said they were ‘blown away’ when they went to see for themselves. Said Henry: ‘The Salvation Army is amazing – it’s such a cool place!’ n Faith groups in Preston have come together to set up a new Community Food Bank based at The Salvation Army’s community centre. It supplies emergency parcels of food to families and other people who are destitute, and it’s helping 60 or more households every month. Among our partners in this venture are not just other Christian denominations but the local Muslim Cultural Centre. n The Margate corps of The Salvation Army has broken new ground by reaching out to Czech, Slovak and Roma families in their area. The families, who mostly came to the UK as migrant workers, can often feel isolated and marginalised in the UK. But Majors David and Kathryn Blowers, who served for nine years in the Czech Republic, set up a Czech Church so that people can worship in their own language; and they also help the families in practical ways by offering advice and support. The Baker Brothers, Hadleigh Training Centre

7 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 7

17/1/13 09:24:11


A year of faith and Christian witness

Opening eyes and hearts

to God’s word

‘Awesome’ ROOTS conference inspires Christians of all ages The extended bank holiday at the end of April 2011 saw the last of the big national ROOTS conferences that have done so much to inspire Christians of all ages. What’s more, it was certainly an event to remember. ‘Awesome’ was the verdict of one participant. ‘An eye-opener to the hidden depths of the word’ said another. ‘Seeing God work in young people has been inspiring,’ said yet another. The four-day conference, attended by 1,262 people, followed the theme Uncovered – Reading Between The Lines, and linked in with the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible. ROOTS event leader Major Paul Main welcomed everyone to the conference, saying: ‘We are here to celebrate the best selling book of all time’ – and as the four days unfolded, that celebration took place through teaching, reflection, music, poetry and drama. One of the most notable features of the conference was the Kids Roots programmes for children aged between 5 and 11. As they met eagerly on an Incredible Journey to uncover and discover God’s word, they learnt that the Bible is a library of books which include romance, poetry, songs and teaching. They were encouraged to use their imagination and wonder about creation. Equally vibrant was the Youth Roots programme which started with worship led by the rock band dweeb and continued with Bible study and prayer. During the conference, young delegates expressed their faith by creating a piece of artwork with the message ‘God is here’.

From 2012, ROOTS will continue as a series of regional events. Major Paul Main, The Salvation Army’s Territorial Evangelism Secretary, comments: ‘Over - ROOTS delegate the years, ROOTS has had a tremendous impact and we are committed to regional events that will continue to encourage, equip and inspire people in their Christian journeys.’

‘Seeing God work in young people has been inspiring.’

For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/ROOTS

Highlights of the year n The Salvation Army has spoken out about the problem of excessive drinking in the UK. In a statement we called on the Government to take more effective action to tackle the misery caused by the overconsumption of alcohol. We also committed ourselves to do all we can to support and help those whose drinking detrimentally affects their daily lives. n General Linda Bond, world leader of The Salvation Army, issued a passionate call for Salvationists around the world to be united in their mission and message. Launching our International Vision, she set out 12 mission priorities, including reaching out and involving young people, and standing up for and serving the poor and marginalised. n June 2011 saw eight Salvation Army staff bands from around the world assemble at the Royal Albert Hall to celebrate 120 years of the International Staff Band. An audience of about 5,000 people cheered each band as it raised the roof with music of praise and worship. A major contributor was composer Paul Lovatt-Cooper, whose stirring work

8 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 8

17/1/13 09:24:12


Our call for action to

end child poverty Salvation Army tells MPs about the struggles of Britain’s poorest families Part of the role of The Salvation Army is to ‘speak truth to power’ about the social problems that afflict our society. An example of this was when Captain Jonny Smith from Southwark spoke to a packed committee room at the House of Commons about child poverty and social mobility. The meeting was organised by the All Party Parliamentary Group on Poverty and attended by Maria Miller MP, the minister with responsibility for child poverty. Jonny’s talk was based on eight years of experience as a Salvation Army officer in South London. He talked about the families he had met, some of whom were so poor that if one of their children needed money for a school trip, the parents would have to choose between doing that and paying for electricity. ‘Such decisions are subtle and fall off the Government’s radar, but they are real,’ he said. Earlier in the meeting a clip from a BBC1 documentary Poor Kids was shown. One of the children from the programme, 16-year-old Kayleigh, attended the meeting to talk about her experiences. She described how she tried to keep her family’s poverty a secret, because she thought people would look down on her if they knew. She also talked about how she had to wear second-hand clothes to school, and how her brother was bullied because he had to wear her old blouses at school. ‘Wearing someone else’s thrown-out clothes really eats your self-confidence,’ she added. ‘In the end you think you are just worthless.’ Jonny Smith criticised politicians for failing to deal with child poverty and called for cross-party action. He said: ‘For too long, successive governments have blamed their predecessors for failing to solve the issue of poverty. Can we stop arguing about the past, recognise there is a problem, and set about sorting it out?’

Let’s share our faith

through sport Sports events can take our message to a whole new audience What has sport got to do with The Salvation Army? The answer is that we see it as a force for good in our communities – and a way of spreading God’s word among an audience who might not hear it in any other way. That’s why, at the start of London Olympics year in 2012, we launched our new sports ministry Sport for Good throughout the Territory. Where Christians who enjoy sport belong to a club with no Christian ethos, we want them to take their faith with them and share it with others. We also want to encourage whole Salvation Army corps (churches) to get involved in organising sporting activities. Very often Salvation Army facilities lend themselves to sports. Our buildings are affordable and safe: somewhere people of all ages can enjoy sport, get fit and relax. Or else local corps can hire sports facilities such as football pitches for events to which they can invite the whole community. A number of local corps have already set the pattern for this kind of work. For example, The Salvation Army in Yeovil has been running a bowls club since 2004. The Stratford corps organises the OnSide Football Club for young people. And The Salvation Army’s Stepney corps and our Booth House Lifehouse (centre for homeless people) have joined forces with three other Christian groups to run a football club for men, most of whom have been homeless. Captain Nick Coke, leader of The Salvation Army in Stepney, says it is remarkable how sport can help people change their outlook on life. Nick remembers: ‘A homeless guy called Eddie who joined us several months ago loves football. He is so passionate about it that quite often he’d lose his temper during the games. But recently Eddie became a Christian and he’s been a changed person.’ For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/uki/ChurchandSport

Fire In The Blood was written and performed specially as a celebration of The Salvation Army’s mission and history. n The Salvation Army was one of the Christian organisations that took part in a National Prayer Breakfast in Westminster Great Hall to hear how the Bible is being used to improve the lives of young people. Those attending included MPs and members of the House of Lords. Dr Alastair Jones, from our youth wing ALOVE, spoke of how Christian churches can bring a message of hope and transformation into young people’s lives. n The Salvation Army in Banbury is shining bright as a Prayer Beacon for the community by practising daily prayer and reflection for people in need in these difficult economic times. Banbury is the first Salvation Army church in our Territory to be given Prayer Beacon status, which means it has chosen to make prayer the major emphasis of its mission. Its leader Lieutenant Xander Coleman says: ‘The Salvation Army has a long history of caring for those in need, and prayer is one way for us to express that concern.’ Celebrating 120 years of the International Staff Band – Royal Albert Hall

9 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 9

17/1/13 09:24:15


A year of action against global poverty

How to learn about poverty – the hard way Our determined volunteers raise over £25,000 by going hungry for five days Around the world, 1.4 billion people live on the equivalent of less than £1 a day. And it was with this stark fact in mind that in 2012, The Salvation Army once again supported Live Below The Line, the global campaign to highlight world poverty and raise funds for vital development work. We challenged supporters to spend just £5 on food and drink for five days and to ask friends and family to sponsor them to live up to this challenge. It was tough for those who took part – but well worthwhile, because The Salvation Army raised over £25,000 in total. The money went to help our FARM programme, which helps small farmers in the developing world to grow enough produce to support themselves and their families. Jo Hann, a teacher from Guernsey, took the challenge in 2011 with her husband, sister-in-law and mother-inlaw, raising more than £1,400 for The Salvation Army’s international work. ‘We had virtually the same meal everyday; high in carbs but low in calories, which meant we were constantly tired,’ says Jo.

Aida Moleni from Malawi is part of another Salvation Army GENERATION project helping her to better support her family

‘Now I can afford to

feed my family’

Despite this, Jo was keen to take part again in 2012 because, as she says, ‘that’s what 1.4 billion people have to do every day. It’s not right, it’s not fair and we have to do something about it.’

How small business loans are helping people like Radhia to work their way out of poverty

Visit www.salvationarmy.org.uk/farm to find out more about the FARM programme.

Radhia Suleykum from Tanzania was left with four children to look after when her husband died five years ago. Her ambition was to set up her own business, but that seemed impossible for a woman in her circumstances. Banks weren’t interested in doing business with her, and she didn’t want to be at the mercy of loan sharks. Fortunately, there was help at hand, in the form of The Salvation Army’s GENERATION programme. This provides loans to poor people to help them set up small businesses and also teaches them the skills they need to make their business a success. These small business loans are an effective way of helping people in need – giving them the chance to work their own way out of poverty. With the loan she received, Radhia was able to rent a shop, where she sold clothes, foods and spices. Quite soon she was earning enough money to repay her loan. Now she says: ‘I am happy that I can now look after my family. I can afford to feed them and pay their school fees and even pay for medical expenses when they are sick.’ For more information, go to www.salvationarmy.org.uk/generation

Highlights of the year n The Salvation Army has been working in Turkana, in north-west Kenya, to help local people survive a devastating drought. Our international emergency services have delivered water to schools and isolated village communities. We are now also helping local people to improve their access to clean water in the long term so they are better prepared for any future droughts. n In Malawi, our Mchinji Anti-Child Trafficking Centre works to support young people who have been rescued from trafficking, so they can make a fresh start, learn new skills and live a better life. In 2011 we set up a bike workshop where children are taught basic bicycle maintenance and repair skills. Second-hand bikes are shipped over from the UK which can then be repaired and sold to help fund the vital work of the centre. n In India, The Salvation Army is working in innovative ways to supply clean water to rural villages. Mchinji Anti-Child Trafficking Centre In Dolcherra we have worked with the community to provide a gravity water system that pipes water from a spring high up in the mountain. This has reduced the number of water-borne diseases and provided water not only for drinking and washing, but also to irrigate their crops. The Salvation Army International Development (UK) is working to combat poverty and injustice all over the world. Visit www.salvationarmy.org.uk/id to find out more.

10 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 10

17/1/13 09:24:20


FINANCIAL SUMMARY Income

Expenditure Total expenditure increased from £232.1to £251.9m and is analysed below.

2012 £m

2011 £m

103.7

94

Church & evangelism

45.8

38.6

Community programmes

45.9

40.1

International programmes

6

6.6

11.6

15.4

2.0

2.5

215.0

197.2

35.8

34

1.1

0.9

251.9

232.1

Charitable activities: Social & defence services operations

Training Salvation Army Officers Youth programmes Total charitable activities Costs of generating funds Governance Total expenditure

Reserves

Statement by the Trustee The financial information shown on this page is a summary of information relating to the Statement of Financial Activities and Reserves of The Salvation Army Trust and The Salvation Army Social Work Trust. The full financial statements of both Trusts, which were prepared in accordance with the Statement of Recommended Practice ‘Accounting and Reporting by Charities’ issued in March 2005, were approved for The Social Work Trust on 5th October 2012 and for the Salvation Army Trust on 9th November 2012. The Trustees Report for The Social Work Trust and The Salvation Army Trust were approved on 14th December 2012. Both received an unqualified audit opinion. This financial summary may not contain sufficient information to allow for a full understanding of the financial affairs of The Salvation Army. Copies of the Trustee’s Annual Report and the full financial statements, which are submitted to the Charity Commission, can be obtained from the Marketing and Fundraising Department, The Salvation Army, Territorial Headquarters, 101 Newington Causeway, London SE1 6BN.

Statement by the Auditors

The surplus of income over expenditure of £8.7m was reduced by £7.2m due to a loss on the revaluation and disposal of investments. Total reserves increased £1.5m to £774.9m. Of these £21m are endowment funds where only the income arising from the funds is available to be used in accordance with the wishes of the donors. A further £579.2m are restricted funds which represent monies already expended on the acquisition, construction and refurbishment of freehold and leasehold properties and other funds which may

We have examined the above financial information and, in our opinion, it is consistent with the full annual accounts of The Salvation Army Trust and The Salvation Army Social Work Trust.

Knox Cropper 31 March 2012

Summary of income 2011-2012 Summary of income 2011-2012

Summary of expenditure 2011-2012 Summary of expenditure 2011-2012

£m

£m

Governance

350

300

HQ Social operations & grants

300

250

250

Gain on disposal of properties & other income

200

Investment income

150

Trading income Members donations

100

Donations & grants

50 0

Legacies 2012

2011

Social & defence services operations income

Youth programmes Training programmes (SA officers)

200

International programmes

150

Cost of generating voluntary income

100

Costs of trading Community programmes

50 0

A year of good stewardship

The Salvation Army operates in the United Kingdom through two main trusts, The Salvation Army Trust (Central Funds) and The Salvation Army Social Work Trust (Social Work Funds), which had combined income, excluding inter fund transfers, of £261m for the year ended 31 March 2012. (2011: £346m). Income from social work activities increased by 8% to £87m. This comprises income from care homes for older people, homeless centres, family and children units, substance misuse centres, outreach work and defence services centres. Defence services centres provide catering and recreation services at military bases in the UK and Germany. Legacy income, always variable by nature, increased by 12% to £43.3m. Despite the difficult economic climate, donations from the public increased by 6% to £38.7m. Trading income increased by 7% to £46.1m as a result of the continued strong performance by The Salvation Army Trading Company, a subsidiary of Central Funds. There was also an increase of 17% in investment income, from £7.1m to £8.3m.

only be used for purposes specified by the donors. Unrestricted reserves fell by £13.2m to £174.7m. These include accumulated unrealised investment gains (£37.9m), funds retained within trading subsidiaries to provide working capital (£11.5m) and designated funds (£70.6m). Designated funds are reserves which have been set aside by the directors of The Salvation Army Trustee Company for specific purposes such as future programmes and the ongoing maintenance of the property portfolio of The Salvation Army in the United Kingdom. The general reserve, which is that part of unrestricted funds freely available for general purposes, has fallen to £54.7m, of which £32.3m is held by Social Funds and £22.4m by Central Funds. Both charities need general reserves to ensure that their work can continue in the event of a decrease in income or unexpected expenditure. The general reserves held by both trusts are above the optimum level determined by the directors. It is considered that Central Funds require general reserves of £20m and that Social Work Funds require £31.0m. It is anticipated that the level of general reserves will fall within the next financial year due to the current economic climate of the country.

Church & evangelism 2012

2011

Social & defence services centres costs

11 SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 11

17/1/13 09:24:21


The Salvation Army is a Christian Church and a Registered Charity The Salvation Army UK Territory with the Republic of Ireland 101 Newington Causeway London SE1 6BN Telephone: 020 7367 4500 Email: thq@salvationarmy.org.uk Website: www.salvationarmy.org.uk

Registered Charity No. 214779, and in Scotland SC009359 Social Trust: Registered charity No. 215174, and in Scotland SC037691 Republic of Ireland: Registered Charity No. CHY6399

SA 12pp A3 Annual Review 2012.indd 12

17/1/13 09:24:23


Annual Review 2012  

Annual Review 2012

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you