Page 1

Sticky Wicket Newsletter of the South Australian Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association Established 1911

February 2014

Your Umpire’s Association SACUSA Committee—Main Contacts


President: Ted Branson - 0448 689 976

Neil Poulton (Umpiring Manager) - 0416 623 518

V. President: Craig Thomas - 0434 165 310 Secretary: Michial Farrow - 0435 872 215

8300 3211 Sarah Fry (Competitions Coordinator)-0418 674 106

8300 3244

Treasurer: Lynton Donisthorpe - 0418 317 856

Amy White (Umpire Admin Officer) - 8300 3874

Patron: Neil Dansie

Inclement Weather Information Line - 1900 950 598

Sticky Wicket Editor Tim Pellew

0414 58 58 42 UMPIRES’ REACTIONS

Umpire Coaches

There is a lot to learn from us, the umpires, about our reactions to incidents on the field. It is extremely

Max Bartlett - 0419 696 978

important not only to new/upcoming umpires, but to us all to be able to learn from other’s experiences.

Kim Perrin - 0418 848 806

Sticky wicket for many years has promoted that we pass on what happens and how the incident was handled, and if necessary, advise readers that the handling could have been better or was okay, or that suggestions be made about how to handle a similar incident next time around. Unfortunately, no one has shared such an experience through this format. It happens at all levels that incidents were well, or not so well, handled. We must learn from each other. We have many Umpires Coaches whose contacts are listed in Sticky Wicket. Do not feel ashamed at any level to contact one and seek advice, and if a satisfactory answer is forthcoming, share it. Between drinks, or wonderful meals at our monthly meetings, experiences are exchanged in groups, but none are passed on to Sticky Wicket. Shame! So I, Editor, bare myself. In a Senior Grade game, the wicket keeper was constantly at a young batter that he was “sh*t”. I asked him to cease, but I distinctly occasionally heard it again and thought that he kept it going quietly, as the batter occasionally stepped away and looked at me. I guess what I should have done was approach the fielding captain in the first instance for him to instruct the ‘keeper to cease. Unfortunately the other umpire with whom I asked advice, was not helpful: hey, we are a team! I approached an Umpires Coach and was advised: “tell him to cut it out or the incident will be on report.” Goodness, that would have been easy I thought; I did not do as well as I could.

Bob Woods - 0407 135 558 Bill Penley - 0408 507 126 Brian Crompton - 0400 075 337

Graham MacTavish - 0419 838 172 Tom Ziniak - 0416 006 433 Ron Parsons - 0401 048 222 Brenton Schnell - 0409 363 403

I was better in another match: after no balling a top SA bowler, he demanded to be shown where his foot was: easy-peasy in showing him. He disagreed that it was a no ball!

I told him I could see his foot and he couldn’t, and to go back to his mark, move his marker back and bowl. “You’re “effing” guessing aren’t you Ump?” was his response. “Cut that out” was my response: he did not bowl another no ball! I guess strictly speaking, that was dissent by him. Does anyone have a comment to print?

Ray Blake It is with great sadness we bring you the news of the passing of one of our association Life Members. Raymond Alfred Blake passed away peacefully on the 21st of December 2013 at the age of 84 years. Ray joined our association in the 1977/78 season when he commenced umpiring Grade cricket. His on field career included a total of 117 games, 61 of which were at B Grade level and 31 at C Grade and concluded after the 1984/85 season. He then continued this association off field as an Umpire Coach and group leader at our training nights particularly working with the new umpires each season. Suffering from emphysema in his later years, it was quite common to see the old white falcon car just outside the grounds with Ray on board, binoculars raised and pen in hand! Ray being a big man and the soft springing of the car resulted in quite a lean to the driver’s side! He took this role quite seriously and was a great help to many of us starting our umpiring careers at that time. He ceased this role in 1997/98 season. Ray also committed himself heavily to the social group, actively on committee from 1978 until 1984 arranging many of our social events. The annual Christmas Picnic, lotteries and raffles, and one well remembered by our senior members was a car rally which wound through the hills including Mt. Lofty and ending at his house at Aldinga for a B.B.Q. Ray also had an involvement in our Crockett Shield Easter, playing on one occasion and organising the welcoming lunch at the old Rothman’s Theatrette at the Showgrounds. He was President of SACUSA from 84/85 until 85/86 and awarded Life Membership in 1988. Ray was a larger than life character with a booming and infectious laugh. He was an electrician by trade and was employed by the Royal Show Society when he joined us. During the annual show Ray quite often arranged part time employment for some of our members. Ray’s family included wives Stella (deceased) and Wendy, and sons Steven and Brian, daughters Patricia, Carolyne and Sharon. He was also grandfather of 5 and great grandfather of 4. We thank SACUSA members Bob and Raelene Woods, Peter and Marg Weddell, Peter Cronin, Max O’Connell, Pat Watson and Bev McLeod for attending Ray’s funeral, also greatly appreciated by Ray’s family. Sadly another final call of ‘Stumps’.

What Were You Thinking? 3rd ODI OZ v ENGLAND 48th over: England 288-5 (Morgan 103 Buttler 46) A weird one - Buttler hits to long off, Marsh sees he can't catch it and goes outside the rope and jumps up to knock the 6 back (both feet in the air) into play, lands outside the rope before coming inside the rope to retrieve and throw the ball in. The umpires signal nothing and thus it was given as 2 runs, given Marsh was off the ground and not touching the rope, nor the ground outside the rope, when he touched the ball. Quick thinking from Marsh!

Between innings, the umpires had a meeting and reportedly the ICC was involved. The laws were checked and England’s and Buttler’s 2 were withdrawn and the score was amended to 6. If you saw this, how did you rule “on the spot?” It didn’t matter; Australia still won! Try working through Law 32 3 (e) and interpolating it to this incident and more particularly Law 19 3 and 19 4. Interesting reading and imagination required. There is a school of thought that once a ball crosses the boundary on the full it should not be able to be caught legally and a six should be awarded. (I’m in that school).

See… my finger was bent when I was born!

Injury Prone Match It was a recent C Grade limited overs match. One umpire injured his knee and had to strap it just before play commenced to overcome pain and potential swelling. So far so good. After about 15 overs, wicket keeper was obviously struggling and dazed in the heat and numerously called for a drink, and then a quiet water vomit by him on an adjoining pitch (groundsman still probably wondering about the strange grass there!). This brought about a change in ‘keepers, and the sick ‘keeper retired to the fine leg boundary with water bottles and lay down in the shade of a tree. Limping umpire enquired of fielding captain if the sick fielder was still playing and was advised “Yes, we don’t have a 12 th man and cannot afford 10 fielders in a limited overs match”. The umpires could see that sick ‘keeper was lying along the boundary line due to a cone being just behind him. Ball glanced to fine leg area and sick ‘keeper slowly arises and retrieves ball and underarms it to ‘keeper. Batting Captain runs onto field screaming out that they should get penalty runs as sick ‘keeper was off the field lying down and returned to field and fielded ball. (If that had been the case, he would be correct [I guess!]). Umpire calls out to the said captain to leave the field and that sick ‘keeper was in fact still a fielder and was in the field before retrieving the ball. Sick ‘keeper spent most of the time in the same location, lying on the field, in the shade, and fielding a ball if it came close. Nothing in the laws to say a fielder cannot spend most of the time on the field lying down!!!!!! (Never seen it before). A hard catchable hit to mid on saw the fielder grass the ball with an almighty yelp as bowler retrieved the ball with mid on showing no interest in current proceedings. He was obviously injured and umpire correctly called dead ball. Blood and a finger bent in directions not normal. “Can anyone straighten a dislocated finger?” he cried out. No response with one umpire apologising that after he had pulled two dislocations straight in one match, he was advised that there may be legal implications if the straightening had caused any complications. Crooked fingerman left the field to ponder the next move! Change of innings and fingerman says he has straightened his own finger somehow and would strap it and bat, and he did! Surprise; he received a bouncer! Later a skied catch to mid wicket boundary saw a fielder drop the ball towards the boundary and he turned and threw himself at the ball in an attempt to stop boundary 4. Another yelp as the ball was in fact a 4 and fielder in obvious pain holding his wrist that from the centre looked at an odd angle. He left the field with instructions from the fielding captain to ice it and see if it is okay in 10 minutes. Wristman was off to hospital at end of the 10 minutes! An ageing spectator was asked if he still had his creams at home (having retired from cricket eons ago). He had, went and got them and sub fielded. No more casualties except for the whole batting team that fell a long way short of the run chase, helped by the 30 penalty runs they gave away to the team batting first for slow over rate (aided by 30 wides and 5 no balls: shades of U12 games!).

Quiz Questions (Answers later in this issue) Runs off a Foot Fault No Ball a. A foot fault no ball is bowled in a normal one-day or two-day match. The ball is very wide down the leg side, too wide for the striker to hit, the ball eludes the ‘keeper and a boundary four results. How do you signal this occurrence? How do the scorers score the ball? b. What if the no ball had hit the striker on the pads plumb in front with the ball never hitting the bat, and the batters ran two, whilst the fielding team has an animated “How’s that?” How do you respond to this? How do the scorers score this occurrence? c. After the no ball call, the striker snicks the ball and a single run occurs. How do you signal to the scorers and how do they record what happened?

d. After the no ball call that the striker did not hit, the ‘keeper misses the ball, the batters cross for a bye the ball snicks a fielder’s helmet that has been placed on the ground behind the ‘keeper. After completing the single the ball is fielded by fine leg and the return throw strikes the helmet again as the batters complete a second run. Now, how do you signal all that and how should the scorers record this? (P.S. they will ask you!). The query about scoring is because the scorers often do not know how to score these and will ask the umpires at an appropriate time. Work as a team Sticky wicket has previously commented on the following matter but it needs repeating following some non team work or disagreements. The issue here is about above shoulder short pitched balls and above head wides. It is extremely hard for the umpire at the bowler’s end to accurately gauge exactly when the ball is above striker’s shoulder or head so it is up to the square leg umpire to judge this and signal appropriately to the bowler’s end umpire.

Old Test History Billy Murdoch In the 15th Test of all, the 2nd Test England and Australia at Lord’s, July 21 – 23 1884, some of our older member may recall that the umpires were F H Farrands and C K Pullin counting 4 ball overs. W L (Billy) Murdoch batted at number three for Australia and was adjudged LBW for 10 (another dodgy decision?). Later in the innings, Billy was called upon to sub-field for England and had the unfortunate experience of catching one of his mates, H J H Scott, who was Australia’s highest scorer, for 75 (and was highest scorer in the second innings with 31 NO). Billy was the first sub to take a catch in Test history, and certainly one of the few, if any, to do so fielding for the opposition! The three- day match was won by England by an innings and 5 runs; Aust 229 and 145, Eng 379. For comparison with runs per over rates, converting to 6 ball overs, the rates were 3.25, 3.8 and 2.3 respectively (someone clever worked those out). Australia’s ‘keeper J M Blackham didn’t have a great match, run out for 0 in the first innings and retired hurt on 0 in the second. He did carry out a successful stumping off SA’s medium off-spinner George Giffen. George was inducted to the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame in 2008. Dr H J H Scott went on to captain Australia. The “Demon” Spoffoth And whilst on some Test Match trivia, it was the “Demon” Fred Spoffoth who was the first Test player to take 50 wickets. During the January Test match of the 1879 against Lord Harris’ England tour of Australia, played on the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Spofforth became the first man to get a hat trick in Test cricket. Fred was not noted as a batsman but in the Test against England at Melbourne in 1884-85, he top scored with 50, batting at number eleven. He died on the eve of the 1926 Ashes series, and in 1996 he was posthumously included in the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame as one of the ten inaugural inductees along with Jack Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Don Bradman Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall, and Dennis Lillie. Now there’s a line up! How did he get his name? According to Wikipedia, on 27 May 1878, Australia played the MCC at Lord’s. MCC was dismissed twice in one day for just 33 and 19. The colonists won by nine wickets, with Spofforth picking up ten for twenty including clean-bowling W G Grace for a duck. And at the finish in the dressing-room, he said: 'Ain't I a demon? Ain't I a demon?' It Stuck!

Not quite the Stanton Cup… but the winner of the SACUSA v ATCUSA match still received a swish looking trophy! Did you attend the match on Tuesday 11 February 2014?

What Were You Thinking? Pads In a recent A Grade T20, with East Torrens winning by 1 run against Northern Districts decided on the last ball of the evening, a ND striker tapped the ball that (very) momentarily lodged in his pads before dropping to the pitch in front of him as the batters scampered through for a single. As I was about to call and signal dead ball, the bowler had turned in appeal stance mid pitch to me hollowing “Ay, that’s a dead ball, isn’t it?” I wonder how many players know that: I trust all umpires know that from Law 23. Boy what an exciting match and an absolute delight to umpire. WHO George: “Great match today, thanks to Bill Robertson”. Wife: “Who's Bill Robinson?“

George: “He saved us from losing.'” Wife: “Really? Is he a batsmen or a bowler?” George: “Neither. He was the umpire.” Balls Up It was day 1 of a Senior Grade match and as the umpires strolled onto the field, the umpire with new ball in hand picked up a random ball that had inadvertently been left on the field during warmups. It was in good condition. The fielding team running onto the field called for the new ball. The ump in good humour(?) threw them the old ball and continued backwards towards the pitch with new ball visible in hand. The catcher threw the old ball to his captain, “ Hey, what’s with the old ball, Skip?” Not wanting to prolong the umpire’s humour (???) he called out “Get it off the field, please” and then threw the new ball to the team, some of whom the days play

Life Members and Past Umpires Event at Adelaide Oval

Quiz Answers Runs off a Foot Fault No Ball a. As soon as an umpire sees the no ball he/she calls and signals it. When the ball is dead, the bowler’s end umpire signals no ball to the scorers, followed by a bye signal (this tells the scorers that the ball did not hit the bat) followed by signal four. The wide is not considered, as the no ball takes precedence in the order that they happened. The ball does not count as one of the over and another ball is bowled. The scorers should record five no balls to extras and to the total score and five no balls are recorded to the bowler’s analysis (Law 24.14) b. As soon as an umpire sees the no ball he/she calls and signals it and responds “not out”’ (cannot be out LBW off a no ball). When the ball is dead, the bowler’s end umpire signals no ball to the scorers, followed by a bye signal (this tells the scorers that the ball did not hit the bat). The fact that the ball hit the pads after a no ball call does not get recorded as leg byes, but as no ball extras. The ball is rebowled. The scorers should record three no balls to extras, three to the total score and the three no balls are recorded to the bowler’s analysis (Law 24.14) c. As soon as an umpire sees the no ball he/she calls and signals it. When the ball is dead, the bowler’s end umpire signals no ball to the scorers and an extra ball is bowled. The scorers should record one no ball to extras, one run to the striker, two runs to the total score and the no ball plus the extra run are recorded against the bowler’s analysis. d. As soon as an umpire sees the no ball he/she calls and signals it. As soon as the ball hits the helmet, it becomes dead and should be signalled and called immediately. It may be wise to keep watching the play until the ball is returned so as to be clear in case a question is asked about what happened. Then to the scorers, signal no ball followed by a bye signal (for the run not off the bat), followed by continually tapping one shoulder with the opposite hand (indicating five penalty runs to the batting side). Make a note in your note book of which over and which ball this occurred on, and the name of the bowler, and speak to the scorers at the next break to ensure a no ball, a bye and five penalty runs were all recorded. The scorers should have recorded two no balls extras, those two to the total score, those two no ball runs to the bowler’s analysis, plus five penalty runs to a penalty runs column with extras (probably an extra column will need to be added to manual scorebooks) and those five penalty runs to the total score. The penalty runs are not recorded against the bowler.

With apologies to any English-loving supporters...

Sticky Wicket February 2014  

All the action from South Australian Cricket Umpiring and Scoring as the end of the season approaches

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you