Page 1


J.S. Bach Forsyth Beethoven

St Matthew Passion: Erbarme Dich A Ballad of Canada (UK Premiere) Symphony No.9, ‘Choral’

Pinchas Zukerman Conductor / Violin Lisa Milne Soprano Patricia Bardon Mezzo-soprano Barry Banks Tenor David Stout Baritone National Arts Centre Orchestra London Philharmonic Choir

Outstanding musician of our time Pinchas Zukerman directs one of the greatest works of all time, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. This magnificent work, with its famous choral finale, represents a unified, harmonious view of humanity. In keeping with this ideal, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra joins forces with the National Arts Centre Orchestra of Ottawa for this majestic work. Also being performed, is the UK premiere of Forsyth’s A Ballad of Canada, a must for those commemorating Canada’s role in World War I, and J.S. Bach’s ‘Erbarme dich, mein Gott’ from the St Matthew Passion, with violin obbligato from Pinchas Zukerman. This concert is part of the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s Performance and Education Tour of the UK, in commemoration of the First World War centenary and under the Royal Patronage of HRH The Prince of Wales, with major support from the W. Garfield Weston Foundation and Presenting Sponsor RBC.


Berlioz Liszt Bartók

The Damnation of Faust: Hungarian March Piano Concerto No.2 Duke Bluebeard’s Castle

Charles Dutoit Marc-André Hamelin Andrea Meláth Bálint Szabó

Conductor Piano Mezzo-soprano Bass

A masterpiece of 20th-century opera, Bartók’s Duke Bluebeard’s Castle is a haunting tale of a Duke whose dark secrets are gradually unveiled by his new wife. Charles Dutoit is joined by a host of outstanding soloists, who recently performed Duke Bluebeard’s Castle abroad to critical acclaim with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The first half sees Marc-André Hamelin’s unique blend of musicianship and virtuosity as he performs Liszt’s Piano Concerto No.2.

2014 – 2015 SEASON The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is delighted to present its new season at London’s celebrated cultural hub, Southbank Centre. Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Charles Dutoit leads the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in what promises to be one of the highlights of the season: a concert performance of Bartók’s operatic masterpiece Duke Bluebeard’s Castle, alongside Liszt’s Piano Concerto No.2 as interpreted by the inimitable Marc-André Hamelin. Music by Beethoven is one of the threads running through this season, which features his ‘Pastoral’ Symphony and the awe-inspiring ‘Choral’ Symphony. For those who particularly enjoy grand works for choir and orchestra, there is also Walton’s Belshazzar’s Feast, for which the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will be joined by The Bach Choir, in a programme which also features the great mezzo-soprano Sarah Connolly, performing Elgar’s Sea Pictures. The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra continues its collaboration with conductor and violinist Pinchas Zukerman, who appears in two concerts, in which he performs Elgar’s Violin Concerto, a work with which he has a special affinity, and conducts Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.


Beethoven Beethoven Elgar

Coriolan Overture Symphony No.6, ‘Pastoral’ Violin Concerto

Christoph Koenig Pinchas Zukerman

Conductor Violin

With Christoph Koenig at the helm, this glorious programme opens with Beethoven’s noble Coriolan Overture, a work full of contrast and drama. At the heart of the programme is Beethoven’s delightful Symphony No.6, known as the ‘Pastoral’ Symphony for its irresistible depictions of the charms of country life. Pinchas Zukerman is renowned for his interpretation of the Elgar Violin Concerto, a work of great lyricism and power, with a violin part that combines virtuosity and emotional depth.


Elgar Elgar Walton

Cockaigne Overture (In London Town) Sea Pictures Belshazzar’s Feast

Tadaaki Otaka Sarah Connolly Neal Davies The Bach Choir

Conductor Mezzo-soprano Baritone

A sumptuous concert of English masterworks, with Elgar’s evocative Sea Pictures performed by mezzo-soprano Sarah Connolly, a singer internationally celebrated for her exceptional musicality and expressive voice. The concert opens with Elgar’s charming Cockaigne Overture, which paints a vivid picture of a day in London and culminates in Walton’s magnificent Belshazzar’s Feast. For this masterpiece, composed on a grand scale, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is joined by The Bach Choir and the outstanding bass-baritone Neal Davies.

TUESDAY 9TH JUNE 2015, 7.30PM Brahms Schubert

Piano Concerto No.1 Symphony No.9, ‘The Great’

Thomas Dausgaard Conductor Natasha Paremski Piano

Both Brahms and Schubert combined the elegance of Classical music with the emotional power of the Romantic, making this programme a real treat for admirers of rich yet refined music. Under the baton of Thomas Dausgaard, the young dynamic pianist Natasha Paremski performs the dramatic Piano Concerto No.1 by Brahms, a work which encompasses music of brooding power and romantic tenderness. Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major Symphony reveals the composer at the peak of his powers, unfolding an array of wonderful melodies. ‘The Great’ distinguishes the work from Schubert’s earlier C major Symphony and reflects its majestic power.

Notes © Joanna Wyld, 2014

CORPORATE PARTNERSHIPS Corporate Hospitality • Networking Marketing • Corporate Social Responsibility The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra gratefully acknowledges the support and enthusiasm of its Corporate Partners:

To find out how your company can benefit from a partnership with the RPO, please contact Huw Davies on: 020 7608 8825 or









s xe


£58 ls



l Sta

£45 £38 £30


c an rm rfo rea e A P s




ir ho




e ch


£20 £15 £10

No transaction fees for in-person bookings or Southbank Centre Members and Supporters Circles. For other bookings transaction fees apply: £1.75 online, £2.75 over the phone.

Telephone Bookings: 0844 847 9910 Online Bookings: GROUP BOOKINGS: Group discounts of up to 35% are available for more than 10 people. A special school/college price of just £5 per ticket is also available. To find out more, please call the RPO on 020 7608 8840.

SUBSCRIPTION SERIES Book for 2 or more concerts and make great savings! SEATING AREA






£45 £58





















Terms and Conditions: Concerts must all be booked in one transaction. Subscription discounts cannot be combined with any other discounts. Offer available online at Information correct at time of going to press.

RPO Southbank Brochure Oct 2014 - June 2015  

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is delighted to present its new season at London’s celebrated cultural hub, Southbank Centre.

RPO Southbank Brochure Oct 2014 - June 2015  

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is delighted to present its new season at London’s celebrated cultural hub, Southbank Centre.