Rockford Art Museum Year in Review: 2021

Page 1

Support groups and event committees are essential to Rockford Art Museum. Ticket proceeds from each event help provide funding support for RAM throughout the year.

Sponsors, donors, partners and more help Rockford Art Museum support our community through art collection, exhibition and eduation.

815 Alive 815 Yoga A Thymeless Bloom ABG Bag, Inc. Ahlstrand Family Foundation American Alliance of Museums Anderson Japanese Gardens Armer Ahlstrand Charitable Foundation Arts Alliance Illinois Assn of Midwest Museums Lon + Dick Behr Beloit Art Center Cherry + Doug Beto Erin Beto Better Business Bureau of Rockford Cheryl + Rick Bischoff Anne + David Boccignone Judy Boccignone Burpee Museum of Natural History Jordan Calgaro Sharyn + Joseph Castrogiovanni Catherine J. Makeup Artistry Cheeks Photography/ Albert Riley, Jr. City of Rockford Clara Joyce Flowers Coleman CPA and Consulting, Inc. Community Foundation of Northern illinois Coyle-Kiley Insurance Agency

Dean Alan Olson Foundation Sara + Dave Deutsch Dick + Trudy Reynolds Foundation Dillon Foundation Cherri + Phil Eaton Cathy Elliott Event Floral Floral Façade Tom Furst James Gault Cynthia Grantz Carolyn Greenlaw Greenlee John Guthrie Karen Vaughn Harding Sherry + Greg Harlan Haskell STEAM Academy Virginia Hatwich Sharon Heinzeroth Janella + Matthew Herbig Wanda Hoover Sue Humphris Illinois Arts Council Agency Illinois Humanities In Memory of Chuck Prorock In Memory of Mary Kuller In Memory of Richard Hynes J.R. Kortman Center for Design David Jacques John Brantley’s Neighborhood Networking Program Nancy + Jeff Kaney

Keep Northern Illinois Beautiful Kishwaukee College Floral Design Program Kjellstrom Family Foundation Kortman Gallery LaMonica Beverages Lisa + Mark Lindman Linos Luxe Productions Frank Maggio Bonnie Marx Mary’s Place Kathleen Mattison Midland States Bank Midland Wealth Mgmt Francis Minert Dan Minick Mrs. Fisher’s Inc. NI Center for Nonprofit Excellence JoMarie Paul Shelley + Kevin Peifer Sandra + Michael Perlow Perryville Pet Hospital David Potter Michelle Princer RBC Wealth Management Richard Reynolds Patty + Bob Rhea Riverfront Museum Park Rock House Kids Rockford Area Arts Council Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau Rockford Art Guild

Rockford Association for Minority Management Rockford Chamber of Commerce Rockford City Market Rockford Dance Company Rockford Mass Transit District Rockford Park District Rockford Public Library Rockford Roasting Co. Rockford Symphony Orchestra Diana + Daniel Saavedra Paul Salemo Karen + Tom Shifo Sjostrom & Sons Foundation Patty + Jeff Smith Smith Charitable Foundation St. Charles Florist & Boutique Stems Floral Design Joan Stonecipher The Garden Floral The GoodCoin Foundation The High and Mighty/ Kelvin Candie The Rock River Times Twisted Stem United Way of Northwestern Illinois Beth Ann Weis William Lieberman Wipfli Women’s Art Board YMCA of Rock River Valley Zolla/Lieberman Gallery

PATRONS Patrons support RAM at the highest philanthropic levels of membership (Patron $1000, Junior Patron $500). Perks include remarkable opportunities for art-focused trips, stateside and abroad, that feature memorable experiences off the beaten path.

ART IN BLOOM OCT 20–24, 2021 David Boccignone, Chair Rockford Art Museum was in full bloom during this four-day event and its Preview Party as select works of art from were creatively interpreted through flowers and other organic material by talented local designers. FASHION IN BLOOM: COCKTAILS + LIVING COUTURE OCT 23, 2021 Jordan Calgaro, Chair; Karen Archer, Co-Chair RAM partnered with local floral design shops Clara Joyce Flowers, Event Floral, The Garden Floral and Twisted Stem Floral, along with Rockford fashion designer Kelvin Candie of The High and Mighty, to present this popular fundraising event during Art in Bloom.

GREENWICH VILLAGE ART FAIR SEP 18, 2021 Jenny Mathews, Co-Chair; Tim Stotz, Co-Chair The 73rd Greenwich Village Art Fair featured over 70 artists and vendors, live music by local musicians, an artisan marketplace, children’s art activities, and much more. This year the fair extended along the Rock River and showcased music in the amphitheater at Burpee Museum of Natural History.

WOMEN’S ART BOARD LUNCHEON FEATURING JENNY RIDDLE DEC 10, 2021 Holly Squicciarini, Chair This signature fundraiser features a live holiday-themed performance by Jenny Riddle based on Christmas at the White House. The event also includes a silent auction, raffle, and lunch from Greenfire Restaurant in the RAM galleries.

photo by Albert Riley, Jr. of Cheeks Photography

trustees , patrons , staff TRUSTEES PRESIDENT Keri Benhoff PAST PRESIDENT David Boccignone EXEC. TRUSTEES Steve Bois John Holevas Daniel G. Saavedra TREASURER Greg Harlan SECRETARY Holly Squicciarini

Jim Bennett Diane Jaroch Cain Jordan Calgaro Jerry Kortman Chris Lewis Dana Martin Steve Pitkin TRUSTEES EMERITUS Dick Behr Rob Funderburg SUPPORT GROUP REPRESENTATIVES Jenny Mathews | GVAF Tim Stotz | GVAF Anne Boccignone | WAB

PATRONS

STAFF

John Anderson Lon & Dick Behr Cheryl Bischoff Chad Black Steve Bois Diane Jaroch Cain Anita & Fred Church Lynn Fischer-Carlson Gail & Hugh Funderburg Cathy & Rob Funderburg Paula Turner Grasso Patricia & Norm Hagman Janella & Matt Herbig Mary Heffran Margret Hesler Hynes Vicki Johnson Sally & Gary Jouris Lisa & Mark Lindman Patty & Bob Rhea Dave Schroepfer Joan Stonecipher Cathie & Bill Thiede

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/ CURATOR Carrie Johnson ASSISTANT CURATOR Frances Downey MARKETING COMMUNICATIONS + DESIGN Sarah Axelson EDUCATION COORDINATOR Jaymee Fedor EDUCATION ASSISTANT + STORE COORDINATOR Lily Pocs ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT April Marque

ROCKFORD ART MUSEUM | 711 N MAIN ST ROCKFORD, IL 61103 | (815) 968-2787 | ROCKFORDARTMUSEUM.ORG

Gerda Meyer Bernstein, Exercise in Futility, 2008.

support

YEAR IN REVIEw 2021

sponsors , donors , partners


COLLECTION In the past year, Rockford Art Museum has acquired and added 92 new works to the Permanent Collection. Recently accepted or accessioned works and portfolios are listed below.

EXHIBITION This year’s feature exhibitions and exhibition-related programming were sponsored by Coleman CPA and Consulting, Inc., Greenlee | Emerson, Matthew and Janella Herbig, Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau and partially supported by a Partners in Excellence grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency, Rockford Area Arts Council, Women’s Art Board of Rockford Art Museum, and a grant from Illinois Humanities, with funds from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021.

NEW ACQUISITIONS (in order of acceptance or accession) Gerda Meyer Bernstein (American, born German, b. 1924), Exercise in Futility, 2008. 50 rucksacks, 50 military helmets and 50 cell phones. Gift of the artist and Kohler Foundation Inc.

NEW GENRES ART SPACE PRESENTS: JONAH KING: HOW THE WEST WAS WON FEB 12–MAY 31, 2021

David Klamen (American, b. 1961), Untitled, 2007. Oil on canvas. Gift of Cathy and Robert Funderburg

Installation view: Infinity Mirror

From sandcastles and relic-like sculptures to an immersive three-channel video, Jonah King’s exhibition, How the West was Won, reveals unique relationships among geologic time, colonialism, climate change, and golf. NEW GENRES ART SPACE PRESENTS: VERÓNICA SORIA MARTÍNEZ: MEMORY ACCESS FEB 12–MAY 31, 2021

2021 COLLECTION EXHIBITS MANUEL CARRILLO: RAMO DE SOMBRAS APR 15-JUL 18, 2021 AMERICAN MASTERY APR 15-JUL 18, 2021

By mixing augmented reality, video projections, and sound, Veronica Soria-Martinez’s exhibition Memory Access invites visitors into a multisensory space that investigates a speculative future through fictional relics.

Thornton Dial, Veterinarian Looking at the Worm’s in the Tiger’s Droppings

INFINITY MIRROR: GEOMETRIC AND POSTPAINTERLY ABSTRACTION SEP 2-DEC 12, 2021

80TH YOUNG ARTIST SHOW VIRTUAL, OPENED MAR 14, 2021

GERDA MEYER BERNSTEIN: EXERCISE IN FUTILITY JUL 15-NOV 28, 2021

CORPOREAL MUSIC SEP 9-DEC 19, 2021

Robert Winslow (American, b. 1950), Energy Form, 1983. Tennessee Marble. Gift of McDonald’s Corp.

it is our mission to foster creativity and build community through visual arts .

Installation view: Technicolor Constellations

TECHNICOLOR CONSTELLATIONS: TALES FROM THE PERMANENT COLLECTION JUN 11–SEP 26, 2021 Digging deep into Rockford Art Museum’s vault, Technicolor Constellations: Tales from the Permanent Collection features over 50 pieces from the Modern and Contemporary Collection that tell the fascinating stories of how Rockford Art Museum built its public collection. Technicolor Constellations connected visitors with the captivating stories behind each artist, their work, and how it was brought to the museum. From private donors, foundations, artists,

So far this year over 130 kids have learned to draw fun characters in any of our 20+ Cartoon Club programs offered for ages 6+ both in-person and virtually. We offered 9 different summer camps for youth ages 5-18, which introduced young people to art forms such as pottery, photography, watercolor, and cartooning. Scholarships for these camps were given out to RPS 205 students in need thanks to our generous Camp Collage scholarship program funded by the Johnson Family Foundation. We are also pleased to be back in collaboration with Rockford Public Library this year! RPL offers storytimes and craft projects free to the public every third Saturday in The Studio at RAM, catering to our youngest audiences.

For adults, we have brought back our monthly figure drawing sessions and unique workshops led by local artists, including macrame, ceramics, and meditation. Our Studio Artists group, led by local artist Jasmina Jovanovic, has remained popular, as well as our gallery walks and Coffee with the Curator series. In March, RAM staff proudly participated in 18 hours each of Equity and Diversity Training, bringing us closer to other community organizations who share our values of inclusion and accessibility.

Adult Workshop

UNDER THE MAGNIFYING GLASS: SMALL WORKS FROM THE PERMANENT COLLECTION JUL 8-NOV 21, 2021

NIGHT VISION MAY 20-AUG 15, 2021

In 2021, we were excited to see Rockford Art Museum’s educational programming return to a state of normalcy after the tumultuousness of 2020. Alongside old favorites, our programming has expanded to offer new workshops by local artists, virtual programs, and lots of outreach to local schools and community groups.

MY WAY: AFRICAN AMERICAN ART FROM THE BLACK SOUTH OCT 8, 2021—JAN 23, 2022 Stemming from the roots that gave rise to Blues, Jazz and Gospel music, My Way: African American Art from the Black South surveys a collection of 156 works of art representing the styles and practices of this incredibly unique and inspired group of 46 artists including 8 original quilts constructed by the Gee’s Bend quilters in rural Boykin, Alabama. Many of the works in this exhibition are part of two major donations to Rockford Art Museum made by Susan and Stephen Pitkin and James Hager.

FAVORITE NEIGHBOR MAY 20-AUG 15, 2021

89 photographs and works on paper from the Ruttenberg Arts Foundation including work from Robert Brewer, Patty Carrol, Elio Ciol, Yoshisuke Funasaka, Roland Ginzel, Richard Gordon, Takao Hiwasaki, Shigero Izumi, Joseph Jachna, Pierre Jahan, Kosuke Kimura, Akira Kurosaki, Nathan Lerner, Mikael Levin, Tadayoshi Nakabayashi, Roberta Richards, Holly Roberts, Atsuo Sakazume, Victor Schrager, Charles Seton, Joseph Sudek, Fumio Tamura, Christian Vogt, J. Washburn, and Brett Weston

and acquisitions, this exhibition explored the importance of artwork donations, collectors and what it takes to get into a museum’s permanent collection.

EDUCATION

Due to COVID-19 we were unable to host the 80th Annual Young Artist Show in person this year, however we were thrilled to showcase each high school and artist individually through our social media accounts. Featuring one school per day, each student, selected this year by teachers, was given their moment to shine. An exhibition catalog was also created for the student exhibition.

Homeschool Class

Our homeschool classes are back in session this fall with a robust curriculum provided by three local art educators. We have even dipped our toes into nontraditional art forms as New Genres artist Verónica Soria Martínez introduced middle school students to augmented reality technology. Thanks to the Healing Illinois grant sponsored by United Way of Northwest Illinois, RAM staff offered art workshops to over 350 students at Haskell STEAM Academy, 815 Alive, and Rock House Kids. We also participated in numerous events in Rockford, sharing free crafts and spreading the word of our free admission with our community. We were happy to host two interns from regional universities this year, and thanks to an Illinois Arts Council grant, we were able to employ 3 RPS 205 teenagers as Museum Assistants for the summer. Our Museum Assistants gained experience in educational programming, exhibit preparation, and customer service in RAM’s museum store.

Some education events looked a little different this year, like the 80th Annual Young Artist Show which was fully virtual. Local and regional teachers and students adapted well to the change, and we are looking forward to returning to an in-person show for 2022. The Creations by Kids tent at Greenwich Village Art Fair this year was a hit, with over 240 crafts created. This fall, we are looking forward to once again hosting our free Portfolio Day event, which gives students the chance to meet with representatives from various colleges and universities to learn more about pursuing an art or design career. Overall, we are so thankful for the support we have gotten through grants and from community members such as Bonnie and Eric Nofsinger. Your support allows us to create dynamic, accessible, and engaging educational programming.