Page 1

Honoring our

“EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR” recipients | PAGE 2

THE WARE CENTER marks its fifth anniversary in downtown Lancaster | PAGE 3 M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E |R SPAGE I T Y •4 S pr i ng/ S ummer 2016 | Robotics Comes of Age at MILLERSVILLE

1


Since arriving at Millersville University in 2013, I’ve been impressed by the talented, experienced and high-achieving faculty that I’ve had the pleasure of working with during my tenure here. Their intellectual curiosity and commitment to engaging our students are unparalleled. On the cover of this issue are five faculty who have received Millersville University’s annual “Educator of the Year” Award. The award is given each year to one faculty member in recognition of sustained outstanding teaching, counseling, mentoring and advising of our students. DR. SEPIDEH YALDA, EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR (2015-16), is a tireless educator, professor of meteorology, director of the Center for Disaster Research and Education and coordinator for the Master of Science in Emergency Management program and the Minor in Environmental Hazards and Emergency Management. Dr. Yalda’s students praise her for the amount of energy she invests in classes as well as in advising and mentoring. Many former students attribute the success they have had in their careers not only to what they learned in classes, but to her mentoring, which often extends years past graduation from MU. DR. JENNIFER F. WOOD, EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR (2014-15), is an associate professor of Communication & Theatre. From a student’s standpoint, she is one of the toughest and most brutally honest professors, who diligently helps students build professional confidence. Dr. Wood’s knowledge and passion for her discipline are beyond compare. DR. EDWARD RAJASEELAN, EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR (2012-13), is a professor who brings chemistry into the real world. Dr. “R,” as he is fondly referred to by his students, was nominated by current students, and his supporting letters came from the chair and former students. His undergraduate focused research is in the areas of organometallic and green chemistry. DR. JOHN WALLACE, EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR (2011-12), is a professor of biology, director of the Center for Environmental Sciences and co-coordinator of the Watershed Education Training Institute. Dr. Wallace’s commitment to student learning is demonstrated by his collaborative efforts with students on research projects, many resulting in presentations and peer-reviewed publications. As a medical entomologist, Dr. Wallace is an expert on mosquito ecology and arthropod-borne disease transmission. DR. SUSAN LUEK, EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR (2010-11), now retired, was a professor of psychology and oversaw the “Rat Lab” on campus. Dr. Luek was an inspirational educator at Millersville for 40 years. Beyond her exemplary instruction in the classroom, she demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to student learning through her role as an advisor to students and campus organizations. As president, what makes me exceedingly proud is knowing that behind each of these five exceptional educators stands our entire faculty, all of whom share a common commitment to engaging students at a level that stimulates transformation and discovery. Best regards,

UNIVERSIT Y REVIEW

Spring/Summer 2016 | VOLUME 130 | No. 1

The Review is published by Millersville University, a member of the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education. PRESIDENT Dr. John M. Anderson MILLERSVILLE REVIEW STAFF Adam Owenz, Executive Director of Marketing & Communications | Janet Kacskos, Executive Editor | Laura Knowles, Editor | Ethan Hulsey, Sports News | Denise Berg, Alumni News | Lorie Mahoney ’13, Alumni News | Kirsten Shoemaker, Class Notes CONTRIBUTORS Patricia Coulson | Stephen Kopfinger ’85 Cheryl Lockley | Ed Zuschmidt | Thomas Bacho ’14 PRINTED BY PEMCOR, INC. ALUMNI ASSOCIATION Scott Bailey ’98 (president), Mike Henry ’83, (president-elect), Richard Moriarty ’72 (treasurer), Kelly Davis ’95 (secretary), Leslie Arnold ’78, Jennifer Bertolet ’92, Chad Bolt ’08, Katie Breit ’02, Nathan Claycomb ’01, Ashley Christman ’12, Theresa Dozer-Daniel ’77, Christopher Driscoll ’01, Kathy Focht ’70, ’75M, Kitty Glass ’53, Alicia Good ’14, David Hernandez ’71, Amy Hoffman ’94, Patrick Leahy ’97, Jonathan Mimm ’08, Sean O’Donnell ’99, Carroll Staub ’72, ’90M, Matthew Storm ’12, ’14M, Ashley Tose ’14, Steve Yacovelli ’93, Cheryl Youtz ’69, ’72M, Lori Dierolf ’91, past president PASSHE BOARD OF GOVERNORS Guido M. Pichini (chairman), Marie Conley (vice chair), David M. Maser (vice chair), Sen. Richard Alloway II, Rep. Matthew E. Baker, Jane M. Earll, Christopher H. Franklin, Sarah Galbally, Rep. Michael K. Hanna, Ronald G. Henry, Jonathan B. Mack, Daniel P. Meuser, Pedro A. Rivera, Sen. Judy Schwank, Harold C. Shields, Robert S. Taylor, Aaron A. Walton, Governor Tom Wolf MILLERSVILLE UNIVERSITY COUNCIL OF TRUSTEES Michael G. Warfel ’84 (chairman), Richard L. Frerichs ’64 (vice chairman), Kevin F. Harley ’86 (secretary), James P. Argires, Gibson E. Armstrong, Brandon Smith ’16, William B. McIlwaine, Brian A. Rider ’87, Gerald S. Robinson, Esq., Ann S. Womble, President John M. Anderson, ex officio, Chancellor Frank T. Brogan, ex officio MILLERSVILLE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION BOARD Jan L. Graybill ‘80 (president), Anne Jackson ‘78 (vice president), Saul Fink ‘85 (secretary), Barry E. Miller ’77 (treasurer), Daniel Biemesderfer ’71, Beverly Hacker Breniser ’69, ’73M, Neysa Callahan ‘81, Ximena Catepillan, Benjamin Del Tito, Jr. ’77, Steven J. Fellin ’87, Joseph Garner ’90, Michael Gumpper, Nicole Guy (student), Darryl Landis ’85, M.D., Julie Lombardi, Elizabeth Martin, William B. McIlwaine, Robert Patterson, Gerald Robinson, Kathryn Ross, Robin Russo, James Warner ’80, John G. Williams ’64, Ann Womble Millersville University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action institution.

John M. Anderson, Ph.D.

*Editor’s note: No award was given for the 2013-14 school year.

Cover: (clockwise top left) Dr. Edward Rajaseelan, Dr. John Wallace, Dr. Susan Luek, Dr. Sepideh Yalda, Dr. Jennifer F. Wood


MILLERSVILLE UNIVERSITY’S WARE CENTER MARKS FIVE YEARS:

A Showcase of Community Engagement and Collaboration BY LAUR A KNOWLES

The Ware Center is a sparkling jewel in downtown Lancaster, with its stunning glass façade that shines in the center of the city’s art district. That’s just the outside. Inside, Millersville University’s Ware Center sets the stage for innovative jazz performances, African dance troupes, Broadway cabarets, classical dance, poetry readings, theatre, film, opera, cabarets, international artists, historic performances and shows for the whole family. Celebrating its fifth anniversary as Millersville University’s urban culture center for community engagement and collaboration, the Ware Center has more than lived up to the hopes and dreams of its visionaries. In those five years, more than 325,000 patrons have been dazzled by nearly 3,200 performances by stars like Broadway legend Patti LuPone, Ed Asner as FDR, Candace O’Donnell as Mary Todd Lincoln, Amy Banks sings Aretha,

the Rose & Shamrock Celtic Festival, Mali singer Fatoumata Diawara and the Latino Arts Festival. Named for notable philanthropists Paul and Judy Ware, the Ware Center provides state-of-the-art acoustics and is one of the last buildings designed by renowned architect Philip Johnson. His signature can be seen throughout the vibrant contemporary design of what has become a downtown cultural landmark. Steinman Hall’s 350-seat venue stages Master Series music classes and major performances. The Owen Salon, with its expansive city view, presents cabaret style performances and receptions, paying tribute to Harvey Owen who was the center’s first director. The upper level Atrium, with its breathtaking glass pyramid ceiling, has hosted hundreds of elegant receptions under the stars. The downtown Ware Center partners with the Dr. Charles R. and Anita B. Winter Visual and Performing Arts Center at the Millersville University campus, under the direction of Laura Kendall. Through Dr. John Anderson’s leadership, the Office of Visual and Performing Arts flourishes in its legacy of arts and civic engagement, enriching the campus and the Lancaster community.

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr i ng/ S ummer 2016 | 3


ROBOTICS COMES OF AGE at

Millersville University BY S T E P H E N KOP F I N GER ‘85

4 || MMIILLLLEERRSSVVIILLLLEE UUNNIIVVEERRSSIITTYY •• wwwww. w.mi m ill ler erssvi vill le. e.edu edu


HEATHER M. HELTZINGERSCHEURING ‘07

The development of robotics on campus has been evolving and growing for more than 15 years. That journey has included the development of two undergraduate robotics-related degrees, a state-of-the-art facility in Osburn Hall and an award-winning undergraduate robotics competition team that has earned numerous national championships and awards. Millersville University’s first robotics degree, a Bachelor of Science degree in applied engineering & technology management with a concentration in robotics & control systems technology (AETM RCSY), evolved from the former industrial technology electronics degree. In 2016, the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) approved a Bachelor of Science degree in automation & intelligent robotics engineering technology (AIRET). Dr. John Wright, professor and AIRET program coordinator, has been the primary drive behind this development. His interests include semi-autonomous and autonomous mobile robotic development and control, industrial robotics and humanoid robotics. “The AEST (Applied Engineering, Safety and Technology) Department and the University have been extremely supportive over the years. It has been a team effort to drive this program of innovation and change,” says Wright, adding that the AEST department is preparing for a major equipment upgrade.

Project Manager & Designer, Keystone Engineering Group, Inc., Frazer, Pa.

The Robotics Team, which is the student chapter of the Association of Technology, Management and Applied Engineering (ATMAE), has won six national robotics competitions and more than 35 individual awards since 2001. Dr. Mehmet Goksu, associate professor of physics—whose interests include quantum computing, edgemagnetoplasmons, physics education projects and sonoluminescence—is team advisor. Co-advisors include Drs. John Wright, Mark Snyder and Louise Manfredi from the AEST department.

GILBERT RAMOS ’14 Manufacturing Engineer II, Harley Davidson, Inc., Kansas City, Mo. Gil Ramos graduated from Millersville with a degree in Applied Engineering & Management Technology – Robotics & Control Systems. He now works in Kansas City, Mo., at the American motorcycle icon Harley-Davidson, Inc., supporting the fabrication department as a tactical engineer specializing in fuel tank fabrication. “I work with various robotic laser cut and weld cells that build our bikes. My job includes automation, controls development and troubleshooting, as well as continuous improvement in our manufacturing environment,” says Ramos. Originally from Saylorsburg, Pa., Ramos started off in the physics program at Millersville. “I was walking to my physics class one day and I walked by the automation lab and saw four Mitsubishi robotic arms dancing to Mr. Roboto. I was immediately hooked. I walked in and looked around, and next thing I know I’m looking at course layouts and switching majors the very next day. Best decision of my life!” he says. “Robotics is the future. If you look in any major manufacturing operation, there is always going to be a higher level of automation and sophistication. The growth of this need is going to skyrocket.”

The plastic components of MAVIS3D use 3D printing technology.

For Heather M. Heltzinger-Scheuring, Millersville University allowed her to dream big, finding inspiration in the school’s robotics program. Today, she works as a project manager and designer at Keystone Engineering Group, Inc. The company provides design engineering, systems integration and construction management services to clients. Heltzinger-Scheuring was studying information science at the University of Pittsburgh, which she found to be too big. She looked around and found Millersville. “It was kind of a fluke,” Heltzinger-Scheuring admits. “I found out about the robotics program and was impressed from the start.” Much of her inspiration came from Dr. John Wright. “He was a great teacher,” says Heltzinger-Scheuring, who received a Bachelor of Science degree in industrial technology with specialization in electronics and control systems from Millersville in 2007 and serves as chair of Millersville University's Applied Engineering Technology Advisory Committee.

BRAD SENSENIG ’12 Instrumentation & Electrical Design Engineer, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America, Hunt Valley, Md. Brad Sensenig is a 2012 graduate of Millersville University, who majored in industrial technology and was part of the University’s Robotics Team. “MU was on my list because of how close it was to home. It happened that Millersville offered a technology program that was what I was looking for,” says Sensenig. “Dr. John Wright was a major influence for me in college. Dr. Wright provided me with a number of opportunities including the robotics team and an honors thesis,” he says. “My fondest memories are with the MU Robotics Team. It was the closest experience we had to working in the real world.” Sensenig now travels to Japan and throughout the United States for his job at Mitsubishi. He encourages Millersville students to figure out their major and what they want to do. Then go after it.

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr i ng/ S ummer 2016 | 5


HOMECOMING

ALUMNI NEWS | E V E N T S

2016

www.villealumni.com for details

HOMECOMING FRIDAY, OCTOBER 21, 2016

9 a.m. Alumni Baseball Game. Cooper Park Baseball Stadium. Baseball alumni invited. Batting practice at 8:15 a.m. Contact Coach Jon Shehan ’06, at 717-871-5736 or jonathan.shehan@millersville.edu.

8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. University Store open for MU apparel and insignia items. Student Memorial Center.

FREE

10 a.m. - 3 p.m. Alumni & Friends Golf Outing. Crossgates Golf Course, 1 Crossland Pass, Millersville. This outing is open to alumni, faculty, staff and friends - all skill levels welcome! Sponsored by Liberty Mutual. $ 5 p.m. Campus Tour. Class of 1966 invited to a special riding tour of campus. Meet at the Student Memorial Center, Main Entrance/Clock Tower. Registration required. FREE 6 p.m. Class of 1966 Meet and Mingle. Biemesderfer Center. All members of the Class of 1966 are invited to kick off the 50th reunion weekend with a casual reception. $ 6 p.m. 22nd Annual Athletic Hall of Fame Reception and Dinner. Lehr Room, Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Honoring the 2016 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. $

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 22, 2016 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. University Store open for MU apparel and insignia items. Student Memorial Center. 9 a.m. Millersville Community Parade. “Hollywood Comes to Millersville” for the 20th annual parade! Two-mile route: Herr Avenue, Landis Avenue and N. George Street, Millersville. FREE

11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Alumni & Friends Tent Party. High School Avenue, between Sugar Bowl Pizzeria and Biemesderfer Stadium. Stop in for refreshments and reconnecting. Registration appreciated. FREE

2 p.m. Marauder Football vs. Shippensburg University. Chryst Field, Biemesderfer Stadium. PREGAME: the 2016 MU Athletic Hall of Fame inductees introduced. HALFTIME: MU Student Homecoming King and Queen. Tickets can also be purchased at the main gate. $ 2 p.m. Campus Tour, Student Memorial Center, Main Entrance/Clock Tower. Special riding tour of campus for alumni and friends. Registration required. FREE

11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Marauder Zone. Byerly parking areas (adjacent to Biemesderfer Stadium). Family-friendly event with student organizations, games, performances and entertainment. FREE

3 - 8 p.m. Thrillersville Gathering, Stayer Multipurpose Room. Mix & Mingle! FMI: Contact Aaron Dread, Class of 1994, at (302) 766-0044.

11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Sigma Phi Delta 50th Anniversary. Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Contact Elaine Mickelson ’81 at (610) 283-1680. $

5 p.m. Classes of the ’70s Reunion Reception and Dinner, Highlighting 1976 and 1971. Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. All classes of the ’70s are welcome. $

11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Delta Phi Eta 75th Anniversary Reunion. Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Contact Amy Hoffman ’94 at heythereamy@gmail.com. $

5:30 p.m. Class of 1951 - 65th Reunion Reception and Dinner, Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Members of the Class of 1951 and guests invited. $

12 - 2 p.m. Phi Sigma Pi Reunion. Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Contact Creighton Klein at (484) 366-9254. $

5:30 p.m. Class of 1956 - 60th Reunion, Reception and Dinner, Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Members of the Class of 1956 and guests invited. $

12:30 - 2 p.m. Science & Technology Alumni Gathering. Location TBD. Alumni are invited for dessert and beverages. FREE 1 - 3 p.m. WIXQ Gathering, WIXQ Studio, Student Memorial Center. Contact Priscilla Mulrooney, Station Manager, at stationmanager@917theville.com or (717) 419-7923. FREE

5:30 p.m. Class of 1966 - 50th Reunion Reception and Dinner, Bolger Conference Center, Gordinier Hall. Members of the Class of 1966 celebrate the 50th anniversary reunion with a reception, dinner and special program. $ www.villealumni.com | mualumni@millersville.edu 717.871.7551 | 1.800.681.1855

DAT E S to R E M E M B E R SEPTEMBER

18 | MU Day at Millport Conservancy, Lititz 21 | MU After Work - McCleary’s Garden Room, Marietta

OCTOBER

21 - 22 | Homecoming

NOVEMBER

16 | MU After Work

DECEMBER

3 | Glorious Sounds of the Season Concert & Reception, Winter Center

6 | M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • w w w. m i l l er s vi l l e. edu

JANUARY

18 | MU After Work 24 | AMS Alumni & Friends Reception - Seattle, WA

SPONSORS: Millersville University Alumni Association


ALUMNI NEWS | E V E N T S www.villealumni.com for details

Riders & Walkers

Join the third annual American Dream Scholarship Ride! Saturday, September 17, 2016, at 7:30 a.m., beginning and ending at Millersville’s Winter Visual and Performing Arts Center. Registration required by September 9, 2016. See mville.us/dreamride or contact the Office of Scheduling & Event Management at 717-871-5926. The Ride funds student scholarships at Millersville University and promotes the benefits of cycling.

CALL FOR

Nominations!

Do you know alumni who deserves special recognition?

The Millersville University Alumni Association (MUAA) is seeking nominations for: Distinguished Alumni Award | Young Alumni Achievement Award | Outstanding Volunteer Service Award | Honorary Alumnus/Alumna Award. Find out more at www.villealumni.com under Awards. The deadline is JANUARY 31.

START A LEGACY

SEEKING CANDIDATES The Millersville University Alumni Association is seeking candidates to serve on the Alumni Association Board of Directors. The board is comprised of 25 voting members from various class years, academic programs, geographical locations and diverse backgrounds. Members attend quarterly meetings and participate in board activities and programs. Learn more or apply under Alumni Association, Mission and Goals at www.villealumni.com. The deadline is JANUARY 20.

Marauder Connections! HAVEN’T BEEN RECEIVING THE ALUMNI E-NEWSLETTER?

We probably don’t have your email address on file! Visit www.villealumni.com and click the “Sign Up Now” button to register.

Share your alma mater with your children or grandchildren. You will be delighted by what has changed and reassured by what has remained the same.

millersville.edu/visit

The e-newsletter is a quick read and will keep you up to date on what’s happening at Millersville!

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr i ng/ S ummer 2016 | 7


Commencement SPRING 2016 A rain delay and cloudy skies could not dampen the joy of more than 1,000 graduating members of the Class of 2016. It was Millersville University's 160th Annual Commencement on May 7, at Chryst Field, Biemesderfer Stadium, as commencement speaker and honorary degree recipient Guido Pichini encouraged the new graduates to “Use your educational experience to learn and grow.” Daniel Castellanos cast sunshine over the stadium, as he urged the graduates to reach for the sky. As the first student with intellectual disabilities to be admitted to Millersville University as part of its D.R.E.A.M. Partnership, Castellanos spoke with great wisdom. “A dream

is what the heart desires,” he said. “People with disabilities can do great things, what matters is that you have hope in your heart. Don't let anyone tell you who you are and never give up hope.” President John M. Anderson encouraged the new graduates to get the most out of the next chapter of life’s journey. “You can expect challenges, but know there will be so many opportunities as well. Persevere and set lofty goals for yourself and others,” he said. “It has been my experience that the more you give back, the more you get; so go out there and give it all you’ve got.”

CONGRATULATIONS! Millersville University’s Graduate Degree Commencement Friday, May 6, Pucillo Gym Speaker: Dr. Ana Börger-Greco, Associate Professor of Spanish, Millersville University

8 | M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • w w w. m i l l er s vi l l e. edu


| MillersvilleU |

As seen on

Social Media

SEE WHAT PEOPLE HAVE BEEN POSTING ONLINE DURING THEIR TIME AT THE ‘VILLE! Shane Kacskos ’16

katie-hipple04

Bernie Sanders rally at Millersville University, regardless of who you’re for, a very cool experience adamjrineer

Blueberry Alarm Clock about to kill it opening for #JeffersonStarship #1969

Here’s to the next four years with this beautiful lady at an amazing university! #millersvilleuniversity

Kiara Allen

Check it out everyone! I am FULLY ENROLLED at #millersvilleuniversity

Research at Millersville University to control the Zika virus

MUConcert

Based on our smiles... can you tell we broke the 4x1 school record?

eason_solo758

fox43

adamjrineer

Junior recital p

Arron Jaffe

The concert gets real when the crowd holds up your artist while he sings! #MUCC16

Arron Jaffe worked and studied abroad during the spring semester. Here he is in Jaipur.

TomBacho

President Anderson rocking with students!

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr i ng/ S ummer 2016 | 9


SPORTS | SOFTBALL Under first-year head coach Jen Probst, the Millersville softball team reached the PSAC Tournament for the first time in the program’s 38-year history. Probst led the Marauders to 28 wins, the most in a season since 2006 and the second most ever. Heather Lutz, Brittany Smith and Brianna Andraos were named All-PSAC East, and Mandy Hammond was named CoSIDA Academic All-District.

| LACROSSE Mia Hall coached women’s lacrosse to its first PSAC Tournament since 2001 and best overall record since 1990, scoring an 11-7 record. Senior Bridget Hufnagel set the school record for points in a season and was named IWLCA All-Region and CoSIDA Academic All-District.

| GOLF The men’s golf team qualified for the NCAA Atlantic/East Super Regional for the fourth consecutive season. Robby Rowe, a three-time All-PSAC and PING All-Atlantic Region selection, was named CoSIDA Academic All-District.

| TENNIS Women’s tennis player Sarah Sambrick became Millersville’s first PSAC East Freshman of the Year since 2002, joining Nicole Daacke and Tori Davis on the All-PSAC East Teams. The Marauders reached the PSAC Semifinals for the first time since 2013 with a 5-1 league record.

| BASEBALL A historic season for the Millersville baseball team resulted in a PSAC record 50 wins, the third NCAA Atlantic Regional Championship in program history and a national runner-up finish. The Marauders achieved their first national No. 1 ranking. Head coach Jon Shehan was NCBWA Division II Coach of the Year. Brandon Miller was a first team All-American and Atlantic Region Pitcher of the Year.

DIRECTOR OF ATHLETICS The new leader of the Millersville University Athletic Department is one with deep ties to the Marauders. Miles P. Gallagher ’10, ’12M was named as the new director of athletics following a national search. “Miles has a true passion for Millersville University Athletics,” said Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management Brian Hazlett. “He is committed to preparing our student-athletes for success and providing them with the best possible experience. He can relate to our student-athletes and coaches, as he was a successful Marauder studentathlete and coach himself. In his time as an associate director and the interim director, he exhibited outstanding leadership qualities, a willingness to take action and a plan for taking Millersville athletics to the next level. I am excited to work with Miles and integrate his vision with the University's Bold Path.” A graduate of Lancaster's J.P. McCaskey High School, Gallagher played baseball for the Marauders from 2008-10, served as a graduate assistant in the athletic department and assistant baseball coach from 2010-12, and was appointed interim associate director of athletics for compliance in February 2013. He served in that role until the summer of 2015, when he was named the interim director of athletics. “We pride ourselves on building a championship experience for our student-athletes academically, athletically and in the community, said Gallagher.

10 | M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • w w w. mi l l er s vi l l e. edu


THERE’S MORE! Want to know what they named the baby? Want more details on the big wedding? The new job? The award? Pictures too? Check out millersville.edu/classnotes

Class Notes

1980s

1950s VICTOR BOVE ’54, Lancaster, Lifetime Achievement

DR. KEVIN DIXON ’81, Columbus, Ohio, featured in the

Award by Council 867 of the Knights of Columbus

Columbus African American News Journal

WILLIAM ZAGARINO ’55, Northport, N.Y., inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

ROB GRANT ’81, Kennett Square, joined 1st Advantage Mortgage as senior vice president

JOSEPH DEFRANCO ’59, Bensalem, 25-year faculty member in the College of Education at Temple University

KEVIN MAHONEY ’81, Malvern, received the Echoes 2015 Call to Care Award and Irish American Award PAUL MACNAMARA ’84, Mechanicsburg, swam the 24-hour Gold Star Teen Adventure Freedom Challenge

1960s EDWARD GOODHART ’63, Lancaster, 50th wedding

| MENS BASKETBALL Casey Stitzel, a two-time MAC Freedom Coach of the Year, is the new Millersville University men’s basketball coach. The winningest coach in Delaware Valley history, Stitzel inherited a program that had reached its conference tournament just once in the previous 41 seasons. Stitzel's impact on the program was remarkable. In year three, Stitzel guided his team to a 17-11 record and the school's first-ever MAC Freedom Championship. Stitzel won a second MAC crown in 2013 with a 19-9 record, then his third in 2016 with a record 20 wins. “We wanted a coach that fit our values and department culture,” said Millersville University Director of Athletics Miles Gallagher. Stitzel holds deep ties to Millersville University. His father, Glenn Stitzel, was a 1,000-point scorer on the hardwood and star on the baseball diamond from 1965-68. Glenn holds the school record for most points scored in a game (58) and was inducted into the Millersville University Athletic Hall of Fame in 2002. “I've always had dreams of being a head coach at the Division II level,” said Stitzel. “This is a great opportunity for me and my wife, Liz, to be a part of the Millersville and Lancaster communities. I'm excited to get started recruiting and building this program into a contender in the PSAC and at the national level.”

anniversary to Judy (Stout) Goodhart ’65

VICTOR HUGHES ’67, Waynesboro, teaches mathematics at Shepherd University J. RICHARD LANDIS ’69, Philadelphia, professor at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

1970s SHARON MCNAIR ’70, Royersford, retired after 24 years from Rockland Immunochemicals

JAMES MILLER ’70, Williamston, Mich., elected a 2015 fellow of the Entomological Society of America SAMUEL WALKER ’70, Collegeville, retired after 35 years as an operating engineer at IUOE Local 825

KATHLEEN HEIL ’71, Lusby, Md., retired after

BARRY BERTOLET ’88, Phoenix, Ariz., certification as a national board certified teacher MARGARET “MAGGIE” (ESBENSHADE) ESPINOSA ’88, La Mesa, Calif., published a book, On a Mission ANDY HERSHEY ’88, Paradise, teaches physics at Lancaster Mennonite High School SCOTT JACOBS ’88, Laurel, Md., received the 2015 Russell L. DeSouza award from the University Corporation of Atmospheric Research LAURA (WHALEY) RECEVEUR ’88, Ridley Park, adjunct professor for the School of Education at Drexel University EDWIN “NED” BUSTARD ’89, Lancaster, helped publish the book Revealed: A Storybook Bible for Grown-Ups KURT HOFFEDITZ ‘89, Chambersburg, chief information officer for the Franklin County Commissioners

33 years at the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

JOAN DETZ ’73, Millersville, published in Spanish by Alba Editorial of Barcelona

L. MARLIN EBY ’73, Mechanicsburg, professor of statistics at Messiah College

SUSAN (VAN RENSLER) ELDER ’73, Drexel Hill, retired after 40 years as director of parks, recreation and leisure services at Upper Darby Township JANINE JOHNSON ’73, Anna, Texas, elected as the chair of the Anna City Planning & Zoning Commission CHERYL (HASTINGS) LEASK ’73, Langhorne, transition support specialist at the HMS School for Children with Cerebral Palsy in Philadelphia KATHY HORNE ’74, Lancaster, “HR Person of the Year” by the Lancaster Society for Human Resource Management

BUTLER BUCHANAN ’76, Ambler, managing attorney of the law offices of Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, Philadelphia ROBERT LEEDON ’76, Chesapeake, Va., traveled to Alaska in August 2015

MARILYN (GAZZILLO) HANSEN ’79, Princeton Junction, N.J., senior volunteer at Riding High Farm PHILLIP WALKER ’79, Philadelphia, executive staff of The Original Profender organization

DARLENE (SHOLLENBERGER) WENHOLD ’79, Allentown, retired after 36 years, Quakertown Community School District

1990s JULIE CHEYNEY ’90, Palmyra, director of Lebanon County Planning Department

DIANNE WRIGHT ’90, Lansdale, five years as owner of North Penn Physical Therapy MELODY HERR ’92, Ann Arbor, Mich., senior acquiring editor for politics and government, University of Michigan Press ANTHONY MAJEWSKI ’92, Hatboro, finalist for the 2015 Escalante-Gradillas Best in Education Prize CURT REICHWEIN ’92, Audobon, Teacher Excellence Award for 2015-2016

MARY (TAYLOR) RESSLER ’92, Manheim, awarded by National Council of Teachers of English JEAN-PAUL BENOWITZ ’93, Harrisburg, published a book, Elizabethtown

LUKE LAZAR ’93, Dillsburg, was appointed as shareholder of RETTEW ROBERT MANCINI ’93, Hoboken, N.J., won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media-Multiplatform Storytelling JOHN BLACK ’95, Lancaster, principal of Park Elementary School, Columbia School District KOREY (PARSONS) COX ’95, Sinking Spring, featured teacher in the Reading Eagle newspaper

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr ing/ S um mer 2016 | 11


Class Notes

Donna Dingle ’73

Cheers for Diversity as First Black Millersville Cheerleader Back in 1970, Donna Victoria Dingle of Narbeth, Pa., made history when she became the first black cheerleader on Millersville’s junior varsity squad. The 1973 graduate with a degree in education grew up in Ardmore, Pa., and decided on a whim to try out for the cheerleading squad, even though she had not been a cheerleader in high school. “There were three black students trying out, and I thought, why not?” Dingle must have rocked those splits and cartwheels. She made the squad. “I felt accepted by the other girls, a part of the team,” says Dingle. “We had TAMMY LEIDICH ’95, Mount Joy, promoted to manager of online learning content at TE Connectivity CHRISTEN COSCIA ’96, Lancaster, co-authored book chapter, Teaching Mindfulness to Kids and Teens MATTHEW BONO ’97, Lancaster, principal at the Walz Group

a great time together cheering at basketball and football games. We didn’t do some of the crazy acrobatic stuff they do today. And I still have my megaphone with my name on it.” As Dingle recalls, “I felt like a groundbreaker because in the ’60s and ’70s, we were in the midst of the civil rights movement, looking for equality and respect for all people. Being the first black cheerleader at The 'Ville made me feel proud and honored to be representing, not only Millersville State College, but my fellow students of color.”

GEORGE (ANDREW) MESCHTER ’99, Collegeville, published Gentlemen Gloucester First Philadelphia Calvary

NED BUSHONG ’99, Lancaster, received the North Museum Board of Directors’ Prize for Excellence at the Science and Engineering Fair

KIM GRAHAM-PFEFFER ’97, Philadelphia, director of financial services at Thomas Jefferson University

2000s

DR. JEFFREY LEHMAN ’97, Columbus, Ohio,

MIKE CHICK ’00, Arlington, Va., competed in

senior vice president for strategy and analytics, Citizens Financial

8th season of NBC’s American Ninja Warrior

BRYAN SANGUINITO ’97, Ephrata, elected president of the eastern region on the Pennsylvania State Education Association

Lancaster Mennonite School

DR. BENJAMIN STILES ‘97, ‘05M, Strasburg,

LEW MARTIN ’00, New Holland, teaches algebra at JAIME (MARCUS) ZUCKER ’00, Bensalem, voted 2015 Buck’s Happening Mover & Shaker NATHAN CLAYCOMB ’01, Lancaster, earned his

Ed.D. Degree in Educational Leadership at Immaculata University

Certified Travel Industry Specialist designation

ABRAHAM BRESLIN ’98, Willow Street, senior director of labor relations with Rite Aid

opened Screamin’ Hill Brewery

DR. GARY LEWANDOWSKI ’98, Holmdel, N.J., wrote the textbook, Discovering the Science Within

AMANDA SIMS ’98, Stillwater, Okla., prayer team pastor with Life.Church in Edmond, Okla. BRENDA BARE ’99, Lancaster, director of

JENNIFER (BATES) COLE ’01, Cream Ridge, N.J., THERESA KATALINAS ’01, Willow Grove, director of community relations and marketing, Jon Waxman’s Lee’s Hoagie House

DAVID MORRIS ’01, Middletown, M.B.A. from the University of Delaware

curriculum for Lancaster Mennonite School

12 | M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • w w w. m i l l er s vi l l e. edu

NIKOLE HOLLINS ’02, ’04M, Harrisburg, Ph.D. in school psychology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania FREDERICK KERNER ’02, Morrisville, elected president of Morrisville’s Borough Council ANTOINE WRIGHT ’02, Aldan, UX designer for the Allegis Group

JAMES LAMB ’03, Reading, Pennsylvania State Education Association’s Southern Region President HANNAH MEESON ’03, Gettysburg, authored Just Whistle, with song lyrics from Erick Macek ’02 JUSTIN BAYLOR ’04, Windermere, Fla., dean at Bay Meadows Elementary School CHRISTOPHER BOURLAND ’04, King of Prussia, awarded as Member of Appraisal Institute MELINDA MEYERS ’04, Mount Joy, community engagement and grants manager of the Lancaster Symphony Orchestra BRYAN BEHRENHAUSEN ’05, Chapel Hill, N.C., Ph.D. in communication, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill STEPHEN BIGOSKI ’05, Lansdale, senior vendor liaison at Ferrandino & Son, Inc.


THERE’S MORE! Want to know what they named the baby? Want more details on the big wedding? The new job? The award? Pictures too? Check out millersville.edu/classnotes

JOHN “GREG” PIZZOLI ’05, Philadelphia, authored children’s book, Tricky Vic: The Impossibly True Story of the Man Who Sold the Eiffel Tower

CHESTER HOLLAND ’10, Philadelphia, master’s degree in public administration from West Chester University

2016 | MARRIAGES

KRISTIN WATERS ’05, Baltimore, Md., Ph.D. in

RACHEL LILICK ’10, Perkiomenville, master’s

David Frehafer ’76 and Robin Light Dunkle, 11/20/15

education from Frostburg State University

degree in geoscience from West Chester University

DESTINEE (SHANK-OTTO) DEELY ’06,

PETER TARABORELLI ’10, Ephrata, marketing

Cheri Hackman Yocklovich ’76 and Jim Rozetar ’76, 9/19/15

East Texas, director of business development at the Muscular Dystrophy Association

leader at Stoner Industries in Quarryville, Pa.

Robbin Mihajlov ’85 and David Reinhart ’86, 3/12/15

JAMES BOYER ’11, Chambersburg, manager of Appalachian Running Company in Chambersburg

R. Jon O’Connor ’96 and Melissa Dolfi ’99, 11/20/15

HOPE GREENLEAF ’11, Washington, D.C., owns

Erica Coar ’01 and Jonathan Muthersbaugh ’03, 11/7/13

MICHAEL NATALE ’06, Lancaster, teaches middle school math at Lancaster Mennonite School

Walter Petroski ’75 and Carla Rupp ’80, 9/12/15

Teresa Conley ’97 and Kelly Omilak, 9/5/15

ANDREA BECKER ’07, Lititz, director of client

Tunes 4 Tots, 2015 Best of Washington Award

services at ConnectCare3

TYLER HERR ’11, Lampeter, math teacher at Lancaster Mennonite School

Gregg Heimer ’02 and Kimberlea Latsha, 2/20/16

AMY STOLTZFUS ’11, Leola, M. Ed. Secondary

Angela Bauman ’06 and Casey Ryan, 9/12/15

BRIGETTE KAMSLER ’07, New York, N.Y., United States Corporate Archivist for HSBC bank, Brooklyn, N.Y.

LYNN (DEANGELIS) APRIL ’08, Harrisburg,

Marie Cartwright ’04 and Matt Byers, 9/3/15

published cookbook, The Chow Down

School Counseling and Certification in Higher Education and Student Affairs, West Chester University

LAUREN LINDGREN ’08, Denver, Colo.,

ADAM SCHICKLING ’12, Millerton, investment

grant writer at ZIM Consulting, Inc.

analyst at Vanguard

Ami Reist ’09 and Chaz Jachimski, 8/15/15

TAYLOR RUK-TEICHMAN ’08, Mifflinburg, online resource specialist, National Sexual Violence Resource Center

SUZANNE HARTLEY YOCOM ’13, Durham, N.C., pursuing teaching certification through the state’s Department of Environmental and Natural Resources

Kelley Smith ’09 and Paul Heller ’10, 8/2/14

ANNMARIE ELY ’09, Chalfont, 2016 Joseph W.

MEGAN (BAUGHMAN) HENDERSON ’14M,

Donovan Young Professional/Rising Star Award

Lancaster, manager of lifecare coordination at Willow Valley Communities

ERIC CRUZ ’10, Philadelphia, career and technical

Shawn Gindhart ’08 and Amanda Schaffer, 10/11/15 Taylor Ruk ’08 and Brandon Teichman, 5/17/14

Lauren Davis ’10 and Erik Eddy ’10, 6/28/15 Timothy Gallagher ’10 and Jennifer Vataha ’12, 10/9/15 Rachel Lilick ’10 and Josh Gallagher, 10/10/14 Rachel Fritz ’11 and Shane Kishel, 6/27/15

education computer technology teacher at Kensington Urban and Business Education Academy

GEORGE SMITH ’14, Lancaster, realtor for

Sarah Stroman ’11 and David Rasmussen, 5/30/15

Town & Country Realty

Amanda Saddler ’11 and Christopher Brown, 11/28/15

PAUL HELLER ’10, Flagstaff, Ariz., GIS analyst at

KATIE FREEMAN ’15, Pittsburgh, pursuing

Emily Dougherty ’11 and Steven Sherman ’11, 5/24/15

Unisource Energy Resources

doctoral degree in pharmacy from Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Alyssa Murphy ’12 and Dan O’Donnell ’12, 2/13/16

Silvia VasquezLavado ‘96 Conquers Mount Everest

On May 20, 2016, Silvia Vasquez-Lavado ’96 made history as the first Peruvian woman to reach the summit of Mount Everest. Vasquez-Lavado grew up in Peru, where she faced sexual abuse. A Fulbright Scholarship gave her the opportunity to earn her degree in accounting and

international business at Millersville University. As the founder and CEO of Courageous Girls, she guides women who have been sexually abused in their quest for healing through nature and adventure.

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr ing/ S um mer 2016 | 13


THERE’S MORE! Want to know what they named the baby? Want more details on the big wedding? The new job? The award? Pictures too? Check out millersville.edu/classnotes

Class Notes Katherine Kaufman ’12 and Richard Mauck ’12, 6/13/15

Sondra Ianelli ’07 and husband Matt, a son, 8/2/15

JoAnna Wentling ’65, Glen Mills, died 11/15/15

Erik Sheehan ’12 and Christina Cardamone ’14, 9/26/15

Susan (Beverly) Swainson ’07 and husband Kevin, a son, 3/8/15

Richard Yinger ’65, Lake Worth, Fla., died 1/9/14

Danelle Parisi II ’13 and Nicholas Wingate, 8/21/15

2016 | BIRTHS Shane Van Aulen ’88 and wife Ria (Mattis) ’94, a daughter, 2/2/16 Suzanne (Goss) Mannix ’96 and husband Jamie, a daughter, 10/19/15 Jeremy Wright ’00 and wife Melissa (Zschunke) ’01, a daughter, 10/20/15 Erica (Coar) Muthersbaugh ’01 and husband Jonathan ’03, a son, 4/4/15 Emily (Schriver) Trang ’02 and husband James, a daughter, 8/10/15 Christopher Potter ’04 and wife Jaclyn (Hice) ’06, ’09M, a daughter, 3/8/16

Mary “Betsey” (Snyder) Schnetzer ’66, Huron, Ohio, died 2/14/16

Nikki (Brown) Burchett ‘08 and husband Don, a daughter, 11/25/15

Thomas Work Jr. ’66, Gilbertsville, died 2/1/16

2016 | OBITUARIES

John Roth ’68, Roseville, Calif., died 7/19/15

Robert Rotz (Faculty), King of Prussia, died 10/29/15 Esther (Collins) Smith ’34, Holden, Mass., died 12/21/15 Paul Brackbill ’36, Greensboro, N.C., died 11/8/15

Clyde Kennith “Butch” Neal ’74, Lancaster, died 4/29/16 Dale Hess ’76, Goshen, Ind., died 3/1/15 Suzanne Howell ’80, Bloomsburg, died 12/19/15

John Ursprung ’38, Savannah, Ga., died 5/27/15

Herbert Witmer ’80, Millersville, died 10/19/15

Mark Herr ’39, New Holland, died 11/22/15

Thomas Truscott ’83, Portland, Maine, died 5/15/15

Marian Jones ’45, York, died 10/19/15

Jean (McGovern) Coyne ’84, West Chester, died 4/9/16

Arthur Reist ’49, Lancaster, died 3/22/16

Kevin Day ’86, Lansdale, died 3/27/15

Barbara (Keener) Shenk ’49, Lancaster, died 5/6/15

James Hamilton ’93, Harrisburg, died 8/28/15

Du-Can “Duke” Chan ’55, Exton, died 3/2/16

Scott Garrison ’94, Mountville, died 1/5/16

Laura (Krisa) Perekupka ’04 and husband Matt ’05, a daughter, 5/15/15

H.H. Kramer ’58, Millersville, died 12/21/15

Robert Zook ’05 and wife Caroline (Brady) ’08, a daughter, 8/7/14

Gerard “Jerry” Gehman ’65, Orlando, Fla., died 9/16/14

Emily (Newhard) Quinlan ’06 and husband Kevin ’06, a son, 2/8/16

Walter Breita ’70, Nanticoke, died 5/11/15

Amanda Rodgers ’07, East Earl, died 5/18/15

Robert Jones ’61, Lakemont, Ga., died 12/26/15 Frances Keller ’65, Lancaster, died 9/19/15

Have You Thought About the Future? Do You Have A Plan? Your future may take care of itself, but it’s better planned. Create your plan easily with the step-by-step Wills Guide.

Creating Your Plan Is Easy! For more information on the benefits of creating a will, charitable gift annuity or trust, and to request our FREE Wills Guide, please contact us today at (717) 871-7520. givetomu@millersville.edu | millersville.giftlegacy.com

Come Home Again…

WITHOUT SLEEPING IN YOUR OLD ROOM! Your alma mater offers over 50 Masters and Doctoral degrees, as well as multiple Post-Baccalaureate and Post-Masters certifications! • Doctor of Education • Doctor of Nursing Practice • Doctor of Social Work • Master of Arts • Master of Education • Master of Science

• Master of Social Work • Master of Science, Emergency Management • Graduate Certificates • Post Baccalaureate Teaching Certifications • Program Specialist Certificate/Certification

• Post-Masters Certificate/Certification • Post-Masters Supervisory Certification

Fall Graduate Program Open House October 5, 2016 • 6-8 p.m. • McNairy Library

Learn more or apply now at millersville.edu/graduate or call 717-871-4723.

14 | M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • w w w. m i l l er s vi l l e. edu


WHY I It’s not easy to overcome the stereotype of fraternity life. Lt. Col. Paul MacNamara has been doing just that for more than 30 years. “It's all about building our future leaders and philanthropists,” says MacNamara. The 1984 graduate of Millersville University received his degree in history. He had earned an ROTC scholarship and spent 20 years in the U.S. Army, much of that time overseas. Now retired as a Lt. Col., MacNamara looks back on his four years at Millersville as some of the best years of his life. “A lot of that has to do with Sigma Tau Gamma,” says MacNamara, who now lives in Mechanicsburg. “It made a huge difference in my college experience, with great friendships, leadership skills, business background and problem solving. I was social chair most of the time. We had each others’ backs.” Sigma Tau Gamma has a history at Millersville, as the first local and national fraternity back in the 1960s. There were about 40 members when MacNamara was at Millersville in the 1980s. Then MacNamara discovered that his beloved

LT. COL. PAUL MACNAMARA ’84 fraternity had fallen on hard times. There were only 14 members and they were in debt. Sigma Tau Gamma was in danger of being disbanded. “We couldn’t let that happen,” says MacNamara, adding that he and other Sigma Tau Gamma brothers started an alumni chapter, with the purpose of fostering their fraternity and having their younger brothers’ backs. They helped to get them on a better financial track and encourage public service and academic excellence. Steve Junkin brought together the alumni and established Millersville's first Greek Alumni Association. MacNamara established an academic award with the University in memory of their brother H. Craig Lewis, who graduated from Millersville in1966 with a degree in history. He was one of the founding fathers of Tau Gamma Lambda, the local Fraternity, which became Sigma Tau Gamma, the National Fraternity. Lewis died in 2013 at age 68, after serving five terms as a Pennsylvania state senator representing Bucks County and Philadelphia. “The alumni association embraced the award and has now created the Sigma Tau Gamma endowment in memory of H. Craig Lewis,” says MacNamara.

Paul MacNamara (third from right) at a SIGMA TAU GAMMA event.

The alumni association of Sigma Tau Gamma is led by Steve Junkin ‘88, president, Paul MacNamara ‘84, vice president, and Vance Antonacci ‘96 treasurer. There are a number of brothers who serve on the University’s boards, including Matt Hepler and Saul Fink. The alumni chapter gives the brothers a chance to continue to be a part of Sigma Tau Gamma. A few even participate in community service projects like the polar bear plunge to benefit Special Olympics. MacNamara honors his parents with his dedication to service. He was born while his father served in the U.S. Army at Ft. Bragg in North Carolina. His father died in the Vietnam War, a Major in Special Forces, when MacNamara was just 4 years old. His mother raised her five children in Pennsylvania, where she had grown up. Each summer, they hosted a Fresh Air Kid from Philadelphia. “My mother was a very giving person. I learned that from her,” notes MacNamara. “Those were values we wanted to instill in our fraternity, as we establish a new meaning for what fraternity means in today’s society. We are in a life long journey together as brothers.”

M I L L E R S V I L L E U N I V E R S I T Y • S pr ing/ S um mer 2016 | 15


Non Profit Org.

US POSTAGE PAID

Office of Alumni Engagement Millersville University P.O. Box 1002 Millersville, PA 17551-0302

Millersville University

By insisting on FSC-certified paper, Millersville University helps to expand the protection of water quality, prohibit harvest of rare old-growth forest and prevent the loss of natural forest cover.

Spring on SWAN LAKE The tranquil Swan Lake at Millersville University is a picture-postcard respite. Turn back the pages of history to a time when peaceful Swan Lake was swimming with “wild life” in a springtime celebration to rival all others. A hundred years ago, they really knew how to frolic at Millersville. And if you don’t know what “frolicking” is all about, May Day was a day when young ladies and gentlemen got a little crazy as they danced around a Maypole adorned with flowers and ribbons. The first May Day celebration at Millersville took place in 1926, when the athletic department directed the event. The May Queen was crowned as she and her maids-in-waiting floated across the lake on a flower-covered barge. Then the newly crowned May Queen would send an invitation to Spring to join her. A tweet, perhaps? The earliest version of the lake was constructed in the late 1800s, when it was used as a clay pit to make bricks for the Biemesderfer Center. In the early 20th century, sweethearts would row boats across the lake. In the 1940s, the lake was used for freshmen games of tug-of-war, with the losers pulled into the lake. In 1966, the swans showed up, and the rest, of course, is springtime history for Swan Lake.

WHEN x

Millersville University Review - Spring/Summer 2016  

Magazine for alumni and friends of Millersville University.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you