__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Graduat ion

Cl ass of

2018 A Special Section of The REcord-Review June 29, 2018

Alexandra Cicchelli in the Fox Lane High School commencement procession. SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO


PAge 2A — June 29, 2018

Graduation

ThE record-review

Congratulations Congratulations Congratulations Graduates! Graduates! Graduates! “Greatness awaits. It is measured not in the magnitude of your actions but in the full realization of your aptitudes.not Liveinup yourself. Follow heart. “Greatness awaits. It is measured thetomagnitude of youryour actions but Test in “ Greatness awaits. It is measured not in the magnitude of your actions but the full realization of your aptitudes. Liveoff up this to yourself. Follow your heart.awaits. Testin yourself. Because as you walk stage, your immortality the full realization your aptitudes. Liveoff upthis to yourself. Follow your heart. Test yourself.ofBecause as you walk stage, your immortality awaits. Be great.” yourself. Because as you walk off this stage, your immortality awaits. Be great.” BeTeacher great.” Tim Hart, Graduation Speaker, Grades 7 and 8 Humanities Tim Hart, Graduation Speaker, Grades 7 and 8 Humanities Teacher Tim Hart, Graduation Speaker, Grades 7 and 8 Humanities Teacher

The following is a list of the schools that our graduates will be attending in the fall: The following is a list of the schools that our graduates will be attending in the fall: Archbishop Stepinac Hackley School (5) St. Andrew’s School (DE) The following is a list of the schools that our graduates will be attending in (3) the fall: St. Archbishop Stepinac Hackley School (5) Hotchkiss School St.Andrew’s George’sSchool School(DE) High School High School Archbishop Stepinac Berkshire School (3) Berkshire School (3) High School Brunswick School (2) Brunswick School Berkshire School (3)(2) Deerfield Academy Deerfield Academy Brunswick School (2) Dwight School Dwight School Deerfield Academy Emma Willard School Emma Willard School Dwight School Fox Lane High School (2) Fox Lane High School (2) Emma Willard School Greenwich GreenwichAcademy Academy Fox Lane High School (2) The Gunnery The Gunnery Greenwich Academy The Gunnery

Hotchkiss School Hackley School (5) Kennedy Catholic Kennedy Catholic Hotchkiss School King School King School Kennedy Catholic Lawrenceville School (3) Lawrenceville School (3) King School Masters School (3) Masters School (3) Lawrenceville School (3) Millbrook School Millbrook School MastersSchool School (3) Peddie Peddie School Millbrook School Pleasantville High School School Pleasantville High Peddie School Sacred Greenwich(2) (2) Sacred Heart Heart Greenwich Pleasantville High School Sacred Heart Greenwich (2)

St. School (3)(DE) Andrew’s School St.George’s Luke’s School St. School St.Luke’s George’s School (3) Suffield Academy Suffield Academy St. School TaftLuke’s School (2) Taft School (2) Suffield Academy Thacher School (CA) Thacher School (CA) Taft School (2)School Westminster Westminster School Thacher School (CA) Wilton High School Wilton High School Westminster School Wooster School Wooster School Wilton High School Wooster School

www.rcsny.org www.rcsny.org www.rcsny.org


ThE record-REview

Graduation

June 29, 2018 — PAge 3A

Fox Lane High School

Cl ass of 2018 FLHS grads reflect on past, prepare for future By VICTORIA SHERIDAN Fox Lane High School teachers, administrators, Board of Education members, families and more than 300 seniors filled Caramoor on Tuesday afternoon, as the FLHS Concert Band played “Pomp and Circumstance.” Though previous graduations have taken place in the evening, this year’s ceremony kicked off at 1 p.m. Despite more than 80 degree heat, the audience stayed cool under Caramoor’s large white tent and the electric fans. With girls sporting white caps and gowns and boys in red, some of the students showed off mortarboards decorated with the logos of the colleges and universities they will attend in the fall. But before they could be declared graduates just yet, they were offered congratulations and life advice from speakers that included their superintendent, principal, beloved physics teacher and fellow students. Fox Lane senior Kyle Rowley opened the event as master of ceremonies, drawing laughs from the crowd as he recalled anecdotes about each speaker before introducing them. After reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and national anthem, the crowd took their seats and salutatorian Sachin Ganesh took the stage. Looking back on the four years he and his classmates spent at FLHS, Sachin compared the experience to creating a work of art. He said the start of high school “was like being handed a blank canvas.” But as years passed, classes became more difficult and students began to explore their passions, they started adding some color to their paintings. Now that they were graduating, their masterpieces were complete, he said. Sachin continued that the graduates will be handed a new, bigger blank canvas to fill when they begin college. But they would be prepared for the future and should not be afraid of failure, he told them. “We now have a vastly wider pallet of colors, a broader perspective, and even more tools at our disposal, and it is up to us how we make the most use out of them,” he said. “There is not a single doubt in my mind that each and every one of you has what it takes to do something that is truly inspirational, transformational and spectacular.” Following Sachin’s speech were remarks from Superintendent Christopher Manno. For his 25th graduation speech as superintendent, Dr. Manno explained to the crowd that he researched common themes in com-

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Fox Lane Master of Ceremonies Kyle Rowley

‘Your actions and words have the power to move hearts and change lives.’ — Student speaker Eunice Kim

mencement addresses and found that many of them emphasize the importance of making and following plans that lead to success. However, Dr. Manno said that he instead wanted to talk about curveballs. In baseball, he said, hitters learn how to distinguish between good and bad curveballs, adding that they hit the bad ones and let the good ones go by. He told the graduates that they will be thrown many curveballs in their own lives, and, like in baseball, they should learn which ones to try to turn into hits. “This means that sometimes failure, not meeting expectations or being thrown off your plans just aren’t a big deal,” he said. “Just learn from those situations. They contribute to you un-

derstanding the pattern of the pitcher and the game situation for the future.” Valedictorian Abigail Wilson addressed the audience next, after a performance by the FLHS Chamber Choir of “You Will Be Found” from the Broadway musical “Dear Evan Hansen.” Abigail Wilson reminisced about the students’ elementary school days, recalling that, as a second-grader, she believed that peoples’ inventions and achievements — from the internet and automatic doors to J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter” series — were the result of magic. But once she entered high school, Ms. Wilson realized that their creations weren’t fueled by magic, but by their passions. She began to notice

these passions in her fellow students as well. “So now it is our turn to start doing the magic tricks, because no matter what it is you do, you’re going to be great,” she said. Selected by the students in the audience to speak, physics teacher Gerald Ludwig gave the next address. Mr. Ludwig listed several examples of students’ achievements, pointing that although they may be nervous for their futures, they are already very accomplished. Then, student speaker Eunice Kim delivered her remarks, touching on the struggles the students may have experienced during high school. Four years ago, Eunice said she would have never taken the opportunity to deliver the graduation speech, noting that she was too shy to even raise her hand in class. She said that Fox Lane helped her overcome her self-doubts and encouraged other students who “felt like they couldn’t find their voice” not to underestimate themselves. “Be gentle and patient with yourself,” she said. “Your actions and words have the power to move hearts and change lives.” The class officers then presented gifts to the school from the class of 2018: $500 in seed money for the incoming freshman class, funds for another “hydration station” water fountain for students to fill reusable bottles, the purchase of a large clock for the theater and a donation of $2,400 to the fund for students who receive free and reduced lunch. The students also raised $1,500 in donations for the BCSD elementary schools, to be divided evenly. Closing out the remarks that afternoon was Principal Brett Miller. While commending the graduates for their college admissions, community service, test scores and awards, he also called on them to recognize their parents, teachers, coaches and other mentors. “After this ceremony is over, I would ask that you reflect on not only your accomplishments, but also about all those people in your lives who have inspired, pushed, cajoled and believed that you could do more than you thought you could do yourselves,” he said. Before the students were called up, one by one, to receive their diplomas, Mr. Rowley offered them one last piece of advice for crossing the stage: “Don’t trip.”


PAge 4A — June 29, 2018

Graduation

ThE record-review

Fox Lane High School

Cl ass of 2018 Evelyn Aguilar Duarte Cynthia Gabriella AguilarDiscua Kevin Alejandro Michael C. Alejos Danielle E. Allen Danielle Marie Altro Hanna G. Amdur Emily Michelle Arias Lopez Ferdy N. Arias Miguel Dillon H. Aryeh Jake E. Aryeh Sonny D. Aryeh Nicole Ayala Flores Kaitlin T. Balfe Maggie Bannon Alyssa Nadine Barclay Emma Barickman Sophie G. Barone Samuel D. Barton Yessy Karolina Basquez Espinoza Matthew Stearns Bassett Tiffany M. Batista Concepcion Joanna Becerra Emma Belfiglio Colette D. Belhumeur Zoe R. Bensusan John R. Best Emily Betancourt Ankita Bista Nico Bittker Benjamin B. Blakeway-Webb Sarah E. Bloch Amelia Grace Bowman Annabelle L. Brenza Samuel E. P. Brotmann William Brunner Jessica Hannah Burg Franquis Cabrera Jean Carmela Cambareri Rocco Anthony Cambareri Kristian Camovic Jordan Carly Campbell Nathalie Brooks Campbell

Sergio D. Castillo Isabella J. Catanese Antonio P. Chousa III Alexandra L. Cicchelli Alexander Clinton Christopher Clinton Emily Colindres Samantha J. Colon Angelo J. Crawford Lucia A. Crerend David Maximillion Crummy Ruby Cuddy Elizabeth Hope Cui Georgie T. D’Avanzo Henry C. Davis Sarah Stone Davis Shayla Renée Dawkins Rohan Grettel M. De la Cruz Solorzano Elizabeth R. De Palma Michael Dellorso Maxwell Dezell Jacob A. Di Carlo Christina Lynn DiDona Jaeger C. Dochtermann Daniele A. Doctor Dylan P. Eichhorn Ryan Elliott Jose A. Espana Santandrea Jhon K. Eusebio Ravelo Adam M. Evans Benjamin V. Faintych Angela F. Fasulo Adam M. Feeley Miranda Paige Feinberg Kyle A. Fernandes Gregory Fleming Jr. Clara M. Flores Hannah Nicole Flores Vincent N. Fraioli Katherine N. Freeman Charles Z. Friedlander Madeleine T. Friedman Ashley Marie Gagliardi Silvio A. Galindo

Kayla A. Gallagher Kevin Brian Galvin Sachin Ganesh Klaus J. Garces Ethan Rose Gatfield Michael H. Gentile Jack K. Gerken Sophia D. Giannelli Brittney R. Gigante Alexandria J. Glover Maria Gonzalez Javier Gonzalez Jr. Timothy J. Graham Kevin E. Green Javen Avery Grier Milo F. Gringlas Matthew C. Grippi Madison E. Grossman Benjamin C. Grummon Anahy Guevara Varela Omar Nicholas Halley Corrine E. Halpin Alexandra Harapi Chelsea E. Hardy Stephanie E. Harney Hanna Joan Harrington Hannah Marjorie Harvey Eve Langfan Heller Molly E. Henry Franklin Hernandez Luis A. Hernandez Elmer M. Hoogland Angelina G. Horvath Daniel J. Hughes Braden Taylor Hull Devin E. Hunter Alexa Michelle Irizarry Ana Paola Javier Ramirez Caroline Quigley Jones Matthew E. Jones-Samuels Brandon Jordan Isabella G. Jordan Christine Justiniano Wylie R. Kaplan Joshua D. Karas Jack Kelleher-Ferguson

Nicolas Kiyoshi Kent Grace E. Kiernan Eunice Sori Kim Charles R. Kimsal Caroline J. Kintzer Emma Jill Kolsky Tess M. Krensky Matthew Krueger Cassidy M. Kurzer Tshedup T. Lama Caitlin M. Lane Francesca Elise LeDone Alexander D. Lee Jessica R. Leone David S. Lilian Sarah B. Lilian Theodore R. Lombardo Robert E. Long Oscar López Juan M. Lopez Corzo Kevin R. Lopez Giron Davie Loria Guram Lortkipanidze John J.A.M. Loveless Sabrina C. Lundy Francesco Luppino Joseph F. Luppino Matthew D. Magnan Jesse D. Mahedy Liam D. Maher Eric Thomas Maiorano Christos Markakis Anézia Marques Angelize J. Martinez Eddi R. Martinez Aguilar Ronal Y. Martinez Ponce Sarina Maayan Matsil Bridget E. McCormack Kyle T. McDonough Preston C. McKenney Sinéad M. McSpedon Ren Pelissier Jelliffe Messinger Infenet T. Millington Luke J. Mirra Ryotaro Miyazaki

Craig J. Moccia Domenica D. Montesdeoca Bustamante Elizabeth Morales Sabrina M. Morales Ellen Margaret Murphy Stephen Michael Napp Gianna N. New Joseph J. Nuzzi Sophia P. O’Connor Rendy Oriach Ixihuape Ortiz Thomas Francis O’Sullivan Danielle Ann Palladino Alexander V. Palmer Theo C. Pang Christina Lauren Pansini Michelle Louise Paolicelli Victoria L. Parisi Jeremy P. Parmet Joely Lycia Pasetsky Thomas Passarelli Kathleen Fiske Patalino Daniella Pauta Oliver L. Payne Jacob Eli Payson Carson A. Peck Simon J. Peck Laura Pena Sanchez Walter Perez Arnoldo Steven Perez Lopez Maria A. Perez Lopez Walter E. Perez Perez Noah M. Perl Ezra Cody Peterman Justin M. Picone Marvin Lingat Pineda Madeline R. Plachter Jennifer Poon Luke A. P. Powell Isiash Jayson Pratt-Wade Lana Pucci Elio Qirko Edwin David Quijada John D. Quinn Ricardo M. Quispe Gutierrez

Julia Brooke Raboy Victor E. Ramon Jose Daniel Ramos Justin Jennings Reeves Martha P. Reilly Christopher L. Reus Daniel I. Rice Elizabeth Cristina Rivas Sanchez Matias A. Rivera Alexander O. Rivera Najera Lilia R. Robinowitz Joshua H. Rodriguez Lady Denise Rodriguez Richard Rodriguez III Anny Y. Rodriguez Umana Philip John Romano III Grayce A. Romeo Edwin Giovanni Romero Nicholas D. Root Brian M. Ross Robert A. Rossi Nadia Rossy Rachel R. Rothenberg Kyle Parker Rowley Cooper H. Roy Anna E. Rubin Vincenzo Ruggiero Randy S. Ruiz Remy Ruiz Elizabeth M. Sabia Oseas Salguero Tallulah S. Samberg Johnny C. Santos Andrew J. Santulli Richard Wynter Schnell James A. Seymour Jacquelin SheerinWeissenberg Jack A. Shevick Alexander N. Siegel Danielle M. Simmons Tacoma Simmons Nicholas Sinapi Rachel A. Snadowsky Melanie R. Solomon

Neel M. Sood Christopher Soto Riley Mario Spagnuolo Isabel Steger Maxwell Graham Sullivan Zaima T. Tareque Matthew S. Tartas David Keshon Thompson Samantha A. Tilley Amelia B. Tomson Kathryn E. Tortorella Stephanie Trejo Morgan A. Tunnell Emily N. Urias-Velasquez Liam P. Vallejo Sara E. Van Schaick Joseph Varamo Jeancarlo Vasquez Lopez Lindsey P. Velez Maria Alexis Violante Tyler P. Virgilio Tommy G. Vita Magnus J. Vogel Indigo Cheyenne Wade Grace E. Walker Alice E. Walsh Celine Wang Blake Warmund Michelle G.M. Washington Carolyn M. Wassem Max Evan Wattenmaker Emma R. Weise George Walker West Abigail D. Wilson Jake D. Witz Nolan D. Witz Owen L. Wolman Callie A. Wortmann Tyler Pearson Wright Jenna L. Wyman Sydney A. Young Marco Antonio Zanghi Emily J. Zheng Brandie L. Zucker

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTOS

Fox Lane Student Speaker Eunice Kim

The Fox Lane High School Chamber Choir directed by Edward Reisert

Fox Lane Salutatorian Sachin Ganesh


ThE record-REview

Graduation

June 29, 2018 — PAge 5A

Fox Lane Valedictorian Address

‘High school is where things got real’ By ABIGAIL WILSON Thank you Kyle and thank you Dr. Manno, Dr. Miller, the board of education, the esteemed faculty and staff of Bedford Central, our families, and an extra special thank you to the Fox Lane graduating class of 2018! Congratulations! For me this has been a time of nostalgia and I keep being brought back to this one day in second grade. We were learning about how the school system worked, and I discovered I would be in school for at least the next decade of my life. At that point, a decade was longer than I had already been alive! It was so daunting and such an incredible amount of time, yet here we are. Back in second grade, everything was so much different, whether it was the flip phones or the “not-so” smart boards. The hot movie of the time was WALL-E and we were all obsessed with silly bands. Not to mention that the latest fashion was Crocs! It’s no wonder that today seemed a world away. For me though, the biggest difference between now and then is that when I was 7, I thought of the world around me kind of like a giant, complicated magic trick. How does the internet work? Easy,

‘How did J.K. Rowling think of all those cool ideas? Must have been magic!’

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Fox Lane Valedictorian Abigail Wilson

magic. How did J.K. Rowling think of all those cool ideas? Must have been magic! How do those automatic doors know

when I’m approaching? Those truly are magical! Maybe on some deep level I knew there was more to it, but there was just too much to be understood,

and too many questions. It took until middle school for things to start to make more sense. Even though a lot still went over my head, I realized actual people were behind the magic. These people surely were supergeniuses, but at least I realized some person somewhere was responsible, even if I thought they were way smarter than I could ever be. High school is where things got real. All of the sudden there is more freedom and more clubs and sports and homework, and it’s all going on at once. There are kids with beards, and people are chewing gum and wearing baseball caps, and it’s all a little intimidating, Continued on page 10A

Congratulates the Class of 2018

260 Jay Street • Katonah, NY 10536 • 914.232.3161 • admissions@harveyschool.org • www.harveyschool.org A coeducational college preparatory school located in Katonah, NY enrolling students in grades 6–12 with boarding beginning in grade 9.


PAge 6A — June 29, 2018

ďƒŹ

Graduation

ThE record-review

#IONAPREPared for Success! CONGRATULATIONS TO THE CLASS OF 2018! An Iona Prep education is one of the best investments you can make for your son’s success.  Iona Prep’s Class of 2018 earned more than $29 million in merit scholarships, with an average award of $60,300  Seniors have been accepted to their top choice schools, including Boston College, Brown University, Bucknell University, Cornell University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, New York University, Northeastern University, University of Notre Dame, Rice University, Stanford University, the United States Military Academy at West Point, Yale University, and many others.

Christopher Bond

Jack Doty

Boston College

Brown University

Matthew Multari

John Steele

Sunggye “Michael� Kang

Christian Petrilli

Bucknell University

Harvard University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Charlie Flanagan

Malkelm Morrison

Cornell University

Timothy Hagarty

Shivansh Goyal

New York University

Northeastern University

Gibran-Marc Mourani

Stephen Martinez-Hamilton

 78% of Iona Prep’s 2018 graduating seniors received 472 academic scholarships to the colleges of their choice.  To ensure college success, Iona Prep provides a two-tiered school counseling approach where students are assigned a college counselor in their junior and senior years, serving as an additional support to the student’s regular school counselor.

Notre Dame University

U.S. Military Academy (West Point)

Yale University

Vassar College

BEGIN YOUR COLLEGE PREPARATORY JOURNEY THIS FALL Contact Admissions@IonaPrep.org or visit IonaPrep.org Iona Preparatory Upper School 255 Wilmot Road New Rochelle, NY 10804 (914) 600-6154

Iona Preparatory Lower School 173 Stratton Road New Rochelle, NY 10804 (914) 633-7744

   +

  @IonaPrep in/IonaPrep IonaPreparatory +IonaPreparatorySchool


ThE record-REview

Graduation

June 29, 2018 — PAge 7A

John Jay High School

Cl ass of 2018 Seniors celebrate in a sea of white and purple By JESSICA LEIBMAN The class of 2018 lined up on Tuesday in the late spring heat, dressed in white and purple gowns, awaiting the beginning of John Jay High School’s commencement ceremony. As the 292 graduates made their way to the stage, parents rushed the aisles to get a glimpse of their children. John Jay High School’s Principal Dr. Steven T. Siciliano, started off the ceremony by welcoming the graduating class. The high school’s chorale sang the national anthem followed by the Pledge of Allegiance, led by co-class president Jack Buckley. Mr. Siciliano then asked for everyone to remain standing for a moment of silence to remember the graduates’ loved ones who were not in attendance. The principal invited Marjorie Schiff, the president of the Board of Education, to the stage to welcome students and guests, and to offer congratulations to the graduates on behalf of the board. Mr. Siciliano continued his remarks by thanking everyone at the school and all of the family members who helped make the day possible. “I’d like to express my deepest gratitude to some special people who were instrumental in not only making today’s ceremony happen, but also all the yesterdays that have led to this graduation day,” Mr. Siciliano said. He then turned his attention to the graduating class by highlighting their many achievements. “This class includes eight National Merit Scholar finalists, six seniors who have earned 15 regional awards and three national recognitions through their novel research as part of our Science Research program,” he said. Mr. Siciliano closed his address with pieces of advice for the graduates. One urged less dependence on their digital devices. “If the issue is still not resolved after two emails or texts, pick up the phone,” he advised. “Work at communicating with others genuinely and authentically.” That sentiment resonated with the audience and received loud applause. Salutatorian Kaley Mamo began her speech by apologizing for a slight cold she had, which affected her voice. Her cold, however, did not take away from Kaley delivering an eloquent speech about how uncertain life after high school and college can be. She encouraged her classmates to “embrace the limbo.” “We need to think. We need to give ourselves the gift of self-acceptance, of allowing ourselves to change our minds, to reject the idea that we have to be what

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

The Class of ‘18 procession

we always thought we’d become. We need to let ourselves evolve a million times, a trillion times, because our identities are never made of stone. Because we’ll be in a limbo of our own creation for the rest of our lives,” Kaley said. Katherine Ricca, John Jay’s valedictorian, began her address by bringing her classmates on a journey through the years. She continued by saying that her guiding principle throughout the years has always been to “Be. Happy.” She touched on her own personal experience of losing her father right before the start of her freshman year of high school. Katherine explained how this tragedy helped shape her views of happiness and success. “As we set off on separate paths, winding into the future unknown, we must set our sights on what will foster our own definitions of happiness, establishing a foundation for success unshakable in the face of whatever life has in store,” she said. The commencement speeches took a brief intermission as John Jay’s a cappella groups took the stage. The Noteables performed “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane, The Treblemakers sang “I Was Here” by Beyoncé and The Rolling Tones performed “God Only Knows” by The Beach Boys. The Keynote Address was then given by Charles Morales-Thomason, or as the students know him Mr. Mo-T. Mr.

Morales-Thomason’s light-hearted and hopeful speech advised the class of 2018 that even though college will not be easy, the students can still succeed. He also reassured the graduates that failure is inevitable with an anecdote about baseball. “Consider the game of baseball. It is a game of failure. You can fail seven times out of ten and still end up in the Hall of Fame. Derek Jeter, first ballot Hall of Famer, 3,000 hits, five World Series rings. He is also 15th alltime in career strikeouts.” He concluded, “It’s the effort that counts, not the result.” Aaron Cohen delivered the Senior Class Address centering around a story about his hat collection and how it started. “In middle school, I was so self-conscious about the way my hair looked, that I started to wear hats so that I could cover it up and not have to worry about it. I cared so much about what others thought of me that I basically started a hobby as a cover story.” Aaron urged his fellow classmates to be confident and push themselves out of their comfort zone. He added that he took his own advice by auditioning for the graduation speech, which many people close to him found as a surprise. “This confidence, the ability to hold your head high and keep a smile on your face in even the most stressful of situations, can make all the difference ... Even

if you’re faking it, even if you’re freaking out on the inside, it works just as well. And if you keep doing it time and time again, soon enough you won’t be faking it. And as your confidence grows, you might start to find yourself in situations that you never even considered before,” Aaron said. In the evening’s closing speech, Katonah-Lewisboro Superintendent of Schools Andrew Selesnick shared lessons from the book he was reading, called “Thanks for the Feedback.” Citing one such lesson, he encouraged the graduates to recognize that what someone says and what they mean can be very different. Mr. Selesnick also offered some advice on how to talk to people with opposing views. Too often, he said, “no matter what the issue is between people, we seem to see and hear only heated, opinionated, argument. I’m right and you’re wrong.” Instead, he advised, “‘Let’s figure out why we see this differently,’” a phrase that Mr. Selesnick thinks everyone should take with them. Mr. Selesnick declared the class of 2018 graduates of John Jay High School, and proud families looked on tearfully as their loved one received their diplomas. On the count of three, the graduating class then moved their tassels from the right to the left signifying the beginning of a new chapter.


PAge 8A — June 29, 2018

Graduation

ThE record-review

John Jay High School

Cl ass of 2018 Thor Adamec Emma Adler Jacob Agona Juan Carlos Altamirano Hefferan Julie Paige Ambinder Kailas Amin Alexa Amoriello Alexandria Stoll Andrade Sarah Elizabeth Angot Ally Sharon Archer Julia Assue Kylie Averill Mariana Jean Barcena Ray Joseph Barr Allison Leah Bauer Andrew Bauts Tobias Beattie Sean Beaver Thomas R. Beeby II Ana Victoria Belardi Nikolay Belardi Dimitri Belessakos Natalie Benson Zachary Beresin Jonathan A. Berganza Barrera Aurina Berish Katie Giselle Berman Allison Zoe Bernheimer Charlie Bodin Zachary Boies Cole P. Borowitz Caleigh Morgan Boyer-Holt David Samuel Brandwein Jakob Iger Braunschweiger David Charles Browne Ryan Hanley Bryggman Jack Corrigan Buckley Braden Nicholas Burke Pamela Buscema Christine Elise Cahill Lane Elizabeth Carbaugh

Brendan Carberry Joshua Carlotto Brendan Carroll Nicole A. Carson Skye Caruso Julia Paige Casey Danielle E. Castaldo Joseph S. Cea Samuel Chen Aaron Joshua Cohen Dylan Gregory Cohen Samuel Cohen Joseph Peter Corelli Marc Costello Kyra Cox Brian Crane Laragh Cronin Christian Lawrence Cucolo Caitlin Molloy Cullen Daniel Ryan D’Amico Victoria Rose D’Amico Brian K. Daley Kelly Rae Daley Alexandra Grace DelSavio Benjamin Detlefs Eliza Rose Dickson Alexander Joseph DiFiore Anne Downs Hugo Bernardo Duarte Ethan Karl Duffy Isadora Hope Scott Ellin Benjamin Emerson Hannah Episcopia Angelica Rose Esposito Daniel Esposito Gregory Esposito Ellis Anna Farrell Emma Anna Farrell Joel Z. Faynshmidt Benjamin Feinstein Adam Michael Ferman Jaelen Ferrebee Jack Finney

Ilaria Fiorenza Nate Fischer Stephen Fisher Annie Lauren Fitzgerald Julia Wren Gallagher Benjamin Garcia Juliette Marion Garofolo Halil Gecaj Justin Hill Gelwicks Isabella Anna Gibaldi Justin Kyle Glassman Lily Gold Chase Goldman Alexis Hannah Goldstein Carly Goldstein Jacob Gonzalez Gabriella Marjorie Gonzalezz Willa Haas Goodman Elliott Jack Gorman Robert Gorman Christina Grammas Shannon Grant Margaret Greene Valerie Ann Groccia Reilly Grzywacz Corey Dane Gusmano Whitney Hall Alon H. Hassman Ryan Michael Hayes Abigail Nicole Heath Annie Jane Helmes Tara Heneghan Carra Greer Henry Ceyla Ray Henry Samuel Wilson Hinkley Charles Horan Patrick Horan Kelly Horton Paige Horvath Sara Iglesias Aiet Isenaj Wendell Taylor Isom

Lucas Yuki Ito Bryan Ivey Hailey Star Ivey Elizabeth Marjorie Jahn Brian Andrew Johnson Daniel Peter Johnston Zachary Johnston Benjamin Jones Richard P. Jones Brian Jurmain Elizabeth Kamerman Alexandra Kantor Brandon Kaplan Nicholas Kaplan Shahe James Katchadurian Zachary Kells Annabel Rose Kelly William Kennedy Fiona Kerrigan Drew Kersh Henry King Max P. Klares Emily Knutsson Ariel Koff Perry Koff Matthew Kramer Eleanor Euphorbia Krellenstein Henrietta Justine Krellenstein Alexander Kuehl Sonia Christine Lang Travis Hayden Laub Jillian Margaret Lawrence Elliot Lear Sarah Marie Leavy Michael James Leddy J. Matthew Lee William Legenzowski Christina Leska-Kent Laurel Molly Levinsohn Gordon Lew Allison Lewis

Daylin Lichtman Camille Lin Amanda Loeffler Alexis N. Magistro Kaley R. Mamo Max Manarel Matthew Maresca Stephen Marinucci Matthew A. Mariuzza Skylar Martins Gabriela Elizabeth Masaya Conde Max Maslow Daniel Matthews Sarah Michelle McAvey Haleigh McCarthy John McKenna John J. McKeon V Ryan A. McMahon Sarah Renee McMahon George McMichael Nicole Melnick Danielle Meltz Audrey Metz Gilda Mici Michael Minard Katherine Mines Shayna Monasch Hunter Morgan Sierra Noel Morowitz Christopher L. Munoz Samuel Murphy Evan Neu Leigh Anne Neuburger Gregory Sean Newman Sean Nolan Joseph M. O’Rourke Brenden Oates Ashlee Oquendo Christopher Thomas Orifici Alexander Isaac Ozols Priscilla Page Robert Pallas

Bridget Palmieri Eleni Pappas Emily Pardo Brian Park Gregory Patti Brianna Paul Kyra Victoria Penino Sophia R. Peris Talia Petigrow Christopher Petrella Chad Petschek Ashley Phillips Thomas J. Pickup Isabelle Pierce Guy Pillon Jonathan Preddice Hayleigh Allyn Rachel Proskin Anna Prusko Sydney Nicole Rappa Mills Sandberg Reed Devon Reilly Tyler J. Reinke Katherine Lily Ricca Sarah Elyse Richman Anya Rieger Katherine Ann Rodgers Caitlin Rogers Jaziah Ross Julia Elizabeth Rossi Sofia Rossi Dion Rraci Charles Anthony Rusciano Isaiah Xavier Rust Natalie Jadzia Sadowski Katharine Sandlund Danielle Nicole Scarfone Isabel Schaus Daniel Miller Schefer Zachary Stephen Schmitt Joseph Schultz Sarah Sexton Matthew Shapiro

Kayla Shearer Elizabeth Lawson Shelbred Perry Shelbred Lucy Rose Siegel Sarah Alexa Siegel Isabella Simone Claire Elizabeth Simonsen Adriana Sinapi Marc Skriloff Emily Lynn Slater Anne-Mae Smith Sarah Elizabeth Smith Justin Scott Sobel Edward Soriano Rebecca Stevens Charles Stewart Samuel Sweeney Liam Tassone Mara Taylor Teich Willa Tobin Anna Brenti Tomaselli Emily Tuchman Alessandra Tucker Kiera Tucker Isabelle Claire Tway Benjamin Vuolo Michael A. Wagner Colin Walsh Jonathan Walsh Julia G. Walsh Megan Weis Sylvia Welch Koby Weston Brice C. Wilson Shannon P. Wolfe Giovanni Wolfram Natalie Wright Maxwell Yasgur Grace Christine Young Taylor Leigh Zaccagnino Justin Zisk

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTOS

Co-class president Jack Buckley

John Jay senior Mariana Barcena enjoying the proceedings.

Valedictorian Katherine Ricca

Co-class president Katherine Sandlund


ThE record-REview

Graduation

June 29, 2018 — PAge 9A

John Jay Salutatorian Address

Cl ass of 2018 ‘Apathy can’t be the answer’ By KALEY MAMO Hi everyone, I’m Kaley. First, I want to say thank you to my family and to my teachers. I also want to say thank you to my three best friends for being the best people I know, and for driving me to school every day, to the Danbury mall, and to literally everywhere else. I would not have survived high school without you. And I want to say “salve” to my Latin class. It’s really an honor to be asked to speak today. And it’s a lot of pressure, too, because both you and I are expecting me to say something wise and beautiful, when in reality I don’t quite know what to say. For the past few weeks a lot of people have been asking me if I’ve written my speech already, and I’ve been like “noooooo … I haven’t?” I really put this off. Which is strange, because I love words. I love writing. As some of you may know, I want to make a career out of typing things. But this speech really puzzled me.

‘The world is tough, and resilient, and an ever-changing firestorm of newness, but so are you.’

SCOTT MULLIN PHOTO

Salutatorian Kaley Mamo

And I think it’s because graduation means that we’re entering into a sort of limbo, a really scary limbo, and the

Seeing and Hearing Like Before Value Electronics wants to Never congratulate all ofNew you and our ownto graduate Visit Our Showroom Experience and wish you much success in your 4K Ultra HDTV and Hi-Res Audio future endeavors. The world is waiting for your valued contributions. All the best to each of you!

Value Electronics 35 Popham Rd Scarsdale 914-723-3344

best way to deal with limbo is to not think about it at all. I can’t tell you how much I’m not thinking about my

future. Yes, I’m excited to leave for college, but at the same time, if I start thinking about it, it feels like my head might explode. Like, I imagine what my life will be like in a year, living in Manhattan on my own, and the little wire in my brain that connects my past, present and future just sparks out, and suddenly I can’t think at all! I mean, denial is the fastest form of relief, right? The same goes for life beyond colContinued on page 10A

Soundview

Preparatory School

Congratulates its Class of 2018!

Soundview Prep, an independent day school for grades 6 -12, offers a rigorous college preparatory program in a non-competitive, supportive environment that promotes respect for others, ethical values and a strong sense of community.

370 Underhill Avenue, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598 914-962-2780 Visit our website at www.soundviewprep.org


PAge 10A — June 29, 2018

Graduation

ThE record-review

Colleges and Universities Levonick and Cavise graduate from Tufts University with honors

Nine local students graduate from Tulane University

Two local residents graduated from Tufts University on May 20. Lillianna Levonick of Bedford received a Bachelor of Science degree in computer science, cum laude; and Phoebe Cavise of Pound Ridge received a Bachelor of Arts degree in art history, cum laude.

The following students graduated from Tulane University on May 19: Aidan Cadley of Katonah, received a B.A. degree; Lucian Goodman of Katonah, received a B.S. degree; Skylar Handler of South Salem, received a B.A. degree; Benjamin Miller of Katonah, received a B.A. degree; Zoe Papacostas of Bedford, received a B.S. degree; Madeline Parker of South Salem, received a B.A. degree; Sarah Rapkin of Bedford, received a B.A. degree; Olivia Robinson of Bedford, received a B.A. degree; and Sara White of Bedford, received a B.A. degree.

Two Katonah residents graduate from Western Connecticut State Ashley Marie Dickan of Katonah, who earned a Bachelor of Arts in art, and Justine Kopec of Katonah, who earned a Bachelor of Arts in English, graduated from Western Connecticut State University on May 20.

Four earn degrees from Colgate Four local residents graduated from Colgate University’s 197th Commencement on May 20. Andrew Bianco of Pound Ridge earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics, magna cum laude; Kelley Dalton of Bedford earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in international relations and Spanish, cum laude; Daniel Rosen of Katonah earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in history; and Danielle Zegelstein of Bedford earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in computer science, cum laude.

Moky of Bedford Hills graduates from University of the Sciences Danielle Moky of Bedford Hills received a Bachelor of Science in pharmaceutical and health care business from University of the Sciences in Philadelphia on May 23.

Markhoff earns bachelors degree from Hamilton College Adam A. Markhoff, son of Michael and Nancy Markhoff of Bedford, received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Hamilton College on Sunday, May 20. A world politics major at Hamilton, Mr. Markhoff was a member of the men’s lacrosse team and was named to the NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team.

Annabel Rae Stanley of Bedford graduates from Trinity College Annabel Rae Stanley of Bedford graduated Trinity College on May 20 with a Bachelor of Science in psychology, cum laude.

Andriano of Katonah graduates Western New England University Lucas Andriano of Katonah earned a Bachelor of Science in criminal justice-terrorism and homeland security

John Jay Salutatorian Address Continued from page 9A

lege, which is all of life, really. We’re living in a strange time, politically and culturally, There’s a lot of division within our country. There’s a lot of news, all the time. Kanye is acting weird. “The Handmaid’s Tale” is scarily relatable. And “New Girl” ended! Sure, that isn’t the most pressing problem, but it’s still significant. So what do we do with this world we’re inheriting? How do we act? How can we be expected to do anything but sleep? Wouldn’t it be easier to just slip into a place of denial and apathy? I know we’ve all been there, but we’re also realizing that apathy can’t be the answer. It just puts the problems off. We’re all going somewhere after graduation, whether we want to think about it or not. The news still runs, whether we turn on the TV or not. And I’m still up here speaking today, whether I wrote a speech or not. This doesn’t mean that I’m done procrastinating. That’s just a habit I can’t kick, like drinking coffee, or always running at least 10 minutes late. But it does mean that I’ve decided to embrace the limbo, and I think you should too. Because the coming months, years, and decades are filled with uncertainties. Maybe we’re going to get a job we love, or a job we don’t like. Maybe we’re going to transfer colleges, or real-

ize that more school isn’t for us. Maybe we’ll become doctors, lawyers, professors, stay- at-home parents. Maybe we’ll move across the country, or across the world. Maybe we’ll say goodbye to society and live in a van in the woods of Washington, Captain Fantastic-style, I don’t know. Maybe we’ll get married. Maybe we won’t! And maybe we’ll lead lives that are drastically different from what our 18-year-old selves thought we’d be doing. But that’s OK. Because the only thing we need to do is act. We need to think. We need to give ourselves the gift of self-acceptance, of allowing ourselves to change our minds, to reject the idea that we have to be what we always thought we’d become. We need to let ourselves evolve a million times, a trillion times, because our identities are never made of stone. Because we’ll be in a limbo of our own creation for the rest of our lives. Because this evolution, this journey, is how we grow. So, to my fellow classmates: do whatever you want. Just do something. Yes, the world is tough, and resilient, and an ever-changing firestorm of newness, but so are you. And as my favorite comedian and philanthropist Ellen DeGeneres says to her audience at the end of every show, “Be kind to one another.”

from Western New England University on May 19.

Jennifer Zeitlin of Katonah graduates from Simmons Jennifer Zeitlin of Katonah recently graduated Simmons Colleges in Boston, earning a Master of Social Work.

Bedford resident Brianne Fennessy receives bachelor degree in nursing Brianne Fennessy of Bedford recently received a Bachelor of Science in nursing from MGH Institute of Health Professions in Boston.

Bachelor of Fine Arts in art and design for Cushing of Pound Ridge Kyra S. Cushing, a resident of Pound Ridge, received a BFA, cum laude, from the School of Art and Design at Alfred University during recent commencement exercises. She is a graduate of Fox Lane High School.

Louise McManus earns sociology degree at John Carroll University Louise McManus of Bedford Hills, graduated from John Carroll University on May 20 with a degree in sociology and criminology.

Bedford resident Justin Alejos graduates from Union College Justin Alejos of Bedford graduated from Union College with a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering, cum laude.

Fox Lane Valedictorian Address Continued from page 5A

but also cool and exciting. So I learned about a bunch of new topics, one by one as always, and one day I looked around and I actually understood what was going on around me. Adults’ conversations were less muddled with complicated terms, and I finally began to feel like I was no longer a little kid. Today, I don’t see the magic of elementary school, and I don’t see the super-geniuses of middle school. Instead, I do see the results of people’s passions

surrounding us. I see the passion for family and friends, and I see the passion for learning and growth. I see the passion for creation, and I see the passion to take steps toward an unknown and bright future. So now it is our turn to start doing the magic tricks, because no matter what it is that you do, you’re going to be great. Now, I would like to thank all of you in advance for your contributions. Good luck in all of your futures and thank you.

Graduation 2018 A special section of

The Record-Review P.O. Box 455, Bedford Hills, NY 10507 914 244-0533 www.record-review.com

PUBLISHER Deborah G. White

SECTION EDITOR Edward Baum

ART DIRECTOR David Lada

AD DESIGN Katherine Potter

AD SALES Francesca Lynch

Thomas O’Halloran Marilyn Petrosa © 2018 THE RECORD, LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. REPRODUCTION IN WHOLE OR IN PART IS FORBIDDEN


ThE record-REview

Graduation

June 29, 2018 — PAge 11A


PAge 12A — June 29, 2018

Graduation

Congrats to the 2018 graduates Does their next step mean your new home? Change can be hard, but the real estate experience doesn’t have to be. Whether you’re buying or selling, let Westchester County’s top-performing brokerage help you find your place in the world.

Chappaqua Office 917.701.9375

compass.com

Scarsdale Larchmont Tarrytown Dobbs Ferry Chappaqua Arlington Aspen Basalt Boston Brooklyn Calabasas Cambridge Chevy Chase Chestnut Hill Chicago Coral Gables Dallas Danville Fort Lauderdale Hamptons Hingham Los Angeles Los Gatos Malibu Manhattan McLean Miami Montecito Naples Orange County Pasadena San Diego San Francisco Bay Area Santa Barbara Santa Monica Westlake Village

#1 in Highest Average Selling Price, Top 10 real estate firms Westchester. Includes sales of Compass and Platinum Drive Realty, acquired by Compass in February 2018. Based upon information from the HGMLS for the period 1/01/2018-6/14/2018.

ThE record-review

Profile for The Record-Review

Record-Review Graduation 2018  

Record-Review Graduation 2018  

Advertisement