Page 1

Annual Review

2018/19


We believe in working collaboratively to create, develop and promote a better and more prosperous Edinburgh City Centre.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 2


Contents 04 Team & Board 06 Introduction 07 Promoting 20 Enhancing 26 Protecting 30 Engaging 35 Accounts 37 Get in touch

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 3


A committed team working hard for you. Team & Board The Team

Cassandra Ritchie Finance & BID Liaison Executive Emily Johnston Senior Manager: Marketing and Communications Gillian James Marketing and Communications Executive Grant Roberts Operations / Farmers’ Market Manager Grant Stewart Senior Manager: Projects Mark Farvis Digital Media Manager Paul Maydew Market Supervisor Roddy Smith Chief Executive & Director Shona Davidson Head of Corporate Services

Directors

Barry Blamire, The John Lewis Partnership Craig Thomson, Boots Plc David Johnston, Montepliers (Resigned 06/08/2019)

Lin Cherrington, Creative Cookware

(Resigned 06/09/2018)

Louise Maclean, Signature Pubs (Appointed 25/09/2018) Louise Masson, Harvey Nichols

David Lindgren, Secretary

Martin Clarke, The Edinburgh Woollen Mill

David Stewart, Aberdeen Standard Investments

Rochelle Burgess, Edinburgh St James & Multrees Walk

Denzil Skinner, Chair Derek Brownlee, Royal Bank of Scotland Jenny McPartlin, Marks and Spencers Johan Scheepers, The Kimpton, Charlotte Square (Appointed 25/09/2018) John Donnelly, Marketing Edinburgh (Resigned 18/04/2019) Josh Miller, Charlie Miller hairdressing

Essential Clean Team

Austen Ward Ben Redeer Dylan Clark Elliot Gault James Reilly, Contract Manager MITIE Steven Duff Tomasz Grabski (Clean Team are sub-contracted to Mitie)

Councillor Kate Campbell, Housing and Economy Convener, City of Edinburgh Council (Appointed 25/09/2018)

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 4


Through a varied and innovative range of projects we will endeavour to make our city centre safe, green, vibrant and commercially strong.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 5


Services we deliver ensure that Edinburgh continues to thrive. Introduction Welcome to our 2018/19 Annual Review, the first year of our third term as your Business Improvement District. It was pleasing to receive such an overwhelming vote of confidence from our members in the renewal ballot. This past year has been about showing the value we add to your city centre and how the services we deliver ensure that Edinburgh continues to thrive. The first phase of our “Sign of a Great Time” marketing campaign, with Hanover Street based Guy and Co, resonated with target audiences across Edinburgh and the Lothians delivering excellent results. In partnership with The Cyrenians we have made progress in supporting those affected by homelessness and begging. Through our BID policeman we have worked proactively with Police Scotland to support our levy payers in successfully reducing crime. Together with many city

centre agencies we have supported the development of FUSE to train and recruit staff within the BID area. As you can see, our new strategy of delivering more in partnership is already bearing fruit. Driving footfall remains a key priority - with partners such as the Edinburgh International Film Festival, Underbelly, Assembly Festival, the Edinburgh International Book Festival and Unique Events we have delivered successful on-street activity. By promoting Edinburgh Wows, 101 Objects and the Edinburgh Farmers’ Market we continue to bring people into the city centre. Our Clean Team works tirelessly to keep our city centre clean and with refreshed planters and Christmas lights we are working hard to enhance the look and feel of our area. The appearance of our city centre is changing at a fast pace and we have represented and supported our levy payers with consultations and developments throughout the year.

Finally, a huge thank you to our hard-working staff and Board who have embraced our renewed business plan, strategy and focus as well as a physical change of office. They have been instrumental in delivering another excellent set of results.

Roddy Smith, CEO Denzil Skinner, Chair

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 6


ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 7


Retail sales since December have shown positive growth, with an average increase of 1.3%. Promoting Total spend – £669,206 A thriving city centre is a place people want to visit and spend time in. We have invested 66% of the total project budget in promoting the BID area, creating activity and engagement to support the BID community. Retail sales across the UK have seen a decline in the past twelve months. While Edinburgh followed this national trend in the early part of our reporting year, retail sales since December have shown positive growth in six out of seven months, with an average increase of 1.3%.

Essential Edinburgh Events

The two events produced by Essential Edinburgh created a total economic value of almost £5.2 million; for every £1 spent on events during this reporting year we generated over £435 of spend in the city centre.

Edinburgh Farmers’ Market

This Saturday staple continues to be a significant footfall draw for both locals and tourists. The Market celebrated its 19th birthday in August 2019 and it remains the only true, certified farmers’ market in the city. Our stallholders are all local producers who grow, rear, bake, pickle or brew their own products, ensuring traceability and an unrivalled customer experience. The market pulls in around 350,000 shoppers each year. In addition to being a footfall generator for the city centre, it’s also a completely self-sustaining part of Essential Edinburgh. It adds to your levy investment from its profits and allows us to do even more for our businesses. ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 8


We are Essential Edinburgh, looking after your city centre.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 9


“I just wanted to reach out to say amazing job on the Open Air Cinema, it was a great success for Links of London – we had 25% more traffic than last week and 35% more than LY. It most importantly led to an increase in sales, in particular on the collections that were advertised on screen. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of it.”

Ian Carmichael, Links of London – Multrees Walk.

Film Fest in the City

Back for its eighth year, our hugely successful outdoor cinema in St Andrew Square Garden continues to be a highlight; delivering three days of free films in partnership with Unique Events and Edinburgh International Film Festival. For the second year running over 100 BID businesses participated with free adverts on the giant outdoor screen. Over 15,000 attendees enjoyed a superb array of films over the three days – up from 10,500 in 2018; 57% came into Edinburgh especially for Film Fest in the City and 64% of attendees went on to shop, eat or drink in the BID, spending on average almost £63 bringing an economic value for the city centre of over £623,000 – for every £1 spent on Film Fest in the City we generated over £29 of spend in the city centre.

15,000 ATTENDED

Social Media Engagement

64% WHO CAME TO THE FILM FEST ALSO VISITED SHOPS

/ RESTAURANTS / BARS IN EDINBURGH (OR WERE PLANNING TO DO SO).

REACH WITH FACEBOOK AND JUST UNDER ENGAGEMENTS

57% HAD TRAVELLED TO THE CITY

93 TWEETS

WITH OVER 100 BUSINESS PARTICIPATING WITH ADVERTS

ALMOST 250K

ESPECIALLY FOR THE FILM FEST – UP 10% ON 2018

WITH 57 CONTRIBUTORS OVER 7 DAYS

86% AUDIENCE FROM EDINBURGH & LOTHIANS (57% FROM EDINBURGH)

OVER

100% RATED THEIR ENJOYMENT

OF THE EVENT AS GOOD OR VERY GOOD (74% VERY GOOD RATING)

90% SAID THEY WOULD VISIT THE EVENT AGAIN IN 2020 AVERAGE SPEND WAS

£62.84

16K

600K IMPRESSIONS OVER 216K REACH George Street Festival

We worked with Assembly Festival and the Edinburgh International Book Festival to animate George Street. A mixture of festival entertainment and extended on-street space for our restaurant and bar businesses proved a great success. Hospitality sales increased by 1.8% on 2017 even with unseasonably poor weather during August 2018.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 10


REACH

90% EH RESIDENTS 2.8M DIGITAL IMPRESSIONS INCREASE IN FOLLOWERS

4K+ NEW FOLLOWERS 41% UPLIFT

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 11


PRESS COVERAGE

159 PRESS/RADIO/ SOCIAL 11.2M OTS ENGAGEMENT

29K+ SOCIAL ENGAGEMENTS 181% UPLIFT 2K+ EXPERIENTIAL ENGAGEMENTS


99% of the consumer panel liked the campaign, 95% felt the campaign was “for people like me” 56% were more likely to visit to the city centre as a result.

Promoting - Marketing Campaign The new BID centred marketing campaign launched on 8th October 2018 using bus, tram, train, kiosk, radio, social media and on street activity to encourage regular city centre visits from locals and commuters. A second phase of advertising and activity ran from the end of May through June. The two campaign phases reached over 90% of EH residents, drove 2.8 million digital impressions, over 29,000 social engagements and created an uplift in followers of over 40%. The on-street activation of the campaign – The Great Time Game, Treasure Hunt, Grab a Great Time and the Flash Sale – saw 100 businesses provide prizes and 110 businesses name-checked. We know the creative has resonated with commuters and residents; 99% of the consumer panel liked the campaign, 95% felt the campaign was “for people like me” and 56% were more likely to visit to the city centre as a result.

In this coming year you will see a fully wrapped Lothian bus, on street activation including a reverse grotto this Christmas and a digital creative campaign that will span the full year. To make sure your business makes the most of these opportunities please keep your eyes peeled for all our digital communications.

@EDFARMERSMARKET TWITTER INCREASED ON LAST YEAR BY 1.8% TO 11,326 WITH THE TWEETS EARNING 237K IMPRESSIONS OVER THE YEAR. THIS IS AN AVERAGE OF 19.8K IMPRESSIONS A MONTH.

@ESSENTIALEDIN TWITTER INCREASED ON LAST YEAR BY 6.2% TO 6,805 WITH

ALL THREE OF OUR TWITTER ACCOUNTS EARNED A COMBINED TOTAL OF

1,037,700 IMPRESSIONS

TWEETS EARNING 392.7K IMPRESSIONS OVER THE YEAR. THIS IS AN AVERAGE OF 32.7K IMPRESSIONS A MONTH.

EDINBURGH FARMERS’ MARKET CHANNELS HAVE

@EDINCITYCENTRE TWITTER INCREASED ON LAST YEAR BY 14.3% TO 3,910

53.7K FOLLOWERS ACROSS ALL ESSENTIAL

WITH THE TWEETS EARNING 408K IMPRESSIONS OVER THE YEAR. THIS IS AN AVERAGE OF 34K IMPRESSIONS A MONTH.

28,577, AN ORGANIC INCREASE OF 3.3% ON LAST YEAR. EDINBURGH SOCIAL CHANNELS (EXCLUDING GIFT CARD)

10.1% INCREASE. TOTAL REACH ON OUR

FACEBOOK PAGES WAS 1.4M ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 13


我们是 Essential Edinburgh 为您提供爱丁堡市中心的商业管理服务

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 15


Weibo & WeChat had 80,000 combined followers and over 141 million impressions.

Edinburgh Gift Card

The Edinburgh Gift Card launched alongside the City Centre Marketing Campaign in October 2018. It is a pre-paid Mastercard that is currently accepted in over 90 BID area businesses. It is helping to lock in spend for Edinburgh city centre businesses; encouraging people to explore our great city and share their messages with friends, family and colleagues. Within this reporting year 217 businesses were engaged with, creating individual competitions or spotlight campaigns on the Edinburgh Gift Card social media channels. As a levy payer it’s free to accept the gift card, there’s no additional hardware or software required, no joining fee and you will get free promotion as part of the scheme through spotlight campaigns, promotional messages and competitions. So make sure you are signed up to accept the Edinburgh Gift Card and benefit from the locked-in spend in the city centre.

China Ready – Weibo & WeChat

Edinburgh’s fastest-growing and highestspending visitor group are the Chinese and their visits are set to more than double by 2020. With over 80,000 combined followers and over 141 million impressions to May 2019 the official Edinburgh Weibo and WeChat channels are increasingly valuable assets for local businesses. Through collaboration with the China Ready group and ETAG we have been able to offer a regular platform for our levy payers to engage with this growing audience. For Chinese New Year (CNY) 2019 we offered a platform for our businesses to be in the official Edinburgh Chinese New Year celebratory programme. The campaign was the largest Edinburgh has produced with 20 events and 13 promotions. The campaign had 46 media placements, including front pages, TV and China Daily with an estimated viewership of 967,000 people.

30,000 CNY BROCHURES 63 TELEPHONE BOX SITES AND 18 6-SHEET POSTER SITES WITH A CAMPAIGN

REACH OF 731K PEOPLE. 20 CNY THEMED WEIBO POSTS, WITH 515,000 TOTAL IMPRESSIONS AND 1,174 ENGAGEMENTS 3 CNY THEMED WECHAT POSTS, WITH 5,583 TOTAL

PAGE VIEWS AND 131 ENGAGEMENTS 46 PIECES OF MEDIA COVERAGE WITH AN ESTIMATED VIEWERSHIP OF 967,000 PEOPLE

5,000 CNY RED ENVELOPES REACH OF 667,846 PEOPLE

ACROSS PRINT, SOCIAL MEDIA, NEWSLETTERS AND DIGITAL DISPLAY VIA THE LIST PARTNERSHIP ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 16


We are Essential Edinburgh, looking after your city centre.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 17


We work hard as a team to keep you all updated, informed and engaged.

Edinburgh WOWS!

Working closely with the Edinburgh Cultural Venues Group we have financially supported and promoted the digital marketing campaign “Edinburgh Wows”. This campaign highlights Edinburgh’s yearround cultural offering and aims to boost the non-festival months, communicating the emotional experiences derived from visiting our vast offering of world class cultural venues.

Communicating with you

We work hard as a team to keep you all updated, informed and engaged. To share important and interesting information we use all available platforms, including our BID Liaison Officer, to keep the information flowing. Make sure you are following us on social media and that you are on our mailing list .

AT THE END OF EDINBURGH WOWS PHASE 1 OF PAID ADVERTISING - MAY 2019 - THERE HAD BEEN OVER

1.1 MILLION VIDEO VIEWS 2.7 MILLION REACH/ IMPRESSIONS WITH

ACROSS FACEBOOK AND YOUTUBE. THE SECOND PHASE OF DIGITAL ADVERTISING WILL BE LIVE FROM OCTOBER 2019 TO FEBRUARY 2020.

101 Objects

In partnership with agencies across the city we continued to support 101 Objects, promoting important historical objects in our BID area.

Light Night on George Street

Solely funded by Essential Edinburgh, the annual Light Night extravaganza on George Street saw around 16,000 revellers enjoy an afternoon of dance, music and activity to celebrate the official start of Edinburgh’s Christmas festivities.

Winter Festival in the BID with Silent Light

Alongside the ice rink in St Andrew Square Garden a new attraction for the west end of George Street was created in partnership with Underbelly. We invested significantly in Silent Light, which was enjoyed by over 50,000 people and encouraged a significant number of visitors to the west end of the BID.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 18


73% of attendees purchased food/drink in Rose Street whilst attending events.

Burns & Beyond

This innovative partnership event produced by Unique Events, saw a packed programme including traditional Burns Night celebrations and ceilidhs mixed with music, spoken word, comedy, busking, trails and theatre. This new week-long event incorporated the previously successful Red, Red Rose Street. The audience was predominately from Edinburgh (68%) and Lothians (16%) with 91% of attendees rating their overall experience of Burns & Beyond as very good or good and 100% of attendees to Red, Red Rose Street activities rated it an excellent or very good experience with 73% purchasing drinks or food in Rose Street businesses while attending events. The spotlight will once again be on the BID with the 2020 event set to be even bigger. With Burns night and Chinese New Year falling on the same day, there is a double opportunity for your business to benefit. To find out how your business can get involved with Burns & Beyond 2020 please get in touch with our marketing team.

84% AUDIENCE 91% VERY GOOD OR GOOD 100% OF 85% OF ATTENDEES ATTENDEES 73% 50% SAID BURNS PURCHASED & BEYOND FOOD/DRINK

FROM EDINBURGH & LOTHIANS AREA

RATED RED, RED ROSE STREET ACTIVITY AN EXCELLENT OR VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE

IN ROSE STREET WHILST ATTENDING EVENTS

OF BURNS & BEYOND ATTENDEES RATED IT

WOULD NOT HAVE CELEBRATED BURNS NIGHT AT ALL OR WOULD HAVE CELEBRATED AT HOME IF THEY’D NOT ATTENDED

WAS THEIR ONLY OR MAIN REASON FOR VISITING THE CITY CENTRE

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 19


We are Essential Edinburgh, looking after your city centre. Clean Team - that’s us.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 20


Clean Team have removed 19,640 bags of waste for recycling, an increase of almost 12%.

Enhancing Total spend – £227,491 Over 79% of respondents to the Edinburgh Visitor Survey, conducted by STR, agreed that the BID area was cleaner than the rest of the city and 80% found it more welcoming. Our continued investment in enhancing the BID area ensures an attractive year-round destination for all city centre users. Clean Team These hard-working heroes continue to provide an unrivalled additional cleansing service, over and above the core service delivered by the Council. Since renewal last year we have increased the team and the frequency of daily rounds to compensate for the changes in Council provision. This is reflected in the increased work delivered and waste collected by the team. The Clean Team have cleaned over 15,490m2 of gum from our city centre streets – that is the equivalent of more than twice the surface area of BT Murrayfield stadium! Their Rapid Response service has helped 292 businesses, removing and cleaning 476 items of graffiti in this reporting year. They have tackled an

increase in flyposting of 18%, removed 734 items of environmental and hazardous waste including drugs paraphernalia, an increase of 37%, and removed 19,640 bags of waste for recycling, an increase of almost 12%. The audit carried out by Mitie of all BID area streets shows a cleanliness score of 93%, based on a nationally recognised rating system.

INCIDENCE OF FLYPOSTING UP

18% ON LAST YEAR REDUCTION IN REQUIRED RAPID RESPONSE

29%

INCREASE IN LITTER REMOVED BY STREET CLEANING

(ALL RECYCLED)

60%

INCREASE IN BASEMENTS CLEANED

CALL OUTS OF 13%

(ALL WASTE RECYCLED)

INCREASE IN DISPOSAL OF

NO GENERAL WASTE TO LANDFILL

DRUG PARAPHERNALIA OF 7% INCIDENCE OF CLEANING ENVIRONMENTAL

WASTE UP BY 76% 7% INCREASE IN AREA CLEANED OF GUM

100% OF ALL WASTE RECYCLED

,

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 21


We are Essential Edinburgh, looking after your city centre.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 22


Changeworks Recycling have collected a total of 1,137.7 tonnes of waste with a recycling rate of 65%.

Seasonal decorations An attractive and welcoming city centre is extremely important for first impressions of visitors and for repeat local footfall. To help create this ambience year-round we have invested in seasonal floral displays in our George Street planters, maintained the trees in Rose Street and ensured St Andrew Square Garden is the jewel in the crown of city centre spaces. We continue to solely fund the Christmas Light Trees on George Street and during this year we have invested in upgrading the Rose Street canopy lights with state-of-the-art colour changing LEDs, working with Edinburgh Council to ensure a fitting festive display during this crucial trading period. The new lights on Rose Street will continue to brighten the street year-round.

Changeworks Recycling We have continued our award-winning partnership with Changeworks Recycling, benefitting both individual BID businesses and the environment with 547.64 tonnes of CO2 diverted from landfill. This reporting year they have collected a total of 1,137.7 tonnes of waste with a recycling rate of 65%. A third of all BID businesses benefit from our favourable rate and the more businesses that sign up with Changeworks Recycling, the lower costs become. If you have not yet switched give them a call and save some money and the environment at the same time!

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 23


We are Essential Edinburgh, looking after your city centre.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 24


40,000 people visited the square in three days to say a fond farewell to all the Oor Wullies.

St Andrew Square Garden St Andrew Square Garden is a much loved and vibrant city centre space. Despite being a busy thoroughfare, it remains a tranquil and reflective place to spend time. To soften the impact of heavy footfall within the Garden we have continued to invest in the upkeep and upgrading of this key greenspace. We have had a number of low-impact events within the Garden during this reporting year including the Rock Trust’s anniversary sleepover - raising funds for the homeless, the Marie Curie Daffodil Garden, Armed Forces Day celebrations, Poppy Scotland and the Oor Wullies BIG Bucket Trail – the largest public art display in Scotland, raising vital funds for Scotland’s children’s hospital charities.

“Edinburgh Children’s Hospital Charity (ECHC) wish to thank Essential Edinburgh for their incredible support throughout Oor Wullie’s BIG Bucket Trail. We have been delighted to have had such fantastic encouragement in our search to find a home for our pop-up shop for the duration of the trail. By hosting our BIG Farewell Weekend in the city centre, St Andrew Square saw over 40,000 people visit the square in three days to say a fond farewell to all the Oor Wullies. The Royal Hospital for Sick Children touches the hearts of many of us and ECHC have been proud to brighten up the streets of our city with this unique public art trail that will be remembered for years to come.” Hannah Biddulph, Project Manager ECHC ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 25


Nick Harold and Mark Driver Outreach Workers, Homeless Navigator Project

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 26


We continue to operate multiple channels to tackle and minimise crime within the BID.

Protecting Total spend – £82,148 Protecting customers, staff and businesses is of vital importance for a thriving city centre. The Edinburgh Visitor Survey again highlighted the success of our innovative partnerships with 87% of people feeling safer in the BID area than elsewhere in the city.

recovered bicycles can be reunited with their rightful owners. Essential Edinburgh has also funded Kryptonite bike locks at bike marking events to discourage opportunistic theft. A project is also underway with Police Scotland to support secure motorcycle parking in the city centre.

BID Cop PC Leo Baker offers an enhanced police presence and active support for our businesses through our ground-breaking partnership with Police Scotland.

Navigator Project – with Cyrenians We’re proud to partner with Cyrenians supporting their amazing work caring for the homeless community in our city. Our investment funds Outreach Worker Nick Harold through the Navigator Project. Working on a one-to-one basis with rough sleepers on the streets, Nick provides support by developing a relationship, responding to the person’s priorities and supporting them to address these.

This reporting year PC Baker has visited over 170 businesses. He has provided twelve “Hard Target” courses for retailers, training 116 staff to minimise shoplifting opportunities within BID businesses. Complemented by our Check Out communication system which links over 165 retailers with the Police, our joined up approach is making the city centre an unattractive location for shoplifters. Addressing the growing issues around cycle theft, PC Baker has marked and added 64 bikes to the national register, ensuring that

The Navigator Team have engaged in over 100 direct interventions with members of the homeless community in the city centre, providing on-going 1:1 support with eight separate individuals. Since the project began they have closed four cases, obtaining and maintaining accommodation or alternative support.

The key to the project’s success is that it offers peer support, delivered by a team with first-hand experience of homelessness. Nick has 25 years’ experience in working with vulnerable people and takes to the streets of Edinburgh several times a week alongside his colleague whose own experience of sleeping rough gives the service a unique advantage. “What makes us different is the combination of my networks and understanding of the way official systems work with his knowledge of the streets and personal connections. Folk open up to him much quicker than they would if it was just me.” Nick’s two-person team also liaises with other specialist agencies including the Bethany Christian Trust, the Community Police Team – including our BID Cop PC Baker – and Access Point. The Essential Edinburgh team have been raising funds for Cyrenians with Grant Roberts, PC Leo Baker and Roddy Smith completing the Edinburgh Men’s 10K run raising over £1,200 for this remarkable charity. ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 27


The Navigator team have engaged in over 100 direct interventions.

Navigator Project - since start:

Closed 4 cases since project start 100+ direct interventions Currently providing 1:1 support for 8 individuals (7 male & 1 female) Advised and supported additional 97 individuals 800 hours spent supporting some of Edinburgh’s most vulnerable individuals

How can you help? If you think someone is in immediate danger on the street, call Police Scotland on 999 or 101 If you see someone sleeping rough who you think needs support, call Cyrenians on 0131 475 2503 If you or someone you know is at immediate risk of homelessness, call 0800 032 5968 Want to support Cyrenians wider work? Visit www.cyrenians.scot to find out how.

Security Initiatives We continue to operate multiple channels to tackle and minimise crime within the BID; funding two CCTV cameras, Check Out for retailers, Check In for hoteliers, Gold Watch for jewellers and Pub Watch for hospitality businesses - all helping to make the city centre an unattractive location for crime. Check Out still leads the way with its innovative approach to tackling retail crime through partnership working. Coordinated sharing of information by over 165 signed-up retailers and Police Scotland helps to make our BID an unappealing target for shoplifters. Reporting grew by 31% this year, with partners sharing data on 491 incidents.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 28


Protecting Crime statistics Crime Stats

NB: Crime figures reported by Police Scotland are, at time of publication, only available for the final quarter of this reporting year – 1st April to 30th June 2019. Crime figures are for the whole City Centre Ward area. Reported crimes included are: Serious Assault, Housebreaking to a business, Shoplifting, Robbery, Vandalism, Common Assault and the total of these five areas.

Recorded crime is down 2.5% compared to last year but up 4.8% compared to the fiveyear average. Serious assault, housebreaking to a business and robbery were all lower than the five-year average, down 14.9%, 33.3% and 27.3% respectively. Total detection rates were slightly down on last year and on the five-year average by 0.6% and 3.7% respectively. Individual areas - Housebreaking to a business, Robbery and Vandalism – have higher detection rates than last year and the five-year average.

Recorded Crime

Detected Crime

Serious Assault

Serious Assault

Down

Down -26.6% on last year

Down

-7.7% on last year -14.9% on 5 year average

Down -20.3% on 5 year average

Housebreaking to a business

Housebreaking to a business

Down -25.6% on last year

Up

29.1% on last year

Down -33.3% on 5 year average

Up

10.6% on 5 year average

Shoplifting

Robbery

Up

Up

17.9% on last year

Up

18.6% on 5 year average

Robbery

Vandalism

Down

Up

5.5% on last year

Down -27.3% on 5 year average

Up

1.4% on 5 year average

Vandalism

Common assault

Down

Up

Up

2.1% on last year

-61.9% on last year

-2.2% on last year 4.0% on 5 year average

Down

1.5% on last year -4.3% on 5 year average

Common assault

Total crimes and offences

Down

Down

-0.6% on last year

Down

-3.7% on 5 year average

Up

-0.8% on last year 6.2% on 5 year average

Total crimes and offences Down Up

-2.5% on last year

4.8% on 5 year average

Crime statistics from Police Scotland, April - June 2019 for Edinburgh City Centre Ward area.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 29


“We have had great support for our proposals from local stakeholders and businesses in Edinburgh. We are incredibly excited by our plans for the Johnnie Walker visitor experience where people can explore, discover, and immerse themselves in our story of the world’s leading whisky brand and we are grateful to everyone who has helped us to get to this stage. We will continue to work with the local community as we progress with making our plans a reality.”

David Cutter, Chairman of Diageo in Scotland.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 30


FUSE, The Edinburgh Training Academy, is available to support all our businesses with recruitment and training at no cost. From advertising positions or sifting CVs to providing space for interviews or training sessions, the dedicated FUSE team are here to help.

Engaging Total spend – £5,435 We amplify your voice, ensuring that your views are heard when key decisions that impact your business or the city centre are made.

George Street project Essential Edinburgh chaired the Steering Group for the re-design of George Street, representing your views throughout the consultation. We have supported small and large group discussions on the re-design as well as the successful £20 million funding application to Sustrans. We have helped Council officers and consultants to deliver a design principle unanimously approved by elected members at the Council. FUSE In preparation for the opening of Edinburgh St James, we are supporting the city centre by working with the developers, the Council, the Capital City Partnership and local educational establishments to creation the new Edinburgh Training Academy, FUSE. This innovative concept will deliver premium recruitment and training for retail, leisure and hospitality sectors, offering our levy payers high quality training opportunities for all their staff and supporting their recruitment needs at no cost.

This collaborative, cross-sector project will promote employment within these key sectors as an excellent career choice, enabling the city to have a highly trained workforce in place to manage increased demand. If you are recruiting or want training for your staff, please get in touch with the FUSE team. BID area development We support the many developers investing in our city. We help to co-ordinate the sharing of information, sit on city wide groups, comment on planning applications and traffic orders and liaise with Council officials and other organisations. With complex developments like Edinburgh St James, The Johnnie Walker Experience, The Registers, 64 Princes Street, Gleneagles Hotel, Malmaison, The Hub on Rose Street and office developments on George Street, we represent the interests of our businesses at every opportunity.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 31


The FUSE team

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 32


With partners at SPOKES we ensured appropriate cycle lane provision during the Christmas and Summer festivals.

City Centre Monitoring Project This was the penultimate year of our collaboration with LDC and University College London as part of the Smart Street Sensor Project, providing detailed footfall information for our area. Alongside our retail and hospitality sales monitor these vital metrics enable us to monitor the vitality of the city centre each year. Previously data was reported on a monthly basis in our digital Essential Trends publication. Since July these vital measures now form a core part of our ‘digital dashboard’ on the Essential Edinburgh website. Cycling Essential Edinburgh has assisted in developing the Edinburgh Bike Account with the Council, Sustrans and Spokes; promoting cycling and identify areas for improvement. Working closely with partners at SPOKES we ensured appropriate cycle lane provision during the Christmas and Summer festivals.

Business Training and Master Classes This year we held a Digital Media Masterclass and a Marketing Clinic led by performance marketing agency DAC, who kindly shared their expertise and knowledge for free with their fellow levy-paying businesses. Rose Street We worked closely with Council staff and contractors to ensure effective communication with local businesses during the first phase of works on Rose Street. The work to replace the street surface between Frederick and Hanover Street began on 6th May 2018 and will take a year to complete. Licensed Trade Over Provision Seminar Following changes to the City of Edinburgh’s Licensing Regulations, we hosted a seminar for our licensed traders in partnership with TLT Solicitors. We were able to support and update more than 20 members on the “over provision” clauses in the new licensing regulations and how these might impact on the decisions made by the Licensing Committee in the future.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 33


Essential Edinburgh plays an active role in the city centre and our many programmes, projects, partnerships and initiatives have become part of the fabric of doing business in the heart of Scotland’s capital city.

ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 34


Accounts 1st July 2018 to 30th June 2019

Accounts 1st July 2018 to 30th June 2019

Income

Project Costs

BID Levy £1,036,948 Voluntary Contributions £42,962 EFM Income £89,193 Other BID project income* £50,916 Events income £26,255 SAS income £100,158 Total £1,346,432

Promoting** Protecting Enhancing Engaging Levy collection by CEC Interest on loan Contingency Total

Interest

£507

Expenditure £669,206 £82,148 £227,491 £5,435 £25,000 £1,500 £0 £1,010,780

Project Costs SAS Costs EFM Costs Total

Operating Cost £1,010,780 £110,674 £81,470 £1,202,924

Operating Costs

£298,988

Total

£1,501,912

(Loss)/profit after tax

-£154,973

* Other income: footfall monitoring project, Council contribution to Rose Street lights, BIDs Scotland contribution to Navigator Project

Salaries £163,136 Travel & Subsistence £969 Recruitment £120 Training £561 Subscriptions £734 Hospitality £2,257 Print, Postage & Stationery £6,502 Insurance £13,673 Repairs & Maintenance £3,034 Telephones £4,826 Sundry £2,312 Legal & Professional £21,510 IT Costs £16,884 Bank Charges £894 Depreciation £715 Rent £24,993 Rates £13,182 Heat & Light £5,580 Office move £17,106 Total £298,988

** Inclusive of front-loading year 1 marketing campaign with £155,000 drawn down from future secured levy ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 35


Budget

1st July 2019 to 30th June 2020

Budget 1st July 2019 to 30th June 2020

Income

Project Costs

BID Levy £1,037,825 Voluntary Contributions £40,000 EFM Income £95,154 Other BID project income* £14,000 Events income £20,000 SAS income £57,123 Total £1,264,102

Promoting Protecting Enhancing Engaging Levy collection by CEC Interest on loan Contingency Total

Expenditure £434,020 £66,000 £239,000 £5,000 £25,000 £5,500 £37,076 £811,596

Project Costs SAS Costs EFM Costs Total

Operating Costs Total (Loss)/profit after tax

Operating Cost £811,596 £72,781 £91,339 £975,716

£264,089 £1,239,805 £24,297

Salaries £143,298 Travel & Subsistence £1,400 Recruitment £Training £1,100 Subscriptions £840 Hospitality £1,800 Print, Postage & Stationery £6,300 Insurance £13,800 Repairs & Maintenance £4,800 Telephones £4,800 Sundry £2,796 Legal & Professional £23,174 IT Costs £7,400 Bank Charges £1,345 Depreciation £1,440 Rent £33,996 Rates £11,400 Heat & Light £4,400 Office move £Total £264,089

* Other income: footfall monitoring project and Council contribution to Rose Street lights ESSENTIAL EDINBURGH Annual Review 2018 - 19 | 36


Get in touch: Clean Team Rapid Response: 07919 560 290 Marketing Team: marketing@essentialedinburgh.co.uk

@EssentialEdin BID Cop - @EssentialEdinPC

Changeworks: linnocenzi@changeworksrecycling.co.uk Cyrenians: www.cyrenians.scot

@EdinCityCentre

FUSE: hello@edinburghfuse.com 113 (1f1) Rose Street Edinburgh EH2 3DT Tel: +44 (0) 131 220 8580 www.essentialedinburgh.co.uk info@essentialedinburgh.co.uk design prettybright.co.uk

Profile for Prettybright Ltd

Essential Edinburgh Annual Review 2019  

Essential Edinburgh is the Business Improvement District for Edinburgh's City Centre.

Essential Edinburgh Annual Review 2019  

Essential Edinburgh is the Business Improvement District for Edinburgh's City Centre.