Page 1

review


Our cross platform work has continued and we were delighted to be shortlisted for the Artists Taking the Lead project for our 5circles event. We created a UK premiere of e Fever Chart, and then took this into the West End for a one month run. We have created new projects and worked with new artists and brought into the team two new directors, and a new media manager. Our Shift Happens conference has grown and now has an International reputation, and we are continuing to forge ahead with our digital platforms and evolving strategy of connection and communication

It is clear that as we head towards the future it is vital for us to strengthen and widen our networks and partnerships. is cross sector working is key for the evolution of the sector and as an organisation we are playing our role in galvanising and creating the opportunities to connect and communicate – via our work / both on and offline with our networks and conferences. By the use of the #artsfunding hashtag and the online ning site we are able to reach and communicate with stakeholders, artists, supporters and our audience in ways we have never been able to before meaning that all of our work is accessible to everyone, however they choose to engage with us – onstage ontour online. We are delighted to be embarking on a 22 week tour of Romeo & Juliet which will run until April 2011. We are also very excited to announce a new production of e Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner by Alan Sillitoe to be adapted by our patron Roy Williams in 2012. Marcus Romer

people

introduction

is year has been a very important and significant year in Pilot eatre’s story. We have developed our International work with our new Platform 11+ project working across the whole of Europe as well as making a new show in Buenos Aires, Argentina and bringing that show to the UK.

Pilot eatre Team Marcus Romer Artistic Director Mandy Smith Producer Sarah Seddon Company Administrator Katie Posner Associate Director Rebecca Storey Press and Media Manager Charles Moore Finance Director Mark Beasley Production Manager Katherine Jewkes Projects Co-ordinator Richard Hurford Associate Artist Helen Cadbury Education Associate

Production & Freelance Team Tom Bellerby Amy Bending Mary Browning Lisa Came Andrina Carroll Catherine Chapman Stuart Childs Lydia Denno Carlos De Urquiza Philip D’Orleans Rachel Duthie Louisa Eyo Maria Ines Falcone Ebony Feare Richard Garside Bryn Holding Samantha Howard Richard Howell Richard James-Neale Mitzi Jones Sidney Kean Sam Krylonski Chloe Lamford Michael Lambourne Nick Lane Chris Lindon Dave Lynch Celeste Martinez Lachlan McCall Suzann McLean Carl Moir Kit Monkman Claire Morse Sandy Nuttgens Solange Perazzo Sarah Quinney Daniel Rabin Chris Randall

Raad Rawi Mary Rose Matt Savage Julian Sierra Robin Simpson Rachel Spicer Ronan Summers Richard Taylor William Travis Tom Wexler Oliver Wilson Board Members Tracy Cochrane Tim Evison Stephen Mason Dave Moutrey - Chair Kully iarai Jenny Ward Pete Whelan Ann Wishart Tina Wright Patrons: Nigel Williams Stan Barstow Melvin Burgess Phillip Ridley Dolly Dhingra Reece Dinsdale Johnathan Harvey Ayub Khan-Din Roy Williams Anne Cassidy Judy Carver Naomi Wallace


productions

THE FEVER CHART THREE VISIONS OF THE MIDDLE EAST BY NAOMI WALLACE

DIRECTED BY MARCUS ROMER AND KATIE POSNER e British Premiere of Naomi Wallace’s 3 short plays about the Middle East and characters whose lives are very directly affected by the consequences and realities of war. e production opened at York eatre Royal and then toured in Autumn 2009 / Spring 2010, finishing with a month’s run at Trafalgar Studios 2, London. e acting is exemplary. e Guardian Some plays try to convey the horror or the scale of war. e American playwright Naomi Wallace, in this short triptych admirably revived by Pilot eatre company, suggests the profound emotional dislocation caused by conflict. e Financial Times A co-production with York eatre Royal Performances 58

HANSEL AND GRETEL NEW ADAPTATION BY NICK LANE

JACK BY RICHARD HURFORD

A new co-production with York eatre Royal of an untraditional telling of the well known fairy tale. e play ran for three weeks in the Studio eatre at York. A high energy and engaging show for families and schools. is production transferred to the Byre eatre, St Andrews for a summer run in August 2010

A short one actor play performed in Budapest at the Platform11+ annual festival as part of a research and development phase for the European plays project.

DIRECTED BY AMANDA J SMITH

e sweet smell of success emanates from this delightful, delicious reinvention York Press I have seen many performances at the Byre but nothing as energetic, funny and uplifting as Hansel & Gretel. St Andrews Citizen A co-production with York eatre Royal Performances (York) 23 Performances (St Andrews) 28

DIRECTED BY KATIE POSNER

Performances 2

WC SCHOOL – MADE IN ARGENTINA BY CARLOS DE URQUIZA, GABRIEL FERNANDEZ CHAPO AND LUZ RODRIGUEZ URQUIZA

DIRECTED BY MARCUS ROMER A co- production with Argentinian eatre Company Atina and la Universidad Popular de Belgrano (Buenos Aires).WC School was performed in Spanish in Buenos Aires in March 2010. It played in the UK in Summer 2010. 3 Cutting edge tales about life in school, Buenos Aires style and presented in association with Platform11+. Performances 34


THE MYSTERY OF JACK AND THE CLONES OF CHAOS BY RICHARD HURFORD

DIRECTED BY SUZANN MCLEAN

DIRECTED BY KATIE POSNER

Catcher was first performed as part of the Shift Happens 2.0 conference as an R&D piece. A year later the piece was developed into a full length eatrical piece and was staged at e Studio, York eatre Royal in May 2010 before a short tour to Ipswich as part of the Pulse Festival and then to the Croydon Clocktower. Cunningly devised, taut little thriller Independent

is piece was developed out of the work done on Jack in Budapest the previous year. e Mystery of Jack & e Clones of Chaos is a play about the transition between the simplistic certainties of childhood and a more complex adult life just appearing on the horizon. is piece was performed at York eatre Royal, Manor School (York) and as part of “A Midsummer e Night's eatre” a festival of European eatre in Palmela, Portugal, a Platform 11+ project.

Catcher is Pilot eatre at its best: provocative, Performances 9 thrilling, topical, challenging, dynamic, intelligent theatre, superbly performed and directed. e Press A co-production with York eatre Royal Performances 23

5CIRCLES

A development of the research phase started last year, the 5 Circles project worked with a range of local schools and other organizations to produce an interactive performance event over 3 days in Parliament Square, York as part of the Illuminate York Festival. KMA were commissioned to create and produce the technology to enable this to happen. e project was shortlisted as one of the five for Artists Taking the Lead for the Cultural Olympiad in Yorkshire. Performance Events 3

shift happens

CATCHER BY RICHARD HURFORD

SHIFT HAPPENS 2.0 CONFERENCE

SHIFT HAPPENS -ALT SHIFT CONFERENCE

26 speakers and presenters fronted this exciting and busy 2 day event at York eatre Royal. Speakers included Charles Leadbeater, Lyn Gardner, Bill ompson, and Josie Rourke. e conference attracted widespread coverage with news items on the BBC news and e Guardian websites and articles in e Stage and Arts Professional.

Hosted at York eatre Royal on 5th and 6th July 2010, Shift Happens ALT Shift was Pilot eatre’s third annual Arts, Learning and Technology Conference. e conference was attended by 270 people with a further 8 bursary places at a free or reduced rate. e conference hosted 25 speakers including Sir Ken Robinson and Johnathan Harris (Number27.org). Alice Greenwald (Director of the 9/11 Museum, New York)

Conference sessions 5 Attendees 210 Pilot eatre continues to deliver training sessions to other organisations sharing our knowledge and experience.

Conference sessions 5 Attendees 278


by William Shakespeare

current productions

York Theatre Royal and Pilot Theatre present

Tour dates Sept 2010 – Apr 2011 York eatre Royal Fri 10 – Sat 25 Sep Octagon eatre, Yeovil Tue 28 Sep – Sat 2 Oct Macrobert, Stirling Tue 5 – Sat 9 Oct Jersey Opera House Tue 12 – Sat 16 Oct eatre Royal, Winchester Tue 19 to Sat 23 Oct Brunton eatre, Musselburgh Wed 27 – Fri 29 Oct Lighthouse, Poole Tue 2 – Sat 6 Nov Oxford Playhouse Tue 9 – Sat 13 Nov Aberystwyth Arts Centre Tue 16 – Sat 20 Nov Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea Tue 23 – Sat 27 Nov Unicorn eatre, London Wed 2 – Sat 12 Feb eatre Severn, Shrewsbury Tue 15 – Sat 19 Feb Curve eatre, Leicester Tue 1 – Sat 12 Mar Lakeside Arts Centre, Nottingham Tues 22 - Sat 26 Mar Corn Exchange, Newbury Mon 28th - urs 31st March Buxton Opera House Tue 5 – Sat 9 Apr

PILOT THEATRE AND YORK THEATRE ROYAL PRESENT A LOVE STORY FOR THE 21ST CENTURY

ROMEO & JULIET

DIRECTED BY MARCUS ROMER AND KATIE POSNER DESIGNED BY CHLOE LAMFORD LIGHTING DESIGNED BY RICHARD HOWELL COMPOSED BY SANDY NUTTGENS ese violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, Which as they kiss consume Shakespeare’s timeless tale of star crossed lovers, a story of dangerous rivalries and secret loves here vividly brought to life in a fast moving and contemporary telling of this celebrated story. With stunning visuals and cutting edge soundtrack by renowned composer Sandy Nuttgens, this production will inspire and enthuse audiences of all ages with its exuberance, poetry and thrilling action. Follow the project on Twitter #kissbythebook

LOUISA EYO

BRYN HOLDING

RICHARD JAMES-NEALE

CHRIS LINDON

MARY ROSE

RACHEL SPICER

WILLIAM TRAVIS

OLIVER WILSON


platform11+

PLATFORM 11+ is an artistic network in which 13 eatres from 12 European countries have joined together to collectively create new work for young people aged between 11 and 15 in both the Performing and Visual Arts. Activities in 2009-2010 included meetings in Norway and Germany, festivals in Hungary, Finland (which also included a retreat for the writers of the projects) and Portugal, a training weekend for educators and a visual artists 3 week residency in Palmela, Portugal. e character of Video Jack was created by Richard Hurford, Katie Posner and Lachlan McCall (actor) to take to the Annual Meeting in Budapest 2009. is process led Richard to create the character of Jack in the full length piece e Mystery of Jack and the Clones of Chaos which was performed at York eatre Royal and also in Portugal as part of the Annual Meeting 2010. Pilot eatre are working with Manor School over a three year period to create their own scripts, the first of which It Simply Is was performed at York eatre Royal in May 2010.

Pilot eatre have also been working with visual artists e Jam Jar Collective on the Platform 11+ project. e Jam Jar Collective provided visuals for the production of Jack as well as sending one artist, Stuart Childs out to Portugal to join the other visual artists from around Europe to create a series of installations at Teatro OBando’s home in Palmela. October of 2010 will see a group of young people from York travel to Tallinn in Estonia for the first Youth Exchange of the project. In 2010 – 2011 Pilot will be working with Elsinor eatre, Italy to produce a new play connecting the two cities of York and Milan. More information about the project can be found by visiting: www.platform11plus.eu the official website for the project or visit platform11plus.ning.com which is where people’s stories, photos, videos and experiences of the project are kept.


engagement

Pilot offer and deliver an extensive range of activity to engage with our audiences beyond the work they experience on stage. Recently this has included: Practical workshops in schools, colleges and other venues to accompany and enhance our productions of e Fever Chart, Catcher and Jack. rough Platform 11+ a wide ranging programme of work with several schools to develop new texts and ways of working. Directors, writers, actors and visual and digital artists worked with students over the year in the development of both Pilot's production of Jack and the Mystery of the Clones of Chaos and the Schools' own productions - all of which were performed as part of Pilot's Platform Festival. 5 one week long holiday projects in Helmsley and York, for young people to work alongside professional artists - each one culminating in performances for friends and family.

e Transformation Fund project with Askham Grange YOI and HMP - working with actors, directors and writers over a period of 6 months to develop writing and communication skills. e end of the project saw rehearsed readings of plays and a poetry publication, Open Minds. We have delivered a 3 day Teacher Training residency in Italy, Directors' workshop in Buenos Aires, a 3 month internship and numerous talks and placements.


TALKS

Four York is a partnership between 4 of the City’s Cultural Organisations. Pilot eatre, York eatre Royal, York Museums Trust and York City Archives and City Library who are working together to help raise the cultural ambition and practice in York. e project has included a raft of training opportunities for staff participants, practical research around audience development and the development of cross cultural work in the City.

As part of Pilot eatre’s commitment to exploring the uses and benefits of Social Media and online resources, Marcus Romer has been invited to speak at several conferences and at training sessions for organisations including the State of the Arts Conference (RSA), ITC training events, AMA conferences, Promote Youth eatre, Scotland and numerous presentations for small businesses around the country.

In addition to this Pilot's Producer, Mandy Smith, is also currently part way through her European Diploma course in Cultural Management run by Brussels based Fondation Marcel Hicter.

sustainability

CULTURAL LEADERSHIP PROGRAMME (CLP)

Pilot eatre are committed to addressing the issues of environmental sustainability that face us all. As a way of studying our behaviour more closely Pilot eatre have signed up to the 10:10 campaign and have committed to cutting our carbon footprint by 10% in 2010. Our first step towards this commitment is Pilot eatre have made the decision to only print publicity materials using fully recycled or FSC approved stock. We also only use printers who can supply us with environmentally friendly inks. Where possible our international travel is kept to a minimum although some air travel is a necessity due to the nature of our International collaborations, as such Pilot eatre are committed to using carbon offsetting programmes to offset the emissions created whilst travelling. Whilst we acknowledge that the best course of action is not to use air travel, when this is not an option we feel we cannot ignore this footprint and as such will make an offsetting payment.

With regards to the travel of other staff members around the country, where possible we substitute the need for travelling for meetings by using an online video conferencing service to connect creative teams. Looking to the future we aim to research and find a Green email provider and webhost, we will continue to use only environmentally friendly printing techniques for all of our show and publicity materials, we also aim to create an office environment that uses low energy lighting and has better insulation.


Pilot eatre York eatre Royal St Leonards Place York YO1 7HD pilot-theatre.com info@pilot-theatre.com 01904 635755

contact

Follow us on Twitter @pilot_theatre Become a fan on Facebook – Search Pilot eatre

is brochure is also available in large print and at pilot-theatre.com. Please call 01904 635755 or email info@pilot-theatre.com if you require another format

Registered Charity Number: 1003677

Registered in England: 1956167

Pilot Theatre - Annual Review 2009 - 2010  

A look back at the work carried out from 2009 - 2010

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you