Page 1

The Best of LCD:: The Art and Writing of WFMU

Published by Princeton Architectural Press 37 East Seventh Street New York, New York 10003 For a free catalog of books, call 1 . 8 0 0 .72 2 . 6 6 5 7 . Visit our website at © 2008 Princeton Architectural Press All rights reserved Printed and bound in China 1 1 10 09 08 4 3 2 1 First edition No part of this book may be used or reproduced in any manner without written permission from the publisher, except in the context of reviews. Every reasonable attempt has been made to identify owners of copyright. Errors or omissions will be corrected in subsequent editions. Efforts have been made to correct grammatical errors, to Americanize spellings, and to standardize typographical elements. Eccentricities of language and phrasing have been retained as originally published. Editor: Linda Lee Acquisitions Editor: Clare Jacobsen Designer: Lissi Erwin/Splendid Corp. Special thanks to: Nettie Aljian, Sara Bader, Dorothy Ball, Nicola Bednarek, Janet Behning, Becca Casbon, Penny (Yuen Pik) Chu, Russell Fernandez, Pete Fitzpatrick, Wendy Fuller, Jan Haux, John King, Nancy Eklund Later, Laurie Manfra, Katharine Myers, Lauren Nelson Packard, Jennifer Thompson, Arnoud Verhaeghe, Paul Wagner, Joseph Weston, and Deb Wood of Princeton Architectural Press —Kevin C. Lippert, publisher Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data The best of LCD : the art and writing of WFMU / Dave the Spazz, editor ; preface by Jim Jarmusch ; introduction by Ken Freedman. — 1st ed. p. cm. ISBN-13: 978-1-56898-715-6 (pbk. : alk. paper) 1. Disc jockeys—Anecdotes. 2. Musical criticism. 3. Popular music—United States— History and criticism. 4. Radio broadcasting— United States—History. 5. WFMU (Radio station : Montclair, N.J.) I. Spazz, Dave the. II. LCD (Montclair, N.J.) ML406.B47 2008 781.640973—dc22 2007008666

ÂŽ All Rights Reserved.

Many thanks to anyone and everyone who has ever been involved with WFMU and LCD. Special thanks to Alison Harvey for her patience and fortitude in entering text and copyediting this material. Thanks also to Amanda Thackary, Victoria Luther, Masayo Sato, Keith Beardon, Rex Doane, Miriam Linna, Dave Cunningham, Justina Davies, Irwin Chusid, and Hank Arakelian for their invaluable assistance.



Š Mark Newgarden


Drew Friedman

Alexander Ross

Jonathan Rosen


Daniel Kirk




Alexander Ross

Bruno Richard

Chris T.

Lennie Mace

Jonathan Rosen




Mary Fleener

Robert Armstrong

Peter Bagge




Gary Panter

The Best of LCD: The Art and Writing of WFMU  

The Best of LCD: The Art and Writing of WFMU collects for the first time the magazine's best writing and artwork including work by some of t...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you