Page 1

2019 A YEAR IN REVIEW WITH

NELLO Construction


Left to Right: Jake McNary, President; Gino Torriero, CEO

ABOUT NELLO Nello Construction is proud of its reputation of delivering the highest quality possible. Since Giulio Torriero formed our company in 1952, we have remained committed to his guiding principles. Originally a masonry contractor, Nello Construction became a general contractor in 1970, focusing primarily on retail construction. Today, Nello has become a highly respected contractor in many sectors, including commercial, residential, public and private educational institutions, places of worship, and municipality construction.

Today, Nello Construction is structured to meet the ever-changing requirements of our clients in a variety of markets. Our innovative team approach offers you access to a diverse group of highly skilled professionals who are dedicated to providing hands-on service and personal attention to detail.


content

A year in review 2019

READ ALL ABOUT US

12

Beyond Nello: Get to Know the Team

04

2019 was a Year of Growth for the Construction Industry. See What Some of Our Customers Have Said About Nello Construction’s Services

06 09 10 12 14 16 18

With Much Anticipation, Nello Construction Launched Our New Website in the Summer of 2019

Nello was Awarded the PA Turnpike Southern Beltway Maintenance Facility. Read More On Pg. 9

BEYOND NELLO: Get to Know the Team

2019 Featured Projects

Peters Township High School: A Behind the Scenes Look at the Project Site

Ryerson Station State Park Pool Complex Ground Breaking.

A Look at the New Thomas Jefferson High School


HOW NELLO CONSTRUCTION HAS HELPED PITTSBURGH BASED BUSINESSES

“...Their expertise and experience were invaluable.” “The partnership between architect, building team and Nello Construction exemplifies good stewardship. They effectively used our limited resources to accomplish great things… As our general contractor, Nello Construction was instrumental in delivering this project within the means available to us. Their expertise and experience were invaluable. We appreciated their ability to work well with our long existing building team. They provided encouragement, counsel and options for us to consider throughout the process. Mostly, we appreciated their integrity. While the process and timing of construction is dependent on many factors, we knew Gino would be up-front and honest in his words and actions. Trust is critical in such a partnership.”

“...Not only were they efficient and skilled, they were extremely nice and a pleasure to get to know.” “Nello's service approach was professional and organized. As a result, I was able to concentrate on getting my bistro open while having all questions or concerns answered in a timely fashion. I cannot give a high enough recommendation for their project manager, Mali, and foreman, Buzz. Not only were they efficient and skilled, they were extremely nice and a pleasure to get to know.”

“...professional, friendly manner and worked so well with our team members...” “[Nello] kept us informed of the project status on a daily basis and did their best to minimize the disruption to our business operation. At all times [Nello] acted in a professional, friendly manner and worked so well with our team members, some actually became friends. The quality of [Nello’s] work and overall professionalism was apparent during the entire project length.”


“...honorable, professional, skilled people.” “[Nello] helped in the design of the projects and gave us reliable bids. They [Nello] were open about the expense of the construction and made any suggestions to save us money. They kept us informed and utilized quality subcontractors. The inevitable issues that arise in construction were handled in a professional and timely manner. The projects came in on time and within budget.”

“…they went the extra mile to learn who we are, what we wanted, and what we were desiring in our project.” “I thought it was a great experience working with Nello. I felt they were honest, they understood what we were looking for. They really went above and beyond, they went the extra mile to learn who we are, what we wanted, and what we were desiring in our project. They just did all of the little steps to help us know more of what we were getting into and what it would take to get us there. I was involved from the beginning to the end. I was involved in the design process, as well as the day-to-day operations when they started construction. It was pretty exciting to see the thing unfold. To see we took this old building that was pretty beat up and in bad shape and to see it be transformed into what it is today was truly an awesome experience. How they spent time with us and got to know us on a personal level really meant a lot to us because they got to know us not just our building and what we wanted and that really came out in what they constructed for us, as well. I would say that the companies that we dealt with leading into this, there wasn’t one that seemed to be as personal as Nello was.”

2019 WAS A YEAR OF CHANGE & GROWTH FOR THE PITTSBURGH AREA

“...We came in under budget with a minimum number of change orders...” “Nello personnel communicated daily with our staff both on and off site. I have been involved with over $200 million in construction projects spread over 10 different projects. This contractor has a no frills construction concept. This project went smoothly with almost no problems… [Our on-site construction manager] was most impressed with the quality and working relationship [Nello] had with their subs… We came in under budget with a minimum number of change orders and, most importantly, we finished six weeks earlier than expected.”

With new developments happening all over the region, it has been a big year for most A/E/C firms. Through the growth, we aim to put our best foot forward with all existing and new clients as they continue to grow. We are proud to share some of their experiences.


NELLO CONSTRUCTION WEBSITE LAUNCH GIVES A NEW FACE TO A 67-YEAR OLD COMPANY CARNEGIE, PA, May 28, 2019 Nello Construction, a local Pittsburgh General Contractor, is pleased to announce the launch of their new website.The redesign project began in 2018 with A to Z Communications, located in Downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Nello decided to re-brand their website to ensure that clients had the best experience when researching the company for project experience, information about the company itself, and the history of the 67-years behind the Nello name. "We are very excited to have a new 'face' to the Nello brand and to highlight some of the work that we have finished over the past few years that was not otherwise shown on the old website interface," says Jordyn Naugle, Marketing Coordinator at Nello Construction. Some features that are included on the new site are: added security, a News page that will link to Nello's social media for continuous updates and information, a Portfolio of our recent work, the Nello Team, History of the company, and recent Awards.

F R O M C O N C E P T, T O D E V E L O P M E N T, TO LAUNCH


ABOUT NELLO For over 65 years, Nello Construction has been providing its customers with highquality and cost-effective construction services. Since founded by Giulio Torriero in 1952 as a masonry contracting firm, Nello Construction has greatly expanded its business to include general construction, construction management, and design-build services. Now under the leadership of Giulio’s son, Gino Torriero, Nello Construction serves customers from large public and private clients with projects in excess of $75 million dollars, to small businesses and private owners who need more conservative projects performed with the skill of a large contractor.

Nello Construction has won multiple awards and received countless customer compliments for its integrity and quality of work. Nello Construction is committed to providing the same excellent service and work for its customers now and in the future. We hope to be able to talk with you about your next construction project.

2019


Building Your Future COMMERCIAL/OFFICE PLACES OF WORSHIP HIGHER EDUCATION HIGH-END RESIDENTIAL COMMUNITY/PUBLIC K-12


CONSTRUCTION OF NEW SOUTHERN BELTWAY MAINTENANCE FACILITY PROJECT BEGINS Nello Construction was officially awarded the contracts for the PA Turnpike $20.3 Million Southern Beltway Maintenance Buildings on May 20th, 2019. The new buildings are expected to be fully completed by November 2020. As advertised by paconstructors.org, "This project provides for the construction of a new Southern Beltway Maintenance Facility. The maintenance facility includes construction of buildings and all associated site and supportive work as follows: (1) Building No. 1 to house Section Maintenance, 20,057 GSF (2) Building No. 2 to house truck and equipment storage, 25,125 GSF (3) Building No. 4 to house domestic and fire water pump and storage, incoming electrical and generator, including all associated equipment, 2,577 GSF (4) Building No. 5, a weather canopy for the fueling station, 1,548 GSF (5) Building No. 6, a three-sided storage shed, 1,872 GSF The project stretches through Washington and Allegheny counties at Milepost S -15.30 EB. Nello Construction plans to maintain regular updates on the progress of the project through their social media platforms. If you would like to follow these updates, visit the company's page at "Nello Construction Company" on LinkedIn.


“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.” - Aristotle

B E YO N D N E L L O : G E T T O K N O W T H E T E A M When a potential client asks us “What sets you apart from other contractors?”, the answer we give them without question is our team. We pride ourselves on having an office comprised of talented, hard-working, and knowledgeable employees. To be the best in the business, you must hire the best in the business and that is what we believe we have done. Read on to learn about just a few of our exceptional team members.

D E A N FA L AV O L I T O

JIM HENDERSON

Executive Vice President—General Counsel

Project Manager

As the Executive Vice President - General Counsel of Nello Construction, Dean manages the day-to-day legal affairs of Nello, and oversees administrative, risk management, business development, and human resource matters. Dean has been named Pennsylvania Super Lawyer for five years in a row, and he has advised contractors and corporations on legal matters for over a decade. He enjoys analyzing and solving problems to help Nello better service its customers. Dean is a licensed General Contractor in West Virginia and a licensed attorney in Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Ohio.

As a Project Manager at Nello Construction, some of Jim’s responsibilities include: site design analysis, permitting, scheduling, developing technical scopes of work, construction management, oversight and direction of project staff, technical staff, consultants, production employees, contract construction forces, administration of public and private bid coordination, cost estimating systems, material estimating systems, purchasing and procurement, labor relations, client relations, change order management, inspection, invoicing and payment allocation, and coordination and collaboration in project development, design, and engineering. Jim has been with Nello for 9 years as of 2019 and has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown’s School of Engineering. Currently, Jim is working with the Peters Township High School team, our largest project to kick off this year.

DONALD BROWN Estimator

2019

As the newest addition to our team, Donald Brown has proven to be successful at providing organized and detailed construction estimates for higher education, retail, office fit-outs, new construction, financial institutions, and industrial facilities in an organized and timely manner. A few of his strengths include being flexible and seeing a project from estimation to completion while being on schedule and under budget. He has significant experience maintaining project flow sheets, keeping track of project costs, and change management on projects ranging from $10K to $10M.


TERRY DUNBAR Director of Business Development As our Director of Business Development, Terry is one of the faces of the Nello brand. He can be found at networking events, meeting with potential clients at one of the local lunch spots, and working directly with clients to help their vision become a reality. He is inspired daily knowing that he has the ability, through Nello, to make someone’s dream, vision, and idea a reality.

C AT H E R I N E S T E L L A Operations Administrator As Operations Administrator, Catherine works closely with all Project Managers to ensure all project submittals are handled properly and are submitted on time. She frequently corresponds with all subcontractors on the basis of submittals, RFIs, and assists with estimating on new projects. Prior to her experience in the construction industry, Catherine graduated from the U.S. Army as a 74 Delta (Chemical Specialist), which taught her the values that she implements in her work today.

“YOU don’t build a business. You

build PEOPLE and then people build the

BUSINESS.”

JASON BET TERS Project Manager As Project Manager at Nello, Jason works on large contracts. Construction is a family business for Jason and he started in the residential construction arena after college. In 2008, Nello gave him the opportunity to expand into the commercial construction field. One of the best pieces of advice that he has ever been given is that the secret to success is waking up early.


Ryerson Station State Park DCNR Pool Complex Contract $8,600,000 Estimated Project Completion: May 2020

PA Tu r n p i k e S o u t h e r n B e l t w a y Maintenance Facility Contract $12,600,000 Estimated Project Completion: November 2020

McKnight Elementary Contract $10,000,000 Estimated Project Completion: Summer 2020


NELLO CONSTRUCTION 2019 FEATURED PROJECTS

P e t e r s To w n s h i p H i g h S c h o o l Contract $48,000,000 Estimated Project Completion: November 2020

Thomas Jefferson High School Contract $44,000,000 Project Completed: Summer 2019

# 1 C o c h r a n S u b a r u — B u t l e r, PA Contract $8,117,000 Grand Opening February 2019


PETERS TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL BEHIND THE SCENES OF THE PROJECT


As Nello Construction works toward completion of the new $83M High School, progress photos shot from the sky are shared to show the external progress of the space over time. Nello Construction broke ground on the site of the former Rolling Hills Country Club on July 19th, 2019 with a General Contracting contract of $48M. The project includes a multitude of features including a 740 parking spaces and three (3) wings: Fine Arts, Academic, and Athletics. These wings include a state-of-the-art gymnasium, 1,200-seat auditorium, 47 general instruction classrooms, 13 science laboratories, and much more. For additional project updates through completion, follow us on social media. Architect: Hayes Design Group Architects Square Feet: 298,000 new construction Photographer: Aerial Photography Pittsburgh


NELLO CONSTRUCTION BREAKS GROUND AT RYERSON STATION STATE PARK'S NEW SWIMMING POOL C OMPLEX August 29, 2019 Greene County, Pennsylvania - Yesterday, Nello Construction attended the groundbreaking ceremony at the site for the new swimming pool complex in Ryerson Station State Park. Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Deputy Secretary John Norbeck and other state officials were in attendance and spoke of the renovations they are currently undergoing in the park, the impact that these renovations will make within the community, and the vision for the future of Ryerson Station State Park. Nello Construction will begin work on this new 48,000 sq. ft. swimming pool complex in the coming weeks. Some of the features that will be included in this phase of the project are a deck and sunbathing area, water slide, 12,400 sq. ft. play area which will be split into three sections based on the age of the children and includes 20 water features, a parking lot with solar canopies that will generate enough electricity to run the entire complex, low flow toilets, on demand hot water, state of the art water filtration, and much more. The facility is projected to open in Summer of 2020. The swimming pool complex renovations are valued at $9.6M, which will be funded by the settlement between DCNR and CONSOL Energy, Inc. from April of 2013. The next phase of the restoration of this area of the park includes the revitalization of the stream bed where Duke Lake once was and a multi -use trail around the park.

Media Contact: Jordyn Naugle, Jordyn@nelloconstruction.com, (724) 746 -1900 x 103


A LOOK AT THE NEW THOMAS JEFFERSON HIGH SCHOOL CARNEGIE, PA, September 24, 2019 Nello Construction, a local Pittsburgh General Contractor, is finalizing the details on the $95M, 300,000 sq. ft. high school this summer and fall. This timeline gave students the chance to start their 2019-2020 school year in the new and improved high school. There are a lot of unique features to the school including a bee apiary, with roughly 60,000 honey bees in four hives, a design after Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello with a mix of new and old concepts, world language classes that are designed to resemble French bistros for open conversation and much more. The design focuses on incorporating natural light. TJ Arts also commissioned a mural that is presented above the atrium. Additional features include an eight-lane Myrtha competitive swimming pool, featuring an accessible zero-depth entry point. The theater space utilizes software and fixtures similar to that of Broadway stages. The gymnasium can host up to 1,400. The cafeteria is designed to look and function like a college student center. Outdoor classrooms, flexible seating and furniture, a separate entrance for the child development daycare program to ensure maximum security, are all features within the wall of this new facility. For finalized photos, keep an eye on our social media platforms. Architect: WTW Architects Value: $95M Nello Construction Contract: $44.21M


230 E. Main Street Carnegie, PA 15106 nelloconstruction.com 724.746.1900

BUILD THE FUTURE WITH US AT NELLOCONSTRUCTION.COM OR CALL TODAY TO SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION 724.746.1900

Profile for Nello Construction

Nello Construction 2019 Year in Review  

Nello Construction 2019 Year in Review  

Advertisement