Page 1

Your Time Your premier 55+ magazine

FREE

Active life

TIPS AND HINTS FOR SAVING YOUR SANITY

When did that happen? THE ART OF AGEING WITHOUT GETTING OLD EDITION 62 MAY, 2020 SUNSHINE COAST >> 100% LOCALLY OWNED

01.indd 1

+

WELLNESS BOOKS PUZZLES

22/04/2020 3:39:40 PM


: Locat ion + lifestyle

LOTS TO LOVE ABOUT OAK TREE PELICAN WATERS

Call 1300 367 155 02.indd 2

oaktreegroup.com.au 23/04/2020 8:09:25 AM


Love where you live As part of the master planned Pelican Waters community, this area is one of the Sunshine Coast’s most desirable locations. A dynamic mix of dining, retail and leisure opportunities, Pelican Waters is coastal living at its best. Oak Tree’s marina location provides convenient walking access to nearby Pelican Waters Shopping Village offering a variety of everyday retail, supermarkets and essential services including a GP and pharmacy. Locals’ favourite Pelican Waters Tavern is within easy reach, while boating enthusiasts will have handy access to both wet and dry docks. With a large network of walkable foreshores, plus an expansive three-hectare Village Park adjacent the Town Centre, there’s no shortage of opportunities for you to enjoy the sea breezes and water views.

03.indd 3

Located just five minutes from the urban hub of Caloundra, half an hour to the Sunshine Coast airport or an hour from Brisbane Airports, the world is at your doorstep. Idyllic lifestyle With over 15 years’ experience creating quality retirement villages around Australia, Oak Tree understands the needs of seniors. Oak Tree at The Marina Pelican Waters offers a retirement village atmosphere in a boutique apartment complex, purposely designed to meet your needs now and into the future.

and gym to the swimming pool, Community Centre, lounge and library. Or plan to travel knowing the on-site Village Manager will take care of everything at home while you’re away. Live the lifestyle you deserve at a location you’ll love with Oak Tree The Marina Pelican Waters. To learn more about securing your future with Oak Tree, make your safe and private appointment at our brand new Information Centre at 18 Anning Avenue, Golden Beach by calling 1300 367 155 or go to oaktreegroup.com.au

Make the most of your zeromaintenance lifestyle and spend more time doing what you love as we take care of all upkeep and repairs under our simple, affordable weekly fee. A range of exclusive recreation facilities on site means there’s no shortage of space to socialise and explore new pursuits, from the roof-top terrace

23/04/2020 8:10:25 AM


04.indd 2

23/04/2020 8:13:40 AM


Editor’s note

W

ell, we made it! With so much of our lives disrupted and all the usual activities turned upside down, it was touch and go for a while. But despite being dramatically reduced in size, we have survived to tell the story, or in our case, stories. And Pauline Clayton offers a good read this month with the tale of her realisation that she is now considered “elderly”, although she’s not quite sure how that happened. A friend of mine in her early 80s, who thought she was anonymous in her busy London suburb, relayed a similar story. She had often waved to her neighbours but could not say she knew them, so was surprised when, after the lockdown, there was a knock at the door.

Contents “Next door” was offering to help with groceries, or anything else they might need, and giving reassurance that help was at hand. My friend, who is so fit she still teaches dance classes, was stunned. “I had no idea that we were considered the oldies next door,” she said. “It had never occurred to us that we might be seen as aged and infirm and while the offer was very kind, I wasn’t quite sure how to take it.” Or as another friend put it, “we were worried about the elderly until we realised that we are the elderly.” Pauline investigates the question of “when did we get this way?” Whatever that answer may be, it seems the Baby Boomers, like everything else they have done all their lives, are doing it en masse and the world knows about it. It’s not so much about ageing gracefully or otherwise, but just ageing generally. It’s simply not on our agenda yet, despite the creeping aches and pains. While it proved impossible to live up to my declaration that this issue would be a Covid-free zone, hopefully you will find the tips and ideas of our columnists helpful at this time. Dorothy Whittington, Editor

6

COVER STORY

8

ACTIVE LIFE

9

BITS AND PIECES

10

CARE AFFAIRS

11

AGES AND STAGES

12

HISTORY

13

TRAVEL

14

ON TRACK

14

TECHNOLOGY

15

WELLNESS

16

BOOK REVIEW

17

FINANCE

18

INDUSTRY EXPERTS

20

RETIREMENT LIVING

20

READER’S STORY

21

TRIVIA QUIZ

22

PUZZLES

11

9

15

12

PUBLISHER Michelle Austin 5493 1368. EDITOR Dorothy Whittington, editor@yourtimemagazine.com.au ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES 0438 717 210 or 0413 855 855. sales@yourtimemagazine.com.au. FOR DIGITAL EDITIONS AND MORE yourtimemagazine.com.au. DISTRIBUTION ENQUIRIES distribution@yourtimemagazine.com.au. Your Time Magazine is locally owned and published by The Publishing Media Company Pty Ltd ATF The Media Trust (“the Publisher”). No part of this publication may be reproduced or copied in any form by any means without the prior written consent of the Publisher. The Publisher does not assume responsibility for, endorse or adopt the content of any advertisements published in Your Time Magazine, either as written copy or inserts, given such content is provided by third parties and contains statements beyond the Publisher’s personal knowledge. The information contained in Your Time Magazine is intended as a guide only and does not represent the view or opinion of the Publisher or its editorial staff. Professional advice should be sought before applying any of the information to particular circumstances. Whilst every reasonable care is taken in the preparation of Your Time Magazine, the Publisher and its editorial staff do not accept liability for any errors or omissions it may contain.

WILLS | ESTATES | PROPERTY | RETIREMENT VILLAGES

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Located by the beautiful Lake Kawana on the Sunshine Coast 12/9 Capital Place, Birtinya

07 5438 8400 info@griffithslawyers.com.au

griffithslawyers.com.au

Ian Griffiths Director

Melissa McDonald Lawyer

Nicole Roberts Lawyer

Erin Wilkinson Senior Conveyancer

For more than 40 years, Ian Griffiths and the team at Griffiths Lawyers have provided expertise, results and old fashioned personal service to thousands of individuals, families and businesses across the Sunshine Coast and beyond.

We will visit you at your home if you prefer.

Griffiths Lawyers Pty Ltd ACN 611045053. Individual liability limited by a scheme approved under professional standards legislation. Sunshine Coast

05.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 5

23/04/2020 8:16:39 AM


COVER STORY

The art of ageing without becoming old It can happen without you even knowing, and sometimes you find out quite by chance that you have joined the ranks of “the oldies”. PAULINE CLAYTON muses on the good, the bad and the ugly delivered by the passing years.

marble-decorated underground train system. And again, a few days later in Moscow, it happened yet again on that city’s immaculate, chandeliered, underground rail system. I stopped over in Shanghai on the way home, and yes, it happened again. Even more galling was that a seriously elderly, tiny, stooped Chinese lady carrying a large, plastic bag of shopping, refused my offer of a seat. Thankfully, she at least got off at the next station. The English, Russian and Chinese men and women who stood for me were, to my mind, not overly young, sheeting home the fact that the world over, I’m now considered elderly.

In a world where we can be anything

Be kind

ownload your printable copy from the Sunshine Coast Council website.

sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au/covidkindness ur! ther ighbo . Hi Naere tough rightlonookwout fo. r each o s ther, y shine Time it toge mun band Let’s t our com and le g? latin lf-iso ... se u h o Are y n help wit I ca C

06.indd 2

about. Woke is the past tense of wake, nothing to lose sleep over there. When “gender dysphoria” replaced “gender identity disorder” did we panic? Of course not. By now we are comfortable in our skin and whatever gender fits. Public toilet re-signing can be a cause to pause, as we wonder just who qualifies to use a genderless, multi-communal facility? In February, American actor Joaquin Phoenix, accepting his well-earned Oscar award before a lavish Hollywood clutch of

Don’t forget to visit Sunshine Coast Council’s At Home in My Neighbourhood #CovidKindness webpage for top tips on staying connected, informed, healthy, playful, creative and neighbourly.

ing ollect

6 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

W

hile bits fall off and others ache, growing old can be liberating, as there’s so much less to worry

#CovidKindness

It’s essential we support one another and be kind to those who need it, neighbour to neighbour, street to street, community to community. Need help to get started? Download your printable copy of our Hi Neighbour cards online.

There is an advantage here, as the sheer numbers, knowledge and experience, makes the “oldies” the largest voting/marketing block in the world. Which leads us to AGNES (Age Gain Now Empathy System), created by an AgeLab team at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to improve products for old people other than pill dispensers and walking frames. The director Joseph Coughlin (author of The Longevity Economy) had to remind his young designers that there’s more to ageing than taking meds, checking blood pressure and waiting to die. Mercedes Benz was an early client, charging AgeLab to make interiors easier for older adults to get in and out of their cars. Loughlin believes Prada should be making hearing aids, like glasses, to be a fashion statement.

ries

groce

ur

ing yo

Mow

lawn

200087C 03/20

W

ho would believe that boarding a No.159 London bus on Brixton Rd, would be a soul shattering moment? A woman stood up to give me her seat. What? Why? Naturally, I nodded graciously but as I sat, I was confused, nonplussed. Training twice a week, I’m fit and standing on a bus is not a problem. Was it because I’ve stopped colouring my hair and gone grey? I’m not stooped, not overweight (well the waist has thickened), so am I really that wrinkled? Nah – it’s just the English polite gene. But I travelled on to St Petersburg and it happened again on their remarkable,

When did I get that way? Until the nice lady stood up for me on the Brixton bus, I hadn’t considered I was “looking through the wrong end of the telescope” to quote Sir Billy Connolly. No. I was active, working fulltime and wondering if there was still a chance for another romance. But on reflection, warning signs were there, the little triggers, such as the government letter telling me to get a medical certificate to retain my driver’s licence. Plucking my chin instead of my eyebrows. Being offered the seniors’ menu; realising the designated seniors parking is for you; being called ma’am and not being questioned when asking for a senior’s discount. Slacks longer? Or have I shrunk? We do not slide graciously into old age, we lurch The moment for esteemed Australian author Helen Garner was her doctor advising rest because “you are 71”. After sulking for a week “surveying her lengthening past and shortening future”, Garner faced up to the fact that women, beyond a certain age, are often considered: “weak, deaf, helpless, ignorant and stupid”. She chose to drop what she calls the shield of feminine passivity and answered back and then wrote an essay The Insults of Age. In the bowels of a relevant government department where bureaucrats tick boxes, we are relegated to the “older person” demographic the day we turn 65, regardless of how we look or how we feel.

plies t sup Urgen ay Bin d chat ndly A frie

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 8:20:51 AM


COVER STORY

A SMILE IS HAPPINESS confusion, said we should stop putting milk in our coffee, tea and cereal because it was cruel to cows. The best and brightest of Hollywood applauded with gusto, but did it worry us? Not likely. We do occasionally wonder if anyone believes that actress Jane Fonda’s babysmooth face is the result of the age-perfect face cream she promotes or more a case of photographic air brushing. Then there’s the British NHS advertising that it is “ensuring pregnant transmen get equal quality care”. Not our worry. We have seen the clunky immovable Bakelite phone handset of our youth replaced by a sliver of a screen on which we can chat in real time to those we love in faraway places, and more than one at time! What more wonders lie ahead? We keep an eye on the kids on Facebook, but we’re not going to let our friends including unknown “friends” know about our stubborn in-grown toenail. More important is the diminishing number of dawns and sunsets to enjoy. We’ve put the best dinner set in the kitchen and now drink out of the heirloom crystal glasses. We recognise being bullied by a bureaucrat or salesperson, and a la Helen Garner, answer back with steely eyes and the comment that grey hair does not denote senility. We notice the emails, like letters from the postman, have dwindled to a charming few, but we still keep notepaper and thank-you cards and use them. We don’t stop on the golf course, or in the movies to answer the mobile phone. So smart are these phones they tell us who called and what they said, so we can answer when we are good and ready.

Twittering is for twits. We have life stories to tell, not short bursts of angst. We grew up in an age of factual news reporting before floods, fires and tempests were reported as apocalyptic emergencies. This generation will soon run out of adjectives. And has there ever been a time in our lives when there isn’t a war somewhere in the world? Many still running. We are no longer charged with finding the solution. The highlight of the day is morning coffee not only because we woke up, but because we have all day ahead.

I

n south-east Queensland, there are literally thousands of volunteering roles, including local government’s Adult Literacy Program in which you can assist adults to improve their language skills. Reading to small groups of primary school children is popular. Charitable organisations such as Lifeline, Bloomhill Cancer Care, Salvation Army and the hospitals, have a variety of volunteering roles for those aged 18 to 85 from all walks of life. There are the Men’s Sheds and emerging Women’s Sheds, and the long established community services, Apex, Rotary, Lions, all offering team spirited community service. Scottish-born comedian Sir Billy Connolly, now 77 and suffering from Parkinson’s, has just finished another book and is out giving interviews and making documentaries. “You get on and deal with it,” he said in a recent interview. “We only pass this way once.” Super cook Nigella Lawson, turning a mere 60, said ageing was mortifying but added “the best of old age is to relish solitude”, and she is glad she can fashionably clump around in trainers.

O

k, so you contacted the My Aged Care department and had a safety rail put in the shower (liquid soap slippery); and have given up the gym for lighter pilates classes in a farewell to youth. Fitness trainer Mark Priest, who plays for an over-60s veteran’s cricket team, says one hour a day will do it. If you cannot walk, swim; if you cannot swim, stretch. This is not the time for fear, because happiness in old age has been proven to produce resilience and to remain young while accepting ageing. French author Marie de Hennezel wrote in The Warmth of the Heart prevents your Body from Rusting, “There is nothing older than not wanting to grow old. But the worst is not inevitable. Something within us does not grow old.” And the last word from Welsh poet Dylan Thomas’s villanelle to his father: “Do not go gentle into that good night “Old age should burn and rave at the close of day. Rage, rage, against the dying of the light.”

WHEN YOU NEED IT Visit the My Aged Care website for information and access to the Australian Government–funded aged care services. Free call 1800 200 422 Monday to Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 10am-2pm. Visit myagedcare.gov.au The Aged Care Act 1997 is to “to promote high quality care and services” Queensland Community Support Scheme Access Point staff determine the support needed to remain living independently at home Free call 1800 600 300, email QCSSaccesspoint@ozcare.org.au or visit qld.gov.au/community

Comedian Henny Youngman: “I’ve got all the money I’ll ever need if I die by four o’clock this afternoon.” Comedy writer Clive Anderson: “I’m not bald. I’m just taller than my hair.” Dancer Fred Astaire: “Old age is like everything else. To make a success of it, you’ve got to start young.” French composer: Daniel Francois Esprit Auber: “Ageing seems to be the only available way to live a long life.” Comedian Milton Berle: “I still have a full deck. I just shuffle slower.” In a movie, actress Bette Davis said: “Old age is no place for sissies.” Author Clifton Fadiman: “After 50 a man discovers he does not need more than one suit.” Comedian Jackie Mason: “It’s no longer a question of staying healthy. It’s a question of finding a sickness you like.” Actress Annette Bening: “I’m really looking forward as I get older and older, to being less and less nice”. TV series character Rab C Nesbitt (as played by Gregor Fisher): ‘I am at that age. Too young for the bowling green, too old for Ecstasy.” Anon: “Today is the yesterday you worried about tomorrow.” Comic Pete Wright: “For 70 years a heterosexual I now realise it was just a phase.” Singer Frank Sinatra: “May you live to be 100 and may the last voice you hear be mine.”

Self Funded retirees protest the high cost of hearing aids Self Funded Retirees are up in arms at the high cost of high quality hearing aids! But that is now changing thanks to a local clinic. Local, Independent Hearing Aid Specialist at Hear4Good , Lisa Burley has decided to ensure that the clinic will offer high quality devices at reasonable prices.

“We have people coming to us who have been quoted $10,000, which is ridiculous! You do not need to pay these sorts of prices to get better hearing”, Ms Burley says, “Our advice is always get a second opinion and don’t fall for high pressure hard sales techniques, when its something as critical as your hearing, you need to be sure, Hear4Good are the people you can trust”.

The Hearing Centre, 5/56 Landsborough Parade, Golden Beach. Ph: Sunshine Coast

07.indd 3

Quality service & Digital hearing aids from only

$800

(07) 5477 0144 May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 7

23/04/2020 8:25:39 AM


ACTIVE LIFE

Turn your kitchen into a gym With extra home time, TRISTAN HALL offers some fun ways to exercise using everyday items.

F

OR starters, look in your pantry and grab two items of equal weight, such as two cans of tomatoes or two bags of rice. Choose objects that you can lift 10 times with some effort – 500 grams or 1kg is a good start. Also make sure the objects are easy to grip. Avoid glass jars. Next find a broom handle or a walking stick. Anything over 1.2m will work. Again, it has to be easy to grip. Of course, if you already have some small free weights at home, use them. (By the way, these are called free weights because your body is free to move as it needs to when completing an exercise. This is in contrast to rowing machines or other gym equipment that puts your body in a fixed position.) Free weights require more stabilisation from you. More muscles are engaged and this is good news. So, let’s start with the broomstick and pantry routine:

Side Stretches: Hold the broomstick over your head and bend to the side until you feel a strong stretch. Check that you are in line with your body and not leaning forward or back. Hold the stretch position for 15 seconds. Repeat 10 times slowly. Squats: Holding the broomstick at arm’s length, squat down, being sure to keep your knees over your feet and not in front of them. Hold the squat position for 10 seconds then come up and repeat for 10 times. This exercise will strengthen the muscles around your knees and improve the fluid circulation in that area. The stick helps you balance. Squats are a very functional exercise. They will help you with bending down in the garden and getting into those low kitchen cupboards. Lateral raises with rice: This exercise will strengthen and shape your shoulders. Stand with

your feet in a comfortable stance. Hold a rice bag or can in each hand. Lift each arm until it is parallel with the floor. Do this slowly and engage your core. Lower your arms in a controlled movement. Watch your back doesn’t tense up. Repeat 10 times. Bicep curls with rice: Stand comfortably. Hold your weight in each hand with your forearms parallel to the floor. Slowly bend your elbows so that your wrists come close to your shoulders. Slowly lower your weights again. This exercise strengthens your core muscles and your arms, making everyday activities more manageable. All of these exercises can be done with 10 repetitions and three sets. The exercises are of a general nature. Go slowly and stop if you experience pain. Tristan Hall is an exercise physiologist at Full Circle Wellness. Visit fullcirlcewellness. com.au

EXERCISE AT HOME If you have previously exercised at home, then the COVID-19 isolation restrictions are not an inconvenience to your exercise program, writes TOM LAW. But you will be missing the incidental exercise of daily life. YOU may be missing out on your bowls, the get-together for bridge or cards, an excursion or outing – all of these provide great opportunities to move the body and get some incidental exercise. Of course, visits to the shop for essentials are the only outing some of us may be getting. If you have a home exercise regime, well done and keep it up because it may be some time before you get to the gym again. If you are not getting any exercise at home, it may be a good time to start thinking about how you can do this. There are many things you can do at home – squats, lunges, and push-ups, even if they are adapted, are good ways to move your body. If you already do these, then try doing a few more each time or even the more difficult adaptions. Core (abdominal exercises) can be just as easily done at home as in the gym. Sit-ups and

crunches are great exercises. You should remember also that exercise cannot be banked – you must have a routine. Health recommendations include being active on most, preferably all, days of the week. Accumulate 150 to 300 minutes of moderate intensity exercise each week or 75 to 150 minutes of vigorous intensity exercise or a combination of both moderate and vigorous exercise. Muscle strengthening exercise should be done at least two days a week. Social interaction is also a great thing for our mental health and many of us are missing this a great deal. Get on the phone more and, if you can, Facetime family and friends. Mental health goes hand in hand with physical wellness so make sure you work on getting both. Tom Law is the author of Tom’s Law Fit Happens. Visit tomslaw.com.au

TRAIN FOR LIFE AND GO FOR GOLD We all want to live a healthy, productive life and feel well every day. THEO SHEMANSKY lists the five factors to achieve good health. THERE are so many opinions in the health and wellness space it can quickly become confusing as to what is the best path to choose. As a doctor, I have come to know that among the many variables in our lives there are five key factors that we should focus on to make a difference. These have come to be known as the “5 Factors of Health” and can be summarised as eat, sleep, train, think, connect. EAT: What we do with food does not need to be complicated, but it does need to be sensible

and it does need to be sustainable as a habit. Put simply, we should be eating real food – mostly vegetables, not too much. If we follow these simple rules, we will take care of the majority of the failings in most diets. SLEEP: The most underrated component of our lives. It is too often seen as a badge of honour that we can get by on little sleep. The reality is that we all need 8-10 hours every night. At the least we need to be getting 7+ hours. If we do not, we will suffer physically and mentally.

TRAIN: We need to train for life, and we need to be ready for whatever life throws at us. Our bodies need constantly varied functional movement, performed at relative intensity at least four times a week. This prescription prepares our bodies for a life of wellness and independence. THINK: Our mindset, or how we think, is an oft neglected facet of our health. But remember, our thoughts dictate our words, our words dictate actions, and our actions determine the outcome of our day. It all starts with mindset.

If we think negatively, we will start to seek negativity and focus on it. Vice versa, if we think positively, we will instinctively seek out those things that reinforce our positive mindset. CONNECT: We need other people in our lives. We are social beings and we benefit from being around others, especially when we have a deep and meaningful connection with them. It is this depth of connection that makes a meaningful difference to our health. So, spend quality time with those

that you care for and invest heavily in those relationships. The key to getting the most out of the 5 Factors of Health is to lean into them as much as we can, while trying to ignore those factors that are outside of our control. Let’s put all our efforts and energies into maximising the gains that can be derived from the 5 Factors Health, and “train for life”. Theo Shemansky is a movement specialist at FitMed Pulse. Visit fitmedpulse.com

Family owned & affordable aged care 9 beautiful homes in Queensland

1300 899 222 | mckenzieacg.com 8 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

08.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 8:50:43 AM


BITS & PIECES

STREWTH!

Call us today for on the spot cash sales. W WE ARE CURRENTLY LOOKING TO BUY: Jewellery - Rings, Brooches, Bangles, Cameos, Lockets, Diamonds, Old gold andd broken jjewellery ewel elle l ery ry Coins and Banknotes - Oriental Antiques - Ivory - Jade stcards War Medals and Souvenirs - Swords, Daggers, Bayonets, Flags, Trench art and postcards Coloured Glassware - Silverware - Bronzes - Australian Pottery - Native Artifacts One was sent to Cairo where it is today displayed in the open courtyard of the Cairo Museum, one was taken to Prussia by the Prussian expedition and is now in the Pelizaeus Museum in Hildesheim Germany, and two were taken the English and Italian consuls. The first is now kept by the British Museum in London and the second by the Egyptian Museum in Turin. In 1849, Lavrin was recalled from Egypt and transferred to Bucharest and then Vienna. He suffered from mental illness and was moved to Milan , where he was buried in 1869. His home, Villa Lavrin in Alexandria, was completely destroyed during the British shelling of the city in 1882. All records and documents were destroyed in the fire, thus no one has a single photograph of Sir Anton Lavrin.

China - Worcester, Moorcroft, Doulton, Shelley, all antique porcelain and pottery Watches and Clocks - Mantle, Wall, Grandfather, Carriage, Barometers, Gramophones PETER MARTIN of LYNZAY ANTIQUES FREECALL 1800 501 419 P Licenced (SHD 5368) 47 YEARS TRADING

QBSA: 1198481 PCO: 12811

A SMALL village in the mountains of Slovenia seems a most unlikely resting place for a sarcophagus from Ancient Egypt. But in Vipava, 75km south of the capital Ljubljana, there are two. Sir Anton Lavrin (1789-1869) who was the Austrian consul-general in Egypt, sent two red granite sarcophagi dating from the 4th and 5th dynasties (25th and 26th century BC) home to his tiny village in Slovenia in 1845. They had been found in the tombs of two courtiers at the foot of King Khafre’s pyramid in Giza. One belonged to the Pharoah’s courtier and confidante Rawer, and is now the tomb of Laurin’s father Jernej and mother Jozefa. The other was the tomb of the the Pharoah’s first born son, Prince Yunmin. At its new home in Slovenia, it was used for Lavrin’s son, Albert Alexander, who died as an infant. The sarcophagi are still part of the Lavrin-Hrovatin family tomb in the small and remote Vipava cemetery. There are only four other such sarcophagi in the world, all most likely from the court of Mikerinos.

WE PAY CASH

FOR ANTIQUES AND THE OLD AND INTERESTING FO G

Termite Inspections Termite Barriers Internal and External Pest Treatments (12 Month Warranty) Rodent Treatments Air Conditioner Bacteria Treatments Lawn Fertilizing and Weed Sprayings

25% Seniors Discount

STAMP OUT PESTS

AGJ

PEST MANAGEMENT

By Mocco Wollert

Ph: 0421 533 002 agjpest@gmail.com

5 for only $25

There’s a hair on my chin and white in my hair, my nails are split and I need urgent care.

Buy any 5 Award Winning Beefy’s lunch size pies for only $25 But there’s no-one to make me look good, I just have to be thankful they’re bringing me food.

That the ostrich, at up to 2.8m tall and weighing more than 150kg, is the world’s largest flightless bird? In fact, it is the world’s largest bird and while it can’t fly, it can run at speeds of up to 72km/h. The southern cassowary is the second largest at 75-80kg while the emu is much smaller at 36kg-40kg. The emperor penguin weighs an average of 29kg, while the little kiwi is less than 2kg and only 35-35cm high. The world’s smallest flightless bird is the Inaccessible Island rail, native to Inaccessible Island in the middle of the South Atlantic. It weighs less than 35g.

(that’s only $5 per pie)

ANY Flavour, ANY Combination, Hot or Cold.

My shoes are all grounded, no reason to dress, we’re stuck in our homes, we live under stress. That virus has done it and done it with zest, to make us look daggy and not at our best. So, put on lippy, wear pearls every day and hope that damned virus will soon go away.

Gluten Free Options

WE’RE OPEN DAILY

Valid to Sunday 24th May 2020. Hand in coupon in store to redeem offer. Not valid with any other offer. • Aussie World • Buderim • Cannon Hill • Glasshouse • Gympie • Kawana • Mango Hill • Maroochydore • Ningi

BEEFYS.COM.AU

Can’t make it in-store? A sure sign that you’ve joined the ranks of “getting older” – as if you need another one – is if it is referred to as “having a fall” when you take a tumble. While younger people “fall over”, “go for a necka” or “take a spill” older people “have a fall”. Why can’t we just simply fall like everyone else, rather than having to have one? Sunshine Coast

09.indd 3

2U

NEW LOCAL HOME DELIVERY Now available BEEFYS2U.COM.AU

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 9

23/04/2020 8:52:45 AM


CARE AFFAIRS

The healing power of music The Covid-19 pandemic is a major threat to the health of Australians, especially older folks. KENDALL MORTON reports that there are many good reasons to tune into music therapy at this time.

T

he current situation is definitely causing stress, uncertainty and cabin fever. Added to that, we know that stress lowers your immunity. Music can lower your heart rate, your blood pressure and your level of the stress hormone cortisol. Here’s how music helped patients with surgery, another stressful event. In a study with patients undergoing cataract surgery in the US, half of the group were given their preferred music to listen to through headphones before, during and after their surgery. Others had no music. Before the surgery, both groups had similar blood pressure and both had increased heart rates just prior to the surgery. During surgery, the group with music had lower blood pressure and this was maintained in the recovery room. Those without music had higher blood pressure throughout the time. Medical research shows more ways that music can assist you and your loved ones in these challenging months. PAIN RELIEF: In a study reported by the Harvard Medical School, 80 patients had urinary tract surgery with a spinal anaesthetic. All patients could top up this pain relief with a hand held device.

10 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

10.indd 2

Those who were listening to music during surgery used less top-up medication. The music was calming and was also a buffer to the noise in the busy operating room. Reach for the CD player to aid your pain relief at home. BETTER BRAIN HEALTH: According to the Mayo Clinic, people with dementia can benefit from singing songs or listening to music. It can improve their mood and reduce agitation. The part of the brain responsible for storing musical memories is often less affected by dementia.

Singing and moving in time with music will help an individual maintain language and mobility. Music with strong rhythms has been shown to increase blood flow to various parts of the brain. Different music will achieve different things. Use soothing music to help someone stay calm during an activity that is usually stressful for them. Use familiar upbeat songs to tap into music memories. IMPROVED BALANCE: Moving to music, whether it’s slow stretching, a waltz or seniors’ ballet, leads to better balance. A Swiss study with 134 seniors who were at risk of falling was undertaken in 2010. One group was given a one-hour lesson each week in moving to music and the other group maintained their usual activities. After six months, the dancers showed improved gait and balance. They also had 54 per cent fewer falls. Knowing where your body is in space is essential as you age. Regular exercise to music can reduce your risk of falls. It will build your muscles, help you stay mobile and increase your blood flow. Better balance boosts your confidence too. AN AEROBIC ALTERNATIVE: If you are not able to do aerobic exercise due to mobility limitations, here’s another option.

In a small study, scientists tested the blood flow of subjects across different conditions. They listened to a variety of music or relaxation tapes or watched amusing video. Uplifting joyful music resulted in a 26 per cent increase in blood flow. This was a similar to the levels achieved with aerobic exercise. It outstripped the comedy videos with 19 per cent and the relaxation tapes with 11 per cent blood flow increases. ENHANCED SLEEP: The Sleep Foundation says that listening to 45 minutes of music at bedtime can help you fall asleep faster, sleep longer and wake during the night less often. This works because well-chosen music lowers your heart rate and breathing. It can also relax your muscles. These changes are similar to what your body does when you fall asleep so music primes you for sleeping. The positive effects on your sleep will build over time, so listening to music at bedtime is a habit worth building and sticking to for the long-term. Kendall Morton is director of Home Care Assistance Sunshine Coast to Wide Bay. Call 5491 6888 or email kmorton@ homecareassistance.com

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 8:56:01 AM


AGES AND STAGES

by Mocco Wollert

I THINK I was born with a book in my hand. I cannot imagine a day without holding a book and immersing myself into its story. When I was a teenager and started to read in earnest, I was constantly in trouble at home because I would forget or ignore my chores. I always had my nose stuck in a book. I find it strange now that I my grandchildren do not seem to read at all; although that is not strictly correct because they do read, just in a different way. They have their noses stuck into their mobile phone or iPad. My father belonged to a book club and received regular parcels of books, leather-bound and beautiful. As soon as a new batch arrived, I was

on them like a vulture. There were always books I was forbidden to read, which of course made me all so much keener. Anna Karenina was one of them. Young teenage girls were not supposed to read “immoral” stuff like that. I did! In fact, I read Simone de Beauvoir, Sartre, Camus, Kafka, and Tolstoy, understanding only half of what the writers were saying. I always loved poetry. When I still lived in Germany, I read poems of the famous German poets such as Goethe and Schiller over and over. Many I learned by heart at school and I can still recite some. When I came to Australia, I discovered Shakespeare, Banjo Paterson, Bruce Daw, Kath Walker – such a diverse bunch and I loved them all. Is there anything better than to switch your reading light on, wriggle into your favourite chair, pick up your book, anticipating adventure, drama, love triangles? Ready to follow the story, curious to find the perpetrator? Nothing replaces a book in my world. I do not know for how much longer we will be able to buy “real” books as more and more stores are closing their doors. I think I was very fortunate to have lived most of my life in the decades when books were treasures, to be discovered, cherished and enjoyed. May you find new authors and enjoy the stories they tell.

by Cheryl Lockwood

I AM privileged to have not only a wonderful mother, but also a beautiful mother-in-law and with Mother’s Day coming up this month, I will share one of her adventures, rather than my own. My mother-in-law is a pint-sized, dynamo of a woman, now in her 90th year, who still embraces life head on and with lots of laughter. She is one of those people who greets the world and everyone in it with good cheer. Nearly 20 years ago, the in-laws were visiting to spend time with us and our two children. We took them on a leisurely houseboat trip, which they enjoyed immensely, especially the warm weather, as they had travelled from cooler parts. Our houseboat was moored away

from the riverbank, so access was via a small dinghy which required a wellbalanced step when disembarking – not an issue for us, we had done it so many times that we were a little complacent and held the rope rather than tying it off straight away. On this particular day, as my motherin-law stepped from dinghy to deck, a breeze suddenly widened the gap. With one foot in the little boat and the other on the deck, the gap between her feet also widened. In what seemed like slow motion, she went in with a splash. She went under completely and emerged a second later with a gasp. My mother-in-law is very capable, but she cannot swim. My husband dived in and from the deck, I took her hand, while he pushed from behind. We managed to haul her aboard, her sodden clothes creating a pool around her feet. With her hand clamped over her mouth, she could barely speak. “Mum, are you alright?” With relief, we realised her inability to communicate was due to laughter and the hand over her mouth was from fear of losing her false teeth! The only first aid required was a towel, dry clothes and a cup of tea. As she expressed thanks for saving her life, we didn’t have the heart to mention that it was low tide and if she had stretched her legs she might have touched bottom.

LIVE THE LIFESTYLE YOU’VE DREAMED OF WHEN YOU RETIRE A well-planned strategy for your retirement should see you retire comfortably, allowing you to focus on your lifestyle – not on your finances. Retirement structuring – Correctly structuring your pension drawings can significantly improve your retirement lifestyle. Pension longevity – Having the right investments backing your superannuation pension can make a difference, helping ensure your funds can last. Government benefits – Ensuring you receive your correct entitlement can lead to a more comfortable retirement.

Contact Ords Buderim and Discover the Value of our Advice | ordsbuderim.com.au | 5430 4444 | buderim@ords.com.au Full-Service Stockbroking

Retirement

Wealth Management

Tailored Investment Options

Ord Minnett Limited ABN 86 002 733 048 holds AFS Licence Number 237121. This ad contains general financial advice only and does not consider your personal circumstances. Ord Minnett is a Market Participant of the Australian Stock Exchange, a Member of the Stockbrokers Association. A007_BUD_1908_MyWeeklyPreview 144x262

Sunshine Coast

11.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 11

23/04/2020 8:57:09 AM


HISTORY

New hospital opened to isolate diphtheria patients A dreaded diphtheria outbreak occurred in the Nambour district in the second week of July, 1927. AUDIENNE BLYTH reports on another time when disease forced communities into isolation.

D

iphtheria is highly contagious and was once the No.1 killer of young children. It is transmitted by a germ that enters the body through the mouth or nose. Authorities knew that the disease could be distributed by carriers who were not susceptible to it and the Department of Health had full legal authority to enforce the isolation of a child or person who may have been a carrier. The community cooperated. In 1927, a new hospital, the Maroochy District Hospital, was being built in Nambour. The council decided to put all the carriers in isolation at the unfinished hospital and referred to it as the Isolation Hospital. The otherwise unoccupied administrative wing and maternity section were used as well. The council said there was a saving on not sending the carriers to Wattlebrae Isolation Hospital in Brisbane. Doctors visited schools and took throat swabs when a case of diphtheria occurred. When two cases of the disease were detected at Bli Bli State School, swabs were taken of the 70 pupils. From a thousand district children tested, between 90 and 100 carriers were

Isolation Hospital in Nambour during the diphtheria outbreak of 1927. From left, rear, teacher Miss Carroll, and nurse Eve McFarlane and front, nurse Maude Lowe, Matron Harden, and nurse Alma Bade at the Maroochy District Hospital.

detected. Some belonged to other shires, and 88 were in Maroochy. Alma Bade was just 19 and one of the three nurses assisting Matron Mitchell in the unfinished hospital. She recalled: “Electricity was not connected so Aladdin kerosene lamps and carbide gas were used for lighting. We used a kerosene lantern for our rounds. “I remember the cook preparing huge topside roasts and piles of roast vegetables in the big ovens of the combustion stove and the cases of fruit, vegetables and groceries brought in daily. “All the carriers were quite well and had good appetites. Good nourishment was part of the treatment. “There were no floor coverings just bare boards and I remember helping to scrub the kitchen. Our work started at 6.30am and finished any time from 8pm to 10pm. I went home once a week for about two hours as we were in strict isolation and before leaving had an antiseptic bath, a complete change of clothes and a gargle. No visitors were allowed inside the barbed wire fence, which was not put there intentionally, but the hospital was built in a cow paddock. Parents and

As an approved Aged Care and NDIS provider Candice Care offers in home, tailored supports to people in your local community. ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔

Home Care Personal Care Allied Health Transport Meal Preparation Respite Accommodation Social Support & more

Contact us now to find the right support for you or a loved one.

1800CANDICE (1800 226 342) | hello@candicecare.org.au 12 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

12.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 9:04:11 AM


HISTORY friends visiting could see and talk to the carriers who stood about 20ft inside the fence and a nurse would collect and deliver any parcels etc. “A northern verandah was enclosed with tarpaulins where long trestle tables and forms served as the dining-room. “Matron Mitchell was the first organiser but she had to return to Brisbane after a few weeks and Sister Kate Harden replaced her. The three recruit nurses were Maude Low (daughter of shire chairman, J.T. Lowe), Eve McFarlane and myself, Alma Bade. “We had two ladies as cook/ laundresses and they were fantastic women, Mrs Nelson and Mrs Baker. Harry Nelson was the yardman. He had a wagon and two horses for the removal of garbage. Each nurse took their turn in helping in the kitchen as well as treating the patients. The treatment consisted of nasal douches and throat gargles. The antiseptic used was Solyptol. “We would measure out the required amount from gallon tins and dilute with warm water carried from the kitchen and poured into douche cans hung above the sink in the washroom. “The carriers formed a line and all were treated to the nasal douche. After all this, everyone received a cup of Solyptol solution and had their gargle. The gargle was twice a day and the nasal douche once a day. Every second day Dr

Penny would arrive at 8am and proceed to swab the carriers. The swabs were placed in a small container phial, sealed, labelled and sent to Brisbane to be tested. “Each patient was required to have three negative swabs consecutively to be able to be discharged. Sadly, often there were two negative and then a positive and when that happened, we had some comforting to do. “Dr Penny was a kind, gracious gentleman. The children were very good and but for a little homesickness and a case of boils (which was my special care) we had little trouble caring for them. “Doctor and Matron decided after about three months treatment to operate on three of our most stubborn carriers, so a theatre was constructed and I think it was Dr Malaher who was called in to be anaesthetist. Well our three patients got over this and one was soon clear having got three negative swabs. The other two were with us to the last. In midDecember the hospital closed, the diphtheria epidemic was over, and the last two were sent to Brisbane.” Alma also recalled a visit to Kenilworth State School when she, along with the doctor and matron crammed into an old Overland. It was a long, tiring journey over unsealed roads. They took a picnic lunch to have along the way. Apart from the swabbing and the rough roads it was a great day out!

TRAVEL

HIT THE ROAD FOR TAMWORTH COUNTRY

Country music performer Bob Ovenden and Amy Ross on tour. WITH international travel off the menu for a while yet, it’s a good time to consider a bus trip to get away from it all, and for Greg Ross, it’s all systems go for Tamworth in January 2021. The Tamworth Country Music Festival, the second biggest in the world after Nashville, celebrates country music culture and heritage with numerous concerts and performances at various venues starring the cream of Australian country. Greg Ross and his wife Donna established their bus and charter tour business in 1994, building it from one bus and a school run in Maryborough to a fleet of 18 buses and coaches and a reputation for safety and consistency.

“If you like country music, know how to enjoy yourself and relish a beer, then come and join us,” Greg says. “Come and have a great fun trip with us.” The Tamworth trip is from Tuesday, January 19 to Sunday 24, 2021, at a cost of $850 for bus, bed and breakfast. While in Tamworth, Greg is talent spotting for his annual Great Western Play and Stay Musical Tour which this year is planned for September 15-25, when the bus will roll out with 12 country entertainers on board bound for a tour of western and northern Queensland. “These are top entertainers that I find in Tamworth and see if they want to come. It introduces them to the western people and gets them known out there,” Greg says. It began nine years ago after his daughter, Amy, released her CD and has grown since then. “Amy is the hostess during the trip and I’m the driver,” Greg says. The route includes Mundubbera, Cracow, Moura, Springsure, the gemfields, Barcaldine, Longreach, Winton and Charters Towers before heading back down the coast from Townsville. The Great Western Play and Stay Musical Tour 2020 includes bus, bed, breakfast, nightly meals and entertainment, for $2900. Visit ganddrossbuscharters.com.au

Explore the Sunshine Coast’s most vibrant over 55s retirement village in Meridan Plains. Brand new designs selling now: 2 bedroom + study + double garage 3 bedroom + study + single garage Attractive, modern and spacious designs for open plan living, perfect for entertaining and socialising with family and friends.

Call 134 478 or visit irt.org.au Sunshine Coast

13.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 13

23/04/2020 9:03:33 AM


ON TRACK

TECHNOLOGY

FINDING TREASURE AFTER RETIREMENT

SOCIAL ISOLATION WEARS THIN

Drawing on her experience as a psychologist over 25 years, JUDY RAFFERTY has written a guide to retirement covering topics such as maintaining identity, retaining visibility in an ageist society, and navigating change. This month she launches her new column. “REWIRE rather than retire” is the motto of the Rewire group that meets with the goal of enhancing their individual retirements. This small group met during the earlier days of COVID-19 when it was still possible for up to 10 people to gather. Little did we know that these were heady times, and it would be our last meeting before group sizes would be restricted to two. At the meeting, Mary asked the group a question: “You all know I am retiring in early April. Some of you have been retired for a few years and some of you have only just retired. How will the restrictions of COVID-19 impact on my retirement?” The responses were interesting. The group seemed to split into two. Group A thought that the current situation would make her initiation into retirement harder, and Group B thought it would be easier. Group A said they were sorry for Mary because the joy and

excitement of retiring would be lost. The sense of release and relief she may have experienced once freed from work would be reduced to feeling stuck at home. Plans involving travel, catching up with friends, group activities, and volunteering would all be ashes. Where could Mary do volunteer work now? Group B had a different perspective. They said the COVID-19 social distancing measures being imposed by the government effectively meant a mass quasi retirement was taking place anyway. Normal work structures and the social elements of work were quickly being removed. Many people have lost their jobs, and others are now working from home – suddenly without their usual routine and colleagues. Mary will simply be doing what everyone else is doing and feeling in sync with everyone. No prizes for guessing that the people in Group A had moved

into retirement easily or were gleefully looking forward to it, whereas those in Group B had struggled with the onset of retirement. “How do I know if I will struggle or not?” Mary queried. Many people ask this question, regardless of whether a pandemic is happening. Many factors contribute to the ease or struggle of retiring. Money helps to smooth the path. But it is only one consideration. Mary is lucky. She can choose when she will retire. She might postpone it, on Group A’s advice, or step into it, which is Group B’s advice. But she has prepared and continues to ask and learn from others. Unfortunately, she cannot change her financial situation, but while she waits and watches, her focus is on learning how to do retirement well. Judy Rafferty is author of Retirement Your Way, A Practical Guide to Knowing What You Want and How to Get It, at bookshops and online.

We’re lucky to live in a digitally connected world. NATHAN WELLINGTON suggests ways to connect with others wherever they are in the world during these isolating times. IF you haven’t already made the leap, it may be time to sign up for social network sites such as Facebook and Instagram so you can socialise online. These can help you stay connected at any time with friends and family. For a video chat, there are many free apps. FaceTime from Facebook, Skype, Zoom, WhatsApp and Houseparty by Google are just a few that provide social interaction. TV on demand doesn’t mean you need a Smart TV. You can also watch content on your computer, tablet or smartphone. There are many subscription based OnDemand channels such as Netflix, Stan, Apple TV, Disney Plus and Amazon Prime, but there are also lots of free online channels, such as Australia’s ABC iView, SBS on Demand, Seven Plus, Ten play and Nine Now. YouTube is also bustling with free documentaries.

Your local library has free online library resources. Borrow e-books to read on your tablet or there is an enormous range of free or near-free books you can download through Amazon. If you have difficulty reading, try podcasts and audio books. If you have a Microsoft computer running Windows 10, look into the Microsoft Store, where there is a plethora of online games, most of them free. The Apple App store has gems that are also free or near-free to play. If you would like help with or advice on how to setup and use these apps, channels or games, book in for remote support, utilise a pickup service, or book a home service that follows strict quarantine protocols, to help get you through. Call 1300 682 817, email nathan@hometechassist.com. au

Life. Style. Care.

Located in the heart of the Sunshine Coast is Coolum Waters - by Sundale. Breathe in the sea air from your light and spacious two or three-bedroom unit, or relax with family and friends amongst the established gardens. At Coolum Waters – by Sundale, there’s no need to move if your needs change, with additional care, meals and assistance available in your own home, if and when you need it.

For more information visit sundale.org.au or call 1800 786 325. 14 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

14.indd 2

DISPLAY HOME OPEN FOR INSPECTION BY PRIVATE APPOINTMENT BRAND NEW HOMES FROM $545,000. COOLUM WATERS - BY SUNDALE 4 Wembley Rd, Coolum Beach.

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 9:46:32 AM


WELLBEING

Keep your immune system running strong Now, more than ever, it is imperative to support and improve your immune health. TRUDY KITHER provides some simple yet effective tips. attacking specific pathogens, which antiviral drugs are designed to do, because pathogens mutate over time and become less susceptible to conventional pharmaceutical treatment. While antiviral herbs fight viral infections, boost the immune system and work as natural flu remedies, they also have a number of other health benefits, such as digestive, anti-inflammatory and

Y

our immune system needs to work to the best of its ability throughout these difficult and challenging times. Here are some tips to help it along. Eat a well-balanced diet. Focus on nutrient-rich foods such as fruit and vegetables as well as healthy proteins that provide amino acids. Healthy proteins are required to support a well-functioning immune system. If you are not allergic, intolerant or reactive to the foods listed below then add them to your grocery list to help boost your immune defences: Vitamin A – Sweet potato, carrots, tuna, butternut squash, spinach, egg yolk, tomato, cod liver oil. Vitamin C – Kiwi, red capsicum, strawberries, oranges, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, snowpeas. Vitamin D – Salmon, sardines, mushrooms, fortified milk or milk substitutes, tuna, eggs. Zinc – Meats, firm tofu, lentils, yogurt, brazil nuts, almonds, cashews, pecan, pine nuts, walnuts, eggs, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds. Get regular exercise . Along with a healthy diet, exercise can contribute to a strong immune system by improving circulation. This allows the cells of the immune system to flow freely and do their job efficiently. There are many ways to exercise at home including the many workout apps that are now available from the App and Play Stores, YouTube videos for cardio and resistance training, or even

simply going for a walk or run. Relax and de-stress. Take the time while self-isolating to ensure you are relaxing. Stress increases the production of cortisol and epinephrine which are known to deplete the immune system. Your Vitamin C reserves are held in your adrenal glands so any stress you experience impacts the adrenal glands. This, in turn, stimulates excess cortisol production which causes the adrenal glands to deplete the Vitamin C being held in your adrenals. Ensure you get plenty of sleep. A lack of sleep can adversely affect your immune system so try to implement the following practices: sticking to a sleep schedule; avoiding caffeine and other stimulants; avoid eating a large meal right before sleeping; allow time to relax and wind down before going to sleep; and avoid television and mobile phones in the bedroom – perhaps read a book instead. Oregano oil. A couple of drops of good quality, ingestible oregano oil in a cup of hot water and drinking throughout the day will not only act as immune support but will also assist as a preventative. Oregano oil is immune stimulating, a power antiviral, antibacterial, antifungal, antiparasitic and anti-inflammatory. Anti-viral herbs. The action of antiviral herbs is to inhibit the development of viruses. The best antiviral herbs boost the immune system, which in turn, allows the body to attack viral pathogens. This can be even better than

On-Call Denture Repair Service

cardiovascular support. The best anti-viral herbs to include in an immune tonic are high quality andrographis, elderberry, elderflower, echinacea, reishi, olive leaf, garlic, sage, licorice root and astragalus which can be obtained from a reputable naturopathic practitioner. Trudy Kither is a naturopath and owner of Nature’s Temple Naturopathic Clinic. Visit naturestemple.net

FREE THREE MONTH MEMBERSHIP

Active health for your 50’s and beyond Train in the comfort of your own home ● Exercise curated and fully guided by a Doctor ● No equipment needed ●

fitmedpulse@gmail.com

fitmedpulse.com.au

STEM CELL NUTRITION ^ĂĨĞ͕īĞĐƟǀĞĂŶĚīŽƌĚĂďůĞ STEM CELLS HELP REGENERATE ORGANS, EYES, CARTILAGE, BONES; BETTER SLEEP, BUILD THE IMMUNE SYSTEM, PREVENT NORMAL AGEING AND SYSTEMATICALLY FIGHT CHRONIC CONDITIONS.

Repair and regenerate your body with a natural product that releases your own stem cells. I am now 69 and have no more brain fog, sore joints, ĚŽŶ͛ƚǁĞĂƌŐůĂƐƐĞƐĂŶĚŵŝƌĂĐƵůŽƵƐůLJƉůĂLJƚĞŶŶŝƐϰƟŵĞƐĂǁĞĞŬ͘

Marita Mason – Phone 0432 986 655

Have you broken your denture but you can’t leave home? Pick up and drop off denture repair service now available

Call us now on 54431621 to arrange a pick-up

3/6 Norval Ct, Maroochydore www.jjdenturedesign.com.au Sunshine Coast

15.indd 3

We keep you smiling. May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 15

23/04/2020 9:10:37 AM


BOOK REVIEW

BILL MCCARTHY During the span of the Vietnam war, 500,000 American servicemen deserted. This book, loosely based on fact, covers a small footnote. Set in Japan, it details the actions of a Japanese antiwar organisation, and in particular how they helped a small number of deserters escape to countries such as Sweden. The Japanese organisers are idealistic and genuine people while most of the deserters have a variety of less than admirable motives, which is probably understandable given their circumstances. The book is well written and researched with appropriately developed characters and may appeal to anyone interested in this fairly obscure period of American history.

MARY BARBER I enjoyed this book as I learnt about the US deserters from the Vietnam War and their Japanese protectors. The author got into the characters well, examining their motivation and background. There are three sub-stories about deserters and these all come together towards the end. Some of the deserters were engaging and likeable. Harpo stands out. Others were spoilt brats with no cultural sensitivity. I think the author was trying to show a “representative sample”. This book would appeal to anyone who lived through the Vietnam War, especially those who served there. It gives an insight into the anti-war sentiments of many Japanese people. The book moves along well with many tense moments.

TONY HARRINGTON

SUZI HIRST Sweden? Would I have picked this book up, read the blurb and bought it? Probably not! Truth be known, I actually enjoyed the book. The beginning introduced many different characters and was a little hard to follow. In saying that, the author has written about soldiers deserting in Vietnam. These men had been injured, mentally and physically, then faced being sent back to the same hell! Not being able to contemplate the front lines again, they chose to run. The underground movement of the “Beheiren” – a Japanese anti Vietnam War group – which helped deserters escape to Sweden gave me an insight to life during desperate times. Although this was a fact/ fiction book I learnt a lot about a subject I should know more about. 8/10

BOOK review As war rages in Vietnam in 1968, a group of American military deserters holed up in Japan plot their escape with help from local peace activists. Their destination is Sweden. Based on true events, the book takes readers on an exhilarating journey from the killing fields of Vietnam to a fogbound fishing port on the northern Japanese island of Hokkaido. Along the way there are stops at a hippie commune in Japan’s subtropical south and a studentoccupied university in Tokyo. SWEDEN Turner, a New Zealander now By Matthew Turner in his 50s, presents a littleknown part of American history.

JOHN KLEINSCHMIDT I found the story lines to be slow and difficult to get into. However, as three diverse groups of American military deserters emerge, the story becomes more interesting. The author sets the scene for their desertion and builds the characters, inter-leaving chapters about each group. The deserters are realistic and stand out from Japanese people, making the task of Beheiren (a genuine anti-war organisation) very difficult. The deserters are moved around the country and hidden in many ways, including in a hippie commune and by a university student activist organisation. Some make it to a safe country others do not. It’s a useful insight into an aspect of the Vietnam War that few people would know about.

JO BOURKE A stranger spotted Sweden under my arm as I left a waiting room, announced she was Swedish and looked at me expectantly. I tried to explain that it wasn’t about Sweden at all despite the title. Instead, it was based on the existence of a Japanese anti-war Society (JATEC), which aided American Vietnam War deserters in their dangerous journey to reach Sweden, a neutral country. The stranger looked blankly at me and hurried off. The story is certainly challenging and I wish the “Historical Facts” had been at the beginning as they gave me insight to the enormity of the number of deserters – over 500,000. The author’s attention to detail and knowledge of Japanese culture and topography were painstakingly accurate. I struggled with this book – so many characters, so many confusing Japanese names and places – necessitating flick backs often. I was as exhausted as some of the characters at times, and was relieved to finish it. Perhaps it will appeal to those with a keen interest in history, especially in relation to the Vietnam War and the period after.

need pet daycare? LET US TAKE CARE OF YOUR FURRY LOVED ONE • Beautifully landscaped surrounds • Delicious meals twice daily • Daily cleans • Departure bath • 24 hr onsite care • Soothing music • Handy location

153 Grigor Street, Moffat Beach Phone 5491 1516 www.caloundrapetresort.com.au 16 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

16.indd 2

This historical fiction novel set in Japan during the time of the Vietnam War is both interesting and educational. The story is about a handful of USA armed forces deserters who are helped by a dedicated team of Japanese anti-war supporters. This was in “my time”. I missed the draft and was a keen rally and protest marching university student. I didn’t know about the massive university riots and hippie culture in Japan. The storyline dragged somewhat and didn’t have the usual hooks that most writers use to keep you wanting to read to the end of the book. The main theme is that the Japanese helpers were kind, polite, caring and respectful in contrast to the mixed behaviour of the ragbag of American deserters. Flynn, one of the deserters, reflected that they restored his faith in humanity. The author, like myself, is obviously a Japanophile. Not bad for a first novel. 6/10

CALOUNDRA pet resort

Security, Independence & Peace of Mind Providing privacy & independence with the security of proximity to family. Glendale Granny Cabins provide comfortable, self contained accommodation for elderly relatives on the same site as the family home.

• One Bedroom Cabins and Studios • Two Bedroom Cottages • Undisputed industry leader

• Over 5600 satisfied Glendale owners • 6½ year structural warranty • Over 38 years experience

GRANN Y CABIN DISPLA Y

NOW OPEN

BSA License No. 42372

Obligation free site inspections freecall 1800 801 710 www.glendalehomes.com.au Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 10:23:36 AM


FINANCE

LEGAL ISSUES CONFRONT BABY BOOMERS The Baby Boomers worked hard and carried on the ideals and values of grandparents who lived through the Great Depression, and parents who survived World War II, writes DON MACPHERSON. Their industry, work ethic, and attitudes carried through.

T

he Baby Boomers are now retiring, and there are many legal challenges for this generation to deal with, which are highlighted even more by the current Coronavirus pandemic. Do you worry about having an adequate Will (or having any Will at all) to ensure that your wishes are carried out and your estate is managed as you intend? Do you worry in these times of isolation that an elderly parent is totally isolated, and falling under the influence of a family member that could give rise to elder exploitation and abuse? Are you concerned that the “granny flat” agreement you have entered into, or are considering, doesn’t offer the protection that ensures clarity and certainty going forward? Do you have a desire to be part of a residential community when this period

of enforced isolation comes to an end? Is it time to consider moving to a Retirement Village to become part of an active and engaging community? Are you in the situation of having to manage the estate of a deceased family member, and don’t know what to do or how to navigate the complexities involved? Sunshine Coast Elder Law, experts in all aspects of elder law, including Wills, estates, elder abuse, and retirement village and aged care contracts, can help answer these questions. Video conferencing is available to ensure advice can be given, and questions answered, in a safe, healthy and convenient way. Don Macpherson is an expert in elder law issues, including Wills, estates and abuse. Call 1800 961 622 or visit sunshinecoastelderlaw.com.au

PANDEMIC SICKENS RETIREMENT PLANS RESEARCH has revealed that the older population struggles the most when it comes to having leftover spending money, with 43 per cent of over-60s admitting they’re either in credit or have less than $100 left after paying for essentials every month. The findings come from an independent survey of a nationally representative panel of 1006 Australian adults, commissioned by Money.com.au, a new consumer information platform. “It’s concerning, given that they’re at a stage in their lives when adequate funds should be set aside for retirement,” Money.com.au financial adviser Helen Baker said. “They’re also facing more pressures to save as cost of living and health care rises, and people live longer.” She said older Australians needed to assess ways to cut back on spending to ensure a comfortable retirement. Consider downsizing or even take on jobs such as Uber driving or mowing lawns. Her top five tips to help manage finances during Covid-19 are: 1. Try to get rid of existing debt while you

2.

3.

4.

5.

still can. Pay down or consolidate debt as soon as possible, particularly on high interest credit cards. Try generating a new income stream. Think about what hobbies you can do from home that you could monetise, such as offering music or language lessons via online videos. Analyse expenses to break the cycle. If you have little to no money left over after each pay, track your spending over a month and analyse where the money is going. Find work in industries that are moving. As people self-isolate and schools and businesses close, there could be a demand for work in certain areas – such as after-school care, tutoring and nannying. Create a financial back-up plan. It isn’t until major life events occur, or things go wrong, that we get a wake-up call and realise we need a back-up plan. If you’ve been living for the now, start building emergency funds in case of a hit to your income stream. Full survey results at money.com.au

WHEN HOME BECOMES MORE PRISON THAN CASTLE The refuge or fortress that is home can quickly become a burden and maybe even a prison in later life, writes PETER PORCELLINI. Enjoyable and manageable household activities can remove enjoyment from life when age or a decline in health takes hold.

T

he common reluctance to move from home causes the undoing of many lives. Procrastination or denial of the need to move often means that the decision and many related decisions end up being made in a rush at a time of relative chaos. As a result, the risk of poor or unsatisfactory decision making is high. The opportunity to make those decisions in an environment of relative calm and order with limited risk has been lost. Worse still, if the person has lost decision making capacity then the decisions will be made by someone else. The opportunity for self-determination and control will have been lost. When the need for a move is on the

horizon, it’s wise to do things such as explore available living options and get financial and legal advice. Planning ahead makes it easier to act when the time comes. As John F Kennedy said, “the time to repair the roof is when the sun is shining.” Many have an understandably strong wish to age in their own home for as long as is possible with care and assistance provided. For a number of reasons during most of the last decade, Retirement Village Operators and Manufactured Home Park Operators have had to grapple with how to satisfy this long-held wish. Increasingly village and park operators are offering structured opportunities to live in a manageable

independent living unit in a safe and supportive communal environment with a choice of care and assistance services. The method of delivery of the services varies. Some of the more common methods include: • The operator simply facilitating the attendance of service providers arranged personally by a resident. • The operator partnering with service providers to offer village-specific services or packages. • A method often referred to as a private aged care in which the operator directly provides a full suite of services. Regardless of delivery method, the services are usually either self-funded or funded with the assistance of a

Commonwealth Government Home Care Package. If the need to move from home is recognised and accepted early enough, then these scaled-down living arrangements with services might be a viable alternative. And if they are, then many argue that the continued level of independence and self-determination that comes with those arrangements might even help delay the time when the ability to live independently is lost and residential aged care becomes a necessity. Act early and get advice to understand the legal and financial implications of new living options as part of any planning. Peter Porcellini is a special counsel with CRH Law. Visit crhlaw.com.au

Practical Common Sense Legal Advice for you and your loved ones Premier Legal Advisors for: • Estate Management • Wills • Estate Disputes

• Retirement Village Contracts • Protection from Elder Abuse • Elder Law

WE OFFER VIDEO CONFERENCING VIA LAPTOP OR MOBILE Call now Sunshine Coast

17.indd 3

1800 961 622 | www.sunshinecoastelderlaw.com.au | Maroochydore and Birtinya May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 17

23/04/2020 9:19:50 AM


EXPERTS PROMOTION

INDUS T RY E X P ERTS PENSION HELP

AGED CARE

HOME CARE ADVICE

Centrelink help I started the Centre for Age Pension Administration Services after 30 years of dealing with Centrelink. Cutting my teeth in the finance industry gave me a clear focus on getting it right for the client. Dealing with Centrelink on behalf of clients is what we do. We assess pension eligibility and ensure our clients are receiving their maximum allowable entitlement. We fill in the paperwork, handle correspondence and deal with any issues or complications. We update and upload, working with SMSF and business structures both simple and complex. We talk to Centrelink on behalf of our clients, and yes, we spend the time waiting on the phone. We aim to take the confusion, frustration and stress out of dealing with Centrelink. We do not have a magic wand, and we don’t do anything that clients potentially cannot do themselves (with a deep breath and an aptitude for patience). We do have knowledge and experience and understand the processes. What do we do? Help you with Centrelink.

NARELLE COOPER DIRECTOR CAPA SERVICES CENTRE FOR AGE PENSION ADMIN SERVICES 07 5354 0144 ADMIN@CAPASERVICES.COM.AU

18 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

18.indd 2

Care services bring home the benefits of social distancing Social distancing is the best way to avoid getting the coronavirus. Going outside and into the community increases the likelihood of coming in contact with the virus. Home care-giving benefits include: • Carers can do grocery or other shopping, or visit the pharmacy or bank. This allows older adults to stay home. • With social distancing requirements, physicians are encouraging patients to take advantage of tele-health options. Carers can assist with setting this up and accessing care. If an older adult has a computer or smartphone, carers can assist with technologies such as Skype to stay in contact. • Being confined to home can get lonely. Having a caregiver for companionship and stimulating activities can be invaluable. The new normal is attention to infection control protocols that need to be followed every hour of every day. Carers are the link that keep people safe while attending to their needs. If you need any advice, feel free to call, obligation free.

KENDALL MORTON DIRECTOR, HOME CARE ASSISTANCE SUNSHINE COAST 5491 6888 HOMECAREASSISTANCESUNSHINE COAST.COM.AU

Navigating the sea of Covid-19 assistance packages • Our worlds have been forever changed with the pandemic and we are living in weird times. The stimulus packages have kept us busy helping clients to understand and evaluate their options. Below are some of the packages available, along with website links. Information is current on April 16. • The Queensland Government is offering up to $250,000 in loans to businesses affected by Covid19 to retain employees and maintain their operations. To register your interest go to qrida.qld.gov.au/ current-programs/covid-19-businesssupport/queensland-covid19-jobs-supportscheme • The Queensland Office of State Revenue is offering some payroll and land tax concessions and deferrals. Visit treasury. qld.gov.au/budget-and-financialmanagement/revenue-and-taxation/ • If you are a landlord of either residential or commercial property, talk to your property manager first and then visit covid19.qld.gov.au/the-hub for residential properties. For Commercial properties see business.gov.au/Risk-management/ Emergency-management/Coronavirusinformation-and-support-for-business/ Relief-for-commercial-tenancies • Banks are offering cheaper interest rates and deferrals. The offers vary so I would suggest researching and applying online for your bank’s offerings before calling. • The cashflow boost stimulus package is, in simple terms, based on an employer’s

PAYG withholding on wages. The credit will be calculated based on the March Business Activity (BAS) Figures. Once the BAS is lodged, the ATO will either offset or credit the refund. The maximum available is $100,000 and refunds will be credited over 3 BAS statemenets for quarterly lodgers or five for monthly lodgers. On any tax lodgements lodged after January 27, the ATO is granting deferral of payments to September 14. At this stage these requests are not automatic and the easiest way to access them is for your accountant to call the ATO and request. The JobKeeper payment is the most complex but also one of the most beneficial of the Government initiatives. There are integrity measures on this initiative so employers need to ensure that they apply this measure correctly. Talk to your advisors and do your research. Visit ato.gov.au/General/JobKeeper-Payment/ Employers/ JobSeeker - New applications can be made via MyGov accounts. Go to my.gov.au Working from home, for current information on deductions go to ato.gov. au/Individuals/Income-and-deductions/ Deductions-you-can-claim/Home-officeexpenses/ Early release of superannuation of up to $20,000 can be accessed if you meet certain criteria. See ato.gov.au/ Individuals/Super/In-detail/ Withdrawing-and-using-your-super/ COVID-19-early-release-of-super/

To find out more, We are constantly posting updates on our Poole Group Facebook and website pages. Feel free to access these at poolegroup. com.au/covid-19-updates/

KIRK JARROTT POOLE GROUP ACCOUNTANTS & INVESTMENT ADVISERS STOCKLAND HOUSE LEVEL 1, 8 INNOVATION PARKWAY BIRTINYA. 5437 9900. POOLEGROUP.COM.AU

Sunshine Coast

23/04/2020 9:59:51 AM


UPDATE & RENOVATE

50% OFF ALL PRODUCTS*

Sale

U BLINDS PRICE PROMISE We will beat any written price

BY 10% * *for any comparabl e product

50%

50%

*

OFF

OFF*

PLANTATION SHUTTERS

FOLDING ARM AWNINGS

50%

50% OFF*

URBAN VENETIANS

OFF

ROLLER BLINDS ALOHA RANGE ONLY

50% EXTERNAL ZIPSCREEN

OFF*

50%

*

OFF*

FABRIC AWNINGS

50% ALUMINIUM SHUTTERS

OFF*

50% SHEER CURTAINS

OFF*

Our Sales/Installers follow hygienic & distance practices. Servicing the Sunshine Coast and Hinterland Call now for a Complimentary measure & quote

1300 303 391

www.ublinds.com.au

*Conditions apply, selected fabrics and materials. Offer ends 31/05/20 while stock lasts. Electrician & installation not included. QBCC # 1266708.

19.indd 3

23/04/2020 10:29:10 AM


RETIREMENT LIVING

REASSURANCE IN UNCERTAIN TIMES WE are living in strange and unprecedented times, but independent living in a retirement village has benefits for residents readily accessible. Baldwin Living CEO Paul Burkett says there are many services available to residents to look after their personal wellbeing. “Within our villages, managers are a phone call away, and 24/7 emergency call support is available to all residents through the INS system,” he says. “Managers are also checking in with every resident every two days to see how they are keeping.” Baldwin Living also offers HomeServe, which provides domestic assistance, meal deliveries, and assistance with shopping – either online or going to the shops. Transport to medical appointments and

personal care including medicine prompting, is also provided. “Staff are also able to provide assistance with setting up Skype or Facetime to maintain connections with family and friends,” he says. Baldwin Living Northside village manager Nicole McInnes and her team work hard to create an enjoyable senior living environment for residents. “Our dedication to enhancing independent living for residents is reflected not only in the quality of the facilities themselves, but also in the variety of social, creative and healthy activities offered,” she says. “These will all return to normal as soon as is possible and it is safe to do so.” Baldwin Living Northside offers apartment living with all the modern features expected of

CARE WHEN YOU NEED IT resort style living, so residents enjoy a hassle-free lifestyle without the burden of home maintenance. The village is a blend of one and two-bedroom apartments, each offering a different configuration, and equipped with quality appliances, modern bathrooms and outdoor entertaining spaces. Residents can enjoy the manicured gardens and private gazebos nestled in a convenient location with easy access to all major shopping centres and public transport. Baldwin Living Northside is adjacent to 11,000sq m of parkland, with a landscaped waterway, bike and walking paths through to Centro Taigum Shopping Centre. Properties start at $210,500 and are open for inspection by appointment. Call 1800 911 989.

RANGECARE and Nambour and District Care are engaging with community members in a continued effort to provide in-home services that meet the ever-changing needs of more than 2000 clients and vulnerable community members. Despite the closure of the RangeCare Op Shop and day centres, staff have been busy working behind the scenes and after hearing feedback, are now able to announce new services for clients. These include: • A qualified hairdresser to cut your hair in the safety and comfort of your home. • Arrange your shopping for you, help you to manage online orders or collect groceries on your behalf and deliver to your doorstep. • Assist with the drop off or

collection of your mail or packages. • Arrange for the collection and administration of your annual flu shot by a registered nurse. • Drop off prescriptions, collect and deliver your medication. • In partnership with local cafes, restaurants and other suppliers, provide a range of frozen meals, produce packs and meat packs delivered to your door. • Working with new technology to help you connect with others and activities to make the day more interesting. RangeCare and Nambour and District Care are fully functioning to deliver both traditional and new services that will meet changing needs. Visit rangecare.org.au or call 5445 7044

READER’S STORY

Batten down the hatches – By Val Smetheram

M

any years ago, in my sea-going days, I had one particular trip that could be termed a disaster. The year was 1961 and at 24, I was working for P & O as a telephonist on a cruise ship. With a couple of return voyages from England to Australia plus a few cruises around North Africa, Canary Islands and Scandinavia and various other places around Europe under my belt, I figured I was an old hand at this type of work/travel. I’d been working on the ship long enough to conquer (partially anyway) the dreaded motion sickness, or in other words, I had my sea legs. We were outward bound on a trip to Australia, carrying migrants so there was little work for myself and three workmates as there was no cabin service, although we still had to staff the switchboard covering 24 hours. On previous trips, we’d been through several quite severe storms, always being warned beforehand. Each time, when going to the dining room at mealtimes, the old experienced hands warned us to “always go for meals and eat up well as there’s rough weather coming”. It was good advice as it was easier to deal with peaks and troughs on a full stomach, while attempting to stay vertical. We had come down through the Red Sea with nothing more eventful than a

20 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

20.indd 2

sighting of the thickest mass of jellyfish I’d ever seen. The sea appeared as a white mass for as far as you could see with hardly a space between the creatures. It took three hours to come through them. I wish I still had the photos, but I lost those in a disastrous event years later – but that’s another story. Leaving Colombo, on that lovely island then known as Ceylon, we received notice of a severe storm ahead. As we had seven days in which to cross the Indian Ocean, we all wondered what we were in for, but figured we could handle it. Shortly after leaving port, the sea became choppy, then rougher, and still rougher. Surely this wouldn’t last too long! We found though, that this

particular ocean had far more it could throw at us. And it did, with a vengeance. We were not a large ship (78,000 tons) but large enough, we thought, to ride out the worst it could give us. She had stabilisers but we rocked and rolled for hour after hour with no let-up, on an ocean with extreme peaks followed by troughs so deep we thought we would end up on the sea floor. One evening my cabin mate and I were both off work. She lay in the top bunk and I was in the lower. It was easier lying down than trying to stay upright. The wind lashed furiously at the vessel and it was mind-numbingly hot, with no air-con. Also, we had been completely battened down since leaving port, which made it even hotter. The punkahs that supplied air into each cabin were working, but it was warm air and gave no relief. Slapping the sides of the ship with unbelievable force, the storm, like an angry, evil creature, seemed determined to destroy us. The noise and the sheer power of it was nothing short of terrifying. Above the din my workmate shouted, “I don’t think we’ll get through this”. “Me neither,” I shouted back. The weather system kept up with such ferocity for seven days and even the old hands said they’d never known

weather like it. We were still required to work our shifts in the switch room though. Besides, as one girl said, “we are in uniform and we have to keep up appearances”. None of us wanted to lose face. We kept upright, even going down to the dining room for meals, although only crew members were there. All passengers were horizontal in their cabins. Eating was probably the last thing any of them wanted to consider. We did feel sorry for them. After seven days crossing that ocean, when we finally sighted the West Australian coast, everyone heaved a huge sigh of relief. Even the crew. A line of ambulances stretched way out of sight, and then it was all hands on deck to move the sick to stretchers. How they found room in the local hospitals I will never know. I’m quite sure they didn’t deal with situations like that every day. What an introduction to a new country for those unfortunate migrants. I’ve often wondered how they fared and how long it took them to recover. As for us, we never faced weather like it again, although I made quite a number of sea trips at that time and in the years since. Four years later I became a migrant myself! Sunshine Coast

22/04/2020 2:46:56 PM


PUZZLE SOLUTIONS CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

SUDOKU (MEDIUM)

SUDOKU (EASY)

6 9 2 7 3 8 1 4 5

1 3 7 5 2 4 8 6 9

2 8 1 6 4 3 9 5 7

4 7 5 8 1 9 2 3 6

2 8 1 6 5 4 9 3 7

3 6 9 2 5 7 4 1 8

9 5 4 7 2 3 1 8 6

7 6 3 8 9 1 2 5 4

3 2 8 9 1 6 7 4 5

6 4 5 2 3 7 8 9 1

9-LETTER WORD

8 3 6 1 7 5 4 2 9

5 7 2 4 8 9 6 1 3

4 1 9 3 6 2 5 7 8

Secret message: Very diverse place CODEWORD X Y G N J A O T K B WQ R 15

14

2

1

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

C D P HM L F S V U Z E I 3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

WORD STEP BLOCK, CLOCK, CLICK, CHICK, CHICA, CHINA There may be other correct answers

aisle, alert, alit, alter, aril, atelier, earl, earliest, easel, elate, elite, else, isle, islet, lair, laser, last, late, later, latest, latter, lease, least, leer, leet, lest, letter, liar, lira, lire, list, lister, lite, literate, litre, litter, rail, rattle, real, realise, realist, reel, relate, resale, reseal, retail, rial, rile, sail, sale, salt, salter, saltier, seal, sealer, serial, settle, settler, silt, slat, slate, sleet, slier, slit, slitter, stale, staler, starlet, starlit, startle, STATELIER, steal, stealer, steel, stele, sterile, stile, stilt, tail, tale, teal, tile, tiler, tilt, tilts, title, trail, trestle, trial

1 9 7 5 4 8 3 6 2

WORDFIND

8 5 4 1 9 6 3 7 2

1. What is the occupation of a person who “treads the boards”? 2. What is the only state of the USA that has a coastline on two oceans? 3. What is the chemical symbol for tungsten? 4. How many points is a free throw worth in basketball? 5. What Italian car uses a trident as its symbol? 6. What day is June 1 this year? 7. “I gave a letter to the postman, he put it in his sack” are lyrics from which Elvis Presley song? nate? 8. In which country did the Donut King franchise originate? ng 9. Which Axis country declared war on Germany during World War II? 10. The sporting venue known as Stadium Australia was built for what event? 11. Who was the third person to walk on the Moon? 12. Which Queensland town hosts a Pumpkin Festival?? a? 13. What is the largest brass instrument in an orchestra? ez? 14. The original name of which actor was Carlos Estevez? ime 15. Who was the only Australian senator to become prime minister? rcle 16. What Greek letter has a numerical value used in circle calculations? 17. Where on the human body is the philtrum? 18. What time is 18 minutes before five minutes after midnight? 19. How many humps would there be in a herd of two Bactrian camels and one dromedary camel? ist”? 20. How many syllables are in the word “physiotherapist”?

9 2 3 4 7 5 6 8 1

QUICK CROSSWORD

5 1 6 3 8 2 7 9 4

With Quizmaster Allan Blackburn

7 4 8 9 6 1 5 2 3

TRIVIA

1. Acting; 2. Alaska; 3. W; 4. One; 5. Maserati; 6. Monday; 7. Return to Sender; 8. Australia; 9. Italy; 10. 2000 Olympics; 11. Charles (Pete) Conrad; 12. Goomeri; 13. Tuba; 14. Charlie Sheen; 15. John Gorton; 16. Pi; 17. Groove in upper lip; 18. 11.47 pm or 2347; 19. Five; 20. Six.

More than just in home care ✓ Daily Care Experts ✓ 24/7 Availability ✓ High Caliber Caregivers ✓ No Long-Term Contracts

✓ Promotes a healthy mind, body & spirit

Sunshine Coast (07) 5491 6888 |

21.indd 3

“I absolutely recommend Home Care Assistance to anyone who is looking for help.” Jocelyn, Nambour

✓ Low Fees

Call today to speak with a home care expert and arrange a FREE in-home consultation.

Sunshine Coast

What our clients say

✓ Peace of Mind

Kendall Morton Director

www.homecareassistancesunshinecoast.com.au May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 21

23/04/2020 9:26:45 AM


PUZZLES

CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

ACROSS 1 6 8 9 10, 12 13 14 16 18 19 20

No. 2561

DOWN

You can’t call my eccentric aunty bland when she is endowed so copiously (10) Very angry about the promissory notes used to buy minks? (7) I hear we rule with precipitation (4) Remain like one under the sport’s shoe (4) 14-across Dismiss the cricketer when stocks don’t last! (3, 3) Latin God followed six involved with visual medium (5) Opened the compound ideally situated for hiding it (5) See 10-across Those mentioned stood the heat yet acclimatised badly (4) You can use force or take time to build the stronghold (4) Fixes the boundaries if needs dictate (7) Brace the stern. The galleon limits excursions (10)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

10 11 15 17 18

When he saw the ravaged tag hanging out it made things much worse (10) The sister has love for the name (4) Can you let the hidden fauna die unremembered by a fond farewell? (5) The new shuttle let out characters in the same way (4) The mischievous pixie noted that they were going on a scientific journey (10) Trifled with the instrument? (7) I am not sure if they are tidy, so I dust the rooms (7) Half a farewell for Aussie jumper (3) Edible ledge on violin fingerboard? (3) Marriage to the spirited nun I love? (5) In which we say “Goodbye Arthur” for some time (4) An extraordinary act involving paws, I hear (4)

CODEWORD

No. 034

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

WORDFIND

Q R

The leftover letters will spell out a secret message No. 034 AMAZON ANACONDA ANDES ARGENTINA BRAZIL CAPYBARA COLOMBIA GALAPAGOS GUYANA MACAW MACHU PICCHU PATAGONIA PIRANHA RIO SURINAME

Copyright © Reuben’s Puzzles www.reubenspuzzles.com.au. Refer to the website for a cryptic solving guide.

WORK IT OUT!

VENEZUELA

SUDOKU Level: Medium

No. 848

7 3 2 4 8 7 8 2 9

9 3

5

7 8 4 5 9 3 6 3 5JOIN4THE FUN... 6 6 2 9

Who’s for Tamworth 2021!

1 3

Tamwo Music Tri

TAMWORTH CMF 2021!

TTuesday uesday 119/01/21 to Sunday 24/01/21

BUS, B US, BED & BREAKFAST $850 $ 850 PER PERSON Allll bookings must be followed by a deposit of $100 A w ithin 14 day within days to hold a spot. TThe he balance and final payment must be received by the 13/11/20.

try Tamworth Coun Conditions C onditions of Ca Cancellation: ival Bus sicwillFbeest a fullurefund given. 1 month before ttourM Within W ithin 21 days oof the tour a partial refund will be 1 02given. Tripwill be2given. Within W ithin 14 days oof the tour no refund

FFor or more inf information or enquiries please contact: GREG & DONNA ROSS.

PH: (07) 4129 7132 OR 0427 297 132

E FUN... e: rossbuscharters@bigpond.com JOIN TH 22 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

22.indd 2

www.ganddrossbuscharters.com.au Sunshine Coast

29/04/2020 1:43:07 PM


PUZZLES

QUICK CROSSWORD

No. 3662

9-LETTER WORD

SUDOKU

No. 034

Level: Easy

Today’s Aim:

R T

44 words: Good 66 words: Very good

S

E

L

I E

89 words: Excellent

A

T

Using the nine letters in the grid, how many words of four letters or more can you list? The centre letter must be included and each letter may only be used once. No colloquial or foreign words. No capitalised nouns, apostrophes or plural words ending in “s”.

WORD STEP

ACROSS 1 6 9 10 11 12 13 14 17 20 23 25 26 27 28 29

Crumbled (9) Celestial being (5) Tall structure (5) Cue and ball game (9) Maltreatment (5) Lifeless (9) Utmost (7) Football (6) Conquer (6) Defamation (7) Express regret (9) Beget (5) Lab worker (9) Christmas song (5) Hate (5) Nice guy (9)

DOWN 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 15 16 18 19 20 21

Quaint houses (8) Case (7) Harmony (9) Lofty (7) Australian currency units (7) Evidence of being elsewhere (5) Rubbish (7) Inferior (6) Traditional (9) US Founding Father, Benjamin – (8) Terminate (7) Elevating (7) Add sugar (7) Explanatory drawing (7)

22 Sickness (6) 24 Possessor (5)

No. 034

7

No. 847

1 2 5

4 7

2 9 9 7 6 8 2 8 9 3 2 1 1 2 5 8 7 5 1 9 6 5 3 4 8 WORK IT OUT!

Complete the list by changing one letter at a time to create a new word at each step. One possible answer shown below.

BLOCK

_____ _____ _____ _____ CHINA May 2020

David Wise Solicitor Retirement Village Lawyer Specialist advice for residents, former residents and prospective residents

Contract Reviews - Village Exits - Dispute Resolution Estate Administration - Discount Probate

0412 254 080 dtwise@gmail.com www.davidwisesolicitor.com.au Sunshine Coast

23.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 23

23/04/2020 10:32:02 AM


6$9(2)) WKHQHZ([SUHVVUDQJHRI5ROOHU%OLQGV

,167$//(',1:25.,1*'$<6

)5((027256

+L,·P$P\\RXUORFDO,PDJH%OLQGV 5HSUHVHQWDWLYH /HWPHVKRZ\RXKRZWRIUHVKHQXS WKHORRNRI\RXUKRPH &DOOPHIRUD)5((GHFRUFRQVXOWDWLRQ

B L I N D S QUEENSLAND

FREE BLINDS

R

MEASURE 1300657100

& QUOTE

AWNINGS

WWW.IMAGEBLINDS.COM.AU

SHUTTERS

&RQGLWLRQVDSSO\)UHHPRWRUVRQSXUFKDVHVRYHU([FOXGHVHOHFWULFDO2Ï&#x192;HUYDOLGWR0D\2020.

24.indd 2

SECURITY QBCC LIC. 1302235

23/04/2020 9:33:07 AM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

Your Time Magazine Sunshine Coast - May 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Your Time Magazine Sunshine Coast - May 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded