__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

Your Time Your premier 55+ magazine

FREE

Future is now

LIVE LONGER, LIVE BETTER AS THE WORLD OF THE JETSONS BECOMES REALITY

EDITION 63 JUNE, 2020 SUNSHINE COAST >> 100% LOCALLY OWNED

01.indd 1

+

FITNESS BOOKS PUZZLES

19/05/2020 1:30:43 PM


02.indd 2

20/05/2020 10:45:04 AM


Editor’s note

I

n 1820, the average life expectancy for Australians was 40-45 years. It’s now 80-85. Julie Lake’s investigation this month has made her confident that we are now looking at lifespans far beyond our wildest dreams. Many readers have enjoyed a lifetime of good nutrition and medical treatment. This immediately increases the odds of a longer life than our parents. And just as we have come to think of 60 as the new 40, the next generation could likely consider 90 the new 70, in terms of physical fitness, general health, cognitive ability and mobility. At the current rate of development, their children and grandchildren may well see turning

Contents 60 as the time to start a new career, because they still have another 60 years to go! When you think about how much the world has changed in the last two centuries, longevity hasn’t kept pace. We managed to put man on the moon, yet we didn’t quite double our life span. We made the world smaller with face-to-face chats on devices that fit in our pocket, yet we failed to find a cure for cancer. There have always been those who have beaten the odds and lived to a great age, whether it was luck, opportunity, genetic heritage or a mix of all of them, but those who live to be more than 100 with mind and body still working well, remain the exception rather than the rule. But perhaps longevity is not all it’s cracked up to be. In an over-populated world, interrupting the great circle of life and having six or seven generations walking the planet at the same time will have consequences. And what about if your mind keeps working and your body doesn’t, or worse, your body keeps working and your mind doesn’t? Read on and see what you think. Dorothy Whittington, Editor

4

COVER STORY

6

BITS AND PIECES

8

AGES AND STAGES

9

NEWS

10

TECHNOLOGY

11

CARE AFFAIRS

12

HISTORY

14

BOOK REVIEW

15

FINANCE

15

ON TRACK

16

ACTIVE LIFE

17

WELLBEING

18

INDUSTRY EXPERTS

20

RETIREMENT LIVING

21

TRIVIA QUIZ

22

PUZZLES

6

10

17

12

PUBLISHER Michelle Austin 5493 1368. EDITOR Dorothy Whittington, editor@yourtimemagazine.com.au ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES 0438 717 210 or 0413 855 855. sales@yourtimemagazine.com.au. FOR DIGITAL EDITIONS AND MORE yourtimemagazine.com.au. DISTRIBUTION ENQUIRIES distribution@yourtimemagazine.com.au. Your Time Magazine is locally owned and published by The Publishing Media Company Pty Ltd ATF The Media Trust (“the Publisher”). No part of this publication may be reproduced or copied in any form by any means without the prior written consent of the Publisher. The Publisher does not assume responsibility for, endorse or adopt the content of any advertisements published in Your Time Magazine, either as written copy or inserts, given such content is provided by third parties and contains statements beyond the Publisher’s personal knowledge. The information contained in Your Time Magazine is intended as a guide only and does not represent the view or opinion of the Publisher or its editorial staff. Professional advice should be sought before applying any of the information to particular circumstances. Whilst every reasonable care is taken in the preparation of Your Time Magazine, the Publisher and its editorial staff do not accept liability for any errors or omissions it may contain.

WILLS | ESTATES | PROPERTY | RETIREMENT VILLAGES

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Located by the beautiful Lake Kawana on the Sunshine Coast 12/9 Capital Place, Birtinya

07 5438 8400 info@griffithslawyers.com.au

griffithslawyers.com.au

Ian Griffiths Director

Melissa McDonald Lawyer

Nicole Roberts Lawyer

Erin Wilkinson Senior Conveyancer

For more than 40 years, Ian Griffiths and the team at Griffiths Lawyers have provided expertise, results and old fashioned personal service to thousands of individuals, families and businesses across the Sunshine Coast and beyond.

We will visit you at your home if you prefer.

Griffiths Lawyers Pty Ltd ACN 611045053. Individual liability limited by a scheme approved under professional standards legislation. Sunshine Coast

03.indd 3

June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 3

20/05/2020 10:53:12 AM


COVER STORY

The future is upon us now Given the exponential rate of technological change, the world of 2030 will be as different from today as we are from, say, 1980. The question is, are you ready for it? JULIE LAKE investigates a world where the future is upon us.

I

f you were born in 1960 you may well be thinking about your retirement, just as your parents did before you. But wait – unless you have made a lot of money or have hefty superannuation, retirement from paid, fulltime work is still a decade or so away. That’s if you plan to retire at all. Because, unlike your parents, you aren’t obliged to take your gold watch and put your feet up and not think about what seemed to inevitably be a short and predictable future. If you were born in 1960 the TV shows, in black and white, would have included My Favourite Martian, Lost in Space, Dr Who and Star Trek. Like the

4 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

04.indd 2

popular sci-fi novels of the time, they thrilled us with the possibility of intergalactic travel. Then Armstrong stepped on the surface of the moon and all romance died as subsequent space trips showed us that our neighboring planets did not, after all, harbour recognisable lifeforms that might arrive on our doorstep wearing a playsuit and saying “nanoo nanoo”. While most of these futuristic fictions dealt with planet-hopping, one, The Jetsons, offered an Earth-bound technological vision – robot maids and commuting ‘copters that turn into a briefcase. Alas, its whacky optimism was soon

overtaken by the visions of writers and film-makers who relentlessly portrayed Earth’s future as apocalyptically bleak. Yet many of those early sci-fi techno wonders are part of life today – robots that clean the floor, appliances run by smart drives and sensors, cars we can talk to and which talk back, phones that show images of the caller and also tell us everything from the time and weather to how fit we are and where to find cheap fuel or a restaurant. We have gone from vinyl to streamed digital entertainment in half a century, ditching various interim technologies along the way. No longer do we need large radiograms or tape recorders or boom boxes or CD and video players. Instead, the world’s infotainment can be watched on our smart, ultra ultra high definition screens, directed by finger or voice. Electric and now driverless cars are on the road. Computers fly planes. Elon Musk and others have both revolutionised and commercialised rocketry and put the pizzazz back into space travel. And those at the forefront of today’s futuristic thinking – people like noted historian-philospher Noah Yuval Harari, medical innovator Jay Kurzweil, philosopher of technology Kevin Kelly and microbiologist Susan Hockfield – see all these marvels as an indication of an even more marvellous future for those of us willing to embrace rather than resist it. This applies especially to the one area that concerns us all – our health. Recently Bob Garnett, 84, swallowed a camera. His gastro endocrinologist wanted to check out Bob’s intestines and ordered

an endoscopy. This was administered by a nurse, in about five minutes. She gave him a largeish shiny pill and a glass of water and told him to gulp it down. Then she strapped a large cloth belt with monitors attached around his mid-section, whereupon a perfect picture of his upper digestive track appeared on the nurse’s smart device. All that day Bob went about his usual business while the camera and the belt went about theirs. The belt was removed that evening, to be returned early the next morning. The camera went … well, you guessed it! And within hours the surgeon had all the information he needed about Bob’s internal problems. The camera pill is just the latest innovation in the development of colonoscopical and endoscopical procedures. It’s far less invasive and unpleasant than previous methods – and a small taste of our medical future. And when Bob had swallowed his pill, he took out his mobile phone and called up an Uber to take him to his next destination, checking its progress until it reached him a few minutes later. He then used the phone to text his wife, check his bank account and emails, check into HotDoc to make another appointment and see where the nearest eatery was. Later that evening, he went to dinner with friends and they sat around telling each other just how life was getting worse! They are, after all, members of the post-war generation which grew up fighting for love and peace and greedily consumed the world’s resources while

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 10:57:13 AM


COVER STORY lamenting the loss of the rainforests and growing ever more certain that the future would be apocalyptic. It’s what one writer called “The Leonard Cohen Syndrome – I’ve seen the future, baby, and it’s murder!” Bob, however, thinks life is getting a whole lot better, especially for those like him who are lucky enough to live in Australia. He reckons the health problems he already has, thanks in part to the tough times of his youth, won’t permit him many more years but he’s grateful for those technologies that keep him alive today and is frankly envious of younger Your Time readers who can expect even better technologies to keep them living longer and better in the future. So fast is medical technology advancing that what we think is amazing quickly becomes commonplace. Joint and organ replacements are performed every hour. MRIs show what was previously hidden, vaccines and new life-saving drugs are developed faster thanks to algorithms and readily accumulated and accessible data. Diabetics can track their insulin levels and control their dosage using an app. Computer-directed laser surgery allows greater precision and access to places in the body that have been inaccessible to past techniques. Thanks to the algorithms available to our computers it is now possible for even the profoundly paralysed to remotely direct limbs, or prosthetics, giving hope to victims of stroke and accidents. Prosthetics themselves can function so “naturally” thanks to a combination of new materials, neuroscience, engineering and computerised technology, that those who wear them can do everything from climb mountains to cycle and scuba dive. Today the research focus is not only on biotechnology but also on regenerative medicine. Scientist Robert Carlson says that tissue engineers are building or growing

transplantable internal organs, bones and connective tissues for many parts of the body, with 3D printers positioning cells, once grown slowly in a petri dish, on to organ-shaped scaffolds, like car parts, and thus we will soon be able to swap diseased or exhausted tissues for new ones. Meanwhile the science of genomics, according to former director of the world-regarded Massachusetts Institute of Technology Susan Hockfield, has great therapeutic potential. Embryos could, for example, be modified to remove genes that cause many hereditary diseases. Too late for you, perhaps, but not for your grandchildren or great-grandchildren and thus the ability to map YOUR genome will be important here.

“Technology moves so fast that what we think is amazing quickly becomes commonplace” Many of us already wear fitness monitoring devices and/or phone apps to measure and record aspects of our wellbeing. These are developing to help us monitor the condition of our blood, urinary tract, bowel, liver function, brainwaves, respiration, heart rate, plaque level and much more. The information can be transmitted to diagnostic algorithms which then provide on-line therapies, prescriptions, treatment or referrals for surgical or third person intervention procedures to get you restored to health. People may scoff at the idea of artificial intelligence (AI) replacing doctors but as Gianrico Farrugia of the USA’s renowned Mayo Clinic points out, anything that requires specialised training, judgment and decision-making can be done better by an

algorithm. Unlike your GP, it is not distracted by the demands of other patients, domestic problems, financial worries or poor performance on the golf course. As for the human touch, how warmly responsive are many GPs trying to rush through a long day of 15 minute appointments? And as Pedro Domingo writes in Scientific American, algorithms CAN learn and evolve and are already being trained to detect and respond to human emotional needs. When I first communicated with Apple’s Siri some years ago, all she did was provide answers. Today, if I thank her, she replies, warmly, “You’re welcome”. Or, with just a touch of indignation, “that’s not very nice” if you swear at her. The Covid-19 pandemic showed that the wonders of modern medicine couldn’t prevent a virus almost bringing the world to its knees but the new technologies made it possible to analyse it, track it, test for it, and disseminate information (and misinformation!). And when a vaccine is found it will be with the assistance of AI, as happened when the robot “Efe” at the University of Manchester discovered a potential new malaria drug through formulating a data-based hypotheses far faster than any human could do. And the AI therapist “Ellie”, designed to identify PTSD signs in soldiers, reads patients’ facial expressions and body language more effectively than any human psychologist can do – something of relevance to older people suffering clinical depression and other mental problems who are more adept at controlling their outward emotions than are young people. Moreover, life for many in lockdown was made more bearable by all those satellites up there and the social media and home entertainment they make possible. According to Brisbane librarian continued over>

I got algorithm I got data I got AI Who could ask for anything more? Algorithm – this mathematical term is nothing new; it dates back centuries, like the logarithms we learned at school, and an exact meaning can still cause an argument among mathematicians. Today we associate it mainly with computers and one leading computer scientist has simplified our understanding by describing an algorithm as a sequence of instructions telling a computer what to do. And these have become increasingly complex, self-learning and, inevitably, personalised. Like Apple’s voice-in-the-machine Siri. Algorithms influence every aspect of our lives today; for example search engines, Facebook and other social media, Google Earth, predictive policing, distributing social security benefits, online shopping, selecting personnel, booking accommodation and airline flights, driving our cars and all the apps we have on our smart devices. AI – is a computerised system based on algorithms that can function intelligently and independently of humans. AI replicates the human brain but can out-perform humans in many tasks because of the ability to read available data at speed, learn new strategies and analyse data to achieve maximum success. AI’s many applications include speech and facial recognition and robotics.

Self Funded retirees protest the high cost of hearing aids Self Funded Retirees are up in arms at the high cost of high quality hearing aids! But that is now changing thanks to a local clinic. Local, Independent Hearing Aid Specialist at Hear4Good , Lisa Burley has decided to ensure that the clinic will offer high quality devices at reasonable prices.

“We have people coming to us who have been quoted $10,000, which is ridiculous! You do not need to pay these sorts of prices to get better hearing”, Ms Burley says, “Our advice is always get a second opinion and don’t fall for high pressure hard sales techniques, when its something as critical as your hearing, you need to be sure, Hear4Good are the people you can trust”.

The Hearing Centre, 5/56 Landsborough Parade, Golden Beach. Ph: Sunshine Coast

05.indd 3

Quality service & Digital hearing aids from only

$800

(07) 5477 0144 June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 5

20/05/2020 12:19:55 PM


COVER STORY

BITS & PIECES

<from previous page Bronwyn Petty a lot of people she knows who swore they would never have an e-reader or a tablet found themselves buying these devices when the libraries closed – and there was a mini-boom in teaching people how to use them. The outcome of the exciting new technologies is that we all have the opportunity to live longer and as Noah Harari says, that could be the greatest challenge for humanity today. Because what are we going to do with all those years? And all those people? The issue raises many ethical questions but futurist philosophers such as Harari and Kurzweil don’t doubt that those of us able to grasp that opportunity will do so with both hands. Kurzweil, a multi-award winning computer-scientist, inventor and author, has already taken significant steps to keep himself fit and well in order to take advantage of whatever life-extending and lifeenhancing present and future technologies are available. And that, he points out, is the key. We have to act NOW to maintain our health and fitness in order to be ready for the future that is already upon us. And it is equally important to be aware of what is available, and pending, in the way of medical technologies and other life-enhancing innovations. To do this we have to be comfortable with computers, smart devices and their apps, smart cars, social media and on-line services of all kinds. If you were born in 1960 and have taken good care of yourself you can reasonably look forward to another 30 years of active, useful life. Maybe more … but only if you are prepared to embrace the new.

By Noel Williams of Buderim-Palmwoods Heritage Tramway Inc I steamed into Buderim in 1914 And what a reception I got. The farmers all cheered because they knew That I’d come here to improve their lot. I served the community for 20 years To Palmwoods and back every day, Bringing in goods for Buderim town And taking their produce away. Not just produce I carried, but passengers too And soon I became quite renowned For bringing in tourists from Brisbane To spend time in Buderim town. But then it was found I was needed no more And I realised to my dismay That trucks could do my job better than I And I would be going away. And so I was sold off to Bingera Mill And for 30 more years I pulled cane, But then diesel locos arrived on the scene And I was redundant again. For 40 more years I was shuffled around And slowly began to decay. My parts were stolen until I was found By enthusiasts from Buderim one day. So Buderim welcomed me home once again And work was begun straight away To make me look good so the people could see me In Buderim on public display. But things didn’t work out the way I had planned

And I stayed in that leaky old shed And dreamed of the life that I hoped would be mine In a lovely glass building instead. My paintwork was fading so to my delight My owners came up with a scheme To have me re-painted by expert restorers So that I would glisten and gleam. But first I needed a much better shed To protect the new look I would get, So that was provided and in it I sat And I knew there was hope for me yet. I loved the makeover that they gave me then It made me feel just like a queen And everyone said just how lovely I looked The best they ever had seen. So here I am waiting to go on display And then I’ll be able to boast That this little loco is without a doubt An icon of our Sunshine Coast.

FRAMEWORK FOR A COVIDSAFE AUSTRALIA Dear Resident,

From 12 JUNE (Qld Stage Two)

From 10 JULY (Qld Stage Three)

Australia’s social distancing measures are working and I want to thank you for your effort to flatten the curve.

We move from Stage One to Stage Two which allows gatherings of up to 20* people at locations including: • community sports clubs, parks, public spaces, skate parks and playgrounds • non-contact indoor and outdoor community sport • pools, gyms, health clubs and yoga studios • libraries, museums, art galleries and historic sites • weddings, places of worship • funerals (max 50) • recreational travel, camping and accommodation, including caravan parks (max 250kms within your region)

Subject to further planning and review, interstate and further intrastate travel will be permitted and a maximum of 100* people will be permitted for: • gatherings in public spaces and homes • dining in restaurants, cafés, pubs, registered and licensed clubs, RSL clubs, food courts, hotels, casinos, gaming and gambling venues • indoor cinemas • places of worship and religious ceremonies • museums, art galleries and historic sites • pools and community sports clubs • community sport, gyms, health clubs and yoga studios • amusement parks, zoos, arcades, theatres, auditoriums, stadiums and nightclubs • weddings and funerals • open homes and auctions • beauty therapy, tanning, nail salons and spas • libraries • hiking, camping and other recreational activities

I know this has been difficult and that many of you have been forced to isolate from your grandchildren, families and friends. Thankfully, restrictions are easing – we are currently at Stage One – but as things relax further, please remain mindful of your health, continue social distancing, get your flu shot and contact your doctor immediately if you experience cold or flu symptoms. Of course my office is always available to help – phone 5479 2800 or email ted.obrien.mp@aph.gov.au Best regards,

Ted O’Brien MP Federal Member for Fairfax

Businesses and economy 20* people permitted at any one time for Stage One and Stage Two locations: • casinos - no bars or gaming • indoor cinemas, outdoor amusement parks, tourism experiences, zoos, arcades, theatres and stadiums • school holidays – a driving holiday in your region • tourism accommodation

* Public health rules still apply. Businesses should visit www.covid19.qld.gov.au.

Ted O’BRIEN MP Federal Member for Fairfax

17 Southern Drive, Maroochydore QLD 4558 07 5479 2800

ted.obrien.mp@aph.gov.au

tedobrien.com.au

TedOBrienMP

Authorised by T. O’Brien, Liberal National Party of Queensland, 17 Southern Drive, Maroochydore QLD 4558.

6 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

06.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 12:21:34 PM


BITS & PIECES

WE PAY CASH

SILVER LINING TO THE CORONA CLOUD DESPITE restrictions and changes brought about by Covid-19, more than half of older Australians believe some positive changes have come from the outbreak. A national survey of more than 1350 people found nearly one in five Australians aged over 60 believe that social cohesion and wellbeing are likely positive outcomes from the pandemic in

Australia. The Global Centre for Modern Ageing research highlighted that while many older people faced significant challenges, including limited contact with grandchildren, they also felt that there had been improved community spirit, and that people were increasingly keeping in touch with others and being more neighbourly. Visit gcma.net.au

FOR ANTIQUES AND THE OLD AND INTERESTING FO G

Call us today for on the spot cash sales. W WE ARE CURRENTLY LOOKING TO BUY: Jewellery - Rings, Brooches, Bangles, Cameos, Lockets, Diamonds, Old gold andd broken jjewellery ewel ellleerryy Coins and Banknotes - Oriental Antiques - Ivory - Jade War Medals and Souvenirs - Swords, Daggers, Bayonets, Flags, Trench art and postcards stcards Coloured Glassware - Silverware - Bronzes - Australian Pottery - Native Artifacts

China - Worcester, Moorcroft, Doulton, Shelley, all antique porcelain and pottery Watches and Clocks - Mantle, Wall, Grandfather, Carriage, Barometers, Gramophones

IN THE GARDEN – with Penny Hegarty nursery to see what is available. All bulbs can be planted along with seedlings of stocks, snapdragons, straw flowers, pansies, marigolds and other seasonal plants. Fertilise, mulch and remove weeds when small. Trim any plants that have finished flowering.

THE legendary British sailing ship Cutty Sark loaded a record 3100 bales of wool at South Brisbane in 1893. A tourist attraction on the Thames at Greenwich for the past 60 years, the world’s only surviving extreme clipper was launched in Scotland in 1870 and set off for China carrying “large amounts of wine, spirits and beer”. It returned to England loaded with 600,000 kg of tea. Although built for the China tea trade –it carried almost 4.5 million kg of tea between 1870 and 1877 – it transported a variety of cargoes, including over 10,000 tonnes of coal, before finding its calling in the Australian wool trade.

PETER MARTIN of LYNZAY ANTIQUES FREECALL 1800 501 419 P Licenced (SHD 5368) 47 YEARS TRADING

QBSA: 1198481 PCO: 12811

OUR gardens should be picture perfect with so much extra time on our hands, not to mention the lovely weather. It’s time to plant roses, camellias and fruit trees. Plant up the vege plot with cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, lettuce, tomatoes and more. Check with your

Termite Inspections Termite Barriers Internal and External Pest Treatments (12 Month Warranty) Rodent Treatments Air Conditioner Bacteria Treatments Lawn Fertilizing and Weed Sprayings

25% Seniors Discount

STAMP OUT PESTS

AGJ

PEST MANAGEMENT

5

Ph: 0421 533 002 agjpest@gmail.com

y$

for onl

25

Buy any 5 Award Winning Beefy’s lunch size pies for only $25 (that’s only $5 per pie)

ANY Flavour, ANY Combination, Hot or Cold. Gluten Free Available. Hand in coupon to redeem offer. Not valid with any other offer. Valid to Sunday 28th June 2020. Code YT280620A

Dinner is done! $

1 x Award Winning Family Meat Pie (1.3kg), 2 x Apple Pies (medium), & 6 x Snack Pies!

.95

26

valued up to $47.40

Limited Time Hand in coupon to redeem offer. Not valid with any other offer. Valid to Sunday 28th June 2020. Code YT280620B

• Aussie World • Buderim • Cannon Hill • Glasshouse • Gympie • Kawana • Mango Hill • Maroochydore • Ningi

BEEFYS.COM. AU

Sunshine Coast

07.indd 3

June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 7

20/05/2020 12:22:29 PM


AGES & STAGES

by Mocco Wollert

ONCE a year I am invited by a friend, who is the German teacher at a school, to come and talk to her Year Two pupils. I tell them about what life was like at school in Germany, when I was in grade two. I love this, not just because I like to tell stories but because of the reaction I get when I tell them that I grew up without television, iPad, X-Box and, most horrific of all, without takeaways. When I tell them, McDonalds had not been invented, they are shocked and dismayed. We also talk about meals and how we had to eat whatever our

8 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

08.indd 2

mothers put on the table. One little guy asked me very seriously, “if you did not eat your meal, what were the consequences?” Such a big word for such a young boy. I was surprised that he knew it. It seems to me that “consequences” are seldom experienced anymore, especially in connection with bad manners, or worse, bad behaviour. I cringe when I see a young criminal (the correct word if you break the law) leaving court with a smile on his or her face. Even for violent acts they often get no more than a slap on the wrist in the form of community service or paying a fine. I wonder how many of these fines are outstanding and never get paid? How many offenders actually turn up for community service? I have been told by volunteers that if they do, they often are more disruptive and offensive than helpful. All our actions have consequences – bad ones or nice ones – it was something my generation knew and expected. One of my daughters raised her children on the “One. Two. Three. Warning.”

“This is one,” she would say, and if the little ones did not react, she would follow with, “this is number 2”. She never had to go to number three. Just as well because, as she confided in me, “I would not have known what action to take.” And those little white lies: “Sorry, can’t come out, have to work!” And then you run into that person. The embarrassment and hurt are huge. There are consequences I really love, such as after I have smiled at somebody. It does not matter whether you smile at a friend or a stranger. The consequence usually is that nearly all will smile back. There are short-term consequences and long-terms ones. Loving a man can have very long-term consequences. I adore my two long-term “consequences”. Their names are Susan and Kim. Every bad deed has consequences and every good deed has them too. But are we teaching our youngest generation about the difference? Watching the news, I often doubt it. May your deeds be good and the consequences even better.

by Cheryl Lockwood

THE outbreak of Covid-19 and the restrictions that came with it meant big changes for most of us. I can only imagine the heartache for anyone with wedding plans having to make the decision to downsize or cancel the big day. Not so long ago, in prepandemic days, I was at a small wedding with fewer than 20 guests. The reception had an

intimate dinner party feel and “wedding bingo” was on the agenda. The best man was the groom’s sister, which left me wondering what her title was. The “best woman” didn’t seem quite right because surely that should be the bride. I gave up trying to work it out. Anyway, she had organised the game and read out the rules. All guests had a bingo sheet. Each paper had a bingo-like grid, but instead of numbers had various things to find throughout the evening. They varied from simple items to things that required a little investigation. It was not too hard to find someone wearing blue, but other points on the list saw us turning into amateur detectives. Find someone born in March … the third oldest person here … who is bilingual? Evidence had to be provided for all answers to be able to call out bingo. The prizes involved chocolate, so competition was fierce. At times the meal was forgotten as guests employed sneaky tactics to coax answers from fellow guests.

Sunshine Coast

21/05/2020 10:22:39 AM


NEWS A shout came across the table, “how does that lonely goat herd song go?” Why? We needed to find someone who could yodel. Small talk was peppered with random questions. Even speeches were modified lest someone give away too much information. “So, how long have you been married and just out of curiosity, what’s your shoe size?” It was definitely the first time I’d worn a skewer threaded with a radish slice in my hair, especially after only one glass of wine but it was the best I could do for, “make wearable art from something on the table”. No one spills a drink when you need a photo of someone spilling a drink, so some bad acting ensued. Answers were scribbled and photographs taken as proof of the right to tick the boxes. Bingo was called and the answers scrutinised, fuelling the odd debate. Wedding bingo turned out to be great fun and definitely a conversation starter. Ah, life is a happy ever after adventure.

WINNERS SPEAK UP FOR PARKINSON’S

SUNSHINE Coast speech pathologists Louise Williams, Cathy Shapter and Karen Malcolm have received a grant from The Parkinson Voice Project annual Speak Out! And Loud Crowd grants program for

CRUISE INDUSTRY READY TO SET SAIL AFTER being left all at sea by recent events, holidaymakers who love to cruise can look forward to smooth sailing. The industry is confident it will be among the first holiday options to pick up as borders re-open. “We are hearing that the domestic industry will pick up first, with cruises to the Kimberleys, Tasmania and the Queensland coast,” The Cruise Centre manager Elizabeth

the second consecutive year. They will again receive funding for training opportunities that are essential to the ongoing success of the comprehensive program which they provide for people living with Parkinson’s Disease. “Up to 90 per cent of people with Parkinson’s are at high risk of losing their ability to speak, while aspiration pneumonia caused by swallowing issues accounts for

70 per cent of the mortality rate in this patient population,” Parkinson Voice Project founder and chief executive officer, Samantha Elandary said. “Awarding these grants has substantially increased access to quality speech treatment to those living with Parkinson’s.” The grant program honors Daniel R. Boone, PhD, a worldrenowned speech-language pathologist and voice expert who, in the late 1950s, recognised

Clarke said. “From there it will expand to New Zealand, the South Pacific, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu and Tahiti.” The new Brisbane Cruise Terminal is ahead of schedule and the opening is going ahead later this year. Predictions are that it will attract 180 cruise liners next year. Ms Clarke said the cruise industry was focused on rebuilding confidence. Protocols have been set by the Centers for Disease Control, the leading national public health institute in the United

States, and with most ships registered in the US, they are working together to ensure passenger screening and high levels of hygiene. On-board medical centres are also being established to replace the more simple concept of “the ship’s doctor”. For example, expedition ships that sail to remote regions are putting in medical centres that will cater for a variety of conditions, including those who need dialysis. “Many ships were told they couldn’t cruise for more than

that individuals with Parkinson’s could improve their communication if they spoke with “intent”. The new charity Restoring Hope Parkinson’s Therapy (RHPT) deliver the Speak Out! and Loud Crowd programs from a facility in Nambour. Telehealth sessions are available and face to face assessment and therapy is also continuing. Email info@rhptherapy.org.au

100 days, so they have had the opportunity to thoroughly clean and to retrain staff in enhanced procedures,” Ms Clarke said. “People have to have confidence in getting back on board. Cleanliness, screening and the protocols all help build that confidence.” With bookings already picking up, she is predicting a huge year next year and recommends getting in early. Not only are there those who couldn’t go this year, but also those who had already planned to go next year.

LIVE THE LIFESTYLE YOU’VE DREAMED OF WHEN YOU RETIRE A well-planned strategy for your retirement should see you retire comfortably, allowing you to focus on your lifestyle – not on your finances. Retirement structuring – Correctly structuring your pension drawings can significantly improve your retirement lifestyle. Pension longevity – Having the right investments backing your superannuation pension can make a difference, helping ensure your funds can last. Government benefits – Ensuring you receive your correct entitlement can lead to a more comfortable retirement.

Contact Ords Buderim and Discover the Value of our Advice | ordsbuderim.com.au | 5430 4444 | buderim@ords.com.au Full-Service Stockbroking

Retirement

Wealth Management

Tailored Investment Options

Ord Minnett Limited ABN 86 002 733 048 holds AFS Licence Number 237121. This ad contains general financial advice only and does not consider your personal circumstances. Ord Minnett is a Market Participant of the Australian Stock Exchange, a Member of the Stockbrokers Association. A007_BUD_1908_MyWeeklyPreview 144x262

Sunshine Coast

09.indd 3

June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 9

20/05/2020 12:37:12 PM


TECHNOLOGY

Take the fear out of buying a new computer As computers come to play a bigger part in our lives during the lockdown, many are experiencing technology failures. NATHAN WELLINGTON can understand why suggestions that it is time for a replacement can cause alarm.

T

HE prospect of visiting a large retailer and purchasing a replacement computer or any technology, can be daunting. It is difficult to understand what you’re looking for. Over the years I have heard too many stories of people spending thousands more then necessary. Here’s a guide to purchasing a computer with as little angst as possible.

1. DO YOUR RESEARCH If you have access to the internet, start by looking for what’s available. Search the big retailers online to compare prices and look for well-known brands. Think about what you’re looking for – is it a laptop, a desktop, a 2 in 1 computer? Then look at the specifications. All computers have the following: RAM (short term memory), CPU (the brain), HARD DRIVE (the

Could solar benefit you? Take advantage of our knowledge and expertise to make an informed choice. Federal solar incentive $3,000 - $9,000 per home 2-5 year payback to reach zero or credit energy bills View online monitoring for locally installed systems

storage). When you compare computers compare these specifications. 2. ASK SOMEONE QUALIFIED This is where a good technician can offer advice. For many long-term clients I generally know what they need before they upgrade. The beauty of a technician is that they generally don’t sell computers, so you will receive an unfiltered opinion based on your needs and not their stock. I would suggest if you are looking for advice, contact your local technician. It may be worth a call-out fee to save you hundreds. 3. BUY ONLINE I am not suggesting avoiding retailers, as many clients may visit a store to see what they may purchase. Although retailers carefully plan sales to maximise your purchase, they may offer additional software, antivirus, and remote support you may not need. Once you are

ROBO DOCTOR DOES THE ROUNDS

Optional back-up capability for grid independence

$200 $200 off each system when more than one

household from your family chooses solar by Home and Energy. Terms & conditions apply.

homeandenergy energy Yourr Solarr and d Battery y Specialist

07 5403 7969 A local solar company you can trust

w w w. h o m e a n d e n e r g y. c o m . a u Electrical Contractor Licence No. 84040

comfortable with your purchase, go home and buy it online. This removes the impulse buy pressured by a salesperson. At your leisure you can spend 20 minutes following the prompts to purchase the product through a secure website which protects your details. Pay a small delivery fee or collect from the store. 4. INSTALL This is one last bastion of dread – how to transfer your data and set it up. Many computer stores offer this service, and each one uses its own alchemy for transfer. Windows 10 was not very helpful with this process so many major manufacturers have offered their own built in software to do this. If you have a PC that is long in the tooth, hopefully this will give you a starting point for replacement. Email nathan@hometechassist.com. au or call 1300 682 817.

THE newest member of staff at Greenslopes Private Hospital is a robot that travels around the hospital treating and visiting patients. Temi, a telepresence robot, allows doctors to be at the bedside of patients while maintaining strict infection control measures. Greenslopes Emergency Centre director, Dr Mark Baldwin, said Temi allowed the hospital to keep family

members and staff safe when patients were in isolation and helped limit the use of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE). “Temi’s head is at the height of a patient in bed or seated in a chair,” he said. “The robot can steer around a ward or emergency department autonomously.” Temi’s head is a small television monitor which has a live feed of the doctor or staff member who wants to speak with the patient. A small tray behind the monitor carries items such as medical equipment, medications or sanitiser and masks. Dr Baldwin said there was something more “human” about being able to see the doctor’s face on the robot’s monitor. “Family members and health care workers can see and talk to a patient without being in the room,” he said. “Temi can move around the wards and follow a patient without any other person being present.”

We’re here for you Family owned & operated aged care is available now to support you and your loved ones.

1300 899 222 | mckenzieacg.com 10 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

10.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

21/05/2020 10:24:56 AM


CARE AFFAIRS

Hearing loss brings its own health risks Hearing loss as we age is so common that we accept it as a normal part of aging, an inconvenience to be tolerated. KENDALL MORTON explores the hidden costs of ignoring failing hearing.

M

ore than one-third of adults over 65 experience some form of hearing difficulty which can affect mental function, social life and mood. Dementia Australia lists hearing loss along with obesity, smoking and excessive alcohol use, as a significant risk factor for dementia. In fact, 9 per cent of dementias are associated with hearing loss. And there is evidence to show that older adults with hearing loss score more poorly on cognitive tests as they age, compared to their peers. One US study followed older citizens for six years and found hearing loss was associated with accelerated cognitive decline. A 20-year study, again in the US, tested the hearing of 253 older adults regularly. It showed seniors with moderate and severe hearing loss experienced a decline in memory and general mental functioning compared to their peers. There are a few possible reasons for this link between hearing loss and mental decline. Firstly is the “deprivation hypothesis”. With poorer hearing you miss out on cognitive stimulation. Secondly, people with hearing loss tend to spend less time engaged in leisure

pursuits and in socialising. They can have depressed moods and become socially isolated. Depression itself is a risk factor for dementia. However there is some good news too. Studies are finding older people with a hearing loss who wear hearing aids do not experience the cognitive decline mentioned above. Instead, they have richer social lives, better communication and a good quality of life compared to those who do not wear hearing aids. A Turkish study of study of 34 older

adults with hearing impairments measured them for mood and depression as well as mental functioning. The participants were given hearing aids and after three months showed significant improvement in all three measures. Looking over a longer time span, 25 years, a US study of 3777 participants aged 65 and over supports the value of hearing aids. They found that people with hearing loss who did not wear hearing aids had a 21 per cent higher risk of developing dementia than those who choose to wear hearing aids. What’s more, the people who wore hearing aids had no more risk than their hearing peers. A second reason to take any hearing loss in yourself or a family member seriously is its link to depression. The American Academy of Audiology reported a US study of 2300 hearing impaired adults aged over 50 that found those without hearing aids had higher levels of depression and anxiety than their peers who wore hearing aids Communication breakdowns were common. Those not wearing hearing aids were more likely to report that “other people get angry at me for no reason”. Not wearing hearing aids was also

associated with taking part in fewer social activities. On the other hand, people wearing hearing aids reported improved communication with family. This same study asked people why they chose not to wear hearing aids. They gave a few reasons. Some said their hearing was not bad enough to merit aids. Others baulked at the cost of aids and some said, “it would make me feel old”. This is a situation where the inconvenience and short-term embarrassment of wearing a hearing aid has to be weighed against the long-term health risks of not wearing a hearing aid. Like exercise or a good diet, wearing a hearing aid is a long-term investment. I would encourage readers to protect their hearing and be alert to any hearing loss in loved ones. If you or a family member has difficulty hearing, get a hearing check. Poor hearing can put you and those you care about at risk of social isolation, depression and dementia. It’s not an inconvenience. It’s a major health issue. Kendall Morton is director of Home Care Assistance Sunshine Coast to Wide Bay. Call 5491 6888 or email kmorton@ homecareassistance.com

Explore the Sunshine Coast’s most vibrant over 55s retirement village in Meridan Plains. Brand new designs selling now: 2 bedroom + study + double garage 3 bedroom + study + single garage Attractive, modern and spacious designs for open plan living, perfect for entertaining and socialising with family and friends.

Call 134 478 or visit irt.org.au Sunshine Coast

11.indd 3

June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 11

20/05/2020 12:37:46 PM


HISTORY

Local government changes with the times Although the Covid-19 pandemic took the spotlight off much of the campaigning, the local government elections are over for another four years and we have a new team of representatives working on roads, rates and rubbish. AUDIENNE BLYTH looks at the changing landscape.

L

ocal government on the Sunshine Coast began in 1879 when the Queensland State Government of the Divisional Boards Act was passed. The purpose was to get local residents to fund their own roads and bridges. At that time roads were dreadful because the timbergetters’ wagons and snigging logs cut them to pieces. Two very large areas – Widgee and Caboolture Divisional Boards – were established. The Widgee Divisional Board extended from north of Eumundi to north of Gympie and included a strip along the coast from Peregian to the Maroochy River mouth. Caboolture Divisional Board extended from north of Eumundi to Kedron Brook in Brisbane. In 1890, the Maroochy Divisional Board was cut from the Caboolture Divisional Board and included a strip along the coast from Widgee. It was formed

The old Nambour Civic Hall which contained the Maroochy Shire Council Chambers. The building was opened in 1931 and demolished in 1989. (Courtesy Sunshine Coast Council Heritage Library) after staunch petitioning from unhappy ratepayers who had a diversity of interests and also many grievances. Buderim and Kenilworth later petitioned to become part of Maroochy Divisional Board. In 1903, the Maroochy Shire Council was formed when the 1902 Local Authorities Act was

passed. The Nambour Chronicle also began in 1903. “At last local government had a critic,” it was said as the new newspaper reported on council meetings and was a watch dog. The Widgee Divisional Board had been given the status of a shire council in 1902. Noosa Shire was cut away from Widgee Shire

and held its first meeting in 1910. Two years later, Landsborough Shire Council was formed. It became became Caloundra City Council in 1987. Councils on the north coast of Brisbane know all about amalgamations and deamalgamations. No change has ever been made without a fight, petitions, threats, grief and plans for even more changes. In March 2008, Noosa Shire, Maroochy Shire and Caloundra City amalgamated and elections were held for the new Sunshine Coast Regional Council. Many believed there were benefits for the region. But not everyone. In 2014, Noosa Shire deamalgamated. Mark Jameison and Noel Playford presented strong arguments for and against but Noosa ratepayers voted to be separated from the Sunshine Coast Regional Council and the word “regional” has since been dropped. This year, new divisional

boundaries in the Sunshine Coast Council region again have left ratepayers with much to debate. A representative from each of the six coastal divisions and four hinterland divisions and the mayor make up the 11 members of our local governing body for the next four years. Whatever happens, we can always be sure of surprises, challenges and controversies when it comes to any government and local government always has more than its share. A final word: With thoughts of service to the community, councillors represented their electors without pay in the early days of local government. Later, a minimal fee was offered to defray costs for councillors. In the 1980s, there was a frequent cry of “pay peanuts and get monkeys” – and local councillor salaries were brought in line as a percentage of state parliamentary pay packets.

Life. Style. Care.

Located in the heart of the Sunshine Coast is Coolum Waters - by Sundale. Breathe in the sea air from your light and spacious two or three-bedroom unit, or relax with family and friends amongst the established gardens. At Coolum Waters – by Sundale, there’s no need to move if your needs change, with additional care, meals and assistance available in your own home, if and when you need it.

For more information visit sundale.org.au or call 1800 786 325. 12 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

12.indd 2

DISPLAY HOME OPEN FOR PRIVATE INSPECTION BY APPOINTMENT BRAND NEW HOMES FROM $545,000. COOLUM WATERS - BY SUNDALE 4 Wembley Rd, Coolum Beach.

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 12:38:13 PM


2 WEEKS

FREE RESPITE CARE

SAVE UP TO $365 PER WEEK

Relax, care is on us Move into a participating Tricare Aged Care Home as a respite resident before 30 August 2020, and pay no basic daily fee for two weeks. This means you can enjoy freshly prepared meals, professional care and housekeeping while staying in a beautiful homely environment.

Kawana Waters

Bundaberg

Pt Vernon

Valid at selected facilities only. T&Câ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s apply.

Contact TriCare on 1300 TRICARE (8742273) or visit tricare.com.au for more information. 13.indd 3

20/05/2020 12:38:41 PM


BOOK REVIEW

BILL MCCARTHY There seems to be something about the UK, and in this case, Irish, police forces, that authors and script writers find dysfunctional. In this novel, the protagonist’s battle is against an indifferent police force to solve a mystery involving an alleged suicide. The characters are developed well and the plot is interesting enough to keep you going through sections that are too long with unnecessary detail. There are a couple of events that require a leap of faith by the reader to accept, but in general I found this book to be a well constructed thriller.

MARY BARBER Detective Cormac Reilly has recently transferred from Dublin to Galway. He’s finding it hard to settle in at the local police station. There are jealousies and politics and he doesn’t know who to trust. He’s only getting the cold cases, not work suited to his abilities and experience. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had well-rounded characters and an interesting plot. It moved along at a good pace. I look forward to following Detective Cormac Reilly in the next book, The Scholar.

BOOK review SUZI HIRST The Ruin is a page turner and very easy reading. Set in Ireland it has two timelines 20 years apart drawn together by detective Cormac and two children he first met as a young officer investigating their mother’s death. It is a story of Ireland, police procedures, corrupt police, and child abuse. There are many characters played out and McTiernan has drawn them together well. I really enjoyed this book although I felt there were numerous questions I would have liked answered, and maybe a bit more depth on their histories. 8/10

THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan

TONY HARRINGTON

It has been 20 years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home, with her two neglected children Maude, 15, and Jack, 5, downstairs. Now he’s about to reopen the case he has never been able to forget. When Aisling Conroy’s boyfriend Jack is found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib, the police tell her it was suicide. Then Jack’s sister Maude shows up, suspecting foul play. Reilly is assigned to the re-investigation of the seemingly accidental overdose of Jack and Maude’s drug and alcohol addled mother and is under increasing pressure to charge Maude with murder. Betrayal is at the heart of this unsettling small-town noir set deep in the dark heart of Ireland. The Ruin, shortlisted for Australian and Irish book awards, asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t … or won’t.

I loved this murder mystery set in and around the west coast of Ireland. The principal characters are both interesting and real. The author, an ex-corporate lawyer turned crime writer, has created an excellent police detective crime thriller. A suicide, several murders, a missing person and Ireland’s dark past of child poverty and abuse are deftly explored by the author. Multiple intriguing plot threads are gradually and adeptly woven together as the story unfolds. I especially enjoyed this book because of my west coast Irish ancestral heritage. I lived in Cork city and worked closely with the Garda Siochana in relation to suicide drownings by bridge jumpers while exchange director of Emergency Medicine at Cork University Hospital. I have already ordered the second book of this trilogy. An excellent read. 9/10

JOHN KLEINSCHMIDT This debut novel is a tale of deceit, secrets, murder, love and loyalty with Detective Cormac Reilly being established as the hero for this and, I suspect, more novels to follow. The narrative alternates between Cormac and Aisling, an aspiring surgeon and the partner of Jack, the suicide/murder victim. Cormac knows Jack and his sister Maude from early days as a policeman and feels a duty to ensure that Jack’s death is properly investigated. New to Galway Police, he is assigned a cold case concerned with the death of the victim’s mother 20 years earlier, giving him the opportunity to investigate claims by Maude that Jack was murdered. Opinion is divided whether this book is powerful and expressive or clunky. For me it was an easy and entertaining read.

need pet daycare? LET US TAKE CARE OF YOUR FURRY LOVED ONE • Beautifully landscaped surrounds • Delicious meals twice daily • Daily cleans • Departure bath • 24 hr onsite care • Soothing music • Handy location

153 Grigor Street, Moffat Beach Phone 5491 1516 www.caloundrapetresort.com.au 14 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

14.indd 2

CALOUNDRA pet resort

JO BOURKE Ah! My favourite genre! What better than a cold case set in Ireland, perfectly depicted by author, Dervla McTiernan from County Cork. The scene is set vividly in the prologue where the rookie Garda, Cormac Reilly, responds to a call and is confronted by a dead body, a traumatised 15 year old girl and an abused little boy. Fast forward 20 years and the sub plots are in play, never losing sight of the original characters, especially the little boy who has just been found dead from an apparent suicide. The grief of his partner, Aisling, is tangible, and the funeral took place on an ‘awful day for a funeral, where the sleet spattered miserably’ – so typical for Ireland. The novel abounds in twists and turns with a dramatic ending. It is an excellent debut novel and I look forward to reading more by this talented writer.

Security, Independence & Peace of Mind Providing privacy & independence with the security of proximity to family. Glendale Granny Cabins provide comfortable, self contained accommodation for elderly relatives on the same site as the family home.

• One Bedroom Cabins and Studios • Two Bedroom Cottages • Undisputed industry leader

• Over 5600 satisfied Glendale owners • 6½ year structural warranty • Over 38 years experience

GRANN Y CABIN DISPLA Y

NOW OPEN

BSA License No. 42372

Obligation free site inspections freecall 1800 801 710 www.glendalehomes.com.au Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 12:39:08 PM


FINANCE

WHY I DON’T NEED A WILL – AND OTHER DUMB IDEAS

THE PURPOSE OF BEING BUSY

Every day people make excuses as to why they don’t protect their most valuable assets by having a will. It’s a risky business, writes DON MACPHERSON.

In our culture, we value busyness highly, even an edge of competitiveness, but, asks JUDY RAFFERTY, is there a purpose to it all?

THERE are some classic excuses for choosing not to make a will and the response to all of these furphies, is a resounding “no”. Favourite excuses that are often put forward are: • I don’t need a will because my wife/kids are going to inherit everything anyway. She/they’ll take care of it • Isn’t that for rich, old people? • I only have a house, not much to worry about really. • Getting a will is too expensive, and time consuming. • I’ll be dead anyway, so it’s not a problem. • If I talk about it too much I’ll jinx myself. While not having a will may means that ultimately assets eventually find their way to next of kin the pathway is longer, more expensive, and usually means court involvement. Overall it’s a much slower, and more expensive way to achieve the outcome a straightforward will could secure. Of course, not having a will means your intentions are irrelevant, and what

“I HAVE never been so busy” is heard from many people in retirement. Recently I heard it from Jenny, a 68-year-old woman who has been retired for three years. I think Jenny expected me to nod in appreciation of her mastering retirement. Instead, I had some questions. “Jenny, were you also busy before you retired? What haven’t you done in life because you were too busy – either now or in retirement?’ She looked somewhat uncomfortable. “I am not sure,” she said, “But I like being busy. It makes me feel like I am using the day well, that I have purpose.” It can be uncomfortable to not be busy after a lifetime of chasing an impossible to-do list. But there is an important difference between being busy and being engaged with purpose. A busy life does not always have purpose, and a purposeful life is not always busy. Research tells us that a feeling of purpose in daily life is associated with wellbeing. In contrast, busyness is

you wanted to happen may not occur. When people die without a will (called an intestacy) the law sets out a formula that applies to distribute assets in different proportions between next of kin. That may mean a house has to be sold, even if the wife is living there, to satisfy the intestacy formula. The absence of a will may open the door to a contested estate. A simple will would prevent unintended consequences occurring. Wills are usually not expensive (under $500). Unless the estate is complex there is no need for a testamentary trust or other complications to blow out the costs of a will. In fact, lawyers make much more money when people don’t have a will, as sorting out estates without a will significantly increases the time and expense involved. Don Macpherson is founder of Sunshine Coast Elder Law, experts in wills, estate disputes and management. Call 1800 961 622 or visit sunshinecoastelderlaw.com.au

associated with stress. This is often a result of overextending ourselves, pleasing others and prioritising their needs over our own. So why do we see it as worthwhile? We often opt for busyness because it allows us to feel purpose even when it’s not there. Leading a busy life without purpose can be like reading about an exciting love affair without having one! In addition, getting things done often gains recognition from others and provides a nice sense of accomplishment. Busyness is also seductive because it can give you something to talk about. It provides conversational fodder. But sometimes being busy allows us to avoid other, more important aspects of our life. It’s a form of procrastination. Purpose is not on a to-do list. It grows out of commitment and values. It is the dividend paid on your repeated investment into the life that you want. Judy Rafferty is author of Retirement Your Way, A Practical Guide to Knowing What You Want and How to Get It.

RECENT DIVIDEND CUTS POINT TO THE WISDOM OF DIVERSITY THE deep uncertainty stalking the corridors of corporate Australia has led many boards to suspend, defer or cancel dividend payments. TROY DERWIN writes that at least 48 companies have officially cut or deferred dividends, with many more to set to follow. FOR financial companies such as banks and insurers, the decision has largely been taken out of the companies’ hands, with the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) recommending that “these institutions limit discretionary capital distributions in the months ahead, including deferrals or prudent reductions in dividends”. So far, we have seen NAB reduce its half-year dividend from $0.83 a share to $0.30 a share, at the same time as raising $3 billion of new capital from institutional shareholders and launching a $500 million share purchase plan for retail shareholders. ANZ took a different path, deferring its first half dividend until at least August. , but avoiding the need to raise fresh equity. Bank of Queensland also deferred.

Unsurprisingly, retail related stocks have also been hit hard in terms of dividend cuts. To date. Flight Centre, Harvey Norman, Shaver Shop, Super Retail and AP Eagers have all cut dividends to zero. Global mall owner Unibail Rodamco Westfield also scrapped its dividend. The list of companies that have announced deferrals of dividends is much larger than the outright dividend cuts above. Travel related companies feature heavily such as QANTAS, Crown Resorts, Star Entertainment, Corporate Travel and Webjet. Retail stocks are also prominent in the list such as Nick Scali, Michael Hill, Lovisa Holdings and ARB Corporation. Another feature of the market correction has been the rush to raise equity to strengthen company balance

sheets. As at April 30, we estimate that a total of $18 billion has been raised from institutional and retail shareholders, with more expected to come. While NAB’s $3.5 billion raise takes the prize as the largest raising to date, there are many other interesting capital raisings that have taken place. Ramsay Health Care raised $1.4 billion in response to a suspension of most elective surgery in each of its major operating geographies. The raising will enhance the company’s financial flexibility and possibly allow it to take advantage of acquisition opportunities. Cochlear was one of the earlier and more surprising companies to raise capital, tapping the market for $1.1 billion. Similar to Ramsay, it quoted the issue of a deferral

of elective surgeries weighing on nearterm cashflows and earnings. Lend Lease also took an opportunity to raise $1.15 billion as Covid-19 uncertainties are slowing progress on some non-core asset sales. This will lift available liquidity to $3.95 billion and support delivery of the company’s global development pipeline. While these dividend cuts and capital raisings may be unsettling to investors, they are a reminder of the importance of maintaining a well-diversified portfolio including a sufficient cash buffer to be able to ride through difficult market times. Furthermore, it can be an opportunity to increase holdings in quality companies at a discount to the market price. Troy Derwin is a senior adviser at Ord Minnett Buderim. Call 5430 4444.

Practical Common Sense Legal Advice for you and your loved ones Premier Legal Advisors for: • Estate Management • Wills • Estate Disputes

• Retirement Village Contracts • Protection from Elder Abuse • Elder Law

WE OFFER VIDEO CONFERENCING VIA LAPTOP OR MOBILE Call now Sunshine Coast

15.indd 3

1800 961 622 | www.sunshinecoastelderlaw.com.au | Maroochydore and Birtinya June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 15

20/05/2020 12:39:58 PM


ACTIVE LIFE

Never run away from a squat By the time we reach 30, the muscles used to straighten our spine, and to keep our shoulders from falling forward, have atrophied. THEO SHEMANSKY explains that our culture of avoiding squats at all costs comes with a high price.

O

ur modern, sedentary lifestyles complete with creature comforts, have led to a rise in back and shoulder pain, as more and more jobs reward sitting at desks, keeping our arms out in front of us, staring at computers, and work that involves mental rather than physical effort. Our lives offer plenty of mental exhaustion on a daily basis but not a lot of physical exhaustion – an unintended consequence of progress. This is why becoming reacquainted with the squat should be a wellness priorty. This is what we can gain from squatting: 1. CORRECT BODY POSITION The muscles that hold the spine straight can be developed by squatting, as it places weight naturally and functionally through the erector muscles of the spine and stimulates natural strength. Many think that by going to the gym and using the machines correctly it will improve body posture and position, but this is not true. While machine-based exercises increase the size of the muscle being trained they also create imbalance, and don’t provide a broad enough base for good functional movement to help and protect the spine.

2. ELIMINATE CHRONIC PAIN Functional training with movements such as squatting improves our movement proficiency. When we move well, we are less likely to generate forces on parts of the body that have wear and tear. It follows that we will have less pain. Less pain equals more and better movement, and that means less force on degenerate tissues. 3. SQUATS INCREASE FLEXIBILITY Good functional movements such as squatting increase the range of motion in the hips, knees, ankles, shoulders and upper spine. This means less stiffness generally, and from an injury prevention perspective, a more flexible joint needs less force to make it move and therefore there is a lower risk of injury to the joint. 4. REVERSE EFFECTS OF IMBALANCES Bones are held together by ligaments. Tendons attach muscles to bones. Strong muscles keep our bones and joints moving well and stop them from moving poorly and causing pain. Squatting is a functional, symmetrical movement that keeps our spine neutral and focuses our movement on the hips which allows large muscles to strengthen and reduce pain.

5. SLOW THE SIGNS OF AGING Squatting increases collagen production, which means a more tightly toned appearance. Collagen maintais tendons, skin, and cartilage which in turn gives integrity, and elasticity to the body, potentially reducing wrinkles. 6. REDUCE THE RISK OF OSTEOPOROSIS Squats improve bone density in our spine and hips. Bone health and strength prevents injuries. Remember that up to 30 per cent of patients admitted to hospital with an osteoporotic hip fracture never leave hospital. Strong bones matter. 7. STRENGTHEN YOUR KNEES Doing squats increases strength in the muscles above the knees which protect and stabilise knees. Contrary to popular opinion, squats are not bad for your knees. In fact, when done correctly, they will protect and stabilise knees. 8. GENERATE A BOOST IN HUMAN GROWTH HORMONE Through the movement of squatting, especially when a weight is applied, large muscles exert a significant effort which causes damage that must be repaired. In

response the pituitary gland releases human growth hormone to allow the body to heal. It also stimulates bone strength, fat loss, increases energy, stabilises mood, cell reproduction and regeneration. 9. BURN FAT When we do a cardio workout (think treadmill, stationary bike, rower etc) we burn fat for up to two hours after finishing the workout. When we squat with weights, we burn fat for up to 18 hours after finishing the workout. Because the largest muscles burn the most calories, strength training, particularly at high repetition, creates excess post-exercise oxygen consumption (EPOC), the length of time metabolism elevates after exercise. 10. IMPROVE MINDFULNESS In order to squat well we need to think about how we move for every single repetition in every set. This focus and connection to the movement of our body deepens the benefit we get from the movement and enhances the effects of the workout and overall wellbeing. Theo Shemansky is a movement specialist at FitMed Pulse. Visit fitmedpulse.com

Wearing dentures can be frightening, uncomfortable and embarrassing. If you’ve ever experienced denture fall out when you laugh or yawn, you’ll understand. Osseo-Frame™ offers a whole new solution. Start talking, eating and smiling again!

Once you decide on Osseo-Frame™, Coast OMS will arrange the rest – just get ready to rediscover your smile, enjoying food and loving your social life and … throw your old denture away... for ever!

Osseo-Frame™ is a surgical dental implant option that is completely predictable to allow you to wake up with new teeth! A more positive lease on life! There is no discomfort from dentures! No dentures falling out! No embarrassment at having to take them out to clean your mouth! The Osseo-Frame™ is often covered by your private health fund.

Phone Coast OMS on 1800 623 338 or contact info@coastoms.com.au. www.coastoms.com.au Located at Sunshine Coast University Private Hospital.

T 1800 623 338 E info@coastoms.com.au Sunshine Coast University Private Hospital Consulting Room 1, 3 Doherty Street, Birtinya Queensland 4575 16 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

16.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 12:40:43 PM


WELLBEING

Take your foot off the gas Many people suffer from abdominal pain, gas, and bloating, and don’t really know why. TRUDY KITHER explains the causes and suggests how to reduce the symptoms.

T

here are four leading causes for abdominal pain caused by gas. SIBO (small intestinal bacterial overgrowth) is when there are too many bacteria in the wrong location. Most gut bacteria should be in the large intestine, not the small. When you have too much bacteria in the small intestine you get a lot of gas when you eat. Gas created by these microbes is hydrogen and methane. These gases will cause belching, burping, and bloating. You can check if you have this condition by doing a SIBO breath test, which will check your hydrogen/methane levels. Doing this will quickly rule out if you have this condition. You could also have an imbalance of microbes. High levels of methanogens are ancient microbe bugs that make methane and hydrogen gas. These can also cause belching and flatulence. The methanogen microbes consume polysaccharides, which are starches and sugars. An imbalance of bacteria will cause excessive fermentation as fibres and sugars produce a lot of gas. Low stomach acid. Consuming a lot of protein can also cause abdominal gas, bloating, and possibly even SIBO if you don’t have enough stomach acid. Decreased bile production. Bile is produced by the liver and stored in the gall bladder. If you don’t have enough bile, you

will definitely get belching, bloating, and gas because you are not going to be able to digest the fats in the foods you consume. If you usually eat a decent amount of nuts or oils, without bile, the food will remain undigested and will eventually block up. This can also result in pain on the right side of your body, possibly up your back, neck, and right shoulder, which may indicate gall bladder issues. Here’s some help to reduce symptoms: Firstly, and most importantly, reduce carbohydrates. This will reduce the sugars, stress, and inflammation in your gut. By lowering your sugars (carbohydrates), the microbes can’t feed on them ultimately, reducing your stress and inflammation. Secondly, you will also want to reduce fibre and may even want to cut it out entirely for perhaps a month. This includes vegetable fibre, so your system can rest and reset itself. Why? Because if you have SIBO and the microbes are in the small intestine, they are going to want to eat the fibre to feed themselves and create more gas! The problem is that you have excessive microbes in the wrong place. You don’t want to feed them and keep them there, you want them to die off and go away. Thirdly, do intermittent fasting regularly so your system can rest, reset, and clear itself out between meals. Intermittent fasting is vitally important. To start seeing good results, fasting from 7pm until 11am the next day will give you a minimum of 16 hours. Some people don’t need to cut out all fibre, but just need to cook vegetables first. This will reduce the amount of fibre they are getting from the vegetables. Fourthly, include betaine hydrochloride before your meal, which helps increase the hydrochloric acid your body produces for you to fully digest your meal. You need a good amount of this before a meal, say, 4-6 tablets to increase your hydrochloric acid.

On-Call Denture Repair Service

It could take months to re-establish the acid in your stomach, especially if you have a history of taking antacids, antibiotics, or low salt diets. Many people have low stomach acid, and naturally, as you age, the acid reduces. Fifthly, a lot of people have a low tolerance for dairy or allergies to casein, which is the protein in dairy. If so, this can create gas and bloating, so it is highly

recommended to remove all dairy from your diet at the same time. Lastly, add purified bile salts after your meal and betaine hydrochloride before your meal. How would you know if you don’t have enough bile? You would have pain in your right shoulder, down your right side, or just below your right rib cage. Trudy Kither is a naturopath at Nature’s Temple. Visit naturestemple.net

FREE THREE MONTH MEMBERSHIP

Active health for your 50’s and beyond Train in the comfort of your own home ● Exercise curated and fully guided by a Doctor ● No equipment needed ●

fitmedpulse@gmail.com

fitmedpulse.com.au

STEM CELL NUTRITION ^ĂĨĞ͕īĞĐƟǀĞĂŶĚīŽƌĚĂďůĞ STEM CELLS HELP REGENERATE ORGANS, EYES, CARTILAGE, BONES; BETTER SLEEP, BUILD THE IMMUNE SYSTEM, PREVENT NORMAL AGEING AND SYSTEMATICALLY FIGHT CHRONIC CONDITIONS.

Repair and regenerate your body with a natural product that releases your own stem cells. I am now 69 and have no more brain fog, sore joints, ĚŽŶ͛ƚǁĞĂƌŐůĂƐƐĞƐĂŶĚŵŝƌĂĐƵůŽƵƐůLJƉůĂLJƚĞŶŶŝƐϰƟŵĞƐĂǁĞĞŬ͘

Marita Mason – Phone 0432 986 655

WE ARE NOW OPEN! Covid-19 infection control protocols now in place for your protection and peace of mind. Receive a free digitally printed denture with every finished denture made (conditions apply)

Call us now on 54431621 3/6 Norval Ct, Maroochydore www.jjdenturedesign.com.au Sunshine Coast

17.indd 3

We keep you smiling. June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 17

21/05/2020 10:03:53 AM


EXPERTS PROMOTION

INDUS T RY E X P ERTS PENSION HELP

Applications have a way with words Just when you thought you had heard it all, Centrelink outdid itself … not a statement I thought I would ever write. This month I had an age pension application approved in less than two weeks. My previous best was four weeks. It’s not that I have any secret formula or back door passes, but getting the application forms properly completed and supporting documents in the correct format does go a long way to ensuring that Centrelink can process the application without any issues being raised. There’s that and the fact that Centrelink is working overtime on all levels to address the enormous number of applications it has been receiving. The accountability is on the client to understand the questions in the application form and any subsequent “request for information” which can become an exercise in mind reading and needs the appropriate consideration and attention. In saying that, do not be put off by the application. My recommendation if you come across a grey area, is to write an explanation. And this is where CAPA Services can help.

NARELLE COOPER DIRECTOR CAPA SERVICES CENTRE FOR AGE PENSION ADMIN SERVICES 07 5354 0144 ADMIN@CAPASERVICES.COM.AU

18 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

18.indd 2

AGED CARE

FINANCIAL ADVICE

The healing power of your favourite tunes If you’re getting restless staying at home during the pandemic, try listening to music. Medical research shows more ways that music can assist you and your loved ones in these challenging months: 1. Pain relief – Those who were listening to music during surgery used less of this top-up medication. The music was calming in itself. So, why not reach for the CD player to aid your pain relief at home? 2. Better brain health – According to the Mayo Clinic, people with dementia can benefit from singing or listening to music. It can lower agitation and improve mood. The part of the brain responsible for storing musical memories is often less affected by dementia. 3. Improved balance – Regular exercise to music can reduce risk of falls. It will build your muscles, help you stay mobile and increase blood flow. Better balance boosts confidence too. 4. Enhanced sleep – The Sleep Foundation says listening to 45 minutes of music at bedtime can help you fall asleep faster, sleep longer and wake during the night less often. Well-chosen music lowers your heart rate and breathing.

KENDALL MORTON DIRECTOR, HOME CARE ASSISTANCE SUNSHINE COAST 5491 6888 HOMECAREASSISTANCESUNSHINE COAST.COM.AU

Lower deeming rates are here Good news is currently hard to find, but new lower deeming rates may give relief to some people through higher cashflows – and comes as good news. Deeming simplifies how your investments are assessed for Centrelink/ Veterans’ Affairs entitlements and aged care fee contributions. WHAT ARE THE NEW DEEMING RATES? Deeming rates fell by 0.75% on May 1. This has reset deeming rates to: Value of financial investments:

Deeming rate (per annum)

Single person:

Up to $51,800 Above $51,800

0.25% 2.25%

Couple (combined)

Up to $86,200 Above $86,200

0.25% 2.25%

WHO IS LIKELY TO BENEFIT? The benefit of the lower deeming rates may be seen through higher pension entitlements and lower aged care fees. People who are likely to benefit are those: • Receiving a part-pension that is assessed under the income test • Paying an income-tested fee for home care packages • Paying a means-tested fee for residential aged care • Who are low-means and paying a daily

accommodation payment (DAP) towards residential aged care accommodation. Self-funded retirees who missed out on an age pension because of their level of assessable income may wish to review their situation to see if they now qualify. If you benefit from the lower rates, you will see the age pension changes in your next payment. This will happen automatically without you doing anything. If financial advice is needed, we are here to help. We can help with calculations and advice to ensure you are managing cashflow most effectively. And in the spirit of social distancing, we are able to run meetings via video conferencing. Contact us today.

KIRK JARROTT POOLE GROUP ACCOUNTANTS & INVESTMENT ADVISERS STOCKLAND HOUSE LEVEL 1, 8 INNOVATION PARKWAY BIRTINYA. 5437 9900. POOLEGROUP.COM.AU

Sunshine Coast

21/05/2020 10:22:27 AM


More than just in home care ✓ Daily Care Experts

✓ Peace of Mind

✓ 24/7 Availability

✓ Promotes a healthy

✓ High Caliber Caregivers ✓ No Long-Term Contracts

mind, body & spirit

✓ Low Fees

Call today to speak with a home care expert and arrange a FREE in-home consultation.

Sunshine Coast (07) 5491 6888 |

Home Care Assistance_Concepts_FP_YT_APRIL 2019.indd 1

19.indd 3

What our clients say “Thanks to Kendall and Robyn (my carer), my life has improved immeasurably. I now have regular outings with Robyn who also helps me at home. I absolutely recommend Home Care Assistance to anyone who is looking for help.” Jocelyn, Nambour

Kendall Morton Director

www.homecareassistancesunshinecoast.com.au

19/03/2019 4:07:12 PM

20/05/2020 12:43:54 PM


RETIREMENT LIVING

COMMUNITY KEEPS OPTIONS OPEN FOR FUTURE CHANGES

TAKE A BREAK WITH PEACE OF MIND MANY families come to require respite or permanent aged care and support for loved ones who can no longer live independently. At McKenzie, there is the security of 24-hour clinical and medical support and assistance as well as access to visiting allied health services including podiatry, dental and physiotherapy. Working together with families, individualised care plans are developed to match a resident’s specific requirements. As McKenzie offers a wide range of aged care services, if needs change in the future, the specialist care in comfortable and familiar surroundings can continue. The McKenzie Lifestyle Team makes each day active and engaging for

residents. There is plenty of opportunity to relax and take some time out, or to visit the hairdressing salon. Residents can be as active or relaxed as they choose. An onsite chef and dietitian work together to create a nutritionally balanced menu to suit tastes and dietary requirements. Communities are purpose-built and all areas are accessible to accommodate all levels of mobility. Private, spacious and comfortable rooms in a safe, secure and happy environment give peace of mind. Permanent care is available as well as respite options that are affordable and flexible for carers. Call 1300 899 222 or visit mckenzieacg.com

Pam O’Grady, Auriol Kirkham, Marion Shepherd, Val Rees, Gwen Lose and Barbara Axam enjoy the retirement community social life. VAL Rees has lived in a retirement community for nine years and has gradually taken on more of the services and assistance offered by the village as time has gone by. “When I moved to TriCare James Ommaney Retirement Community, I was totally independent,” she said. “I cooked and cleaned for myself, and also drove to the supermarket and to various activities outside the village”. One of the main reasons Val decided to move into retirement living was for the company, but she also wanted to have

easy access to more assistance when the need arose. “I stopped driving two years ago and now use the village’s community bus to go shopping and I enjoy the regular outings to the local shopping centre and further afield,” she says. “I have a cleaner once a week, and enjoy a delicious lunch at our in-house restaurant but still have dinner and breakfast in my unit.” A busy social calendar provides residents with many opportunities to socialise with their neighbours, and to get out and about among their community. Activities aren’t restricted to the village, with regular day trips held in and around the region, including recent trips to the Rainforest Discovery Centre at Mary Cairncross Park, New Farm Park and to Poppy’s Chocolate Factory. Mrs Rees is an active member of the TriCare James Ommaney community and loves the opportunity to contribute by organising the weekly craft and chat sessions. Monthly music and morning tea for residents to share their favourite music CDs over a cuppa, are also popular. Personal health and wellbeing is catered for with a hairdressing salon, regular visits from allied professionals such as a podiatrist, and weekly balance classes and church services. Visit tricare.com.au

As an approved Aged Care and NDIS provider Candice Care offers in home, tailored supports to people in your local community. ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔

Home Care Personal Care Allied Health Transport Meal Preparation Respite Accommodation Social Support & more

Contact us now to find the right support for you or a loved one.

1800CANDICE (1800 226 342) | hello@candicecare.org.au 20 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

20.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 1:01:21 PM


CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

SUDOKU (EASY)

8 5 6 1 3 7 9 4 2

4 3 2 6 5 9 7 8 1

9 1 7 8 2 4 6 5 3

1 6 9 2 4 8 5 3 7

7 2 4 3 9 5 1 6 8

5 8 3 7 1 6 2 9 4

SUDOKU (MEDIUM)

3 4 5 9 7 2 8 1 6

5 9 3 2 6 4 8 1 7

CODEWORD L X R I H V F B O K Z WQ 15

2

1

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

S D T M J Y C A P N U E G 4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

8 2 6 9 1 7 4 3 5

7 3 8 4 2 1 6 5 9

2 4 9 6 8 5 1 7 3

6 1 5 3 7 9 2 8 4

4 5 7 8 9 2 3 6 1

3 8 1 7 4 6 5 9 2

9 6 2 1 5 3 7 4 8

Secret message: Cold-blooded beings

13

9-LETTER WORD

3

1 7 4 5 3 8 9 2 6

WORDFIND

14

1. What supermarket chain has the slogan, “Ingredients for everyday”? 2. What is the fourth root of 16? 3. How many solstices does Queensland experience each year? 4. Pluck a Duck and Red Faces were segments in what TV show? 5. Conjunctivitis affects what body organ? 6. Who was the first person to hit a golf ball on the Moon? 7. What do the German words “das boot” mean in English? 8. The coal-loading facility Port Waratah is near which major city? 9. In which jail was Ned Kelly hanged? 10. The Cayenne is a model of what luxury car? 11. What large scavenger is known as a “bin chicken”? 12. Where did Ash Barty win her first Grand Slam title? 13. Which Australian actress was born in Honolulu in 1967? 14. Which of the Seven Dwarfs is missing: Grumpy, Doc, Happy, Sleepy, Dopey, Sneezy? 15. What cosmetic medical procedure removes fat from the human body? 16. Which Australian state capital is near the foot of the Mount Lofty Ranges? 17. What type of charge does an electron have? 18. What organisation did Julian Assange establish in 2006? 19. In what century was Queen Victoria born? 20. What is the 23rd letter of our alphabet?

PUZZLE SOLUTIONS QUICK CROSSWORD

6 7 1 5 8 3 4 2 9

With Quizmaster Allan Blackburn

2 9 8 4 6 1 3 7 5

TRIVIA

WORD STEP spine, spice, slice, slick, flick, flock There may be other correct answers

abet, able, abler, ably, albeit, bail, bailer, bailey, bait, bale, baler, bare, barely, barite, barley, bate, bear, beat, belay, belt, beryl, beta, betray, bevy, bier, bile, bite, biter, blare, blear, bleary, bleat, brae, brat, brave, bravely, bray, brevity, brie, brit, byre, byte, liber, liberty, libra, table, trebly, tribal, tribe, trilby, verb, verbal, VERITABLY, viable, viably, vibe, vibrate

1. Drake’s; 2. Two; 3. Two; 4. Hey Hey It’s Satuyay. 5. Eyes; 6. Alan Shepard; 7. The boat; 8. Newcastle; 9. Melbourne; 10. Porsche; 11. Ibis; 12. Roland Garros, Paris; 13. Nicole Kidman; 14. Bashful; 15. Liposuction; 16. Adelaide; 17. Negative; 18. WikiLeaks; 19. 19th; 20. W.

More than just in home care ✓ Daily Care Experts ✓ 24/7 Availability ✓ High Caliber Caregivers ✓ No Long-Term Contracts

✓ Promotes a healthy mind, body & spirit

Sunshine Coast (07) 5491 6888 |

21.indd 3

“I absolutely recommend Home Care Assistance to anyone who is looking for help.” Jocelyn, Nambour

✓ Low Fees

Call today to speak with a home care expert and arrange a FREE in-home consultation.

Sunshine Coast

What our clients say

✓ Peace of Mind

Kendall Morton Director

www.homecareassistancesunshinecoast.com.au June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 21

20/05/2020 12:44:42 PM


PUZZLES

CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

ACROSS

DOWN

1 6

2

Baker’s finance (5) Adjust new plans for the Rialto? (6) 7 Many a sea-going eel migrates according to the lines of descent (11) 8 A petty quarrel over past sins (4) 9 I hear you stop several feet from the creature! (4) 13 Half the world’s cerebral grey matter perishes tragically after the end of the material (11) 14 Ann shoots through the heart of the criminal with her big gun (6) 15 Toys cure palsy! (5)

CODEWORD

No. 2562

Those that swim well or rest poorly (6) 3 Over the eons granite metamorphoses, but it takes many years of DNA provisions, I see (11) 4 The way he urged fiscal reform was shameful (11) 5 Instruments for officers? (5) 6 One is informed that we all become ancient after a time (4) 10 You had a drink because you were feeling shyer, right? (6) 11 The current encounter was a rude surprise (5) 12 No physical education arranged to start (4)

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WORDFIND

12

13

25

26

Who’s for Tamworth CMF 2021! JOIN THE FUN...

WORK IT OUT!

W Q

The leftover letters will spell out a secret message No. 035

ALLIGATOR BOA CHAMELEON COPPERHEAD CROCODILE DRAGON IGUANA LIZARD MONITOR PYTHON SNAKE TIGER TORTOISE TUATARA TURTLE VENOMOUS

Copyright © Reuben’s Puzzles www.reubenspuzzles.com.au. Refer to the website for a cryptic solving guide.

Australia’s Largest Festival

No. 035

SUDOKU Level: Medium

9

1

3 8 1 7

No. 850

6 4 4 1 9 5 9 4 8 7

6 1 5 7 5 9

9 2

9 6 2 4

2

4

Tamworth Country Music Festival Bus Trip 2021

The Great Western Play & Stay Musical Tour 2021…

Bus, Bed & Breakfast

M d 20/09/21 Monday to Thursday 30/09/21 Bus, Bed, Breakfast, Nightly Meals & Entertainment

$850

$2900 per person

Tuesday 19/01/21 to Sunday 24/01/21 TAMWORTH CMF 2021!

per person

11 Day Musical Tour with 12 Country/Western, Rock n Roll Artists. See the Outback like you’ve never seen it before!

For more information or enquiries please contact GREG & DONNA ROSS. PH: (07) 4129 7132 OR 0427 297 132 e: rossbuscharters@bigpond.com www.ganddrossbuscharters.com.au 22 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / June 2020

22.indd 2

Sunshine Coast

20/05/2020 12:46:01 PM


PUZZLES

QUICK CROSSWORD

No. 3663

9-LETTER WORD

SUDOKU

No. 035

Level: Easy

Today’s Aim:

L

28 words: Good 42 words: Very good

A

57 words: Excellent

I

T

B

E R

Y

V

WORD STEP

ACROSS

DOWN

1 6 9 10 11 12

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 13 14 16 17 21 22 24 25

15 17 18 19 20 23 26 27 28 29

Schools (9) Vote for (5) Establish (3,2) Ad (9) Reject (5) Listed in a hierarchy (6) Attacker (9) Discover (5) Felony (5) Provisional (9) Resting (6) Cars (5) Bandit (9) Earth in Latin (5) Result (5) Dangled (9)

6 3 8 9 7 5 5 2 5 9 1 1

Using the nine letters in the grid, how many words of four letters or more can you list? The centre letter must be included and each letter may only be used once. No colloquial or foreign words. No capitalised nouns, apostrophes or plural words ending in “s”.

No. 035

No. 849

4 8 7 1

6 8 9 4 7

4 8 5 7 5 5 6 9 3 7 8

WORK IT OUT!

Complete the list by changing one letter at a time to create a new word at each step. One possible answer shown below.

Aid (10) Benevolent (10) Dear (9) Major (9) Faint (5) Summon (5) Discharge (4) Aquarium (4) Enlisted (10) Comprehend (10) Dogged (9) Underwrite (9) Subject (5) Sporting sides (5) Unemployed (4) Purposes (4)

spine

_____ _____ _____ _____ flock June 2020

everyone has a story A story filled with love, loss and adventure. It is a history that is priceless to family. It is a history that usually relies on faded memories, tired photographs and unreliable anecdotes. All those pieces of the jigsaw can be put together to make one big, beautiful, flowing narrative – A LIFE STORY Michael Taylor has written his own memoir, & six books for Sunshine Coast locals...biographical tales of creative non-fiction that create a legacy for future generations

David Wise Solicitor Retirement Village Lawyer Specialist advice for residents, former residents and prospective residents

Contract Reviews - Village Exits - Dispute Resolution Estate Administration - Discount Probate

Talk to Michael about preserving your own true history

Ph: 0413 994329 number41.lifestory@gmail.com www.number41.com.au Sunshine Coast

23.indd 3

0412 254 080 dtwise@gmail.com www.davidwisesolicitor.com.au June 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 23

20/05/2020 12:46:41 PM


OFF 20%

SAVE SECURITY SCREENS & DOORS

CHECK OUT OUR QUALITY

INDOOR BLINDS ALL AUSTRALIAN MADE FABRICS

MADE LOCALLY IN OUR QLD FACTORY

QUEENSLAND

FREE & QUOTE

MEASURE 1300657100

B L I N D S R

BLINDS

AWNINGS

WWW.IMAGEBLINDS.COM.AU

SHUTTERS

SECURITY

&RQGLWLRQVDSSO\2Ï&#x192;HUYDOLGWR-XQHQBCC LIC. 1302235

24.indd 2

20/05/2020 12:47:33 PM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

Your Time Magazine Sunshine Coast - June 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Your Time Magazine Sunshine Coast - June 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded