Page 1

Your Time Your premier 55+ magazine

FREE

Active life

TIPS AND HINTS FOR SAVING YOUR SANITY

When did that happen? THE ART OF AGEING WITHOUT GETTING OLD BRISBANE EDITION 62 MAY, 2020

01.indd 1

+

WELLNESS BOOKS PUZZLES

22/04/2020 3:38:34 PM


AC T N OW

15K REBATE OFFER

$

* AZURE BLUE CARINA

2 BEDROOM APARTMENTS FROM $505,000** p-0" *#0#2'0#+#,2*'4',%5'2&-30}txAsss0# 2# 4'* *#-,*'+'2#",3+ #0-$1.!'-31A/3*'27A+-"#0, .02+#,215'2&%#,#0-311'8#" *!-,'#1-4#0*--)',% .#!#$3* 31&*,"1#22',%@ Centrally located in an inner Brisbane neighbourhood close to major shopping, medical, transport and health services.

Make your wise move today Call 07 3155 2126 or visit www.AzureBlue.com.au/Carina *Applies only to select apartments settled by 30 June 2020, full T&C’s available on the website. **Price correct as of March 2020.

wxx'!&+-,"-"A0',

02.indd 2

23/04/2020 9:09:32 AM


Editor’s note

W

ell, we made it! With so much of our lives disrupted and all the usual activities turned upside down, it was touch and go for a while. But despite being dramatically reduced in size, we have survived to tell the story, or in our case, stories. And Pauline Clayton offers a good read this month with the tale of her realisation that she is now considered “elderly”, although she’s not quite sure how that happened. A friend of mine in her early 80s, who thought she was anonymous in her busy London suburb, relayed a similar story. She had often waved to her neighbours but could not say she knew them, so was surprised when, after the lockdown, there was a knock at the door.

Brisbane

03.indd 3

Contents “Next door” was offering to help with groceries, or anything else they might need, and giving reassurance that help was at hand. My friend, who is so fit she still teaches dance classes, was stunned. “I had no idea that we were considered the oldies next door,” she said. “It had never occurred to us that we might be seen as aged and infirm and while the offer was very kind, I wasn’t quite sure how to take it.” Or as another friend put it, “we were worried about the elderly until we realised that we are the elderly.” Pauline investigates the question of “when did we get this way?” Whatever that answer may be, it seems the Baby Boomers, like everything else they have done all their lives, are doing it en masse and the world knows about it. It’s not so much about ageing gracefully or otherwise, but just ageing generally. It’s simply not on our agenda yet, despite the creeping aches and pains. While it proved impossible to live up to my declaration that this issue would be a Covid-free zone, hopefully you will find the tips and ideas of our columnists helpful at this time. Dorothy Whittington, Editor

4

COVER STORY

6

AGES AND STAGES

7

BITS AND PIECES

10

ACTIVE LIFE

13

ON TRACK

13

TRAVEL

16

HEALTH

17

FINANCE

18

RETIREMENT LIVING

19

WELLBEING

19

INDUSTRY EXPERTS

20

BOOK REVIEW

21

TRIVIA QUIZ

22

PUZZLES

6

7

13

19

PUBLISHER Michelle Austin 5493 1368. EDITOR Dorothy Whittington editor@yourtimemagazine.com.au ADVERTISING ENQUIRIES 0438 717 210. sales@yourtimemagazine.com.au. FOR DIGITAL EDITIONS AND MORE yourtimemagazine.com.au. DISTRIBUTION ENQUIRIES distribution@yourtimemagazine.com.au. Your Time Magazine is locally owned and published by The Publishing Media Company Pty Ltd ATF The Media Trust (“the Publisher”). No part of this publication may be reproduced or copied in any form by any means without the prior written consent of the Publisher. The Publisher does not assume responsibility for, endorse or adopt the content of any advertisements published in Your Time Magazine, either as written copy or inserts, given such content is provided by third parties and contains statements beyond the Publisher’s personal knowledge. The information contained in Your Time Magazine is intended as a guide only and does not represent the view or opinion of the Publisher or its editorial staff. Professional advice should be sought before applying any of the information to particular circumstances. Whilst every reasonable care is taken in the preparation of Your Time Magazine, the Publisher and its editorial staff do not accept liability for any errors or omissions it may contain.

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 3

23/04/2020 9:10:09 AM


COVER STORY

The art of ageing without becoming old It can happen without you even knowing, and sometimes you find out quite by chance that you have joined the ranks of “the oldies”. PAULINE CLAYTON muses on the good, the bad and the ugly delivered by the passing years.

W

ho would believe that boarding a No.159 London bus on Brixton Rd, would be a soul shattering moment? A woman stood up to give me her seat. What? Why? Naturally, I nodded graciously but as I sat, I was confused, nonplussed. Training twice a week, I’m fit and standing on a bus is not a problem. Was it because I’ve stopped colouring my hair and gone grey? I’m not stooped, not overweight (well the waist has thickened), so am I really that wrinkled? Nah – it’s just the English polite gene. But I travelled on to St Petersburg and it happened again on their remarkable,

marble-decorated underground train system. And again, a few days later in Moscow, it happened yet again on that city’s immaculate, chandeliered, underground rail system. I stopped over in Shanghai on the way home, and yes, it happened again. Even more galling was that a seriously elderly, tiny, stooped Chinese lady carrying a large, plastic bag of shopping, refused my offer of a seat. Thankfully, she at least got off at the next station. The English, Russian and Chinese men and women who stood for me were, to my mind, not overly young, sheeting home the fact that the world over, I’m now considered elderly.

When did I get that way? Until the nice lady stood up for me on the Brixton bus, I hadn’t considered I was “looking through the wrong end of the telescope” to quote Sir Billy Connolly. No. I was active, working fulltime and wondering if there was still a chance for another romance. But on reflection, warning signs were there, the little triggers, such as the government letter telling me to get a medical certificate to retain my driver’s licence. Plucking my chin instead of my eyebrows. Being offered the seniors’ menu; realising the designated seniors parking is for you; being called ma’am and not being questioned when asking for a senior’s discount. Slacks longer? Or have I shrunk? We do not slide graciously into old age, we lurch The moment for esteemed Australian author Helen Garner was her doctor advising rest because “you are 71”. After sulking for a week “surveying her lengthening past and shortening future”, Garner faced up to the fact that women, beyond a certain age, are often considered: “weak, deaf, helpless, ignorant and stupid”. She chose to drop what she calls the shield of feminine passivity and answered back and then wrote an essay The Insults of Age. In the bowels of a relevant government department where bureaucrats tick boxes, we are relegated to the “older person” demographic the day we turn 65, regardless of how we look or how we feel.

Your retirement, your choice. Choose your entry price at Brisbane’s newest boutique retirement community.

Pay more or less upfront when you move in. It’s your choice.

There is an advantage here, as the sheer numbers, knowledge and experience, makes the “oldies” the largest voting/marketing block in the world. Which leads us to AGNES (Age Gain Now Empathy System), created by an AgeLab team at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to improve products for old people other than pill dispensers and walking frames. The director Joseph Coughlin (author of The Longevity Economy) had to remind his young designers that there’s more to ageing than taking meds, checking blood pressure and waiting to die. Mercedes Benz was an early client, charging AgeLab to make interiors easier for older adults to get in and out of their cars. Loughlin believes Prada should be making hearing aids, like glasses, to be a fashion statement.

W

hile bits fall off and others ache, growing old can be liberating, as there’s so much less to worry

about. Woke is the past tense of wake, nothing to lose sleep over there. When “gender dysphoria” replaced “gender identity disorder” did we panic? Of course not. By now we are comfortable in our skin and whatever gender fits. Public toilet re-signing can be a cause to pause, as we wonder just who qualifies to use a genderless, multi-communal facility? In February, American actor Joaquin Phoenix, accepting his well-earned Oscar award before a lavish Hollywood clutch of

1-BEDROO M APARTME NTS FROM $38 7,000

07 3858 3077 | www.alondra.com.au | 25 Union St, Nundah 4 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

04.indd 2

Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:10:49 AM


COVER STORY

A SMILE IS HAPPINESS confusion, said we should stop putting milk in our coffee, tea and cereal because it was cruel to cows. The best and brightest of Hollywood applauded with gusto, but did it worry us? Not likely. We do occasionally wonder if anyone believes that actress Jane Fonda’s babysmooth face is the result of the age-perfect face cream she promotes or more a case of photographic air brushing. Then there’s the British NHS advertising that it is “ensuring pregnant transmen get equal quality care”. Not our worry. We have seen the clunky immovable Bakelite phone handset of our youth replaced by a sliver of a screen on which we can chat in real time to those we love in faraway places, and more than one at time! What more wonders lie ahead? We keep an eye on the kids on Facebook, but we’re not going to let our friends including unknown “friends” know about our stubborn in-grown toenail. More important is the diminishing number of dawns and sunsets to enjoy. We’ve put the best dinner set in the kitchen and now drink out of the heirloom crystal glasses. We recognise being bullied by a bureaucrat or salesperson, and a la Helen Garner, answer back with steely eyes and the comment that grey hair does not denote senility. We notice the emails, like letters from the postman, have dwindled to a charming few, but we still keep notepaper and thank-you cards and use them. We don’t stop on the golf course, or in the movies to answer the mobile phone. So smart are these phones they tell us who called and what they said, so we can answer when we are good and ready.

Brisbane

05.indd 3

Twittering is for twits. We have life stories to tell, not short bursts of angst. We grew up in an age of factual news reporting before floods, fires and tempests were reported as apocalyptic emergencies. This generation will soon run out of adjectives. And has there ever been a time in our lives when there isn’t a war somewhere in the world? Many still running. We are no longer charged with finding the solution. The highlight of the day is morning coffee not only because we woke up, but because we have all day ahead.

I

n south-east Queensland, there are literally thousands of volunteering roles, including local government’s Adult Literacy Program in which you can assist adults to improve their language skills. Reading to small groups of primary school children is popular. Charitable organisations such as Lifeline, Bloomhill Cancer Care, Salvation Army and the hospitals, have a variety of volunteering roles for those aged 18 to 85 from all walks of life. There are the Men’s Sheds and emerging Women’s Sheds, and the long established community services, Apex, Rotary, Lions, all offering team spirited community service. Scottish-born comedian Sir Billy Connolly, now 77 and suffering from Parkinson’s, has just finished another book and is out giving interviews and making documentaries. “You get on and deal with it,” he said in a recent interview. “We only pass this way once.” Super cook Nigella Lawson, turning a mere 60, said ageing was mortifying but added “the best of old age is to relish solitude”, and she is glad she can fashionably clump around in trainers.

O

k, so you contacted the My Aged Care department and had a safety rail put in the shower (liquid soap slippery); and have given up the gym for lighter pilates classes in a farewell to youth. Fitness trainer Mark Priest, who plays for an over-60s veteran’s cricket team, says one hour a day will do it. If you cannot walk, swim; if you cannot swim, stretch. This is not the time for fear, because happiness in old age has been proven to produce resilience and to remain young while accepting ageing. French author Marie de Hennezel wrote in The Warmth of the Heart prevents your Body from Rusting, “There is nothing older than not wanting to grow old. But the worst is not inevitable. Something within us does not grow old.” And the last word from Welsh poet Dylan Thomas’s villanelle to his father: “Do not go gentle into that good night “Old age should burn and rave at the close of day. Rage, rage, against the dying of the light.”

WHEN YOU NEED IT Visit the My Aged Care website for information and access to the Australian Government–funded aged care services. Free call 1800 200 422 Monday to Friday 8am-8pm and Saturday 10am-2pm. Visit myagedcare.gov.au The Aged Care Act 1997 is to “to promote high quality care and services” Queensland Community Support Scheme Access Point staff determine the support needed to remain living independently at home Free call 1800 600 300, email QCSSaccesspoint@ozcare.org.au or visit qld.gov.au/community

Comedian Henny Youngman: “I’ve got all the money I’ll ever need if I die by four o’clock this afternoon.” Comedy writer Clive Anderson: “I’m not bald. I’m just taller than my hair.” Dancer Fred Astaire: “Old age is like everything else. To make a success of it, you’ve got to start young.” French composer: Daniel Francois Esprit Auber: “Ageing seems to be the only available way to live a long life.” Comedian Milton Berle: “I still have a full deck. I just shuffle slower.” In a movie, actress Bette Davis said: “Old age is no place for sissies.” Author Clifton Fadiman: “After 50 a man discovers he does not need more than one suit.” Comedian Jackie Mason: “It’s no longer a question of staying healthy. It’s a question of finding a sickness you like.” Actress Annette Bening: “I’m really looking forward as I get older and older, to being less and less nice”. TV series character Rab C Nesbitt (as played by Gregor Fisher): ‘I am at that age. Too young for the bowling green, too old for Ecstasy.” Anon: “Today is the yesterday you worried about tomorrow.” Comic Pete Wright: “For 70 years a heterosexual I now realise it was just a phase.” Singer Frank Sinatra: “May you live to be 100 and may the last voice you hear be mine.”

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 5

23/04/2020 9:24:05 AM


AGES AND STAGES

by Mocco Wollert

I THINK I was born with a book in my hand. I cannot imagine a day without holding a book and immersing myself into its story. When I was a teenager and started to read in earnest, I was constantly in trouble at home because I would forget or ignore my chores. I always had my nose stuck in a book. I find it strange now that I my grandchildren do not seem to read at all; although that is not strictly correct because they do read, just in a different way. They have their noses stuck into their mobile phone or iPad. My father belonged to a book club and received regular parcels of books, leather-bound and beautiful. As soon as a new batch arrived, I was

on them like a vulture. There were always books I was forbidden to read, which of course made me all so much keener. Anna Karenina was one of them. Young teenage girls were not supposed to read “immoral” stuff like that. I did! In fact, I read Simone de Beauvoir, Sartre, Camus, Kafka, and Tolstoy, understanding only half of what the writers were saying. I always loved poetry. When I still lived in Germany, I read poems of the famous German poets such as Goethe and Schiller over and over. Many I learned by heart at school and I can still recite some. When I came to Australia, I discovered Shakespeare, Banjo Paterson, Bruce Daw, Kath Walker – such a diverse bunch and I loved them all. Is there anything better than to switch your reading light on, wriggle into your favourite chair, pick up your book, anticipating adventure, drama, love triangles? Ready to follow the story, curious to find the perpetrator? Nothing replaces a book in my world. I do not know for how much longer we will be able to buy “real” books as more and more stores are closing their doors. I think I was very fortunate to have lived most of my life in the decades when books were treasures, to be discovered, cherished and enjoyed. May you find new authors and enjoy the stories they tell.

by Cheryl Lockwood

I AM privileged to have not only a wonderful mother, but also a beautiful mother-in-law and with Mother’s Day coming up this month, I will share one of her adventures, rather than my own. My mother-in-law is a pint-sized, dynamo of a woman, now in her 90th year, who still embraces life head on and with lots of laughter. She is one of those people who greets the world and everyone in it with good cheer. Nearly 20 years ago, the in-laws were visiting to spend time with us and our two children. We took them on a leisurely houseboat trip, which they enjoyed immensely, especially the warm weather, as they had travelled from cooler parts. Our houseboat was moored away

from the riverbank, so access was via a small dinghy which required a wellbalanced step when disembarking – not an issue for us, we had done it so many times that we were a little complacent and held the rope rather than tying it off straight away. On this particular day, as my motherin-law stepped from dinghy to deck, a breeze suddenly widened the gap. With one foot in the little boat and the other on the deck, the gap between her feet also widened. In what seemed like slow motion, she went in with a splash. She went under completely and emerged a second later with a gasp. My mother-in-law is very capable, but she cannot swim. My husband dived in and from the deck, I took her hand, while he pushed from behind. We managed to haul her aboard, her sodden clothes creating a pool around her feet. With her hand clamped over her mouth, she could barely speak. “Mum, are you alright?” With relief, we realised her inability to communicate was due to laughter and the hand over her mouth was from fear of losing her false teeth! The only first aid required was a towel, dry clothes and a cup of tea. As she expressed thanks for saving her life, we didn’t have the heart to mention that it was low tide and if she had stretched her legs she might have touched bottom.

As an approved Aged Care and NDIS provider Candice Care offers in home, tailored supports to people in your local community. ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔

Home Care Personal Care Allied Health Transport Meal Preparation Respite Accommodation Social Support & more

Contact us now to find the right support for you or a loved one.

1800CANDICE (1800 226 342) | hello@candicecare.org.au 6 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

06.indd 2

Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:39:45 AM


BITS & PIECES

STREWTH!

Call us today for on the spot cash sales. W WE ARE CURRENTLY LOOKING TO BUY: Jewellery - Rings, Brooches, Bangles, Cameos, Lockets, Diamonds, Old gold andd broken jjewellery ewel elle l ery ry Coins and Banknotes - Oriental Antiques - Ivory - Jade stcards War Medals and Souvenirs - Swords, Daggers, Bayonets, Flags, Trench art and postcards Coloured Glassware - Silverware - Bronzes - Australian Pottery - Native Artifacts One was sent to Cairo where it is today displayed in the open courtyard of the Cairo Museum, one was taken to Prussia by the Prussian expedition and is now in the Pelizaeus Museum in Hildesheim Germany, and two were taken the English and Italian consuls. The first is now kept by the British Museum in London and the second by the Egyptian Museum in Turin. In 1849, Lavrin was recalled from Egypt and transferred to Bucharest and then Vienna. He suffered from mental illness and was moved to Milan , where he was buried in 1869. His home, Villa Lavrin in Alexandria, was completely destroyed during the British shelling of the city in 1882. All records and documents were destroyed in the fire, thus no one has a single photograph of Sir Anton Lavrin.

China - Worcester, Moorcroft, Doulton, Shelley, all antique porcelain and pottery Watches and Clocks - Mantle, Wall, Grandfather, Carriage, Barometers, Gramophones PETER MARTIN of LYNZAY ANTIQUES FREECALL 1800 501 419 P Licenced (SHD 5368) 47 YEARS TRADING

QBSA: 1198481 PCO: 12811

A SMALL village in the mountains of Slovenia seems a most unlikely resting place for a sarcophagus from Ancient Egypt. But in Vipava, 75km south of the capital Ljubljana, there are two. Sir Anton Lavrin (1789-1869) who was the Austrian consul-general in Egypt, sent two red granite sarcophagi dating from the 4th and 5th dynasties (25th and 26th century BC) home to his tiny village in Slovenia in 1845. They had been found in the tombs of two courtiers at the foot of King Khafre’s pyramid in Giza. One belonged to the Pharoah’s courtier and confidante Rawer, and is now the tomb of Laurin’s father Jernej and mother Jozefa. The other was the tomb of the the Pharoah’s first born son, Prince Yunmin. At its new home in Slovenia, it was used for Lavrin’s son, Albert Alexander, who died as an infant. The sarcophagi are still part of the Lavrin-Hrovatin family tomb in the small and remote Vipava cemetery. There are only four other such sarcophagi in the world, all most likely from the court of Mikerinos.

WE PAY CASH

FOR ANTIQUES AND THE OLD AND INTERESTING FO G

Termite Inspections Termite Barriers Internal and External Pest Treatments (12 Month Warranty) Rodent Treatments Air Conditioner Bacteria Treatments Lawn Fertilizing and Weed Sprayings

25% Seniors Discount

STAMP OUT PESTS

AGJ

PEST MANAGEMENT

By Mocco Wollert There’s a hair on my chin and white in my hair, my nails are split and I need urgent care.

Family History Memorabilia made easy Thereâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s a variety of products available to you: Heirloom Photo Restoration Family History Books +Wâ&#x20AC;ŤŮşâ&#x20AC;ŹMM<IJTM*WWS[

But thereâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s no-one to make me look good, I just have to be thankful theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re bringing me food.

That the ostrich, at up to 2.8m tall and weighing more than 150kg, is the worldâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s largest flightless bird? In fact, it is the worldâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s largest bird and while it canâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t fly, it can run at speeds of up to 72km/h. The southern cassowary is the second largest at 75-80kg while the emu is much smaller at 36kg-40kg. The emperor penguin weighs an average of 29kg, while the little kiwi is less than 2kg and only 35-35cm high. The worldâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s smallest flightless bird is the Inaccessible Island rail, native to Inaccessible Island in the middle of the South Atlantic. It weighs less than 35g.

My shoes are all grounded, no reason to dress, weâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re stuck in our homes, we live under stress. That virus has done it and done it with zest, to make us look daggy and not at our best. So, put on lippy, wear pearls every day and hope that damned virus will soon go away.

Ph: 0421 533 002 agjpest@gmail.com

GETUIT

GRAPHICS www.getuitgraphics.com.au

Photograph Scanning .IUQTa<ZMM[WV" â&#x20AC;˘ Canvas; â&#x20AC;˘ Metal; â&#x20AC;˘ Glass.

Call now for more information and a quote. ph: (07) 3172 5860 mob: 0418 623 557 PO Box 225, FERNY HILLS QLD 4055

 Fresh Meals   



A sure sign that youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve joined the ranks of â&#x20AC;&#x153;getting olderâ&#x20AC;? â&#x20AC;&#x201C; as if you need another one â&#x20AC;&#x201C; is if it is referred to as â&#x20AC;&#x153;having a fallâ&#x20AC;? when you take a tumble. While younger people â&#x20AC;&#x153;fall overâ&#x20AC;?, â&#x20AC;&#x153;go for a neckaâ&#x20AC;? or â&#x20AC;&#x153;take a spillâ&#x20AC;? older people â&#x20AC;&#x153;have a fallâ&#x20AC;?. Why canâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t we just simply fall like everyone else, rather than having to have one? Brisbane

07.indd 3

               



   

   Phone us on (07)3142 9517 or visit our website www.my-meals.com.au May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 7

23/04/2020 9:25:17 AM


Active. Healthy. Happy. Our fitness philosophy.

Beachmere Bay

Caloundra Cay

Cooroy-Noosa

Freecall 1800 338 382 194 Bishop Road, Beachmere

Freecall 1800 556 677 96 Village Way, Little Mountain

Freecall 1800 885 851 15 Pearsons Road, Cooroy

08.indd 2

23/04/2020 9:26:10 AM


Luxurious living for over 50s. Our resorts are underpinned by our ďŹ tness philosophy to ensure that our residents have access to features and a resort environment that enhances both their physical and mental vitality and well-being. Each resort boasts a championship 8 rink undercover bowls green with its own clubhouse, ten pin bowling alley and indoor and outdoor swimming pools with a spa and sauna. Our resorts are also home to the German engineered Milon gym which makes workouts simple and straightforward with its state of the art technology. There are also quieter corners of each resort such as the games room for a round of chess or the library to keep the mind sharp. Our resorts are renowned for a balanced lifestyle of sports and leisure paired with luxurious modern homes. Additional caravan and RV storage is also now available at selected resorts, as well as home designs with RV garages.

BOOK A TOUR TODAY The best in over 50s lifestyle resorts. Itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s time for you. palmlakeresort.com.au | Information centres open 7 days

Master Builders Association Award Winning Resorts 2017 for Best Resort, Best Country Club and Best Home and 2018 Best Sporting and Leisure Facility

Toowoomba Pinnacle

*21480

Freecall 1800 280 129 97-161 Hogg St, Cranley

09.indd 3

23/04/2020 9:26:49 AM


ACTIVE LIFE

Tailor made plans get it right As we age, we are more likely to acquire biomechanical problems such as chronic neck or back pain, or a metabolic problem such as diabetes or osteoporosis, writes VICTORIA GILL.

T

here is extensive evidence supporting the need to do tailored physical activity to help address both joint and muscle pain, and systemic problems relating to bones, organs, lungs and circulation. And it is not only the over 55s who need specific programming for their individual needs. Recent research involving more than 650 people of different ages found that 45 per cent of the 40-49 age group were showing signs of pre-frailty, similar to the 70-75 group. Pre-frailty was identified as poor lower limb strength, balance, muscle mass, core control and dynamic trunk stability, all indicators which can be helped by the “right” exercise. This is “horses for courses” in the prescription of exercise and why it must be tailored. Since our muscle mass is slowly diminishing from 40

years on, progressive resistance training (or strength training) of some sort, becomes critical. There are various ways this can be achieved and it can be done both in a venue with equipment or at home with appropriate resources. Tailored exercise is not as dependent on where you do it as on who is designing your program. Once we are over 40, there are vast differences in our ability to move, lift, squat down, walk up stairs and hills, get down and up from the floor, complete tasks and recreational activities that require stamina. Before you start an exercise regime, source professional help for prescriptive programming, preferably with an exercise physiologist based in a wellness centre, or a facility with a gym catering for over 55s. Then see your doctor to discuss any concerns and recommendations.

Your doctor may decide to give you a care plan referral for sessions with the exercise physiologist. He or she will do this if you are eligible because you have a chronic condition which has been present for at least six months. You have choices in consulting your exercise physiologist. It could be face-toface or it could be by telehealth. A program called Green Apple Health@Home is an example of tailored programming from a distance for over 55s. Do the wrong thing or the wrong exercises and health problems will be exacerbated. Do the right thing and your tailored exercises to maximise enjoyment in life. Victoria Gill has been working in fitness and remedial therapies since 1978. Visit greenapplewellness.com.au

EXERCISE AT HOME If you have previously exercised at home, then the COVID-19 isolation restrictions are not an inconvenience to your exercise program at all, writes TOM LAW. But you will be missing the incidental exercise that comes with everyday life. YOU may be missing out on your bowls, the get-together for bridge or cards, an excursion or outing – all of these provide great opportunities to move the body and get some incidental exercise. Of course, visits to the shop for essentials are the only outing some of us may be getting. If you have a home exercise regime, well done and keep it up because it may be some time before you get to the gym again. If you are not getting any exercise at home, it may be a good time to start thinking about how you can do this. There are many things you can do at home – squats, lunges, and push-ups, even if they are adapted, are good ways to move your body. If you already do these, then try doing a few more each time or even the more difficult adaptions. Core (abdominal exercises)

can be just as easily done at home as in the gym. Sit-ups and crunches are great exercises. You should remember also that exercise cannot be banked – you must have a routine. Health recommendations include being active on most, preferably all, days of the week. Accumulate 150 to 300 minutes of moderate intensity exercise each week or 75 to 150 minutes of vigorous intensity exercise or a combination of both moderate and vigorous exercise. Muscle strengthening exercise should be at least two days a week. Social interaction is also a great thing for mental health and many of us are missing this. It goes hand in hand with physical wellness so make sure you work on getting both. Tom Law is the author of Tom’s Law Fit Happens. Visit tomslaw.com.au

the garden and getting into those low kitchen cupboards. Lateral raises with rice: This exercise will strengthen and shape your shoulders. Stand with your feet in a comfortable stance. Hold a rice bag or can in each hand. Lift each arm until it is parallel with the floor. Do this slowly and engage your core. Lower your arms in a controlled movement. Watch that your back doesn’t tense up. Repeat 10 times. Bicep curls with rice: Stand comfortably. Hold your weight in each hand with your forearms parallel to the floor.

Slowly bend your elbows so that your wrists come close to your shoulders. Slowly lower your weights again. This exercise strengthens your core muscles and your arms, making everyday activities more manageable. All of these exercises can be done with 10 repetitions and three sets. The exercises are of a general nature. Go slowly and stop if you experience pain.

TURN YOUR KITCHEN INTO YOUR GYM With the extra home time, TRISTAN HALL offers some fun ways to exercise using everyday items. FOR starters, look in your pantry and grab two items of equal weight, such as two cans of tomatoes or two bags of rice. Choose objects that you can lift 10 times with some effort – 500 grams or 1kg is a good place to start. Also make sure the objects are easy to grip. Avoid glass jars. Next find a broom handle or a walking stick. Anything over 1.2m will work. Again, it has to be easy to grip. Of course, if you already have some small free weights at home, use them. (By the way, these are called

free weights because your body is free to move as it needs to when completing an exercise. This is in contrast to rowing machines or other gym equipment that puts your body in a fixed position.) Free weights require more stabilisation from you. More muscles are engaged and this is good news. So, let’s start with the broomstick and pantry routine: Side Stretches: Hold the broomstick over your head and bend to the side until you feel a strong stretch. Check that you are in line with your body and not leaning

forward or back. Hold the stretch position for 15 seconds. Repeat 10 times slowly. Squats: Holding the broomstick out at arm’s length, squat down, being sure to keep your knees over your feet and not in front of them. Hold the squat position for 10 seconds then come up and repeat for 10 times. This exercise will strengthen the muscles around your knees and improve the fluid circulation in that area. The stick helps you balance. Squats are a very functional exercise. They will help you with bending down in

Tristan Hall is an exercise physiologist at Full Circle Wellness. Visit fullcirlcewellness. com.au

We believe in making it personal. Wills aren’t about lawyers, they’re about you, and your desire to ensure that the results of all your hard work are well protected. Our mission for over 30 years has been to provide easy to understand wills that are custom made for you and flexible enough to change as your circumstances change. We are pleased to announce our bespoke estate planning tool, to assist you in creating and updating a professional legal Will easily and efficiently online. To find out more visit degroots.com.au or call us today on 3221 9744.

10 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

10.indd 2

Phone 3221 9744 degroots.com.au Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:27:51 AM


UPDATE & RENOVATE

50% OFF ALL PRODUCTS*

Sale

U BLINDS PRICE PROMISE We will beat any written price

BY 10% * *for any comparabl e product

50%

50%

*

OFF

OFF*

PLANTATION SHUTTERS

FOLDING ARM AWNINGS

50%

50% OFF*

URBAN VENETIANS

OFF

ROLLER BLINDS ALOHA RANGE ONLY

50% EXTERNAL ZIPSCREEN

OFF*

50%

*

OFF*

FABRIC AWNINGS

50% ALUMINIUM SHUTTERS

OFF*

50% SHEER CURTAINS

OFF*

Our Sales/Installers follow hygienic & distance practices. Servicing all of Brisbane and suburbs. Call now for a Complimentary measure & quote

1300 303 391

www.ublinds.com.au

*Conditions apply, selected fabrics and materials. Offer ends 31/05/20 while stock lasts. Electrician & installation not included. QBCC # 1266708.

11.indd 3

23/04/2020 9:29:47 AM


FRIENDLY COMMUNITIES

BEAUTIFUL BRAND-NEW HOMES

AWARD-WINNING FACILITIES

PRICES STARTING FROM $363,000

YES, WE ARE OPEN FOR PERSONAL TOURS! The Living Gems community spirit has become even STRONGER over the last few weeks and our BIG GEM family has been working even harder during these unprecedented times. House hunting hasn’t been stopped yet! If you can’t make it in person, then please visit our website and experience one of our online tours – from the comfort and safety of your own home. Give us a call to book a personal tour of our fantastic display homes – THEY ARE STILL OPEN! Prices start from an amazing $363,000! Compare us with the rest. We think you’ll be impressed.

NO ENTRY FEES | NO DEFERRED MANAGEMENT FEES | PRIVATE GATED RESORT

1800 860 356 | 176 Torrens Road, Caboolture

12.indd 2

23/04/2020 9:30:12 AM


ON TRACK

Finding treasure after retirement Drawing on her experience as a psychologist over 25 years, JUDY RAFFERTY has written a guide to retirement covering such topics as maintaining identity, finding meaning and purpose, retaining visibility in an ageist society, and navigating change. This month she launches her new column.

“R

ewire rather than retire” is the motto of the Rewire group that meets with the goal of enhancing their individual retirements. This small group met during the earlier days of COVID-19 when it was still possible for up to 10 people to gather. Little did we know that these were heady times, and it would be our last meeting before group sizes would be restricted to two. At the meeting, Mary asked the group a question: “You all know I am retiring in early April. Some of you have been retired for a few years and some of you have only just retired. How will the restrictions of COVID-19 impact on my retirement?” The responses were interesting. The group seemed to split into two. Group A thought that the current situation would make her initiation into retirement harder, and Group B thought it would be easier. Group A said they were sorry for Mary because the joy and excitement of retiring would be lost. The sense of release and relief she may have experienced once freed from work would be reduced to feeling stuck at home.

Plans involving travel, catching up with friends, group activities, and volunteering would all be ashes. Where could Mary do volunteer work now? Group B had a different perspective. They said the COVID-19 social distancing measures t effectively meant a mass quasi retirement was taking place anyway. Normal work structures and the social elements of work were quickly being removed.

Many people have lost their jobs, and others are now working from home – suddenly without their usual routine and colleagues. So, Mary will simply be doing what everyone else is doing and feeling in sync with everyone. No prizes for guessing that the people in Group A had moved into retirement easily or were gleefully looking forward to it, whereas those in Group B had struggled with the onset of retirement. “How do I know if I will struggle or not?” Mary queried. Many people ask this question, regardless of whether a pandemic is happening. Many factors contribute to the ease or struggle of retiring. Money helps to smooth the path. But it is only one consideration. Ken, a self-identified retirement struggler from Group B, reminded Mary that he was still in the early days of retirement. He gave her this advice: “Whether you are about to retire or whether you have already, your preparedness is key. And in these days of lockdowns, are those preparations and expectations able to be adapted? For example, if you had expected

to do voluntary work why not offer to Skype with some friends and share with them something that you can teach. I know you have great IT skills.” This was great advice. Like most of us, Ken is now, suddenly, in a different and less fortunate financial position. This means the need to think creatively and explore options flexibly is paramount. As he lives alone, Ken also needs to ensure that he has daily social contact. The Rewire group is planning to meet virtually for morning tea twice a week. Mary is lucky. She can choose when she will retire. She might postpone it, on Group A’s advice, or step into it, which is Group B’s advice. But she has prepared and continues to ask and learn from others. Unfortunately, she cannot change or alter her changed financial situation, but while she waits and watches her focus is on learning how to do retirement well. Judy Rafferty is the author of Retirement Your Way, A Practical Guide to Knowing What You Want and How to Get It. Available at all good bookshops and online.

TRAVEL

HIT THE ROAD FOR TAMWORTH COUNTRY

Country music performer Bob Ovenden and Amy Ross on tour.

WITH international travel off the menu for a while yet, it’s a good time to consider a bus trip to get away from it all, and for Greg Ross, it’s all systems go for Tamworth in January 2021. The Tamworth Country Music Festival, the second biggest in the world after Nashville, celebrates country music culture and heritage with numerous concerts and performances at various venues starring the cream of Australian country. Greg and his wife Donna established their bus and charter tour business in 1994, building it from one bus and a school run in Maryborough to a fleet of 18 buses and

coaches with a reputation for safety and consistency. “If you like country music, know how to enjoy yourself and relish a beer, then come and join us,” Greg says. “Come and have a great fun trip with us.” The Tamworth trip is from Tuesday, January 19 to Sunday 24, 2021, at a cost of $850 for bus, bed and breakfast. While in Tamworth, Greg is talent spotting for his annual Great Western Play and Stay Musical Tour which this year is planned for September 15-25, when the bus will roll out with 12 country entertainers on board bound for a music-filled tour of

western and northern Queensland. “These are top entertainers that I find in Tamworth and see if they want to come. It introduces them to the western people and gets them known out there,” Greg says. “We do the tourist stuff during the day and sing and have a good time at night.” “Amy is hostess during the trip and I’m the driver,” Greg says. “We do the tourist stuff during the day and play at night.” The Great Western Play and Stay Musical Tour 2020 includes bus, bed, breakfast, nightly meals and entertainment, for $2900. Visit ganddrossbuscharters.com.au

Welcome to Wishart Christian Villagee

Architecturally designed, Wishart Christian Village is a beautiful boutique retirement home, comprising 29 units. With peaceful surrounds & an elevated position this secure gated estate is centrally located, close to bus stops with easy access to Garden City and Carindale dale Shopping Centres & local Churches. All units are air conditioned, have lock-up garages, paved & covered patios, 24/7 medical alarm monitoring & long-time managers live on site. ● ●

Strong Christian heritage ● Low quarterly fees Community Hall & beautiful Village Green ● Active Residents Committee Call today to make arrangements for an informal visit to the Village.

30/3 Erindale Close, Wishart Queensland Tel 3219 2386 admin@wcva.org.au

Brisbane

13.indd 3

www.wcva.org.au

Owned and Operated by Wishart Christian Village Association Incorporated ABN 67 089 024 936

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 13

23/04/2020 9:30:35 AM


Retirement living with peace of mind

With more than 30 villages across Queensland, choose from a range of low-maintenance homes that suit your lifestyle and budget, including additional support to live life your way.

BRISBANE SOUTH • • • •

Carramar Village, Sunnybank Hills Nandeebie Village, Alexandra Hills Wesleyville Village, Wynnum West Wondall Gardens, Manly West

BRISBANE INNER CITY

Secure and friendly communities with the freedom to enjoy what matters to you, Blue Care retirement villages are the perfect place to call home. 304'**%#1!0-113##,1*,"-p#0 a range of homes and apartments complete with contemporary kitchens, modern bathrooms and living areas designed to suit a variety of tastes. Enjoy recreational areas intended as an extension of your personal

living space. We welcome you and your visiting friends and family to relax, socialise and enjoy a peaceful or active lifestyle.

HELP AT HOME All residents in our retirement villages &4#2&#""#" #,#n2-$ #',% *# to access Blue Care’s Help at Home, if and when they need it. We will work with you to design and deliver the care and support you need, empowering you to live life your way.

• Iona Village, Kenmore • Tangara Village, West End

BRISBANE NORTH • • • •

Ibis Court Village, Deagon Kallmar Village, Kallangur #5 4#,'**%#A#"!*'p# North Pine Village, Lawnton

LOGAN • Bethania Haven, Bethania • Wirunya Village, Carbrook • Yurana Village, Springwood

GOLD COAST • Elanora Gardens, Elanora • Lakeside, Mermaid Waters

IPSWICH • Brassall Village, Brassall

SUNSHINE COAST • • • • •

Bli Bli Village, Bli Bli Caloundra Village, Dicky Beach Elandra Village, Warana Ben Bryce Village, Maleny Kirami Village, Caloundra

HERVEY BAY CHOICE Retirement living options to suit your lifestyle and budget

Proudly part of

14.indd 2

CONVENIENCE Located within easy reach of local shops and services

CARE AND SUPPORT Access to care and support services as you need them

• Masters Lodge, Hervey Bay

GRACEMERE • Gracemere Gardens, Gracemere

For more information call 1800 990 446 or visit bluecare.org.au/retirement-living

23/04/2020 9:34:06 AM


TANGARA RETIREMENT VILLAGE

1 BEDROOM APARTMENTS AVAILABLE FROM

$195,000*

Tangara retirement village is ideally located in the heart of West End in inner city Brisbane, within easy reach of transport, shops, services and Brisbaneâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s cultural precinct at South Bank. Experience the freedom of not having to take care of home maintenance and gardening, or worry about your home when youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re away. At Tangara village your home is safe and secure. With an active residentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; committee and social club, youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll be welcomed into a friendly and happy community. ,(-7p-0" *#*'4',%',,#*#42#".-1'2'-,2#12 ," with views of Brisbane city and surrounding suburbs. Each fully self-contained, one bedroom unit is refurbished to a quality standard providing a wonderful retirement lifestyle. The village also has a residentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; lounge, library, hairdressing salon and gym.

Welcoming and friendly community p-0" *#A1#*$R!-,2',#"A$3**70#$30 '1&#"3,'21 Close to shops, transport and health services Within easy reach of Brisbane CBD Safe and secure, with 24 hour emergency response Easy access to Blue Care Help at Home services

FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 1800 990 446 or visit bluecare.org.au/retirement-living

*Price current at time of print.

Tangara Village 35 Sussex Street, West End

15.indd 3

23/04/2020 9:34:24 AM


HEALTH

We help you exercise comfortably at home We have designed a new on-line exercise program for the duration of COVID-19 called Green Apple Health@Home This program is wonderful for people who feel they are not “gym-people” or seniors who want to boost their auto-immune systems, & it enables you to do your gym exercises in the comfort of your own home. Charlotte

This program is not difficult & we will help you every step of the way if you are not tech-savvy. You don’t actually need equipment because the main feature of Health@ Home is you train with a real person via the on-line program who tailors your exercises to exactly what you need. This exciting new exercise program is is very easy to set-up and our friendly staff are ready to help you with any inquiries you may have. Call Charlotte today!

Victoria Managing Director

16 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

16.indd 2

Train for life and go for gold We all want to live a healthy, productive life and feel well every day. THEO SHEMANSKY lists the five factors to achieve good health.

T

here are so many opinions in the health and wellness space it can quickly become confusing as to what is the best path to choose. As a doctor, I have come to know that among the many variables in our lives there are five key factors that we should focus on that have been proven to make a difference for our health. These have come to be known as the “5 Factors of Health” and can be summarised as eat, sleep, train, think, connect. Eat: What we do with food does not need to be complicated, but it does need to be sensible and it does need to be sustainable as a habit. Put simply, we should be eating real food – mostly vegetables, not too much. If we follow these simple rules, we will take care of the majority of the failings in most diets. Sleep: The most underrated component of our lives. It is too often seen as a badge of honour that we can get by on little sleep. The reality is that we all need 8-10 hours every night. At the very least we need to be getting 7+ hours. If we do not do this, we will suffer physically and mentally. Train: We need to train for life, and we need to be ready for whatever life throws

at us. Our bodies need constantly varied functional movement, performed at relative intensity four times a week. Think: Our mindset, or how we think, is an oft neglected facet of our health. But remember, our thoughts dictate our words, our words dictate actions, and our actions determine the outcome of our day. It all starts with mindset. If we think negatively, we will start to seek negativity and focus on it. Vice versa, if we think positively, we will instinctively seek out those things that reinforce our positive mindset. Connect: We need other people in our lives. We are social beings and we benefit from being around others, especially when we have a deep and meaningful connection with them. It is this depth of connection that makes a meaningful difference to our health. So, spend quality time with those that you care for and invest heavily in those relationships. The key to getting the most out of the 5 Factors of Health is to lean into them as much as we can, while trying to ignore factors outside of our control. Theo Shemansky is a movement specialist. Visit fitmedpulse.com

Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:34:53 AM


FINANCE

LEGAL ISSUES FOR BABY BOOMERS

PANDEMIC SICKENS RETIREMENT PLANS

The Baby Boomers worked hard and carried on the ideals and values of grandparents who lived through the Great Depression, and parents who survived World War II, writes DON MACPHERSON. Their industry, work ethic, and attitudes carried through.

T

he Baby Boomers are now retiring, and there are many legal challenges for this generation to deal with, which are highlighted even more by the current Coronavirus pandemic. Do you worry about having an adequate Will (or having any Will at all) to ensure that your wishes are carried out and your estate is managed as you intend? Do you worry in these times of isolation that an elderly parent is totally isolated, and falling under the influence of a family member that could give rise to elder exploitation and abuse? Are you concerned that the “granny flat” agreement you have entered into, or are considering, doesn’t offer the protection that ensures clarity and certainty going forward? Do you have a desire to be part of a residential community when this period

of enforced isolation comes to an end? Is it time to consider moving to a Retirement Village to become part of an active and engaging community? Are you in the situation of having to manage the estate of a deceased family member, and don’t know what to do or how to navigate the complexities involved? Brisbane Elder Law, experts in all aspects of elder law, including Wills, estates, elder abuse, and retirement village and aged care contracts, can help. Video conferencing is available to ensure advice can be given, and questions answered, in a safe, healthy and convenient way. Don Macpherson is an expert in elder law issues, including Wills, estates and abuse. Call 1800 961 622 or visit brisbaneelderlaw.com.au Video conferencing available.

RESEARCH has revealed that the older population struggles the most when it comes to having leftover spending money, with 43 per cent of over-60s admitting they’re either in credit or have less than $100 left after paying for essentials every month. The findings come from an independent survey of a nationally representative panel of 1006 Australian adults, commissioned by Money.com.au, a new consumer information platform. “It’s concerning, given that they’re at a stage in their lives when adequate funds should be set aside for retirement,” Money.com.au financial adviser Helen Baker said. “They’re also facing more pressures to save as cost of living and health care rises, and people live longer.” She said older Australians needed to assess ways to cut back on spending to ensure a comfortable retirement. Consider downsizing or even take on jobs such as Uber driving or mowing lawns. Her top five tips to help manage finances during Covid-19 are: 1. Try to get rid of existing debt while you

2.

3.

4.

5.

still can. Pay down or consolidate debt as soon as possible, particularly on high interest credit cards. Try generating a new income stream. Think about what hobbies you can do from home that you could monetise, such as offering music or language lessons via online videos. Analyse expenses to break the cycle. If you have little to no money left over after each pay, track your spending over a month and analyse where the money is going. Find work in industries that are moving. As people self-isolate and schools and businesses close, there could be a demand for work in certain areas – such as after-school care, tutoring and nannying. Create a financial back-up plan. It isn’t until major life events occur, or things go wrong, that we get a wake-up call and realise we need a back-up plan. If you’ve been living for the now, start building emergency funds in case of a hit to your income stream. Full survey results at money.com.au

WHEN HOME BECOMES MORE PRISON THAN CASTLE The refuge or fortress that is home can quickly become a burden and maybe even a prison in later life, writes PETER PORCELLINI. Enjoyable and manageable household activities can remove enjoyment from life when age or a decline in health takes hold.

T

he common reluctance to move from home causes the undoing of many lives. Procrastination or denial of the need to move often means that the decision and many related decisions end up being made in a rush at a time of relative chaos. As a result, the risk of poor or unsatisfactory decision making is high. The opportunity to make those decisions in an environment of relative calm and order with limited risk has been lost. Worse still, if the person has lost decision making capacity then the decisions will be made by someone else. The opportunity for self-determination and control will have been lost. When the need for a move is on the

horizon, it’s wise to do things such as explore available living options and get financial and legal advice. Planning ahead makes it easier to act when the time comes. As John F Kennedy said, “the time to repair the roof is when the sun is shining.” Many have an understandably strong wish to age in their own home for as long as is possible with care and assistance provided. For a number of reasons during most of the last decade, Retirement Village Operators and Manufactured Home Park Operators have had to grapple with how to satisfy this long-held wish. Increasingly village and park operators are offering structured opportunities to live in a manageable

independent living unit in a safe and supportive communal environment with a choice of care and assistance services. The method of delivery of the services varies. Some of the more common methods include: • The operator simply facilitating the attendance of service providers arranged personally by a resident. • The operator partnering with service providers to offer village-specific services or packages. • A method often referred to as a private aged care in which the operator directly provides a full suite of services. Regardless of delivery method, the services are usually either self-funded or funded with the assistance of a

Commonwealth Government Home Care Package. If the need to move from home is recognised and accepted early enough, then these scaled-down living arrangements with services might be a viable alternative. And if they are, then many argue that the continued level of independence and self-determination that comes with those arrangements might even help delay the time when the ability to live independently is lost and residential aged care becomes a necessity. Act early and get advice to understand the legal and financial implications of new living options as part of any planning. Peter Porcellini is a special counsel with CRH Law. Visit crhlaw.com.au

Practical Common Sense Legal Advice for you and your loved ones Premier Legal Advisors for: • Estate Management • Wills • Estate Disputes

• Retirement Village Contracts • Protection from Elder Abuse • Elder Law

WE OFFER VIDEO CONFERENCING VIA LAPTOP OR MOBILE Call now Brisbane

17.indd 3

1800 961 622 | www.brisbaneelderlaw.com.au | Newstead, Milton, Murarrie, North Lakes (FREE PARKING) May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 17

23/04/2020 9:35:27 AM


RETIREMENT LIVING

BROOKLAND WELCOMES NEW RESIDENTS IN CHANGING TIMES

LIVE THE GOOD LIFE AT AZURE BLUE

DOWNSIZERS can forget about home maintenance jobs and enjoy a friendly community, resort style facilities and firstclass care and support services at Azure Blue retirement villages at Redcliffe and Carina. Apartments in these villages have been snapped up for years by downsizing Brisbane locals keen to spend their retirement years close to families and friends, favourite shops and health professionals. And now downsizers from around Australia are discovering the benefits of “living like a local” in an Azure Blue village. Azure Blue Carina sits in bushland hilltop location in a well-connected inner-city neighbourhood. It has its own café and is close to major shopping centres, health services and beautiful parklands. The village is made up of 98 architect-designed one, two and three-bedroom apartments, some of which have stunning views of

surrounding bushland. Azure Blue Redcliffe is a short stroll from the edge of Moreton Bay, allowing residents to embrace the sea breezes and freedom of coastal living. It is also close to shopping, dining, cinemas and health services as well as having its own onsite cafe. The village has 122 one, two and three bedroom modern, architect-designed apartments with plenty of space and quality fittings and finishes. Every day is a holiday at the Azure Blue villages, which have swimming pools, barbecue areas, eateries, gyms, beauty salons and media rooms. Both villages are friendly and supportive communities with well-organised resident committees which arrange functions and social activities. Residents are active and connected. Importantly, the villages offer apartment and property

maintenance, which means less chores and more leisure. As one resident of Azure Blue Carina said: “Living here is so easy and low maintenance, with no gardens to mow, we have the freedom to do what we want to do.” Although many residents in both villages live without the need for care and support services, the services are there if and when needed. Apartments have a 24-hour emergency response system. In addition, residents can access a range of Blue Care services, including home care support, assistance with housework, transport around town, and allied health services such as podiatry and physiotherapy. Both villages also have a state-of-the-art residential aged care facility on-site, offering peace of mind that additional care is close by. Visit azureblue.com.au

Brookland Retirement Village resident Ted Wright is welcomed by village manager Leilani Leslie. THERE is still cause for celebration despite the pandemic, at Brookland Retirement Village where several new faces have joined the community. Ted Wright moved into the Robertson retirement community from his family home in Runcorn in late March and couldn’t be happier. “I’ve settled in nicely. I’m glad that I came in when I did,” he says. “My daughters are very happy that I’m living the life I am at the moment. I can isolate, but I’ve still got people around and help if I need it. Everyone has been very welcoming.” For new residents such as Ted, village life at the moment might not be exactly what they had expected. Facilities such as swimming pools, gyms and libraries are closed and social activities have been suspended. But even with these lifestyle and social benefits currently unavailable, the prospect of

joining a secure community with an established support network remains a strong drawcard. Many villages are introducing new services to help residents feel supported and connected. At Brookland, this includes regular wellness calls, meal delivery, in-home trivia and even a community pantry to provide essential supplies. Reside Communities CEO Glen Brown says the response has been very positive. “It has been wonderful to see how residents have embraced the new initiatives we’re putting in place across our villages,” he said. “We’re doing everything in our power to keep our residents safe and well, as well as provide the level of service and support they receive year-round.” Happily settled, Ted is looking forward to the full experience of life at Brookland when things get back to normal. residecommunities.com.au

is reflected not only in the quality of the facilities themselves, but also in the variety of social, creative and healthy activities offered,” she says. “These will all return to normal as soon as is possible and it is safe to do so.” Baldwin Living Northside offers apartment living with all the modern features expected of resort style living, so residents enjoy a hassle-free lifestyle without the burden of home maintenance. Within the village, there is a blend of one and two-bedroom apartments, each offering a different configuration, equipped

with quality appliances, modern bathrooms and outdoor entertaining spaces. Residents can enjoy the manicured gardens and private gazebos nestled in a convenient location with easy access to all major shopping centres and public transport. Baldwin Living Northside is at 259 Handford Rd and is adjacent to 11,000sq m of parkland, with a landscaped waterway, bike and walking paths through to Centro Taigum Shopping Centre. Properties start at $210,500 and are open for inspection by appointment. Call 1800 911 989.

REASSURANCE IN UNCERTAIN TIMES WE are living in strange and unprecedented times, but independent living in a retirement village has benefits for residents readily accessible. Baldwin Living CEO Paul Burkett says there are many services available to residents. “Within our villages, managers are a phone call away, and 24/7 emergency call support is available to all residents through the INS system,” he says. “Managers are also checking in with every resident every two days to see how they are keeping.” Baldwin Living also offers HomeServe, which provides

18 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

18.indd 2

domestic assistance, meal deliveries, and assistance with shopping – either online or going to the shops. Transport to medical appointments and personal care including medicine prompting, is also provided. “Staff are also able to provide assistance with setting up Skype or Facetime to maintain connections with family and friends,” he says. Baldwin Living Northside village manager Nicole McInnes and her team work hard to create an enjoyable senior living environment for residents. “Our dedication to enhancing independent living for residents

Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:38:12 AM


WELLBEING

Keep your immune system running strong Now, more than ever, it is imperative to support and improve your immune health. TRUDY KITHER provides some simple yet effective tips.

Y

our immune system needs to work to the best of its ability throughout these difficult and challenging times. Here are some tips to help it along. Eat a well-balanced diet. Focus on nutrient-rich foods such as fruit and vegetables as well as healthy proteins that provide amino acids. Healthy proteins are required to support a well-functioning immune system. If you are not allergic, intolerant or reactive to the foods listed below then add them to your grocery list to help boost your immune defences: Vitamin A – Sweet potato, carrots, tuna, butternut squash, spinach, egg yolk, tomato, cod liver oil. Vitamin C – Kiwi, red capsicum, strawberries, oranges, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, snowpeas. Vitamin D – Salmon, sardines, mushrooms, fortified milk or milk substitutes, tuna, eggs. Zinc – Meats, firm tofu, lentils, yogurt, brazil nuts, almonds, cashews, pecan, pine nuts, walnuts, eggs, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds. Get regular exercise . Along with a healthy diet, exercise can contribute to a strong immune system by improving circulation. This allows the cells of the immune system to flow freely and do their job efficiently. There are many ways to exercise at home including the many workout apps that are now available from the App and Play Stores, YouTube videos for cardio and resistance training, or even simply going for a walk or run. Relax and de-stress. Take the time while self-isolating to ensure you are relaxing. Stress increases the production of cortisol and epinephrine which are known to deplete the immune system. Your Vitamin C reserves are held in your adrenal glands so any stress you experience impacts the adrenal glands. This, in turn, stimulates excess cortisol

Brisbane

19.indd 3

production which causes the adrenal glands to deplete the Vitamin C being held in your adrenals. Ensure you get plenty of sleep. A lack of sleep can adversely affect your immune system so try to implement the following practices: sticking to a sleep schedule; avoiding caffeine and other stimulants; avoid eating a large meal right before sleeping; allow time to relax and wind down before going to sleep; and avoid television and mobile phones in the bedroom – perhaps read a book instead. Oregano oil. A couple of drops of good quality, ingestible oregano oil in a cup of hot water and drinking throughout the day will not only act as immune support but will also assist as a preventative. Oregano oil is immune stimulating, a power antiviral, antibacterial, antifungal, antiparasitic and anti-inflammatory. Anti-viral herbs. The action of antiviral herbs is to inhibit the development of viruses. The best antiviral herbs boost the immune system, which in turn, allows the body to attack viral pathogens. This can be even better than attacking specific pathogens, which antiviral drugs are designed to do, because pathogens mutate over time and become less susceptible to conventional pharmaceutical treatment. While antiviral herbs fight viral infections, boost the immune system and work as natural flu remedies, they also have a number of other health benefits, such as digestive, anti-inflammatory and cardiovascular support. The best anti-viral herbs to include in an immune tonic are high quality andrographis, elderberry, elderflower, echinacea, reishi, olive leaf, garlic, sage, licorice root and astragalus which can be obtained from a reputable naturopathic practitioner. Trudy Kither is a naturopath and owner of Nature’s Temple Naturopathic Clinic. Visit naturestemple.net

EXPERTS PROMOTION

INDUSTRY EXPERTS MOBILITY

The safest way is to just stay at home The Covid-19 pandemic has created a challenging scenario for users of mobility devices. Getting around is difficult enough, without the added restrictions of social distancing and self-isolation. The best thing to do is to stay at home. Look into ordering groceries and medicine online if possible to reduce time spent outdoors. Take this crisis one day at a time and look forward to the day restrictions are lifted. Scooters Australia Brisbane is adapting to this situation as best we can. Our mobile demonstration, repair and service options are available as usual for those who need to stay indoors. We are still open for business as usual at our Chermside showroom and of course, we have adopted special procedures to keep our valued customers and staff safe. Our staff are taking extra care to wear gloves and practise social distancing of 1.5m and regularly sanitise all contact surfaces on our products and premises. Please stay safe and look after each other.

KAVITA SHETTY SCOOTERS AUSTRALIA BRISBANE 3/9 VALENTE CLOSE, CHERMSIDE 1300 884 880 SALES@MOBILITYSCOOTERS.COM.AU WWW.MOBILITYSCOOTERS.COM.AU

HELPLINE

Key support groups work together to help in time of crisis It is essential that older people know what Covid-19 means for them and their loved ones, and that they do not feel lonely or disconnected because of government recommendations. Older Persons Advocacy Network (OPAN), Council on the Ageing (COTA) Australia, National Seniors Australia and Dementia Australia have banded together to offer social support to older people who are feeling isolated during this troubling time. These seniors community organisations are well regarded, passionate, and very experienced in supporting older people. This line can be called for information about how Covid-19 affects older people, and offers support for those who need it. The collaboration of these organisations means the line comprehensively covers different types of older Australians, including tailored information for people receiving aged care services and for those living with dementia. Call 1800 171 866 to speak with a friendly person who is there to listen and help.

GEOFF ROWE CEO AGED & DISABILITY ADVOCACY AUSTRALIA (ADA AUSTRALIA) 1800 700 600, ADAAUSTRALIA.COM.AU May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 19

23/04/2020 9:41:07 AM


BOOK REVIEW

BILL MCCARTHY During the span of the Vietnam war, 500,000 American servicemen deserted. This book, loosely based on fact, covers a small footnote. Set in Japan, it details the actions of a Japanese antiwar organisation, and in particular how they helped a small number of deserters escape to countries such as Sweden. The Japanese organisers are idealistic and genuine people while most of the deserters have a variety of less than admirable motives, which is probably understandable given their circumstances. The book is well written and researched with appropriately developed characters and may appeal to anyone interested in this fairly obscure period of American history.

MARY BARBER I enjoyed this book as I learnt about the US deserters from the Vietnam War and their Japanese protectors. The author got into the characters well, examining their motivation and background. There are three sub-stories about deserters and these all come together towards the end. Some of the deserters were engaging and likeable. Harpo stands out. Others were spoilt brats with no cultural sensitivity. I think the author was trying to show a “representative sample”. This book would appeal to anyone who lived through the Vietnam War, especially those who served there. It gives an insight into the anti-war sentiments of many Japanese people. The book moves along well with many tense moments.

TONY HARRINGTON

SUZI HIRST Sweden? Would I have picked this book up, read the blurb and bought it? Probably not! Truth be known, I actually enjoyed the book. The beginning introduced many different characters and was a little hard to follow. In saying that, the author has written about soldiers deserting in Vietnam. These men had been injured, mentally and physically, then faced being sent back to the same hell! Not being able to contemplate the front lines again, they chose to run. The underground movement of the “Beheiren” – a Japanese anti Vietnam War group – which helped deserters escape to Sweden gave me an insight to life during desperate times. Although this was a fact/ fiction book I learnt a lot about a subject I should know more about. 8/10

BOOK review As war rages in Vietnam in 1968, a group of American military deserters holed up in Japan plot their escape with help from local peace activists. Their destination is Sweden. Based on true events, the book takes readers on an exhilarating journey from the killing fields of Vietnam to a fogbound fishing port on the northern Japanese island of Hokkaido. Along the way there are stops at a hippie commune in Japan’s subtropical south and a studentoccupied university in Tokyo. SWEDEN Turner, a New Zealander now By Matthew Turner in his 50s, presents a littleknown part of American history.

JOHN KLEINSCHMIDT I found the story lines to be slow and difficult to get into. However, as three diverse groups of American military deserters emerge, the story becomes more interesting. The author sets the scene for their desertion and builds the characters, inter-leaving chapters about each group. The deserters are realistic and stand out from Japanese people, making the task of Beheiren (a genuine anti-war organisation) very difficult. The deserters are moved around the country and hidden in many ways, including in a hippie commune and by a university student activist organisation. Some make it to a safe country others do not. It’s a useful insight into an aspect of the Vietnam War that few people would know about.

JO BOURKE A stranger spotted Sweden under my arm as I left a waiting room, announced she was Swedish and looked at me expectantly. I tried to explain that it wasn’t about Sweden at all despite the title. Instead, it was based on the existence of a Japanese anti-war Society (JATEC), which aided American Vietnam War deserters in their dangerous journey to reach Sweden, a neutral country. The stranger looked blankly at me and hurried off. The story is certainly challenging and I wish the “Historical Facts” had been at the beginning as they gave me insight to the enormity of the number of deserters – over 500,000. The author’s attention to detail and knowledge of Japanese culture and topography were painstakingly accurate. I struggled with this book – so many characters, so many confusing Japanese names and places – necessitating flick backs often. I was as exhausted as some of the characters at times, and was relieved to finish it. Perhaps it will appeal to those with a keen interest in history, especially in relation to the Vietnam War and the period after.

need pet daycare? LET US TAKE CARE OF YOUR FURRY LOVED ONE • Beautifully landscaped surrounds • Delicious meals twice daily • Daily cleans • Departure bath • 24 hr onsite care • Soothing music • Handy location

153 Grigor Street, Moffat Beach Phone 5491 1516 www.caloundrapetresort.com.au 20 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

20.indd 2

This historical fiction novel set in Japan during the time of the Vietnam War is both interesting and educational. The story is about a handful of USA armed forces deserters who are helped by a dedicated team of Japanese anti-war supporters. This was in “my time”. I missed the draft and was a keen rally and protest marching university student. I didn’t know about the massive university riots and hippie culture in Japan. The storyline dragged somewhat and didn’t have the usual hooks that most writers use to keep you wanting to read to the end of the book. The main theme is that the Japanese helpers were kind, polite, caring and respectful in contrast to the mixed behaviour of the ragbag of American deserters. Flynn, one of the deserters, reflected that they restored his faith in humanity. The author, like myself, is obviously a Japanophile. Not bad for a first novel. 6/10

CALOUNDRA pet resort

Security, Independence & Peace of Mind Providing privacy & independence with the security of proximity to family. Glendale Granny Cabins provide comfortable, self contained accommodation for elderly relatives on the same site as the family home.

• One Bedroom Cabins and Studios • Two Bedroom Cottages • Undisputed industry leader

• Over 5600 satisfied Glendale owners • 6½ year structural warranty • Over 38 years experience

GRANN Y CABIN DISPLA Y

NOW OPEN

BSA License No. 42372

Obligation free site inspections freecall 1800 801 710 www.glendalehomes.com.au Brisbane

23/04/2020 9:49:57 AM


CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

SUDOKU (MEDIUM)

SUDOKU (EASY)

6 9 2 7 3 8 1 4 5

1 3 7 5 2 4 8 6 9

2 8 1 6 4 3 9 5 7

4 7 5 8 1 9 2 3 6

2 8 1 6 5 4 9 3 7

3 6 9 2 5 7 4 1 8

9 5 4 7 2 3 1 8 6

7 6 3 8 9 1 2 5 4

3 2 8 9 1 6 7 4 5

6 4 5 2 3 7 8 9 1

9-LETTER WORD

8 3 6 1 7 5 4 2 9

5 7 2 4 8 9 6 1 3

4 1 9 3 6 2 5 7 8

Secret message: Very diverse place X Y G N J A O T K B WQ R

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

C D P HM L F S V U Z E I

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

WORD STEP BLOCK, CLOCK, CLICK, CHICK, CHICA, CHINA There may be other correct answers

aisle, alert, alit, alter, aril, atelier, earl, earliest, easel, elate, elite, else, isle, islet, lair, laser, last, late, later, latest, latter, lease, least, leer, leet, lest, letter, liar, lira, lire, list, lister, lite, literate, litre, litter, rail, rattle, real, realise, realist, reel, relate, resale, reseal, retail, rial, rile, sail, sale, salt, salter, saltier, seal, sealer, serial, settle, settler, silt, slat, slate, sleet, slier, slit, slitter, stale, staler, starlet, starlit, startle, STATELIER, steal, stealer, steel, stele, sterile, stile, stilt, tail, tale, teal, tile, tiler, tilt, tilts, title, trail, trestle, trial

1 9 7 5 4 8 3 6 2

CODEWORD

1. Acting; 2. Alaska; 3. W; 4. One; 5. Maserati; 6. Monday; 7. Return to Sender; 8. Australia; 9. Italy; 10. 2000 Olympics; 11. Charles (Pete) Conrad; 12. Goomeri; 13. Tuba; 14. Charlie Sheen; 15. John Gorton; 16. Pi; 17. Groove in upper lip; 18. 11.47 pm or 2347; 19. Five; 20. Six.

Retire among friends

8 5 4 1 9 6 3 7 2

WORDFIND

9 2 3 4 7 5 6 8 1

1. What is the occupation of a person who “treads the boards”? 2. What is the only state of the USA that has a coastline on two oceans? 3. What is the chemical symbol for tungsten? 4. How many points is a free throw worth in basketball? 5. What Italian car uses a trident as its symbol? 6. What day is June 1 this year? 7. “I gave a letter to the postman, he put it in his sack” are lyrics from which Elvis Presley song? nate? 8. In which country did the Donut King franchise originate? ng 9. Which Axis country declared war on Germany during World War II? 10. The sporting venue known as Stadium Australia was built for what event? 11. Who was the third person to walk on the Moon? 12. Which Queensland town hosts a Pumpkin Festival?? a? 13. What is the largest brass instrument in an orchestra? ez? 14. The original name of which actor was Carlos Estevez? ime 15. Who was the only Australian senator to become prime minister? rcle 16. What Greek letter has a numerical value used in circle calculations? 17. Where on the human body is the philtrum? 18. What time is 18 minutes before five minutes after midnight? 19. How many humps would there be in a herd of two Bactrian camels and one dromedary camel? ist”? 20. How many syllables are in the word “physiotherapist”?

We currently have a range of unique homes available to suit every budget and lifestyle.

At Brookland Retirement Village, you can live an independent and relaxed retirement lifestyle within a friendly and supportive environment. Low-maintenance living•Like-minded residents•Beautiful garden surrounds Home care & catering available•Convenient, central location

PUZZLE SOLUTIONS QUICK CROSSWORD

5 1 6 3 8 2 7 9 4

With Quizmaster Allan Blackburn

7 4 8 9 6 1 5 2 3

TRIVIA

Apartments from

$205,000 Villas from

Call 0491 252 766 today to find out more

$335,000 18 Romulus Street, Robertson | brookland.com.au Price correct at time of printing

Brisbane

21.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 21

23/04/2020 9:44:20 AM


PUZZLES

CRYPTIC CROSSWORD

ACROSS 1 6 8 9 10, 12 13 14 16 18 19 20

No. 2561

DOWN

You can’t call my eccentric aunty bland when she is endowed so copiously (10) Very angry about the promissory notes used to buy minks? (7) I hear we rule with precipitation (4) Remain like one under the sport’s shoe (4) 14-across Dismiss the cricketer when stocks don’t last! (3, 3) Latin God followed six involved with visual medium (5) Opened the compound ideally situated for hiding it (5) See 10-across Those mentioned stood the heat yet acclimatised badly (4) You can use force or take time to build the stronghold (4) Fixes the boundaries if needs dictate (7) Brace the stern. The galleon limits excursions (10)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

10 11 15 17 18

When he saw the ravaged tag hanging out it made things much worse (10) The sister has love for the name (4) Can you let the hidden fauna die unremembered by a fond farewell? (5) The new shuttle let out characters in the same way (4) The mischievous pixie noted that they were going on a scientific journey (10) Trifled with the instrument? (7) I am not sure if they are tidy, so I dust the rooms (7) Half a farewell for Aussie jumper (3) Edible ledge on violin fingerboard? (3) Marriage to the spirited nun I love? (5) In which we say “Goodbye Arthur” for some time (4) An extraordinary act involving paws, I hear (4)

CODEWORD

No. 034

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

WORDFIND

Q R

The leftover letters will spell out a secret message No. 034 AMAZON ANACONDA ANDES ARGENTINA BRAZIL CAPYBARA COLOMBIA GALAPAGOS GUYANA MACAW MACHU PICCHU PATAGONIA PIRANHA RIO SURINAME

Copyright © Reuben’s Puzzles www.reubenspuzzles.com.au. Refer to the website for a cryptic solving guide.

WORK IT OUT!

VENEZUELA

SUDOKU Level: Medium

No. 848

7 3 2 4 8 7 8 2 9

9 3

5

7 8 4 5 9 3 6 3 5JOIN4THE FUN... 6 6 2 9

Who’s for Tamworth 2021!

1 3

Tamwo Music Tri

TAMWORTH CMF 2021!

TTuesday uesday 119/01/21 to Sunday 24/01/21

BUS, B US, BED & BREAKFAST $850 $ 850 PER PERSON Allll bookings must be followed by a deposit of $100 A w ithin 14 day within days to hold a spot. TThe he balance and final payment must be received by the 13/11/20.

try Tamworth Coun Conditions C onditions of Ca Cancellation: ival Bus sicwillFbeest a fullurefund given. 1 month before ttourM Within W ithin 21 days oof the tour a partial refund will be 1 02given. Tripwill be2given. Within W ithin 14 days oof the tour no refund

FFor or more inf information or enquiries please contact: GREG & DONNA ROSS.

PH: (07) 4129 7132 OR 0427 297 132

E FUN... e: rossbuscharters@bigpond.com JOIN TH 22 YOUR TIME MAGAZINE / May 2020

22.indd 2

www.ganddrossbuscharters.com.au Brisbane

29/04/2020 1:52:53 PM


PUZZLES

QUICK CROSSWORD

No. 3662

9-LETTER WORD

No. 034

Today’s Aim:

R T

44 words: Good 66 words: Very good

S

E

L

I E

A

89 words: Excellent

T

Using the nine letters in the grid, how many words of four letters or more can you list? The centre letter must be included and each letter may only be used once. No colloquial or foreign words. No capitalised nouns, apostrophes or plural words ending in “s”.

WORD STEP

ACROSS 1 6 9 10 11 12 13 14 17 20 23 25 26 27 28 29

Crumbled (9) Celestial being (5) Tall structure (5) Cue and ball game (9) Maltreatment (5) Lifeless (9) Utmost (7) Football (6) Conquer (6) Defamation (7) Express regret (9) Beget (5) Lab worker (9) Christmas song (5) Hate (5) Nice guy (9)

DOWN 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 15 16 18 19 20 21

Quaint houses (8) Case (7) Harmony (9) Lofty (7) Australian currency units (7) Evidence of being elsewhere (5) Rubbish (7) Inferior (6) Traditional (9) US Founding Father, Benjamin – (8) Terminate (7) Elevating (7) Add sugar (7) Explanatory drawing (7)

22 Sickness (6) 24 Possessor (5)

No. 034

SUDOKU Level: Easy

7

No. 847

1 2 5

4 7

2 9 9 7 6 8 2 8 9 3 2 1 1 2 5 8 7 5 1 9 6 5 3 4 8 WORK IT OUT!

Complete the list by changing one letter at a time to create a new word at each step. One possible answer shown below.

BLOCK

_____ _____ _____ _____ CHINA May 2020

Deal Directly With The Crematorium No Middle Man Mark Up Or Delay Best Price Guarantee Contact us today for more information

Ph: 1300 137 988 www.adirectcremationcom.au

Brisbane

23.indd 3

May 2020 / YOUR TIME MAGAZINE 23

23/04/2020 9:51:27 AM


SAVE 30% OFF the new Express range of Roller Blinds

INSTALLED IN 4 WORKING DAYS

FREE MOTORS*

B L I N D S QUEENSLAND

FREE BLINDS

R

MEASURE 1300657100

& QUOTE

AWNINGS

WWW.IMAGEBLINDS.COM.AU

SHUTTERS

&RQGLWLRQVDSSO\)UHHPRWRUVRQSXUFKDVHVRYHU([FOXGHVHOHFWULFDO2Ï&#x192;HUYDOLGWR0D\2020.

24.indd 2

SECURITY QBCC LIC. 1302235

23/04/2020 10:06:17 AM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

Your Time Magazine Brisbane - May 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Your Time Magazine Brisbane - May 2020  

Welcome to Your Time magazine, your 55+ baby boomers to seniors magazine on the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane. We hope you enjoy the read and...

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded