Page 1

MY

Wedding

WHY SPRING WEDDINGS ARE SO POPULAR

S

pring signifies new beginnings and many couples choose this season as the perfect time to say “I do” and start on the new journey of married life together. In fact, almost 40 per cent of the 120,000 couples that will get married in the next 12 months will do so in spring.

So, what is it about this magical time of year between September and November that makes it so popular for weddings? Twin Waters Golf Club wedding co-ordinator Rebecca Whitaker says spring is the season where you can enjoy the best of everything on offer.

“With the stunning weather, beautiful flowers available and tantalising, fresh produce on hand it comes as no surprise that spring weddings are such a wonderful time of the year,” she says. “At Twin Waters Golf Club, spring means blooming gardens, longer days, immaculate

grounds for your images and wonderful evenings spent on the terrace celebrating with loved ones.” These are the three months of the year where you can enjoy the Goldilocks climate, where it’s not too hot and not too cold, and this gives you a lot of flexibility in the type of outfits you choose for yourselves as well as the bridal party. Spring is also a happy period where there are no major public holidays to worry about, so you won’t have to compromise on the date you have your heart set on. One of the only downsides to a spring wedding is its popularity. It means that if you crave a springtime wedding, you will need to plan a bit further in advance to secure the suppliers and venues you love, as they will be quickly snapped up due to the large volume of couples booking weddings at this time. You might also have to allocate a little more to your wedding budget, as peak wedding season also means suppliers and venues might charge a little more or require larger deposits. But, there are always ways you can chop a little off to total, like booking a mid-week wedding. Continued over page >

Jadore

Buderim’s Finest

BJC Collection

FASHION HO HOUSE OUSE

Rose Noir

Bariano

Studio Ursula USA M.O.B & M.O.G Formals Race Wear

47 Burnett St (The Hub), BUDERIM 5453 7777 - Mon-Fri 9.30am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 4pm

32 My Weekly Preview | September 29, 2017

32.indd 1

myweeklypreview.com.au

25/09/2017 2:34:18 PM


Creating the perfect wedding is about choice...

...your choice Because the team at Twin Waters Golf Club understands that every Wedding and indeed every Bride is unique we have created special options to cater to all tastes and desires when it comes to your special day. Visually spectacular outdoor venues to our spacious indoor settings all with the styling you would come to expect. Twin Waters Golf Club is truly a unique address to suit your specific needs. You owe it to yourself to call our specialist wedding coordinator today to experience the Twin Waters Golf Club difference.

THE ROTUNDA Our picturesque rotunda overlooks the central lake and manicured gardens making this a perfect raised platform for perfect guest viewing, offering spectacular colours as the sun sets.

THE GARDENS Twin Waters Golf Club lush gardens are a beautiful backdrop to your wedding ceremony and are a wedding photographers dream.

THE WOODS A romantic location with a natural beauty in itself as well as a perfect backdrop for exchanging vows, in natures own amphitheatre.

YOUR RECEPTION Work with our team to create highly personalized, tantalizing menus within a spectacular surrounding. We have a wide variety of reception options, from cocktail functions to more formal sit-down dinners. We also offer free menu tasting. Weddings are unique and individual. Our experienced team is on hand to assist you from your initial enquiry through to your special day.

THE BEACH Maybe a beach ceremony is what you are looking for? Feel completely relaxed as we have a beach ceremony all planned for…

...an incredible day “I wanted to say thank you so much for styling our day! It looked absolutely incredible! Your team along with Bec at the Golf Club were amazing. We couldn’t fault it. So thank you so much for all your hard work.” Thanks, Sam and Drew

Contact our dedicated Wedding Coordinator to discuss your plans.

Twin Waters Golf Club 151 Ocean Drive, Twin Waters 5457 2444 www.twinwatersgolfclub.com.au

33.indd 1

22/09/2017 3:07:18 PM


MY WEDDING Jadore bridal gowns available at Julie-Ann Boutique 5453 7777

PRESERVING YOUR DREAM GOWN

2017

SPRING WEDDING TRENDS

celebrity

Classic

RING TRENDS The song might say that diamonds are a girl’s best friend, but there is something wonderfully sophisticated about coloured precious stones. The Duchess of Cambridge’s blue sapphire engagement ring is likely the most famous ring of all time, having once belonged to the late Princess Diana. In fact, sapphires have long been a favourite of the British royal family. If you want to look regal at your wedding and beyond, the Avenue J team has some incredible antique and collectable pieces adorned with sapphires that have the potential to become your family heirloom. Avenue J 5444 6204

Unique & Collectable

A TOUCH OF FLORAL

Almost 65 per cent of Australian brides choose to preserve and store their wedding dresses and it is a much more intricate process than simply giving it a dry clean. Fine fabrics, beads, crystals, embroidery and lace look amazing, but can be tricky to clean and preserve. The staff at Regal Dry Cleaners are experts with wedding gowns and will preserve your dress in acid-free tissue paper and box it for safe keeping, so you can admire it for many years to come. Who knows? One day you might offer it to your daughter or daughter-inlaw for her to wear on her big day. Regal Dry Cleaners 0423 819 656

Whether it is floral lace, embroidery or embellishments that showcase flowers in all their beauty, there is no better season than spring to add blooms to your wedding. This gown from Julie-Ann Boutique shows how simple it is to transform an otherwise unassuming gown into something spectacular with floral adornments across the bodice. Julie-Ann Boutique 5453 7777

One off beautiful necklace with a combination of Semi Precious Gemstones

BROOCH BOUQUETS Why not try a brooch bouquet to make your posy stand out as you walk down the aisle? These bouquets are filled with all types of jewellery. Some brides ask their friends to bring an item to their hen’s night and then use it in their bouquet.

BRING YOUR DREAM TO LIFE WITH OUR CUSTOM DESIGN SERVICE

Green & Purple Amethyst, Lodon Blue Topaz & Citirne

a stunning piece to wear on your special day…

Avenue J Jewellery

@Avenue J Jewellery

Avenue J Jewellery Zanzibar Arcade, The Esplanade, Mooloolaba. Phone 5444 4422 www.avenuejcouture.com.au 34 My Weekly Preview | September 29, 2017

34.indd 1

DESIGN - MANUFACTURE - REPAIRS 50 BULCOCK STREET, CALOUNDRA 5491 3242 myweeklypreview.com.au

25/09/2017 2:37:10 PM


MY WEDDING

THE LATEST IN

bridal HAIR

With vintage, rustic and garden weddings continuing to dominate wedding themes, the low, messy bun and the classic half-up, half-down styles are mainstay hairstyles. They can be easily customised with flowers to match your bouquet or hair pieces that enhance your gown. The team at Eco Organic recommends washing your hair the night before your big day, so your hair is easier for your hair designer to work with. You can also ensure your hair is in its best possible condition by having regular moisture treatments every two weeks for up to 12 weeks before your wedding day. Eco Organic, 5451 1300

CLASSIC HALF-UP, HALF-DOWN The look is created by pinning half of the hair up and allowing the rest to flow down. Key elements can include braids, French twists and clean cascading curls with plenty of volume. Perfect for a veil, crown and floral highlights.

THE LOW, MESSY BUN This classic style is created by delicately interweaving and pinning the hair into a knot at the back of the head. For a more playful look, a braided up-style bun is a gorgeous option. Braiding the hair to one side, the style is created when the hair is pulled and pinned at the nape of the neck.

Elegant BLUSH BRIDESMAIDS With vibrant colours the very essence of spring, couples are toning down the hues in their bridal parties by turning to blush pinks and peaches this season. While these subtle colours perfectly complement wedding gowns and classic suits, they can be jazzed up with funky cuts and textures, like this dress from Julie-Ann Boutique.

LOVE

Oway Sculpting mist $59.60, Eco Organic

Gowns

Eco Organic 5451 1300

NOW AVAIL LABLE IN BLACK

BJ

BUDERIM JEWELLERS

6/67 Burnett Street, Buderim | Phone: 5445 1039 myweeklypreview.com.au

35.indd 1

Professionally Cleaned

At Regal Dry Cleaners we know how special your wedding day will be, we also know the eort you put into making it the best day possible. We are available at no extra charge to pickup your gown from the recep on house, have it cleaned and preserva on boxed before you get back from your honeymoon and we are more than happy to have parents of the bride or groom inspect the dress before boxing for your peace of mind! Don’t hesitate to bring your gown to us before the big day so we can quote the cleaning cost to you, so there will be no surprises a er your honeymoon.

Mooloolaba 5444 5181 133 Brisbane Road Kawana 5444 2797 Kawana Shoppingworld (Next to Aldi)

www.regaldrycleaners.com.au My Weekly Preview | September 29, 2017 35

25/09/2017 4:34:44 PM


MY WEDDING

Find

18ct rose gold cognac diamond earrings, $5600, NY2K

Diamond-set pendant (the circle symbolises eternity), NY2K

YOUR PERFECT WEDDING JEWELLERY You’ve chosen the wedding dress and picked out your venue. Now you have to choose your wedding rings. While rose gold is starting to win out over traditional white gold and yellow gold, there are some other emerging trends that we love:

Save for the date

Custom-designed engagement rings to suit your budget, NY2K

For the ladies • Pearl-shaped diamond engagement rings are a favourite at the moment. • Halo rings and solitaire rings in varied shapes are popular. • Diamond-set wedding bands continue to be a winning choice. For the men • Zirconium wedding rings are the new trend. This is because they are strong, lightweight and have hypoallergenic qualities.

Canadian Fire limitededition diamond ring, $6995, Selig Jewellers Rose gold Canadian Fire diamond ring, $4750, Selig Jewellers

his & hers The perfect gift for your loved one

Coeur De Lion matching necklace & bracelet, from $219, Buderim Jewellers

Michel Herbelin watches, from $1300, Buderim Jewellers

STOCKISTS: Buderim Jewellers 5445 1039, NY2K Jewellers 5443 1955, Selig Jewellers Caloundra 5491 3242

symbolising

love

noticed some other garments that haven’t seen the light of day for a few years. Now is the perfect time to sell these clothes and any other items around the home you no longer use, and get some extra cash for your coffers.

HOW YOU CAN EASILY BOOST YOUR WEDDING SAVINGS No matter what length of time you have planned for your engagement, the toughest challenge of planning a wedding is sticking to a budget, while still creating your dream wedding. Here are five easy ways you can boost your wedding savings. 1. Don’t buy coffee. If you are a caffeine addict from way back and cannot construct a coherent sentence without the liquid coursing through your veins, this may be a little hard to hear. But that $5 coffee you get from the local barista twice a day while at work is costing you $50 every week. And if your wedding is 12 months away, that’s $2400. That could be your dream wedding gown, or a fair chunk of your reception costs. 2. Sell what you don’t use. While dusting off a floral dress that had retreated to the nether regions of your closet, you may have also

3. Take your own bottle. We live in Australia. We have access to clean, fresh water that is 100 per cent safe to drink, so do not buy bottled water. Invest in a reusable bottle and fill it up at home, in the workplace, or at a public bubbler if you are out and about. It may only seem like a few dollars a pop, but if you had been buying a new bottle every day, these small savings quickly add up. 4. Minimise social events. Heading off to social events can be a costly exercise, especially when they are boozy ones. You don’t have to shy away from special occasion celebrations, but try to limit the amount you spend on going out ‘just because’. 5. Avoid takeaway. We all love a Friday night no-stress takeaway dinner after an exhausting week at work. But when you think takeaway pizza for two from a chain franchise can cost $30 (with a drink and garlic bread, of course), you can see how quickly you can save some dough by being a little more prepared and whipping up something at home.

SPECIALISTS IN AMMONIA FREE COLOUR FOR OVER 13YRS HAIR • BEAUTY • MASSAGE 5451 1300 • ECO-ORGANIC.COM Shop 3/1 King Street, Cotton Tree ecohairandbody

5443 1955

ecohairandbody

rovera plaza, cotton tree

www.ny2k.com.au

ny2kjeweller

member of the gold and silversmiths guild of australia

36 My Weekly Preview | September 29, 2017

36.indd 1

myweeklypreview.com.au

25/09/2017 2:36:41 PM

My Weddings Septemper 29  

My Weddings special feature