Page 1

Classic Motorcycling Ozebook’s Online Magazine Historic Racing Special Edition

Australian Championships 2008 Unlimited Class Forgotten Era

Ozebook Classic Motorcycles Editorial The 2008 Australian Historic Road Race Championship held on November 23rd 2008 at Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia, provided motorcycling with some great racing in the Forgotten Era Class - ie. period 5 machines over 600cc manufactured after 1972 and before 1981. Personally there was no way I was going to miss seeing Robbie Phillis. Robbie Phillis a world class Superbike and Australian champion rode brilliantly on the fast Wanneroo circuit to take out the Unlimited Class on the GSX1166 Suzuki Superbike. He was hard pressed by Victorian rider Peter Guest on his Kawasaki Z1R 1000 superbike. Phillis, who won five successive Superbike crowns in Australia the early ‘80s, was competing aboard the same Suzuki GSX1100 that took him to the 1981 title. The ex-Kawasaki and Suzuki factory rider, finished third in the World Superbike Championship in 1991 and 1992. Peter Guest is a multiple Australian historic racing champion. Rex Wolfenden was also competing on a Rex prepared CB1100R Honda. Rex has become a legend in Australia for building and promoting the T-Rex range of racing CB750s and CB900s. Rain threatened the meeting and the races were reduced by a lap due to delays caused by the weather. A wet and slippery track lead to a big get-off by a number of riders in the first leg of the championship and a re-start was required. Leg 2 was held in fine weather fortunately. Both rounds were won by Robbie Phillis on his Suzuki. It was agreat opportunity to see some champions riding on some mean machines. Just a shame that more riders could not be coaxed into making the long trip to the West Coast. My thanks go to those who did manage the trip. Murray Barnard

Layout and original content copyright: 2008 Ex Libris Email:

Cover: Robbie Phillis winner of the Australian Forgotten Era Unlimited Championship Nov 2008

Neville Grant

Australian National Forgotten Era Unlimited Championship Results Posn. No. Rider Machine 1 32 Robbie Phillis (VIC) 1980 Suzuki GSX 2 22 Karl Corpe (VIC) 1980 Kawasaki ZIR 3 34 Peter Guest (VIC) 1978 Kawasaki ZIR 4 75 Stuart Loly (VIC) 1980 Suzuki GSX 5 13 Mark Watt (WA) 1980 Suzuki GSX 6 24 Peter Mizzi (VIC) 1980 Honda CB1100R 7 15 Rory Reibel (WA) 1980 Suzuki GSX 8 666 Michael Dibb (VIC) 1978 Honda CBX 9 19 Robert Turner (WA) 1974 Kawasaki Z900 10 16 Ken Wootton (VIC) 1978 Honda CB 11 2 Rex Wolfenden (VIC) 1980 Honda CB1100R 12 28 Ziggy Maeder (WA) 1978 Laverda Jota 13 76 Scott Webster (VIC) 1980 Moto-Martin Kaw 14 77 Adam Senior (WA) 1976 Suzuki RG500 15 17 Glen Ottley (WA) 1980 Suzuki GSX 16 57 Wil Croft (WA) 1980 Suzuki GSX 17 111 Neville Grant (VIC) 1980 Suzuki GSX

Ken Wootton

Ken Wootton and Neville Grant

Rex Wolfenden

1980 Suzuki GSX1100

1980 Motoplas GSX1100 Moto Martin Kawasaki

Laverda Jota

1979 Zegers/Yamaha 560cc triple

Robbie Phillis and Peter Guest

Michael Dibb VIC 1978 Honda CBX 1130

Peter Guest Ziggy Maeder WA 1978 Laverda Jota 1000

Adam Senior 1976 RG500 Suzuki

Robbie Phillis Karl Corpe

Leo Cash QLD1980 Suzuki GSX 1170

Robert Turner WA 1974 Kawasaki Z900 1045


Classic Motorcycling Forgotten Era Historic Racing Special Edition  

Classic Motorcycling Forgotten Era Historic Racing Special Edition - focus on the Australian National Historic Championships and the Unlimit...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you