Page 1


Useful information for families visiting or moving to Bath Finding the right school for your children, as well as moving to a new area is an exciting time but can also be somewhat daunting. For many families choosing a school in Bath means not just finding the right school but finding a new house to rent or buy and discovering what the beautiful City of Bath has to offer. Here at Monkton Combe School we understand the challenges this can present, so to help you along your way we have put together some information which we hope you will find useful.

Directions


Local Area

Immediate area around Monkton School Combe Down, Monkton Combe, Limpley Stoke, Claverton Down

Other areas in Bath Many families live south of the river in Bath, these areas include Freshford (2.3m), Winsley (2.6m), Wellow (4.1m), Combe Hay (3.3m), Hinton Charterhouse (3.3m), Norton St Philip (6m), Bathwick Hill (2.5), Widcombe (2.1), Bear Flat (3.1), Southstoke (2.7)

Local towns Bradford-on-Avon is sometimes described in guidebooks as the last outpost of the Cotswolds, or a kind of 'mini-Bath'. Once seen, never forgotten. A market town positioned on the banks of the River Avon gives visitors a wonderful setting for leisure, cultural and tourist activities. Bradford on Avon has delightful shops, restaurants, hotels and bed and breakfasts lining the narrow streets of the town centre. The surrounding hillside is covered with Cotswold stone houses and cottages of every shape and size. Corsham is a quiet, unspoilt town where peacocks wander freely around the streets! It owes its prosperity to the wool trade and quarrying of golden Bath stone, brought to life in the town's heritage centre. It contains several notable historic buildings, such as the stately home of Corsham Court. Frome is the fourth largest town in Somerset and has plenty to offer. A market town with a charming historic centre, Frome has a wealth of architectural interest alongside a thriving contemporary and performing arts scene.

Local Villages Freshford, Midford, Winsley, Norton St Philip, Hinton Charterhouse, Wellow, Rode, Winsley, Turleigh, Batheaston, Newton-St-Loe, Englishcombe, Combe Hay

VisitBath The official tourism website for Bath www.visitbath.co.uk


Local Estate Agents and Letting Agents Savills - www.savills.co.uk While naturally focusing on Bath, our patch covers large parts of Somerset, Wiltshire and South Gloucestershire. This includes the towns of Bradford on Avon, Shepton Mallet, Frome and Warminster and all the villages in between — a wide range of highly desirable locations.

BUYING A PROPERTY Bloor Homes - www.bloorhomes.com Bloor Homes design and build homes of distinction tailored to the needs of modern life. Those who aspire to our homes readily acknowledge you only need look at a Bloor Home to realise that not all new homes are the same. Cobb Farr - www.cobbfarr.com We are Bath and Bradford on Avon's most trusted independent estate agent. Our name is synonymous with quality, and we have a wide range of distinctive homes in our portfolio. Crisp Cowley - www.crispcowley.co.uk We’ve been at the heart of Bath for more than 130 years. We know the property in the City and the surrounding country inside out. We use this wealth of local knowledge to help our clients get better results. Hamptons - www.hamptons.co.uk Hamptons International is a premier estate and letting agent with over 140 years experience in property. Kellers and Ross - www.bathpropertyagents.com Online prices with a high street presence. We offer outstanding service and value and cover all aspects of Estate Agency from Sales and Lettings to property Management. We also offer advice on Probate and Property Investments in Bath. Knight Frank - www.knightfrank.co..uk Bath estate agent, Knight Frank, handles residential property for sale within Bath City centre and the surrounding villages.

Whiteley Helyar - www.whiteleyhelyar.net We are independent, friendly and professional. Our many satisfied customers value our efficiency, honesty and expert understanding of property in Bath and the surrounding villages. Winkworth - www.winkworth.co.uk/estate-agents/bath Our Queen Square office may be in the heart of Bath, but we’re experts in the villages surrounding our World Heritage City too. We have the expertise and local knowledge you need.

SEARCH AGENT The County Homesearch www.county-homesearech.com Private, International & Corporate home finding service.

RENTING Camden Lets - www.locallets.co.uk Welcome to Camden House- one of the leading independent property management and letting agents in Bath. With almost two decades of experience we offer a wide range of properties to rent in Bath and deliver unrivalled services to both tenants and landlords. Reside Lettings - www.residebath.co.uk Swallows Property Letting Agency - www.swallows.co.uk Swallows Property Letting Agency has been established for over 25 years and in this time we have grown into one of the leading residential letting agents in the area.


Children’s Activities / Places to Visit

Indoor Activities The Egg – Children’s theatre with a family friendly café www.theatreroyal.org.uk/the-egg Soft play (Zany Zone) Bath Sports Centre - www.aquaterra.org/bath-sports-and-leisure-centre/ activities/children-activities/soft-play Baskervilles – Drop in play sessions and Gym classes for all age children www.baskervillesgym.co.uk Bath University - www.teambath.com/tribe-schools/tot-activities-2-7-years

Swimming Pools Outdoor Activities Parks In Bath With Play Areas Royal Victoria Park, Alice Park, Alexandra Park (also has wonderful views of Bath). See more parks here - www.visitbath.co.uk Bath City Farm - animals to see and a small play area www.bathcityfarm.org.uk Prior Park Landscape Garden - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/prior-park Local Cycling Odd Down cycle circuit - www.bathnes.gov.uk/services/sport-leisureand-parks/health-and-fitness/ride-bnes/odd-down-cycle-track Two Tunnels path - www.twotunnels.org.uk Local bike hire - www.bathcanal.com/Bike_Hire.html Local Walks Rainbow Woods – Woodland walks opposite the entrance to Monkton Prep - www.visitwoods.org.uk Bath Skyline Walk - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/bath-skyline

Bath - www.aquaterra.org/bath-sports-and-leisure-centre/activities/swimming Longwell Green - www.activecentres.org/centres/longwell-green Monkton Perp Sports Centre - www.monktoncombeschool.com/hospitalityleisure/leisure.html


Children’s Activities / Places to Visit Activities further afield from Bath Local Play Groups

@ Bristol - www.at-bristol.org.uk One of the UK’s leading science and discovery centres.

Combe Down Toddlers, Holy Trinity Church, Tuesday mornings at 9am to 11am Messy Mondays, St Andrews Community Church, Monday mornings 9.15am to 11am

Longleat - www.longleat.co.uk Safari Park, Stately Home and children’s activities

See more here - www.bathmums.co.uk/section.php/bath_toddler_groups.htm

Monkton Leisure Sports Club, Holiday Activity Camps, Swim School and Pool Parties www.monktoncombeschool.com/hospitality-leisure/leisure.html

Avon Valley - www.avonvalleycountrypark.com The park fuses fun and education to provide an appreciation of the natural world. Bowood - www.bowood.org Country house and gardens Southwick Country Park - www.wiltshire.gov.uk Frome supermarket - www.thefromeindependent.org.uk

Local Museums

Lacock garden centre - www.whitehallgardencentre.co.uk

The Holburne Museum - www.holburne.org The Roman Baths - www.romanbaths.co. The Fashion Museum (and Assembly Rooms) - www.museumofcostume.co.uk The American Museum - americanmuseum.org

Lavender farm - www.somersetlavender.com

Local Annual Events

Cowtastic farm park - www.farringtons.co.uk/farm-park/cowtastic Greenbank outdoor swimming pool Street - www.greenbankpool.co.uk Puxton park - www.puxton.co.uk Family run adventure park with all-weather play zone, fun toddler soft play area, aerial climbing, slides and much more.

Bath Literature Festival (Feb to March) Bath International Music Festival (May) Children’s Literature Festival Sept to October) www.bathfestivals.org.uk

Stourhead - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/stourhead Stately home and gardens

Great Bath Feast (October) - www.greatbathfeast.co.uk

Dyrham Park – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/dyrham-park 17th century mansion, garden and deer park

Bath Film Fest (November) - http://bathfilmfestival.org.uk Bath Christmas Market (late November to December) - www. bathchristmasmarket.co.uk

Westonbirt Arboretum - www.forestry.gov.uk/westonbirt

lford manor - www.ifordmanor.co.uk Manor house, gardens and tea room Cream teas and River Swimming at Stowford Manor Farm (Open Easter to Sept) - www.stowfordmanorfarm.co.uk/creamteas.php


Where to Stay

B&Bs and Guest Houses Brooks Guesthouse, Upper Bristol Road, Bath - www.brooksguesthouse.com

Hotels

De Montalt Wood, Monkton Combe - www.demontaltwood.co.uk

Abbey House, central Bath - www.abbeyhotelbath.co.uk

Fox Cottage, Monkton Combe - carlmungai@gmail.com 07941 522981

Babington House - www.babingtonhouse.co.uk

The Manor House, Monkton Combe - www.manorhousebath.co.uk The Squash Court, Landsdown, Bath - www.squashcourtbath.co.uk

Bailbrook House, London Rd West - www.bailbrookhouse.co.uk Bath Spa Hotel, Sydney Rd - www.macdonaldhotels.co.uk

Waterhouse, Limpley Stoke valley - www.waterhousebath.co.uk

Combe Grove Manor, Combe Down - www.thehotelcollection.co.uk/ hotels/combe-grove-manor-bath-hotel

Wheelwrights Arms, Monkton Combe - www.wheelwrightsarms.co.uk

Lucknam Park, Colerne, Wilts - www.lucknampark.co.uk Homewood Park, A36 - www.homewoodpark.co.uk The Priory, Weston Rd - www.thebathpriory.co.uk The Queensbury Hotel, central Bath - www.thequeensberry.co.uk The Royal Crescent, Royal Crescent - www.royalcrescent.co.uk Woolley Grange, Bradford on Avon - www.woolleygrangehotel.co.uk

visitbath.co.uk/accommodation


The Monkton Guide 2017  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you