Page 1

SPRING 2018

McPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Biochem major Parkes Wolters accepted to

med school as a sophomore.


BLOWOUT One of the biggest and most anticipated student events of the year, Campus

Blowout, took place May 11. This year's theme was Welcome to the Jungle.


McPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

FOCUSING ON

HEALTH CARE

RURAL HEALTH SCHOLAR Parkes Wolters is one of 16 students accepted into the Scholars in Rural Health program at the University of Kansas.

12

16 2 NEWS

6 FACULTY RETIREMENTS

Spring 2018 | Vol. 107, No. 1 McPherson College 1600 E. Euclid PO Box 1402 McPherson, KS 67460 (620) 242-0400 (800) 365-7402 www. mcpherson.edu The Review welcomes and reports the news of our diverse alumni and friends. Their activities may represent a variety of viewpoints which may or may not be endorsed by the college. McPherson College does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, gender, sexual orientation or physical or emotional disability. © 2018 McPherson College

TAKING CARE OF MC Alumni serving the community with on-campus clinic.

8 ATHLETICS

18

20 ALUMNI NEWS

The Review McPherson College Magazine is published twice a year by the Office of Marketing and Public Relations for the alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the college. Editor - Tina Goodwin director of public relations Design - Brian Lundberg director of marketing Photography - Colleen Gustafson ‘06 promotions and new media manager Contributing Staff Monica Rice director of alumni and constituent relations Dave Barrett ’90 advancement officer Joshua Schroeder athletic communications director Kendra Flory advancement assistant Deb Wagoner donor relations coordinator

NATURAL SCIENCES MC science alumni making a difference in health care .

24 ALUMNI NOTES

McPherson College Administration Michael P. Schneider ‘96 president Abbey Archer-Rierson chief of staff Roger Brimmerman vp for advancement Dr. Bruce Clary ’77 vp for academic affairs Khalilah Doss vp for student life & dean of students Andrew Ehling athletic director Amanda Gutierrez vp for automotive restoration Christi Hopkins vp for enrollment management Marty Sigwing director of facilities Brenda Stocklin-Smith director of human resources Rick Tuxhorn vp for finance


news MC celebrates 130th Commencement Ceremony

W

ith wise words delivered from a long-time faculty member, McPherson College conferred bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees on 125 seniors in its 130th Commencement Ceremony, Sunday, May 21, 2018. Dr. Rick Tyler, professor and chair of the performing arts department, who retires this year after 41 years at McPherson College, delivered the commencement address. Knowing a little something about commencements, after attending the very first one held in Brown Auditorium at the age 8, Dr. Tyler said despite their age difference, he and the members of the graduating class of 2018 were both starting out on new paths in their lives. He drew his words of advice to the students from a quote by Maya Angelou that says, “If you must look back, do so forgivingly. If you must look forward, do so prayerfully. However, the wisest thing you can do is be present in the present…gratefully.” Dr. Tyler spoke to the students about finding out what they are good at and getting better at it and not to forget there is life outside of work. “Appreciate being present gratefully and be thankful to those who have helped you get this far,” he said. “As you experience the rest of today do so with the same anticipation as that eight-year-old boy in back of this auditorium who so much

TRADITIONS

Every spring brings a favorite campus tradition, the Senior Drive Through. The campus community gathers to cheer on seniors, who drive the vehicle of their choice through the Gazebo at the center of campus. It's a rite of passage for the senior class as they prepare for commencement.

2

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

just wanted to be on this stage, because he got so much more than he dreamed of. I have the same hope for you today that you get so much more than you ever dreamed possible.” Whitney Murray, senior class representative, also spoke to the graduating class. She shared her experience studying abroad in Spain while attending McPherson College and encouraged students to “embrace change” and find opportunities to learn more about themselves. A bachelor of science degree was also given posthumously to Braden Lee Bush, who would have graduated on Sunday. Bush was a member of the football team and passed away on June 16, 2017. A moment of silence was recognized in his honor. The commencement ceremony concluded with Dr. Michael Schneider, president of McPherson College, reminding the students of words he shared with them as freshmen –show up, and ask for help. He added one more piece of advice before sending them out. “Use your education to take risks. There is a world full of people who will tell you no,” he said. “Put yourself out there and remember that McPherson College told you yes.” www.mcpherson.edu/graduation


100% 64% 2 0 1 8 G R A D U AT E S

accepted to grad school

secured a job before graduation (national avg. 21%)

Dixieland Combo adds to successful year

One of the most unexpected and delightful “outcroppings” of the McPherson College Band program this year has been the Dixieland Jazz Combo, according to Kyle Hopkins, associate professor of music and director of bands. Watching the student-led Dixieland Jazz Combo evolve into a successful performance group has been an exceptional highlight. Overall, it has been an outstanding year for the band program with continued growth (making it one of, if not the, largest concert band of any private Kansas College) along with a coveted invitation to perform at the Kansas Music Educators Association State Workshop in February. The McPherson College Band was just one of four collegiate concert bands in the entire state asked to perform.

ART Kansas on campus ART Kansas, a celebration of creating, curating, and collecting Kansas art, featured some of the state’s most successful and creative working artists in gallery exhibitions during June and July and in workshops on June 8-9 at McPherson, Kansas. The event was conceived by Michaela Valli Groeblacher, assistant professor of art, in collaboration with Jay Nelson, long-time director of the Streckler-Nelson Gallery in Manhattan, and Karla Prickett, studio artist and visual arts consultant of Salina. In addition to the two gallery exhibitions, one in Friendship Hall and the other at the McPherson Museum, and the workshops on campus, the event also featured a gala dinner that honored Kansas art collector Mike Michaelis, CEO of Emprise Bank, with a video produced by Larry Hatteberg.

Dear McPherson College Alumni, Friends, & Family,

President’s message

CAREER FOCUSED

Summer is the time in the academic year when we reflect, evaluate, and begin planning for a new year. This process began in May with the Commencement of the class of 2018. Among the 2018 McPherson College graduates, 100% who applied to graduate school were accepted, and 64 percent of all MC graduates reported having a job prior to commencement, compared to a national average of 21 percent. There is no better measure of educational success than graduate outcomes. Although we are very excited for the future of our most recent graduates, we are also interested in how we can best assure our current students’ success while at McPherson College. With that in mind, we are launching the Student Debt Reduction Project this fall (pg. 11). The aim of this project is to help students graduate with $10,000 or less in student loans. Students who participated in the pilot project last year learned about budgeting and managing money, and saw they could reduce the amount they planned to borrow. While most schools are attempting to make college more affordable and others are obsessed with the size of institutional scholarships, McPherson College is focused on the central concern of most families - debt. These efforts and many more - like our outreach to Congolese students (pg. 10), and continued development of academic programs like the natural sciences (pg. 12) - could not be accomplished without your support. In this issue of The Review, we focus on McPherson College’s impact in health care. I hope you will see that this is just one example of where McPherson College and its alumni are making a difference in their communities and finding success in their profession. Enjoy!

Michael P. Schneider President, McPherson College

SPRING 2018

3


experiences

puerto rico germany

new york

ecuador

london

McPherson College

new york

students had the opportunity to experience different cultures and environments that spanned the globe this year. In January, students

puerto rico

traveled on a service trip to Rwanda, a businessfocused trip to Australia, and a theatre trip to New York City. Others spent a week-long learning tour of the Ecuadorian rain forest in May. Individual students also spent semesters abroad in London and in Germany.

www.mcpherson.edu/travel

Student shares Rwanda experience at Annual Conference

An article written by McPherson College student Emmy Goering was featured in the April 2018 issue of Messenger, the magazine of the Church of the Brethren. In the article Goering writes about her travel experience to Rwanda with McPherson College Professor Herb Smith during interterm in January. Goering along with six other students visited a memorial museum dedicated to genocide victims and heard first-hand about the tragedy from some of its victims. Goering also describes visiting the Akagera National Park near Tanzania and seeing African wildlife up close. Finally, she tells about the students’ experience helping Rwandan students become more proficient in English by teaching them how to play the card game “Go Fish.” “Their enjoyment of this little glimpse of Western culture gave me a new perspective. In those moments, our differences of culture, background, and understandings transformed into a new, shared reality,” she writes. Goering will share more insights from her trip to Rwanda at the Church of the Brethren Annual Conference in Cincinnati in July.

4

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

lon


a

news

rwanda

Men’s hoops in Puerto Rico

Complete and utter devastation. This was the scene that unfolded in front of the McPherson men’s basketball team on the morning of December 18, 2017, as they made their way along winding roads from San Juan, Puerto Rico, to the small community of Aguas Buenas in the island’s central mountain range.

australia

With Puerto Rico still reeling from the effects of Hurricane Irma two weeks prior, Hurricane Maria made landfall on the island on September 20, 2017, as a Category 4 storm, causing upwards of $90 billion in damage and leaving much of the island without fresh water or electricity.

australia

Three months later, water and electricity had been restored to many parts of the island - mainly coastal and tourist areas - while inland locales like the community of Aguas Buenas remained without basic services. “I am a firm believer in our mission of Scholarship, Participation, and Service,” said Head Men’s Basketball Coach Tim Swartzendruber. “Our team does service projects each year. We were fortunate this year to have had the opportunity to travel to Puerto Rico and not only play basketball games, but do a service project.” The Bulldogs spent part of the morning working with children of all ages at the Boys and Girls Club in Aguas Buenas. The team and coaches found communication difficult early on as only assistant coach Austin Blackwell and a handful of players spoke Spanish and only a couple of kids spoke English. Basketball became their common language as, pretty soon, players and campers were working their way through layup lines and shooting and dribbling drills. “No doubt one of the highlights of our trip was the experience at the Boys and Girls Club,” added Swartzendruber. “To see the expression on their faces while we were there and when we left was priceless. It certainly left a big impression on how fortunate we are.” Another difficulty encountered by the group was the overall lack of facilities. The primary Boys and Girls Club building had been damaged significantly by the hurricane and was not yet back online, forcing all programing to originate from a covered concrete basketball court adjacent to the facility. Compounding matters was the fact that only one of the two backboards had a rim. “Eighty percent of Puerto Rico lives below the poverty line and many of these towns have suffered a lot from the hurricane,” noted Aslin Sauer, trip coordinator for Puerto Rico College Sports Tours. “The Boys and Girls Club is really all these kids have - it’s where they go after school, it’s the center of their social lives. So, bringing anyone in, even from San Juan and, especially, someone from the mainland, is a big deal for them.” Upon the team’s return to the mainland, Swartzendruber coordinated with local sporting goods vendors to donate basketballs, rims and nets to the Boys and Girls Club of Aguas Buenas.

SPRING 2018

5


faculty

Two long-time McPherson College faculty members retired at the end of the 2017-18 academic year. Each shared their distinctive artistic talents with the campus and wider community and brought the highest level of academic knowledge to the classroom. Both built programs to what they are today and will leave a legacy of excellence for others to follow.

Rick Tyler

Dr. Rick Tyler has deep roots in the McPherson College theatre program. Tyler began teaching in the theatre department in 1976 when he was just 24 years old and acknowledges he has learned a great deal about his craft during his career. His association with the program goes back to its beginning on campus, when he was student at the college and the department was new. As a student he was tapped as stage manager for nearly every production and was hired to manage the auditorium. At the start of his career he was the only full-time faculty member in the speech and theatre program. Under his leadership, the program has grown from two productions a year with few physical assets to a program that produces six to seven shows a year with support spaces for costumes, props, and make-up, a full scene shop, a black-box theatre, a new fine arts center, and the First Nighters, a subscription dinner-theatre. He is perhaps best known as the creative force behind the set and costume designs of many of the program’s productions. His talents were recognized in 2008 with a nomination for the Governor’s Arts Award for artistic distinction and merit. Dr. Tyler retires after 41 years at McPherson College.

Wayne Conyers

Having the freedom to be himself is what led to a 35-year-long career at McPherson College for art professor Wayne Conyers. “I was never asked to be something I’m not. That has been a huge factor, as if it is a good thing for our students to have a ‘Wayne Experience,’” he said. Conyers began teaching part-time at the college in 1983. He soon became the only full-time art instructor in the program and began building it to what it is today. He has served as chair of the department for 25 years and was part of creating the new Hess Fine Arts Center when it was opened in 2000. Conyers was first attracted to the college because it offered a watercolors class and was excited to share his love of that medium. However, over the years he has taught everything from drawing to ceramics to sculpting. He loved the small class sizes at McPherson College and appreciated the one-on-one instruction it allowed him with his students. Often he developed life-long relationships with students over generations. In one case teaching parents and later their son who became a high school art teacher himself, and then teaching one of his students. In retirement, Conyers plans to spend more time doing one of things he loves most, watercolor painting.

6

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE


news Dr. Herb Smith, professor of philosophy and religion, after a meeting with Princeton University scholars last year, has been asked to present lectures at various universities in the Middle East and Asia throughout the winter and spring of 2018. Among the locations of the universities are Tokyo, Dubai, and various locations in India including Jammu, Kashmir, Benares, Mumbai, and Kochi. The lecture tour was arranged by Dr. Naoki, Yajima, Professor of Philosophy in Tokyo and Dr. Sara Srideviama, Professor of Economics in Kochi, India. Among several topics, Dr. Smith presented on “The Idea of Progress in Global History.” Dr. Kirk MacGregor, assistant professor of philosophy and religion, will have his fifth textbook published in January, 2019. Zondervan, the academic religious publishing arm of HarperCollins, has accepted for publication Dr. MacGregor's manuscript “Contemporary Theology: An Introduction-Classical, Evangelical, Philosophical & Global Perspectives.” It is a textbook for courses in Christian thought from the nineteenth century to the present. Starting in Spring 2019, it will be the textbook for his McPherson College course, Christian Traditions. Alongside the textbook, Zondervan has filmed Dr. MacGregor giving 38 video lectures, one lecture corresponding to each of the book’s chapters. The video series, “Contemporary Theology Video Lectures-Classical, Evangelical, Philosophical & Global Perspectives,” will be released at the same time as the textbook. In addition, Dr. MacGregor was elected to serve as a Steering Committee Member of the Tillich: Issues in Theology, Religion, and Culture Unit of the American Academy of Religion. He also presented papers and served as moderator at international philosophy and religion conferences in Boston and Providence, Rhode Island. He also had two journal articles and a chapter of his book published and appeared in a two-part radio debate with Dr. Tony Costa on “Iron Sharpens Iron,” and a television interview on “Brethren Voices.” Dr. Bryan Midgley, associate professor of psychology, and Dennis Delprato published an article in The Psychological Record: "Stephenson's Subjectivity as Naturalistic and Understood from a Scientific Perspective." Kerri Snell, assistant professor of English, will have a poem, "Brittle Creek," published in the Broad River Review, a literary journal affiliated with Gardner-Webb University. The journal annually considers poems for its Rash Poetry Prize, established to honor Ron Rash who graduated from Gardner-Webb University. "Brittle Creek" stylistically and thematically relates to Rash. Dr. Khalilah Doss, vice president of student life and dean of students, presented the following sessions at the NASPA Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education Conference in March: - “A Seat at the Table: How Women of Color Navigate Predominantly White Spaces on Their Campuses” - “Happily Ever After? Recognizing, Preventing, and Combating Mid-Level Burnout in Student Affairs” - “Coming to America: How International Women of Color Navigate their Roles as Administrators in Student Affairs” NASPA is the leading association for the advancement, health, and sustainability of the student affairs profession. NASPA is comprised of over 15,000 members in all 50 states, 25 countries, and 8 U.S. Territories. Dr. Julia Largent, assistant professor of communications, has been awarded the Broadcast Education Association Kenneth Harwood Outstanding Dissertation Award. She was honored, along with her dissertation advisor, at the national BEA conference awards ceremony in April. Dr. Allan Ayella, associate professor of biology, published a peer-review editorial in the Journal of Nutrition and Food Science, titled “Dietary Phytochemicals in Fiber, Fruits and Vegetables, Why is this Still Relevant?” In the editorial, Dr. Ayella addresses the benefits of dietary phytochemical consumption and the challenges associated with

meeting daily dietary intake of these cancer preventing compounds. Dr. Ayella then proposes some steps that the American people can take to encourage adequate consumption of dietary phytochemicals as found in fiber, fruits and vegetables. Dr. Dustin Wilgers, associate professor of biology, self-published a children’s book in June. The story will teach children about the nature of science and will include some fun information on spider biology. The book, titled “Savanna Spider, super scientist, goes to school,” is an illustrated chapter book intended for elementary school children. “Science Behind the Story” popups throughout the book explain the real science behind this fun and engaging story about a little spider scientist. Kids will learn it is never too early to be curious and look at the world through the eyes of science. The book is funded by the Chickadee Checkoff of the Nongame Wildlife Improvement Program of the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism. Portions of the proceeds of the sales of this book will be donated to this program. All book orders can be completed at: https://squareup.com/store/dustin-wilgers Dr. Cari Lott, associate dean of institutional research and assessment, and Joan Hawthorne from the University of North Dakota presented, “Assessing General Education with Performance Tasks: Tales from Two Contrasting Institutions” at the Higher Learning Commission’s annual conference in April in Chicago, Illinois. The presentation described performance tasks as a flexible, effective strategy for general education outcomes assessment and explained the rationale, development and implementation in both a large, public institution where tasks are in their fifth year of use and a small, private institution just beginning use. Michaela Groeblacher, assistant professor of art, was awarded the Main Award at the Smoky Hill Art Exhibit in Hays for her ceramic sculpture titled "Clown #3" in April. This makes it three out of three: "Clown #1" won a Merit Award at the Topeka National in January and "Clown #2," first place at the Kansas Artists and Craftsmen Association's Masters exhibit in November. Dr. James Bowyer, associate professor of music, wrote a chapter entitled “Move Me a Story: Augmenting Story Genres with Creative Movement” that appeared in the book “The Strength of Stories in Early Childhood: Influences Across Developmental Domains” (Springer) in late 2018. Additionally, his choral arrangement of the American folksong “Shady Grove” for men’s choir was released in June 2018 by Santa Barbara Music Publishing. This arrangement marks his eighth choral piece now in print. Dr. Bowyer also presented at the following conferences during this academic year: Organization of American Kodály Educators; Midwest Kodály Music; Educators Association; Kansas Music Educators Association; and Ohio Music Educators Association. He is also under contract with Santa Barbara Music Publishing to print “Creative Sightsinging II: From Folksong to Masterwork” for release in 2019. This is a continuation of his book, “Creative Sightsinging” (2008), a music fundamentals textbook used by schools and colleges across the United States and around the world. Luke Chennell, assistant professor of technology, presented a paper entitled "Lost and Found: 'Barn Finds' and the Recovery of the Past" at the Second International Drive History Conference, sponsored by the Historic Vehicle association in Allentown, Pennsylvania, and was featured in Sports Car Market's annual restoration guide. Dr. Jonathan Frye, professor of natural history, is involved in an entrepreneurial start-up called HASER, as one of its founding members of the board of the directors. HASER is a 501c3 non-profit organization that provides fiscal sponsorship to grassroots initiatives in Puerto Rico. The vision and mission of HASER, its organizational structure, and the groups that it has allied with to date are detailed on its website: http://www.hasercambio.org/en/about-us

SPRING 2018

7


athletics

Three Spring Championships! The Bulldogs won titles in men's outdoor track and field and men's and women's tennis this spring and for the year finished in the top half of the KCAC in 11 of 17 sports. McPherson also tied for second in men's soccer and took third in men's indoor track and field, fourth in women's indoor track and field and fifth in softball and women's outdoor track and field. Twenty McPherson College winter/spring student-athletes earned Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Men’s Basketball (11-19, 8-14 KCAC – 9th)

McPherson struggled out of the gate, winning just once in its first 14 outings but seemed to right the ship after the holiday break. Sparked by two wins in Puerto Rico, the Bulldogs went 10-6 down the stretch, including wins in six of their final seven games and a triple-overtime loss at No. 6 Southwestern, but just missed out on the KCAC Tournament.

junior from Tempe, Arizona, and third baseman Mark Strebin, a junior from Westville, Illinois, received honorable mention. Pitcher Josh Lewis, Loveland, Colorado, was named the KCAC Freshman of the Year. He led the Bulldogs with 12 starts, posting a 4-3 mark and a 6.78 ERA in 15 appearances while striking out a team-high 57 batters. Lewis threw a team-high three complete games, including a no-hitter against Manhattan Christian College on March 24. The team was recognized as the KCAC Team of Character for the 2018 season.

Softball (27-24, 11-11 KCAC – tie, 5th)

For the second year in a row, McPherson set a school record for victories and won a game at the KCAC Tournament. Sophomores Christie Betker, Reno, Nevada, and Jessie Jones, Brentwood, California, earned First Team All-KCAC honors after posting record-setting numbers.

Aaron Bachura, Wilsey, Kansas, the team’s lone senior, had a strong season averaging 18.2 points per game and shooting 42.5 percent from the field. He surpassed the 1,000-point mark early in the season and finished with 1,322, good for 11th place on McPherson’s all-time scoring chart.

In the circle, Betker set new single-game (16), single-season (233) and career marks (393) for strikeouts. She also broke her own school record for wins in a season with 19 to push her career total to 36 and erase LouAna Nuss’ career mark of 23.

Bachura earned Second Team All-KCAC and NAIA Division II All-America honorable mention honors.

Jones was a hit machine out of the leadoff spot in the lineup, breaking her own single-season hits mark with 84 while posting a .435 batting average.

Frederick Watts Jr., Houston, was named to the KCAC All-Freshman Team and was an All-KCAC honorable mention after a solid rookie season that saw him average 10 points and 6.3 rebounds per game.

Women’s Basketball (14-16, 10-12 KCAC – 8th)

McPherson got off to a good start, winning nine of its first 13 games headed into the holiday break. The back half of the schedule was not as kind to the Bulldogs, who went 5-12 down the stretch but qualified for the KCAC Tournament as the 8 seed. Sophomore Cami Richardson, Hesston, Kansas, repeated as an all-KCAC third-teamer and was a CoSIDA Academic All-District® selection, while Junior Sonerka White, Houston, and Senior Brooklyn Coe, Corvallis, Oregon, received honorable mention from the league’s coaches. In early April, head coach Gordon Reimer announced his retirement after five years on the sidelines. Josh Nichols, formerly the head women’s coach at Bacone College, was announced as his successor on May 7.

Baseball (30-25, 8-22 KCAC – tie, 9th)

The Bulldogs set a new school record for victories for the second consecutive year, reaching the 30-win plateau in the final game of the season. McPherson also posted a 16-8 mark in their first season at Bulldog Park. Four players including catcher Dominick Ramos, a junior from Fresno, California, first baseman Lane Fleming, a junior from Council Grove, Kansas, outfielder Trevor Haycock, a senior from New Iberia, Louisiana, and designated hitter/catcher Evan Willow from Victoria, B.C., Canada, were named to the All-KCAC Second Team, while outfielder Brevin Baessler, a 8

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Men’s Tennis (15-4, 9-0 KCAC – 1st)

The Bulldogs went through the KCAC undefeated for a second straight season, capturing a fourth-consecutive KCAC Tournament crown and a berth in the national tournament with a 5-4 win over rival Bethany. Seeded 22nd at the NAIA Men’s Tennis National Championship, McPherson won a first-round match for just the second time in program history, upsetting 11th-seeded University of Northwestern Ohio, 5-4. The Bulldogs nearly toppled No. 6 Cumberland (Tennessee) University in the second round but came out on the short end of a 5-2 decision. Senior Ahmed Lahlou, Casablanca, Morocco, was named league MVP, ITA Central Region Senior Player of the Year and an NAIA Second Team All-American, while fellow senior Hector Carrillo Perales, Barcelona, Spain, repeated as KCAC ScholarAthlete of the Year and earned All-KCAC First Team honors. After the season, Carrillo and Juan Jimenez, juniors from Pereira, Colombia, were also recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-District® selections.

www.macbulldogs.com


news Outdoor (KCAC Champion, 181.5 pts) – McPherson successfully defended its 2017 title by holding off a late surge from the University of Saint Mary. The Bulldogs posted a total of 16 top-three finishes led by Heisser in the 400 hurdles and Brandt Wolters, junior, Osborne, Kansas, in the javelin throw. The 4x100 relay squad of Matthew Bouwkamp, freshman, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, Xavier Taylor, freshman, Waynesville, Missouri, Heisser, and Sury collected the final KCAC crown. Heisser also took second in the 110 hurdles, while Sury was KCAC runner-up in the 100 and took third in the 200. Head coach Robert Spies was named the KCAC Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.

Women’s Tennis (10-3, 8-1 KCAC – tie, 1st)

Despite having just four players and conceding three points in each dual match, McPherson posted an 8-1 mark in league play to tie for a fifth consecutive KCAC regular-season title and advanced to the championship match of the KCAC Tournament before falling to Southwestern in a close 5-4 match. The Bulldogs lost just one contested doubles match during the dual season. Sophomore Brittany Zipf, Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia, earned All-KCAC First Team honors for the second year in a row and received the 2018 KCAC Women’s Tennis Sportsmanship Award. Fellow sophomore Besa Bwalya, Hoisington, Kansas, also earned her second All-KCAC First Team selection, while all-KCAC second-teamer Zoe Bouwmeester, a junior from Zutphen, Netherlands, earned her third all-league honor. Zipf and Bouwmeester were also recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-District® selections.

The Bulldog men qualified seven entries for the national meet. Wolters earned his third All-America honor in the javelin with an eighth-place finish, while the 4x100 squad of Bouwkamp, Taylor, Myles Sample, sophomore, Houston, and Sury broke the school record with a 41.41 clocking in their preliminary heat before finishing seventh in the final. Dylan Templeman, freshman, Princeton, Texas, placed 17th in the discus throw, Derek Naegele, freshman, Portis, Kansas, added a 17th-place finish in the javelin, while Sury took 18th in the 100. Dominguez came home 11th in the marathon, while Jesse Freeman, junior, Castle Rock, Colorado, added a 40th-place finish. McPherson posted two new outdoor school records in 2018. In addition to the 4x100’s effort at nationals, Wolters broke his own school record in the javelin with a throw of 63.34 meters (207-10) to win the title at the KCAC Championships.

Women’s Track & Field

Indoor (Fourth at KCAC Championships, 61 pts) – The McPherson women claimed five top-three finishes at the KCAC Championships, led by a win from Amy Braimbridge, sophomore, Connolly, Australia, in the 400-meter dash. Braimbridge also took second in the 60 and 200 and anchored the Bulldogs’ 4x400 relay, while Ané Archuleta, senior, Sacramento, placed third in the 800. New school records came from Braimbridge in the 200 and 400, while Archuleta added a new standard in the 800. The Bulldogs’ 4x800 relay team of Taylor Dreiling, senior, Ness City, Kansas, Rachel Foreman, sophomore, Holcomb, Kansas, Archuleta and Samantha Nelson, freshman, Clearfield, Utah, also posted a new school-best mark at the KCAC Championships. Braimbridge went on to place fourth in the 400 at the NAIA Championships.

Men’s Track & Field

Indoor (Third at KCAC Championships, 111.5 pts) - The McPherson men won four individual titles at the league meet. Hunter Sury, junior, Katy, Texas, captured wins in both the 60 and 200, while Amari Heisser, sophomore, Palmdale, California, won the 60 hurdles and Robert Shaw, freshman, Anahuac, Texas, took the high jump crown. The Bulldogs emerged from the KCAC championships with three new school records. Sury matched Akim Muhammad’s 2015 mark in the 200-meter dash, while Heisser set a new McPherson standard in the 60 hurdles and the distance medley relay of Jonathan Dominguez, senior, Chicago, Sam Standifer, sophomore, Halstead, Kansas, Casey Zimmerman, junior, Allen, Texas, and Jerod Fuller, junior, Polk City, Florida, established a new mark. Sury and Shaw both qualified for the NAIA Championships with Sury missing the finals in the 60 dash and Shaw placing 22nd in the high jump.

Outdoor (Fifth at KCAC Championships, 57 pts) – McPherson had four top-two finishes at the KCAC Outdoor Championships hosted by Friends. Braimbridge claimed the only conference title with a meet-record time of 54.97 seconds in the 400. She also took second in the 200 and anchored the Bulldogs to runner-up finishes in the 4x100 and 4x400 relays. The Bulldogs set four new school marks during the season. Braimbridge posted new standards in the 200 (24.35) and 400 (54.97) and also paired with Genevie Rivera, freshman, San Antonio, Texas, Tatelyn Lasley, freshman, Springfield, Colorado, and Archuleta in the 4x400, anchoring the quartet to a new MC mark of 3:59.67. Dreiling, Foreman, Archuleta and Nelson made it a record double in the 4x800 as well with a new mark of 10:30.23. McPherson qualified two events for the national meet. The 4x100 team of Miaya Sample, sophomore, Houston, Destiny Johnson, freshman, Arlington, Texas, Diamond Blaylock, sophomore, Flower Mound, Texas, and Braimbridge finished 15th overall. Braimbridge matched her indoor result with a 4th-place finish in the 400. SPRING 2018

9


support

THE FACE OF GIVING

International Scholarships An initiative that seemed spontaneous a little more than a year ago has blossomed into a rewarding partnership for McPherson College and students from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. This year, 22 students attended McPherson College and more are expected next fall. The effort to bring students from the Congo to McPherson College began in 2016 when Matondo Filawo visited the college. He became acquainted with the college when he met President Michael Schneider while attending the University of Pennsylvania. “It’s been a very positive experience for the college,” Christi Hopkins, vice president of enrollment services, said. “The Congolese students bring international diversity to our campus and give all of us an opportunity to learn about another culture.” In return, McPherson College offers the students access to an education that would be difficult to obtain in their homeland, in a safe community, with the hope that the students will make a difference in the world after leaving McPherson College.

I am majoring in Business Administration with the goal of getting an MBA later and returning to the Congo, so that I can open my own business and start a career in politics. It is sometimes hard to be a foreign student in the U.S. because of the language barrier and the fact that we miss home, but the community is welcoming at McPherson and there are lots of other foreign students, which makes it easier to feel good even far from home. - Andre Lubaya

” “

What I appreciate the most about McPherson is the way people are so friendly, they smile a lot to everybody! In my country, people do not smile that much: it is not that they are sad, it is just that you smile for a particular reason to a particular person. Here at McPherson, I learned that you don't need any reason to smile, just smile. My future plan is to be in health

10

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

science and do something in the medical field. I want to go back to my country and apply the skills I learned here to help my country to develop. - Choucranie Kayembe

Before coming to McPherson, I did not know anything about the college nor the city. My mentor Michel Matondo told me about the school, and I decided to enroll for a semester just to check what it's like. Fortunately, I fell in love to the place and today, seventeen months later, I am unable to leave the school. College back home would be slightly different from McPherson because there is not as many colleges as there are in the U.S. so there is a big concentration of students in colleges. I am studying mathematics with a concentration in business. After I graduate, I will attend an engineering school either at the University of Chicago or at Kansas

State University. After my engineering degree I will make my way home because I think that my country needs me more than the United States. - Lionel Ibonga

The college’s motto of participation and service while learning stirred something in me and as soon as I got on campus I was ready to get involved. This college doesn’t just give us an education, it sets up to succeed in whatever field we are in, I know that I will leave Mac college a well-rounded person. - Joyce Muhizi

You can support our students by giving to the McPherson College Fund online at: www.mcpherson.edu/giving

Or contact the development office at (800) 365-7402.


news

UPDATE:

DEBT REDUCTION PROJECT

Service

Front row from left – Philip Schoenwetter, Ku-Sup Chin, Sonja Sawatzky, Kyle Hopkins, Colleen Gustafson; Back row from left – Michael Schneider, Brad Stucky, Doug Quint, Tim Swartzenruber, Kathryn Russell, Jonathan Frye, Wayne Conyers, Gordon Reimer, Brian Lundberg, Bruce Clary.

McPherson College celebrated a combined total of 345 years of service to the college when it recognized faculty, staff and a board of trustee member with a reception, dinner, and awards program at Mingenback Theatre this spring. The annual night of recognition celebrated the work of faculty, staff and board of trustees, who have served the college from five to 40 years. “The outstanding achievements and accomplishments by the honorees in the classroom, within individual departments, and in the McPherson community propel the college beyond being a great college to work for,” said Brenda Stocklin-Smith, director of human resources at the college. “These honorees facilitate world-class experiences for our students and it is in this deep sense of campus community where our students excel to be leaders of the future.”

UPDATE: STUDENT TEACHERS

With news reports of teachers on strike in several states throughout the spring, it is nice to hear from McPherson College teacher education graduates who are finding success in the classroom. Here we catch up with the three students (now graduates) who were featured in the fall edition of the Review. Chandler Dohe ‘17, Limon, Colorado, Music Education – Chandler spent a very busy year as the junior high and high school band and choir director at Ellis High School. He also taught beginning band. Chandler appreciated all the help he received from faculty and staff as a new teacher and is pleased that he has been approved to continue in his position next year. Ivanna Moyer ’18, McPherson, Kansas, Elementary Education – Ivanna has accepted a job and will be teaching fifth grade at Heusner Elementary School in Salina, Kansas next year. She plans to attend cooperative learning training classes this summer and is excited to begin creating a fun and creative learning environment for her classroom. Ramon Martinez ’18, San Antonio, Texas, Spanish Education – Ramon returned to his hometown of San Antonio in February where he has been substitute teaching and finished the academic year taking over for a third grade teacher on maternity leave. He is completing certification courses and has been offered positions in the elementary and high school levels with coaching positions in high school basketball.

In the fall 2017 issue of The Review, McPherson College shared with readers its pilot project aimed at reducing student debt. The Student Debt Project will officially launch at the beginning of the fall 2018 semester to a group of 20 to 30 students. The project is intended to provide an opportunity for students to graduate from McPherson College with a goal of less than $10,000 in student debt, and learn important financial skills intended to benefit them after graduation, according Christi Hopkins, vice president of enrollment management. “We were pleased with the results from the pilot project,” Hopkins said. “The students who committed themselves to the process learned how it is possible to reduce student loan debt while attending college and learned lessons about financial planning that they can use their entire life. Our hope is that the project will continue to expand each year and include more and more students.” The students are selected to participate based on criteria that identified them as having significant financial need. The students are hesitant to take out loans, but are committed to their education and working while at McPherson College. Sophomore Kylee Martin participated in the pilot program because she was interested in graduating with as little debt as possible. With a combination of on-campus jobs, an off-campus job, and a summer internship she can see the earnings adding up. “Once you see it start to add up it’s exciting and you see that you can do this,” she said. “It’s nice knowing that I don’t have to ask my parents for money. I even have some money saved for emergencies. I think students can benefit from this program. I know I’ve learned things that I will use the rest of my life.” The project focuses on three areas: employment, mentorship, and financial planning. Participants in the project are asked to apply earnings from employment to their student account in an amount that makes sense for them with the goal of graduating owing less than $10,000. McPherson College will then match the earnings applied to participants’ accounts at $.25 per dollar. Students are also required to attend a financial literacy workshop and meet with a mentor on a regular basis to monitor progress. The college is seeking more volunteers who live in the McPherson area to become mentors to the students in the project. If you are interested in supporting the project through mentorship, please contact Christi Hopkins at hopkinsc@mcpherson.edu. McPherson College is hopeful that the project will make it possible for a significant number of its students to afford a college education. If the project is successful in the long term, it will also help McPherson College keep and graduate more students. “For some families, private loans are not an option,” Hopkins said. “Our goal is that this project will make coming to college possible for a lot of students who may not see it as a possibility without this kind of initiative.”

SPRING 2018

11


FOCUSING ON

HEALTH CARE

Rural Health

Scholar Filling the need for primary care physicians in rural areas

12

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

P

arkes Wolters is finishing up his junior year as a biochemistry major at McPherson College. Like all science majors, he is planning and doing research for his senior project. And, like some students he has a clear idea of what is next for him – medical school. What sets Wolters apart from other students his age is that his place at medical school is already assured. Wolters is one of 16 students accepted into the Scholars in Rural Health program at the University of Kansas at the end of his sophomore year. The Scholars in Rural Health program identifies and encourages undergraduate students from rural Kansas who are interested in building a career as a physician in rural areas. The program provides assured admission to the University of Kansas School of Medicine and makes him eligible for the Kansas Medical Student Loan, which pays for books and tuition. Acceptance in the program is based on ACT/SAT test performance, grade point average, completion of required course work and evidence of the dedication and compassion necessary to be a competent and caring physician.


Wolters was accepted into the Scholars in Rural Health program at the University of Kansas at the end of his sophomore year.

SPRING 2018

13


Being from a small town in Kansas and having

Kansas to play basketball. He was familiar with KCAC

observed his uncle serve as a small town physician, Wolters

schools because his father attended Sterling College and

knows how important doctors are to rural areas.

when it came time for him to choose, Wolters knew he

“Doctors, especially in rural Kansas are important to a community,” he said. “Without local doctors, small

wanted to find a smaller school and thought a private college would be a good fit for him.

communities really struggle. I like the idea of taking care

“I’m more academically focused than athletic,” he said.

of people you know in a community. Growing up in a small

“I picked McPherson College because of the strong science

town, I don’t think it will be weird to bump into patients at

faculty here and because of the quality of the natural

the grocery store.”

sciences program.”

The need for primary care physicians in rural areas

Now after completing his third year, what Wolters most

across the United States is great. In the next 15 years, the

appreciates is how his science classes are taught based on

Association of American Medical

the flipped classroom concept, where

Colleges predicts the United States will

instructional content is delivered

face a shortage of nearly 50,000 primary

outside of the classroom and time in

care physicians. In Kansas, of the 105 counties, 92 are considered medically underserved and last year the state ranked 40th in the number of active physicians in relation to population. “Rural physicians often have rural backgrounds,” Dr. K. James Kallail, director of the Scholars in Rural Health program, said. “Those individuals with rural backgrounds are more likely than those with urban backgrounds to

In

Kansas,

of

the 105 counties, 92 are considered m e d i c a l l y underserved and last year the state ranked 40th in the

nu mb e r

of

active physicians in

r e l at i o n

population.

to

class is used for what used to be considered homework. “I really like all the one-on-one time I get with my professors,” Wolters said. “Using the class time to work through problems is how it is done at med school. I think it will be very easy to assimilate when I get there.” Although his performance in the classroom is what qualified him for the Scholars

program, the

was

his

practice in rural communities. The

involvement

scholars receive an immersion in the life

Professionals Club on campus where he

and practice of a rural doctor before

learned about it from Professor Manjula

medical school to motivate them to their

Koralegedara, associate professor of

chosen career pathway.”

in

it

Pre-Health

chemistry at McPherson College. Each spring, the club

During the junior and senior years, scholars have the

hosts the dean of admissions at the University of Kansas

opportunity to learn at the side of an assigned mentor for

medical school to speak with the students and Professor

a total of 200 shadowing hours accumulated during the

Koralegedara was confident Wolters would be an ideal

four semesters and one summer. This year, Wolters has

candidate for the program.

been spending one afternoon each week with Dr. Dan

“I first met Parkes as a freshman taking organic

Lichty, a 1976 graduate of McPherson College. Although

chemistry and was very impressed with his work ethic and

Dr. Lichty is located in McPherson, he practiced in Quinter,

level of understanding,” Professor Koralegedara said.

Kansas for several years.

“Since then I’ve seen him lead as a student and as president

“I am very thankful for Dr. Lichty,” Wolters said. “He

of the PHP. There is no doubt that he will be successful in

knows a lot about practicing in a rural area, about what it

any profession he gets into and that he will be impacting

is like being far from a major hospital, and the kinds of

the society in a positive way one day.”

procedures you might need to be prepared to do.” Wolters came to McPherson College from Osborne,

14

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

When Wolters graduates next year, he can choose from the three KU medical school campuses in Wichita, Salina,


Parkes Wolters defines the McPherson College mission of developing whole persons

through

scholarship,

participation, and service. Although attracted to MC because of its reputation and size, he also was recruited to play basketball. As a basketball player he was named a 2018 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete. He is president of the Pre-Healthcare Professionals Club and serves the college as a resident assistant.

or Kansas City. He still has time to decide, however for the

to prepare for his senior project. Wolters is working with

moment he is considering attending school in Salina.

Professor Dustin Wilgers to study how spiders store energy

“I like the idea of the smaller classes and having closer

and how that might relate to humans. Wolters appreciates

contact with your professors,” he said. “They are renovating

the opportunity for independent research that students are

a new facility in downtown that I had a chance to tour and

given at McPherson College.

it is going to be really nice.”

“Learning how to write a scientific paper and being

And after medical school, Wolters knows he wants to

able to read and understand research papers because I’ve

continue living in a small town like the one where he grew

actually done it myself is something very important,” he

up. But for now, he is focused on finishing his

said. “I think it will give me a leg up on others when I get

undergraduate work at McPherson College and continuing

to med school.”

SPRING 2018

15


FOCUSING ON

HEALTH CARE

Taking Care of MC Alumni healthcare professionals serving the campus community.

N

avigating the complexities of health care can be confusing for patients. And, it can be

particularly overwhelming for young adults

who may be dealing with a health crisis alone for the

first time. Without easy access to health care services, minor health issues might go ignored resulting in

them understand the process of seeing a doctor. It’s a less intimidating environment for them here.”

The college has eliminated many of the barriers

that keep patients from receiving health care,

Paul ‘89 and Marla ‘87 Ullom-Minnich, M.D. and their

convenience, and office hours can prevent patients

practice, Partners in Family Care, which operates the on-campus health clinic.

The clinic, located in Harter Hall is available to

students, faculty, staff and the McPherson community

Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. year

round. Office visits are free to full-time McPherson College students; some services like lab work are submitted to insurance. The clinic welcomes walk-ins,

but patients with appointments and the McPherson College community receive priority.

according to Dr. Ullom-Minnich. Often cost, from seeking medical attention. The college contracts

with Partners in Family Care for the student health care service and provides space for the clinic. The

clinic is available to students during the week, after

hours, and on weekends by phone. If the condition is something that can be handled over the phone the staff is happy to do that or the student may be

advised to go to the emergency room, Dr. Marla Ullom-Minnich said.

“There is no cost to the students for office visits

Ashlee Pauls, P.A., a 2010 McPherson College

and because of that there is no barrier to their care,”

days each week and Dr. Marla Ullom-Minnich sees

little, they can come in and get it checked out.

graduate, provides medical coverage at the clinic four patients in the clinic one day each week.

review

to help guide them through the process and help

future complications. McPherson College offers a unique service to its students with alumni doctors

16

“For many students it’s the first time taking care

of themselves,” Pauls said. “We have the opportunity

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Ullom-Minnich said. “Even if they think it’s something Sometimes it’s not always something little and if I


have to see them back in a day or two, I know they won’t have to pay for another office visit.”

Having the ability to provide continuity of care is

something that Pauls also appreciates about the campus clinic.

“I can monitor a patient on a weekly basis if needed,” she

said. “We also have students that go everywhere after

graduation or even during the summer and I can send records or medical plans to help them continue their medical care after they leave here.”

The clinic started seeing patients on campus in 2014 just

10 hours each week in a room in Dotzer Hall. It quickly expanded after one semester by adding more hours and

moving to Harter Hall where it now can have up to three exam rooms, a lab, office, and space for mental health services. The

clinic sees 40 to 60 patients each month on average; however,

during this year’s flu season saw up to 80 patients per month.

Dr. Marla Ullom-Minnich ‘87 has been a family practice physician for 22 years. She is a graduate of McPherson College and received her medical training at the University of Kansas in Kansas City and completed her residency in family medicine in Wichita before starting a practice with her husband Paul in Moundridge. She spoke to The Review about the changing landscape of health care in rural Kansas from a physician’s perspective.

According to Pauls, she sees a little bit of everything from

colds and sinus infections to sports injuries. The clinic can also

help manage mental health medications and coordinates care

with the mental health provider on campus, which shares the same clinic space.

“We can coordinate care through our office with mental

health services as well as with athletic training services for the

athletes,” she said. “We do a lot of physical exams and are able to provide the first steps for students in their wellness and preventative care for their future.”

Working on the McPherson College campus as alumni is

rewarding for both health care providers. Pauls said she enjoys seeing college classmates who also work on campus. She likes taking care of college-age patients and is sure to ask the science majors how classes are going and talk about the faculty, who she remembers having has a student.

“I’m always very impressed with the students. They are so

focused,” Ullom-Minnich said. “When I first started, I thought

maybe they would be coming here looking for an excuse to get out of class. But that is never the case. They usually don’t want to miss class.”

Both Pauls and Ullom-Minnich love family practice

medicine because if offers the opportunity to get to know

patients better and work with an entire family and sometimes even several generations of the same family. They think that is

why they both enjoy working with the community at McPherson College.

“Some of the students I have seen since they were

freshmen,” Pauls said. “Some who stayed in the area after graduation continue to come to the clinic and I’m even starting to see their kids.”

“The rural part of my practice is something I love,” she said. “And, being a family physician is the ideal place to be for me.” After 22 years, Dr. Ullom-Minnich values the continuity of care she provides to her patients, many of them she has seen for 22 years including new generations of families. She also appreciates being on the “front line” for patients and diagnosing conditions before they are handed off to specialists. What has become frustrating to her as a physician is the increased burden of administrative activities due to the lack of Medicaid expansion in Kansas making the health care landscape for many patients difficult to navigate. “Insurance companies are doing everything they can to keep costs down and they do that by increasing the burden of physicians,” she said. “When I prescribe medications, over the half the time I get push back from insurance and have to fill out forms, make phone calls, research patient charts. It takes the fun out of my job.” The increased paperwork also takes time and prevents her from seeing as many patients as she once could. “As a physician we just don’t have a good way to pass this on to our patients,” she said. “Sometimes I tell them that their insurance doesn’t cover a medication and ask them to check on the formularies, but there are some patients that just aren’t able to take that on themselves.” Dr. Ullom-Minnich spends one day each week in the McPherson College clinic where she sees students and her patients who live in McPherson. “It’s great for me,” she said. “It gives me a different demographic to work with and it allows my patients here in McPherson another option for appointments.”

SPRING 2018

17


FOCUSING ON

HEALTH CARE

Natural Science / Health

Mark ’75 and Kathy ’77 Melhorn McPherson College was instrumental in shaping the kind of health care professionals Mark and Kathy Melhorn have become over their 30-year careers as physicians. According to Mark ’75 and Kathy ’77, health care is a prime example of where the “whole person” concept is critical to success as a health care professional and to patient care. “My college experiences helped me to look at not only the science, but the art of medicine,” Kathy said. “Having a liberal arts degree allowed me to incorporate other disciplines into the way I think about health care. It also helped me understand that there is nothing about science that is incompatible with my faith or with spirituality. Addressing the spiritual needs of patients and families is important in health care.” Mark is a hand surgeon in private practice in Wichita and serves on the University of Kansas faculty in the orthopedic department where he is involved in teaching and research. For many years Kathy served as the director of the Pediatric Residency Program in Wichita where she taught residents and medical students along with seeing her own patients and providing consultations for child abuse patients. Today she has cut back to part-time and focuses primarily on child abuse work in the Wichita community. Looking back on their time at McPherson College, the Melhorns see that it was a perfect fit especially for students looking at careers in health care. “McPherson College is small enough that you can’t hide in the crowd, but large enough that there are plenty of opportunities for quality interactions and learning experiences,” Kathy said. “Students are challenged to think for themselves and put what they’ve learned into action. Being involved in cross-disciplinary education builds a deeper knowledge and understanding that translates to a more unbiased and sincere approach to the needs and suffering of the people we care for.” Mark added that he is grateful not only for the educational experiences he had while attending McPherson College, but also for the life lessons. “The opportunity to be in multiple clubs, organizations, and sports is uniquely balanced with the learning,” he said. “I often suggest that my young patients consider going to McPherson College, hoping they will experience similar benefits.”

18

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Dr. Jonathan Frye, professor of natural science, thinks there are two things that make for a successful health care professional – technical competency and strong “people skills.” He thinks McPherson College is uniquely qualified to deliver an education rich in both and over his 25 years of teaching at MC has seen alumni succeed in all Dr. Jonathan Frye areas of health care. “Because of our small scale, we can be more student-focused in our classroom and really develop the competencies students need to be successful in graduate school and in practice. It’s especially focused in the student research part of their experience,” Frye said. “Developing the people skills where students learn to interact with patients in a humanly caring way is something that our faculty model every day and the liberal arts aspect of their education allows students to take classes that further develop those skills.” Although educating the whole student is the most important part of any McPherson College student experience, Frye thinks student research, which is required of all natural science students, is what gives alumni an advantage over other students especially in post graduate studies. “It’s almost accurate to say that this is unique to McPherson College,” he said. “There is only one other college I know of that requires undergraduate research. Writing the proposal and paper, struggling through the research are all things graduate students are required to do. Our students certainly have a leg-up on other students who have never done this before. After graduate school, most health care providers become consumers of scientific information and if you know how the research is done, it makes you a better consumer.”

Adan Ghaffarian ‘08 knew from a very early age that he wanted a career helping others. By the time he was ready to select a college he had decided on health care and came to McPherson College excited to learn about natural sciences. While earning his bachelor’s degree in biology, Ghaffarian participated on the football team, was a resident Adan Ghaffarian ’08 assistant, and worked in the chemistry lab. Today he is a radiology technologist registered in computed tomography (CT) and vascular interventional radiology at Baylor University Medical Center, a nationally recognized facility with over 10 different specialties. He is part of a vascular interventional radiology team that performs procedures that range from routine cancer killing treatments to emergent removal of clots from the brain. “I was able to use my vast knowledge from my science classes at McPherson College to help me succeed in the very competitive radiology program,” Ghaffarian said.


Care / Bulldog Selfies MC ALUMNI ARE PASSIONATE ABOUT HELPING OTHERS AND THEIR COMMUNITIES IN A VARIETY OF HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONS.

Tannah Janssen, ’09 Turlock, CA

Sean McCrae, ’09 Doctorate of Vet Med Candidate, Ross University St. Kitts and Nevis Alachua, FL

Jenny Harper, ’05 BS, CT, Certified Surgical Technologist in Labor & Delivery Mercy Medical Center DesMoines, IA

Cheryl Norsworthy Kroeker, ‘00 DO Chouteau, OK

Jess Hentz Reyes, ’09 (middle) RN, BS, Labor and Delivery nurse Independence, MO

Alicia Schoen Chennell, ’07 Family physician McPherson, KS

Shawn McGowan, ’97 Physician Assistant Ellsworth County Medical Center & Clinic Ellsworth, KS

Mariah Wessel-Draper ‘01 MS, LMHP, LMHC Mercy Hospital in Omaha working in Iowa and Nebraska

Tim Bruton, ’09, M.Ed. ’16 – with daughter Gracie incoming class of ’22 Part time EMS McPherson, KS

Callie McCaffrey, ’13 Doctorate in Occupational Therapy, HaysMed Vona, CO

Chase Ozbun’12 Firefighter/EMT Rose Hill, KS

Amanda Larsen, ‘11 RN, Emergency Room Fort Scott, KS

Denise Kriesel ’02 Ludington, MI

SPRING 2018

19


alumni news

Thank you Bulldog family for supporting our students on Power Day 2018! 228 donors | $118,532 in gifts Read stories from fellow alumni and videos of Dave Barrett interviewing local McPherson alums at www.mcpherson.edu/power.


October 19-21, 2018

Join us for all your Homecoming favorites, plus:

• 100th anniversary for theatre and celebration of Rick Tyler’s career • Teacher Education reunion • Pancake feed brunch & food truck lunch • Photo booth for family, friends, & classmates • Class reunion years for ‘58, ‘63, ‘68, ‘73, ‘78, ‘83, ‘88, ‘93, ‘98, ‘03, ‘08, ‘13 www.mcpherson.edu/homecoming

M C F E AT U R E D I N N AT I O N A L E X H I B I T

A McPherson College alum plays a prominent role in a newly opened exhibit at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. The exhibit features the story of how MC students raised money to help an 18-year-old refugee escape Nazi persecution and attend McPherson College. The 18-year-old student, Tom Doeppner, was German-born and targeted by the Nazis for his Jewish heritage. According to research compiled by Sarah Snow, Doeppner’s granddaughter, the students at McPherson College were moved to take action after learning about the events in November 1938, known as Kristallnacht – violent anti-Jewish protests throughout Germany and Austria. “This was an action out of compassion, but also sacrifice and amazing coordination on the part of the students,” Snow said. “Opa (what she called her grandfather) was in a very precarious position, so this scholarship and acceptance to a school in the United States was literally a life-saving invitation.”

S E RV I C E T R I P O P P O RT U N I TY Alumni and friends of McPherson College are invited to join the college on a service trip to Jamaica. The school is in the process of organizing the 10-day trip from January 4-14, 2019. The trip will include students as well as some faculty and staff. Anybody interested in more information, please contact Khalilah Doss at dossk@mcpherson.edu.

Dear MC alumni and friends,

from the director

SAVE THE DATE

MC HOMECOMING

Recently I had the opportunity to attend the 35th annual Natural Science Research Forum where our McPherson College seniors studying natural science are given 15 minutes to share presentations about their senior research projects. These students each showed passion and depth as they presented their findings. With goals of becoming researchers, pharmacists, and doctors, our rising graduates join an ever-widening cloud of alumni professionals engaging critical needs in our communities. I find hope for complex issues facing our world like health care and the helping professions when I think of our current alumni working diligently in our health care and service sectors. Some of these alumni stories are highlighted throughout this edition of the Review like Ashlee Pauls ‘10 and Marla Ullom-Minnich ‘87, who take care of our campus community, and Drs. Mark ’75 and Kathy ‘77 Melhorn making a difference in the Wichita area. Showing commitment to scholarship along with compassionate service and a drive to participate in ways that improve the human condition, our graduates working in health care share the values learned in MC classrooms across disciplines. Graduates from all across the country participated in our January challenge to update your contact information with the Alumni Office. With 286 responses from 33 different states and more than 50 different class years, our whole office was enjoying the opportunity to stay connected with your unique lives. Congratulations to Eric Sader ’09 who won the fuzzy blanket we offered as incentive for updating information in January. We hope you all enjoy seeing class notes from fellow students. Keep sharing your updates by filling out a simple form at www.mcpherson.edu/update and watch for more fun challenges to stay connected in the future.

Monica Rice director of alumni & constituent relations www.mcpherson.edu/alumni

SPRING 2018

21


honors C I TAT I O N O F M E R I T The McPherson College Citation of Merit award recipients exemplify the mission of Service, Scholarship, and Participation through their life-long commitment to the values they developed as students at the college. This year’s recipients were honored at a dinner March 2 in Mingenback Theatre. Citation of Merit awards were presented to Bob ‘78 and Susan (Boehle ‘78) McKellip, Glenn Walker ’68 and Paul Ediger ’63. The Citation of Merit, the college’s highest award, is given to the college’s most distinguished alumni for lifetime accomplishments in service to profession, community, church, and to McPherson College.

22

review

P

aul Ediger ’63. Paul’s commitment to church, community, and college is evident in his more than 50 years of service for each, at times working quietly behind the scenes on numerous fund raising campaigns and other volunteer efforts. Following his graduation, Paul began his work in banking as an examiner with the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and in 1967 he began his 50-year association with Home State Bank starting as assistant vice president and named president in 1990. He and his wife, Veneta, have been members of the First Presbyterian Church for more than 60 years. Paul has served in virtually every position of the local church and has held several positions in the church’s state organizations. He is also a long-time member of many civic clubs and community organizations. While raising their three children, he served in leadership roles in 4-H and Boy Scouts. While a student at McPherson College, Paul began his long commitment to supporting it with his first donation of $25, or the equivalent of $200 today. Paul and Veneta have continued their financial support of the college since that time. In addition, he has served as co-chair of the local business campaign on several occasions, on the alumni board, and two terms on the board of trustees.

G

lenn Walker ‘68. Glenn is a true teacher and leader whose service has directed him in learning and working with people around the world. He spent 22 years of his career teaching social studies, and nine years as a high school principal. In 1975 he earned a Master of Science degree and in 2000 completed requirements for an Educational Doctorate at the University of Kansas. He pursued additional graduate studies at Duke University, University of New York, Penn State, and several other institutions. Following retirement from public education, he headed the secondary education program at Bethany College, Lindsborg, for five years. He is the recipient of two Fulbright Fellowships, and led teams to the Soviet Union as the state chairman of the People to People Initiative for Understanding. He is a recipient of the Coe Fellow and a Milken National Educa-

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

tor award. He also worked on a state curriculum development team, the National Education Commission on Time and Learning, and the national ASCD accreditation team. He has his wife, Barbara, recently established the Glenn and Barbara Walker Scholarship at McPherson College. They have been active in the Methodist churches of the communities in which they have lived, and Glenn has been a part of Methodist Men, served as a trustee, parish-pastor chair, and in other leadership positions. He has always been active in many civic clubs and community organizations. Since 2006, Glenn has been ranching and working in rangeland management and in 2013 received the Kansas Wildlife Federation Farm/Ranch state conversation award.

B

ob ’78 and Susan (Boehle ’78) McKellip. Bob and Susan receive the Citation of Merit award as a couple because much of their professional, church, and community work has center around their 39 years of farming together. Bob started the Nampa, Idaho farming operation in 1979 raising peppermint, spearmint, sugar beets, wheat and vegetable seed crops. Susan worked at a furniture store in Boise after graduating from college, where she used her interior design degree. She transitioned to running the farm office and raising their two children. She oversees 12-15 employees, several of whom have worked for the family between 20 and 30 years. Bob serves on local, state, and national boards supporting agriculture and the mint industry in particular. Susan supports agriculture on the state and national level by serving on the Idaho Women for Agriculture board, but has also been involved in Love, Inc., a Christian non-profit ministry, and was a 4-H leader for 20 years. Susan, as well as Bob, served as board members at the Nampa Church of the Brethren, as well as teaching Sunday School, and serving on Women’s Fellowship. Susan served McPherson College as the Class of 1978 alumni representative for several years. In addition to their financial support of each campaign and serving as area leaders for national campaigns, their most significant service to McPherson College has been sending their two children, Laina McKellip Hendricks ‘03 and Nick ‘07, to McPherson.


why I give

alumni news

W

hen I began searching for a college I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into. Being a first-generation college student leaves you with many questions. What is a FAFSA? What do I even pack for my freshman year? But I knew I found my second home as soon as I stepped on the McPherson College campus. For every “silly” question I was courageous enough to ask, I was met with an answer full of kindness and understanding. Throughout my time at McPherson College I was blessed with many mentors and opportunities for growth. Whether in the classroom, on the track, or in the various campus jobs I held, I was constantly surrounded by people who were willing to invest in me not only as a student, but as an individual. For the first time, I experienced international travel, service opportunities across the U.S. and a true sense of community.

Erika Doty ’17 Market Data Analyst KALMAR OTTAWA

I would not be a McPherson graduate if not for the individuals before me who gave back. Their generosity attributed to scholarships, experiences, and a lasting legacy to which I now belong. I give because my career started from an internship McPherson College connected me with. They invested a lifetime worth of knowledge, values, and memories into my future and I want to help do the same for other Bulldogs.

support our students ONLINE:

www.mcpherson.edu/giving

or BY MAIL: McPherson College

Be sure to ask your employer about their matching gift program.

My gift to the McPherson College Fund

Enclosed is a gift of:

$1,000

$500

$250

Advancement Office 1600 E. Euclid St. PO Box 1402 McPherson, KS 67460

$100

Other $

Name Address Please charge my credit card: Card#

Discover

Visa

Mastercard Exp. date

Signature I would like to speak with someone who can provide additional information on estate planning.

SPRING 2018

23


alumni notes

Bulldogs in the ICT.

There are over 500 McPherson College alumni in the Wichita area. We caught up with a few young alums in Old Town who serve in their communities. Kevin Steiner '03 (Wichita, KS) Asst. Principal Wichita Schools Christopher German '11 (Park City, KS) Wichita Police Dept Ali (Brewster) Hopper '14 (Milton, KS) HS Volleyball Coach Breahna (Gillespie) Crawford '14 (Wichita, KS) Higher Education Admissions Stephanie (Stroh) Dunback '13 (Derby, KS) Special Education Teacher Cami Engelbert '15 (Maize, KS) Grade School Teacher


What’s new with you?

Tell us about any news you'd like to share with your fellow alums. www.mcpherson.edu/update

SPRING 2018

25


A N N O U N C E M E N T S Edward Wolf ’57, Ithaca, New York, recently shared his historical telescope collection of 111 telescopes to the Beijing Planetarium. The collection is anticipated to be on exhibition in Beijing Ancient Observatory, which dates to 1442. The collection can be viewed at www.wolftelescopes.com. Pearl Fruth Miller ’67, Warrensburg, Missouri, was commissioned into ministry in April at the Warrensburg Church of the Brethren. Glenn Stevens ’72, Moneta, Virginia, recently retired as pastor at the Hollins Road Church of the Brethren in Roanoke, Virginia. Beverly Byer ’74, Centennial, Colorado, recently retired after working nearly 39 years as a Registered Nurse at Rose Medical Center in Denver. DeWayne ’77 and Aurelia Smith ’78 Jackson, Norcatur, Kansas, started their business Prairie Pens in 2017 with the publication of DeWayne’s first book, “Beyond the Fire: A Trilogy,” a collection of fictional stories that grew out of weekly letters he wrote to his nephew on active duty in the armed forces. Gayle Unruh ’78, Jefferson City, Missouri, recently retired as Environmental and Cultural Resource Manager at the Missouri Department of Transportation. She currently works part time for McCormick Taylor as a Senior Planner doing training in environmental documentation for the National Highway Institute. Charlotte Hayes Loewen ’80, Mountain Lake, Minnesota, graduated in May with an M.A. in theology from Bethany Theological Seminary. Rachel Johnson McCaulley ’80, Great Bend, Kansas, was a longtime teacher for Great Bend USD 428. She recently retired as the music teacher at Riley Elementary School. Alan Gumm ’83, Mount Pleasant, Michigan, received the 2018 Marquis Who’s Who Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award. Gumm is Professor of Music Education and Women’s Chorus at Central Michigan University and is a member of the American Choral Directors Association National Research and Publications Standing Committee.

26

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Teresa Goodfellow Miller ’83, Saint John, Kansas, retired from Saint John Elementary School in May after teaching Special Education for 30 years. Lynn Carlson Just ’84, Marion, Kansas, was named the South-Central District KMEA’s Outstanding Secondary School Music Educator for 2017. Just directs vocal music at Hillsboro High School. Craig Spitzer ’86, Kalona, Iowa, after 26 years working at the University of Iowa College of Law, accepted a new position on the University of Iowa campus in a newly created department, University Shared Services, working as a financial transaction expert for Facilities Management. Mike Horner ’99, North Kansas City, Missouri, recently became Artistic Director of Mesner Puppet Theater. He continues to perform puppet shows at museums, theaters and performing arts centers across the country. John Viviani ’00, Birmingham, Alabama, was recently featured in the Workshop Hero Nation newsletter and blog. The article follows Viviani’s career path to his current work as Parts Manager for the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum. Michael Stichter ’01, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, completed his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at Drexel University. He works as a Mechanical Engineer at ARCCA, Inc. Sheri Arceneaux Mitchell ’09, Houston, Texas, was promoted to Director of Human Resources at International Facility Management Association in Houston. Eric Sader ’09, Bloomington, Indiana, recently began teaching at Indiana University’s School of Public and Environmental Affairs. He is also Assistant Director of the Department of Housing and Neighborhood Development for the city of Bloomington. Kacy Smith ’09, Traverse City, Michigan, is the 2018 Good and Visible Citizen Award recipient at Hagerty Insurance, which recognized her generous volunteerism. She has worked at Hagerty for eight years and was recently featured in the company’s newsletter spotlight.


alumni notes Todd Flory ’10, Wichita, Kansas, is one of seven teachers chosen for the 2018 Kansas Master Teacher Award from Emporia State University. Flory is a fourth-grade teacher at Wheatland Elementary School in Andover.

M A R R I AG E S

Melisa Leiter-Grandison ’12, Springfield, Massachusetts, has been named an Exemplary Teacher by Teach Western Mass. She teaches 8th Grade English Language Arts and History at Veritas Preparatory Charter School. Callie McCaffrey ’13, Vona, Colorado, graduated from Creighton University with a Doctorate in Occupational Therapy. Katelynn Reed ’15, Lindsborg, Kansas, graduated from Fort Hays State University in 2017 with a Masters in Clinical Psychology.

Amy Huxtable ’11 to Grahm Mahanna ’13 Ottawa, Kansas, July 15, 2017.

Chandler Dohe ’17, Ellis, Kansas, began teaching in January as director of band and choir at Ellis Junior and Senior High Schools.

Krissa Fuentes ’12 to Noah Trujillo Arvada, Colorado, July 14, 2017.

Eric Sader ’09 to Benjamin Ale-Ebrahim Bloomington, Indiana, May 19, 2018.

Michelle Ducy ’10 to Luke Perse Pueblo, Colorado, July 8, 2017.

Connect to MC!

Access our online alumni directory, social media channels, and website to keep in touch. my.mcpherson.edu/ICS/Alumni www.facebook.com/MCalumni www.linkedin.com/school/mcpherson-college www.mcpherson.edu/alumni

Sean Grandin '11 to Jessica Mello Pittsburg, California, Aug. 11, 2017

Eain Lubbers ’11 to Jacy Porter ’13 Platte City, Missouri, May 26, 2018

Jared Coho ’13 to Jessica Newman ’14 Bellwood, Pennsylvania, May 13, 2017.

Devirous Johnson '14 to Ruth Fife Higley, Arizona, Apr. 26, 2018.

Zach Oller ’16 to Shelby Huber Fort Wayne, Indiana, Mar. 18, 2017.

Jillian Johnson ’17 to Mario Cabrera McPherson, Mar. 23, 2018.

SPRING 2018

27


B I RT H S

Taylor Marie to Christine and Brian Hooks ’07

Everett Charles to Shannon Paulk and Ryan McAleer ’08

Grayson Tyler to Grady and Ashlee Jost Pauls ‘10

Hazel Mae to Trent ’11 and Melanie Grosbach Lawrence’12

Elaina Mae to Elizabeth and Dale Schwartz ’11

Ellianah Marie to Frank ’12 and Stachea Perea Mora ’12

Sophia to Daren and Shannon Coldren Cleveland ’15

Giovanni to Mario and Jillian Johnson Cabrera ’17

Maisie Ann to Lindsey and Zane Luekenga ’17

Houston, Texas, Mar. 18, 2018.

Hutchinson, Kansas, May 2, 2018.

McPherson, June 1, 2017.

28

review

MCPHERSON COLLEGE MAGAZINE

Denver, Colorado, Apr. 29, 2018.

Marengo, Illinois, Sept. 29, 2016.

McPherson, May 1, 2018.

Hesston, Kansas, Jan. 11, 2018.

Pasadena, Texas, May 2, 2018.

Scottsdale, Arizona, Apr. 9, 2018.


alumni notes Rowen Matthew to Danielle and Erik Vogel ’98 Marshall, Minnesota, Mar. 6, 2017.

Harvey to Jessica and Michael Stichter ’01 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Dec. 3, 2016.

Kate Aileen to Wesley ’03 and Elissa Thompson Hoffert ’03

Maynard, Massachusetts, Feb. 16, 2018.

Avery Jolene to Cecilia and Darin Donaho ’08 Aurora, Colorado, Feb. 21, 2018.

Titus Duane to Brian ’08 and Rebecca Grosbach Schippert ’10 Imperial, Nebraska, Dec. 14, 2017.

Pace to Tiffany and Ripp Harrison ’09 Lawrence, Kansas, July 21, 2017.

Emmi Alejandra to Jose “Ardi” ’10 and Jessica Hentz Reyes ’09 Independence, Missouri, Jan. 15, 2018.

Haze Layten to Marlon ’10 and Ashley Toepfer Dominique ’11 Crescent, Oklahoma, Aug. 11, 2017.

Tristan Jay to Courtney and Tyler Tank ‘12 Houston, Texas, Dec. 13, 2017.

Reagan Lynn to Victoria and Eric Wasson ‘13 Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, Jan. 26, 2018.

Juniper and Merrick to Jared ’13 and Jessica Newman Coho ’14

Bellwood, Pennsylvania, Feb. 22, 2016 and Dec. 27, 2017.

JayCee Leigh and KamBree Terese to Jordan ’13 and Breahna Gillespie Crawford ’14 Wichita, Kansas, Dec. 21, 2017.

I N

M E M O R I A M

Ruth Siegle Hammann ’38, McPherson, Apr. 16, 2018. Jessie Messamer Blomquist ’41, Stuart, Iowa, Dec. 19, 2017. Mildred Morrison Sebree ’41, Salina, Kansas, May 1, 2018. Edith Little Young ’43, McPherson, Jan. 17, 2018. Robert “Bob” Bronleewe ’46, Frederick, Kansas, Jan. 24, 2017. Donna Bowman Burkholder ’49, Avon, Indiana, Apr. 22, 2018. Robert “Bob” Keim ’49, Tucson, Arizona, Apr. 20, 2018. Melvin “Mel” Christy ’50, Dallas, Oregon, Jan. 23, 2018. Rowena Neher Nicholson ’51, Wichita, Kansas, Feb. 26, 2018. William “Bill” Sheets ’51, McPherson, Jan. 21, 2018. Lenore Sorensen Carpenter ’52, Fayetteville, Arkansas, May 13, 2018. Robert L. Kerr ’52, Ardmore, Oklahoma, May 21, 2017. Robert D. Bechtel ’53, Denver, Colorado, May 13, 2018. Ward P. Ferguson, ’53, McPherson, May 9, 2018. Marion E. Gentry ’53, Kansas City, Missouri, Mar. 29, 2018. Laura A. Sewell ’54, Portland, Oregon, Mar. 31, 2018. Donald L. Wagoner ’54, Anaheim, California, Jan. 9, 2018. Verlee Reist Frantz ’56, Derby, Kansas, Sept. 21, 2017. Philip Pulliam ’56, Wichita, Kansas, Mar. 23, 2018. Joyce Flory Hayes ’58, Geneseo, Kansas, Jan. 26, 2018. Doris Davidson Crumpacker ’60, McCune, Kansas, Feb. 16, 2018. R. Richard “Rich” Heidebrecht ’60, Denton, Texas, May 6, 2018. Mary Morris Heitschmidt ’61, McPherson, Jan. 3, 2018. Leslie “Les” Funk ’62, Toronto, Canada, Jan. 30, 2018. Leonard “Tom” Dooley ’64, Hutchinson, Kansas, May 18, 2018.

Knox Alex to Courtney and Kasey Miller ‘13

David R. Peters ’66, Livingston, Texas, Nov. 27, 2017.

Derby, Kansas, Apr. 14, 2018.

Elva Schwartz Stucky ’66, Inman, Kansas, Apr. 26, 2018.

Kaleena Elisabeth to Kevin ‘15 and Makenzie Frank Aka ‘16

Dennis H. Heisey ’69, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Jan. 16, 2018.

Louisville, Kentucky, Jan. 30, 2018.

Etta Mae to Shelby and Zach Oller ’16 Fort Wayne, Indiana, Feb. 22, 2018.

Steven J. Kruse ’69, Little River, Kansas, Jan. 30, 2018. Robert G. Miller ’76, Hutchinson, Kansas, Apr. 24, 2017. Larry Latimer ’77, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, May 19, 2018. John R. Snell ’78, McPherson, Apr. 2, 2018. Julie Collins Baldwin ’83, McPherson, Dec. 5, 2017. Brent D. Atwater ’91, Lawrence, Kansas, Apr. 21, 2018. Emilita Huston Poling ’96, Baltimore, Maryland, Feb. 25, 2018. Jay D. Derbidge ’05, Ely, Nevada, May 1, 2018.

SPRING 2018

29


Non-Profit Organization U.S. Postage PAID Permit #1148 Wichita, KS

McPherson College 1600 East Euclid PO Box 1402 McPherson, KS 67460

C.A.R.S. Club Car Show

The 19th Annual C.A.R.S. Club Car & Motorcycle Show at McPherson College celebrated a milestone this year by reaching a new record of 400 cars on the field! The event always draws unique vehicles and many alumni from across the country.

Dennis Gage, host of “My Classic Car,” filmed an episode of his show during the Car Show Weekend. The show has aired on Velocity and NBC Sports Networks. You can watch the full episode on our site at www.mcpherson.edu/autorestoration. CALENDAR Alumni: Fun in the Sun Pool Party Aug 19, 2018

Presidential Scholarship Competition Day Oct 13, 2018

Theatre: “A Doll’s House, part 2” Nov 15-17, 2018

Ventures: The Why and How of Conflict Engagement Sep 8, 2018

Admissions: Art Invitational Workshop Oct 19, 2018

Ventures: Trauma Informed Care Nov 17, 2018

Admissions: Bulldog Visit Day Oct 20, 2018

Admissions: ArtPop Juried Art Show Nov 30, 2018

Theatre: “The Hourglass” Sep 6-8, 2018

Admissions: Natural Science Visit Day Sep 27, 2018

Admissions: Auto Restoration Visit Day Sep 28, 2018 Admissions: EdChat Workshop Oct 4, 2018

Lingenfelter Artist Series: Boston Brass Oct 5-6, 2018 Ventures: Adverse Childhood Experiences Oct 13, 2018

Theatre: “Lend Me a Tenor” Oct 18-20, 2018

Admissions: Auto Restoration Visit Day Nov 16, 2018

Homecoming Oct 19-21, 2018

Presidential Scholarship Competition Day Nov 17, 2018

Heartland Choral Festival Oct 30, 2018

Choir: Festival of Readings and Carols Dec 2, 2018

Jazz Festival Nov 1, 2018

Band: Fall Concert Nov 11, 2018

www.mcpherson.edu/calendar

A portion of the publication cost for the Review comes from Docuplex in Wichita, Kan. - www.docuplex.com

Review - McPherson College Magazine, Spring 2018  
New