Issuu on Google+


Second Edition Copyright Š 2012 Mark McGough

Front cover artwork: Gary William Musgrave Back cover artwork: Jan Camerone

2

www.skillism.com


Mark McGough www.skillism.com

What is art? Who knows? They say a great chef is an artist. So why is a great artist not a great chef? If a great artist is not a great chef, than a great chef is not a great artist. Surely to call everyone an artist devalues art? What is great art? A great visual representation of something else, painted by the movement of the artist possibly. Does a series of a few dozen dots or an unmade bed qualify as great art? Is it a great showcase of talent? Is great art really that unremarkable? I hope common sense prevails. Patrons of art, please stop funding the egos of charlatans. There are so many great artists, many who depend on freelance work and many who slave away in the art departments of influential companies. Society is so dependent on art and yet most are blind to it. Art tells film studios how their films should look, tells game companies how their characters should look, tells car manufacturers how their cars should look. Without art, could consumerism have evolved? Many are in debt to the banks but are the banks not in debt to the artists? Could writing have even developed without art? Art is the language of creativity, the trademark of civilisation. Its power is as infinite as the imagination. It is more than just an expression of ability, it evokes emotion, communicates ideas, persuades its subjects. Great art is sacred. Capitalism and religion know this. Surely the world would be a better place, if the masses knew this too?

www.skillism.com

3


4

www.skillism.com


Andrew Tift www.andrewtift.co.uk

Walsall, England Kitty www.skillism.com

5


Ray Leaning www.musefineart.co.uk

Ayr, Scotland Stage Show 6

www.skillism.com


Kaloian Toshev www.kaloiantoshev.com

Sofia, Bulgaria RZP Girl www.skillism.com

7


Mark Bennett www.markbennettart.com

Cirencester, England Ballerina III 8

www.skillism.com


Ian Mitchell www.ianmitchellart.com

England The Spa www.skillism.com

9


Taryn Lee www.tarynlee.ca

Toronto, Canada The Masks They Wear 10

www.skillism.com


Adam Quest www.adamquest.eu

Poznan, Poland Art Deco www.skillism.com

11


Colin Thomas Halliday www.colinhallidayart.co.uk

Derby, England Whisper 12

www.skillism.com


Krysia D. Michna-Nowak www.krysianowak.co.uk

Hertfordshire, England Come Dancing Rehearsal www.skillism.com

13


Rinat Shingareev www.shingareev.blogspot.com

Brescia, Italy Prince Charles 14

www.skillism.com


Deborah Peacock willndeb@bigpond.net.au

Brisbane, Australia Casa Scarcella www.skillism.com

15


Deborah Peacock willndeb@bigpond.net.au

Brisbane, Australia His Tiny Tears 16

www.skillism.com


Kristoff Tiozon www.tofftiozon.com

Quezon City, Philippines Bloom www.skillism.com

17


Matt Chinn www.mattchinn.co.uk

Rugby, England Karl Pilkington - An Idiot In Space 18

www.skillism.com


Shirley Oxborough oxboroughshirley@gmail.com

Auckland, New Zealand Surrender www.skillism.com

19


Richard Young www.ryoung-art.com

Barnstaple, England Refined Grace 20

www.skillism.com


Nina Maskiell www.ninamaskiell.com

Sydney, Australia Menagerie www.skillism.com

21


Deborah Peacock willndeb@bigpond.net.au

Brisbane, Australia Veil of Apprehension 22

www.skillism.com


Robbie Graham www.robbiegrahamart.co.uk

Kent, England Argun www.skillism.com

23


Anthony Garratt www.agarratt.com

Bristol, England Sand Bay 24

www.skillism.com


Kermit Tesoro www.kermittesoro.com

Quezon City, Philippines Hybrid Elytron (Armor) www.skillism.com

25


Jane E Porter www.janeeporter.co.uk

Aberdeen, Scotland Solitude, homage to Billie Holiday 26

www.skillism.com


Krassimir Kolev www.kolev.se

Poechlarn, Austria The Mirror www.skillism.com

27


Aneta Anna Saks www.saks.wolomin.pl

Wolomin, Poland Icy Winter 28

www.skillism.com


Borja Uriona Uriarte www.onuriweb.com

Gernika-Lumo, Spain Casino Motifs www.skillism.com

29


Aneta Anna Saks www.saks.wolomin.pl

Wolomin, Poland Braided Autumn 30

www.skillism.com


Michael Richardson www.michaelrichardsonfineart.com

East Kent, England Pendeen Watch Lighthouse, Botallack www.skillism.com

31


Nigel Artingstall www.nigelartingstall.com

Lancashire, England Spring’s Arrival 32

www.skillism.com


Richard Bavin www.richardbavin.com

Hereford, England Apple Blossom www.skillism.com

33


Nathan Spoor www.nathanspoor.com

California, United States of America Emissary 34

www.skillism.com


W. Geoff Rollinson www.wgeoffrollinson.com

Lancashire, England Pendle Hill www.skillism.com

35


Alan Baker www.alanbakeronline.com

Brighton, England Egypt 36

www.skillism.com


Paul G. Emmerson paulgemmerson@tiscali.co.uk

London, England Meeting Justine www.skillism.com

37


Gary William Musgrave www.garymusgrave.com

California, United States of America Thanks for the Sam 38

www.skillism.com


Alessandra Scandella www.alessandrascandella.com

Milan, Italy Woman, Corriere della Sera www.skillism.com

39


Frode Nyboe www.nybs.no

Aalesund, Norway First Snow 40

www.skillism.com


Jamie Maguire www.jamiemaguireartist.co.uk

London, England Nature www.skillism.com

41


Richard Green dickg14@comcast.net

Minnesota, United States of America England 42

www.skillism.com


Marilyn Allis www.marilynallis.com

Dorchester England New Orleans www.skillism.com

43


Cyril Garant www.monsieurbuzz.fr

Aiglemont, France Faster Pussycat Kill Bill! 44

www.skillism.com


Tessa Mo www.tessamo.co.uk

London, England Shafti www.skillism.com

45


Robert Palmer www.palmergd.com

Paris, France Bestiary 46

www.skillism.com


Eric Van Den Boom www.boomartwork.com

Utrecht, The Netherlands Lips www.skillism.com

47


Cyril Garant www.monsieurbuzz.fr

Aiglemont, France Planète Interdite 48

www.skillism.com


Alan Baker www.alanbakeronline.com

Brighton, England Halley’s comet www.skillism.com

49


Jeff McMillan www.jeffmcmillan.com

California, United States of America Gobi Gong Farming Girl / Hi Tiger! 50

www.skillism.com


Penny G www.pennyg.com

Hampshire, England The Fool www.skillism.com

51


Robert Palmer www.palmergd.com

Paris, France Christopher Hitchens 52

www.skillism.com


Rosie McClelland www.rosiemcclelland.co.uk

Belfast, Northern Ireland Expectant www.skillism.com

53


Rinat Shingareev www.shingareev.blogspot.com

Brescia, Italy Red Bull Jesus 54

www.skillism.com


Christian Dellavedova www.christiandellavedova.com

Milan, Italy Retirement www.skillism.com

55


Eduardo Bertone www.bertoneeduardo.com

Madrid, Spain Mother Tierra 56

www.skillism.com


Frode Nyboe www.nybs.no

Aalesund, Norway Fisherman www.skillism.com

57


Richard Young www.ryoung-art.com

Barnstaple, England The Passion of Dance 58

www.skillism.com


Megan Davidson www.candyreef.com

Brighton, England Rock Chic www.skillism.com

59


Anna Tuomaala annatuomaala@yahoo.co.uk

London, England Portrait with Jewels 60

www.skillism.com


Alena Lavdovskaya www.lavdovskaya.com

Moscow, Russia Cover-try for TSUM Department Store Magazine www.skillism.com

61


Kerrie Hess www.kerriehess.com

Paris, France La Femme Fatale 62

www.skillism.com


Laura Hutchinson www.lahutchinson.co.uk

Totnes, England The Pack www.skillism.com

63


Laura May Wesson www.laurawesson.co.uk

Amsterdam, The Netherlands Love Heart 64

www.skillism.com


Lorraine Platt www.lorraineplatt.co.uk

England Guitar and Listhanthus www.skillism.com

65


Patricio Oliver www.patriciooliver.com.ar

Buenos Aires, Argentina The Tenebrae 66

www.skillism.com


Paul Bennett www.paul-bennett.co.uk

London, England Salvation www.skillism.com

67


Orlando Cuellar www.ocuellar.com

Bogotรก, Colombia Untitled 68

www.skillism.com


Danie Cronje daancronje@gmail.com

Villiers, South Africa Grand Prix Girl www.skillism.com

69


Sarah Elder www.sarahelderart.com

London, England Cheetah 70

www.skillism.com


Andy Lloyd www.cheltenham-art.com/andylloyd.htm

Gloucester, England Cali Love www.skillism.com

71


Sanna Naer suga_x@live.com

Johor Bahru, Malaysia Recovery 72

www.skillism.com


Richard Green dickg14@comcast.net

Minnesota, United States of America The End of Winter’s Tale www.skillism.com

73


Walter Holmes www.walterholmes.co.uk

Newcastle upon Tyne, England Bamburgh from the South 74

www.skillism.com


Laura Moreton-Griffiths www.lauramoretongriffiths.com

London, England Sweet Resistance www.skillism.com

75


Augusto Costhanzo www.costhanzo.com

Buenos Aires, Argentina Vinyl Collectors 76

www.skillism.com


Alix Arduinna www.alix-arts.com

Rumigny, France Spirit of Rose www.skillism.com

77


Alessandra Scandella www.alessandrascandella.com

Milan, Italy Metamorfosi del Viaggio 78

www.skillism.com


Shirley Anne Hayes www.greybeastart.co.uk

Suffolk, England Hydrangea with Bee www.skillism.com

79


Fawn Fruits www.fawnfruits.com

California, United States of America Fawnfruits 80

www.skillism.com


Giulio Iurissevich www.giulio-iurissevich.com

Pordenone, Italy Jung www.skillism.com

81


Alison Hansen www.alihansen.co.uk

Leamington Spa, England London Girl 82

www.skillism.com


Lluis Barba www.lluisbarba.blogspot.com

Barcelona, Spain Study of the painter, Pierre Subleyras www.skillism.com

83


Sarah Beetson www.sarahbeetson.com

Queensland, Australia The Seventh Seal 84

www.skillism.com


Tina Lobondi www.tinalobondi.com

London, England Designed Outfit www.skillism.com

85


Carol Barrett www.carolbarrett.co.uk

Edinburgh, Scotland Endangered Destiny 86

www.skillism.com


Derek Bacon www.derekbacon.com

Poole, England The Beetroot Incident www.skillism.com

87


Angela Brittain www.angelabrittain.co.uk

Horsham, United Kingdom Going for Gold 1 88

www.skillism.com


Alexander Lovegrove alexander.lovegrove@gmail.com

Bournemouth, England Chestnut-mandibled Toucan www.skillism.com

89


Jan Camerone www.jancamerone.com

Jakarta, Indonesia Wanderlove 90

www.skillism.com


Suvi-Kukka Tuominen suvi-kukka@hotmail.com

Imatra, Finland Sweet Nothing www.skillism.com

91


Jeanne Berthommier j.berthommier@gmail.com

Epinay-sur-Orge, France Budgerigar 92

www.skillism.com


Francisco JosĂŠ HernĂĄndez www.avestrazos.com

Sevilla, Spain The Lord of Wind www.skillism.com

93


Daisyree Bakker www.purrfect-art.com

Jirnsum, The Netherlands Blue Macaw 94

www.skillism.com


Monika Wittenzellner www.tavaron.eu

Stephanskirchen, Germany Blue Macaw www.skillism.com

95


Olivia Day snacknsleep@yahoo.com

California, United States of America Red Macaw 96

www.skillism.com


Catherine Firth firthcatherine@live.co.uk

Nottingham, England Red Macaw www.skillism.com

97


Terry W. Staton www.twstaton.wix.com/my-gallery

Doniphan, United States of America Red Cardinal 98

www.skillism.com


Daniel Sun Deng danielsdeng@gmail.com

Atlanta, United States of America Red Cardinal www.skillism.com

99


Cara N. Bevan www.carabevan.com

North Carolina, United States of America Rooster 100

www.skillism.com


Nandi Ablett www.nandisbirdpaintingsonwood.com

Oxford, England Gold Finch www.skillism.com

101


Richard Allen www.richardallenillustrator.com

Wivenhoe, England Black Bird 102

www.skillism.com


Sue van Coppenhagan www.suevancoppenhagan.com

Ladysbridge, Ireland Great Tit www.skillism.com

103


Pascale Perry www.pascaleperry.com

London, England Blue Tit 104

www.skillism.com


Sian Elise Manfredi sian-manfredi@hotmail.co.uk

Cheshire, England Blue Tit www.skillism.com

105


Andre Boulard skrobart-ngxmusic@hotmail.com

New-Brunswick, Canada / Moncton Blue Jay 106

www.skillism.com


Natasza Cetner nataszacetner.blogspot.com

Sopot, Poland Blue Jay www.skillism.com

107


Marcus Bergman marcus.jbergman@gmail.com

Gothenburg, Sweden Blue Jay 108

www.skillism.com


Katie Croonenberghs kamakru@yahoo.com

Washington, United States of America Blue Jay www.skillism.com

109


Christina Siravo www.csiravo.com

Maine, United States of America Hummingbird 110

www.skillism.com


Emily Miller www.emillergraphics.com

Lublin, Poland Hummingbird www.skillism.com

111


Yuliia Orlova JillOrlova@i.ua

Dneprodzerjinsk, Ukraine White Dove 112

www.skillism.com


Emma Curtis www.ejcurtis.co.uk

Wisbech, England Mallard Duck www.skillism.com

113


Hannah Cushing www.butterflybrain.yolasite.com

England Winter Robin 114

www.skillism.com


Amber Marie Hargreaves www.amhart.co.uk

Huddersfield, England Pigeon www.skillism.com

115


Jonathan Pointer www.pointer-wildlife-art.co.uk

Berkshire, England Spring Pheasant 116

www.skillism.com


Teresa Davis www.teresadavis.co.uk

Somerset, England Countryman’s Kitchen www.skillism.com

117


Jake Gumbleton www.jakegumbleton.com

England Mandarin Duck 118

www.skillism.com


Lauren Elizalde lauren.elizalde@gmail.com

Rancho Cucamonga, United States of America Mandarin Duck www.skillism.com

119


Lindsay Aspen Galland lagalland@gmail.com

Syracuse, United States of America White-Cheeked Pintail 120

www.skillism.com


Rebecca Froehlich www.fishinguponastar.tumblr.com

South Dakota, United States of America Embrowned Autumn www.skillism.com

121


Shalese Sands www.shalesesands.com

Minnesota, United States of America Canadian Geese 122

www.skillism.com


Thomas Haskett www.thomashaskettillustration.blogspot.co.uk

Pembrokeshire, Wales Cornish Chough www.skillism.com

123


Davina Falc達o dns.falcao@gmail.com

Portugal Kingfisher 124

www.skillism.com


Rosangela Ludovico www.cyborgize.it

Milan, Italy Kingfisher www.skillism.com

125


Pam Slaats pamslaats@hotmail.com

Eindhoven, The Netherlands Kingfisher 126

www.skillism.com


Isaac Y. Chodola ichodola@gmail.com

Lilongwe, Malawi Malachite Kingfisher www.skillism.com

127


Craig Schultz www.digitalxtreme1.blogspot.com

Atlanta, United States of America Bald Eagle 128

www.skillism.com


Sebastian Jordan Turner naitsabesthereversed@hotmail.com

Central Coast, Australia Bald Eagle www.skillism.com

129


Catherine Firth firthcatherine@live.co.uk

Nottingham, England Golden Eye 130

www.skillism.com


Danielle Trudeau dani.trudeau@hotmail.com

Winnipeg, Canada Fly Back Home www.skillism.com

131


Katrina Zidichouski kzidichouski@gmail.com

Charlottetown, Canada Golden Eagle 132

www.skillism.com


Colin Woolf www.wildart.co.uk

Edinburgh, Scotland Golden Eagle www.skillism.com

133


Arne van der Ree www.wildkunst.nl

Rotterdam, The Netherlands Eagle Owl 134

www.skillism.com


Catherine Firth firthcatherine@live.co.uk

Nottingham, England Little Owl www.skillism.com

135


Svetlana Ledneva-Schukina www.schukina.com

La Seyne Sur Mer, France Eurasian Eagle Owl 136

www.skillism.com


Hans Borg www.hansborgsgalleri.se

Uppsala, Sweden Boreal Owl www.skillism.com

137


Claudia Hahn www.heliocyan.com

Guildford, United Kingdom Tawny Owl 138

www.skillism.com


Daisyree Bakker www.purrfect-art.com

Jirnsum, The Netherlands Tawny owl www.skillism.com

139


David Harris sunnyside.dave@btinternet.com

Aberdeenshire, Scotland Snowy Owl 140

www.skillism.com


George Ayers www.georgekayers.com

Florida, United States of America Barn Owl www.skillism.com

141


Kara Zisa www.karazisa.com

New York, United States of America Wise Owl 142

www.skillism.com


Katrina Zidichouski kzidichouski@gmail.com

Charlottetown, Canada Coloured Owl www.skillism.com

143


Laurel Wolf chaldemone@gmail.com

Falcon Heights, United States of America Peregrine Falcon 144

www.skillism.com


Francesca Baerald www.francescabaerald.blogspot.it

Reggio Emilia, Italy Peregrine Falcon www.skillism.com

145


Laura Jane Friend kite.lupine.aquila@gmail.com

Sydney, Austrailia Peregrine Falcon 146

www.skillism.com


Michael Oberhofer www.michaeloberhofer.com

Caloundra, Austrailia Peregrine Falcon www.skillism.com

147


Lukasz Bednarz www. lukaszbednarz.blogspot.com

Lublin, Poland Iceland Gull 148

www.skillism.com


VISUAL CREATIVITY www.skillism.com

A collection of international work by todays great creative talent.


Visual Creativity 2