Issuu on Google+

‘Out of Language’ The Linfield Gallery hosts an exhibit by artists Josh Smith and Jenene Nagy from Portland, Ore. The opening was Sept. 3 and will stay on display until Oct. 1 in the Linfield Fine Arts Gallery. >> page 11

September 12, 2011

INSIDE

Linfield College

McMinnville, Ore.

117th Year

Issue No. 2

Pilot year of First CLAS is a success

College address

President Hellie speaks to the Linfield community about his academic goals and strategies for the upcoming 2011-2012 year during the State of the College Address on Sept. 7 in Ice Auditorium. >> page 4

Heat wave

In the midst of Oregon’s sudden heat wave, athletes have taken precautions to protect themselves from heat stroke and exhaustion. >> page 8 and 9

Comedian

In a LAB-sponsored event, comedian Jessi Campbell brought jokes, miming and humorous stories to campus Sept. 10 in Ice Auditorium.

>> page 10

Photo courtesy of Colin Jones

First CLAS participants junior Katherine Takaoka and freshman Katricia Stewart rely on one another for support as they tightrope across a thin wire more than 40 feet in the air. This was part of the ropes course at Camp Yamhill, an activity they participated in during the First CLAS program in order to work on trust and team building.

Meghan O’Rourke Opinion editor This year, 30 students at Linfield involved in a new organization called First Community Leadership Action Service (CLAS) participated in a week of activities and service projects. Sophomore Jaimie McDonald, one of the student group leaders said, “First CLAS is a freshman pre-orientation community service immersion program focused on leadership and sustainability.” The freshmen involved, who came to school a week early, split their time between team building exercises and com-

Football dominates

Lutheran University 24–14 on Sept. 10 at the Catdome. >> page 16

INSIDE

Editorial ...................... 2 News ........................... 4 Features........................ 7 Culture....................... 10 Sports ........................ 16

10, took them to a service site and led them in reflections,” McDonald said. Through volunteer work, the First CLAS freshmen were able to explore McMinnville and Portland, while doing good for the community. First CLAS isn’t all about work. They make time for play as well. McDonald said her favorite memory was when the group spent time at Camp Yamhill. They all got a chance to climb up a 35-foot pole, jump off the top and try to catch a trapeze bar, while attached to a harness. McDonald said they “really clicked as a team.” This exercise allowed them all to work together, trust in one

another and help each other to conquer their fears, she said. On the last day of First CLAS, the group took a trip to the beach to enjoy a day of unwinding with new friends. During this last day, leader and student relationships vanished. “[Now] we’re just friends,” said Hellie. Now that the week of First CLAS is over, McDonald said that their job is “to hang out with freshmen.” If you are interested in becoming a First CLAS leader next year, there is an application and interview process involved in becoming a leader. Applications come out in April 2012. Meghan O’Rourke can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail.com.

Reusable bottles serve as gifts Changes and reminders for sustainability found in Andra Kovacs News editor

Football defeats California

munity service projects led by upperclassmen. The freshmen learned valuable lessons about sustainability, self care, composting and leadership, while developing friendships before most of the students even arrived. “We’re a support system for when they get here,” said sophomore Dana Hellie, one of the student group leaders. Besides simply learning lessons, the freshmen received hands-on experience working for community service organizations, such as the Salvation Army, Habitat for Humanity, Miller Woods and Yamhill Community Action Partnership. “We each led a group of

After months of imagining the small aluminum bottles, her face lit up with pride as she tore open the first box filled with the end result of all her hard work. Junior Kit Crane’s idea to design reusable bottles and give them as a gift to incoming freshmen had been in the works for almost a year from the day they were distributed. Last year, as a transfer student, Crane walked into Fred Meyer Lounge for orientation and was hit with inspiration. Next to the orientation table sat the green team, and across from them, a stack of single-use plastic water bottles.

“I remember I could see [the frustration] in their eyes every time somebody handed a student a water bottle,” Crane said. “You could just tell they were thinking we don’t have to be doing this, there’s a better way. If you want to be hydrated and healthy there’s a way to do that in harmony with our environment and community, and that’s why I’m passionate about it.” Since that first day at Linfield, Crane developed her plan, wanting to not only help the environment, but also teach the students that Linfield is eco-friendly, and they can help make it that way. Once she had enough research, power and people behind her, she put her plan to action. The largest hurdle was finding

the funding because the bottles were about $15 to $25 per bottle. “When creating a budget for my position as the service and sustainability coordinator, I requested $3,000 to put toward it,” she said. “I submitted a request to get a sustainability grant to help funding for it, as well as asking for money out of the orientation budget.” With all of her requests received, Crane said that she felt empowered by all those people who stood behind her to continue working toward her goal. One person in particular was incredibly supportive and Crane said that she couldn’t have done it >> Please see Bottles page 5

Dillin Hall this year Joanna Peterson Managing editor Several groups of arm chairs and couches are nestled on the edges of Dillin Hall, marking some of the recent changes to the dining and seating facilities. Bill Masullo, general manager of Student Dining Services, said that he spent the summer collaborating with students and staff >> Please see Dillin page 6


2

www.linfieldreview.com The

LINFIELD REVIEW 900 SE Baker St. Unit A518 McMinnville, OR 97128

Phone: (503) 883-5789 E-mail: linfieldrevieweditor@gmail.com Web: www.linfieldreview.com

Culture editor Sharon Gollery

OPINION

Copy chief Kelsey Sutton Copy editor Business manager News editor Andra Kovacs

Features editor Ivanna Tucker Opinion editor Meghan O’Rourke

Online editor Jaffy Xiao

Illustrator Yura Sim Senior reporter Senior photographer Circulation manager Tyler Sedlacek Columnists Chris Forrer “Dear Bailey” Adviser Brad Thompson Associate Professor of Mass Communication

tables. Many students around campus have been talking about how crowded Dillin is, especially at lunch time. While it is great that everyone now has time to enjoy lunch between classes, having a pleasant lunchtime experience can be difficult with Dillin being overcrowded. Why wasn’t the lunch hour extended as well? Since the dinner hour has been extended, isn’t it possible to extend the lunch hour as well? With everyone trying to eat at the same time, chaos in the dining hall can easily ensue. If lunch at Dillin was extended, it would allow people more time to get their food, meaning that there would be a lesser chance of one massive rush of students.

The people who probably are suffering most from the crowds are the Dillin Hall employees. The lunch shift is surely more stressful now that so many students come in at one time. With just an hour added on to lunchtime, there would be a more steady flow of students coming in and out, rather than one huge pack. It seems to be in everyone’s best interest to have lunchtime at Dillin Hall extended. For those Linfield students who are impatient or cannot handle massive crowds of people, check out the Catty Shack or Jazzman’s instead. If crowding at lunch continues to be a problem, maybe, in the future, Dillin Hall will offer extended lunch hours as well.

Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor I, like most college students, enjoy a good movie now and again, but most of us are not able to pay to go to the movie theater every weekend to indulge this luxury. It’s at this time we turn to the ever so popular Netflix and the wonderful Redbox. Both provide movies at a cheap price and they pride themselves in having great accessibility. This is perfect for college students.  So here we are just living the good life, watching our favorite

movies and shows for cheap when all of a sudden I received an email, like many other Netflix subscribers, that it would be raising its price. I later found out that Redbox is also raising its price in some locations. What happened to the $8.99 unlimited movies? Netflix has put into effect its new price for both online streaming and DVD rentals at a whopping $15.98 per month. Now, although it’s only a $6.99 increase, that’s still money that us college students would much rather see go somewhere else. To go along with Netflix raising its prices, it lost its deal with Starz. Netflix even offered to pay more to keep Starz on board, but Starz still said no. This means movies from Sony Entertainment and Disney will be unavailable starting after February 2012. If this

doesn’t drive people away, then the price definitely will. The Los Angeles Times calls Starz, “Netflix’s most valuable source of new movies.”   Now, Redbox is raising its much appreciated price of $1.00 up to $1.15 and in some places all the way up to $2.00. But before everyone freaks out, from what I read on Redbox’s website, its price increase is experimental. Which means there’s the possibility of the price going back down. Everything is going up in price, so I’m not going to be surprised when prices don’t go back down. Since Redbox is putting other movie rental places out of business, places that would normally have to pay for staff and other maintenance fees, why are the prices of its movies going up?   To me, Netflix decided to

The Linfield Review is an independent, student-run newspaper. The contents of this publication are the opinions and responsibility of the Review staff and do not reflect the views or policy of the Associated Students of Linfield College or of Linfield College. Signed commentaries and comics are the opinions of the individual writers or artists. The Review is funded by advertising and subscription revenue and ASLC and is produced in cooperation with the Linfield College Department of Mass Communication. The Linfield Review is published weekly on Mondays throughout the fall and spring semesters. Exceptions include the week before and of Thanksgiving and Spring Break and the week of final exams in both semesters. A single copy of the Review is free from newsstands. Subscriptions are $50 for a year and $35 for a semester. Memberships The Linfield Review is a member of the collegiate division of the Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association and the Associated Collegiate Press, a national college newspaper group. Awards 2010 ONPA first place Best Website 2009 ONPA second place General Excellence Letters to the editor Letters to the editor must be signed with name, date and address. Students should include major and year. The Review reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit letters for length. Letters must be received no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday to appear in the Review the following Friday. Letters are limited to 250 words or fewer. Longer pieces may be submitted as guest commentary.

September 12, 2011

Review office hours Editor-in-chief Tuesdays 2:30-3:15 p.m. Fridays 12:00-1:00 p.m. or by appointment

Managing editor Mondays 10:30 a.m. -12:30 p.m. Tuesdays 2:30-3:00 p.m. or by appointment Follow us on Twitter @linfieldreview and on Facebook -The Review Editorial Board

Movie prices rise as options dwindle down

Photo editor Joel Ray

Graphics/ads designer Juli Tejadilla

Extended Dillin hours only for dinner

Sports editor Kaylyn Peterson

Managing editor Joanna Peterson

EDITORIAL

The dinner hours in Dillin Hall have been extended by an hour this year. William Masullo, the general manager of Sodexo, said the dining hours “were extended because of fall sports teams having conflicts with games [and] practices. While we offered an equivalency in the Catty Shack, it just wasn’t the same.” However, lunch and breakfast hours have not been extended. Beginning last year, class schedules were modified in order to ensure that everyone had time for lunch. Now that class schedules have been revised in order to give everyone suitable eating hours, it seems that Dillin Hall is more crowded than usual. Huge groups of students flood Dillin during lunch and dinner, creating long lines and filling up

Editor-in-chief Jessica Prokop

Opinions

Graphic by Juli Tejadilla/graphics/ads designer

increase its price because it wanted to prove to Starz that it can offer them more money. Now, in the long run, I think this means that we can only expect Netflix to raise its prices again. As far as Redbox goes, I don’t know what it’s doing, and though they are still cheaper than normal movie rental places, people, me included, are not going to be happy about this price increase. Before long there is going to be another way of watching movies at a cheaper price. Oh wait, Hulu has already started that with Hulu Plus.  The Internet and movie distributers just continue to look for ways to make movies and TV shows more accessible so they can make money faster. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


September 12, 2011

Opinions

OPINION

www.linfieldreview.com

3

COLUMN

Online art theft destroys creative rights Bailey’s mailbox is open to your sex wellness questions Sharon Gollery Culture editor We all get the plagiarism talk. Every school year, in every class, every teacher gives us a list of consequences if anyone dares to copy someone else’s work. We’ve all heard it a thousand times: “Your work must be your own!” Come on, we’re in college. Does anyone really need to be warned about this anymore? But the truth is, this is actually an important message. I don’t think people realize how devastating it is to discover that someone else has stolen your work and has claimed it as their

own, whether it’s an essay, a novel, a song or a painting. Last July and August, more than 300 members of deviantArt.com discovered that one or more of their artworks had been stolen and put up for sale on a website called Art4Love.com and its backup site, MarkYourSpot. com. The stolen works of art were overpriced and listed as original oil paintings, and the website did not include any of the artists’ names or acknowledge that the art was created by anyone other than the site’s founder, Chad “Love” Lieberman. He didn’t stop at art theft, either. Lieberman “wrote” a book called “Creative Warriors Walk Alone,” which is astoundingly similar to a book titled “The Business Side of Creativity” by Cameron S. Foote. I even found an article about

copyright for artists online written by Lieberman. The irony that someone like this would write a Q-and-A article about copyright only gets better when you realize that he didn’t actually write it at all. The article was actually written by Sarah Feingold and was copyrighted by Alan Bamberger. All Lieberman had to do was copy, paste and type his own name over Feingold’s. As an amateur artist and writer myself, I know how much work goes into an original creation. Making art is a lot more than just splashing some paint on a canvas. Just like writing is more than putting words down on a page and making music is more than plucking a string or making noise with your mouth. When you create something, you alter and edit it until it’s perfect. You spend hours,

or even days, working on it until you’re satisfied. Then, to discover that someone has copied it, not even bothering to change it to make it look like it’s theirs and to realize that they are getting all the credit... Well, what would you do? Art4Love.com and MarkYourSpot.com have been taken down, presumably by Lieberman. According to posts online the members of deviantArt assume that Lieberman is trying to hide any evidence, and they are urging other ‘deviants’ to spread the word. There is a movement among the victimized artists to sue Lieberman and/or Art4Love.com, and frankly, I hope they do it. No one should profit from stealing someone else’s work.

Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

OPINION

Please be respectful of your dormmates

Meghan O’Rourke Opinion editor Many of the students attending Linfield live on campus and those who don’t have most likely lived on campus at some point during their college careers. Living in the dorms is an interesting experience. A lot of the privacy and comforts of living at home are tossed out the window. While living in the dorms certainly has its fun times, there are other times when it would be nice if people would be a little more courteous to one another.

For example, it’s really hard to get to sleep when someone on another floor is playing a video game at an extremely high volume level. It seems doubtful that anyone would need to blast the volume that loud in order to play their game. I think that there are some rules of etiquette that everyone should follow in order to coexist in such tight quarters. First, for those who enjoy playing video games or watching television at night, please be respectful of those who have an 8:15 a.m. class the next day. I understand that not everyone has to get up that early, but it’s not necessary to turn the volume up so high that people in the next hall can hear you. Be respectful of quiet hours and turn down the volume to a more reasonable level.

Another much needed guideline that everyone should follow is to clean up after yourself in the bathroom. No one wants to step into the shower and discover a massive wad of hair. Also, since we are now college students, please flush the toilets. It’s a pretty simple concept: push down the silver handle attached to the toilet. If everyone cleans up their own mess we can all have a more enjoyable bathroom experience. This rule should go for the kitchen as well. After using kitchen utensils, please clean them and put them away. The kitchen is for everyone living in the hall to use, not just for one’s personal use. Sundays are a busy day in the laundry room. This means waiting for a washer or dryer to open up. Some-

times, people will take another person’s clothes out of the washer or dryer and pile them on a table, sometimes causing separate piles to be mixed up. It’s understandable why people do this, as no one wants to wait all day for a washer or dryer to open up, but we need to be more respectful of others’ belongings. A better system is needed. Instead of piling clothes on a table, where piles can mix, we could have bins to set belongings in instead. Living in the dorms is a unique, eye-opening experience. I believe that if everyone was a little more respectful to each other, it would make living with so many people a little easier. Meghan O’Rourke can be reached at linfieldreviewopinion@gmail. com.

Bailey Columnist First of all, I would like to welcome everyone back or to Linfield’s campus. For those who don’t know, Dear Bailey is a column similar to Dear Abby. It is designed to answer students’ questions about sex. Last year, I mainly wrote about sexual education. This year, it will be open to any type of sexual related questions students may have. I have heard it from my professors, as I’m sure many of you have as well, if you have a question, someone else probably has the same one. Aside from the many resources around Linfield, this column is helpful because it reaches all students where many may have similar questions. As I said last year, this isn’t high school and abstinence isn’t the theme of human health courses, sexual education or everyone’s sexual practices. There are many rumors about sex that aren’t true. If you want to know if something is true or not, it is a great idea to send your questions in. In the past, I have talked about a few different subjects. I talked about the most commonly spread sexually transmitted disease (STI), human papillomavirus (HPV). Many people do not know they are carriers, which can lead to easy and accidental spreading of the

disease. A good defense against it, and many other STIs, is using a condom. There is also an immunization shot available. HPV cause some types of cancer. I have also talked about the Morning After pill. I want it to be clear that this is NOT the abortion pill. It contains the same hormones that birth control pills and patches release to prevent a pregnancy in the beginning. A prescription is not needed for this pill, but it is fairly pricey. There was a bill that was put up for debate in the spring that would have cut federal funding for Planned Parenthood. I decided to talk about it because I felt that it was related. Many students, from Linfield and other colleges, use Planned Parenthood as a resource for information and contraception. It also has an immense impact on the availability of testing for women and men who cannot afford it. A big argument to cut funding was that Planned Parenthood provides abortions. While this is true it is a small portion of what it provides to the public. Abortions are also not paid for by federal funding but by private funding donated for that specific use. If you have a question, please send it in. If there is something that many students are wondering about and you know they are, send it in. Questions can be sent to Bailey Linfield Review Unit # A518 or emailed to linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com. Dear Bailey can be reached at linfieldreviewbailey@gmail.com.

OPINION

The Internet is destroying print tradition Kelsey Sutton Copy Chief When I was younger, I used to love going to the bookstore and spending hours picking out the perfect book to spend my allowance on. Bookstores are still one of my favorite places to go. I love the feeling of holding a new book and turning the crisp pages. I love the smell of the ink and paper, and I love the satisfaction of turning pages as you venture

further and further into the story. The small pleasure of books is lost to many people as they run from class to class or from activity to job. Reading a book is a leisure that most people don’t have time for anymore. Very few take a moment to relax, pick up a book and get lost in another world. I also love being online. I have a blog that I’m on for multiple hours a day. I enjoy finding pictures, quotes and news stories that inspire me and sharing them with everybody else. I use it like a journal to write about things, as well. The things the Internet can dig up astound me.

You can learn so much just by clicking on links and reading articles on websites. My love for books and the Internet, however, does not coincide. I am deeply saddened by the swift move of print media sources to online ones. One of my favorite bookstores, Borders, closed this summer. I was shocked when I heard that the entire chain was closing and moving to the Internet. The trend of print media is quickly changing to everything being available electronically. E-readers, Kindles, Nooks and other electronic “books” are taking over and printed books are getting kicked to

the curb. Why? They’re portable, you can fit hundreds of books on one piece of technology and you don’t have to leave your home to get the books. I’m terrified that in a few years, all media will be only available online. Reading a book, newspaper or magazine loses its allure when you stare at a computer screen. The physical sensations are completely lost. I do not believe that reading a print book and reading a book on an e-reader is the same thing. I don’t think unfolding and browsing a newspaper are the same as scanning a website for links to news stories.

I plan on going into journalism, and I have to accept that my career will probably be online. I’ve always dreamed of holding my own publication in my hands, but I’m starting to see that this might not happen. I understand as a mass communication student that being connected on the Internet is important. I even had to create a Twitter account, which I swore I’d never do. As long as I get to write for a magazine or newspaper, I’ll be happy. It still doesn’t quite compare, however, to the physical thing. Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.


4

News

www.linfieldreview.com

September 12, 2011

President Hellie addresses goals for academic year Cassie Wong Staff writer President Hellie presented a State of the College Address announcing the achievements of the 20102011 academic year and introduced the upcoming six-year strategic plan Sept. 7 in Ice Auditorium. The president also reminded us of our greatest strength— “the community of people who love this college and care about its success.” Although the economy has yet to fully recover, Linfield has successfully secured the funding for and completed the T. J. Day Hall building project. In multiple areas of the college there were financial surpluses and Linfield gained $5 million in outright gifts for the first time in 10 years. Aside from financial achievement, Linfield was one of the 16 colleges eligible as participants in the Kemper Scholar Program, which two Linfield students won. Professors from Linfield also made numerous media appearances throughout the nation. In addition, the softball team won the national championship. There are still some long-standing challenges to overcome, such as the high

dependency on enrollment revenues and lack of additional financial resources. To overcome, or at least address them, the president identified a set of goals for this academic year, some of which include continuing board development, continuing to seek funding and renovating Taylor Hall. These goals will lead to a strategic plan for the school in which the president hopes to “address the fundamental questions of future enrollment, academic priorities, and the nature of our institution’s academic programs and delivery systems.” The plan will be on a sixyear track to align with the new accreditation calendar of the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. An Executive Planning Council was created and will make recommendations on the interconnections between the programs offered on both the Portland and McMinnville campuses, enrollment issues, student and faculty life, academic programs and online instruction, finances and infrastructure, and external relations and support. Public hearings on these issues will be carried throughout the semester,

which the president urged students to participate in. Inspired by a president of a small college in Ohio where Hellie once worked, Hellie emphasized that we need to “make our college distinctive while remaining true to our culture, our goals, our heritage and our financial situation.” This goal led to a re-energized commitment to international programs as well as a new interdisciplinary general education program. As a liberal arts college, the president disagreed that Linfield should try to create professional programs identical to those at large public universities, but to distinguish them by linking them to liberal arts. Moreover, he said key programs or majors in the liberal arts should be identified and invested so they can become nationally recognized. The president also said that private residential colleges, such as Linfield, with modest endowments are quite vulnerable, as they cannot raise tuition for survival and expect to succeed. Thus, the college will consider expanding its enrollment base for the college in addition to students from the Pacific Northwest, he said.

Joel Ray/Photo editor

President Hellie explains his many academic goals and introduces the six-year strategic plan during the State of the College Address on Sept. 7 in Ice Auditorium. The president also said it was important to instill a sense of loyalty among current students so as to create a culture of supporting the college when they become alumni. The president ended the evening by encouraging everyone who cares about

Linfield to share opinions with the Executive Planning Council of the strategic planning process. “They will do their best to listen, to weigh the evidence, to consider the ideas and to make the best recommendations possible for Linfield College,” he said.

If there are questions about the strategic planning or more information about the strategic plan, readers can go to the website www.linfield. edu/2012-strategic-planning.html Cassie Wong can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

TLR’s editor-in-chief snags summer journalism internship Andra Kovacs News editor When junior Jessica Prokop applied for an internship with the Charles Snowden Program for Excellence in Journalism, she said her intentions were to get her name out there to give her a better chance of being chosen in the future. When Prokop was called by the program coordinator, Pete Peterson, and asked to be one of the 16 interns for the summer program, she was ecstatic, she said. She began working as a general reporter for the News-Review in Roseburg, Ore., in June. While the opportunity was new and exciting, she said she was worried her nerves would get the best of her. “Honestly, I was kind of dreading it,” Prokop said. “I’ve never lived somewhere so far away. I was nervous and scared that I wasn’t going to like it, but it completely blew me away. It was amazing, and I loved it.” Prokop said she was researching and writing stories on the first day of the job. Her first few stories

Photo courtesy of Michael Sullivan

Junior Jessica Prokop interviews two participants in the annual Graffiti Weekend car show at Roseburg High School during her internship at the News-Review through the Charles Snowden Program for Excellence in Journalism. even made the front page. Prokop wrote about 50 articles for the daily paper throughout the entire program, averaging about five stories a week. Prokop’s stories ranged from weather reports and city council meetings, to pieces about models living in Roseburg and the grandmother of Sky Blu from

the electro-hip hop duo LMFAO. “I wrote about everything from summer concert series to berry harvests,” she said. The pressing standards and variety of articles she wrote helped Prokop gain insight into what it takes to be a reporter. As the new editor-in-chief for The

Linfield Review, she said she hopes to bring much of what she learned back to the paper and focus on helping the staff cultivate those same skills. “The most important thing for the staff to understand is that you can’t just write,” Prokop said. “That’s something I learned when I was there. I had to

learn how to post my own stories online. I had to learn several new computer programs. I had to learn how to take and edit my own photographs, and I also had to learn to become a better writer.” Aside from learning new skills and experiencing the demand for versatility in journalism, Prokop said she

gained a new perspective on how she approaches a story. “[The internship] made me more aware of the things that I’m writing and the things I’m observing,” she said. “The story isn’t just about the people you’re interviewing or the event going on. It can be what you’re watching when you’re there and getting a feel for the atmosphere, which paints a picture for the reader.” Prokop said she gained more than she had ever expected from the program, and it has helped her develop as a journalist and person. She said she walked away from the internship with more solid goals and prospects for her future in mind. “It definitely wasn’t what I thought it was going to be,” Prokop said. “Looking back, it sounds overwhelming but it really wasn’t. It felt normal and it felt right, which just reinforced the fact that I do want to be a reporter for a newspaper or even a magazine.” Andra Kovacs can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.


News

September 12, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

5

2011 Linfield Fall Gathering

Top: A group of musicians livens the mood by performing songs during the 2011 Linfield College Fall Gathering on Sept. 9 outside of T.J. Day Hall. The annual event welcomes back faculty and staff to the campus for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Left: Faculty and staff were invited to pile their plates and enjoy the social scene at the Fall Gathering on Sept. 9 outside of T.J. Day Hall. This event, for both staff, faculty and their families welcomes new and returning members to the Linfield community.

Photos by Victor Zhu/Staff photographer

Bottles: Crane pursues environmental advances

<< Continued from page 1

without her. Senior Rachel Coffey, the Associated Students of Linfield College president said that she was determined to help Crane succeed because she saw her passion and the benefits that it would bring. “The idea emerged from a couple things,” Coffey said. “One, she wanted to give a sustainable, reusable

gift to the freshman class and tell them that [environmentalism] is something Linfield stands for. And two, there are students, including [Crane], that are really striving to educate Linfield about using reusable water bottles. So it was the dual idea and to me, both ideas sound great and I think it’s a great gift to give the freshman class.” Between Coffey, Student Affairs, Student Admission, ASLC Senate and Cabinet,

Crane said that the support she gained from all different sections of the campus was empowering. “I’ve never felt so supported,” she said. “That’s one of the best things about Linfield—the various clubs on campus and all the great faculty and staff. They so badly want you to succeed so if you want to do something like I did, the support is there. You just need to be clear about your goals and be reasonable and realistic.”

With all the funding and planning in place, Crane designed the logo, which displays the recycling arrows growing from a small green leaf and the words “Associated Students of Linfield College Service and Sustainablility.” The logo was finalized for the bottles, and the order was placed. Soon after, more than 500 reusable water bottles were in the hands of new Linfield students.

Crane said that walking through campus and seeing the bottles being used is one of the most rewarding feelings she has experienced. “It’s super empowering to be able to say ‘Oh yeah, I did that’ every time I see a student with the water bottle,” Crane said. “Just seeing it and knowing it’s one less [plastic bottle] makes me so happy and really proud of our school.” Andra Kovacs can be reached at linfieldreviewnews@gmail.com.

Junior Kit Crane designed reusable bottles through the company Klean Kanteen.


6

News

www.linfieldreview.com

September 12, 2011

Changes in Greek Life policy create mixed emotions Joanna Peterson Managing editor

Joel Ray /Photo editor New couches and arm chairs are just one of the changes made to Dillin Hall during the summer to help take the traditional student dining hall and transform it into a more fun and comfortable space.

Dillin: Dining Hall gets a new look << Continued from page 1

members to revamp the dining area. Sodexo funded the project to add arm chairs, flat screen televisions and accent walls. Hanging lamps were also installed in the cafeteria area, he said. “What we’re trying to do is take a traditional first and second year dining hall and turn it into a more fun place,” Masullo said. “I think the comfortable, soft seating helped solve that. I’ve heard good reviews so far.”

Masullo said about 20 students on the food services committee helped him come up with ideas for the project. “We bounced ideas off each other all summer,” he said. “I didn’t just dream this idea up overnight. It’s the result of about a year and half of dialogue between students and I.” Masullo said that while certain changes, such as the armchairs, are already implemented, the project is still in process. Cable boxes and two more flatscreen TVs will be installed by the

end of the week, he said. Lori Johnson, lead cashier of Student Dining Services, said that she viewed the project as an attempt to create a family atmosphere in the dining hall. “It gives people a place to study or hang out and relax—not to just come here and eat and run,” Johnson said. While staff members say they are pleased with the changes, sophomore Amber Hay said that she and her friends didn’t view the soft seating as a necessary addition.

NewsBrief

“No one really uses the couches,” Hay said. “They’re impractical to eat at. My friends and I usually want to eat at the circular tables so we can see each other while we eat and talk.” Hay said she wished the staff would have asked for a broader range of student input before embarking on the project. “I don’t think it was the best use of funds, but I do appreciate that they were trying.” Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.

Laptop snatching on campus

According to a College Public Safety notice, CPS officers responded to a laptop robbery at about 10:15 p.m. Sept. 6. A female student sitting on a bench located near Whitman Hall was using her laptop when two men grabbed it from her and ran toward Davis Street. The student was not injured. The suspects were described as white males with short hair, wearing dark clothing. The incident is still being investigated by the McMinnville Police Department.

Altercation with locals at Delta Psi Delta Fraternity According to a College Public Safety notice, the McMinnville Police Department arrested two men at about 1:30 a.m. Sept. 2 at the Delta Psi Delta Fraternity. The two men, who are not Linfield students, were arrested after an altercation at the fraternity house. Clifford Johnson, 20, of McMinnville and Jacob Hull, 19, of Cornelius are banned from campus. If either man is seen on campus, students, faculty and staff should notify CPS.

Linfield gains national media attention According to a press release sent out by Nadene LeCheminant, the director of Media Relations, Linfield College was recognized with 77 media stories and citations just in August. Forbes, The Statesman Journal in Salem, The Oregonian, Jefferson Public Radio, Pacific Business News, AASHE Bulletin, ESPN and the News-Register in McMinnville were just a few of the media outlets that featured Linfield connections in their stories. ~ Compiled by Jessica Prokop/Editor-in-chief

Since the beginning of Fall Semester, Greek life has experienced new restrictions at social functions, including the elimination of hard alcohol during parties in order to increase student safety. Jeff Mackay, associate dean of students and director of residence life, said that along with being prohibited from serving hard alcohol at social functions, fraternities are required to hire security guards through College Public Safety for each party. “We were getting mixed results from the security last year,” Mackay said. “I got complaints that some of the officers were more interested in getting a paycheck than doing their jobs.” Mackay said these new policies were not based on any one incident “In looking at each year, we consider our various risk management factors, including our policies on alcohol,” Mackay said. “I was concerned with two issues— hard alcohol being served at fraternities and how that alcohol was being monitored.” Mackay said he thought the former alcohol policies were too lenient and were creating challenges for students, including alcohol poisoning and trips to the hospital. “I proposed to eliminate hard alcohol from fraternity and sorority parties unless it’s served by an Oregon Liquor Control Commission-licensed server,” he said. Mackay said that introducing these policy changes upset fraternity and sorority members, so he is allowing them to propose their own changes and formal plans of action.

“I’ve challenged Greek leaders to show me other colleges’ policies and some national guidelines so that we’re doing things safely and properly.” Senior David King, Interfraternity Council president and Kappa Sigma Fraternity member, said that the policy shifts came as a surprise to him. “It was kind of weird when they told us the new rules,” King said. “We had just had one of the best semesters ever, so it came as a slap in the face.” King said that he along with other fraternity and sorority members were accepting Mackay’s offer to create their own policy proposal. “Since [Mackay] is requiring that we hire an OLCC-licensed server for parties, we’re proposing that we put our own people through classes so that they could serve.” King said that he foresees some possible problems with the new policies, such as students’ safety. “One thing that we brought to [Mackay] is that we try to educate all our brothers and sisters on alcohol to create a safer environment for parties,” King said. “These new restrictions might push students to find parties off-campus, where people aren’t as aware and controlled.” Although the policy shifts came as a surprise to him, King said that he appreciated the offer to come up with an alternate plan. “I’m glad that we’re working together with the administration as opposed to having rules thrown at us,” he said. “It’s nice that they’re willing to let us change it up a bit.” Joanna Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewmanaging@gmail.com.


September 12, 2011

Features

www.linfieldreview.com

â&#x20AC;˘

7

Photo courtesy of Melanie Timmins


8

www.linfieldreview.com

Features

September 12, 2011

Heat wave forces athletes

As practices and games begin, the sun beats d heat exhaustion. The Health Center and coaches a on how to be By Kelsey Sutton/Copy Chief Record high temperatures of 96 degrees threatened the well-being of Linfield athletes and opposing teams last weekend. Heat stroke, heat exhaustion and dehydration were all concerns for cross country runners, football and soccer players as forecasts predicted temperatures of 101 degrees. Football players sweated underneath their pads and uniforms at the first home game of the season against Cal Lutheran Sept. 10 at the Catdome. The heat was a concern, but the players didn’t think it would keep them from a good game. “The hotter it is just means the more I’ll sweat,” senior Jordan Barnes said. “I really don’t believe it will affect performance for me personally and as a team. If it were to affect performance then that means you weren’t very prepared for the event in the first place.” The women’s soccer team played two home games Sept. 9 and 10. The heat was a concern for them as well. “I think we are all always on the watch for ourselves and our teammates when the weather gets warm. We have all been training in this kind of heat throughout the summer and preseason so hopefully it won’t take too much of a toll on us,” sophomore Sara Miller said before the games. “We have been at this sport for a long time so we know when something is wrong, but we all pray that nothing will.” Linfield’s cross-country team headed to the Lewis & Clark Invitational in Estacada, Ore., Sept. 10. Given past events, some of the runners were concerned about the weather conditions. “The heat has been a problem for the cross-country team. We have a race this weekend and the

Symptoms of h

-Flushed skin -Headaches -Nausea

-Dizziness -Confusion -Weakness

Symptoms of

-Absence of sweating -High body temperature -Difficulty breathing -Hallucinations

-Disorientati -Seizure -Coma -Agitation

If you or someone you know experiences these sym drink plenty of fluids to rep


Features

September 12, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

s to take extra precautions 101°F

down on athletes drastically increasing the risk of are reminding students to take care by offering tips eat the heat. organizers moved the races to an hour earlier to prevent any complications with the weather,” junior Nic Miles said. “Last year, two of our runners had to get medical assistance after fainting after this same race we’re headed to this weekend.” Michelle Stecher, a nurse practitioner in the Health Center on campus, had some advice for athletes to stay healthy in the heat. “Stay hydrated by drinking plenty of water and stay in the shade if you can,” Stecher said. “Make sure you wear sunscreen. Also, don’t drink too much alcohol because that can be very dehydrating. Staying hydrated is really important.” Coaches and athletes worked together to stay healthy and beat the heat. “Our coach has been reminding us to constantly hydrate and load up on fruits and vegetables,” Miles said. “We have arranged to run our workout this week at 6:00 a.m. instead of 3:15 p.m. to avoid the heat. Our team has been taking good measures to work around the weather.” Barnes prepared during the week to be sure he was hydrated for the football game. “I’ll be loading up on water and coconut water, which is very high in potassium and a lot healthier than Gatorade,” he said. Players also received assistance from trainers to prevent any heat related injuries or illnesses. “We take a lot of water breaks and our awesome trainers are always there with refills and ice to help keep us cool. We all know our bodies well and know when we need a break or to cool ourselves down,” Miller said.

heat exhaustion -Muscle cramps -Excessive sweating Information courtesy of MedicineNet.com

f heat stroke

ion

-Strange behavior -Confusion -Rapid pulse Information courtesy of MedicineNet.com

mptoms, get cooled down as soon as possible and plenish your water levels. Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewcopy@gmail.com.

96°F

------------95 °F----90 °F----85°F-----80°F----75°F----

9


10

www.linfieldreview.com

Culture

September 12, 2011

Vegetarians, fast food and elevators spark laughter Ivanna Tucker Features editor Sausage hands, being overweight and Oregon were topics that a visiting comedian discussed, making the entire audience burst out into laughter on Sept. 10 in Ice Auditorium. Comedian Jessi Campbell is originally from Arizona but has recently moved to California. She was on Country Music Television’s Next Big Comic and was featured in articles in Life and Style Magazine. There were many expectations when people heard a female comic would perform. “I hope she embarrasses the guys,” freshman Katricia Stewart said. “I want to laugh so hard that I cry.” Others had different opinions, such as not knowing what to expect or thinking that she wouldn’t be funny at all. Campbell’s routine was filled with true stories that included observations that incorporated humor into each situation. She opened her routine with an Oregon joke, pointing out the obvious saying

that there are “lots of trees” and added humorous commentary about the obscure weather that has been happening. She commented on the huge organ that was on the stage and how creepy it was to her. Campbell then went into a story about getting an upgrade at a hotel and her experience in the elevator. She talked in detail about how she squeezed into the elevator and was “doing the Captain Morgan pose on someone’s suitcase.” Throughout the routine, she made jokes about her physical appearance that had the crowd laughing loudly in their seats. She told a variety of jokes, such as, “I was once stuck in an elevator with a guy for five minutes. I bit his arm.” She also commented on how her sausage hands can fix a dent in her car. She included audience participation as she asked who were vegetarians and then added her view on meat. “Every time I see a cow, I’m like, ‘aren’t you so cute and delicious too,’” Campbell said, after a student responded that she had been a vegetarian for about eight months.

Food became a constant part of the routine as she went from topic to topic. She talked about a lady that fed trail mix to a bear and then got eaten herself. “Food eating food from food,” Campbell said. “If a piece of pizza gave me a donut, I would eat the donut and then the pizza.” She talked about her cat psychic neighbor and her first time getting drunk. “Being drunk feels like diabetes,” Campbell said, when she discussed how she drank a whole pack of wine coolers and then realized that they were mostly sugar, not alcohol. Campbell sold the crowd as she wrapped up the show with a pantomime of what people are like when they are trying to get into a fast food restaurant after it is closed. Her facial expressions, sound effects, and strange view of subjects gave the students a night of laughter. She turned realistic things into everyone’s amusement, especially things about herself. “I am a loser, I get it,” Campbell said. Ivanna Tucker can be reached at linfieldreviewfeatures@gmail.com.

Joel Ray/Photo editor California-based comedian Jessi Campbell shares a funny story during her comic show on Sept. 10 in Ice Auditorium. Campbell’s show featured relatable humor about everyday life.

Intro to Studio art class goes prehistoric with painting Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor Working in the darkness, the students of Adjunct Professor of 3D Design Totem Shriver’s Intro to Studio class painted the earth-colored wall, just as the people they studied did back in prehistoric times. Students met shortly before midnight on Sept. 10 to work on a new art project. In preparation of the project, students studied prehistoric pictograms and drew some of their own.  “We researched a lot of different kinds of artwork from the time period,” freshman Madeline Dennison said. “We painted the wall so it’d look more like a rock. So now, we’re just going to go and put our own artwork up there.” Aside from focusing on the primitive artwork they studied, Shriver said that “the students were experiencing a different sort of limitation. The lack of light, the lack of resources and painting at midnight is a different experience.”  The class focused on pictures that represented life and death. The artwork could be abstract or they could draw figures that resemble people.

Kaylyn Peterson/Sports editor The students of Adjunct Professor of 3D Design Totem Shriver’s Intro to Studio class painted the earth-colored wall located behind the Miller Fine Arts building on Sept. 11. Their paintings were allowed to overlap others to represent time passing. “They can be all different sizes and go different directions,” Shriver said. “In caves and on rocks, people would draw images, and then 5,000 to 10,000 years later, someone would draw images over

theirs. And we’re trying to create this all in one night.” Before painting, the class gathered inside the Miller Fine Arts Building to discuss their project, as well as to mix their paints. To get in the mood, Shriver and students painted their faces in a tribal style. Although the class

joked inside the classroom, they became more serious when they started painting. “[We’ll have] some sort of a ritual sense going on,” Shriver said. “We’re not just having a party, we’re having a deeper meaningful moment.” Students took turns paint-

ing by a single candle, using paint brushes made from leaves, twine, grass and other natural objects. As students worked, Shriver played a recorder, keeping the atmosphere calm and serene. Using ladders to paint all areas of the wall, the students used the prehistoric style

during modern times.  “Students will have an idea of what they painted, but no one will really know how it turned out until morning,” Shriver said. “That’s part of the limitation.” Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


September 12, 2011

Culture

www.linfieldreview.com

11

Linfield Gallery hosts works of modern art Sharon Gollery Culture editor The Linfield Gallery located in the Miller Fine Arts Center is showing a two-person exhibition that explores ideas of duality, structure and the unknown. The exhibit, titled “Out of Language,” features artworks by contemporary artists Josh Smith and Jenene Nagy. Smith and Nagy have worked in close proximity for three years. This is their first gallery show together. According to the Linfield Gallery Web page, Josh Smith was born in Dayton, Ohio in 1975 and moved to Oregon to study at the Oregon College of Art and Craft. He has shown works locally

and internationally in solo and group efforts since 2005. His art has been featured in Portland, Texas and India. He currently lives in Atlanta, Ga. Smith uses a wide range of material in his art, creating works that speak about a desire for understanding beyond the self, social structures and organizations. His inspirations include modernism, architecture and situationalist philosophies. Nagy received her Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Arizona in 1998 and her Master of Fine Arts from the University of Oregon in 2004. Her work has been shown in Portland, Berlin and New York. She was a finalist for the Contempo-

rary Northwest Art Awards. She works in Portland and Atlanta. Nagy works with graphite on paper. The pieces featured in “Out of Language,” are a part of her series entitled “Measure.” These works were created during a period in Nagy’s life when she lived in Los Angeles and are inspired by the paintings of another artist, Peter Halley. Nagy’s pieces require participation by the viewer to fully understand the composition. The light, perception and even the physical distance of the viewer affect the experience. According to the Linfield Gallery Web page, Smith and Nagy co-curated the Tilt Gallery and Project Space in

considered one of Portland’s most successful artists. He is known for his bright murals and distinctive carved and painted wooden relief sculptures. Cramer has been working as an artist since the ’70s. When he was studying at the Pratt Institute in New York, he saw an art exhibit that explored the influence of primitive art on modern art. This exhibit, he said, inspired him to integrate painting and sculpture, and African and oceanic art with contemporary styles. Other influences

came from American and German expressionism, surrealism and Cramer’s musical background. Everything from the iridescence of insect wings, to outer space, to the way Monet got rid of the horizon line seems to have influenced Cramer’s art at some point, he said. A pair of totem poles that were hung on the wall were inspired by Indian art of the Northwest coast. He went through a phase of painting on cars and parts of buildings, which grew out of a time when Cramer was

Joel Ray/Photo editor The exhibition, which is titled “Out of Language,” explores ideas of duality, structure and the unknown. It can be seen in the Linfield Gallery in the Miller Fine Arts Center. Portland from 2006 to 2008. They continue to co-direct the independent arts initiative TILT Export. The artists’ reception was

held Sept. 3 and the exhibit will continue until Oct. 1. The Linfield Gallery’s exhibitions are free and open to the public. The gallery hours

are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and Saturday from noon to 5 p.m.

stuck in an ice storm and painted on his Vespa in boredom. The baffling variety of things people keep in their attics inspired a machineryrelated series, and a trip to India brought such a radical change to his artwork that it is almost a separate story. In 1995, when he was commissioned to paint the set and costumes for James Canfield’s dance “Jungle” at the Oregon Ballet Theatre, Cramer learned a lot about the importance of lighting, he said. “The set had a lot of fluo-

rescent pink. It looked completely different under a black light than it did under normal lighting,” Cramer said. He flicked between two slides to show his audience the difference. “It was fantastic to see my work animated like that under the lighting changes and on the ballerinas’ costumes,” he said. “And, it all combined with the sound and the music. It was my job to be part of that pie and not overbalance it.” Cramer also discussed in

detail the methods he used to create his art. He told the audience the kinds of wood and carving tools he likes to use, his technique for laminating the boards, the kinds of color pallets he uses and how he gilds some of his pieces. “I’ve always been interested in turning something into something else and that’s what I tried to do with the gilding. It’s my way of trying to make something new,” Cramer said.

Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Artist Tom Cramer discusses career and diverse inspirations Sharon Gollery Culture editor Art students and faculty gathered to hear a visiting artist discuss his early influences, inspirations and methods and how all three have evolved over the course of his career in art. Tom Cramer spoke about his work Sept. 7 in the Miller Fine Arts Center. Cramer said he works in Portland, where many of his murals can be seen. He began to make a name for himself in the ‘80s and is now

Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.

Hypnotist puts audience members under his spell Sharon Gollery Culture editor

A hypnotist opened his show with an explanation of the power of hypnotism and how it works Sept. 3 in Ice Auditorium. The Linfield Activities Board sponsored a show by stage hypnotist Michael Anthony. Anthony answered some of the more common questions about hypnotism and assured the audience that he wouldn’t make them do anything too embarrassing. “He promised not to make anyone take their clothes off or anything,” sophomore Alex Dickey said. “He said that when you’re hypnotized he can’t make you do stuff you don’t want to do, or that you wouldn’t be comfortable with doing normally.” Junior Mary Campbell said in an email that Anthony invited anyone who was interested to come up on the stage. “There were about 25 people to begin with,” Campbell said. “He put them through a series of preliminary tests to determine who was the

Photo courtesy of Lauren Inaba Volunteers went through a variety of hilarious situations, including cuddling with each other for warmth after being convinced that the temperature had dropped during a hypnotist show Sept. 3 in Ice Auditorium. most susceptible.” After Anthony finished with the preliminary tests, there were between 15 and 20 people on stage. “I feel like some weren’t completely into it, though,” Dickey said. “For some things, you could tell they were really hypnotized, but

on other things they weren’t quite there.” The volunteers went through a variety of hilarious situations. Men went through childbirth, one student became convinced that his belt was a snake and another forgot the number six.

“One of the funniest parts was when they thought they were at a beach and started checking out the guys and girls there,” freshman Graham Romero said in an email. “Then, they felt like the temperature was rising, and the guys started stripping. Then, the temperature

dropped, and they started cuddling with each other.” Dickey said that one of her favorite parts of the show was when the hypnotist convinced one student that his name was Cha Cha. “He was really proud of his name and all his ancestors had been called Cha

Cha. So then, the hypnotist would pretend to forget his name, or get his name wrong and the guy would get really mad. By the end he was throwing tantrums every time the hypnotist got his name wrong,” Dickey said. For his finale, Anthony told all of the volunteers that he had failed to hypnotize them. He apologized for having to call off the show and sent them back to their seats. “The catch was once they left the stage they would instantly remember everything that had happened,” Campbell said. “It was hilarious to watch them literally stop in their tracks as all the details came flooding back. Some people started cracking up and others looked pretty embarrassed.” The show was well received by the students who attended. “I enjoyed the entire show,” said Romero. “Knowing some of the people on stage made it even better.” Sharon Gollery can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


12

Entertainment

www.linfieldreview.com

September 12, 2011

Five summer films cure vacation boredom Hayden Mace For the Review Hello, movie fans! This is senior Hayden Mace from haydensmovies.com, bringing you the latest and greatest in movie news and reviews. It was a busy summer for me so I wasn’t able to get to as many movies as I would’ve liked, but I did make it to enough to put together my Top Five 2011 Summer Movie list. 5. Captain America: The First Avenger:

There were some solid laughs and decent character development. There wasn’t as much action as I expected, which wasn’t a bad thing, but it left for a lot of “down time” that wasn’t used effectively. At the end of the day, it was a solid summer movie, and I was entertained throughout. I was overly excited to see it, but felt slightly let down. Score: 8.2/10 4. X-Men: First Class: As a Marvel fan, it was cool to see how relationships

were formed and how things came about in this X-Men prequel. I thought what really put this movie ahead of Captain America was the actors. Michael Fassbender as Erik/Magneto stole the show. His character was dark and he played it to perfection. At the end of the day, it’s much better than some of the other X-Men movies. Score: 8.5/10 3. Midnight in Paris: It was complex, yet simple. It was a deep movie that

had layer on top of layer, yet the messages felt so clear. At the end of the day, the cast did a great job. It beat my expectations. Now I know what it means to see a Woody Allen film, and  his films  aren’t for everyone. Score: 8.9/10 2. Harry Potter: I’m not a Harry Potter nerd, but I can say that I  enjoyed the movie. It was, however, hard to like it to the fullest after reading the incredible ending in the book. At the end of the day,

Moll opens student Cat Cab lineup

Victor Zhu/Staff photographer Senior Jeremy Moll performs a student Cat Cab on Sept. 8 in the Fred Meyer Lounge. The evening featured guitar and vocal solos by Moll.

it was a roller coaster of emotions and a great conclusion to more than a decade of magic for millions of people. It was a great story with awesome action and a  lovable cast. Score: 9.3/10 1. Crazy Stupid Love: It was clever, emotional and, above all, real. The cast highlighted this movie. Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling, Julianne Moore, Emma Stone and even Kevin Bacon, along with the rest of the characters, were incredibly believ-

able. At the end of the day, it’s in my Top-Five movies right now. It’s well-developed and powerful. I saw it for a second time and liked it even more. It’s a great movie. Score: 9.5/10. Summer “hits” I missed out on were Transformers: Dark of the Moon, The Help, Super 8, Cowboys and Aliens, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Horrible Bosses and Bridesmaids. Hayden Mace can be reached at linfieldreviewculture@gmail.com.


Sports

September 12, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

â&#x20AC;˘

13


14

Sports

www.linfieldreview.com

September 12, 2011

Volleyball team gets fresh Wildcat sports schedule start with new players, talent Kelsey Sutton Copy chief

Wednesday, Sept. 14 Women’s Soccer

vs. Lewis & Clark

7 p.m.

Volleyball

@ Salem, Ore.

7 p.m.

Cross Country

@ Seattle, Wash.

9 a.m.

Men’s Golf

@ Newberg, Ore.

TBA

Men’s Soccer

@ Tacoma, Wash.

2:30 p.m.

Volleyball

@ Tacoma, Wash.

7 p.m.

@ Newberg, Ore.

TBA

Saturday, Sept. 17

Sunday, Sept. 18 Men’s Golf

GO

Wildcats

GO!

The Linfield volleyball team started out the season with four wins and four losses, playing in two tournaments Sept. 3 and 4 in Portland and Sept. 9 and 10 in Seguin, Texas. The tournament in Portland began with a split of two matches the first day. Mayville State defeated Linfield in the first match. Linfield won two games, both with scores of 25, making it a close match for Mayville State to win. Senior Samantha Lau kept the Wildcats in the match with 23 digs. The second match of the day went much smoother as the Wildcats defeated Embry-Riddle with three game scores of 25. Lau had 15 digs and freshman Audrey Frazier helped the team by picking up 27 assists. On Sept. 4, the Wildcats achieved two game scores of 25, but it wasn’t enough to beat the Edgewood Eagles. Freshman Kailana RitteCamara brought the heat

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Linfield students cheer as the Wildcats score a touchdown during the second half against California Lutheran on Sept. 10 at the Maxwell Field.

Football: ’Cats fight for the win

<< Continued from page 16

The ’Cats finished with 409 yards of total offense while holding Cal Lu to 342 and only 160 in the second half. Only a small part of Linfield’s offensive produc-

tion came from the passing game. Offensive lineman junior Kaston Gleason was quick to shoulder some of the responsibility. According to Gleason, their protection of junior Mickey Inns could have been much better and would have given

him more time to execute crisper passes downfield. “Definitely a better start than last year,” Mace said. “We’re excited for the defense, and the defense is excited about us. This felt like more of a team effort than the last couple years,

I know a lot of guys feel the same way.” The ’Cats will have a week off before facing the LaVerne University Leopards at Maxwell Field on Sept. 24.

Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

with 11 kills, 13 digs, a pair of service aces and two block assists. Lau contributed to the two wins with 34 digs. Linfield defeated New Hope Christian within three games, all with scores of 25. The girls pulled away from a tie in the first game and controlled the next two to win the match. The Wildcats ended the tournament with a 2-2 split. “We’re 2-2, so I think we’ve been a little inconsistent, but the matches we lost have been close. So, that’s encouraging,” Coach Shane Kimura said. “The new freshmen players are really talented. They’re getting a lot of time on the court.” The volleyball team split the scores again in Texas Sept. 9 and 10. Linfield was beat by Gallaudet and Texas Lutheran on the first day but came back around on Sept. 10 to defeat Concordia-Texas in five games with a team total of 96 digs and LeTourneau in three games with a team total of 53 digs. “I think we’ve done well so far this season, but we could work on our consis-

tency for future games,” sophomore Stephanie Neuman said. “We need to learn how the new girls play and learn how to work with them.” Coach Kimura has high hopes for this season with the new freshmen and the strong returning players. “The ultimate goal is to win the conference championships. We want to be a great serving team and a great passing team as well,” he said. Neuman has high hopes for the team this season and for herself. “I just want to live in the moment and leave it all on the court this season,” she said. “It is such a privilege to play for a college team. I don’t want to take the opportunity for granted. We have a lot of potential for the season to come.” The Linfield Wildcats will play again on Sept. 14 at Willamette and again on Sept. 17 at Puget Sound. The first home game will be on Sept. 23. Kelsey Sutton can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


Sports

September 12, 2011

www.linfieldreview.com

15

Women’s soccer kicks off season with 3-1 outcome Kaylyn Peterson Sports editor The Linfield women’s soccer team hit the ground running, winning three out of four games. The Wildcats faced off with the Corban University Warriors of Salem, Ore., on Sept. 10. Starting the game off at a fast pace, the Wildcats and Warriors battled for the ball. After 12 minutes, Corban’s sophomore Rileigh Mankin was fouled by Linfield sophomore goalie Taylor Collinsworth in the 18-yard box, earning the Warriors a penalty kick. Mankin scored, earning Corban the first and only goal of the game, leaving the Wildcats with their first loss of the season. The team won its previous three games against

Southern Oregon University, Northwest Christian University and Oregon Institute of Technology. “So far, the season is looking really good,” sophomore Emily Fellows said in an email. “We are three and one in preseason and we have improved each game. Our main team goal for the year is to win a conference title. It would be the first in Linfield women’s soccer history.” The Wildcats have another great roster for this season. Just these four games alone, Fellows, who is the Northwest offensive player of the year, shows another promising season. Returning senior MacKenzie Doty has already started tallying her goals of the season. The team is welcoming back 20 returning players

and is bringing 10 freshmen to join the team. “The challenges that our team faces would be to make sure that we come out every game playing to our full potential and not play below our capabilities,” Fellows said in an email. Along with starting the season off strong, the women’s soccer team has already achieved several accomplishments. Fellows scored her fourth hat trick of her career during the holiday weekend. Also, sophomore Apolonia Martinez got a shout out for her saves during the game against Oregon Institute of Technology. The Wildcats play at home against Lewis & Clark College on Sept. 14. Kaylyn Peterson can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Junior mid fielder Anna Sours moves to steal the ball from Corban’s forward Sept. 10.

year, I wrote often of this love and that although it beats in the hearts of many of us Wildcats, I had yet to see Linfield fans take this fanaticism to the next level. I longed to see the day when fans would stand and scream their heads off for every play and every gained yard, assist dished or point scored on the playing field. I yearned to see fans getting up and letting the referee hear it when calls didn’t go our way and jeering the opposition until they feared setting foot on our hallowed grounds. This new level of fandom has finally been achieved, and we who have reached it, go by the name of ‘Hooligan.’ Let me back up a bit. For the past two summers, I’ve worked on campus for facilities painting dorms and external properties. Both years, I’ve worked alongside a senior soccer fanatic named Dan Harmon. When I say fanatic, I mean it. The guy breathes soccer. He loves everything from Major

League Soccer in America to the English Premiere League to Linfield College. He had dabbled the year prior in bringing soccer enthusiasts together to support both the men’s and women’s soccer programs and mercilessly heckle the visiting team with nonprofane chants. You have to keep it classy, Harmon emphasized. Unfortunately, he was met with little success and it mostly amounted to only him and four of his friends taunting the opposition. During the summer, Harmon sent out a mass email to dozens of people around campus who he suspected might be interested in helping take things up a few notches. That’s how he met senior Evan Wingren, a newfound soccer nut who latched onto the sport when the Portland Timbers made the jump to the major leagues. According to Harmon, Wingren took the concept and ran with it, whipping up a full page

of Linfield-specific soccer chants, some original and some based on existing English Premiere League or Portland Timbers. Both seniors continued to spread the word around campus and convinced head coach Ian Lefebvre to part with 20 throwback soccer jerseys for the first game of the season. If he could fill every one of those jerseys, Harmon was told, Coach Lefebvre would consider selling them to the fans for cheap. Needless to say, I was excited beyond belief at the concept Harmon was pitching. He didn’t want to expand Linfield soccer’s fan base, he wanted to create a Linfield soccer culture. Not only that, but he wasn’t restricting the group’s influence to just the men’s side of things, as so many fan groups are prone to do. Soccer is soccer, he says, and he wanted people to get crazy for both the men and women. It was exactly what I had been writing about week after week, and I told him I

would make as many games as I possibly could. The Linfield Hooligans arrived in full force for the game against Northwest Christian, marching to the field through HP Park while chanting and banging on empty 5-gallon paint buckets. People were coming out of their apartments and standing on the balcony to see what was happening. As for filling those jerseys, we had so many among us that we had to rotate who got to wear them so everybody got a turn. As soon as the match got underway we chanted, hollered, heckled and generally raised hell without a word of profanity or vulgarity with Harmon and Wingren at the helm directing chants and keeping the energy level high. The other fans in the stands kept looking at us in disbelief, as though they couldn’t fathom that a small school like Linfield could muster that amount of ferocity. The team walked away

Morgan Cohen For the Review

the Wildcats met with Lewis & Clark for a dual meet in Portland, Ore. On the men’s side, senior Scott Gage took first place, while senior Arian Anderson came in second. Sophomore Joe Gladow finished third, and Alex Van Slyke stole fourth place. All four runners finished within 35 seconds of each other. Freshman Calvin Howell finished in sixth place and was only 17 seconds behind his fellow Wildcats. The women’s team featured sophomore Mimi Seeley who placed fourth with senior Shanna Peaden only a few short seconds

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Linfield soccer has been ‘Hooliganized’

Sports Commentary

Chris Forrer Sports columnist Hello ’Cats, old and new! We’re back for another funfilled year of rain, schoolwork and sports and yours truly will be here writing away as always. The semester may be young, but things have already started sizzling on and off the field. So don’t blink folks, or you’ll miss something cool! On that note, something took place on Sept. 1 during the men’s soccer team’s season-opening game against Northwest Christian that moved my heart and showed me just how strong Linfield’s love for its athletics can be. Throughout last

that day with a 1-0 win, and I’m told the talk in the locker room among the players was how much harder they could play with a rabid section of fans. I hadn’t felt so excited after a live sporting event in months, maybe years, and couldn’t stop smiling the rest of the night. Wingren now has scarves in the works bearing the words of our favorite chant: “Everybody Wants to Be a Cat.” Folks, if you love soccer or you just love to get loud for Linfield, the Hooligans have a place for you. The women next play at home on Sept. 14 against Lewis & Clark University and the men don’t return until Sept. 24 against George Fox. No matter which game you go to, you’ve got plenty of time to get your purple and red prepared and your chants fine-tuned. I gotta tell you, it’s a heck of a lot of fun, and I’m proud to be called a Hooligan.

Chris Forrer can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Cross country gets a running start on competition in meets Linfield’s cross country team competed at the Lewis & Clark Invitational in Estacada, Ore., on Sept. 10. The meet began at 9 a.m. and by the end of the day, the teams managed to place in the top three with the men finishing in second place and the women finishing in third. The freshmen women pushed hard during this meet with freshmen Audrey Lichten, Madison Trowbridge and Hannah Greider all placing in the top 20. A week prior, on Sept. 1,

behind her, finishing fifth. This season, the women’s team has 13 freshmen runners, outnumbering the rest of their teammates. “We are excited to see what some of these freshmen girls can do,” says Van Slyke,“they are going to only make the team stronger this year.” The Wildcats travel to Seattle, Wash., next week. They will compete in the Sundodger Invitational at 9 a.m. Sept. 17 hosted by the University of Washington.

Morgan Cohen can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.


16

sports

www.linfieldreview.com

September 12, 2011

Slugs slide by, but ’Cats strike back Samantha Sigler Staff writer After losing 3-0 against UCSanta Cruz Sept. 3, the Wildcats pushed the limits throughout the week at practices in an attempt to receive a better outcome on Sept. 10 against Oregon Institute of Technology in Klamath Falls, Ore. The Wildcats, however, ended with a result of a 2-1 loss. “If we get guys healthy that will be a whole different story,” junior center-mid Nzar Tarhuni said. With an over abundance of injuries, the Wildcats are down in numbers. They’re not letting that stop them though, and although they’re now 1-2, they still have high hopes for the rest of the season. “We’ll surprise a lot of people,” Tarhuni said. With a new team this year, there appears to be a different atmosphere on the team, which may lead them to better results at the end of the season conference.” As far as the team chemistry goes, the Wildcats are “way ahead of where we were last year,” sophomore right-mid and forward Michael Swain said. “[We’re a] way bigger, way stronger family. We look a lot better than where we were last year.” Senior defense player and cocaptain Wil Hiles agreed. “We drive each other as much as [the] coaches attempt to do it,” Hiles said. With this extra support from each other, Hiles said he believes this will lead to a better outcome at the end of the season. Next up, the Wildcats have an away game Sept. 17 against Pacific Lutheran University in which they hope to show off their hard work and come back with another win. Their next home game is Sept. 24 against George Fox University. Junior forward Geoff Kunita said that the team would appreciate fans. “We love the support,” Kunita said. “[It] gives us the extra little push.” Finishing sixth in conference last year and being placed sixth again in the pre-season coaches poll also has the team fired up to show everyone that they can improve. “[We’re] ready to start league play to show [we’re] better than sixth ranking,” Hiles said. Once players start healing and the team becomes healthy again, the team expects different and better results from games. The team has goals of making it first in conference this year, which Hiles said is very realistic. “The games were always close games,” Hiles said of last season’s ending sixth in conference. “But, we were scared to be good.” Samantha Sigler can be reached at linfieldreviewsports@gmail.com.

Joel Ray/Photo editor

Sophomore linebacker Tim Edmonds goes for the tackle of California Lutheran’s tight end senior Britton Biscoe on Sept. 10 at Maxwell Field.

Wildcats dethrone the Kingsmen Chris Forrer Sports columnist

Despite playing in 90-plus degree heat and losing senior tailback Aaron Williams to an injury on the game’s second play, the Linfield football team held strong and outlasted the No. 16 California Lutheran University Kingsmen 24-14 in the first home game Sept. 10. Junior tailback Josh Hill, stepping in for Williams, exploded for 164 yards and two touchdowns, the highest single-game total for a player in more than three seasons. “I was really proud of him,” coach Joseph Smith said. “He was nursing an injury and I didn’t want him to play quite that much, but I was very proud of his effort.” Linfield’s offensive unit sputtered during the first half. The ’Cats had three consecutive threeand-outs in the first quarter with a net yard total of -1. While Linfield struggled to get started, Cal Lu wide out Eric Rodgers broke several tackles on a 28-yard dash into

the end zone, putting the Kingsmen up 7-0 early in the game. “In the first half, they were running a lot of formations we hadn’t seen before,” sophomore tight end Jacob Priester said. “They were things we thought they might come out in, but it turned out to be their base defense.” After giving up a score, the defense soon put the Kingsmen offense on lockdown. Cal Lu was restricted to only 160 yards on the ground for the game, 55 of them from tailback senior Daniel Mosier. On fourth down and one yard to go on the Linfield 18-yard line, Mosier ran into a pile of Wildcats and was stuffed for a loss, giving the offense some momentum and another shot to score. “We were reeling offensively,” Smith said. “Our defense kept us in it early. I knew if we could stop the run we would win the game and eventually we did that.” The defense shone as senior defensive back Kala’e Parish nabbed a pass out of the air, the first

of two Wildcat picks in the game. This time the Wildcats capitalized on the opportunity and Hill scooted in for a 1-yard touchdown, tying the score at 7-7. “We’d been looking for that route all week,” Parish said. “In past years they’ve wanted to hit that route, so coach told me to sit on it.” Junior kicker Josh Kay booted in a 22-yard field goal to cap a 94-yard drive and end the second half. Despite leading 10-7 entering the third quarter the game remained close. The first-time starter would finish with a modest 9 of 24 completed passes for 122 yards, one touchdown and two interceptions while taking a few big hits in the pocket. Coach Smith stuck by his anointed starter after the game, praising his toughness and mental fortitude. “He took a lot of hits early,” Smith said. “He could have folded but he stood in there and was a warrior for us today.” Hill scored his second and final

touchdown on a 3-yard carry with 4:24 left in the third, bringing Linfield’s lead to 17-7. With the running game established, Inns was able to roll out of the pocket on play action more often and began to gel with his receiving core. Laudenslayer kept things interesting late in the third quarter on a 28-yard touchdown strike to Rogers, who had to leap into the air to make the catch. The Wildcats put the game away with Inns’ lone passing score, a 4-yard lob to Priester. The Linfield defense suppressed Cal Lu for the remainder of the game capped off an interception by senior all-American safety Drew Fisher that crushed any hope the Kingsmen had left. The defensive unit held Laudenslayer, a quarterback, to 220 yards, one touchdown and picked him off twice while taking away his deep passing threat with great coverage in the secondary. >> Please see Football page 15


The Linfield Review