Page 1

What’s the Story? 1180 AM KCKQ TuneIn Radio App: America Matters

News, stories, articles, entertainment, business events

www.issuu.com June 2018

Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Charleston, Jacksonfville...is your city next?

Are we a newspaper? No...Are we a magazine? No...Are we a newsletter? Not really any of those. So what are we? We are a publication in print and online designed to provide

information: for fun, for what’s happening, for things you might want to see in other publications, but don’t. We look for stories that could go viral...at the very least, stories that are interesting. The point is to “Share It!”

Nevada Marketplace Open for Business

J

une 1st marks the “unofficial” or soft opening of The Nevada Marketplace in the Reno Town Mall, 4001 S. Virginia St. in Reno, Nevada. Vendors from the community have gathered in the marketplace to offer many different choices in Nevada wares. From cookies, clothing, books (yes, LeRue Press is there too) to a beautiful selection of photos, jewelry, art and much more. You can even pick up a scooter! Take the time to stop by the Reno Town Mall and see the newest addition of The Nevada Marketplace. Do some shopping and support the local economy. The grand opening will be sometime in July. Watch for announcements.

Editor: Janice Hermsen: janice@lrpnv.com

facebook.com/ Bookhound1000

@LeRuePress

linkedin.com /in/ lrpprinting

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Page 2

In Business? Looking for Referrals?

What’s Inside? Nevada Marketplace.…….…..1 In Business? Looking for Referrals?…………………….....2 Helena-Book Review John Loranger …………..….….3 Change Is the Only Constant Eddie Floyd ....…..……..……...4 Entertainer Sharyn Pak Brian T. Shirley ………………...5 Words and Such Richard G. Pugh .……..…...…..6 Look What the Book Hound Found…………….……..………...8 Take the Quiz .......................9 The Patriot Post: Defenders of Freedom …….………………....10 Mike Aloia………………..........11 LeRue Press Taking Entries .14 Calling All Writers …………...14 Quiz Answers ….….....…..…..16

What’s the Story? News, Entertainment, Business, Arts and Culture Managing Editor: Janice Hermsen

W

e have openings for the follow- Join the Referral Group in Reno, Nevada: ing businesses– Yours not listed? Contact us and see if we Just 2 meetings a month—1st & 3rd Thursday at 8am with the express purpose of generating rehave any available opportunities. ferrals of new business to its members. Are you a massage therapist? Do you provide pest control services? Next meetings: Are you a graphic designer?  June 7, 2018 A florist?  June 21, 2018 Landscaper? Handyman? Only one representative per category—members Painter? complement one another rather than competing Hair Stylist? within their field. Carpet Cleaner? Health Club Entrepreneur? Minimal annual fee—$50 which goes to quarterly What business are you in? Do you need to step up your networking? Contact for more information: Jackie Lynch: 775.853.1503 x222 or Janice Hermsen: 775.356.1004 x 701

mixers. A non-competitive atmosphere—Members maintain their place in the group by making quality referrals and providing a high level of service and integrity in their business dealings.

“...95% of people say face-to-face meetings are essential for long-term business relationships”*

Layout & Design Lenore Halfide Proof & Print Kathy Szudajski Contributors Richard G Pugh, Brian T. Shirley, John Loranger, Mike Aloia, Eddie Floyd, The Patriot Post Delivered by Doug, The Jerkyman *https://www.virgin.com/entrepreneur/ infographic-the-importance-of-face-toface-networking Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?™ Share it! Page 3

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

John Loranger

Helena

by Evelyn Waugh Book Review

E

velyn Waugh is probably best known for his 1945 novel, “Brideshead Revisited”— which I have never read. In fact I have read only one of his books. But that one, “Helena”, turned out to be very good despite a number of peculiarities and shortcomings. “Helena” (published in 1950) is about the titular empress and saint, who lived during the 200s and 300s A.D. and was the

mother of Constantine the Great. Legend has it that she was mysteriously guided to the exact location of “the true cross”—the wood upon which Jesus Christ was crucified. Up to that point its whereabouts had been unknown. (According to Church historian, Socrates Scholasticus, the true cross had been buried in Jerusalem—beneath a temple to Venus—by the enemies of the Christian faith.) Waugh stresses in the book’s preface that “Helena” is only a legend. It is not a true (Continued on page 7)

When the heart weeps for what it has lost, the soul laughs for what it has found. ~ Sufi aphorism ~ http://www.sapphyr.net/smallgems/quotes-death.htm

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).

\


Page 4

Eddie Floyd

R

ick Parr, his wife, Julie, and two children, Lizzie and Joe will be leaving the Reno Area soon to take a wonderful position in El Paso, Texas. We are all very proud of Rick, who was President of World Matters Inc., and Director of Sales for America Matters Media. He assisted the company in so many ways and will truly be missed. He became one of the shareholders in our privately held Corporation, so I know we have not seen the last of the family. Julie worked for the Forsythe Cancer Care Center and Dr Forsythe agrees we will all feel the loss of the Parr family. Julie was an excellent employee there. Rick did a Sports Show Monday through Fridays from 5 pm till 6 pm in the Reno Town Mall studio of America Matters Media. His listeners appreciated the banter between Rick and his co-host, Marky Mark, a local legend in the gaming world.

Free Consultation

What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Change Is the Only Constant More than anything we will miss the man and his family who have become part of the World Matters Inc. business family; that will never change. Rick is a true Texas gentleman; Julie is a tremendous asset to any company where she works. I think Lizzie will become a famous author someday and "Shoeless" Joe is simply an all American boy. The Parr family will leave a tremendous hole in my heart and many others, but this opportunity is perfect for them, which is all one can ask in the first place. Eddie Floyd is the founder of America Matters Media, now World Matters Media (www.americamatters.us). He is an author, radio host, speaker and supporter of Wynema Ranch Wild Horse Sanctuary. His book, Final Breath: A Love Story was released in 2014. All the profits go to the Wynema Ranch Wild Horse Sanctuary. His next book, Barn Yarns is scheduled for release in 2018.

Self publishing? Need to know your options? Which is the “right” publisher for you? All “Publishers” are not created equally. Find the one that is right for your project.

On the phone or in our office.

775.849.3814

LeRue Press offers a 30 minute consultation free.

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Brian T. Shirley

I

want to welcome Sharyn Pak Withers to BTS Entertainment Corner and had the pleasure of working with her on the set of a brand new web series by Valiant Pictures. Brian (BTS): Sharyn, as we discussed on the set waiting to do our scenes, you started as a TV host for your own fitness show. This, you believe, contributed to where you are now. Can you tell us a little about yourself before your TV debut and anything that led you in that direction? Sharyn (SPW): I was a successful Personal Trainer and wanted to move my expertise in front of the

What’s the Story?TM Share it! Page 5

Entertainer Sharyn Pak Wows With Her Diversity camera. My husband is an artist and wanted to create content on video and in 2002 we began doing just that. He produced my TV show ‘Bringing Fitness To You’ which led to about 6 or 7 fitness videos. I was also a regular fitness segment contributor for 'Good Day Philadelphia' and other of Comcast shows doing live fitness segments on early morning TV. We got married in 2003 and have since created a library of video content: scenes, monologues, fitness, craft and art related videos. In 2007 I began creating art and craft instructional videos-10 in total. http:// www.onairvideo.com/craftvideos.html This is where I really learned (Continued on page 12)

Business Services • • • •

Need a business address? Mailboxes: $25/month-We receive and forward mail, Nevada business street address. Virtual Office: $125/month-Business street address, we receive your packages telephone answering, conference room, mailbox Conference Room: Rent by the hour ($15/hour) Commercial printing services: Business cards, post cards, flyers, much more!

GIFT JARS & BOXES $10.00 & UP

LeRue Press 280 Greg St. #10, Reno, NV 89502 775.356.1004

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Page 6

Richard G. Pugh

Words and Such

N

ot everyone is concerned that some words carry many diverse meanings but everyone should be concerned at using the very best word choices available in writing and in polite conversation. Today this is more important than ever. Words seem to be changing right before our eyes. Correct word usage today can be the difference between being boorish and enlightened. It wasn’t that long ago a compliment was just that, but these days be mindful when addressing attire, particularly a woman’s looks; her age, hair style, make-up, weight in particular. The best of intentions are secondary to the lady’s interpretation. There is a great difference between using the right word and one that is similar but very wrong. For example: telling a woman she is “Good looking” can be a sexist affront these days and by catching this gaff and changing around the words a bit like “My, you’re looking good!” doesn’t help much and won’t get you out of a jam. Ambiguous words must always be used with caution particularly with women. Not so much with men! In a previous column I once mentioned a devilish friend of mine complimented a woman that she danced ‘bovinely’ and ‘porcinely’, and her looks were absolutely ‘simian’. At the moment, she cautiously thanked my friend for such seemingly lovely thoughts but later deciphered each and sent a scathing and cruel letter. Misused words have their consequences and it just might be wise to briefly think on this before saying or writing things potentially open to being misunderstood. Don’t rely on repeating a clever sounding word or phrase used by supposedly knowledgeable writers. They too have frequently misspoken. Sunday morning TV preachers for example, frequently use words like Calvary and Cavalry but their

meanings have religious and military connotations and curiously do not belong in the same sentence. Recently I ran across the following verse penned by an anonymous and very wise writer on this topic of words and their usages. A careless word may kindle strife; A cruel word may wreck a life; A bitter word may hate instill; A brutal word may smite and kill; A gracious word may smooth the way: A joyous word may light the day; A timely word may lessen stress; A loving word may heal and bless. Shakespeare had a wondrous vocabulary but only in play did he try to warn us: “There is no indigestion worse than that which comes from eating one’s own words!”

After coming to Reno from Charleston, S.C. in 1973 to accept the position of CEO of the Nevada State Medical Association and serving as Director of Physician Relations at Washoe Medical Center for two years, Pugh retired in 1990. Later he helped establish Health Access Washoe County (HAWC) and served as Board Member and President for several years. He has served as Adjunct Clinical Instructor at the University of Nevada School of Medicine and authored four books through the History of Medicine Program there.

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press, LLC (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

(Continued from page 3)

story in the strictest sense, nor could it be since only a minimum of historical data is available where the life of the actual Helena is concerned. Yet Waugh clearly put his heart and soul into this work and ultimately concluded that it was the best novel he had written. His central theme is focused on the conflict between a Catholic view of reality and a gnostic view. The Catholic view states that God revealed the truth plainly to humankind, in a historically verifiable manner, for one and all to see. Gnosticism in its various forms prefers that the truth or all high knowledge be accessible to only a privileged few. Against the latter, Waugh pits his heroine. “Helena” is intelligent, entertaining, and is peppered with the acerbic humor Waugh was famous for. But then there are the peculiarities mentioned above. These include certain anachronistic elements which the author deliberately incorporated into his narrative, along with some none-too-subtle jabs at anti-Christian historians like Edward Gibbon. Deserved or not, such rejoinders seem out of place in a fictional narrative; at least in the way Waugh does it here. Also, he sometimes adopts a certain tone that sounds like the voice of a semi-bored tour guide: “…a cockpit here, a rough sports stadium there, the greater or less propriety of the gaming houses and

What’s the Story?TM Share it! Page 7

taverns; the shrines of the regimental deities…” etcetera. As for his portrayal of Constantine, I’m not sure what to think. I know that this emperor was a ruthless man and should not be honored as a saint, but I never quite imagined the hideous, homicidal buffoon that is depicted by Waugh. However, it is the central figure, Helena herself, who matters most in this novel; and she makes up for its shortcomings. She is portrayed as a decent and kind woman without being sentimental. She is morally and physically sturdy, very intelligent but opposed to intellectual elitists; she is devout but not pious, and more sacramental than spiritual. In short, she comes off as a nononsense, down-to-earth Christian believer, and as such she may or may not appeal to readers. For me, Waugh’s “Helena” succeeds impressively, and remains in my thoughts long after the actual reading. John Loranger was born in Butte, Montana in 1961 but has spent most of his life in Nevada. He served in the United States Navy from 1983 to 1987, then worked for the telephone company before retiring in 2011. He has always enjoyed reading fiction and has published two novels of his own: "The Odyssey of Art O'Hara" and "Lions and Souls: the Story of St. Mary of Egypt". His approach to fiction is best summed up by a quote from Walker Percy: "The first rule of thumb, of course, is pleasure. A good book gives the reader pleasure, the sort of deep, abiding pleasure he likes to come back to."

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press, LLC. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press, LLC .


What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Page 8

Look What the Book Hound Found! Future Releases from LeRue Press Hunter is only 3-1/2 years old, but he has a wisdom beyond his years and loves to talk to the animals. And sometimes, (he says) they talk back. Grandpa and Grandma love Hunter so much, they humor him. As it often happens on a ranch, outside forces and wild animals prey on the ranch animals. Leon and Hootch, two of the dogs, face a difficult challenge. With Hunter’s unusual talent of being able to “talk” to the animals, the story unfolds. It may bring you to tears, but Floyd’s homespun style is an easy but enjoyable read for all ages. Release: Early 2018

Marketing Campaign:

Select non-profits supporting wild horses Reading group promotion Social media campaign

Book signings National online campaign

What Deepest Remains By Joseph Holsworth An autobiographical narrative that follows a young but seasoned veteran from his last mission in Iraq to his return and readjustment to life outside of combat. It explores the inner psyche of the modern veteran from the perspective of a jaded young man caught between his pride of service and the moral dilemma of fighting an unjust war. He battles PTSD and alcoholism until he finds peace in the company of a young progressive local poet. Marketing campaign:

Release: 2018

Book signings

National online campaign

Reading group promotion

Author speaking tour

WHEN YOU BELIEVE: THE STORY OF FLOYD SNEED Classic Drummer Hall of Fame and Pop Music Hall of Fame inductee (Three Dog Night), Floyd Sneed tells his story in his book When You Believe. It is a witty, entertaining and insightful book full of stories told by original Three Dog Night drummer, Floyd Sneed, with perspectives from people who know him. A look at life in the 60s and 70s from one of the first black drummers in an all white band. How he took his creativity to another level with his own personal imagery that is joyful and inspired by his sense of humor. Published by LeRue Press, LLC.

From drumsticks to paintbrushes

Follow Floyd on Twitter @FloydSneedDrums ©Hinton Design

Creative and inspired

When You Believe by Floyd Sneed with Janice Hermsen Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

What’s the Story?TM Share it! Page 9

Grab a Steamin’ Wienie and a copy of What’s the Story® at Sinbad’s

Take the Quiz: You May Know More Than You Think! 1. Which author is mentioned in the lyrics of 'Don't

9. 'Happy' is a song written, produced, and

Stand So Close to Me' by the Police? 2. Whose got a lovely daughter in a popular song by Herman's Hermits? 3. 'Rock Me Amadeus' is a 1985 song by which Austrian musician? 4. What is the name of the British music festival, held annually at Donington Park in Leicestershire? 5. 'Okay, so you're Brad Pitt' is a line from which song? 6. Which song originally recorded by Roger Whittaker in 1982 was also performed by Bette Midler for the soundtrack to the film Beaches? 7. On August 4, 2017, the official music video for which single became the most viewed YouTube video of all time after receiving its 3 billionth view? 8. By what name is Ella Marija Lani Yelich-O'Connor known professionally?

performed by which American singer and record producer? 10. 'Beautiful Liar' is a song recorded jointly by American singer Beyonce and which Colombian singer? 11. B.J. Thomas is best known for which Burt Bacharach and Hal David song? 12. Which group had a string of hits throughout the mid-1960s, including 'For Your Love' and 'Heart Full of Soul'? 13. In 1981, which unemployment-themed single was a number one hit in the UK Singles Chart? (Answers on back page) http://www.businessballs.com/quizballs/ quizballs59_free_trivia_quiz_questions_answers.htm

Craps & the Showgirl by Barbara Riiff Davis A little international travel and some local Harolds Club gaming Author, Barbara Riiff Davis went from wearing braces on her legs as a child to performing on the stage as a showgirl during the time when walking was an art for which you were paid. She paints a picture of what it was like before electronics ruled the gaming industry. It was a simpler time, but there were some rocky roads. Ever wondered what gaming was like when slot machines were called “One-Armed Bandits”? Want to know some of the old methods used for cheating? Barbara Riifff Davis takes you back to those early days. ISBN: 978-1-938814-15-0, First Edition Retail Price: $14.95 Available at www.lrpnv.com Order in bulk and get a discount. Contact LeRue Press, 775.849.3814 Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Page 10

What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?TM Share it! Page 11

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

Mike Aloia

Live Happy

“Walk the Turtle”

T

he complexions of life are seen inside the warmth of the skin, by the glimmers of sunshine radiating from the beauty inside eyes of the universe. To smile and gaze upon the depths love has nurtured, the renewal of the spirit that is held close during prayer and meditations found in solitude. A peaceful heart allows the flow of contentment to fill our souls, a calmness of mind sheds all burdens and worries as we change our perceptions. Such power we each share is understood during our growth of human wisdom, a fascinating event occurs when humbleness fills visions of divine. Perseverance through guidance of each circumstance we encounter is inevitable as we wake each morning to our individual journey of purpose. Walk the turtle with compassion toward our gift to exist and abilities to inspire, we hold each moment with hope and dreams to live happy.

Mike Aloia is a father of two daughters and a proud grandfather. He is 50 years old and lives in Jacksonville, Florida. Mike is multi-talented: a cartoonist, comedian, musician, songwriter, actor, columnist, and the CEO of American Hearts Radio, LLC Entertainment Network. He has experience in web TV, radio entertainment production, artist management, and other aspects of entertainment. His column “Walk the Turtle” are his thoughts on slowing down, taking it easy, and enjoying life. Mike's work can be found in the following places: www.americanheartsradio.com www.facebook.com/americanheartsradio www.harmonybooking.com

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Page 12

What’s the Story?TM Share it!

(Continued from page 5)

the business; writing my own copy, working on set design, putting together the shot list, and on air talent. I also used to be a hairdresser so I do my own hair and make-up.

BTS: You've acted in PA, NY and MA for several years. What differences have you noticed since you changed your address to join us here in the south in your world of acting? SPW: I’ve worked a lot in New York City. NYC is a seriously tough place, definitely not for the thin skinned. It taught me a no-nonsense work ethic: show up on time, be prepared, keep your pie-hole shut, it’s not about you. We are all equal pieces to getting the directors vision completed. NYC is also were the good paying work is, $1500. a day but you might be auditioning for 2 months until you get it.

BTS: You've played Wife, Judge, Nurse, Doctor, Politician, Patient, Mom and Grand-Mom in movies, commercials, TV shows, print ads, comedy skits, radio spots… you name it. What's your favorite role to play and what's your favorite medium in which to perform and why? SPW: My favorite medium is short (one or two day), independent films and commercials—two dichotomies—all about art and no money vs. all about money and no art. My favorite role to play, hands down, is Vodka-Vicatin Mom. Too much fun! But to be (Continued on page 13)

Until 2017, when my husband and I moved to Florida, I lived in the Philadelphia metro area my entire life. Florida is a kinder, gentler place. No one has told me to go f*** myself and people don’t publicly masterbate. Two trends I appreciate.

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?™ Share it! Page 13

Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

(Continued from page 12)

self-taped auditions.

honest, I like playing different roles on a rotating basis, working with different directors in different cities on different projects.. All of the same thing becomes boring for me. For a while I couldn’t understand why any actor would walk away from a 5-year successful TV series. Now I do — boredom!

Never stop growing your stable of characters, each one represents another opportunity. A large repertoire of characters is what successful actors are always working on.

BTS: I learned a lot from you in the short time we work together, what's your secret to breaking down a scene and bringing a character to life? SPW: I am constantly learning and trying to be the best actress I can be. I need to convince you I am a Mourning Cousin (like we were), Mean Judge, Clueless Mom, etc. and not just show you how I can pretend to be those people. If I could recommend an acting coach to study, it would be the late Uta Hagen. There are free videos of her teaching on YouTube and I highly recommend her book “Respect for Acting”. It was through studying Uta that I had more than one ‘A-ha!’ moment.

BTS: Any last suggestions for fellow entertainers....or warnings!!? SPW: An acting tip I’d like to share is to record your rehearsals, using whatever device you have, then view your performance for yourself. We are typically our own worst critics but you’ll also see pearls of brilliance in your mannerisms. It’s also how I got good at using props or pantomiming when I lacked them. Once you get your lighting and sound right, this is also how you’ll send in

My website is: www.SharynPakWithers.com I use it as my store front and am always keeping it fresh. I have been cast for roles solely based on what the Director saw of me on my site. Everyone is free to use any and all of my ideas. Some pitfalls to avoid: 1: Don’t be an asshole on the set, we all know each other. I worked with this really nice young man Rob Biello on the set of ‘Brotherly Love’. He was the boom operator. The next project we worked together on he was the Producer. The third project he and I worked together on…. You get the point. I understood how important he was when he was in charge of sound and was proud as punch when he became a producer. Either way, I was always nice to him. 2: Never pay anyone for an opportunity. I once gave a Philly agent $85. for some website crap that I never saw. That wasted money taught me a lot so when a 2nd agent came up to me and wanted $150. for a similar thing, I flat-out said no. She said she wouldn’t be able to work with me unless I paid. I said I (Continued on page 15)

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


What’s the Story?TM Share it!

Page 14

LeRue Press Taking Entries for the Amazing Book Cover Art Award

F

or the last 5 years during Artown, Lerue Press has participated in the event to encourage authors to focus on their book cover art to help in promoting their books. This year is no different.

Calling All Writers-NSAEN Is Looking for Quality Articles

I

Authors can enter their books in the Amazing Book Cover Art Award (ABCAA) beginning June 1st. Winners will be announced on the Book Hound Radio Show, KCKQ 1180 AM and streaming live online at amm.streamon.fm or on the TuneIn radio app. To enter e-mail lrp@lrpnv.cocm. Enter subject line ABCAA entry and request information.

f you are someone who loves to write short pieces whether they are articles or short stories, No Strings Attached E News is looking for new writers. Revised and updated, they are interested in quality writing for many different topics and genres. Go to the website www.nsaen.com. Hit the contact us button.

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


Distribution: 2500 copies per month in print. Additional online exposure at issuu.com and lrpnv.com

What’s the Story?™ Share it! Page 15

(Continued from page 13)

crazy eye, including the casting director, so I did a 2nd audition with the make-up washed off. I got the call back, showed up with a toned down look and wound up getting cast as background. The Director wanted my first crazy 3: Working for free forever. character but I allowed myself to get cold feet. Decide Once you have invested in acting lessons or have who your character is and stick to it. Even if it’s not right several good projects under your belt, stop working for for this project, you’re preparation will leave a good free. Your internship is over. That means saying no. impression on the Director. People will lie to you and say ‘if you do this project for free I’ll keep you in mind for paying projects’. No they Good luck! won’t. Repeat as necessary: “I am not accepting unpaid roles at this time.” understood but I still wasn’t paying—and I didn’t. I worked for her several times.

One last thing I’d like to share: Trust your instincts, garnered through hard work and experience, on how to portray your character. I showed up to an audition with brash make-up, big hair and loud clothing because that’s how I saw the character. Everyone in the audition was giving me the

Brian T. Shirley has the look of a Don Rickles, the comedy of a George Carlin with a touch of Robin Williams but when you roll it all together, it is pure and unique and something only Brian T. Shirley can deliver. Brian has toured the USA, Canada, The Bahamas and Japan for 25 years. He combines menology, character driven material, story telling and has worked well known comedy clubs, country clubs, resorts, cruise ships, special events, military installations and private events! Check out some of his upcoming shows, promo videos, videos from his webs series and other projects at www.briantshirley.com.

Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press (LRP).


W h a t ’s t h e S t o r y ? ™ Sh a r e i t ! 280 Greg Street, Suite 10 Reno, NV 89502 Toll Free: 844.987.8679 (844-WT-STORY) In northern Nevada: 775.356.1004 E-mail: lrp@lrpnv.com

www.lrpnv.com

Our business is to make your business look good!

KCKQ 1180 AM or amm.streamon.fm

The opinions expressed are by the authors and do not reflect the opinions of LeRue Press, LLC or any of its partners or affiliates.

Freedom Isn’t Free R.E.D. Remember Everyone Deployed. Wear Red on Fridays. Until our troops are home.

Honor our Veterans Brian T. Shirley What’s the Story?

“Take us with you!” Link to What’s The Story online

Janice Hermsen Host of What’s the Story? & Book Hound

April Kempler Book Hound

Join the fun every week from 3-5 p.m. What’s the Story? ™ : News, business events, entertainment and culture. Then Book Hound: Publishing, books, writing and author interviews.

June 4, 2018 WTS: Karen Gedney on Prison Reform:Host, Janice Hermsen and guest co-host, April Kempler June 18. 2018 BH: Wally’s Workplace Wisdom authors with host, Janice Hermsen and co-host, April Kempler June 25, 2018 BH: Grace Kennan Warnecke, author of Daughter of the Cold War with host Janice Hermsen and co-host April Kempler

1. Vladimir Nabokov 2.Mrs. Brown 3. Falco 4. Download Festival 5. That Don't Impress Me Much (by Shania Twain) 6. Wind Beneath My Wings

Answers to quiz on page 9

7. Despacito 8. Lorde 9. Pharrell Williams 10. Shakira 11. Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head 12. The Yardbirds 13. Ghost Town

“What’s the Story?®” is a monthly publication of LeRue Press (LRP). No part of this publication may be reprinted without permission. But we’d love it if you shared it! It is available in print and online. Go to www.lrpnv.com or www.issuu.com and search LeRue Press. Copyright, 2015-2018, LeRue Press, LLC. No part of this publication may be copied or reprinted without permission from LeRue Press, LLC(LRP).

What's the Story June 2018  

News, stories, articles, entertainment, business events. We are in print in Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Charleston, Jacksonfville...is your...

What's the Story June 2018  

News, stories, articles, entertainment, business events. We are in print in Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Charleston, Jacksonfville...is your...

Advertisement