Tennessee Turfgrass - April / May 2022

Page 6


Christopher C. Sykes


The Official Publication of the Tennessee Turfgrass Association, the Tennessee Valley Sports Turf Managers Association and the Tennessee Golf Course Superintendents Association


400 Franklin Road Franklin, Tennessee 37069 (615) 928-7001 info@ttaonline.org www.ttaonline.org

Tennessee Turfgrass Association Board of Directors has been working hard on your behalf. The BOD actually went on an overnight retreat recently in an effort to lay the foundation for the future of the association. Things kicked off on the morning of February 28th where the BOD discussed the recent Conference and Show, which was considered a rousing success. We continue to look at ways to improve the conference and show and opportunities were discussed at length. The association is committee driven and those assignments were finalized for 2022. Every Board Member is heavily involved in at least two of the following committees: r. Jim Brosnan chairs the education committee. The education committee is the educaD tional platform of the TTA and is responsible for planning the education sessions at seminars, workshops, the annual conference, and any other educational activity. r. Ryan Blair chairs the awards and scholarships committees. The awards and scholarM ships committee oversees the application and selection process of awards and scholarships presented by TTA. This committee will oversee the awards banquet that is held at the annual conference. r. Mark Stovall chairs the membership committee. The membership committee is inM volved in the aspects of marketing, fundraising for the endowment fund, and increasing the membership base (including determining new membership categories when needed). xecutive Director Melissa Martin chairs the conference and tradeshow committee. The E conference and tradeshow committee is responsible for the operation of the conference and tradeshow. The includes contract negotiations, site selection, and providing on-site management at the conference and tradeshow. The committee will plan, budget, and promote the conference throughout the year as well as soliciting sponsorships, tradeshow vendors and conference registrants. This committee will coordinate with the education, awards and scholarship and membership committees for conference and tradeshow purposes. he finance committee is made up of members of the executive committee which includes T TTA President, Mr. Chris Sykes, Vice President, Mr. Ryan Storey and Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. Ryan Blair. The finance committee provides financial oversight for the association, including developing an annual operating budget with staff. he nominating committee is responsible for soliciting nominations for the impending T vacancies on the board of directors. This committee consists of the president and those board members whose terms are expiring. The BOD also spent time in a strategic planning session where the focus was on developing a mission statement that summarizes the aims and values of our organization. We also worked on a vision for what we want to achieve as well as the strategy for how we plan to accomplish the vision and goals of the TTA. We hope of finalize these in future meetings after which we will share with the entire association. The retreat was primarily all business, but we also worked in some team building activities in an effort to grow closer together as a board. We went bowling off-site and the Golf Club of Tennessee served as the perfect backdrop for our overnight event. We also had an impromptu scavenger hunt for Mr. Bill Marbet’s phone, so make sure to ask about that the next time you see Bill. The TTA has never been stronger, and the future is very bright.

Christopher C. Sykes TTA President


TENNESSEE TURFGRASS APRIL / MAY 2022 Email TTA at: info@ttaonline.org

Tennessee Turfgrass is the official publication of The Tennessee Turfgrass Association

PUBLISHED BY Leading Edge Communications, LLC 206 Bridge Street Franklin, Tennessee 37064 (615) 790-3718 info@leadingedgecommunications.com EDITOR Dr. James Brosnan TTA OFFICERS President Chris Sykes Tellico Village Vice President Ryan Storey Line to Line LLC Secretary / Treasurer Ryan Blair, CGCS Holston Hills Country Club Past President Doug Ward Belle Meade Country Club Executive Director Melissa Martin Tennessee Turfgrass Association TTA 2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS Jason Bradley Bart Cash Ben Dodd Dan Johnson Ashley Gaskin Cal Hill Jeff Huber Jeff Kuhns Bill Marbet Bob McLean Jason Sanderson Mark Stovall John Wagnon Jeff Wyatt TTA ADVISORY MEMBERS OF THE BOARD Bill Blackburn Dr. Jim Brosnan Joe Hill Dr. Brandon Horvath Lynn Ray Jeff Rumph Dr. Tom Samples Dr. Dennis Shepard Dr. John Sorochan Dr. Wes Totten