Page 28


SHAPING OUR FUTURE THE MUNICIPAL DEMARCATION BOARD An independent authority, deepening democracy "Wards are delimited every five years for the purpose of local government elections"- Thabo Manyoni


he Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB) is an independent authority responsible for delimiting all metropolitan municipalities and all local municipalities that must have wards, into wards. The (MDB) was established in terms of sections 155 and 157 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa and the Local Government: Municipal Demarcation Act, 1998. The Board consists of ten board members appointed by the President for a five- year term with the exception of the Chairperson, the members of the Board serve on a part-time basis. Thabo Moses Manyoni, was appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa on 1 March 2019 as chairperson of the MDB, holds a Bachelor of Arts degree, a diploma in business management and a certificate in executive leadership. He has extensive experience in the public service, especially at local government level. Apart from having worked for the Independent Electoral Commission for four years, he has been a municipal manager for two municipalities over consecutive periods of four years. He was also the executive mayor of Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality, during which period he served as the national chairperson of SALGA and the vice president of the United Cities and Local Government in Africa. He has also served in the provincial and national spheres. He was a member of the Provincial Executive Council over a period of three years during which he also served as acting premier. At a national level he has served as a member of parliament. In view of the crucial role played by the MDB, Municipal Focus spoke to Thabo Manyoni - Chairperson of the Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB)


Municipal Focus

Profile for kwedamedia

Municipal Focus Magazine - Volume 51