Page 1

CCME SPRING ISSUE 2018 Education and Career Transition Guide for Servicemembers and Veterans

Rising to the Call: HRSA’s Veterans’ Workforce Initiative Delivers College Grads Aren’t Ready for an AI World

Military and Veteran Education Lane Huber President The Council of College & Military Educators

Increasing Cyber IQ: The Best Cyber Security Degree Programs for the Military www.MAE-kmi.com

Spring 2018 Volume 13.1


MILITARY ADVANCED EDUCATION & TRANSITION Features

Cover / Q&A News Feature

TRANSITION TRENDS

4

CORPORATE CONNECTION SVA BRIEF Various opportunities in furthering education or careers for military veterans are detailed.

Spring 2018 Volume 13.1

11

NAVY MEDICS ARE TRAINING FOR THE BATTLEFIELD AT CHICAGO HOSPITAL Navy medics-in-training receive hands-on training to treat trauma injuries not on the battlefield, but in a Chicago hospital.

16 SPECIAL SECTION

8

RISING TO THE CALL: HRSA’S VETERANS’ WORKFORCE INITIATIVE DELIVERS There will soon be an unprecedented need for more nursing staff in the U.S.; a unique program links veterans with medical skills to fast-track nursing programs to begin to fill the looming shortage.

12

INCREASING CYBER IQ: THE BEST CYBER SECURITY DEGREE PROGRAMS FOR THE MILITARY The effectiveness of national security depends on cyber intelligence. Various degree programs are available for veterans in cyber security.

21

COLLEGE GRADS AREN’T READY FOR AN AI WORLD Between robots and computers, what kinds of jobs will be left for humans, and how can we best prepare for them?

24

CORVIAS AND NATIONAL MILITARY FAMILY ASSOCIATION COMBAT MILITARY SPOUSE UNEMPLOYMENT WITH DEDICATED FUNDING Corvias and the National Military Family Association work together to provide scholarships and support to military spouses in advancing their careers.

LANE HUBER

President, CCME

“As I thought about how much voluntary education has changed since I became involved a decade ago, I decided a theme involving change management would be

Departments 2 EDITOR’S PERSPECTIVE 3 PROGRAM NOTES 23 CLASS NOTES 26 CCME GRAPEVINE 27 RESOURCE CENTER

Grapevine

26

CCME 2018 – SAN DIEGO SYMPOSIUM AGENDA BY JANICE NEAL, CCME VP

appropriate. ‘Navigating Change: Transforming Challenges into Opportunities in Military and Veteran

The leading higher education resource for our nation’s servicemembers

Education.’”

Targeted circulation reaches education services officers and content focuses on current trends in higher education and highlights pressing issues for military students.

— Lane Huber


Military Advanced Education & Transition Volume 13, Issue 1 — Spring, 2018 Education and Career Transition Guide for Servicemembers and Veterans Editorial Correspondents J.B. Bissell • Kasey Chisholm • Catherine Day Jaime Fettrow-Alderfer • Nora McGann Holly Christy • Robert D. Rahni

Advertising Publisher Cheri Anderson cheri@kmimediagroup.com Mobile: 240.277.0932 • Office: 301.299.5566 Web Advertising Account Executive Duane Ebanks duanee@kmimediagroup.com Mobile: 202.459.1925 • Office: 301.299.5566

Art & Design

Graphic Design AnyArt Solutions LLC • Anne-Marie Thomas, Owner sales@anyartsolutions.com • 301.602.4367

KMI Media Group Chief Executive Officer Jack Kerrigan jack@kmimediagroup.com Office: 301.299.5566 • Mobile: 240.994.5352

Operations, Circulation & Production Marketing & Distribution Director circulation@kmimediagroup.com

Subscription Information

A Proud MeMber of

Military Advanced Education & Transition ISSN 2380-8217 is published 8 times a year by KMI Media Group. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction without permission is strictly forbidden. © Copyright 2018. Military Advanced Education & Transition is free to qualified members of the U.S. military, employees of the U.S. government and non-U.S. foreign service based in the U.S.

Corporate Offices KMI Media Group 10209 Bentcross Drive Potomac, MD 20854 Office: 301.299.5566 kmi@kmimediagroup.com Web: www.MAE-kmi.com


PROGRAM NOTES

Compiled by KMI Media Group staff

Virginia Has the Fastest Growing Veteran Population in the Nation VA-ACME Supports Veterans at Professional Development Symposium and Military Career Fair Norfolk, VA — This year, more than one million service members, veterans and their families are enrolled in college courses. With that in mind, the Virginia Advisory Council on Military Education (VA-ACME) continues a commitment to supporting education within the Virginia military community at the 12th Annual VA-ACME Professional Development Symposium to be held April 16–19, 2018 at the Hilton Norfolk The Main at 100 East Main Street in Downtown Norfolk. Speakers include Secretary Carlos Hopkins, Virginia Veterans and Defense Affairs; Captain Rich McDaniel, Commanding Officer, Naval Station Norfolk; the Honorable Kenneth Alexander, Mayor of Norfolk; Delegate Jerrauld Jones, Jr., 89th District of Virginia; plus, updates from Department of Defense Voluntary Education, DANTES, American Council on Education (ACE), Service Members Opportunity College (SOC), Virginia Community College System; and many more. To see the agenda and learn more about the Symposium, visit https://vaacme.org/symposium/. According to the Virginia Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs website, 1 in 10 Virginians is a veteran. In conjunction with the symposium and in support of transitioning military members, veterans, and their families, VA-ACME will host the 6th Annual Military Job Fair & Education Expo on April 19, 2018, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., also at the Hilton Norfolk The Main. While military-centric in nature, the event is free to job seekers and open to the public. Employers and job seekers may register at: https:// vaacme.org/job-fair/. For more information, contact Florence Addison-Hayes at jobfair@vaacme.org. VA-ACME awards thousands of dollars of scholarships annually to the military community in Virginia. As the deadline is fast approaching for this year’s scholarship program, learn more and be ready for 2019 at this link: https://vaacme.org/ scholarships/. An additional scholarship opportunity is the Senior Chief Scott DeCoste Memorial Scholarship. Details may be found at www.sdecoste.org. Deadline is April 30 and will be awarded at the 2019 VA-ACME Symposium in conjunction with the VA-ACME scholarship program. www.MAE-kmi.com

About VA-ACME: The Virginia Advisory Council on Military Education (VA-ACME) covers the most military concentrated region in the world. It is the organization’s mission to provide progressive and innovative support for an ever-changing academic environment. VA-ACME is committed to addressing military education issues within the Commonwealth of Virginia with three major focus areas: • Evaluating and restructuring policies related to acceptance and transfer of credit for veterans, military students, and their family members; • Enhancing the educational aspirations of the military populations in the state; • Making educational programs accessible in cost, location, and scheduling. O

Captain Rich McDaniel, Commanding Officer Naval Station Norrfolk, and Michael Camden, immediate past President VA-ACME, at the 2017 Symposium.

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 3


TRANSITION TRENDS

CORPORATE CONNECTION

Compiled by KMI Media Group staff

WHAT STUDENT VETERANS NEED TO KNOW. WHEN THEY NEED TO KNOW IT

SVA Brief is a digest of resources designed to empower yesterday’s warriors and today’s scholars to become tomorrow’s leaders. Here’s what you need to know: Become an SVA Disability Services Liaison. SVA is expanding the Disability Services Liaison (DSL) program in 2018. Campuses located near one of the following VA facilities are currently in high demand: Tampa, Long Beach, Chicago, Richmond, San Antonio, and Minneapolis (regional office). If your campus doesn’t have a DSL and you’d like more information about how to implement it, email our Director of Disability in Education, Mr. Dan Standage, at dan.standage@studentveterans.org.

Wondering Which College Is Right For You? Don’t overlook Ivy League universities, many of which have long histories of supporting and empowering student veterans. For example check out Cornell University’s Veterans Summer Bridge Program, which offers three tuition-free creditbearing courses during its six-week summer session (June 25–August 7, 2018). The Veterans Summer Bridge Program is open to transfer (those who have earned 12 academic credits or more prior to enrolling) and freshman applicants.

For more information, email veteranadmission@ cornell.edu or visit admissions.cornell.edu. Help Build the Future at Accenture. Interested in a career where you can innovate with leading-edge technologies on some of the coolest projects you can imagine? Accenture may be right for you! Accenture partners with more than three-quarters of Fortune 500 companies to provide unmatched services in strategy, digital, technology, and operations. And right

EDUCATION BUILT FOR Ranked #1 – 2017 Best Online School for Vets - Military Times

Life

• Convenient 8-week classes for your busy schedule – classroom, online and self-paced • $250 per credit hour for active duty military tuition assistance – graduate or undergraduate • Approved for Veterans Education benefits • Credits available for ACE, CLEP, DSST, military experience and experiential learning INQUIRE TODAY – 800.553.4150

UIU.EDU/MAE EDUCATION BUILT FOR LIFE 4 |

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | Transition Trends

www.MAE-kmi.com


TRANSITION TRENDS now, Accenture is hiring student veterans to join their Consulting Development Program and their Technology Development Program. Learn more at https://studentveteransofamerica.jobs. Earn a Master of Science in Management at No Cost. SVA and The American College of Financial Services have partnered to provide two full scholarships (valued at ~$35,000 each) to student veterans pursuing a Master of Science in Management (MSM). This specialized graduate degree program covers the core topics of Leading the Organization, Driving Managerial Processes and Systems, and Leader Development. The MSM is a 12-month, cohort-based program designed to teach advanced management and leadership skills. Two weeklong, on-campus residencies in Philadelphia bookend the program’s online classes. Gartner Is Hiring! Gartner partners with more than 12,000 organizations in more than 100 countries to be the world’s leading research and advisory

company. And right now, they are hiring student veterans with backgrounds in Business, Technology, and Social Sciences to work in their Sales and Client Services divisions. See what opportunities are available at https://jobs.gartner. com/veterans. Focus Forward Fellowship Applications Now Open.

#KnowYourMil. The Department of Defense (DoD) launched This Is Your Military to connect Americans to their military. Through this effort, DoD strives to introduce the American public to the less than 1% who currently serve, actively bridge the civilian military divide and fix common misperceptions about the military. Find out how you can help at http://knowyourmilitary.osd.mil. O

The Military Family Research Institute’s Focus Forward Fellowship is now accepting eligibility forms for the 2018 cohort. The Fellowship offers women student veterans the opportunity to network with other female veterans and corporate mentors, grow academically, and understand and develop their unique strengths as female veterans. The Fellowship covers a four-day residency at Purdue University in July 2018, followed by an academic year of engagement in an online learning community. Fellowships are available to sophomores, juniors, seniors and master’s students from around the country. Find out more information and apply at https://www.mfri.purdue.edu/educationemployment/focus-forward-fellowship/.

LEARNING AND SERVING Earn a Degree Online • Expand your knowledge, training and skills • Advance your career or prepare for a new one • Pursue goals while working around your family and job responsibilities

Online Credit Programs from Kansas State University Global Campus include: • 9 Bachelor’s degree completion programs • 25 Graduate degrees • 27 Certificate programs • 4 Minors programs

10 Training Programs in Legal Studies Military and Spouse Scholarships Available!

9017

www.MAE-kmi.com

Transition Trends |

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 5


TRANSITION TRENDS

DUNWOODY OPENS VETERAN AND MILITARY STUDENT CENTER Dunwoody’s Veteran and Military Student Center Is a Central Point for Veterans and Military Students to Study, Find Resources, and Socialize. By The Student Newsroom

Dunwoody Students Build a New Center Danial Hannover is a Construction Management student and President of the Student Government Association (SGA). He also served in the United States Marine Corps from 2008 to 2016. In that time, Hannover was deployed to Afghanistan twice. When he was honorably discharged in 2016, he was a Staff Sergeant (E-6). Hannover has been working with Dean of Students Kelli Sattler to ensure that the new space offers the right kind of environment for veterans and military students to thrive. “It’s a complete 180 from the last veterans’ center,” Hannover said. “Whenever I come in here there are at least four or five people studying, doing homework. And you see people talking and connecting with each other, which is cool.” Donavan Sullivan also played a vital role in building the new Center. In addition to his four years of service in the Marine Corps, Sullivan was the Student President of the College’s honor society – Phi Theta Kappa – and the Multi-Cultural Student Union. Since graduating in May 2016, Sullivan has stayed with the College as an Admissions Counselor. With his experience as a veteran, student, and employee, Sullivan offered a unique point of view.

“Some of the things that I suggested were moving it to a bigger space and updating the materials and resources in the Center,” Sullivan said. “We’re also working to get some TVs in there. One of them will play a PowerPoint presentation to show resources for students like the VA number and the suicide hotline. Suicide is a big issue in the veteran community. So I want that hotline number to just be out there constantly.”

Dunwoody establishes new programs to support veterans In addition to building the new space, Sattler has been working with veterans on campus to establish Warrior Wednesdays and the Veteran and Military Student Organization. Sattler’s goal for Warrior Wednesdays is to invite veteran-friendly employers in to talk to veteran students, giving students a chance to network with companies which are interested in hiring veterans. Comcast was the first company to participate in October. “This will be sort of a one-company career fair,” Sullivan said. “Just to get them to come and meet with students about job opportunities for veterans.” The Veteran and Military Student Organization had its first meeting in early November with plans to customize their agenda based on the needs of the group. Their goal is to become another resource of information and support for students on campus.

The Effects of a New Space

President Rich Wagner speaks to a veteran student during the Grand Opening of the new Center. 6 |

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | Transition Trends

Hannover is already seeing what he had hoped the Center would do for veterans on campus. “It’s bringing students together talking and connecting with each other. That’s one of the biggest things that veterans have an issue with,” Hannover said. “They’re not around the people that they’ve been around for the past four to 20 years of their life. And they all have the same mentality. So it’s good to see people connect and create a support system for each other.” Sattler is hoping that this new Center will encourage other students to speak up about their own experiences on campus as well. “If students see that we listen as an institution and that we care about the things that are working and the things that aren’t, and that we’re willing to make improvements based on that feedback, I think that goes a long way,” Sattler said. O www.MAE-kmi.com


For military veterans, college can be a different world. No one is likely to understand that better than Lt. Col. Brian Locke (U.S. Army, retired). Locke, a Tennessee native, spent 23 years in the military and earned three degrees while serving. “For so many military veterans, college is a different kind of environment for them,” Locke said. “They are older than the typical college student. They don’t have the parental support, so they are in this on their own. Some have families of their own. They have their own unique challenges.” This week, Locke was named as the permanent director of the G.V. “Sonny” Montgomery Center for America’s Veterans at Mississippi State University after serving in that role on an interim basis since early 2017. Prior to that, he served as a professor of military science and department head for MSU’s Army Reserve Officer Training Corps program. “Brian is dedicating the next stage in his life to helping those students who also have sacrificed for this state and nation,” said MSU Dean of Students Thomas Bourgeois. “I am confident that Mississippi State’s prestige as a university that serves and supports our student veterans, dependents and survivors will only continue to thrive and grow.” “It’s a great opportunity for me,” Locke said. “I’m so appreciative of the commitment Mississippi State has made to its veterans.” Part of that commitment includes the 7,500-square foot veterans’ center at Nusz Hall. Opened in 2016, the facility features student support spaces, a computer lab, study rooms, a meeting area, administrative offices, lounge area and outdoor patio space. The building honors the legacy of the late Congressman G.V. “Sonny” Montgomery. “It’s absolutely amazing,” Locke said. “It’s a great facility in the central part of campus, a real testament to what the military folks mean to Mississippi State.” The primary work of the veterans’ center is to assist veterans as they transition into the educational environment as well as access educational benefits. Locke said reaching out to veterans and their dependents in the broader community is also an important part of the center’s work. “The vast majority of what we do is to help them process the VA benefits they have earned,” he said. “The majority are eligible for benefits of the 9/11 G.I. Bill and, more recently, the Forever G.I. Bill. Some are getting state

THE

POWER TO

LEAD

benefits. Processing those benefits can be difficult, so that’s a big part of what we do — helping them navigate through those processes.” Locke said some veterans are surprised to learn that their dependents are also eligible for education benefits. There is also the out-of-state tuition waiver Mississippi State offers veterans. “Getting the word out to veterans is a big part of what we do,” he said. Mississippi State is rated a Top 50 university for veterans by Military Times and recently earned the 2018 Military Friendly Schools Gold Status for its veteran-oriented campus culture. MSU also was designated a “Purple Heart University” in 2015 by the Military Order of the Purple Heart for outstanding service to military veterans, service members, dependents and survivors. With the new spacious facility, Locke said the center is taking a more aggressive role in reaching out to veteran groups off campus to build those relationships. “We want them to know that we’re here and want to partner with Lt. Col. Brian Locke (U.S. Army, them,” Locke said. “We want them retired) has been named to be involved with us and what we permanent director of the G.V. do and we want to be involved in “Sonny” Montgomery Center for America’s Veterans at what they do, too.” Mississippi State University. Although the new center has helped MSU in its work with veterans, Locke said the biggest asset the center has is its staff. “The building is wonderful,” Locke said. “But it’s the people who make the place. We have a great staff that really makes every effort to make sure every student veteran is taken care of. Every student is different, with different needs and challenges. I think that’s what makes our staff so effective. They understand that.” O

The Bachelor of Science in Leadership Studies gives graduates the practical knowledge and experience to lead positive change in the workplace as well as their community. The program is designed to give students the expertise to understand, analyze and model skills needed in a broad range of organizations such as business management, government and non-profit. Visit our site for full degree offerings

DISCOVER THE POWER OF YOU SPS.UIW.edu | 800-318-1876

EXTENDED ACADEMIC PROGRAMS

www.MAE-kmi.com

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 7

Photo by Luisa Porter/Dispatch Staff

New Veterans’ Center Director Looks to Build on MSU Reputation


Rising to the Call: HRSA’s Veterans’ Workforce Initiative Delivers

By Melinda Mitchell Jones, MSN, JD, RN Professor, Associate Dean for Non-Traditional Undergraduate Studies Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing In 2013 the US Department of Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) released a request for proposal (RFP) to schools of nursing around the country seeking applications for a unique workforce grant focused on veterans. The grant was to facilitate and support the transition of veterans into programs offering a Bachelor of Science Degree in nursing specifically targeting those veterans who acquired knowledge, training, and experience to serve as medics and corpsmen while in the military and create educational pathways for them to leverage their military backgrounds into viable careers as registered nurses. The first RFP in 2013 awarded 9 initial projects that began in September of that year. A second RFP in 2014 selected 11 additional veterans’ projects to start in July. There were 11 other projects in 2014 deemed worthy of funding, but these schools were required to wait for the grant award until the following July when additional funds became available for the approved, but unfunded projects. To date this HRSA initiative has awarded $37,682,970 over 5 years in programmatic support to 31 nursing schools across the USA. The primary impetus for driving the Congressional funding of this grant was a recognition by the Department of Labor that a growing number of veterans would be separating from active duty and in need of jobs as the Pentagon was looking to drawdown military forces in Iraq and Afghanistan. Congressional authorization for funding of the VBSN project arose from a collaborative interagency effort including HRSA, the Department of Defense and the Department of Veterans Affairs. According to the online service Federal Grants Wire the grant objectives included: (1) providing veterans with a path to receive academic credit for prior military medical training and experience, (2) providing veterans with the education and support needed to progress through innovative BSN career ladder programs, and (3) preparing veterans to take the National Council Licensing Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). Schools of nursing which were awarded the grants had to demonstrate a solid track record of on-time graduations, an infrastructure to support academic success, the ability to provide personal and career counseling and advising, and the success of graduates in earning RN licensure. 8 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

There were also sub-goals identified for the grant, recognizing a growing concern nationwide about a future shortage of nurses, and a desire to increase faculty knowledge of military culture and student veterans’ needs. The American Nurses Association projects that by 2022 there will be a need for 3.4 million nurses nationwide and of that 1.1 million will be new nursing positions. Much of this shortage is attributed to the increased percentage of the aging Baby Boomers and the associated healthcare needs related to aging according to the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. Also, as with the general population, there is a large percentage of the nursing workforce nearing retirement. A 2013 survey conducted by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing revealed that 55% of the RN workforce across the country is age 50 or older. Given the growing demand for registered nurses holding bachelor degrees this grant initiative could not have had better timing according to Marian Smithey, MSHP, RN, who is the HRSA Project Officer in the Bureau of Health Workforce. She understands the value of federal educational funding to veterans in supporting a successful transition into civilian life because her father used the GI Bill after World War II to earn his degree in medicine. Ms. Smithey advocates for veterans in her role at HRSA by helping the awarded schools manage their grants, and by sharing the accomplishments of the schools and their veteran students with HRSA leadership. She shares, “The VBSN program has been one of HRSA’s most important workforce investments that support veterans’ graduation, employment, and quality of life for veterans on individual, university, local, and national levels.” Smithey continues saying, “As a professional nurse the VBSN program has given me the opportunity to lead an excellent group of dedicated professionals and learn extensively about veteran student challenges, strengths, and strategies to help veterans succeed in civilian settings.” The VBSN grant initiative is wrapping up its final year this June 2018. With 31 programs located in 16 states around the country plus Washington, DC which received grant funding, a variety of program models, promising best practices, and strategies for veteran success have been refined and widely disseminated. www.MAE-kmi.com


Francis Marion University in South Carolina reported that HRSA’s VBSN grant helped them to decrease academic barriers into nursing school. Pat Voelpel, EdD, RN, ANP, CCRN, a clinical professor at Stony Brook University in New York, echoes a similar observation. Dr. Voelpel reports that the funding has served to create mentoring, tutoring, academic and employment advisement which addresses the needs of veteran students including a unique equine therapy program to help those veterans suffering from PTSD. The HRSA funding has enabled most universities to design features for standard educational tracks which allow veterans to capitalize on their healthcare training and experience giving them a fast track into nursing. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Texas A&M University in Corpus Christi and several other schools, have adopted competency based education (CBE) models which allow students to earn prior learning credit through written and/or clinical competency testing. These CBE pathways allow veterans to gain upper division college credit in nursing courses. The value of this method of competency assessment is beneficial as it recognizes the knowledge veterans bring into school and facilitates the transition to graduation which is great for veteran morale. Susan Letvak at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro shared the story of a former combat medic who was able to shorten her progression through nursing school from 5 to 6 semesters to just

3 semesters. Letvak, principal manager of the grant at the university shared, “This graduate, who was previously told she was not college material, is now a highly appreciated nurse practicing in critical care.” HRSA’s VBSN grant had an added benefit for faculty and staff of funded schools through the development of internal orientation programs on military culture and veterans’ resources which helped those charged with delivering and supporting the education of the veteran student to understand perspectives of students who have transitioned out of military service, identify potential mental health issues, and direct students to local services when needs are identified. Excelsior College used grant dollars to develop a self-paced, online course for internal stakeholders which developed “insight into the lives of servicemen and women who regularly juggle deployment, relocation, and the lingering effects of traumatic experiences arising from combat,” according to Pat Cannistraci. DNS, RN, CNE. A survey conducted of Excelsior faculty and staff after completing the course showed gains in their understanding of veterans’ needs and how to more effectively support student success. Veteran to BSN graduates are positioned to advance their careers in healthcare moving into roles of leadership, education, and research. By building on knowledge and experience gained from military service graduates can continue to contribute meaningfully to the health of the communities in which they live.

f i n is h your degree complete your mission Learn how our Military and Veteran Portal can maximize your military credit. Finish your associate, bachelor’s or master’s degree. Anytime. Anywhere. Visit our Military and Veteran Portal (MVP) and: > Create your free, no obligation profile > Learn which credits you already have based on your JST or CCAF > Explore various degrees tailored to maximize your military credit > See how your experience translates to civilian jobs > Begin to build your free resume > Explore how to fund your education Thomas Edison State University is recognized as one of the top institutions in the country proudly serving members of the U.S. military and veterans for more than 40 years.

LEARN MORE:

mvp.tesu.edu (866) 446-1804 www.MAE-kmi.com

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 9


US Department of Health Resources and Services Administration Nursing Education, Practice, Quality, and Retention Program Veterans Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing Grant Universities State

School of Nursing

Website

Alabama

Samford University

www.samford.edu/nursing/veterans-bsn

Alabama

University of Alabama at Birmingham

www.uab.edu/nursing/home/student-information/veterans-can

California

National University

nu.libguides.com/vets2bsn

District of Columbia

The George Washington University

nursing.gwu.edu/bsn-veterans-option

Florida

Florida International University

cnhs.fiu.edu/nursing/undergrad/bsn-programs/vbsn-medic-to-nurse/index.html

Florida

Florida State University

nursing.fsu.edu/programs/veterans-bsn-program

Florida

Jacksonville University

www.ju.edu/nursing/undergraduate/vbsn.php

Florida

University of South Florida

health.usf.edu/nursing/academics/vcare

Hawaii

University Of Hawaii at Manoa

www.nursing.hawaii.edu/vetstonurses

Kentucky

University Of Kentucky

www.uky.edu/nursing/academic-programs-ce/undergraduate/medvet-bsn-0

Michigan

Davenport University

www.davenport.edu/college-health-professions/programs-and-degrees/ veterans-bachelor-science-nursing

Michigan

University of Michigan at Flint

www.umflint.edu/nursing/veterans-bsn

Michigan

Wayne State University

nursing.wayne.edu/bsn-veterans/index.php

Minnesota

College of St. Scholastica

www.css.edu/undergraduate/undergraduate-traditional/academics/nursing/ veteran-to-bs-in-nursing.html

Mississippi

The University of Southern Mississippi www.usm.edu/nursing/vbsn

Nevada

Roseman University of Health Sciences nursing.roseman.edu/vbsn/

New York

Excelsior College

www.excelsior.edu/programs/nursing

New York

New York State Stony Brook

nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/basicBaccalaureate nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/acceleratedBaccalaureate

North Carolina

North Carolina Central University

www.nccu.edu/curriculum/details.cfm?id=181

North Carolina

University Of North Carolina At Greensboro nursing.uncg.edu/academics/undergraduate/vap/

Ohio

Wright State University

nursing.wright.edu/audience/veteran

Pennsylvania

Duquesne University

www.duq.edu/academics/schools/nursing/undergraduate-programs/ military-and-veterans/militarybsn

South Carolina

Francis Marion University

www.fmarion.edu/healthsciences/nursing/rntobsnveterans/

Texas

Texas A&M Corpus Christi

nursing.tamucc.edu/elinemilitary/

Texas

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center www.ttuhsc.edu/nursing/undergrad/veteran-to-bsn/

Texas

University of Texas at Arlington

Texas

University Of Texas Health Science Center nursing.uth.edu/prospstudent/bsn/vbsn/ At Houston

Virginia

Jefferson College of Health Sciences

www.jchs.edu/veteran-active-military-resources-jefferson-college

Virginia

Hampton University

nursing.hamptonu.edu/page/HUVETS

Virginia

Shenandoah University

www.su.edu/nursing/bachelor-of-science-in-nursing/v-bsn/ O

10 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

www.uta.edu/conhi/academics/nursing-undergrad/bsn/index.php

www.MAE-kmi.com


Navy Medics are Training for the Battlefield at Chicago Hospital By Ashley Collman for Dailymail.com For years, the first time many Navy medics saw their first gunshot wound was on the battlefield. Not anymore. The Navy is now expanding a program to train medics at Chicago’s Stroger Hospital. Because Chicago has been plagued recently by a spike in violent crimes, the hospital’s trauma unit sees more than its fair share of gunshot wounds, creating an environment not unlike the battlefields of the Middle East. “The experiencehere can’t be replicated elsewhere, unless you have a major land invasion,” Dr. Faran Bokhari, who chairs the trauma and burn surgery unit at the hospital, told the Wall Street Journal. Navy corpsman first started embedding at Stroger in 2014, but this spring, the Department of Defense plans to expand the program to make a rotation at the hospital an official part of a medic training. Previously, medics were put through 14 weeks of training in first aid and patient care at Fort Sam Houston in Texas after boot camp, with the option for additional training. But that training doesn’t include practice in real world situations, meaning that “the first time a corpsman got any trauma experience was when they were deployed, and some would just freeze up,” said Captain Paul Roach, a U.S. Navy surgeon. The rotation at Stroger gives medics “realistic, hands-on trauma training” that allows “them to hone their skills www.MAE-kmi.com

and increase their readiness,” Defense Department spokesman Major Carla Gleason said. After two days of training, the medics are thrown right into the mix, aiding doctors in the operating theater during the hospital’s busiest shift — from 3 p.m. to 3 a.m. Medics serve in the unit for six to eight weeks. Some are fresh out of training while others are given refreshers before being sent abroad again. The 14-bedroom unit treats 6,000 patients a year — many of them suffering from gunshot wounds. About 30 percent of the patients admitted to Stroger’s trauma unit suffer from gunshot wounds, which is much more than the national average of 4.2 per cent, according to statistics from the National Trauma Bank. The Defense Department plans to expand the program this spring, making it an official part of training for Navy corpsmen. Corpsman Konrad Poplawski, 22, is among the medics being trained at the hospital before his first deployment. In his first week he saw multiple patients with gunshot wounds and one patient with a traumatic eye injury sustained after a motorcycle he was working on blew up in his face. He said his rotation at the hospital “has prepared me to deal with worse things out in the field.” “I’ll be the only one out there, so I’ll have to learn from this,” he said. O MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 11


Increasing Cyber IQ: The Best Cyber Security Degree Programs for the Military In 1993, a twenty-page research paper predicted many of the challenges we see today regarding national security. In Cyberwar Is Coming! John Arquilla and David Ronfeldt warned how a “Cyberwar” would forever change our perception of war. As we enter into 2018, the U.S. military is slowly starting to grasp the situation at hand. In 2009, the U.S. Strategic Command produced The Cyber Warfare Lexicon: A Language to Support the Development, Testing, Planning, and Employment of Cyber Weapons and Other Modern Warfare Capabilities. In the document, specific terms were defined, terms such as: cyberspace, cyberspace operations, and cyber warfare. Cyber warfare (CW) was defined as: The creation of effects in and through cyberspace in support of a combatant commander’s military objectives, to ensure friendly forces freedom of action in cyberspace while denying adversaries the same freedoms. Composed of cyber attack (CA), cyber defense (CD), and cyber exploitation (CE). The definition sounds similar to typical U.S. military terminology and appears as though they simply replaced maneuver warfare with cyber warfare. However, the Lexicon document was at least a movement in the right direction. Yet, there is still so much more that must be done. It is in my opinion that we (the U.S. military) must enter into partnerships to successfully tackle the cyber warfare challenge. It is only through strategic partnerships with the world of academia and the private sector that we will be able to take on this task.

Soccer Goal Security

Image via TaoSecurity.blogspot.com

12 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

I recently came across an analogy that perfectly describes our challenge regarding cyber warfare. Richard Bejtlich writes about Soccer Goal Security at TaoSecurity.blogspot.com and describes the analogy as follows: Analogy Soccer Goal Security is like Preventative Cyber Security. Parts a. The Goalie is the Preventative Security Countermeasures. b. The Player is the Threat.

c. The Soccer Ball is an Exploit. d. They are attacking an Enterprise, represented by the Soccer Net. Explanation The Goalie is fighting the last war by defending the side where the last attack came from. However, the Player is smart and unpredictable and attacks a different part of the Net. The Net itself is large and is riddled with holes. The key question here is: How do we stay ahead of the threat and stop fighting the last war? My solution for the U.S. Army is simple. Create lasting partnerships with academia and the private sector through the U.S. Army Reserve. Citizen-Soldier Hacker The best and brightest cyber professionals or “hackers” are not lining up to join the U.S. Army and why would they? Why would they when they could work for organizations such as Google, Lockheed Martin, Microsoft, Intel, IBM, Raytheon, or even SpaceX? So, here is my idea. Why not turn the cyber warfare mission over to the only organization in the U.S. Army capable of bringing in the best and brightest cyber warriors across the country? Thus, affording them the opportunity to both serve their country and become professional hackers. They could become a professional hacker for Elon Musk at SpaceX and a cyber warrior for the U.S. Army. By turning this mission over to the U.S. Army Reserve, we could create an army of Citizen-Soldier Hackers. www.MAE-kmi.com


The Army Reserve has the ideal force structure, for which we can assign elements in an already existing force. The typical reservist serves as a Troop Program Unit (TPU) Soldier, where they work in the civilian community full-time and part-time in the Army Reserve. In the SpaceX example, these new Army Reserve Soldiers would become day-to-day professional hackers for Elon Musk, yet on the weekends they would serve as a TPU Soldier in the Army Reserve. They would be paid, trained, and educated by Musk, yet they would also be an Army Reserve asset. Moreover, it can also be said that the Army Reserve is already doing a better job with regards to Cyber Security than the Active component. A personal mentor of mine and leader in the Army Reserve Brig. Gen. John H. Phillips, deputy commanding general of operations, 335th SC (T) addressed students and ROTC cadets at the Georgia Institute of Technology last April. Let’s examine some of his remarks. “If you are wondering why someone from the U.S. Army Reserve is here today instead of the active Army component, I brag that we are actually better. We have the technical competence that we execute on a daily basis particularly in intellectual fields like cyber. A third of our cyber warriors come from academia, a third come from corporate America and a third come from government, so we cover the complete spectrum. We are really good at what we do because we do it every day.” — Brig. Gen John H. Phillips The last point made by Brig. Gen. Phillips is most important and serves as the underlying principle behind my argument, “We are really good at what we do because we do it every day.” Just as the Active component Infantry Soldier is better at conventional warfare because they do it daily, the Army Reserve cyber warrior is better at cyber warfare because he or she does it daily. For more on Brig. Gen Phillips remarks visit http://www.usar.army.mil/News/ Display/Article/1154266/signal-commands-cyber-experts-speak-atlocal-university/.

Private Public Partnership “Where we’re going is not where we’ve been.”— Lt. Gen Charles D. Luckey, Commanding General of the U.S. Army Reserve Command The Army Reserve already provides some of the most specialized assets and capabilities in the entirety of the Department of Defense (DoD). It provides the majority of medical and healthcare professionals, engineers, and a large majority of DoD logistics assets. This makes the Army Reserve ideal for national emergencies as demonstrated through Defense Support of Civil Authorities (DSCA). If the Army Reserve were to take over the cyber mission, it would first have to reassess a program that is highly underutilized – Private Public Partnership (P3). The mission of P3 is as follows: The Private Public Partnership (P3) program develops, integrates and directs partner relations for the Army Reserve. P3 partners with not-for-profit (NFP), for-profit (FP) and academic organizations to support the Chief, Army Reserve’s top priorities and the Army Reserve Mission of providing trained, equipped and ready Soldiers, Leaders, and units to meet America’s requirements at home and abroad. www.MAE-kmi.com

P3 seeks to partner with the private sector through projects, where Army Reserve Soldiers gain access to unique training opportunities and the ability to apply their experience and leadership skills to real world projects that correlate with their military experience. However, P3 is not being used to its fullest extent. I would even venture to say that a good majority of Army Reserve Soldiers (outside of the National Capitol Region and Ft. Bragg) have no idea this program exists. So, why not improve this concept and use it as the strategic link between the U.S. Army Cyber Command and the private sector? A great example of a successful P3 program within the Army Reserve is the Cyber P3 partnership, where the Army Reserve launched partnerships creating a pathway for cyber warriors. The Army Reserve describes the Cyber P3 partnership as follows: A partnership with six top-tier universities and employers in a first-of-its-kind effort to create a pathway for future Cyber Warriors. On 10 February 2015, the Army Reserve Cyber Private Public Partnership Program brought together leaders of industry and academia with lawmakers on Capitol Hill to address a critical need for expertise in the cyber domain. The initial six universities for the program were: University of Colorado – Colorado Springs, Drexel University, George Mason University, Norwich University, University of Texas at San Antonio, and the University of Washington Tacoma. Employers from the government and private sector who partnered with the Army Reserve were: AECOM Management Services, CALIBRE Systems, Inc., Chevron Corporation, DynCorp International, EMC Corporation, the FBI, Microsoft, Professional Project Services, Rackspace US Inc., T-Mobile US Inc., and Verizon. The previous U.S. Army Reserve Commanding General and Chief of the Army Reserve, LTG Jeffrey W. Talley, remarked at the official signing of the Cyber P3 partnership in 2015, “The demand for these cyber security professionals and cyber experienced Soldiers far outpaces the current inventory. The goal of the program is to train and educate Army Reserve Soldiers to be elite cyber security professionals through classroom work and field experience. Each of these schools has been chosen for their excellence in cyber security research, teaching, and their experience in helping the public and private sectors address cyber security issues.” For more information about the Army Reserve Cyber P3 partnership visit www.usar.army.mil/Featured/Private-Public-Partnership.

Increasing Cyber IQ I recently spoke with the Director of Workforce Development for the University of Washington (UW) Cyber P3 program. Morgan Zantua discussed the scholarships available for National Guard and Reserve Components in their second round of Cyber Security Scholarships, where servicemembers receive cyber security scholarships paying for all tuition, books and fees, plus a computer. Morgan commented on the program, “The Cyber P3 partnership is a great example of the amplification of leveraging private public partnerships with academia developing MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 13


platforms to exponentially increase soldiers’ (servicemembers) cyber IQ and productivity in the military and civilian careers.” The program is described as follows: University of Washington (UW) in conjunction with the Cyber Private Public Partnership Initiative, CP3i, the National Security Agency and National Guard and Reserve components of the US Military Cyber Security Scholarships (NSA/DHS approved) for two Master’s degree programs and a certificate in Information Assurance Risk Management at the University of Washington. Let’s take a quick look into the Master’s degree programs and certificate. Master of Science in Cyber Security Engineering The Master of Science in Cyber Security Engineering program at the University of Washington Bothell prepares students to operate as cybersecurity professionals by combining advanced studies in computer science techniques with cutting-edge cybersecurity technologies and practices. Find out more information about this program at www.uwb.edu/cybersecurity. Master of Infrastructure Planning and Management The University of Washington’s online Master of Infrastructure Planning and Management degree prepares students to lead the development of next generation critical infrastructure systems that are resilient, secure, and accessible. Find out more information about this program at www.infrastructure-management.uw.edu. Information Security Risk Management Certificate Explore the most current methods for securing information and information systems from policies and procedures to technologies and audit. In this course, leading experts share best practices across a variety of topics, including: securing mobile workforces, developing security metrics, managing electronic evidence, coping with e-crime and e-discovery, securing information in the cloud, and preparing information security leaders. Find more information about this program at www.pce.uw.edu/courses/information-security-andrisk-management-in-context. For more information about the University of Washington Cyber P3 program visit www.uwb.edu/ciac/education/service-scholarships.

Training with Industry “We hire people who want to make the best things in the world.”— Steve Jobs Another underutilized program across the DoD is Training with Industry (TWI). P3 is the perfect program to combine with TWI and could be utilized extensively in the Army Reserve. A combined effort (P3 and TWI) created in the Army Reserve could be used as the bridge linking the U.S. Army to the private sector in cyberwarfare operations. Let’s look at a handful of hypothetical examples: • Scenario number one. An Army Reserve Soldier is trained as a Cyber Operations Specialist (17C) then is hired at SpaceX. 14 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

He or she then conducts their normal weekend training with a newly established Army Reserve Cyber Command. The Army Reserve Soldier gains practical experience daily with SpaceX. Yet, he or she brings this same skill set back to the U.S. Army. • Scenario number two. A young Google cybersecurity professional or “hacker” joins the Army Reserve and is provided equivalent training based on education and on-the-job training (OJT) – allowing the U.S. Army to gain an immediate cyber asset. • Improving P3 scenario. By utilizing P3 and establishing strong partnerships with top executives at company’s such as Google – this could allow the Army Reserve Cyber Command to share information and potentially share facilities. It could create partnerships, where Citizen-Soldier Hackers are required to attend training at Google’s top training facilities. • Army Reserve Cyber Command. Establish an Army Reserve Cyber Command in Silicon Valley (where the majority of private sector companies are located) not Ft. Gordon. The Army Reserve could potentially restructure a command already located in the area.

Army Reserve Cyber “U” “We are all now connected by the Internet, like neurons in a giant brain.”— Stephen Hawking As demonstrated by an ever-increasing number of cyber threats, an education in cyber security should be one of the top priorities in higher education. Additionally, partnerships should be built between the military, the private sector, and higher education. Moreover, digitalguardian.com contributor Nate Lord provides a list of cyber security higher education schools offering the best cyber security degrees. Lord provides an extensive list of 82 schools, where he lists degrees offered by each school, cost, hiring/employment rate, scholarships offered, affiliations and partnerships, contact information, and a description of every school. Some of the schools on the list include: Boston University, Carnegie Mellon University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Let’s take a look at one noteworthy school on this list that I believe would be a perfect partner for the Army Reserve. A complete list can be found at https://digitalguardian.com/ blog/cybersecurity-higher-education-top-cybersecurity-collegesand-degrees. Kansas State University Kansas State University (KSU) offers cyber security related programs through the College of Engineering. KSU offers online degree programs, certificates, minors, and professional development for students across the world. They also offer graduate-level degree programs. Degrees Offered • Master of Technology with concentration in UAS Cybersecurity. • Master’s in Software Engineering. • Bachelor’s in Computer Science with Security concentration. www.MAE-kmi.com


Cost • • • •

Undergraduate (Resident): $268.80 Undergraduate (Non-resident): $713.60 Graduate (Resident): $380.80 Graduate (Non-resident): $859.40

Affiliations/Partnerships • KSU is recognized as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance/Cyber Defense Research by the National Security Agency (NSA) and Department of Homeland Security (DHS). • KSU is partnered with the Advanced Manufacturing Institute, the Biotechnology Research Institute, the K-State Research Foundation, and Institute for Commercialization, and other technology licensing partnerships and research facilities. For more information about KSU, visit https://www.k-state.edu. The Army Reserve is the perfect organization to bridge the gap between the private sector and the U.S. Army and is ideal for this innovative amalgam of forces. Reserve servicemembers not only live and interact among communities across the world, but as a friend of mine in the Air Force Reserve stated, “We are the community.” – Major Annette Bergman, USAF Reserve

Decisive Advantage

1. Carnegie Mellon University – M.S. in Information Security, Specialization in Cyber Operations. 2. Dakota State University (South Dakota) – B.S. in Cyber Operations. 3. United States Air Force Academy – B.S. in Computer and Network Security. 4. United States Military Academy at West Point – B.S. in Computer Science, Cyber Operations Track. 5. University of Nebraska Omaha – B.S. in Cybersecurity, Special Track in Cyber Operations. Moreover, let’s take a look at one last program that is offering an innovative online cyber security program along with private sector connections. The University of Maryland University College (UMUC) offers the following online cyber programs: Bachelor’s Degree • Computer Networks and Cybersecurity • Cybersecurity Management and Policy • Software Development and Security Master’s Degree • Cloud Computing Architecture • Cybersecurity Management and Policy • Cybersecurity Technology • Digital Forensics and Cyber Investigation • Information Technology: Information Assurance Certificates • Computer Networking • Cybersecurity Management and Policy • Cybersecurity Technology • Information Assurance Find more information about the online cyber security programs offered at the University of Maryland University College (UMUC) at http://www.umuc.edu/academic-programs/cyber-security /index.cfm.

Final Thoughts

The U.S. Army REDCOM CERDEC Integrated Cyber and Electronic Warfare Program (Photo Credit: U.S. Army CERDEC) via army.mil

The National Security Agency / Central Security Service (NSA/ CSS) is the lead for the U.S. Government in cryptology and its mission is to gain a decisive advantage for the nation and its allies in cyber defense and cyber operations. The NSA/CSS publishes a list of college programs meeting specific criteria in Cyber Operations. The list is the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Operations, which can be found at https://www.nsa.gov/ resources/educators/centers-academic-excellence/cyber-operations/ centers.shtml. Let’s look at five schools and the degree program they offer. www.MAE-kmi.com

Think about the Soccer Goal Security analogy discussed earlier. With cyber warfare, we cannot fight the last war. We must find a way to position the Goalie where the Threat currently is and where the Threat will be in the future. We can only do this through strategic partnerships with the U.S. military, academia, and the private sector. By working together, sharing knowledge, and sharing resources, we can position the United States to gain a decisive advantage in the future of cyber warfare. If we fail in this task, other nations such as China will gain the decisive advantage. It can even be argued that China already possesses a decisive advantage over the U.S. in cyber warfare. If so, they were able to best us without even fighting. “Hence to fight and conquer in all your battles is not supreme excellence; supreme excellence consists in breaking the enemy’s resistance without fighting.”— Sun Tzu, The Art of War O MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 15


Military and Veteran Education

Q& A

The Council of College & Military Educators

Lane Huber is the Chief Distance Learning & Military Affairs Officer at Bismarck State College (Bismarck, ND). He joined Bismarck State College in 1999 and today manages the institution’s military partnerships, the online campus, interactive video network, interactive television, and BSC’s Instructional Technology Center. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree (criminal justice) from the University of North Dakota and a Master of Management from the University of Mary (ND). He has served as CCME Secretary-Elect/ Secretary (3 years), Vice President-Elect/ Vice President (2 years) and is currently the organization’s President. He served 15 years in the North Dakota Army National Guard as both a non-commissioned and commissioned officer and completed extended tours of duty in Ecuador, Honduras, Panama, and Operation Desert Storm. Mr. Huber sits on the North Dakota University System Online Advisory Council, Bismarck/Mandan Chamber of Commerce Military Affairs Committee, and the North Dakota Veterans Affairs Advisory Committee. He is also a member of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (M-SARA) regional steering committee.

for the exchange of information on educational programs, strategies and innovation among its members and associated partners. CCME membership is composed of military educators, civilian educators, post secondary educational institutions, and suppliers of quality education products and services. CCME’s mission is to promote and provide educational programs and services and to facilitate communication between the membership and the DoD educational support network. The culmination of our work each year is our professional development symposium which provides a forum for our membership to discuss voluntary education policies and

Q: What is CCME and what role does it play in military and veteran education?

A: The Council of College & Military Educators is an active proponent for the professional development of those serving in the military education community by providing a forum 16 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

Lane Huber President, CCME

procedures, new trends in education, and how to better serve the student. Q: How long have you been involved in CCME, and why did you decide to serve on the board?

A: In 2007, Dr. Larry Skogen became president of Bismarck State College and he immediately wanted our institution to focus on bringing our programs, including our world-class energy curriculum, to the military. It was shortly after that we discovered CCME and I attended my first symposium in San Francisco in 2008. The very first thing I noticed was how closely educational institutions worked with the voluntary education community of the armed forces, and with each other. It was clear that CCME wasn’t about just networking to find new enrollments, but was truly a group of dedicated professionals really working together to shape how education is delivered and how to better serve the members of the armed forces and their families. After a few more symposia, I decided to become a little more involved in the inner workings of the organization and decided to run for an office. In 2011 (Tampa) I ran for secretary-elect and was successful. I didn’t realize at the time how much work it would be! Being an all-volunteer board for an organization as large as ours presents many challenges. However, I have been nothing but impressed with the level of professionalism demonstrated by those who have served on the board, both military and civilians, through these past seven years. www.MAE-kmi.com


Q: How does CCME benefit students involved in voluntary education today?

A: I think the good work that we do at the annual professional development symposium is vital to the success of our students. Best practices, new technologies, and compliance are all issues covered extensively and directly benefit those we serve. An example at my institution has been the relationships formed with other institutions who have been at this a lot longer than we have. Our veterans services employees have created a network with others doing the same job and consult with them on a regular basis when issues arise. This is a direct benefit to our veteran students. In a more tangible example, I am extremely proud of the fact that CCME gives 15 scholarships each year to uniformed service members, dependents, and veteran students. These scholarships have made a real impact on the recipients over the years. We have made great strides in building our endowment and my hope is that the number of scholarships given will rise dramatically in the future. Q: What were your goals as CCME president this year?

A: First and foremost, the CCME president is responsible for facilitating the annual professional development symposium. To that end, one of my biggest goals is to ensure this year’s symposium is informative, relevant, and wellattended. It doesn’t matter how well-prepared we are if no one shows up, so we’ve really stepped up getting the word out to those in the voluntary education community of who we are and what we do. Social media has been a great tool for us and we now have a social media coordinator on the board who has the responsibility of leveraging this new medium to engage our stakeholders and really let them know the value of attending our event this year. Secondly, I wanted to ensure our first time attendees have an exceptional experience when they arrive in San Diego this year. If we get them here, but they feel lost and out of touch with those attendees who have been coming for years, we probably won’t see them again. Accordingly, we have revamped our traditional Tuesday morning “newcomers’ breakfast” to an entire first time attendee workshop/luncheon on Monday afternoon. The addition of a “newcomers’ liaison” (Trent Orndorf) on the board was an important step taken to assist our president-elect (Janine Wert) in facilitating www.MAE-kmi.com

this event. We are expecting close to 200 attendees to attend the newcomers’ orientation workshop, so we are very excited to hear their feedback this year. Q: What is the theme for the conference this year?

A: During several conversations in Atlanta last year I kept hearing a recurring theme... that while the noble effort to provide educational opportunities to our service members, veterans and their families hasn’t changed, how this is accomplished definitely has. Change in any aspect of life is imminent, and our small world of military and veteran education is not immune. The entire landscape of what we do is transitioning at breathtaking speed. Initially many are prone to push back against new processes and procedures and lament about how it “just isn’t the same” as it used to be. As I thought about how much voluntary education has changed since I became involved a decade ago, I decided a theme involving change management would be appropriate. Navigating Change: Transforming Challenges into Opportunities in Military and Veteran Education This year’s theme challenges our community to accept the change, and in fact, embrace it. With the challenges of change inevitably come opportunity. I’m hoping we can focus on that in our general and concurrent sessions, as well as our discussions throughout the week. Q: What is the relationship between CCME and the state Advisory Councils on Military Education (ACME)?

A: CCME is actually a national outgrowth of the California College and Military Educators Association which was founded in 1972 to promote, encourage, and deliver quality education to all branches of the armed services. While CCME has grown to be national in focus, there are several State Advisory Councils on Military Education (ACME) committed to addressing military education issues within their respective states. They focus on three major areas:

3. Making educational programs accessible in cost, location, and scheduling CCME has established a great working relationship with the ACMEs. As in previous years, the ACME organizations will hold preconference meetings on Monday at our symposium in March. Additionally CCME will be presenting our Gary A. Woods Advisory Council on Education (ACME) Award to this year’s outstanding ACME organization. Q: Are there any special events going on at the professional development symposium?

A: Aside from the Monday ACME meetings, we have an array of great events this year. Attendees will hear from Dawn Bilodeau, Chief, Voluntary Education Programs, on updates from the Department of Defense side. Additionally, each of the service chiefs will be afforded their own general session on the agenda to update membership on their specific branches. There is a golf tournament and the 2nd annual “Step Forward Challenge” that allows all participants to compete as individuals and teams by recording their total steps taken during the conference. Q: How can a CCME member become more involved?

A: CCME is always looking for volunteers! I would suggest approaching a board member (we’ll be wearing identifying name tags throughout the symposium) to see how you may be involved over the next year. Options include serving on a committee such as the awards or scholarship committee or even running for office. Each year we elect a secretaryelect, vice president-elect and president-elect. These positions have specific time and travel commitments, so you’ll want to check out the details on our website (www.ccmeonline.org). One additional option is to volunteer with a local ACME organization. The ACME are more local in nature and travel is often much more manageable. A list of ACME can be found on our website, as well. Q: What advice will you give the president next year?

A: Trust your board! The scope of this position 1. Evaluating and restructuring policies related to acceptance and transfer of credit for veterans, military students and their adult family members 2. Enhancing the educational aspirations of the military populations in the state

is enormous and initially felt pretty overwhelming. However, I found out very quickly that everyone serving on the board brings a unique perspective and is truly willing to go above and beyond to ensure the continued success of our organization. O MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 17


AMU ALUM AND VETERAN LINWOOD HARRISON, B.A. INTELLIGENCE STUDIES

Master Sergeant Linwood Harrison, recipient of the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, plans to earn a master’s degree and work in the intelligence field after his retirement. He knows that military friendly AMU understands the challenges he faces and the personal investment he is making. Reach higher at www.AMUonline.com/MAE 1901-18-902379_AMU_Military_Linwood_MAE_7.375x5.25_4C_r0.indd 1

www.MAE-kmi.com

2/26/18 4:43 PM

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 18


College Grads Aren’t Ready for an AI World Northeastern University President Joseph Aoun Says Schools Need to Change Their Focus, Quickly

By Douglas Belkin, Wall Street Journal

Are the robots coming for your job? As many as one-third of American workers— about 50 million people—may need to find new lines of work by 2030, according to a McKinsey & Co report released in December projecting the impact of artificial intelligence and automation on the labor market. The prediction is the latest in a long series of warning shots fired across the bow of the American labor force. Be prepared to be smarter, think faster, work more creatively— or risk being unemployed. But how exactly do you do that? Joseph Aoun, president of Northeastern University, says a lifetime of education is the key. He spoke with The Wall Street Journal about his new book, Robot-Proof: Higher Education in the Age of Artificial Intelligence, which includes a blueprint for higher education in the age of artificial intelligence, and about the roles of employers and the government in keeping people productively employed. Following are edited excerpts of that discussion.

It’s happening as we speak.

WSJ: Do you think universities are preparing their students for a job market where artificial intelligence is embedded into everyday life?

DR. AOUN: Overall, I don’t think it is happening. We’re still focusing on learning in academic silos, and we don’t have enough integration across academic disciplines.

WSJ: How do you provide a robot-proof education? DR. AOUN: First, a curriculum based on the integration of three curricula: One is technological literacy, understanding how machines work,

how to interact with machines, etc. The second is data literacy, understanding this enormous flow of information and how to navigate it and how to make sense of it. Third is human literacy, what we as humans do that machines are not able to replicate, such as creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, the ability to be empathetic with others, the ability to work with others, understand their body language, work in teams, be global, be culturally agile. The other point is that it’s not enough to talk about creativity, it’s not enough to talk about entrepreneurship, it’s not enough to talk about cultural agility in the classroom and to study that. You have to practice it. You have to experience it. This is why experiential education is essential, the integration of the classroom

A New Kind of Education WSJ: There are a lot of predictions out there about how big an impact artificial intelligence is going to have on the job market. What’s yours? DR. AOUN: What everybody agrees on is the fact that jobs are going to disappear, others will be transformed, and new jobs will be created. The difference that you see is the scope. Some people are projecting up to 50% of the jobs disappearing. It’s going to be less, but it’s going to happen. www.MAE-kmi.com

“We don’t have enough integration across academic disciplines.” – Joseph Aoun

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 19


experience with world experience. By doing that, you come to understand the world, you come to understand yourself, and you come to understand the opportunities that exist, what you are good at, what you are not good at, how you can innovate, how you can create, how can you launch a new idea.

WSJ: So your argument is that while artificial intelligence will be able to out-process or outwork human beings, it will remain limited to narrow channels, and an education should teach people to think across those channels to innovate?

DR. AOUN: We looked into that. We did a word search [in the bill] and looked for artificial intelligence and looked at lifelong learning, etc. It has 532 pages. There was no mention of AI at all. Lifelong learning is the most important aspect here, and it requires incentives for companies and organizations to provide opportunities for employees for lifelong learning. In the U.S., our financial aid has been geared mostly to people who are in a traditional college framework, which is for four years. We need to go beyond that. We need to incentivize people to go for certificates, to go for constant re-education and upskilling.

DR. AOUN: Yes. The creativity, entrepreneurship, that ability to work with others in teams, the ability to be empathetic and the ability to be culturally agile, those are not something that computers, that AI, are good at. Let me give you an example. There is something called Idea [a Northeastern University program that helps students develop business ideas]. Students come and launch products. In order for them to do that, they need to have the idea, they need to have a business plan, they need to get funders from outside to come and fund them. And they need to work across systems, because a person in engineering cannot do it by herself. She needs people in business, in design, etc. You need to practice being in a situation where you can convince people of something, work with other humans, understand them, see what moves them and how you can move them.

WSJ: What else do you feel is off about our government’s approach to higher education?

people who are going to go and focus also on the internships, co-ops, work study. And I recommend a national board on higher-education innovation, to bring together people from higher education and industries to work with government on meeting the challenge of the AI age. People are going to be displaced dramatically, in terms of jobs, and society has an obligation to give them the opportunity to remain relevant, to find new jobs in new fields. We need to find ways to educate them wherever they are and whenever they need it.

WSJ: The English degree of tomorrow will differ how much from the English degree of last year? DR. AOUN: Let me give you an example. We have

DR. AOUN: I would provide incentives that will bring employers and higher education together, to codesign curricula and codesign a program that will impact the workforce directly and will allow them to move forward. Also, we need more incentives for experiential learning. Financial aid is leading you to take courses. But we need to incentivize the

here at Northeastern a vibrant digital humanities center. They are looking at text from a social perspective, like every English department. However, they integrated data scientists and network scientists to work with them, and they are working together, for instance, on the concept of fake news historically, in previous centuries and today. The silos are breaking down. O

WSJ: What about adults who are already in the workforce? DR. AOUN: Society has to provide ways, and higher education has to provide ways, for people to re-educate themselves, reskill themselves or upskill themselves. That is the part that I see that higher education has not embraced. That’s where there is an enormous opportunity. We look at lifelong learning in higher education as an ancillary operation, as a second-class operation in many cases. We dabble with it, we try to make money out of it, but we don’t embrace it as part of our core mission.

Government’s Role WSJ: Republicans in the House recently proposed a new higher-education act. Do you have a sense of how effectively the federal government is dealing with this train that is barreling toward us? 20 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

www.MAE-kmi.com


CLASS NOTES

Compiled by KMI Media Group staff

One-Stop Veterans’ Center Opens at Palomar College By Linda McIntosh, Contact Reporter A communitywide grand opening ceremony for Palomar College’s Veterans’ Resource Center is set for March 16 at the San Marcos campus. The renovated 2,240-square-foot center brings together services in one central location that were previously offered at various places on campus, making it a one-stop shop for veterans and military-affiliated students. The center has had more than 4,900 visits by students since it opened in January, after about a year of renovations.

Veterans work at computers in Palomar College’s new Veterans’ Resource Center. (Courtesy Palomar College)

The resource center includes computer work stations for veterans to use in a central area along with a tutoring room and lounge. The lounge features comfortable seating, wide-screen television and a place to socialize. The center is run by staff and volunteers, who are all veterans and have their offices there. The center is set to serve 1,600 students at Palomar using VA education benefits along with other military-affiliated students. Services range from VA benefit certification, veteran-to-veteran tutoring, peer-to-peer mentoring and academic counseling to veteran-oriented workshops. Students can come by for information about financial aid, the Disability Resource Center (DRC) and veteran service organizations on campus. “In this center, we have consolidated all of the services and resources available to veterans and military dependents at Palomar College,” said Jessica Horn, who oversees Palomar College’s Veterans’ Resource Center. “Having a space on campus helps foster the environment and connections that a lot of people lose when they leave the military.” The event is expected to draw local public officials along with community members and the college’s leaders and campus community. Speakers are slated to include Palomar College President Joi Lin Blake, Palomar Community College District Governing Board President Paul McNamara, Palomar College Vice President of Student Services Adrian Gonzales and Veteran Services Supervisor Jessica Horn. O www.MAE-kmi.com

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 21


AND NATIONAL MILITARY FAMILY ASSOCIATION COMBAT MILITARY SPOUSE UNEMPLOYMENT WITH DEDICATED FUNDING Alexandria, VA — The National Military Family Association (NMFA), a nonprofit that serves military families, continues its partnership with the Corvias Foundation to provide unique scholarship and career advancement support for military spouses. The Corvias Foundation, in coordination with NMFA, has supported the career advancement and education of 56 military spouses through a $55,000 contribution over the course of three years.

$

In 2017 alone, Corvias dedicated $25,000 to support 23 spouses nationwide with funding for professional certifications, licensure, and business expenses.

“We are so grateful for national partners like the Corvias Foundation, who help to enhance military spouse employability,” said NMFA Executive Director Joyce Raezer. “The funding they provide helps military spouses move forward in their careers to better support their families and achieve their dreams.”

One recipient, Latia Allen, at Patrick Air Force Base in Florida, noted, “It’s hard to maintain a career due to frequent moves and my husband’s job-related absences. This funding will help me become a Certified Workforce Development Professional — in a career counselor role.” “Since the founding of the Corvias Foundation in 2006, we have witnessed the exponential growth in the need for military spouse employment support,” said Corvias Foundation Executive Director Maria Montalvo. “We feel that combining our military spouse scholarships alongside NMFA’s programs will help shine a national spotlight to this significant topic, and more importantly, directly benefit more unemployed or underemployed spouses.” Since 2004, NMFA has awarded more than $4 million to more than 4,500 military spouses.

To learn more about NMFA’s Military Spouse Scholarship, please visit: https://scholarships.militaryfamily.org/ offers/nmfa-spouse-scholarship/.

About the National Military Family Association

The National Military Family Association is the leading nonprofit dedicated to families standing behind the uniform. Since 1969, NMFA has strengthened millions of families through advocacy and programs. They provide education and employment programs for spouses, and support programs for military children and families reconnecting after deployment, including those of the wounded, ill, or injured. NMFA serves families of currently serving, veterans, retired, wounded or fallen members of the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, and Commissioned Corps of the USPHS and NOAA. www.MilitaryFamily.org.

About Corvias Foundation

The Corvias Foundation, the charitable arm of Corvias, is committed to inspiring students, college and university campuses, military families, and our employees to reach higher. Founded in 2006 as “Our Family for Families First Foundation,” our work increases access to educational, internship, mentoring and volunteer opportunities so that those we touch are empowered to pursue their dreams and to make a greater impact in service to their communities and their nation. We strive to create ever-increasing opportunities by providing the resources and networks needed to help our scholars and partners surpass their goals. We achieve this through a commitment to education, community engagement and high-impact charitable giving. O

22 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

www.MAE-kmi.com


Our Veterans and MD Community Colleges SB-509 • Veterans Resource Centers This bill requires each community college to employ at least one full-time veterans advisor to provide enrollment and advising services to students who are veterans and to establish a veterans resource center on the community college campus. Veterans need a comprehensive center that consolidates timely, information essential to making effective transitions, access to retraining, and focused reintegration resources. Participants of the Veteran’s Summit ranked this as their top priority for personal matters. O

2018-2019

Senatorial Scholarship Application The application period for the 2018–2019 District 29 Senatorial Scholarship has opened. The application deadline is March 30, 2018. For more information on how to apply for the 2018–2019 Senatorial Scholarship please visit SenatorSteveWaugh.com.

Cory Halvorson History, MA University of Nebraska at Kearney “My today started with a master’s program that allowed me to serve my country and pursue my dream of teaching history. As a child, history books were my stories. I was a fan of non-fiction, not comic books or cartoons. So teaching history and joining the military were two things I wanted. I needed a credible, online graduate program; a diploma I would be proud to hang on my wall. I found that with the University of Nebraska at Kearney. I ended up deploying twice while in the program but never had a problem. The University and faculty were incredibly accommodating. This program prepared me for my dream of someday teaching history at a university. This is an online program that will take me places.”

www.MAE-kmi.com

Today is the day I made my education my mission. 4 campuses. 100+ online programs.

online.nebraska.edu

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 23


CCME 2018 – San Diego Symposium Agenda By Janice Neal, CCME VP March 26-29, 2018, The Council of College and Military Educators (CCME) will have its annual symposium at the Marriott Marquis Marina, San Diego, CA. Each year the symposium allows Colleges/Universities, DOD and the Military a platform for professional development and training across all sectors. This year’s theme is “Navigating Change: Transforming Challenges into Opportunities in Military & Veteran Education”. We are excited to introduce several dynamic keynote speakers that will share their experience and commitment as military leaders. Participants will also have multiple opportunities to choose from over 70 different engaging topics during the Concurrent Session portion of the symposium. These small group forums are designed to facilitate the exchange of information on educational programs, strategies, and innovation that assist service members and veterans to achieve academic and career success. Our symposium agenda begins on Monday with an array of meetings to include several state ACME meetings and a golf tournament, hosted by AMU at Balboa Park Municipal Course (8:30 am tee time). New this year is the Newcomer’s Orientation Workshop. If this is your first time attending CCME, join us for this special event on Monday. We will provide lunch and some information about the CCME organization, and what to expect throughout the symposium that week. Back by popular demand, we are continuing the Step Challenge as we count our way to next year’s destination. Sign up now and bring your walking shoes! We will kick off the challenge Monday evening during the Exhibit Hall Grand Opening and Social Hour. Tuesday, our President, Lane Huber will welcome everyone as we begin a day filled with inspiration, knowledge and networking. Here is a brief glance of our agenda for the day. • Exhibit Hall booths open • OSD Updates - Mr. Fred Drummond and Ms. Dawn Bilodeau • CCME/ACME/Step-Challenge updates – Ms. Kelly Wilmeth, Mr. Michael Midura and Ms. Joycelyn Groot • Opening Keynote Speaker- Mr. Jason Tuschen, Command Master Chief (ret)/Navy SEAL • Scholarships and Awards Presentation Luncheon • Veterans’ Panel • Concurrent Sessions (#1 & #2) Wednesday, we will Step It Up as we continue to enjoy the symposium with: • Exhibit Hall booths open • General Session Speaker – Command Master Chief Jason Torey, Navy SEAL (Exe Leader) • A full day of Concurrent Sessions (#3 – #7) • Networking Reception 24 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

Thursday, will conclude the Symposium but not before a wealth of knowledge and training is delivered. • Keynote Speaker – Mr. Remi Adeleke, Former U.S. Navy SEAL • CCME Updates – Step Challenge Awards • Corporate Hiring Panel • VA Updates • Service Chief Updates • Closing Remarks In support of this year’s CCME symposium theme, the Concurrent Sessions will once again provide five professional development tracks for participants to earn a certificate. Tracks include: • Career Pathways for Transitioning Service Members • Military/Veteran Student Services • Newcomers to Voluntary Education • Best Practices • Allied Health Participants wishing to earn a professional development certificate must attend a minimum of four sessions within one track. Certificates will be emailed to participants approximately one month after the symposium ends on March 30th. Be sure to download the CCME Conference App through your mobile device app store well in advance of the symposium to receive the most up-to-date information on our agenda, sessions, and speakers. We look forward to another year of engaging dialogue and active participation at the CCME San Diego Symposium as we step our way into next year’s CCME symposium held in Austin, TX. O

Lane Huber, CCME President

Note from Lane Huber, CCME President: CCME thanks Janice Neal, Vice President for CCME, for her overview of the CCME’s 2018 Agenda. For more information about our organization, please visit CCMEonline.org, and please join us at our 2018 Professional Development Symposium in San Diego, CA, March 26-29, 2018.

CCME 2018 APP is available through the Apple Store and Google Play, download now. www.MAE-kmi.com


The advertisers index is provided as a service to our readers. KMI cannot be held responsible for discrepancies due to last-minute changes or alterations.

MAE&T RESOURCE CENTER Advertisers Index Upper Iowa University . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 uiu.edu/mae

University of Nebraska. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25 online.nebraska.edu

Kansas State University . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 global.k-state.edu/military

Troy University. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27 troy.edu/militaryspirit

University of the Incarnate Word. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 sps.uiw.edu

ECPI University. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 ecpi.edu/military

Thomas Edison University. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 mvp.tesu.edu

Central Texas College. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 military.ctcd.edu

American Military University. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19 amuonline.com/mae

University of Maryland University College. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 umuc.edu/mae

Saint Leo University. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23 saintleo.edu To advertise, email: cheri@kmimediagroup.com Mobile: 240.277.0932 • Office: 301.299.5566 • www.MAE-kmi.com 10209 Bentcross Drive • Potomac, MD 20854

Harrison B., Student

Two tours of duty. Dad. C.J.

Advance your career with exclusive benefits toward graduate and undergraduate programs. TROY’s Military and Family Scholarship caps the cost of tuition at $250 per credit hour for active military, Reservists and National Guard. Also, your spouse and dependents receive up to 50% in tuition savings. TROY is committed to keeping higher education affordable. That’s the Trojan Warrior Spirit, and it’s alive and well at Troy University.

U P TO 50% T U I T I O N

SC H O LARS H I P FO R M I LITARY AN D FAM I LY WARRI O RS

www.MAE-kmi.com

Feel it at troy.edu/militaryspirit or call 1-800-586-9771.

Bring images with this icon to life by visiting troy.edu/app © 2018 Troy University

SCHEV has certified Troy University to operate at 100 Volvo Parkway, Suite 300, Chesapeake, Virginia.

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 25


UNIVERSITY CORNER

Military Advanced Education & Transition

University Students Problem-Solve for U.S. Military in New Course By Ellen Ciurczak This summer, students at the University of Southern Mississippi (USM) could help U.S. military personnel who have encountered problems identifying and tracking individuals in crowded environments—or they might come up with wearable sensors to help navy divers work at any depth or temperature. A new course offered at USM beginning this summer session will have students solving problems for the military and federal national security organizations. Hacking for Defense isn’t about breaking into military computers, it’s about finding new solutions — or hacks — to the military’s problems, said Chase Kasper, assistant vice president for research, technology transfer, and corporate relations. “This class was formed out of a need for problem solving for all branches of the military,” he said. “It fits into some of the grants we’re working on in the military sector about efficiency. The military is looking for solutions to the myriad of areas addressing increased efficiency. This course is a byproduct of that.” Students actually will be coming up with products and solutions the military can use on the battlefield, around the country, and around the world. “All the problems are sponsored by Department of Defense, Homeland Security, and the Intelligence Community,” said Dan DeMott, a member of the class teaching team. “They have a problem they have little time to solve, so they’re asking for today’s student to help solve these real-world problems.” The class combines the same accelerated problem-sourcing process developed on the battlefields of Afghanistan with a rapid customer-learning and product-development methodology first used at Stanford. Ideally, the solutions the students find will have use in the civilian world as well. For instance, a pump that separates water from fuel could be useful for the armed forces and also for nonmilitary sectors. Unlike many endeavors where a product is created, success will be measured not in terms of revenue and profit, but rather THE PATH TO by mission achievement. DeMott said students must ACHIEVING YOUR think like the end user. “You have to understand how the CAREER GOALS IN war fighter thinks — everything is a mission to him,” he HEALTH CARE! said. “It’s all about the actual person utilizing the technology. The investigator needs to live a day in the life of the mission worker.” The new course is administered through the SELECTED TOP COLLEGES Department of Interdisciplinary Studies for undergradu& UNIVERSITIES ate and graduate students. Students of all majors from 10 YEARS IN A ROW business to engineering to computers to the arts are invited to attend. “We are hoping to leverage the interdisciplinary background of the students at the university,” AVAIL ABLE HEALTH SCIENCE & Kasper added. “All are welcome. There are no disciplines NURSING PROGRAMS that should not be considered. The problems that will COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCE COLLEGE OF NURSING be thrown at us will be of all shapes and sizes. We are ADVANCED CLINICAL HEALTH SCIENCES QRN to BSN QNursing (RN) looking to take in diverse teams.” QPhysical Therapist QMedical Assisting QPractical Nursing QMaster of Science in Nursing (MSN) QAssistant QMassage Therapy Kasper said the Hacking for Defense course is QBachelor to BSN QSurgical Technology QHealthcare Administration hands-on learning that will force student teams to test QSonography QHealth Information QRadiography Management their business model hypotheses outside the classroom. QRadiologic Sciences QDental Assisting QParamedic (EMT) “It will create a more well-rounded student who will be more capable of tackling the challenges of today’s world,” he explained. O

888.756.9492

26 | MAE&T • Spring 2018

ECPI.EDU/MILITARY

www.MAE-kmi.com


Military Advanced Education & Transition 2018 Editorial Calendar Issue

Cover Q&A

Special Section

Features

Transitions

Close

13.2

Betsey DeVos Secretary of Education (Invited)

Student Veterans of America

CCME Highlights

Degrees in Careers and Logistics

4/29

13.3

Jeff Allen DIR Dantes

Community College Spotlight

Round Table Admissions for Military Students

Degrees in Careers

5/27

This editorial calendar is a guide. Content is subject to change. Please verify advertising closing dates with your account executive.

To advertise, email: cheri@kmimediagroup.com MOBILE: 240.277.0932 • OFFICE: 301.299.5566 • WWW.MAE-KMI.COM 10209 BENTCROSS DRIVE • POTOMAC, MD 20854

MEETING THE DEMANDS

OF STUDENTS

WHO MEET THE DEMANDS

OF THE MILITARY

Central Texas College understands the real-world challenges students in the military face. Our professors have been there, too. So, while you’re working long hours defending our country, they’re working after hours to help you move up in the ranks or start a civilian career. From smaller classes on base or post, to full degrees and certificates online, we’re here for you wherever you are in the world. Start your new mission at military.ctcd.edu. Central Texas College. F O R S T U D E N T S O F T H E R E A L WO R L D™

www.MAE-kmi.com

MAE&T • Spring 2018 | 27


“To jump-start my cyber career, it had to be UMUC.” JOHNATHAN ARNESON Bachelor of Science, Cybersecurity

A respected degree in one of today’s most in-demand fields. Cybercrime will more than triple the number of cybersecurity job openings to approximately 3.5 million by 2021.* University of Maryland University College (UMUC) can help prepare you with the latest theory and skills in cybersecurity, cyber technology, cyber policy and digital forensics. Our cyber programs have a reputation for excellence, and our online classes fit your life. At UMUC, you’ll learn from faculty who are leaders in the field, gain hands-on experience and network with other students, like our award-winning cyber competition team. Study at a public state university founded for adult learners and earn a respected cyber degree designed to help you meet the demand. Graduate classes start on April 4.

Designated as a National Center of Excellence in Information Assurance and Cyber Defense Education by the NSA and DHS and as a National Center of Digital Forensics Academic Excellence by the Department of Defense Cyber Crime Center Academic Cyber Curriculum Alliance.

FIND OUT HOW UMUC CAN WORK FOR YOU.

Call 844-404-UMUC or visit umuc.edu/mae.

© 2018 University of Maryland University College

Mae spring issue 2018 final review new  
Mae spring issue 2018 final review new  
Advertisement