Page 1

ESSENTIAL

patterns for all skill levels

The UK’s No.1 for patterns

Newborn to toddler sizes

Easy designs for babies

COOL KNITS for summer days 27 patterns you’ll love Garments in sizes 8-26 12 makes under 100g

Adorable toys to knit tonight

Light & lacy cover-ups

10% off this yarn inside

Simple & stylish home knits

EXPERT ADVICE

for you

KN75.P01 Cover V3.indd 1

Patterns in your favourite yarns

Knit from just one ball

& more! CRAF T FAIR SUPERSTAR LACE MADE EASY MEET THE MUM WHOSE DEBBIE TOMKIES’S KNITS WENT GLOBAL! STEP-BY-STEP GUIDE

ISSUE 75 UK £5.99

Inspire Imagine Create

30/05/2017 16:08


Editorial Editor Kate Heppell Editorial Assistant Jenny Riley Technical Editors Tricia Gilbert, Rosee Woodland, Michelle Hazell Senior Sub-Editor Justine Moran Sub-Editors Kayleigh Hooton, Chantelle Salkeld Managing Art Editor Jennifer Lamb Art Editor Ian Danby Senior Product Photographer Tym Leckey Photographers Amy Worrall, Renata Stonyte Illustrator Ellen Lindner Senior Covermount & Packaging Designer Kay Whittaker Covermount & Packaging Designer Vicky Welsby

Contents 15

18

52

Contributors Bernat Design Team, Jacinta Bowie, Saskia Cole, Kim Dickinson, DROPS Design Team, Katya Frankel, Maddie Harvey, Jane Howorth, Sachiyo Ishii, Hana Lee, Kate Martin, Wendy Martindale, Helen Metcalfe, Patons Design Team, Kristen TenDyke, Debbie Tomkies, Emily Woodhouse

12

Publishing & Advertising Head of Softcrafts Ruth Walker Group Buying Manager Olivia Foster Buying Assistant Rachael Edmunds Production Assistant Anna Olejarz Subscriptions Manager Daniel Tutton Head of Content & Positioning Gavin Burrell Ecommerce & Distribution Director Dave Cusick Managing Director Danny Bowler Group Managing Director Robin Wilkinson

26

Subscription Enquiries Tel: 01858 438899 practicalpublishing@subscription.co.uk

Distribution Newstrade – COMAG Magazine Distribution Craft Store Distribution amanda.paul@practicalpublishing.co.uk

Contact Practical Publishing International Ltd, Suite G2 St Christopher House, 217 Wellington Road South, Stockport SK2 6NG info@practicalpublishing.co.uk www.practicalpublishing.co.uk Tel: 0844 561 1202 Fax: 0161 474 6961

Knit Now is published by Practical Publishing International Ltd. All material © Practical Publishing International Ltd. The style and mark of Knit Now is used under licence from Craft Media Ltd. No material in whole or in part may be reproduced, stored or transmitted in any form whatsoever without the prior written consent of Practical Publishing International Ltd. The publisher welcomes contributions from readers. All such contributions and submissions to the magazine are sent to and accepted by the publisher on the basis of a non-exclusive transferable worldwide licence unless otherwise agreed in writing prior to first publication. Such submissions are also subject to being used, reproduced, modified, published, edited, translated, distributed and displayed in any media or medium, or any form, format or forum now known or hereafter developed, for any purpose, in perpetuity. Knit Now (ISSN 2047-4911) Published by Practical Publishing International Ltd Stock images provided by Shutterstock, Inc.

In this issue...

07

25

On the cover… Helen Metcalfe’s Tilting Blocks Pullover, page 15 Photography by Renata Stonyte Hair and make-up by Nina Rochford

36

Practical Publishing International Ltd is a member of the PPA

KN75.P04 Contents.indd 4

30/05/2017 17:05


Contents

76

30

70

50

20

54

58

62

78

68

32

72

64

92

Inspiration 07 Knitting News What’s new in yarn 10 The Bookshelf The best new books 25 The Look Totally Tropical 36 Bumper Giveaway 200+ chances to win 41 Enchanted Cottage KAL Part 5 is a lace special 45 Show Guide Fibre-East 48 Reader Offer Free book worth £7.99 49 The Challenge Stylecraft Head Over Heels 56 Knit & Natter With Figen Murray 67 The Hot List Magical mayhem 84 Local News What’s happening near you 86 Stitched Together Shop local and save 10% 88 The Review An English Summer at The Spotted Sheep 94 The Basics Essential knitting skills 97 Coming up… In Issue 76 98 Dear Diary With dates for July

Subscribe and save!

84

56

71

46

GET 3 ISSUES FOR £6 when you subscribe www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P04 Contents.indd 5

5

30/05/2017 17:05


Editor’s Letter Welcome to your tropical issue of Knit Now! In this issue we’ve been inspired by the tropical trend and you’ll find lots of bright and beautiful knits all the way through the magazine. Our tropical collection (page 15) is packed with light and airy designs which will be perfect for summer. We shot these photos in the Palm House in Sefton Park in Liverpool, which is very much worth a visit if you’re in the area.

67

Meet the team We asked our team about what they’ll be knitting on holiday this year

Wendy Martindale Designer

I will be taking Christmas knitting with me on holiday. It is the perfect time to sit and knit all the presents for Christmas Day. When I get back I don’t have to do so much shopping.

Rosee Woodland

Technical Editor

Socks are my go-to holiday knit. They are small enough to go in my hand luggage and I have made my ‘vanilla’ sock recipe so many times that I don’t need to take a pattern with me either!

Jenny Riley

Editorial Assistant

I never go anywhere without my knitting, and holidays are no exception. Socks and cotton yarn projects are my go-to in the warmer seasons, though the #EnchantedCottageKAL squares are small and portable too!

If you’re looking for some speedy makes, you’ll find plenty to choose from in this issue, starting with your quick and easy free gift (page 12). There are also plenty of stylish accessories to knit from under 100g of yarn – I think my favourites are our Designer Challenge patterns (page 49). These knits are ideal for packing in your hand luggage if you’re going away this summer – just be sure to check with the airline about their rules for knitting needles on flights. If you’re looking for an inspiring read, don’t miss our interview with Figen Murray (page 56) about how knitting can get you through the toughest times. Make sure you flip to the back of your magazine to the Stitched Together section (page 85), to find out what’s happening in yarn shops near you and save 10% on your next yarn purchase! Happy knitting,

25 kate.heppell@practicalpublishing.co.uk

Pinterest: KateHeppell

Twitter: @KateHeppell

Kate promises... 3 Perfect patterns All of our patterns go through five stages of expert checks before publication to make sure that they are as clear and accurate as possible.

3 Style and quality I pack every issue with at least 30 beautiful and useful patterns. If I wouldn’t want to knit it myself, I won’t publish it.

3 Here to help If you need advice with a pattern, more photos or knitting tips, you can email me and I’ll help you out.

3 Supporting The Campaign for Wool I love wool and natural fibres and I’ll do my utmost to promote their use every issue.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P03 Welcome.indd 3

3

30/05/2017 17:21


The Gems Collection The Gems Collection, new from West Yorkshire Spinners, is a true wealth of beauty and style when it comes to knitting designs. Including beautiful accessories and garments, such as the Evelyn Jumper, a sweet cropped jumper perfect for transitional seasons, the collection is knit in WYS’s Wensleydale Gems collection, available in 20 stunning shades of 100% Wensleydale fleece. Find the yarn and collection at your local stockist or head to www.wyspinners.com

Knitting News Every month brings something new in the knitting world, so here’s our essential guide to what’s hot right now www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P07-10.indd 7

7

30/05/2017 17:19


unravel returns 16th – 18th February 2018

unravel steps up

Knitters generously donated over 100 knitted, crocheted and felt birds at unravel in Farnam this year, for the special Knit Aviary display at the annual knitting event, with the birds being sold afterwards to raise funds for Step by Step. The charity works alongside young people who are facing homelessness or other challenges in their lives. craft.farnhammaltings.com • www.stepbystep.org.uk

nky Super chu yarn

SAVE THE DATE

Reader offer

Edinburgh Yarn Festival is returning 15th – 17th March 2018. This may seem a long way off, but it’s well worth putting the date in your diary for this sell-out event! Class programmes and tickets will be available in October at www. edinyarnfest.com

Save 10% on Mammoth yarn at www.woollymahoosive.com when you enter code MAMMOTH10 at checkout. This acrylic yarn is perfect for giant knitting and arm knitting, and comes in whopping 4kg balls and 10kg bales! We simply love the popular Dove Grey yarn, which would make a chic throw.

Wvee Lobags

1

These illustrated knitting bags from www.annawright.co.uk are tasteful and come in a variety of sizes

8

2

If you like something fun, why not go for a witty design from www.vanessabeedesigns.co.uk?

3

The new HiyaHiya accessory set includes a stylish bag, stitch markers, cable needles, tape measure and more! Available from www.brownberryyarns.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P07-10.indd 8

30/05/2017 17:19


Pomfest Independent knitting and craft magazine pompom Quarterly is celebrating its fifth anniversary this year with a birthday bash in London! Pomfest takes place 14th – 15th July, with two days jam-packed with talks, a party, podcasts and more! Visit the marketplace to find your favourite indie yarn producers and dyers. Tickets are available from www.pompommag.com/pomfest

Knitting News

Abakhan comes to Altrincham! One of the UK’s leading yarn retailers is set to open the doors to a new shop based in Altrincham this month. The new store will boast two floors of crafting goodies, including knitting and crochet yarn and accessories, and a floor dedicated to workshops! For more information about Abakhan stores, workshops and to shop online go to www.abakhan.co.uk

Caron Cakes whenever we We can’t help but squish and coo 80% acrylic this e: Cak n Caro a on ds get our han , Aran soft a is and 20% wool blend kier chun the on htly (slig weight side) which is super soft and fast to knit with. Beautiful colours transition within the cake and ball bands come with a free pattern too – what a bonus! Available from www.woolwarehouse.co.uk and your local stockist.

Delicious knits from Yarntelier Embracing the new season, Yarntelier has launched seven new hand knitting patterns perfect for spring and summer, with each design showcasing delicate lace stitches in a different way. Find Luyu, Ariella, Aquila, Osprey and more at www.yarntelier.com

15% off wool! Eight brand-new colours have been introduced to the Léttlopi range from Álafoss, and we can’t get enough of the vibrant shades now included in the 100% new wool yarn! To celebrate, Knit Now readers can enjoy 15% off their first order from www.alafoss.is when you enter code knitnowmag

Ask The Expert

Q A

I have so much yarn in my stash, I don’t know what to do with it all! Do you have any advice on how to organise my collection?

Almost every knitter I know has a great, big (lovely) stash of yarn that, realistically, we will never get through. Let’s face it, we are always buying more! First, I would suggest organising your stash, perhaps by colour, weight, or fibre, and then deciding which yarn you love, and which you bought ‘that one time because it was cheap’. Donate a load that you won’t use to a knitting charity, such as www.knitforpeace.co.uk – it will make you feel much more productive. For the yarn you want to keep, www.ravelry.com lets you search for patterns by yarn weight and amount, so you can find the perfect project for that three quarter skein you didn’t know what to do with. Sara is the expert knitter behind Black Sheep Wools. If you have a question for her, email expert@knitnowmag.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P07-10.indd 9

9

30/05/2017 17:19


The Collection

Totally Tropical

This month we’re getting in the holiday mood with bold colours and tropical motifs, starting with Helen Metcalfe’s Tilting Blocks pullover

KN75.P15.indd 15

30/05/2017 15:19


The Collection EMILY SAYS

“This pattern was inspired by the classic animal patterns of designer Barbara Walker, from her Treasury of Knitting Patterns. Green sea turtles migrate to warmer waters every year – these ones are swimming happily around the cowl to mark the beginning of summer!” Row 51: K11, p4, [k2, p2] twice, k1, p1, k2, p2, k2, p1, k1, [p2, k2] twice, p4, k11. Row 52: K11, [kfb] twice, [k2, p2] twice, k2, p1, sk2p, k2, k2sp, p1, [k2, p2] twice, k2, [kfb] twice, k11. 56 sts Row 53: K11, p6, [k2, p2] twice, k1, p4, k1, [p2, k2] twice, p6, k11. Row 54: K17, p2, k2, p2, [ssk] twice, k2, [k2tog] twice, p2, k2, p2, k17. 52 sts Row 55: K11, p6, k2, p2, k2, p6, [k2, p2] twice, p4, k11. Row 56: K7, C8B, [k2, p2] twice, sk2p, k2sp, [p2, k2] twice, C8F, k7. 48 sts Row 57: K7, p4, k4, [p2, k2] 4 times, p2, k4, p4, k7. Row 58: K11, [kfb] twice, k2, p2, ssk, p2tog, k2, p2tog, k2tog, [p2, k2] twice, [kfb] twice, k11. Row 59: K7, p4, k6, p2, k2, p1, k2, p1, k2, p2, k6, p4, k7. Row 60: K19, p2, sk2p, k2sp, p2, k19. 44 sts Row 61: K7, p4, k6, [p2, k2] 3 times, k4, p4, k7. Row 62: K11, [kfb] twice, k4, ssk, p2tog, k2, p2tog, k2tog, k4, [kfb] twice, k11. Row 63: K7, p4, k8, p1, k1, p2, k1, p1, k8, p4, k7. Row 64: K17, [kfb] twice, sk2p, k2sp, [kfb] twice, k17. Row 65: K7, p4, k10, p2, k10, p4, k7. Row 66: Knit. Row 67: K7, p4, k8, p6, k8, p4, k7. Row 68: K7, [k2tog] twice, k8, C62F, k6, [ssk] twice, k7. 40 sts Row 69: K15, p6, k19. Row 70: Knit. Row 71: As Row 69. Row 72: K19, kfb, k1, [kfb] twice, k1, kfb, k15. 44 sts

Where to buy

King Cole Cottonsoft DK, £3.79 www.athenbys.com

Row 73: K15, p10, k19. Row 74: Knit. Row 75: As Row 73. Row 76: Knit. Row 77: As Row 73. Row 78: K19, [k2tog] twice, k2, [k2tog] twice, k15. 40 sts Row 79: K15, p6, k19. Row 80: K19, [s2kp] twice, k15. 36 sts

Rows 81-84: Knit. Rep these 84 rows 3 times more. Undo provisional cast-on and place sts on a spare needle. With RS tog, use the three-needle cast-off to join the two sets of live sts. Weave in ends.

Emily’s tip

“Choose a cable needle as close to the main needle size as you can to stop the sts stretching or sliding off as you cross the cable”

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P18.indd 19

19

30/05/2017 15:21


The Collection

Jacinta’s tip

“If you can crochet and you would like to strengthen the cast-on and cast-off edges you can crochet along the hems working a dc into each stitch and three dc into the dropped stitches. Do this before blocking with a 3mm hook for best effect”

Row 9: K3, yo, k4, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k3, *sk2p, k3, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k4, yo, k1, yo, k4, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k3; rep from * to last 18 sts, sk2p, k3, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k4, yo, k3. Row 11: K3, yo, k5, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k2, *sk2p, k2, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k5, yo, k1, yo, k5, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k2; rep from * to last 18 sts, sk2p, k2, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k5, yo, k3. Row 13: K3, yo, k6, [p1, k1] 3 times,*sk2p, [k1, p1] 3 times, k6, yo, k1, yo, k6, [p1, k1] 3 times; rep from * to last 18 sts, sk2p, [k1, p1] 3 times, k6, yo, k3. Row 15: K3, yo, k7, [p1, k1] twice, p1, *sk2p, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k7, yo, k1, yo, k7, [p1, k1] twice, p1; rep from * to last 18 sts, sk2p, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k7, yo, k3. Row 17: K2, k2tog, k7, [p1, k1] twice, p1, *yo, k1, yo, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k7, sk2p, k7, [p1, k1] twice, p1; rep from * to last 17 sts, yo, k1, yo, [p1, k1] twice, p1, k7, ssk, k2. Row 19: K2, k2tog, k6, [p1, k1] 3 times, *yo, k1, yo, [k1, p1] 3 times, k6, sk2p, k6, [p1, k1] 3

Schematic

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P20.indd 21

21

30/05/2017 15:24


The Look If skirts aren’t your thing, these cool viscose shorts would go well with a floaty white blouse £4 www.primark.co.uk

Shop in style with a tall tote £26 www.cathkidston.com Summer weddings are all tied up with this Jacquard dress £68 www.oasis-stores.com

Stay cool and elegant in the office from £46 www.mandco.com

White trainers don’t need to be boring in the summer £22.99 www.newlook.com

Totally Tropical Keep cool in the heat with floaty garments and bold leafy prints – perfect for the summer sun

Easy to dress up with heels and a pretty clutch for evening parties £38 www.little-mistress.com/girls-on-film

You can’t go wrong with a palm print skirt £35 www.monsoon.co.uk

Editor’s pick For cooler evenings this light pyjama jacket is perfect £25 www.tesco.com/clothing

The latest issue of Yarn by Scheepjes is packed with tropical patterns, including crochet and knitting! Pick yours up from Scheepjes retailers such as www. woolwarehouse.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P25.indd 25

25

30/05/2017 15:25


The Collection

Where to buy

Rowan Softyak DK, £7.49 www.blacksheepwools.com

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P26.indd 27

27

30/05/2017 15:26


The Collection

Wendy’s tip

“After completing the flower row pattern gently lift the wrapped yarn to the centre of the flower with the tip of the needle if necessary to give a neat look”

Step 3: Bring yarn from back to front between the needles.

Step 4: Slip the 5 long sts back from RH to LH needle.

Step 5: Take yarn to back, between needles, and slip 5 sts back onto RH needle.

re to buy e h W Step 6: Rep steps 3-5 once £15 more. 1 flower complete Evolution, Wendy

www.woolzone.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P30.indd 31

31

30/05/2017 16:31


The Collection

Maddie’s tip

“Knitting Fenestra uses up nearly all of the two skeins of Serena yarn, so make sure that you check your tension after blocking, otherwise you may need more yarn”

marker, p1, sm] 7 times, [p1, sm] twice, [k to 1 st before marker, p1, sm] 6 times, k to end. Rows 39-46: As rows 3-10. 181 sts Row 47: K3, yo, kfb, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 7 times, k to centre marker, m1R, sm, k1tbl, m1L, k to marker, sm, k1tbl, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 6 times, k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k to last 4 sts, kfb, yo, k3. 187 sts Row 48: K5, p1, pm, [k to 1 st before marker, p1, sm] 15 times, k11, p1, pm, k to end. Rows 49-58: As rows 1-10. 211 sts Row 59: K3, yo, kfb, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 8 times, k to centre marker, m1R, sm, k1tbl, m1L, k to m, sm, k1tbl, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 7 times, k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k to last 4 sts, kfb, yo, k3. 217 sts Row 60: K5, p1, pm, [k to 1 st before marker, p1, sm] 17 times, k11, p1, pm, k to end. Rows 61-70: As rows 1-10. 241 sts Row 71: K3, yo, kfb, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 9 times, k to centre marker, m1R, sm, k1tbl, m1L, k to marker, sm, k1tbl, [k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k4, sm, k1tbl] 8 times, k5, dbl yo, k2tog, k to last 4 sts, kfb, yo, k3. 247 sts Row 72: K5, p1, pm, [k to 1 st before marker, p1, sm] 19 times, k11, p1, pm, k to end. Rows 73-81: As rows 1-9. 271 sts Row 82 (WS): K3, p1, [k to 1 st before marker, p1, sm] 21 times, k to last 4 sts, p1, k3.

Lace Edging Remove stitch markers when working the cdd during Row 1.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P32.indd 33

33

30/05/2017 15:29


Be the first to knit these exclusive patterns

Subscribe to

and save 25% The UK’s No.1 for patterns

Pay just

£14.65 per quar ter

Over

£40

s worth of pattern ! ue iss y er ev in

Subscribe to Knit Now today and save £19.27 per year on the cover price. Every issue of Knit Now comes crammed with inspiration, the latest knitting patterns and expert advice. Join the Knit Now family and discover the joy of knitting and spark your creativity today!

Subscribing is quick and easy...

Online: www.practicalsubs.com/2022 Call: 01858 438899 (Quote code: PKNI0617)

Hurry, this offer expires 20/07/2017.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P46 Subs offer.indd 47

47

30/05/2017 15:32


The Challenge

The Challenge:

Stylecraft Head Over Heels Each month we challenge our designers to create something new using just 100g of yarn. These are the results!

About the designers

Jacinta Bowie

Kate Martin

Jane Howorth

This design makes me smile and reminds me of the ethnic-inspired designs of the hippy era that I grew up in as a child in the 60s. I love colour and this yarn has it all. It’s great for a beginner too.

Don’t be fooled into thinking that this stitch pattern is too difficult for you – it isn’t! This is an easy introduction to lace patterning on both right and wrong side rows; it looks far more complicated than it really is – just take it slowly until you begin to recognise whereabouts in the pattern you are.

I have been playing around with slip stitch patterns lately, and knew that one of these would be just the thing to show off this yarn. I like the ornate, vaguely Moorish look of the pattern.

Riley Rainbow Jacket

Spanish Stole

Catanery Socks

About the yarn Available in six gorgeous colourways, Head Over Heels has been specially developed to be durable enough for socks, but also fine and light enough for knitters and crocheters who like to make shawls. It’s also machine-washable, making it ideal for baby makes. The colour palette has been carefully crafted so that each colourway incorporates three short colour changes and three longer ones to give spectacular striping effects as your chosen project emerges. To find your nearest stockist, call 01484 848435 or visit www.stylecraft-yarns.co.uk www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P49.indd 49

49

30/05/2017 15:33


The Challenge

Jacinta’s tip

“If you struggle with keeping neat edges you can slip the first stitch at the beginning of every row”

Where to buy

Stylecraft Head over Heels, £6.95 www.woolzone.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P50.indd 51

51

30/05/2017 17:07


The Challenge

Coming next issue… Don’t miss our desiner challenge next issue, featuring this pretty lace scarf

Where to buy

Stylecraft Head Over Heels, £7.35, www.ammoniteyarns.co.uk www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P52.indd 53

53

30/05/2017 16:06


Jane’s tip

The Challenge

“Holes between the top of the heel flap and the gusset can be sewn closed once the socks are finished – or pick up one extra st at the top of each side of the heel flap. Work an extra rnd of decs to get the number of sts for the foot”

Rnd 2: Knit. Rep rnds 1 and 2 until 32 sts rem. Rep Rnd 1 only until 12 sts rem. Place first 6 sts of rnd on one needle and last 6 sts of rnd on second needle, removing markers. Break yarn leaving 30cm tail. Thread yarn into darning needle and graft toe sts tog using Kitchener stitch. Make second sock in same way. Making up: Work in loose ends and block to dimensions shown in schematic.

STITCH PATTERN

Slip St patt Rnd 1: Knit. Rnd 2: *P1, sl next 3 sts wyif; rep from * to end. Rnd 3: As Rnd 2. Rnds 4-5: Knit. Rnd 6: K1, *k2tog, yo, k2; rep from * to last 3 sts, k2tog, yo, k1. Rnd 7: K2, lift, *k3, lift; rep from * to last st, k1. Rnd 8: K2, p1, *sl next 3 sts wyif, p1; rep from * to last st, sl this st wyif. Rnd 9: Sl 2 sts wyif, p1,*sl next 3 sts wyif, p1; rep from * to last st, sl this st wyif. Rnd 10: Sl 2 sts wyif, k to end. Rnd 11: Knit to last st, transfer this st to RH needle without working it. Rnd 12: *K2tog, yo, k2; rep from * to end. Rnd 13: K1, *lift, k3, rep from * to last 3 sts, k3. Rnd 14: Transfer last st worked to LH needle, p1, sl next 3 sts wyif, *p1, sl next 3 sts wyif; rep from * to end. Rep rnds 3-14 for patt.

Where to buy

Stylecraft Head Over Heels, £6.49

www.wiseheartstudio.com

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P54.indd 55

55

30/05/2017 16:03


Garment

Where to buy

Patons Tahiti, ÂŁ6.50, Beaker Button info@beakerbutton.co.uk or 01264 748070

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P58V2.indd 59

59

30/05/2017 16:18


Home

Where to buy

Bernat Maker Home Dec, ÂŁ14.99 www.readicut.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P62.indd 63

63

30/05/2017 15:34


Home

Hana’s tip

“Pay close attention to keeping an even tension when switching between Mesh A and Mesh B. This will help with blocking later”

Where to buy

Sirdar Country Style, £2.75

www.abakhan.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P64.indd 65

65

30/05/2017 17:00


Home knit

Kim’s tip

“Use a sticky note to keep track of your place when working the colour chart”

Where to buy

Cygnet Superwash Pure Merino, £2.55 www.mapletreeyarns.co.uk

Next Row (RS, fold line): Purl. Starting with a p row, work 31 rows in St st. Next Row (RS): K7, work Flamingo chart joining in separate balls of yarn for each section, k7. Next Row: P7, work Flamingo chart, p7. Rep these two rows until chart has been worked once in full. Starting with a k row, work 32 rows in St st. Next Row (RS, fold line): Purl. Starting with a p row, work 28 rows in St st.

Work 8 rows in Moss stitch. Next Row (buttonhole): [K1, p1] 4 times, *yo, k2tog, [k1, p1] 8 times, rep from * 3 more times, yo, k2tog, [k1, p1] 4 times. Work 8 rows in Moss st. Cast off.

With MC, embroider chainstitch around the edge of the flamingos, chain-stitch a wing and leg as shown in the photo. Attach the sequins/beads in position for the eyes.

Finishing

Moss st Row 1 (RS): *K1, p1; rep from * to end. Row 2: *P1, k1; rep from * to end. Rep these two rows for patt.

Weave in ends. Fold the cushion piece at the fold lines and, use mattress stitch to sew the side seams together. Attach the five buttons to line up with the buttonholes.

Schematic

STITCH PATTERNS

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P68.indd 69

69

30/05/2017 15:35


Accessory

M1R

Knit to the place where the increase is to be made. Insert the LH needle from front to back below the strand between the 2 needles, lifting the strand onto the LH needle.

M1L

Insert tip of RH needle from front to back into the back of the new loop on the LH needle. Knit this stitch.

Knit to the place where the increase is to be made. Insert the LH needle from back to front below the strand between the 2 needles, lifting the strand onto the LH needle.

Insert the RH needle from left to right into the front of the new loop. This can feel a little awkward but will place a slight twist into the stitch reducing the risk of a hole forming below the new stitch.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P70.indd 71

71

30/05/2017 15:36


Kids’ Knit

Coming next issue… Don’t miss this pretty design for little girls in issue 76, on sale 20th July

ns Stitch patter Broken Rib Row 1 (RS): Knit. Row 2: *K1, p1; rep from * to last st, k1.

Stripe Pattern Rows 1-6: Work 6 rows in CC3 and St st. Rows 7-12: Work 6 rows in MC and St st. Rows 13-18: Work 6 rows in CC4 and St st. Rows 19-24: Work 6 rows in CC5 and St st. Rep these 24 rows for patt.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P72.indd 73

73

30/05/2017 16:05


Tiny toys

Where to buy

Jamieson’s of Shetland DK & Spindrift, £3 www.jamiesonsofshetland.co.uk

RED MACAW BODY & TAIL With B, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

BEAK With F, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

FEET With D, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

WHITE EYE PATCHES

Work both the same With J, cast on 20 sts. Row 1: *P2tog; rep from * to end. 10 sts

Break yarn and thread through rem sts. Pull tight to fasten.

BLUE & YELLOW MACAW

WINGS

BODY

Work both the same With B, cast on 14 sts. Following instructions for Crested Bird, work Row 1 in B, rows 2-6 in D, rows 7-10 in C. Making up: Follow the instructions given for Crested Bird to make up basic body. Attach white eye patches to face before attaching beak. For crest on head, wrap red yarn around two fingers 10 times and tie one end to make a tassel. Attach it to head.

With C, follow as Body of Crested Bird to end of Row 4. Row 5: P7 in C, p16 in D, p7 in C. Rows 6-21: Keeping the colours correct, work 16 rows in St st. Row 22: {[K1, k2tog] twice, k1} in C, {[k2tog, 1] 5 times} in D, {[k2tog, k1] twice, k2tog} in C. 20 sts Break Mimosa. With C, work as Crested Bird to end.

WINGS

Make both the same With C, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

BEAK With G, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

FEET With F, follow instructions for Crested Bird.

WHITE EYE PATCHES Follow instructions for Red Macaw. Making up: Follow instructions for Red Macaw.

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P76.indd 77

77

30/05/2017 15:37


Women’s garment Right Front Slip Right Front sts from stitch holder onto larger needle. Rejoin yarn ready to work a RS row. Place a lockable marker at the left edge, from where you will measure the piece. This section is worked in short rows to form a wedge. Next Row (RS): K to last 2 sts, yo, k1 tbl, k1. Next Row: K1, p1 tbl, p to last st, w&t. Next Row (RS): K to last 2 sts, yo, k1 tbl, k1. Next Row: K1, p1 tbl, p to last 2 sts, w&t. Cont in this manner, working 1 fewer stitch before end of each WS row, until piece measures 37 (41, 45, 49, 53, 57) cm from marker. Place all sts for Right Front onto a stitch holder. Remove marker.

G St Edge With smaller circular needle, k all sts from Right Front, k all sts from Bottom Edge stitch holder, k all sts from Left Front. 467 (505, 523, 541, 579, 597) sts Knit 4 rows. Switch to larger needle and cast off.

Front Neck Edge With RS facing and larger circular needle, pu and k307 (331, 355, 379, 403, 427) sts along Right Front, Back Neck and Left Front. Place a lockable marker at the left edge, from where you will measure the piece. Knit 3 rows. Work Pattern [1 st G st, Pattern E from chart or written instructions, 1 st G st] over the next 10 rows. Work Pattern [1 st G st, Pattern F from chart or written instructions, 1 st G st] until piece measures 18 (18, 18, 22, 22, 22) cm from marker. Remove marker. Cast off.

SLEEVES

Work both the same With smaller DPNs, cast on 49 (49, 49, 57, 57, 57) sts. Join to work in the rnd, being careful not to twist. Work 4 rnds in G st. Switch to larger DPNs. Work Pattern F from chart or written instructions until piece measures approximately 12cm from cast-on edge, finishing after a Row 12.

Where to buy

DROPS Baby Alpaca Silk, ÂŁ2.45 www.woolwarehouse.co.uk

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P78.indd 79

79

30/05/2017 18:05


rn Stitch patte

The Review

Brick Worked in multiples of 10 sts Row 1 (RS): *P1, k1; rep from * to end. Row 2: *P2, [k1,p1] 3 times, k2; rep from * to end. Row 3: *P3, [k1, p1] twice, k3; rep from * to end. Row 4: *P4, k1, p1, k4; rep from * to end.

Row 5: *P5, k5; rep from * to end. Row 6: Rep Row 5. Row 7: *K1, p4, k4, p1; rep from * to end. Row 8: *P1, k1, p3, k3, p1, k1; rep from * to end. Row 9: *K1, p1, k1, p2, k2, p1, k1, p1; rep from * to end. Row 10: *[P1, k1] 5 times; rep from * to end.

Our reviewers over at The Spotted Sheep this month felt inspired by the ever-changing colours and landscapes of an English summer. Pretty pinks call to mind the beautiful blooms we see spring out of gardens throughout the season, and the cool green of Katia’s Concept is reminiscent of rolling hills and country lane walks. Of course, it wouldn’t be an English summer without ample showers, so the beautiful Yarntelier Cashmere Gilli, with tonal shades of blue running through, fits the bill well. Cotton, linen, and beautiful

British wool all make their impact this month with our reviewers, who felt that this issue’s stitch pattern really showed off the different yarns and their textures.

Row 11: *[K1, p1] 5 times; rep from * to end. Row 12: *P1, k1, p1, k2, p2, k1, p1, k1; rep from * to end. Row 13: *K1, p1, k3, p3, k1, p1; rep from * to end. Row 14: *P1, k4, p4, k1; rep from * to end. Row 15: *K5, p5; per from * to end.

Row 16: Rep Row 15. Row 17: *K4, p1, k1, p4; rep from * to end. Row 18: *K3, [p1, k1] twice, p3; reo from * to end. Row 19: *K2, [p1, k1] 3 times, p2; rep from * to end. Row 20: *[K1, p1] 5 times; rep from * to end. Rows 1-20 form pattern.

The Spotted Sheep in Bedfordshire is a fun, friendly, modern wool shop where visitors are greeted with a smile, and where the team – Sheila, Jacqui and Vi – are passionate about what they do! The regular Knit and Natter group meets every third Saturday of the month from 2-4pm; all are welcome – visit the website to see what’s on!

Erika Knight Studio Linen

Sublime Evie Prints

Stylecraft Sundae

Content: 50% premium acrylic, 50% cotton

Content: 94% cotton, 6% nylon

Content: 85% recycled rayon linen, 15% premium linen

Yardage: 246m per 100g ball

Yardage: 115m per 50g ball

Yardage: 120m per 50g skein

Weight: DK

Weight: Aran

Weight: DK

Price: £4.95 from The Spotted Sheep

Price: £6.95 from The Spotted Sheep

Price: £5.95 from The Spotted Sheep

In one word: gorgeous

In one word: silky

In one word: elegant

Use for: summer garments

Use for: cardigan

Use for: tops

How enjoyable was it to knit with? ..........5

How enjoyable was it to knit with? ..........5

How enjoyable was it to knit with? .......4.6

How happy are you with your swatch? ....5

How happy are you with your swatch? .... 5

How happy are you with your swatch? 4.6

How would you rate the colour? ...........4.5

How would you rate the colour? ...........4.6

How would you rate the colour? ..............4

How hardwearing does it feel? .............4.7 How soft is it against your skin? .............5

How hardwearing does it feel? ................5 How soft is it against your skin? .............5

How hardwearing does it feel?................ 5 How soft is it against your skin? ..........3.8

Would buy: ....................................... 100%

Would buy: ....................................... 100%

Would buy: ....................................... 100%

www.knitnowmag.co.uk

KN75.P90.indd 91

91

30/05/2017 15:39


All contents subject to change

Don’t miss the next issue of PACKED WITH INSPIRING SUMMER IDEAS!

30+PATTERNS

MUST-HAVE

FAB FREE GIFT! Exclusive

baby book worth £7.99

ISSUE 76 ON SALE 20TH JULY

Cute knits for kids

Summer wedding ideas

Garments in sizes 8-26

Quick makes under 100g

NEVER MISS AN ISSUE AGAIN! Subscribe today and save 25% - turn to page 46 www.practicalsubs.com/2022 KN75.P97.indd 97

30/05/2017 15:41

Profile for Kate Heppell

Knit Now Issue 75 Preview  

A preview of some of the patterns and features in Knit Now Issue 75. This issue is now available from supermarkets, newsagents and craft sto...

Knit Now Issue 75 Preview  

A preview of some of the patterns and features in Knit Now Issue 75. This issue is now available from supermarkets, newsagents and craft sto...

Advertisement