Issuu on Google+

Volume 1, Issue 1

A GEORGETOWN COMMUNITY NEWSLETTER

In This Issue Brooks Brothers ................... 1

Spring / Summer 2012

Brother Mine Brooks Brothers’ brand new M Street flagship location has become Georgetown’s favorite gathering place.

Electric Charging Station ...... 1 Cady’s Alley ......................... 2 Herb Garden ........................ 2 Faces of Georgetown ........... 3 Out of Pocket ....................... 3 New This Season .............. 4-5 Directory .......................... 6-7 The Federalist ..................... 8 Georgetown Ten ................. 8

Charge!

Juice up your ride in two hours flat at Georgetown’s first-ever public electric car charging station in the parking garage at 3307 M St.

C

ompleted in September 2011, the Brooks Brothers shop at 3077 M. St. has quickly become something of a living room for the Georgetown community. Clients drop

in to enjoy a game of pool or to take a break from shopping on the outdoor patio. You’ll also find designer Thom Browne’s Black Fleece line exclusively in DC at this Brooks

Brothers location. Visit brooksbrothers. com to learn more about Brooks Brothers and the Black Fleece line.


Jamestown Meets Georgetown Jamestown and EastBanc bring a new website to Cady’s Alley and a community newsletter to Georgetown.

S

ince forming an investment partnership last year, Jamestown and EastBanc have been working hand in hand to promote and support their Georgetown retail holdings, including the popular shopping destination Cady’s Alley. The first order of business was to create a new website for Cady’s Alley. Jamestown Creative Project Manager Jenni Strauss says of the Cady’s Alley site, “From the beginning, we knew vibrant colors and compelling imagery would best represent Cady’s Alley. Also, the website’s horizontal navigation is forward and fresh, which is indicative of the tenant mix at Cady’s Alley.”

stown COO Michael Phillips. “Our print newsletter is intended to support the existing community in an authentic way, while also giving the neighborhood a tool that will help everyone connect in different ways.” For more information, visit cadysalley.com.

Next, the partners turned their attention to developing a retail community newsletter for Georgetown. “Georgetown is a world-class shopping community,” says Jame-

Backyard Herb Garden Grad student and Kafé Leopold employee Hannah Wang experiments with a backyard herb garden designed to supply the restaurant.

H

annah Wang studies environmental science at George Mason University by day, so it’s no surprise that she brings an eye toward sustainability to her nighttime gig at Kafé Leopold in Cady’s Alley. “My direct objective is to see if I can successfully supply our restaurant with herbs without having to buy from our purveyors,“ says Wang. “I am planning to start small, growing only a handful of herbs first, including mint, basil, oregano, thyme and rosemary.” Keep an eye on the rear courtyard at 3307 M St. to see how her garden grows!

2


Faces of Georgetown In each issue, we’ll feature a Q&A with a Georgetown resident, employee, business owner or personality. This issue, meet Nancy Miyahira, Director of Marketing for the Georgetown Business Improvement District.

History of Bourbon

Q: Is there an upcoming Georgetown event that you’re especially excited about?

Man-about-town George Krauth dishes on the fashions, flavors, designs, and décor he discovers as he travels the globe tracking trends as Creative Manager for Jamestown.

A: The BID is sponsoring a neighborhood-wide Amazing Race-style scavenger hunt, the Georgetown way, on June 21st. Teams of four will scramble through Georgetown’s 20+ health, fitness, athletic stores and venues trying to solve clues. The team who solves the most in the least amount of time wins!

B

ourbon is very trendy these days. Normally, I sniff at trendy things; I prefer styles with substance and staying power. Happily, in the case of bourbon, “trendy” is also enduring. Bourbon has a rich American history. It was invented in the late 1700s by a Baptist preacher named Elijah Craig. Craig built his distillery in Fayette County, VA, which later became Bourbon County, KY after Kentucky broke off from Virginia in 1792. Craig’s barrels were stamped with the county name, and his whiskey soon became synonymous with “bourbon.”

Q: If you won the lottery and could only spend it in one Georgetown boutique, which would you choose?

All bourbon is whiskey, but not all whiskey is bourbon. To qualify as a bourbon, a whiskey must be made from at least 51% corn grain. My favorite bourbon is currently an ultra-small batch, 14-year-old variety called Black Maple Hill. I like to sip it straight, preferably in the company of fellow bourbon lovers like Harper McClure, chef de cuisine at The Federalist in downtown D.C. Potomac Wines & Spirits, right in the heart of Georgetown, is my go-to stop for bourbon whenever I’m in D.C. In addition to Black Maple Hill, they carry a complex 18-year-old variety called Elijah Craig, as well as an interesting experimental variety called the Buffalo Trace Single Oak Project, which you can read all about at singleoakproject. com. For more information, visit potomacwines.com.

A: Wow, that’s a tough one. I love Hu’s Shoes; Marlene Hu has many handbags I “visit!” They are so beautiful, and she has a great eye. Then again, I also really love Design Within Reach. Do I have to pick just one? Q: Nah, we’ll let you get away with two favorites. We can’t pick either! Here’s another question: What do you love most about working in Georgetown? A: Georgetown is such a dynamic and beautiful community, and everyone cares so much about what happens here. I also love working with our local and national merchants. Everyone is so passionate about what they do and I learn something new every day!

3


CONTEMPORARIA

ALL SAINTS

The crew at Contemporaria can’t get enough of the WAVER chair, designed by Konstantin Grcic and manufactured by VITRA ©vitra.com. More info at contemporaria.com or (202) 338-0193.

This hand-embellished traditional Tunisian tiles Saints. Learn more at u

BABETTE

L’ECLAT DE VERRE

FLOR

Babette Spring and Summer 2012 collections bring color with dramatic design and pleated texture for clothing that is effortless to wear. View the rest of the Babette summer 2012 collection at babettesf.com.

From classic French Lavis techniques to modern, clean-cut styles of framing, L’Eclat de Verre features high quality at the most competitive pricing. More at eclatdeverre.com or (202) 333-6840.

House Pet reminds us of like a wire-haired terrier. FLOR doesn’t show dirt goes practically anywher

4


skirt inspired by s is quintessentially All us.allsaints.com.

f mohair; it’s whiskery, This highly durable and cleans easily, so it re! More at flor.com.

L2 LOUNGE

PEDINI

The Farenheit 12 from L2 may just be the perfect summer drink. The handcrafted blend of Tanteo Tropical, organic passion fruit puree and fresh lime juice is balanced and refreshing with just a hint of jalapeno-infused tequila and bourbon vanilla extract. L2lounge.com.

Forget spring cleaning and think summer makeover! The design team at Pedini will turn your ordinary kitchen into a modern marvel. Just look at the radical kitchen makeover they did for the client below, totally transforming a ho-hum galley into a veritable gallery of cuisine. Discover more Pedini style at pedinidc.com.

ALESSI Guido Venturini’s All Time table set is beautiful enough for a special occasion, yet durable enough for “all-time” use. Find pricing and other info at alessidc.com or (202) 298-0407.

5

Before   After


Adidas, 1251 Wis. adidas.com

Diesel, 3033 M St diesel.com

Madewell, 1237 Wis. madewell.com

Walking Company, 3101 M S walkingcompany.com

Aerosoles, 1214 Wis. aerosoles.com

Gap, 1258 Wis. gap.com

Max Studio, 1242 Wis. maxstudio.com

Vineyard Vines, 1225 Wis. vineyardvines.com

Aldo, 3237 M St aldoshoes.com

H&M, 3222 M St hm.com

Michael Kors, 3105 M St michaelkors.com

Wink Bontique, 3109 M St shopwinkdc.com

Baker Furniture, 3330 M St kohlerinteriors.com

AllSaints Spitalfields, 3235 M St allsaints.com

Hu Shoes, 3005 M St husonline.com

Niccolo Giotto, 2928 M St 202.338.0110

Boffi Studio, 3320 M St boffigeorgetown.com

Abercrombie & Fitch, 1208 Wis. abercrombie.com

Hu’s Wear, 2906 M St husonline.com

Nine West, 1227 Wis. ninewest.com

Bulthaup, 3320 M St bulthaup.com

American Apparel, 3025 M St americanapparel.com

Intermix, 3222 M St intermixonline.com

The North Face, 3333 M St thenorthface.com

CB2, 3307 M St cb2.com

Annie Creamcheese, 3279 M St anniecreamcheese.com

J Crew, 3222 M St jcrew.com

Patagonia, 1048 Wis. patagonia.com

Bandolero, 3241 M St bandolerodc.com

Contemporaria, 3303 Cady’s Alley contemporaria.com

Anthropologie, 3222 M St anthropologie.com

J. McLaughlin, 3278 M St jmclaughlin.com

Rag and Bone, 3067 M St rag-bone.com

Bistro Francais, 3124 M St bistrofrancaisdc.com

Design Within Reach, 3307 Cady’s Alley dwr.com

Athleta, 3229 M St athleta.com

Jack Spade, 1250 Wis. jackspade.com

Ralph Lauren, 1245 Wis. ralphlauren.com

Illuminations, 3323 Cady’s Alley illuminc.com

Babette, 3307 Cady’s Alley babettesf.com

Jack Wills, 1079 Wis. jackwills.com

Relish, 3312 Cady’s Alley relishdc.com

Janus et Cie, 3304 M St janusetcie.com

Banana Republic, 3200 M St bananarepublic.com

Jewelerswerk, 3319 Cady’s Alley jewelerswerk.com

Riccardi, 3213 M St 202.338.5300

M2L, 3334 Cady’s Alley m2l.com

Barbour, 3221 M St barbour.com

Juicy Couture, 3034 M St juicycouture.com

Rugby, 1063 Wis. rugby.com

Pedini DC, 3340 Cady’s Alley pedinidc.com

Barney’s CO-OP, 3040 M St barneys.com/CO-OP

Karen Millen, 1259 Wis. karenmillen.com

Sisley, 3222 M St sisley.com

Poggenpohl, 3324 M St poggenpohl-usa.com

BCBG, 3210 M St bcbg.com

Kate Spade, 3061 M St katespade.com

Sports Zone, 3140 M St sprtzone.com

Poltrona Frau, 1010 Wis. frauwashington.com

Brooks Brothers, 3077 M St brooksbrothers.com

Lacoste, 3146 M St lacoste.com

Sterling & Burke, 2824 Penn. sterlingandburke.com

Restoration Hardware, 1222 Wis. restorationhardware.com

Calvin Klein Underwear, 3207 M St cku.com

Levi’s Store, 3263 M St levi.com

Steve Madden, 3109 M St stevemadden.com

Waterworks, 3314 M St waterworks.com

Camper, 3219 M St camper.com

LOFT, 1239 Wis. loft.com

Streets of Georgetown, 1254 Wis. hmxgroup.com

Charm, 2910 M St charmgeorgetown.com

Lorenzo Donna, 2822 Penn. 202.337.0622

True Religion, 3225 M St truereligionbrandjeans.com

City Sports, 3338 M St citysports.com

Lucky Brand Jeans, 3271 M St luckybrandjeans.com

UGG, 1249 Wis. uggaustrila.com

Coach, 3259 M St coach.com

Lululemon Athletica, 3265 M St luluemon.com

United Colors Benetton, 1200 Wis. benetton.com

J. Paul’s, 3218 M St j-pauls.com

Cusp, 3030 M St cusp.com

M29 Lifestyles, 2800 Penn. 202.295.2829

Urban Outfitters, 3111 M St urbanoutfitters.com

Johnny Rockets, 3131 M St johnnyrockets.com

Alessi, 3319 Cady’s Alley alessidc.com Ann Sacks, 3328 M St annsackstile.com

West Elm, 3333 M St westelm.com Yves Delorme, 3320 Cady’s Alley yvesdelorme.com

2B Bebe, 1211 Wis. 2bstores.com

Zara, 1238 Wis. zara.com

Bodega, 3116 M St bodegadc.com Café Tu-o-Tu, 2816 Penn. cafetuotu.com

Ching Ching Cha, 1063 Wis. 202.333.8288 Chipotle, 3255 M St chipotle.com Clyde’s, 3236 M St clydes.com

Don Labo’s Mexican Grill, 28 donlobosmexicangrill.com Filomena, 1063 Wis. filomena.com Fino Italiano, 3011 M St finoitaliano.com

Georgtown Sushi Chopsticks, 202.338.5855

Harmony Café, 3287 ½ M St 202.338.3881


St

.

811 M St

Kafé Leopold, 3315 M St kafeleopolds.com

Subway, 3275 M St subway.com

L2 Lounge, 3315 Cady’s Alley l2lounge.com

Sweet Green, 3333 M St sweetgreen.com

La Chaumière, 2813 M St lachaumieredc.com

Tackle Box, 3245 M St tackleboxresturant.com

La Madeline, 3000 M St lamadeline.com Le Pain Quotidien, 2815 M St lepainquotidien.com Little Viet Garden, 2934 M St littlevietgarden.com Martin’s Tavern, 1264 Wis. martintavern.com Mie Yun, 3123 M St mienyu.com

The Guards, 2915 M St theguardsrestaurant-dc.com Thunder Bar, 3058 M St thethunderbar.com Uno, 3211 M St unos.com Unum, 2917 M St unumdc.com

Apple, 1229 Wis. apple.com/georgetown AT&T, 3307-C M St att.com Ben and Jerry’s, 3135 M St benjerry.com Bobbi Medlin, 2900 M St bobbiemedlin.com Bridge Street Books, 2814 Penn. 202.965.5200 CVS, 2819 M St cvs.com

Alanya Salon, 3285 M St alanyadc.com

Eagle Bank, 1044 Wis. eaglebank.com

Blue Mercury, 3059 M St bluemercury.com

Frank Millwee Antiques, 2912 M St 202.333.4811

Bogart, 1063 Wis. bogartsalon.com

Galerie Lareuse, 2820 Penn. galerielareuse.com

Evolve, 2905 M St 202.333.9872

Georgetown Cupcake, 3301 M St georgetowncupcake.com

Hela Spa, 3209 M St helaspa.com

Georgetown Scoops, 2818 Penn. georgetownscoops.com

Isabelle’s Okyo, 2903 M St okyosalon.com

Georgetown Tobacco, 3144 M St gttobacco.com

Kiehls, 3110 M St kiehls.com

Georgetown Frame Shop, 2902 ½ M St georgetownframeshoppe.com

L’ Occitane, 3106 M St loccitane.com

Georgetown Tee’s, 1075 Wis. 202.337.4399

Lush, 3066 M St lush.com

Godiva, 3242 M St godiva.com

Red Toque, 1003 Wis. 202.333.4546

M3 Massage, 3070 M St m3massage.com

Haagen-Dazs, 3120 M St haagendazs.com

Serendipity 3, 3150 M St serendipity3dc.com

Salon Rafik, 3307-B M St 202.965.4000

Jinx Proof, 3285 1/2 M St jinxprooftattoos.com

Mr. Smith’s, 3104 M St mrssmiths.com Muncheez Manja, 1071 Wis. munchezzmanja.com Old Glory, 3139 M St oldglorybbq.com Paul Bakery, 1078 Wis. paul-usa.com Pizzeria Paradiso, 3382 M St eatyourpizza.com Prince Café, 1042 Wis. 202.625.6400

Red Fire Grill Kabob, 3299 M St refirekabob.com

Keith Lipert, 2922 M St keithlipert.com Kinko’s, 3329 M St fedex.com

Dean & Deluca, 3276 M St deananddeluca.com

Miss Saigon, 3057 M St ms-saigonus.com

, 1073 Wis. Qdoba Mexican Grill, 3303 M St qdoba.com

t

Taj of India, 2809 M St tajofindia.com

Sephora, 3065 M St sephora.com

La Belle Florist, 3000 M St labelleflorist.com L’Eclat de Verre, 3336 M St eclatdeverre.com Market Street Diamonds, 2914 M St marketstreetdiamonds.com Michael Getz Antiques, 2918 M St trocadero.com cherubgallery.com P & C Fine Art, 3108 M St pcart.com Paper Source, 3019 M St paper-source.com Pink Berry, 3288 M St pinkberry.com PNC Bank, 1201 Wis. pnc.com Potomac Wines & Spirits, 3100 M St potomacwines.com Sprinkles Cupcakes, 3015 M St sprinkles.com Starbucks, 3122 M St starbucks.com Suntrust, 2929 M St suntrust.com The Pleasure Place, 1063 Wis. thepleasureplace.com The Spice & Tea Exchange, 1069 Wis. spiceandtea.com Tumi, 1246 Wis. tumi.com Verizon Wireless, 3068 M St verizonwireless.com Wells Fargo, 2901 M St wellsfargo.com


The Federalist’s Future Past V beyond georgetown

enturing beyond Georgetown? Check out The Federalist, located in the heart of downtown D.C. With a menu inspired by Thomas Jefferson’s travels and tastes, The Federalist is single-handedly bringing back 18th century mid-Atlantic cuisine. Chef Harper McClure’s reinvented early American recipes have

The Georgetown Ten

been lauded by foodies from Forbes to Oprah. Dishes like veal and cabbage meat pie, cane sugar and rum braised duck leg and syllabub with stewed apricots are all examples of the Federalist’s faithful adherence to Mr. Jefferson’s 18th century palate. Visit thefederalistdc.com to drool over the menu!

There are so many things to love about Georgetown. The Merchant staff selected a few of our favorites.

MADISON STAYCATION

WISEY’S ON WISCONSIN

GEORGETOWN LIBRARY

Try the “Weekends in Washington” package at the newly remodeled Madison Hotel, with rates starting as low as $159 a night. madisonhoteldc.com

There is something amazing about the smoothies at Wisey’s! Wisey’s offers delicious vegetarian selections as well. wiseystogo.com

The Georgetown Library has recently been fully restored. They have great programs for both kids and adults. Find out more at dclibrary.org/node/1415.

PIZZERIA PARADISO

FASHION’S NIGHT OUT

EXORCIST STAIRS

Pizza is a highly individual affair; that said, Pizza Paradiso is the pie we’d choose if we were stuck on a desert island! eatyourpizza.com

Save the Date for Fashion’s Night Out Georgetown: 09/06/12, 6–11pm, at over 100 Georgetown stores. fashions nightoutgeorgetowndc.com

At the intersection of 36th and M Street lie a set of stairs so steep, the locals call them The Exorcist stairs. Georgetown’s little workout secret!

BAKED & WIRED

TASTE OF GEORGETOWN

If you’re in the mood for a sweet treat, the cupcakes at Baked & Wired (1052 Thomas Jefferson St.) will not disappoint! bakedandwired.com

The 19th annual Taste of Georgetown is on June 2 from 11am – 4pm, with over 30 Georgetown restaurants. Tickets at tasteofgeorgetown.com

FLEA MARKET

WATERFRONT PARK

Antiques, curios and knickknacks galore! The Georgetown flea market is a dream. Open every Sunday 8am-4pm. georgetownfleamarket.com

Enjoy a picnic at Georgetown Waterfront Park, a historical sea port that has been reinvented as public greenspace. georgetownwaterfrontpark.org

8


Georgetown Merchant