How to Prepare Your Phone | Community Calling | Hubbub

Page 1

How to prepare your phone •

Our tech partner Genuine Solutions will professionally data-wipe your phone, but if you’d prefer to wipe it yourself please follow the instructions below.

Please remove any accounts too e.g. iCloud, following the instructions below, as your phone won’t be giftable if not.

Please check with your network to see if you need to unlock your phone. Details here — EE, Vodafone, Three, O2, Virgin, GiffGaff. If you have trouble doing this, please still send your phone and we should be able to unlock it.

Apple Devices To erase multiple devices, or if your device isn’t charged: 1. Log into iCloud.com 2. Select Find My iPhone > find your device and Erase > Remove from Account If your device is charged: 1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch. 2. Back up your device. 3. Remove the SIM if there is one. 4. Remove your Apple account. Check out this video or follow the steps below. • Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. • If you’re using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings > [your name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off. • If you’re using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings > iCloud > Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Then go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > Sign Out. 5. Wipe your device Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. 6. If you turned on Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password 7. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase.


Android Devices To erase multiple devices, or if your device isn’t charged: 1. Sign into Google Accounts. 2. Under Sign-in & security > Device activity & security events > REVIEW DEVICES. 3. Select device > click REMOVE. If your device is charged: 1. Make sure any data you need is backed up, including contacts. 2. Remove the SIM or any memory cards. 3. Turn off any screen locks. 4. Remove your Google accounts. Check out this video or follow the steps below. On a Samsung Galaxy, go to Settings > Accounts and backup > Accounts and tap on Google, then tap Remove account. Make sure you remove all accounts. 5. Remove your Samsung account from the phone. 6. Wipe the device with a factory reset. Go to Settings > System > Advanced >Reset options > tap Erase all data.

All done? You’re ready to gift your phone!

If your phone is not eligible for gifting, you can still put it to good use by recycling it through O2 Recycle. If you have any difficulties completing these steps, send us an email communitycalling@hubbub.org.uk and we’ll do our best to help you.


Data security We take data security extremely seriously. A core element of our offering is our use of GDPR compliant, certified data erasure software to permanently delete all data from your devices before they are repaired or recycled. BlackBelt Defence (HMG Infosec Standard and tested by ADISA ADPC0074) is the software used for mobile devices data wiping. Devices we receive which do not turn on or arrive to us beyond economic repair will be stored in a locked cage/container to ensure full security whilst in our custody. Periodically, devices are then sent for recycling using satellite tracked vehicles and BPSS checked drivers to the Approved Authorised Treatment Facility (AATF) run by Computer Disposals Limited (CDL). All devices are destroyed at their facility using a Untha RS40 shredder and fully compliant with ADISA regulations for secure destruction of data (ISO 27001:2013 Information Security Management Standard) for mobile devices. We are extremely confident in this methodology across the various types of mobile data-bearing assets we receive. As such Reconome does not retain ANY customer data on physical ICT devices. The only data that is retained by Reconome are the basic customer details, such as where, when and from whom we received the devices.