High-Profile: December 2020

Page 28

High-Profile Focus: Awards


December 2020

AIA CT Celebrates Design Awards New Haven, CT – The Connecticut chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) celebrated their 2020 Design Awards virtually on Nov. 12. The AIA CT staff produced an hour -long tribute video honoring firms, members, allied members, and public servants for their work, business acumen, years of service, and support of the organization. Additionally, jurors from all over the country chose the “Best of the Best.” Award categories included Alice Washburn, Business Architecture, Design, Elizabeth Mills Brown, Chrysalis, Emerging Firm, Emerging Professional, Allied Members, Public Service, Connecticut Treasures, Volunteers of the Year, and the President’s Award. New this year, the AIA Connecticut Design Committee added two awards to the group: the Sustainable Architecture Award and the Women in Architecture Award. The Project of the Year awards were not revealed until the night of the virtual celebration. The following are this year’s winners: Project of the Year

• Residential: Slice House – Joeb Moore & Partners, Architects, LLC • Commercial: Karsh Alumni and Visitors Center, Duke University – Centerbrook Architects and Planners

Residential Project of the Year: Slice House / Photo by David Sundberg, ESTO

Alice Washburn

EXCELLENCE AWARDS: • Anne Curtis House Garage – Paul B. Bailey Architect • Carriage House – Scot Samuelson Architects • Classical Revival Residence – Douglas VanderHorn Architects • French Country Residence –Mark P. Finlay Architects • Stone Country Residence – Charles Hilton Architects • Washington Pool House – Haver & Skolnick Architects MERIT AWARDS: • Classic Georgian Pavilion – Douglas VanderHorn Architects • Country Home – Huestis Tucker Architects, LLC

Avidia Bank / Photo by Carl Vernlund

• Pool Pergola on a Country Estate – Charles Hilton Architects • Tudor House Restoration & Renovation – Saniee Architects, LLC Business (Employing over 50 People)

EXCELLENCE AWARD: • FactSet Research Systems Inc. HQ Relocation – Perkins Eastman Architects MERIT AWARD: • ATCO Park – Pickard Chilton Business (Employing less than 50 People)

EXCELLENCE AWARD: • Avidia Bank – Studio Q Architecture, LLC Elizabeth Mills Brown

EXCELLENCE AWARDS: • Beinecke Library – Newman Architects

• Historic Taft Hotel Dining Room – Patriquin Architects • Mark Twain House Mahogany Suit – David Scott Parker Architects MERIT AWARDS: • Moses Bulkley Homestead Rehabilitation – J. P. Franzen Associates Architects, P.C. • Ridgefield Library – Newman Architects • Two Roads Brewing – Neil Hauck Architects Sustainable Architecture – New Construction (Built)

EXCELLENCE AWARDS: • Stonington Passive House – Wyeth Architects, LLC • 609 Main Street – Pickard Chilton MERIT AWARDS: • Pound Ridge Net Zero – Trillium Architects • Slate School – Patriquin Architects

165 Capitol Avenue

Avidia Bank, winner of 2020 AIA CT Excellence Award Architecture + Interiors


203.725.6335 | studioqarchitecture.com 301 Highland Avenue, Waterbury, CT 06708