Page 1

Announcing...

Best Food Best Entertainment Best Goods & Services Best People FEBRUARY 16, 2013


2

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

FoodBestEntertainmentBestGoods&ServicesBestPeople A publication of the Herald & Review 601 E.William St. Decatur, Illinois 62523 217.421.6983 Fax: 217.421.7965 PUBLISHER Todd Nelson

For voting for us

#

3

Best Dog Groomer

EDITOR Gary Sawyer WRITER Donnette Beckett ADVERTISING DIRECTOR Joel Fletcher LAYOUT AND DESIGN Steve Wetherholt

The entire contents may not be reproduced in any manner,either in whole or part, without permission of the publisher. Advertisements are not endorsements by the publisher. The publisher is not responsible or liable for errors or omissions in any advertisement beyond the paid price of that advertisement.

New subscriptions, renewals, inquiries, changes of address, mail to: Herald & Review 601 E.William St., Decatur, IL 62523. To advertise or questions regarding advertising: 217.421.6920 © 2012 by Lee Enterprises, Incorporated. Any editorial content or advertising published is the property of Lee Enterprises, Incorporated

217-764-3488 delongbedandbiscuit.com Monday-Friday 8-5 • Saturday 8-noon • Sunday 4-6

Voted Best Place for a Wedding

Three years in a row • Wedding Receptions • Rehearsal Dinners • Guest Rooms and Honeymoon Suites • Wedding Brunches From start to finish, our attentive service and eye for detail will help make your wedding dreams come true! Call now for a private consultation & a tour of our newley remodeled facility with our Wedding Planner.

Decatur Conference Center & Hotel Wyckles Road and Rt. 36, Decatur, Illinois 217.422.8800 • Toll Free 877.352.8800 www.hoteldecatur.com

Congratulations to the following readers who won great prizes for voting in the Readers’ Choice 2012 contest: Don Garrett Diane Lane Andrea Stewar t


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

3

Places for Food 2012 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Food Best Asian Restaurant 1st Fuji Japanese Steakhouse 4292 N. Prospect St., Decatur 872-0600; DecaturFuji.com The Fuji experience provides live entertainment while having a hot Hibachi meal. We offer USDA steaks and fresh seafood at our grill table. On top of our Hibachi menu, we offer the largest selection of sushi in Decatur. Our experienced Sushi chefs prepare our sushi with fresh fish flown in and delivered weekly. We hand cut all of our USDA steaks. Our hibachi meals are made to order fresh in front of you at the flattop tables. Sushi is always made to order and never pre-made by our experienced sushi chef. Sushi items are flown in from Chicago and delivered twice a week. We offer a full bar and create seasonal cocktails.

2nd First Wok 1683 W. King St., Decatur, 423-2900

3rd Aloha

www.hickoryriver.com Hickory River Smokehouse brings authentic, Texas-style barbecue to the Midwest. Each Hickory River Smokehouse location is true to its name and has an on-premise "smokehouse." They apply a special blend of seasonings (known as dry rub) to the highest quality beef brisket, chicken, turkey and pork, then slowly smoke it for hours over a hickory-wood fire to create the most tender, flavorful meats possible and top them with Hickory River’s own original Texas-style barbecue sauce. Hickory River is always a crowd favorite when it’s served at catered events, parties or to you, family and friends in your home. Hickory River tastes great and is affordable whether you’re ordering it by the pound, platter or sandwich. The Decatur location features, dine-in, drive-through, catering and large order delivery. Each Hickory River location is true to Texas — a casual, family-friendly place to really accommodate customers and get them served very quickly. Hickory River Smokehouse prides itself for its traditional Texas barbeque, seasoning the meat with a specially blended dry rub and slow smoking

it for several hours over a hickory-wood fire. When it’s ready to be served, it is then covered with Hickory River’s very own, savory, Texas-style BBQ sauce or served on the side. A couple of its famous side dishes are delicious with the barbeque. Some of the more popular sides are ranch beans, garlic mashed potatoes, coleslaw and green beans.

2nd Texas Roadhouse 1155 U.S. Route 51, Forsyth, 876-7380

3rd Buffalo Wild Wings 851 U.S. 51 South, Decatur, 877-8370

Best Burgers 1st Krekel’s 801 E. Wood St., Decatur, 429-1122 2320 E. Main St., Decatur, 423-1719 1355 Illinois 48 North, Decatur, 362-0121 1340 Illinois 121 North, Mount Zion, 864-5725 3727 N. Woodford St., Decatur, 875-4044

3025 N. Kandy Lane, Decatur, 875-5540

Best Bar 1st Lock, Stock & Barrel 129 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur 429-7411; lockstockdecatur.com Lock Stock & Barrel provides a wide variety of food and entertainment. Food selections include weekly specials, homemade soups daily, taco bar on Wednesday evening, pasta bar on Thursday evenings and over 50 menu items. Entertainment features include Saturday afternoon jazz, live bands on Friday and Saturday nights, Karaoke on Wednesday night and a DJ on Thursday nights.

2nd Paco’s Sol Bistro 237 N. Main St., Decatur, 330-6483

3rd Sliderz 5995 E. U.S. 36, Decatur, 864-9227

Best Place for BBQ 1st Hickory River Smokehouse 2330 S. Mount Zion Road., Decatur, 864-1864

JAPANESE SEAFOOD

STEAK HOUSE & SUSHI BAR

Thank you Decatur for voting us #1 Asian Restaurant 3 Years in a row! 4292 N. PROSPECT, DECATUR, IL (Wal-Mart North Plaza)

217-872-0600


4

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFood 2nd McGorray’s 2927 N. Water St., Decatur, 330-6764

3rd The Wharf 201 W. 1st St., Decatur 423-5450

Best Chicken Wings

shakes are hand dipped the old fashioned way. Paul’s still serves hard to find treats such as chocolate sodas, phosphates, green river sodas and a variety of Sundae and milkshake flavors. We would like to thank our past and present customers for their continued support. We couldn’t do this without you.

2nd Steak N Shake

851 U.S. 51 South, Forsyth, 877-8370

920 S. Route 51, Forsyth 876-0105 1330 E. Pershing Road, Decatur 877-3231 2250 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur 864-6592

2nd Whit’s End

3rd Krekel’s

3663 East William Street Road, Decatur 423-9163

801 E. Wood St., Decatur 429-1122 2320 E. Main St., Decatur 423-1719 1355 Route 48 North, Decatur 362-0121 1340 N. State Route 121, Mount Zion 864-5725 3727 N. Woodford, Decatur, 875-4044

1st Buffalo Wild Wings

3rd Wing Stop 1491 W. King St, Decatur, 424-9464

Best Place for Chili 1st Paul’s Confectionery 999 N. Water St., Decatur, 428-6665 Since 1924, Paul’s has provided a warm and friendly dining atmosphere. Exceptional pride and care is given to making our famous chili using the same recipe for 89 years. Continuing Paul’s original tradition, our ice cream is home made and our milk

Best Place for Coffee

coffee beverages with exceptional customer service! Coffee Connection is much more than coffee. We also serve a variety of hot and cold teas, 100% fruit smoothies, iced and blended coffee drinks and much, much more. Need a quick bite to eat? Stop by for a homemade baked good, a cup of our uniquely blended oatmeal or a delicious sandwich wrap. Coffee Connection can also cater your event. All can be enjoyed on our outdoor patio during the warmer weather months. In late 2012, Coffee Connection expanded its business by purchasing a mobile cafe. Keep your eye out for it on the streets of Decatur. Our mobile cafe will be available for special events. Coffee Connection would like to thank all of those who voted us the number one place in Decatur for coffee. We will continue to bring Decatur the best coffee around with our exceptional customer service. Thank you.

1st Coffee Connection

2nd Starbucks

2505 N. Main St, Decatur 330-8065; decaturcoffeeconnection.com Coffee Connection strives to bring Decatur the best quality coffee and other specialty

255 W. Mound Road, Decatur, 872-4659 355 W. Mound Road, Decatur, 875-6060

3rd McDonald’s 962 W. Eldorado St, Decatur 422-8149

Thanks Decatur for voting us #1 Caterer #1 Waitress #2 Overall Restaurant #2 Place for Wedding Reception

3005 N. Water St, Decatur 877-9259 1909 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur 864-4937 4030 E. Boyd Road, Decatur 872-1974 1835 E. Eldorado St., Decatur 423-1775 2799 N. 22nd St., Decatur 425-2980 2237 E. Hubbard Ave., Decatur 876-1641 109 Lucile Ave., Forsyth 875-7913

Best Place for Dessert 1st Dairy Queen 610 Snyder, Decatur 877-4131 230 W. 1st St., Decatur 428-1014 4605 E. Maryland, Decatur 864-9610

Decatur Voted and that’s why...

“It’s always a great day at the Beach House!”

2nd Del’s Popcorn 142 N. Merchant St., Decatur 429-0037 100 Debby Drive, Mount Zion 864-9888

3rd Lana’s Cakewalk

Congrats Grace! #1 WAITRESS

2301 E. Lake Shore Dr. in Nelson Park on Beautiful Lake Decatur

www.decaturbeachhouse.com

217-422-7202

136 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur 872-1313

Best Italian Restaurant 1st Pastabilities 134 E, Main St., Decatur, 422-7278 A full service Italian restaurant, we are open Tuesday through Sunday at 11a.m. for lunch with


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

5

BestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFood dinner served all day on Sundays. We make traditional favorites such as lasagna and chicken parmesan with "killer" breadsticks as well as signature items such as baked chicken pesto and Asiago Pretzel-crusted chicken. We offer catering and take-out too. Celebrating our 10th anniversary in April, we are a locally owned and operated restaurant with our roots in the Decatur area. We appreciate our regular customers and love to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries with them. Most of all, we love being part of their daily or weekly routines. And always, "We’ll cook whenever you don’t want to!"

2nd LaGondola

THANK YOU to the Decatur Community for voting us

#1 Best Coffee!!

2825 N. Water St.,Decatur 875-4888 2034 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur 864-4333

Stop in for Lunch! Come on in for one of our delicious sandwich wraps and an iced tea for lunch!

3rd Olive Garden 3795 N. Water St., Decatur 877-7470

Best Mexican Restaurant 1st Guadalajara 351 W. 1st St. Decatur, 423-9724

2nd Mi Pueblito 1607 W. King St., Decatur, 428-7610

3rd El Corral

HOURS Monday - Friday: 5:30AM - 6:00PM • Saturday: 5:30AM - 4:00PM Sunday: Closed We’re located just north of Decatur Memorial Hospital on 2505 N. Main St, Decatur, IL 62526.

3655 U.S. 36 East, Decatur, 233-1714

Best Overall Restaurant 1st Texas Roadhouse 1155 U.S. Route 51, Forsyth, 876-7380 At Texas Roadhouse, we focus on providing legendary food and legendary service. We take the most pride in our jobs when we are able to give back to our community. Last year, we helped local nonprofit organizations, schools and churches raise over $8,000 and donated hundreds of pounds of food. We love helping our local community. Without you, there would be no Texas Roadhouse. Thank you. Is it our fall off the bone ribs, fresh baked bread with our cold honey cinnamon butter? Or it is our made from scratch sides and dressings, legendary Margarita’s, ice cold beer, or daily hand-cut steaks? We think it is because our staff truly love their jobs.

for voting me

2nd The Beach House 2301 E. Lakeshore Drive, Decatur, 422-7202

3rd Fuji Japanese Steakhouse 4292 N. Prospect St., Decatur, 872-0600

JAY SCOTT

Macon County State’s Attorney


6

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFoodBestFood Best Place for Pizza

1340 Hickory Point Drive, Forsyth, 877-3100

1st Monical’s 348 W. 1st Drive, Decatur, 423-2333 2230 S. Mount. Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-2060 4333 Prospect Ave., Decatur, 875-7340

3rd Olive Garden 3795 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-7470

221 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-5991

Best Place for Sandwiches

3rd Donnie’s Homespun Pizza

1st Jimmy John’s

2nd Del Carmen’s East

100 E. Prairie, Decatur 423-8323 1130 W. Wood, Decatur 425-2755 2950 N. Water, Decatur 872-8282 1910 S. Mount Zion Road Ste. A, Decatur 864-9999

126 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 424-4344

Best Place for Soup

BEST PLACE FOR BBQ

2nd Cheddar’s

1st Panera Bread

2nd LaGondola

225 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 872-6435

2825 N. Water St., Decatur, 875-4888 2034 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur, 864-4333

We take pride in providing good food through excellent service. Our amazing sandwiches, salads, coffees and various pastries bring warmth to the community.

3rd Panera

3

# #

225 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 872-6435

BEST CATERER

CATERING

AVAILABLE FOR SMALL OR LARGE GROUPS

Catering • Dine-In • Drive-Thru. Take-Out • Large Order Deliveries

COUPON

FREE PULLED PORK SANDWICH With the purchase of any sandwich. Offer for one sandwich only. Valid at 2330 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, IL location only. Limit one coupon per order. Must present coupon to cashier. No cash value. Can’t be combined with any other offer. Dine in or Carry-out only. Expires: March 31, 2013

Always the fan favorite! Hickory River is always the fan favorite no matter where you’re at! Catering all types of events from office parties to fundraisers to graduations to outings to weddings to picnics to tailgates and anything else you can think of. Call the favorite, affordable, reliable and most popular Caterer in Central Illinois.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR VOTES! Real Texas Barbecue by the Pound, Platter or Sandwich! 217.864.1864 • 2330 S. Mt. Zion Rd. • www.hickoryriver.com


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

# 1

B E S T

February 16, 2013

V E T E R I N A R I A N

Dr. Bill VanAlstine • Dr. Jennifer Owen and our staff Brush College Animal Hospital 566 N. Brush College Rd, Decatur

422-9393

We are honored to be voted #1

Thank You!

Dale’s Southlake Pharmacy Striving to meet your every need

Drive-up Window

Thanks for voting Dale’s the #1 Best Pharmacy!

• Hundreds of unique gift items • Free delivery to home or office • Locally owned & operated • Competitive pricing

“Friends Helping Friends”

245 W. First Dr. • Decatur, IL Ph. 217-429-5165

www.dalessouthlakepharmacy.com Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30-6 • Saturday 8:30-3

7


8

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Entertainment 2012 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Entertainment Best Bowling Alley

2nd The Strand

1st Spare Time Lanes

Best Place to Hear Live Music

2870 N. Jasper St. Decatur, 875-3141

1st Decatur Celebration

3rd Hickory Point Twelve Cinemas

2nd Pla-Mor Lanes

160 E. Main St., Ste. 200, Decatur 423-4222; www.decaturcelebration.com Each August, hundreds of thousands of people flock to Central Illinois to experience Decatur Celebration, the mid-west’s most exciting family street festival. The massive three day event blankets downtown with ten show stages featuring national and emerging music artists, three blocks of arts and crafters, carnival rides for all ages, the Razzle Dazzle Goodtimes Parade and over 60 unique food items. Decatur Celebration’s 28 year-and-counting legacy includes much more than entertainment for the whole family; the Celebration is all about community. Each year the event generates over $100,000 for a number of local service organizations, provides opportunity for volunteerism and means millions to the local business community.

150 Hickory Point Mall, Forsyth, 875-1618

2121 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-2222

3rd Doherty’s Pub & Pins 242 E. William St., Decatur, 428-5612

Best Central Illinois Golf Course 1st Hickory Point Golf Course 727 Weaver Road, Decatur, 421-7444 www.golfdecatur.org; Rick@decparks.com Hickory Point Golf Course offers 18 awardwinning holes of championship golf. Flat, wide fairways provide a foundation for learning while course length and the ever-present wind challenge more experienced golfers. Designed by leading golf course architect Larry Packard, Hickory Point features a lighted driving range and 6-hole short course to strengthen the skills of beginning golfers. Hickory Point Golf Course is home to the Symetra Tour’s Decatur/Forsyth Classic presented by Tate & Lyle and the Decatur Park District. It has also hosted the IHSA Class AA Girls’ State Tournament, PGA of America Junior Golf Series, Cleveland Golf High School Girls Invitational, Plantation Tour Junior Series, NCAA Division III National Golf Championships for Women, Illinois Women’s Golf Association Senior Open and the Decatur Junior Open. At the Decatur Park District’s golf courses, friendly staff, knowledgeable pros and superior customer service are keys to providing the most enjoyable experience possible for golfers of all ages. First Tee classes, individual and group lessons, professional club fitting, and ADAaccessible golf carts are always available. We look forward to serving you.

2nd Red Tail Run 520 W. Grove Road, Decatur, 422-2211

3rd Scovill Golf Course 3909 W. Main St., Decatur, 421-6243

2nd Lock Stock & Barrel 129 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 429-7411

3rd Sliderz 5995 E U.S. Route 36, Decatur, 864-9227

Best Place to See a Movie

2360 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur, 864-4272

Best Local Website 1st Herald & Review www.herald-review.com

2nd WAND - NBC www.wandtv.com

3rd Macon County Circuit Clerk www.cclerk.co.macon.il.us

Best Place for Kid’s Parties 1st Children’s Museum of Illinois 55 S. Country Club Road, Decatur, 423-5437 www.cmofil.org Children’s Museum of Illinois is a hands-on, interactive museum for children ages three to 12. Its exhibits and activities complement and enhance children’s educational opportunities, particularly in the arts and sciences. Our museum contributes to the community’s quality of life as an educational facility, visitor attraction, family activity destination and site for volunteerism.

1st Huston’s Avon Theater 3

2nd Scovill Zoo

426 N. Water St., Decatur, 422-1776; show times 422-8151; www.theavon.com For almost 100 years, the Avon Theater has set the standard for movie-going in Decatur. Over the past 15 years, Skip Huston and his team have brought the “movie theater magic” back — with the finest popcorn and snack items, first runmovies and a safe facility. Huston’s Avon Theater 3 is not just a “business venture,” but a life commitment to a vision of excellence attainable only by hard work and a hand-picked staff of Decatur’s best and brightest. We try to earn your patronage every day.

71 S. Country Club Road, Decatur, 421-7435

3rd Decatur Indoor Sports Center 1295 W. Wood St., Decatur, 429-3472

Best Place for a Wedding Reception 1st Decatur Conference Center & Hotel 4191 W. U.S. Hwy 36 West, Decatur, 422-8800; www.decaturhotel.com;jstock@decaturhotel.com We are truly a full service hotel. You will find the same services that you would find in the big


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

EntertainmentBestEntertainmentBestEntertainment city with that personal hometown touch, for the overnight business client to the largest conference. We are Central Illinois’s largest conference center and are able to accommodate large conferences in every way. We can handle most AV needs with on property services. We have the meeting space, breakout rooms, and fantastic catering services. Our very own Chef Steve was awarded the Kitchen Warrior of 2012. Our Fireside Restaurant offers a wonderful breakfast buffet open 7 days a week. Our Sports Zone Bar and Grille not only has great food, but has 27 TV’s to view your favorite sports events. If you have any doubts about our abilities take a look at our Herald & Review Readers Choice Awards for Best Place to have a Wedding for three years in a row. We have earned this award due to our outstanding service in this area. We are there to help you from the first stages of planning: choosing a room, choosing a menu to the finest catering services. We take away all of your worry so that you can enjoy your big day. Our wedding services are second to none. Our newly renovated rooms are so inviting you’ll want to come just for a weekend getaway with the family and enjoy all that our beautiful spacious facility has to offer.

Services As a family-owned business, we understand the importance of quality customer service.

• Collision Repair & Refinishing • Fast Lane Repairs • Electrical Services • Wash & Detailing • Rental Fleet • Glass Replacement & Repair

2nd Beach House

2nd Fox WBUI TV

2301 E. Lake Shore Drive, Decatur, 422-7202 www.decaturbeachhouse.com

101 S. Main St., Decatur, 428-2323

3rd Food Network 3rd The Decatur Club

Best Radio Station

158 W. Prairie Ave., Decatur, 429-4200

1st WDZQ-FM

Best TV Station 1st WAND 904 South Side Drive, Decatur 424-2500; www.wandtv.com Our mission is to provide the best news, sports and weather coverage in Central Illinois. The NBC affiliate in Decatur covering Central Illinois carries The Doctors, Dr. Oz, Katie, Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune. They also provide over 24 hours of news, weather and sports a week. WAND provides viewers with information across multiple platforms: on-air, online and mobile. WAND was the first station to broadcast local news in high definition. It was also the first to simulcast newscasts on mobile technology via Sync Bak.

Trained

We pride ourselves on our quality repairs and our trained technicians are the reason! They have the qualifications and experience needed to provide the best quality repair available in a timely manner. All of our repair technicians and painters have between 10 and 40 years of experience and undergo continuous training to keep up with the ever changing automotive world.

250 N. Water St., Decatur, 429-9595; www.95Q.com 95Q has been playing the best in country music for almost 40 years and reaches 34 counties in Central Illinois. We focus on the communities we serve and are very active in community events and fundraisers all year long. We encourage interaction from our audience via our request lines, email, and our Facebook and Twitter pages.

2nd 102.9 Y103 250 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-Y103

3rd WEJT JACK FM 410 N. Water St., Decatur, 428-1051

Equipped

In order for us to effectively and efficiently repair cars, we must be innovative and invest in the necessary equipment. • 3 heated semi-downdraft paint booths • 3 prep stations • 2 mixing rooms • 2 drive on frame machines • Computerized color matching system • Electrical diagnostic equipment

Advanced In addition to our stateof-the-art equipment, we have implemented a Shop Management System that allows us to clearly and accurately manage the repair process. With Summit Shop Management, we take less steps which results in less time required for total repair time of a vehicle.

Number one… Nine years and counting: Thank you to the greater Decatur Community for voting Newell’s Auto Body 2012 Reader’s Choice #1 Auto Body Shop.

217.877.7632 | www.newellsautobody.com

9


10

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Goods & Services 2012 Reader’s Choice of Best Places for Goods & Services

2nd Hickory Point Apartments

communities. Newell’s Auto Body prides itself on having a quality repair with fast friendly service. Our staff of 28 employees is 100% completely dedicated to returning your car to pre-accident condition. We are open Monday through Thursday 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

189 W. Hickory Point Road, Forsyth, 876-1422

2nd Decatur Auto Body

3rd Twin Oaks

735 E Cerro Gordo St, Decatur, 423-9707

Best Apartment Complex 1st Swartz Properties 950 W. Pershing Road, Decatur, 877-8703 www.swartzprop.comsatisfaction.

2555 Twin Oaks Court, Decatur, 877-1133

3rd Ming Auto Body

Best Auto Body Shop

2850 N. Jasper St., Decatur, 877-6546

1st Newell’s Auto Body, Inc.

Best Automotive/Repair Shop

996 W. Harrison St., Decatur, 877-7632 www.newellsautobody.com Newell’s Auto Body has been the leading collision repair facility in Decatur now for over five decades. We provide a full collision and refinishing facility along with glass, mechanical, electrical and detailing. We work with most major insurance companies and provide a rental fleet for your convenience. We are proud to service Decatur and the surrounding

1st Billingsley South Shores 1725 S. Franklin St., Decatur 428-5421 Our business provides BP gasoline and diesel through our convenience store in South Shores, as well as a full service automotive repair shop and an automatic touch free car wash. We also offer a complete towing and roadside assistance service, and

J.J. Swartz Co. - Celebrating Over 92 Years of Serving Central Ilinois. VOTED

#

1

Home Remodeler

8 YEARS RUNNING

Thank You to Our Customers & Employees “Win a handyman for a day contest” Like us on facebook during February for a chance to win

Ask about a 10% Discount on your next Project up to $250

a self-serve auto & truck wash on South Main. We strive to provide quality and professional goods and services to Decatur and the surrounding areas. Our business has been family owned for over 65 years. We enjoy treating customers like they have been from the beginning, and are proud to carry on the reputation of quality service. We are a local, family owned business and we take pride in being an honest and reliable source of services for our community. We are involved in every aspect of our businesses, so we are always in touch with what’s going on.

2nd Billingsley Auto North Main 864 N. Main St., Decatur, 428-8422

3rd Badorek’s 1405 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-5224

Best Bank 1st Hickory Point Bank and Trust 225 N. Water St., Decatur 872-3985 398 W. 1st Drive, Decatur 872-3950 1401 W. Hickory Point Drive, Forsyth 872-3997 1880 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur 872-3975 www.hickorypointbank.com Hickory Point Bank & Trust is a full service community bank with seven branch locations servicing customers in the areas of Decatur, Forsyth, Mount Zion, Springfield and Champaign. We offer a full range of financial solutions for individuals, families and businesses. At HPB, customers enjoy the benefits of working with a locally owned, community bank where prompt decisions are made and questions are answered with a simple, local phone call. We are proud to be once again voted Readers’ Choice Best Bank, and promise to continue to provide our customers with the same personal service that earned us this distinction.

2nd Soy Capitol Bank & Trust Co. 1501 E. Eldorado St., Decatur 428-7781 455 N. Main St., Decatur, 429-8708 560 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 429-8720 4825 U.S. 36 East, Decatur, 362-9265 1685 S. Franklin St., Decatur, 421-9600 1090 U.S. 51 South, Forsyth, 475-0425

3rd Busey Bank 2120 N. Oakland Ave. • Decatur, Illinois 62526 • 217-877-2611 • www.jjswartzco.com

130 N. Water St., Decatur, 424-11111 2505 N. Water St., Decatur, 425-5111 202 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 425-8381


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

11

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services 2070 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur 864-2300 1120 Illinois 121, Mount Zion, 864-2386

3rd Great Clips

Best Place to Buy a Car

215 E. Ash Ave. Ste. F, Decatur, 872-1920

1st Miles Chevrolet/Nissan

Best Barber Shop

Best Butcher Shop

1st Northgate Barber Shop

1st Ralph’s West End Market

2605 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-7408 Thanks to all our clients for your continued support as Northgate Barber Shop is approaching our 42nd year anniversary in May. Established in 1971, Northgate is a five-chair shop serving walk-in clientele only. The friendly service, lively conversation and family atmosphere appreciation is demonstrated by winning the Reader’s Choice Best Barber Shop award nine times consecutively. Before the Reader’s Choice awards, Northgate Barber Shop won two other best barber shop awards. With punch cards on Mondays, active military discounts on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, senior discount on Thursdays and family special discounts on Fridays. Northgate Barber Shop has something for everyone, including wheelchair access. Shop hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday. Watch for the 15-foot barber pole on the corner of Pythian and Water Streets.the corner of Pythian and Water Streets.

135 S. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 330-8001 Ralph’s West End Market is Decatur’s only full service specialty market that offers a fresh meat department and a wide variety of organic, gluten-free and gourmet grocery items. Ralph’s deli department is proud to carry Boar’s Head fine meats and cheeses, and offers individually made-to-order sandwiches, deli salads and a variety of coffee drinks, espressos, lattes and frozen drinks. Selections from Ralph’s meat case are all cut onsite, and include choice or prime all-natural or organic beef, free range chickens and pork and specialty prepared meat items. Smoked meats, smoked on-site in our large commercial smoker, include a variety of homemade smoked sausages, hot dogs, brats, BBQ ribs, turkeys, hams, dried beef, beef

150 W. Pershing Road, Decatur, 877-4440

255 W. Pershing Road., Decatur, 872-5000

3rd Bob Ridings 3103 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 877-3102

Best Caterer 1st The Beach House 2301 E. Lake Shore Drive, Decatur, 422-7202

2nd Debbie’s Diner 1404 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-4130

3rd Hickory River Smokehouse 2330 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur, 864-1864

sticks and beef and turkey jerky.

Best Church

2nd House of Meats 3777 N. Woodford St. Ste. D, Decatur, 875-5318

2nd Fox and Hounds 3070 N. Kandy Lane, Decatur, 875-4077

2nd Crown Toyota

3rd Heinkel’s 2005 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-4401

Imboden Creek

1st GT Church 500 S. 27th St., Decatur, 233-8400 www.gtChurch.com GT strives to bring hope to our community and world through Jesus Christ. There are three Sunday

We are locally owned and proud to serve your family like they are our family.

Voted #1 Readers’ Choice Best Retirement Facility 9 years in a row! 180, 185 West Imboden Drive | imbodencreek.com


12

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services morning worship service opportunities: 8:15 a.m.; 9:30 a.m.; 11 a.m. Just pick the one that is most convenient for you and stop by. We have a wonderful nursery and an excellent children’s program during each service. Log on to www.gtchurch.com to find out more about our services and events. Whether it is your first time at GT or you’ve been attending for years, we will provide an exciting and God-honoring environment during our hour-long worship experience. We are committed to a compelling presentation of God’s truth. From the moment you pull into the parking lot, you’ll be made to feel at home. Come and experience it for yourself. You’ve got friends at GT.

550 N Edward St., Decatur 428-0955 www.decu.com Decatur Earthmover Credit Union is a memberowned, not-for-profit financial institution. Our members enjoy both traditional services such as checking, savings, car loans, Visa cards, and home equity loans, as well as electronic services such as online banking, online bill pay, eStatements and text alerts. Earthmover gives you the best of both worlds at a great value. Decatur Earthmover Credit Union’s mission is to build lasting relationships by providing exceptional financial service. If that’s what you want in your financial institution then please join our 26,000 other members who we are working with for the long haul.

2nd First Christian Church

2nd Land of Lincoln Credit Union

3350 N. MacArthur Road, Decatur, 875-3350

151 N. 22nd St., Decatur 425-0606 3130 E. Mound Road, Decatur 875-3823 2890 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur 875-1300 1435 N. Water St., Decatur 428-5232

3rd St. James and St. Patrick’s Catholic Church 407 E. Eldorado, Decatur 429-5363 (St. Patrick) 742 E. Clay, Decatur 428-7733 (St. James)

Best Credit Union 1st Decatur Earthmover Credit Union 1st Decatur Earthmover Credit Union 2600 E. Dividend Dr., Decatur 875-2301 260 W. Marion Ave., Forsyth 872-8170 4855 Aldi Drive, Mount Zion 864-2301

3rd Staley Credit Union 3330 N. Woodford St., Decatur 440 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-9767

Best Dog Grooming Shop 1st Northgate Pet Grooming 609 E. Van Buren Ave., Decatur, 877-7332 We are in a business we love. The dogs are treated the same way we treat our own, with love and patience. If the dog has a problem and needs to see a veterinarian we can let our customer know. Not all

problems are easily caught. We also carry an extended line of products for specific skin problems. We love our customers. They are our extended family. We want the dogs we groom to love coming here; we love to see them.

2nd Cookie Cutters 2880 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur, 864-6033

3rd Delong Bed and Biscuit 9645 Boody Road, Macon, 764-3488

Best Dry Cleaner 1st Peerless Cleaners 519 N. Monroe St., Decatur 423-7704; www.peerlessrestoration.com Since 1945, Peerless Cleaners has been passionate about serving our customers and the community. We offer a wide range of services including dry cleaning, carpet, upholstery, tile and grout cleaning, air duct cleaning, fire and water restoration, mold remediation, electronics restoration and trauma scene recovery. We strive to meet our customer’s needs by continually investing in new technology, training and education. At Peerless Cleaners, we live and work by five core values. World Class Service: that is Peerless, “above and beyond comparison.” Integrity: the foundation of all our relationships. Loyalty: a strong feeling of support, allegiance and devotion to our company, our customers and each other. Courage: the moral strength to say what you mean honestly with conviction and accountability. Winning: be the best — never quit!

2nd Waite’s/Janes Dry Cleaners 1004 S. Main St., Decatur 422-6932 664 W. Eldorado St., Decatur 429-4418 115 Magnolia Drive, Forsyth 875-8170

3rd Pride Cleaners 2553 N. Main St., Decatur, 875-7188 1804 E. Eldorado St., 422-5957 912 W. Eldorado St., 429-5002

Best Fitness Center 1st Decatur Family YMCA

n9¶6 #D6»¸ *á9D*% #96 #D:a:*Da> »%6´D*%»Î

220 W. McKinley Ave., Decatur, 872-9622 The Decatur Family YMCA is your choice as the area’s #1 Health Club but is also so much more than a gym-and-swim. From the licensed Child Care Center and Summer Day Camp to our Wellness Center; through sports and fitness programming for youth and adults on land and in the water, sports and leisure time activities and much more, the Y makes strengthening the foundation of the community our cause. We are dedicated to building healthy, confident, connected and secure children, adults, families and communities.


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

13

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services The Y brings men, women and children together around our shared commitment to youth development, healthy living and social responsibility, allowing us to ensure boundless opportunities for families and children to learn, grow and thrive. Every day our impact is felt when an individual makes a healthy choice, when a mentor inspires a child and when a community comes together for a common cause. The Decatur Family YMCA has been serving the community since 1877, celebrating 10 years in our current location with an Open House on February 20th from 12 p.m. – 2 p.m.

2nd Decatur Athletic Club 1010 Southside Drive, Decatur, 423-7020

3rd Decatur Indoor Sports Center 1295 W. Wood St., Decatur, 429-3472

Best Flooring Store 1st Flooring America 435 E. Ash Ave., Decatur 877-0700 Flooring America is a full service retail flooring store. Our beautiful showroom has retail, builder and commercial departments. With our professional staff, from designers to installer, we strive to make your flooring experience unforgettable. Flooring America is locally owned and operated. Our goal is to provide legendary customer service to our loyal customers, present and future.

2nd Dawson & Wikoff Funeral Home 515 W. Wood St., Decatur, 429-4421

3rd Graceland/Fairlawn Funeral Home 2091 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 429-5439

Best Furniture Store 1st Good’s Furniture 1360 Koester Drive, Forsyth, 429-2441 www.goodsfurnitureandmattress.com Contact Tim Druessel, owner Good’s Furniture is a locally-owned family-run business that was founded in 1956 by D.A. “Al” Good. Good’s Furniture is in its third generation of family ownership and is now owned and operated by his grandson, Tim Druessel. Mr. Druessel was born and raised in Decatur, graduating from Stephen Decatur High School and Eastern Illinois University with a degree in accounting. Good’s Furniture carries only quality name brand furniture from La-Z-Boy, Broyhill, Lane, Flexsteel, Sealy, Stearns & Foster, Tempurpedic and many others. Good’s Furniture services a large area of central Illinois covering a 50 mile radius from Decatur with free delivery. Good’s Furniture sets itself apart from other furniture stores in many ways. First, Good’s showroom is beautifully decorated and staffed by friendly, knowledgeable salespeople to make picking out furniture easy and fun. Second, Good’s offers free delivery and removal of your old furniture or bedding

where many other stores charge or don’t even offer those services. Third, being locally owned and operated, Good’s Furniture is able to adapt to changes in the market place quickly and customize our products and service to meet the customer’s needs. We often do this on a daily basis to accommodate customers’ busy schedules. Finally, and most importantly by providing customers with excellent customer service before and after the sale, customers can always rely on Good’s Furniture when it comes to furnishing their home. Thank you for voting Good’s Furniture the No. 1 Furniture Store in the Herald & Review’s Readers’ Choice Awards for the eighth year in a row.

2nd Cohn Furniture 400 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Decatur 429-5491

3rd Slumberland 265 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, 877-0900

Best Hair Salon 1st Attitudes 2880 S. Mount Zion Road, Decatur, 864-4020

2nd Fox and Hounds 3070 N. Kandy Lane, Decatur, 424-0079

3rd T&L Beauty Salon 1065 W. Eldorado St. Ste. 5, Decatur, 422-8911

2nd Menards 533 Market Drive, Forsyth, 877-8191

3rd Carpet Weavers 1971 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 876-9800

Best Florist 1st Svendsen Florist Inc. 2702 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, 877-4767 Svendsen Florists is a family owned and operated business, serving the Decatur area for over 65 years. Svendsen’s is unique in that we grow our poinsettias, geraniums and bedding plants in our own greenhouses. We have a large selection of original silk arrangements on display. We pride ourselves on our beautiful fresh arrangements for all occasions.

2nd Shirley’s Flower Shop 245 Main St., Mount Zion, 422-9350

3rd The Secret Garden

Dr. Camda Temmen, OD

Dr. Timothy Busey, OD

Dr. Jodie Wadsworth, OD

Doctors of Optometry

We would like to thank you for voting us

#1 EVERY YEAR! Come Visit Us to See Why!

Accepting New Patients

1215 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 875-9038

Best Funeral Home 1st Brintlinger & Earl Funeral Home 2827 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 875-1283

Become our fan on Facebook www.temmeneyecare.com


14

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Best Hardware Store 1st Kenney’s Ace Hardware

Competitive products friendly service local commitment Thank you for voting for us as the Best Bank. It is an honor to receive this distinction. As Decatur’s Best Bank it is a privilege to serve the businesses and families in our hometown.

community support OUR STRONG POINT

2880 S. Mt. Zion Rd., Decatur, 864-9314 Tlkenney82@yahoo.com Kenney’s Ace Hardware is a family owned and operated business which prides itself on exceeding customer expectations and fulfilling their hardware needs. Kenney’s Ace offers a wide a variety of services such as custom picture framing by framing expert Terry Kenney, key cutting, propane tank filling, UPS shipping, and many more. Our unique product mix includes Craftsman tools, Yankee Candles, Benjamin Moore Paint, and Weber Grills. This along with all of our other hardware and gift products sets us apart from other hardware stores. We realize customers have a lot of choices in where to shop so we are glad they shop with us. We appreciate our customers and employees. We know that without the great folks that support our business we would not be No.1 for the last seven years. Thanks for the honor!

2nd Menards 1450 Koester Drive, Forsyth, 877-8191

3rd Daniels True Value 2809 N. Main St., Decatur, 875-0711 217.875.3131 hickorypointbank.com

Best Heating & Air Service Company 1st Air King

Thank You to Our Loyal Customers for Voting us #1!

It was an honor to serve you this year. 435 E. Ash Ave., Decatur, IL 62526

(217)877-0700 www.flooringamerica.com Monday – Friday 8am – 7pm • Saturday 9am – 5pm • Sunday 12pm – 5pm

250 E. Eldorado St., Decatur, 423-9949 2441 S. Main St., Bloomington, (309) 821-0111 2415 Village Green Place, Champaign, 355-1808 www.airkinginc.com or stevefisher@airkinginc.com Contact: Steve Fisher, president Air King Inc. provides full service heating, ventilation and air conditioning services for residential, commercial customers throughout Illinois, Indiana and Missouri. We provide all the services for new construction, remodeling, retro-fit, replacements and design-build projects. Air King Inc. has some of the most experienced and trained staff in the industry at three of its locations. We sell and install American Standard heating and cooling equipment – The No. 1 rated residential and commercial equipment in the industry, along with geo thermal and in-floor radiant systems. We now also offer duct cleaning services. Air King services all makes and models of heating and cooling equipment and offers 24hour emergency service. You can always count on Air King Inc. - 365 days a year. “Being voted the only eight-time winner of the Best Heating & Air Service Company, I would like to sincerely thank all the people who have voted for us and equally I would like to thank all the great and wonderful employees and staff that Air King Inc. has been so blessed to have,” said Steve Fisher, president of Air King Inc., “for it is these caring and thoughtful people that make Air King Inc. a great place to call for service and a wonderful place to work. Thank you everyone, we truly appreciate you and your business


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2012

February 16, 2013

15

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you again from everyone here at Air King Inc., where ‘Quality and Service Make the Difference.’ God Bless.”

2nd Jesse Heating and Air 4483 W. Main St., Decatur, 422-1744

3rd Design Air 1201 N. 19th St., Decatur, 429-1105

Best Home Remodeler 1st J. J. Swartz 2120 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 877-2611 J.J. Swartz is a full-line remodeling and restoration company. We offer kitchen and bath remodels, room additions, interior and exterior remodeling, insurance restoration, handyman services and more. We service all of Central Illinois with residential and light commercial remodeling. We are honored to have been voted the Readers’ Choice Best Home Remodeler for the past eight years running. J.J. Swartz is a fourth generation family-owned business that has been servicing Central Illinois for over 92 years with quality service and craftsmanship.

2nd Romano Co. 100 S. Water St. Ste. 101, Decatur, 424-2426

3rd ProMax Construction 141 W. Main St., Decatur, 424-8900

Best Insurance Agency 1st State Farm Insurance Greater Decatur Agency Field Office 385 E. Ash Ave., Ste. A, Decatur, 875-5975

2nd Country Insurance & Financial 1401 Koester Drive, Forsyth, 877-2830 2905 N. Main St., Decatur, 877-2834 322 W. Marion St., Forsyth, 875-5283 3280 N. Woodford St., Decatur, 872-6020 1150 W. Pershing Road, Decatur, 876-8700 1219 Illinois 121 North, Mount Zion, 864-5355

3rd JL Hubbard Insurance & Bonds 1090 U.S. 51 South, Forsyth, 877-3344

Best Investment Firm 1st Edward Jones Investments 329 W. Eldorado St., Decatur, 422-8755; www.edwardjones.com Edward Jones provides financial services for individual investors in the United States and through its affiliate in Canada. Every aspect of the firm’s business, from the types of investment options offered to the location of branch offices, is designated to cater to individual investors in the communities in which they live and work. In January 2013, for the 14th year, Edward Jones was named one of the best companies to work for by

Thank You for Voting Us

1

#

• Largest selection of Apartments in Decatur, Mt. Zion and Springfield! • Committed to Customer Service • Shop online at www.swartzprop.com 950 W. Pershing Road Decatur, IL 217-877-8703

We at Shirley’s Greatly Appreciate

YOUR VOTES!!

Monday-Friday 8am-5pm Saturday 8am-2pm Delivery to Bethany, Dalton City, Decatur, Forsyth, Macon, Moweaqua, & Mt. Zion. We have an extraordinary staff and carry the highest quality of fresh flowers available!

Free delivery to Decatur & Mt. Zion funeral homes Only “FTD Master Florist” serving this area. 245 W. Main St., Mt. Zion, IL 62549 • (217) 864-4623 (217) 864-2524 (217) 422-9350 www.shirleysflowershoppe.com


16

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services Fortune Magazine in its annual listing. The firm ranked No. 8 overall. These 14 Fortune rankings include 10 top-10 finishes, consecutive No. 1 rankings in 2002 and 2003, and consecutive No. 2 rankings in 2009 and 2010.

in-store, and can even create a one-of-a-kind piece from a simple sketch. Customer service is our competitive advantage.

Best Nursery/Landscaper

2nd Ray Eldridge Jewelry

2nd Wells Fargo/AG Edwards

3012 N. Water St., Decatur, 875-0505

2965 N. Main St., Decatur 875-6963 100 S Water St. Ste. 104, Decatur 420-4640

3rd E. Ryan Jewelers

3231 E. Mound Road, Decatur, 875-3506; www.cedarlakegardens.com Walker’s Lawn and Landcaping is a professional landscaping and lawn maintenance service that has been in business for 35 years. From conception to design to completion, our landscape designers and their staff provide quality work and exceptional results. No job is too big or too small. Commercial or residential, we do it all. Along with our full service lawn and landscape company we also have a garden center, Cedar Lake Gardens and Gifts, where our customers can come in and see first hand what plants we will be installing into their project. We also do our designs on a computer program that lets you see what the plants would look like in your landscape before we begin the job. .

3rd Benjamin F Edwards & Co. 2884 North Monroe St., Decatur, 876-0649

Best Jewelry Store 1st Flora Gems 101 N. Water St., Decatur 429-4111 Floragems.com; johnwf@floragems.com Flora Gems is a fourth generation family owned fine jewelry store with the largest selection of diamonds in central Illinois. We provide all types of jewelry from comfortably priced to extravagant. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of customer service, and we strive to be everyone’s jewelry store of choice. Flora Gems has access to any article of jewelry our customers might want. If it is something we do not regularly carry, we act swiftly to have it in hand immediately, because no one likes to wait. We also customize jewelry

2525 N. Water St., Decatur, 875-4380

Best Liquor Store 1st Famous Wine & Spirits 1321 N. Oakland Ave., Decatur, 428-0632 2161 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 422-7233 Famousliquors48@yahoo.com Contact: Bobby Ghotra Year business started: 2011 We carry fine wine, full line liquor, full selection beer, lottery, cigarettes, kegs, money orders, bill pay and prepaid cellphone cards. What sets our store apart from others is selection, service, price, special order per customer request at no extra cost to the customer.

2nd The Decanter Fine Wine & Spirits

1st Walker’s Lawn and Landscaping

2nd Maske’s Organic Gardening 2510 W. Mound Road, Decatur, 877-0740

3rd From the Ground Up

215 N. Main St., Decatur, 422-9463

4705 W. Bearsdale Road, Decatur, 233-1310

3rd Long Creek Vineyards

Best Pharmacy

7185 E. Firehouse Road, Decatur, 521-6297

1st Dale’s Southlake Pharmacy

THANK YOU DECATUR FOR VOTING ME

#1 INSURANCE AGENT! Melanie Schelling Agent State Farm 3350 N Water St Decatur, IL 62526 Bus: 217-876-8800

245 E. 1st Drive, Decatur, 429-5165; www.dalessouthlakepharmacy.com Dales Southlake Pharmacy is a locally-owned, independent pharmacy that focuses on fast, friendly and reliable pharmacy services. We offer free delivery to the Decatur Metro area, competitive pricing, special medication packaging and one-on-one medication and insurance counseling. We also have a unique selection of gift items, including traditional favorites such as Yankee Candles and Fannie May Candies, and a mailing services. What sets Dale’s apart from other businesses is our passion to be “Friends Helping Friends.” Our pharmacy staff can explain confusing insurance issues and we work with our customers to help find solutions to their prescription needs. Our gift and postal area staff members provide excellent customer service that keeps customers coming back. We truly love helping others in our community.

2nd Walgreens 4995 E. U.S. Route 36, Decatur 864-9866 420 W. 1st Drive, Decatur 422-3801 225 E. Ash Ave., Decatur 872-1758 1315 N. Water St., Decatur 429-0958 1311 N. IL. Route 48, Decatur 429-1988 625 W. Pershing Road, Decatur 875-2751


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

17

BestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&ServicesBestGoods&Services 3rd CVS 570 North Fairview Ave., Decatur 422-1570 1595 Cantrell St., Decatur 429-4248 2990 N. Monroe St., Decatur 877-1703

Best Real Estate Agency 1st Brinkoetter & Associates 1610 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 875-0555 www.brinkoetter.com; carlab@brinkoetter.com We provide residential and commercial real estate services in Macon County and surrounding areas. We also have 50 licensed Real Estate Brokers. We are locally owned and operated. In 2012, our market share was just over 50% representing over $136 million in sales and listings sold. Our website offers interactive floor plans.

apart of the service provided daily. Licensed and certified by IDPH, Medicare and Medicaid. Years of constant great care set us apart. Through the vision of owners, John and Martha Brinkoetter, and the continued direction of long term administrative staff of over 18 years, our mission remains the same. The Golden Rule guides us — do something because it is the right thing to do. We are taking care of our owners family, our cook’s neighbor or our nurse’s grandma — all taking care of each other.

1449 1489 2965 2030

2nd Hickory Point Christian Village

1051 W. Eldorado St., Decatur, 423-8282 www.facebook.com/Its-Just-A-Little-Prick-Tattoo We are dedicated to preserving the stories, spirit and images of American tattooing. Our mission is to educate the public about the history of electric tattooing. We feel we are a great place either to dip your toe in the water with a small tattoo or piercing, or to undertake an entire body suit. From tattooing to piercing and even cosmetic tattooing, we offer a wide variety of services that most shops in the area don’t. We have put countless hours of blood, sweat and tears into our studio to ensure that our business will stand the test of time.

565 W. Marion Ave., Forsyth, 872-5899

3rd Primose Retirement 1145 Arbor Drive, Decatur, 872-1800

2nd Glenda Williamson Realty

Best Tax Preparation

1110 W. Arbor Drive, Suite D, Decatur, 875-8081

1st Kates Tax Service

3rd Re/Max Executives Plus

812 S. 16th St., Decatur 429-0011 Kates Tax Service has been in business since 1972. We are a family owned and operated service providing tax preparation for individuals, businesses, partnerships and farmers. We also have a bookkeeping staff serving the community all year round. Unlike some other tax preparers, we are open all year.

151 E. Decatur St., Decatur, 428-9500

Best Retirement Facility 1st Imboden Creek Health Services 180 W. Imboden Drive, Decatur, 422-7150 www.imbodencreek.com Imboden Creek Health Services is a beautiful campus in South Shores that provides care and support to senior citizens and their families. twentyfour-hour nursing care, skilled therapy services, spiritual guidance, activity trips to local venues are all

W. King St., Decatur 422-3400 E. Eldorado St., Decatur 429-4482 N. Water St., Decatur 876-0267 S. Mount Zion Road, Mount Zion 864-2225

3rd May, Cocagne & King 1353 E. Mound Road., Suite 300, Decatur. 875-2655

Best Tattoo 1st Its Just a Little Prick Tattoo

2nd Tattoo U 403 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 428-8710

3rd Rated R Tattoo

2nd H&R Block 3006 N. Water St., Decatur 877-0403

3777 N. Woodford St., Decatur, 791-6877

Thank you for making us your

1

#

Local Website eight years in a row!

herald-review.com Best Local Website 2005 • 2006 • 2007 • 2008 • 2009 • 2010 • 2011 • 2012


18

February 11, 2012

Readers’ Choice 2011

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Congratulations! Dennis J.Rademacher MD, FAAFP

Voted Decatur’s

Family Medicine

BEST #1DOCTOR

Our board certified providers deliver the highest quality medical care and services for the entire family—from newborns to the elderly.

Springfield Clinic Decatur 1770 East Lake Shore Drive • Suite 105

217.428.3424

www.SpringfieldClinic.com/Decatur


Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Readers’ Choice 2012

February 16, 2013

19

People

2012 Reader’s Choice of Best People Best Auctioneer

additional 2000 quality pre-owned vehicles, all checked over by our professional service departments.

1st Mike Hall 2102 NW. St., Hwy 121. Decatur, 877-7546 www.mikehallauction.com Mike Hall Auction Co. & Center is a full service, professional auction business serving Central Illinois since 1971. We’d like to thank all our customers and Herald & Review readers for voting Mike Hall No.1 in the Readers’ Choice Awards for the eighth time. We conduct all types of auctions on site or at our auction center facility and also do a lot of appraisal work. We specialize in real estate auctions, but our sales also include estate, antique, and household auctions, farm sales, business close-outs, inventory reductions and bankruptcy auctions. Our weekly consignment auction, now in its 23rd year, is held every Monday at 10 a.m. at the auction center. Our auction center facility, located on the northwest edge of Decatur, consists of five acres with plenty of parking, security fence, easy accessibility, and a large auction building with restrooms and restaurant. We host large crowds with many dealers, collectors and regulars. Our excellent staff aids in the efficiency of our well-run auctions. We are often imitated, but never duplicated. We sell consignments of estates, households, antiques, jewelry, tools, lawn equipment, vehicles and much more. To consign your merchandise, call our auction office. Pick up service is available. Years of experience, knowledge, and excellent service has rewarded us with a spotless reputation and our clients with successful auctions. Don’t have “Seller’s Remorse,” call Mike Hall!

2nd Les Crandall 5695 E. Route 36, Decatur, 864-0468

3rd Jack Wilkerson 3194 Marble Court, Decatur, 433-8008

Best Car Salesperson 1st George Park-Bob Ridings 3103 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 877-3102 georgepark@ridingsdecatur.net I am an auto dealer sales consultant (Bob ridings of Decatur) offering a large variety of new and used vehicles. To provide the best service for my customers, I enjoying learning about all the new vehicles being offered. With this knowledge, I am able to professionally help find the right transportation to fit their needs. Treating people to a quality sales experience is my goal and has blessed me with many new friends over the years. We provide a complete selection of used vehicles and also offer new Lincoln products at our Decatur location. With our family of six dealerships we also offer new Ford, Chrysler, Dodge and Jeeps, plus an

2nd Jeff Howard Crown Toyota/Scion 255 W. Pershing Road, Decatur, 917-4681

3rd Clyde Chapman Crown Toyota/Scion 255 W. Pershing Road, Decatur, 917-4681

Best Chiropractor 1st Dr. Christine Becker, DC 1st Becker Chiropractic Clinic, C. Becker, DC/owner 3419 N. Woodford St., Decatur, 875-7388; www.associatedbackcare.com Dr.’s Scott and Christine Becker have been in private practice in Decatur since 1980. This husband and wife chiropractic team provide a variety of manipulative and physical therapies for spinal and musculoskeletal complaints. Their clinic offers private parking, caring trained staff and X-ray services. Dr. Christine Becker is Board Certified in Radiology and Dr. Scott Becker in Chiropractic Orthopedics..

2nd Dr. Mario Fucinari

2nd Dr. Kelly Clark 3737 U.S. 36 East, Decatur, 423-2400

3rd Dr. Chad Burmeister 2727 N. Oakland Ave. Ste. 104, Decatur, 875-4555

Best Doctor 1st Dennis J. Rademacher Family Medicine Specialist at Springfield Clinic 1770 E. Lake Shore Drive, Ste. 105, Decatur 428-3424; www.springfieldclinic.com; ssimon@springfieldclinic.com Dennis Rademacher, MD, FAAFP (Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians) provides comprehensive treatment for the whole family, specializing in the areas of general health, addiction medicine, hypertension, diabetes, ADHD and asthma. Because of Dr. Rademacher’s affiliation with Springfield Clinic, his patients have access to specialists in more than 80 specialties and subspecialties, and, because of the Clinic’s electronic health record, these specialists have access to each patient’s complete history. Additionally, Dr. Rademacher’s office offers a number of outreach services, so patients don’t have to drive to Springfield for specialty care.

3350 N. Water St. Ste A, Decatur, 877-2404

2nd Dr. Dan Smith

3rd Dr. Kim Sheppard

Mount Zion Family Care Center 1200 N. State Highway 121, Mount Zion, 864-5531; www.yourcareourmission.org

389 W. Weaver Road Ste. 2, Forsyth, 875-7151

Best Dentist 1st Dr. Alan Jurgens 334 W. Main St., Decatur, 428-4683 Drs. Jurgens and Kneezel are board certified oral and maxillofacial surgeons who provide a full scope of oral and maxillofacial surgery. This involves the removal of teeth, placement of dental implants, treatment of oral disease and trauma as well as the correction of orofacial deformities to correct skeletally bad bites. We are trained and certified to provide IV anesthesia for pain control and patient comfort. What sets us apart from other businesses in this area is that we are specialists in the field of oral surgery. As oral surgeons, we have obtained an additional four years of hospital-based training not only in our field, but also in anesthesia and other medical disciplines. We are the only anesthesia trained dental practitioners in the administration of intravenous anesthesia in an office setting in the Decatur area. Our office has been a pioneer in the administration of officebased anesthesia since 1955.

3rd Dr. Derin Rominger 1 Memorial Drive, Ste. 300, Decatur, 875-5545

Best Eye Doctor 1st Dr. Camda Temmen 1505 W. Main St., Mount Zion, 864-3221 temmeneyecare.com Temmen Advanced Eyecare is a full service optometric practice that offers eye exams, an in-office lens lab, digital retinal scanning, macular pigment testing, corneal refractive therapy and specialty contacts. We have three Doctors of Optometry and accept most vision insurance plans including VSP, Eyemed, Superior Vision and BCBS. Temmen Advanced Eyecare is committed to providing the patient with a comprehensive eye care experience that uses the latest technology in vision care to examine the eye, offers the highest quality eye care products, explains procedures, diagnosis and treatment options helping patients make informed decisions and educates patients so they can be active participants in their eye care.

2nd Dr. David Miller 2475 N. Monroe St., Decatur, 875-5900


20

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

Thank you for your votes!! #2 To show my appreciation, anyone who reviews their insurance with me will receive a $25 Visa Card*

Amanda Giles 217-877-2831 Forsyth, IL

0113-280

*No purchase necessary. Limit one per household per year.


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

21

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople 3rd Dr. Michael Murphy

3rd Jeff Ludwick

2475 N. Monroe St., Decatur, 875-5900

Country Financial 332 W. Marion St., Forsyth, 877-2830

Best Insurance Agent

Best Local Band

1st Melanie Schelling

1st Rock of Ages

Schelling Agency 3350 N Water St, Ste. B, Decatur, 876-8800 www.bestinsuranceindecatur.com; melanie@melanieschelling.com We are pleased to be Decatur’s No.1 choice for insurance. Our office combines friendly and professional service when helping our clients to customize their insurance plans. Whether you are looking for auto, home, life or long term care insurance, you can be confident that State Farm will provide you with a great policy at a great price. It may sound cliche, but the success of my office is due to our “No Ice for Eskimos” policy. What exactly does that mean? It means we do not push products, or sell people things they don’t really need. We focus on getting to know our clients, evaluating their needs and then making recommendations. We work together to find solutions to manage risk and plan for their future. You can reach us by phone, by the Internet and by walking in. We encourage you to call us for a quote and see the value we can offer you.

933 Marlin Court, Decatur, 422-0708 www.roaband.com Rock of Ages began with one simple premise; let's play our friends’ favorite music to the best of our ability, as long as we can! No one has more fun than we do, at weddings, celebrations, festivals, street fairs and special occasions where we have been honored to appear. We are humbled to be selected no.1 eight times. Thank you.

2nd Amanda Giles Country Financial 332 W. Marion St., Forsyth, 877-2831

with all law enforcement agencies to protect public safety and uphold the rights of crime victims. What sets my legal practice apart is the ethical duty imposed on all prosecutors–to seek justice in every case, and not merely to convict–which has been my guiding light during more than 25 years as a prosecutor. I am truly honored to serve alongside the dedicated attorneys, investigators, and support staff of the Macon County State’s Attorney’s Office.

2nd Gary Geisler 214 S. Main St., Decatur, 423-8081

3rd Andrew Bourey 101 S. Main St., Decatur, 615-4772

2nd Riverbottom Nightmare Band

Best Photographer

972-5477

1st Valerie Cook Photography

3rd Matt Carter Band www.mattcarterband.com

Best Lawyer 1st Jay Scott Macon County State’s Attorney 253 E. Wood St., 4th Floor, Decatur, 424-1400; www.jayscottstatesattorney.com As State’s Attorney, I serve as Chief Law Enforcement Officer for Macon County, responsible for prosecuting all law violations, from traffic offenses to First Degree Murder, which occur within the county. My priority is to insure that our office works as a team

4705 Ruch Road, Oakley, 454-0692; www.valeriecookphoto.com; valerie@valeriecookphoto.com I am so excited to have been voted the No. 1 Photographer in the Herald & Review Readers’ Choice Awards for the first time. I have slowly built my business since 2006 and have met a lot of amazing people along the way. I specialize in weddings, high school seniors and family portraits. I enjoy preserving moments for people to cherish. I’ll focus on weddings here. I would have to say my enthusiasm! I LOVE weddings! I have fun with my clients while doing my best to make their wedding day the way they want it. I often find myself crying during the first dances and toasts. I take it all to heart!

Thanks Decatur for voting us... 9 Years in a Row!

Call Today!

423-9949 www.airkinginc.com Decatur

Champaign

Bloomington

250 E. Eldorado St. (217) (217) (309) Decatur, IL 62523 423-9949 355-1808 821-0111


22

February 16, 2013

Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople My goal is to provide a set of images for my clients to look through and experience their day all over again.

2nd DR Roberts Photography 1270 N. Edwards St., Decatur, 422-2212

3rd Sarah Jane Photography

2nd Dawn Sterling

a rigorous curriculum, the professional Intermediate School educators partner with dedicated families to provide the greatest opportunities of learning for all students. Our mission: “Working with families to fully develop every child’s ability to be a life-long learner and contributing member of society.”

WAND-TV 904 W. South Side Drive, Decatur, 424-2500

3rd Sean Streaty WAND-TV 904 W. South Side Drive, Decatur, 424-2500

18 View Court, Oreana, 330-7012

2nd Cinda Farris

Best Local Radio Personality

Holy Family 2400 S. Franklin Road, Decatur, 423-7049

Best Veterinarian

3rd Kristi Mullinex

1st Toby Tucker - WDZQ - 95Q

DPS 101 W. Cerro Gordo St., Decatur, 424-3000

Brush College Animal Hospital 566 N. Brush College Road, Decatur. 422-9393; www.brushcollege.com or www.brushcollege.vetsuite.com We are a small animal hospital providing such services as wellness physical exams, vaccinations, diagnosis and treatments for illnesses and injuries, radiography, ultrasounds, routine dental care and cleanings, surgeries, hospitalization and share in after hour emergencies. We are a caring animal hospital and try to make our services available to all of our clients. We try to structure our choices of services in order to make it affordable to all of our clients. Our friendly and helpful services are attributed to my devoted staff whose love for animals make them dedicated employee and have empathy for all of our “patients.”

WDZQ-95Q Afternoon Host 250 N. Water St. Ste. 100, Decatur, 423-9744 I am a country music junky, so I believe that my knowledge of music helps the audience identify with me. Odds are if there is a country music concert happening anywhere in the area, listeners can find me there. I also find it important to give back to the community that supports me.

2nd Shannon Mason - Y103 250 N. Water St., Decatur, 877-Y103

3rd Aric Lee - 1050 FAN 428-1050; alee@wdzthefan.com.

Best Realtor

1st Dr. Bill VanAlstine

Best Local TV Personalilty 1st J.C. Fultz WAND-TV 904 W. South Side Drive, Decatur, 424-2500 wandtv.com; james.fultz@wandtv.com I feel very honored to receive this honor! Being a TV meteorologist is something I have always wanted to do since I was five years old. I grew up putting the weather maps on my greatgrandparents wall and now I get to live out my dream. My goal every night is to give you the most accurate forecast that you can count on to plan your day and be a calm voice when severe weather strikes. Thanks again for this wonderful honor!

1st Carla Brinkoetter Brinkoetter and Associates 1610 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 875-0555

2nd Glenda Williamson 1110 Arbor Road Ste. D, Decatur, 875-8081

3rd Terri Booker

CONGRATULATIONS Dr. Derin Rominger Voted Readers Choice

Brinkoetter and Associates 1610 E. Pershing Road, Decatur, 875-0555; www.brinkoetter.com

#3 Best Doctor !

Best School Teacher 1st Kristen Black Mt. Zion Intermediate School 310 S. Henderson St., Mount Zion, 864-2921; mtzion.k12.il.us Mt. Zion Intermediate School offers a positive educational environment for students in grades fourth through sixth. Students at the Intermediate School receive a challenging academic core along with the enhancements of music (instrumental and vocal offerings), art, physical education and computer technology. Also at the Intermediate School, students are directed toward growth in their organizational skills, character development and positive social interactions. Mt. Zion Intermediate students continue to meet and excel in their academic achievements, including annual standardized testing. Along with

Specializing in Obstetrics/Gynecology 1 Memorial Dr. Suite 216 Physician Plaza East - DMH

217-875-5574


Readers’ Choice 2012

Herald & Review Newspaper- Decatur, Illinois • www.herald-review.com

February 16, 2013

23

BestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeopleBestPeople THANK YOU DECATUR, FOR VOTING IT’S JUST A LITTLE PRICK

Best Tattoo Parlor

#1

2nd Dr. Larry Baker Northgate Pet Clinic 2800 N. Martin Luther King Dr., Decatur 877-4393

3rd Dr. Jim Fleming 221 U.S. 51 North, Assumption, 226-3733

Best Waiter/Waitress 1st Grace Lahniers Beach House 2301 S. Lake Shore Drive, Decatur, 422-7202 www.decaturbeachouse.com

2nd Amy Rizzo Debbie’s Diner 1401 N. 22nd St., Decatur, 423-4130

3rd Sarah Hazelwonder

• Decatur , IL dorado l E W 1 105 217-423-8282

Carla Brinkoetter

Tom Brinkoetter

Pastabilities 134 E. Main St., Decatur, 422-7278

Our SERVICE is designed with YOU in mind!

8th YEAR IN A ROW

Thank you for voting Brinkoetter & Associates #1 Real Estate Agency the last 8 years. We appreciate your votes and support. We look forward to serving all your real estate needs in 2013.

Terry Smith

Sandy Dotson, Terri Booker, Jenny Lambdin

Colleen Brinkoetter

Doug Brown

Angie Castelli

Carol Chiligiris

Joe Doolin

J.P. Doolin

Tim Dudley

Jane Farrell

Imogene Fitzgerald

Debbie Ford

Kevin Fritzsche

Brenda Hite

Kara Hubner

Marge Inman

Robin Jackson

Wayne & Judy Kaiser

Mary Lou King

Lesley Loehr

Howard Cooper

Judy Cooper

Bev Gharst

Rob Hickey

Karen Luther

Doris Mabry

br nkoetter.com Todd Maxedon

Barb McElroy

Roberta Monson

Jackie Moody

Jamie Schwass

Michael Sexton

Tracy Slater

Charlene Smith

Hank Norris

Lana Smith

Jodi Powell

Robin Thacker

Becky Ray

Kristie Tindall

Linda Ray

Lisa Vieweg

Cheryl Roberts Linda Schmeling

Erika Webb

Bev Whipple

217-875-0555 1610 E. Pershing Rd. • Decatur


You’ve Got Friends At…

“Come see what the excitement is all about…

I’m saving a place for YOU!” 9th Consecutive Year! VOTED

#

2004 2005

2006 2007

2008 2009

2010 2011

Be Our Guest: SUNDAYS - 8:15, 9:30 & 11:00 AM WEDNESDAYS - 7:00 PM Got Questions? estions? Check out

500 S. 27th St. Decatur, IL 62521 217.233.8400

LIKE-FOLLOW-WATCH US:

Like Us

Reader's Choice 2012  

Reader's Choice 2012

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you