Page 1

Falcons Prepare For Competition During the summer, one of the busiest places on campus is the weight room and athletic fields. Almost every sport offered at FWCD has a summer camp to train current and future Falcon athletes. The weight room was host to almost every high school athlete working hard to prepare for the upcoming athletic season. Several athletes were able to venture off campus and attend camps and clinics as well.

Debbie Reimer

The Varsity and JV cheerleading squads attended the NCA (National Cheerleading Association) camp June 13-16 at TCU. They learned cheers, chants, dances, stunts, safety and team bonding. Both squads earned spirit sticks and an NCA bid to compete at Nationals in January. The Varsity won a superior stunt certificate and Macy Pigman ‘11 and KK Maddox ‘11 were awarded NCA All American cheerleader (NCA’s highest honor).

SUMMER 2010

Courtney Reimer ‘11 competed in an Elite Camp at Winthrop University.

Robin Willis

The boys basketball program also participated in the FWCD Summer league. Thirty three players made up three squads, Varsity, JV and Freshman. All three teams posted winning records. The three squads also competed in the Azle Shoot Out Tournament. The always popular Dallas Mavericks camp was back on campus to help teach and inspire basketball players of all ages.

FWCD Cheerleaders attend camp at TCU. The Varsity and JV girls basketball teams competed in the FWCD Summer League. The teams competed against Pascal, Weatherford Express, TVS, Granbury and Chisholm Trail Academy. Both teams won all of their games except for one. Courtney Reimer ‘11 and Shelby Stripling ’11 participated in the TCU Advanced Camp. Reimer also competed in an Elite Camp at Winthrop University, in Rock Hill, South Carolina. Jalan McFarland ‘13 played AAU all summer. The Leta Andrews Basketball Camp returned this summer for the 15th year. Several current and future players continue to enjoy this opportunity.

Fifteen field hockey players traveled to Chapel Hill, North Carolina to participate in a team camp at the University of North Carolina. Ginny Andrews ‘11, Samantha Berry ‘11, Nancy Bonds ‘11, Alexandra Bratton ‘13, Claire Buechele ‘12, Grace Cowan ‘13, Lilly Cowan ‘13, Megan Felton ‘11, Kyle Fraser ‘11, Katie Johnson ‘11, Shannon O’Brien ‘11, Maddie Relyea ‘13, Elizabeth Pruitt ‘13, Emily Anne Self ‘11 and Haddy Self ‘13 participated in several skills sessions and competed against several other squads from other parts of the United States. This was the fifth year for FWCD to go to the camp and it proved to be one of the best yet. Bonds was awarded the “Gatorade Will to Win” award. She also participated in the University of Pennsylvania camp. Tara Gordon ‘12 was selected to attend the U19 National Futures Tournament in Virginia Continued on page 2


pole vaulters to compete for the Texas team. This Track and Field meet is highly regarded as one of the premier high school track and field invitational meets in the United States. While competing at this years meet, Clifton finished with a height of 14’6.” That height placed him tenth place among the 25 vaulters that competed. Clifton is looking forward to improving upon that mark and his SPC Championship performance of 15’-0” during the 2010-2011 indoor and outdoor season.

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Field Hockey Camp

Football had record numbers working out this summer. The boys were lifting weights and conditioning to prepare. Alex Espinoza ‘11 attended the Texas A&M football camp and the TCU camp. Walker Ryan ‘12 and Collin Dickerson ‘11 joined Espinoza at the Texas A&M camp.

Chris Fraser

Boys lacrosse also flew to Chapel Hill to participate in a team camp.

Kyle Fraser ‘11 named All American and Academic All American 2

Twelve boys enjoyed the opportunity to meet players from other parts of the country and improve their game. Connor Fraser ‘11, Cameron Fraser ‘12, Martin Payne ‘12, Erick Ritter ‘12, Blake Waltrip ‘12, Taylor Washuta ‘12, Patrick Williams ‘12, Stanley Brown ’13, Stephen Buchanan ‘13, Ethan Rohrbach ‘13, Adam Uptegraft ‘13 and Will Waltrip ‘14 played hard and are hoping to bring what they learned back to the rest of the team. Kyle Fraser ‘11 participates on three FWCD Varsity teams, however, the sport she plans to play in college is not offered at FWCD. While Kyle has been fulfilling her commitment to FWCD athletics, she has also been commuting to Trinity High School in Euless to play lacrosse. This summer, she was named All American and Academic All American. Kyle is one of only 15 juniors in the country to receive both honors. Kyle was also selected to tryout for the US World Cup team and made it to the final cut of 40 players. She was also the only person to be selected to the Texas team for the third year to compete at the National Tournament, Kyle was the leading scorer, helping her team to win their bracket for the first time ever. At the 35th annual Great Southwest Track and Field Classic, held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, Clifton Harlin ‘11 was selected as one of six

Gynna Harlin

Beach, VA. She also attended camps at the University of Louisville and James Madison University. Gordon and Bonds were both invited to attend College Connection, a college recruitment camp. At the beginning of August, Gateway Camp returned to FWCD for the fifth year to help kick off the season.

Clifton Harlin ’11 competes at the Great Southwest Classic. Jonathan Clum ‘13 and Kevin Murphy ‘12 traveled to Austin to compete at Junior Nationals for boys volleyball. The two also competed in several sand tournaments this summer. Murphy attended volleyball camp at Pepperdine University. Five athletes earned a spot on the Falcon Physical Elite board in the weight room. Athletes must meet certain standards to achieve this feat. Stephen Tetirick ‘11 made it for the boys and Nancy Bonds ‘11, Courtney Reimer ‘11, Maddy Stripling ‘14 and Shelby Stripling ‘11 made it for the girls. The Fall season is under way and the athletes have been working hard. Please check the website for the team schedules and come cheer on your Falcons!


Lisa Parker

Cody Bills

Alex Morrissette ‘12 serves.

Alex Espinoza ‘11 scored four touchdowns against Greenhill.

Callie Strock ‘12 helps lead the field hockey team to a 2-0 start.

Vicki Devine

Maribeth Reeb

Kamryn Conway ‘13 cheers the Falcons on to a win.

Vicki Devine

Morgan Pergande ‘13 leads the JV offense.

Lisa Koger

Frasher Pergande

Girls Varsity Volleyball wins the Arlington Heights High School tournament.

Kyle Sapienza ‘11 runs at the Burleson Elk Run.

Haley Stratton ‘12 was a top finisher for FWCD at the Burleson Elk run. 3


ImPACT Testing Comes to Country Day

All Fall athletes, grades 7-12, have taken the baseline test. If an athlete sustains an injury and a concussion is suspected, they will retake the test. Both tests along with other current concussion protocols will allow medical professionals to offer

the best evaluation, treatment and care possible. The results may be taken to a physician for analysis and management; there are over 25 ImPACT licensed physicians in the Fort Worth area. These physicians can be used for athlete evaluations or your physician can use them as consultants to interpret the ImPACT test results. FWCD athletic trainers will care for and manage the athlete according to the physicians’ diagnosis and recommendations. The ultimate goal is to get the athlete back to competition as quickly as possible without compromising their health. If you would like more information on the ImPACT test, please visit their website at www.impacttest.com.

Tifini Crum

FWCD is excited to be able to offer another tool for the safety of our student athletes. The ImPACT test is being used around the world with most professional sports leagues (NFL, NHL, MLB, MLS, NBA and others), Olympic teams and colleges (University of Texas is a client). ImPACT (Immediate Post-Concussion Assessment and Cognitive Testing) is a neurocognitive computer based concussion evaluation system. The test measures verbal and visual memory, processing speed and reaction time.

Follow our Falcon Alums at the Next Level:

Jake Berman

Eric Wright

Athletic Training: Brett Stephenson ‘07 (Texas Christian University) Baseball: Jake Berman ‘08 (Davidson College) Davy Wright ‘08 (Texas Christian University) Eric Wright ‘07 (University of Texas at Arlington) Field Hockey: Ashley Espy ‘09 (Kent State University) Hillary Relyea ‘07 (Rhodes College) Elizabeth Vance ‘10 (University of Louisville) 4

Brian Alexis

Kaitlin Elledge

Hillary Relyea

Nicole Dory

Matt Johnson

Davy Wright

Football: Brian Alexis ’08 (Texas Christian University) Brandon Tierney ’09 (University of Arkansas) Golf: Matt Johnson ‘07 (Texas Christian University) Soccer (Girls): Kaitlin Elledge ‘07 (Austin College) Emily Samuelson ‘10 (University of Pennsylvania) Tiffini Smith ‘09 (Texas Tech University) Rachel Stepp ‘07 (Baylor University)

Track and Field: Nicole Dory ‘10 (William and Mary) Volleyball (Girls): Madeleine Shroyer ’09 (Washington University)


Fall Sports Coaches Varsity Football Head Coach Frank Gendusa* fgendusa@fwcds.org Asst. Coaches Bill Arnold ‘86 barnold@fwcds.org Ken Allen kallen@fwcds.org Brian Farda bfarda@fwcds.org Brian Westendorf ‘95 brwestendorf@fwcds.org Pepper Ackers ‘92 packers7@sbcglobal.net Victor Arguijo vmascout@sbcglobal.net Colin Douglas ‘06 colin.douglas@tcu.edu James Rains jamesrains@fwcds.org

JV Football Head Coach Ken Allen kallen@fwcds.org Asst. Coaches Colin Douglas ‘06 colin.douglas@tcu.edu Brian Westenfdorf ‘95 brwestendorf@fwcds.org MS A Football Head Coach James Rains jamesrains@fwcds.org Asst. Coaches Terry Edwards terryedwardsjr2@yahoo.com

MS B Football Asst. Coaches James Rains jamesrains@fwcds.org Will Beckworth wbeckworth@fwcds.org Ed Craver ecraver@fwcds.org Varsity Field Hockey Head Coach Paige Chisholm* ‘87 pchisholm@fwcds.org Asst. Coach Chloe Bade ‘05 cbade@fwcds.org

JV Field Hockey Coaches Merrick Bean ‘02 merrick.bean@gmail.com Marisa Williamson mwilliamson@fwcds.org

JV Girls Volleyball Head Coach Aimee Jenkins ajenkins@fwcds.org Asst. Coach Jamie Robinson ‘06

MS A Field Hockey Head Coach Mike Vincent mvincent@fwcds.org

MS A Girls Volleyball Head Coach Jessica Varnell ‘06 varnelljd@hendrix.edu Asst. Coach Amanda Whalen awhalen@fwcds.org

MS B Field Hockey Head Coach Valerie Montgomery ‘01 vmontgomery@fwcds.org Varsity Cross Country Head Coach DeAnn Hall* dhall@fwcds.org Asst. Coaches Bob Booth bbooth@fwcds.org John Cordell jcordell@fwcds.org MS Cross Country Head Coach Joe Murph jmurph@fwcds.org Varsity Boys Volleyball Head Coach Missi Kovachev* ‘89 mkovachev@fwcds.org Asst. Coaches Brett Miller ‘06 Brett_Miller@baylor.edu Brent Zuege brent.h.zuege@citi.com

MS B Girls Volleyball Head Coach Jackie Rains jrains@fwcds.org Asst. Coach Amanda Whalen awhalen@fwcds.org Varsity Cheerleading Head Coach Robin Willis* rwillis@fwcds.org JV Cheerleading Head Coach Leslie Dyer dyer.leslie@gmail.com MS Cheerleading Head Coach Courtney Bourgeois cbourgeois@fwcds.org Athletic Trainers Head Ed Chisholm echisholm@fwcds.org Assistant Jenna Strom jstrom@fwcds.org

JV Boys Volleyball Asst. Coaches Brett Miller ‘06 Brett_Miller@baylor.edu Brent Zuege brent.h.zuege@citi.com Varsity Girls Volleyball Head Coach Butch Traeder* btraeder@fwcds.org Asst. Coach Bree Stubbs aggiegirl01@sbcglobal.net

Footbal Equipment Mgr. Melissa Williams mwilliams@fwcds.org

*Indicates Program Director

Got Questions? Get Answers! If you have a question about the athletic program at FWCD, e-mail Athletic Director Frank Gendusa at AskFrank@fwcds.org. 5


Following the Falcons just got easier with just one snap! The snap below is optimized for Webenabled smartphones. To experience it, download Microsoft’s Tag Reader on your mobile at http://gettag.mobi. Once the free app is up and running, aim your smartphone’s camera at the box and snap it to reveal the FWCD athletics schedule.

NON-PROFIT ORG. U.S. POSTAGE PAID FORT WORTH, TX PERMIT NO. 676

4200 Country Day Lane Fort Worth, Texas 76109-4299 RETURN SERVICE REQUESTED

S N A P I T

Get the free app for your phone at http://gettag.mobi

Frasher Pergande

GOT FALCON CLUB?

SAVE THE DATES! Homecoming Football Game Friday, October 1 at 7:30 Senior Fall Athlete Recognition Friday, October 22 Varsity Football Game (halftime) Battle of Bryant Irvin Friday, October 29 7:30 at Trinity Valley 6

Falcon Club is the parent volunteer group thats purpose is to create school spirit, support and enthusiasm for FWCD athletics throughout the school community. Last year, through your Falcon club memberships, Sports Program ads and merchandise sales, $35,000 was raised to purchase equipment and other much needed items for FWCD athletics that were not included in the school budget. There are a number of ways to get involved in the Falcon Club. The most important is to become a member! Membership levels range from $100 to $1000, there are perks and gifts at each level. To download the Falcon Club Membership form, go to www.fwcd.org, click the Athletic Button, you will see the Falcon Club on the bottom of the page. Another way to get involved is to volunteer! The Falcon Club needs parents to help with Falcon Frenzy, team moms, line judges for volleyball, scorekeepers for basketball, running chains at football games, just to name a few! We hope to see you at the games. Make sure to wear RED! Falcon Club Gear can be found at the Campus Store and the Falcon Club Nest at home Football Games.

GO FALCONS! Kimberly and Randy Ferguson Falcon Club Presidents

FWCD Athletics Newsletter - Summer 2010  

Summer 2010 Athletics Newsletter