Page 1

OPUS 3 ARTISTS and Frankly Music present the

March 11, 2014 St. Paul’s Episcopal Church 914 E Knapp St.
Milwaukee, WI 53202

Daniel Ching, violin William Fedkenheuer, violin John Largess, viola Joshua Gindele, cello PROGR A M Quartet in D Major, Op. 64, No. 5, “The Lark”............................................................................. HAYDN Allegro moderato (1732-1809) Adagio cantabile Menuetto: Allegretto Finale: Vivace String Quartet No. 5 (1991)................................................................................................................GLASS I (b. 1937) II III IV V INTERMISSION Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”............................................................................................................. SCHUBERT Allegro (1797-1828) Andante con moto Scherzo: Allegro molto Presto Exclusive Management: Opus 3 Artists | 470 Park Avenue South 9th Floor North New York NY 10016

M I R Ó Q UA R T E T The Miró Quartet is Faculty String Quartet in Residence at The University of Texas at Austin. Now in their 18th year, the Miró Quartet is consistently praised for their deeply musical interpretations, exciting performances, and thoughtful programming. Each season, the Miró Quartet performs throughout the world on the most important chamber music series and on the most prestigious concert stages, garnering accolades from critics and audiences alike. Of a recent performance, the Cleveland Plain Dealer wrote: “Throughout the concert, the Miró gave lessons in the art of the string quartet, shaping each of the night’s scores with a blend of refinement and vibrancy that drew the listener deeply inside the sonic arguments.” Concert highlights of recent seasons include a highly anticipated and sold out return to Carnegie Hall to perform Beethoven’s complete Opus 59 Quartets (which they also recorded); collaborations with award-winning actor Stephen Dillane as part of Lincoln Center’s White Lights Festival; and festival appearances at Chamber Music Northwest, Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival, Music@Menlo, and Ottawa ChamberFest. The 2013-2014 season will bring the Miró Quartet back to Alice Tully Hall under the auspices of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, in addition to North American performances in Cincinnati, Houston, Baltimore, and Vancouver to name a few. The Quartet will also premiere a new Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Kevin Puts with the University of Texas Symphony Orchestra, and subsequently perform the work with the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra and the Naples Philharmonic Orchestra. Internationally, the Quartet will perform at the Chamber Music Today Festival in South Korea, as well as a multi-city tour of Japan. Additionally, the Quartet will make their debut at the Hong Kong Chamber Music Festival. The Miró Quartet regularly collaborates with pianist Jon Kimura Parker, percussionist Colin Currie, and mezzo-soprano Sasha Cooke (whom they recently collaborated with on the quartet’s Schubert Interrupted recording). Formed in 1995, the Miró Quartet took first prizes at several national and international competitions including the Banff International String Quartet Competition and the Naumburg Chamber Music Competition. In 2005, the Miró Quartet became the first ensemble ever to be awarded the coveted Avery Fisher Career Grant. The Miró Quartet has served as the quartet-in-residence at the University of Texas at Austin Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music since 2003. Deeply committed to music education, members of the Miró Quartet have given master classes at universities and conservatories throughout the world. Based in Austin, TX, the Miró Quartet took its name from the Spanish artist, Joan Miró, whose surrealist works — with subject matter drawn from the realm of memory and imaginative fantasy — are some of the most original of the 20th century. Additional information about the Quartet may be found at


Frankly Music


Linda Tojek, President Barbara Wanless, Vice President Marta Haas, Secretary Calvin C. Kozlowski, Treasurer Dr. Russell Brooker Isaac Thompson Patricia Crump Jean Holmburg Judy Keyes Wendy Slocum For more information please visit: or email us at and check us out on Facebook ,Twitter, and youtube! Call 414.940.8770 if you wish to be added to the mailing list, or join online. Please go to to purchase tickets



May 12, 2014, 7 PM

Schwan Concert Hall, Wisconsin Lutheran College

Mir贸 Quartet


DONORS $5000-9999 Frank Almond Demmer Foundation Mr. and Mrs. Robert Denton Tom and Kay Schanke Peter and Wendy Slocum Bert L. and Patricia Steigleder Trust United Performing Arts Fund $3000-4999 Angela Johnston Judy Keyes Kate and Don Wilson $2000-2999 CAMPAC Michael and Jeanne Schmitz The Red Headed Chef Wisconsin Arts Board $1000-1999 Greg Chrisafis Mr. and Mrs. Jim Saladin Mr. and Mrs. Alan Salzstein Elaine Schueler $500-999 Robert Baird & Co. Franklin Esenberg Michael Gonzalez Charles and Jean Holmburg John and Judith McGourthy MaryEllen Mitchanis William and Gwen Niewoehner Mr. and Mrs. Allen Rieselbach Patricia Van Alyea $250-499 Mr. and Mrs. Jim Caraway Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Crump Ms. Rachel Finger Mr. and Mrs. James Gozdowiak Mr. and Mrs. Doyne Haas Terry Haller Mr. and Mrs. David Hecker Bob and Gail Korb Mr. and Mrs. Calvin Kozlowski David and MaryAnn Lindberg 4

Frankly Music

Christel Mildenberg Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra Charles and Marilyn Perry Mr. and Mrs. Roger Ritzow Kathleen Ryan Steinway Piano Gallery Mr. and Mrs. Isasc Thompson Gile and Linda Tojek Mr. and Mrs. Blair Williams $100-249 Beverly Anold Kay and Fred Austermann Bartolotta Restaurant Group Jim and Mary Beth Berkes Mr. and Mrs. John Bosbous Dr. and Mrs. Russell Brooker John Burke III Paul and Lori Cannestra Stephen and Nancy Einhorn Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Gallagher George and Anna Gaspar Katherine Grogan Ms. Karleen Haberichter David and Margarete Harvey Scott Haag Burleigh E. Jacobs Gary and Judy Jorgensen Mrs. Dorothy Kenngott Mr. and Mrs. Martin Krebs Mr. Kevin Langreck Mr. and Mrs. John Lubing Mr. and Mrs. Alexander MacGillis Clifford Madsen Keith Mardak Tanya Mazor-Posner Mae Carol Matousek John and Christine Mc Dermott Mr. and Mrs. James McGavock Merrill McLoughlin John and Susan McNally Milwaukee Ballet Cindy Molloy Dr. Richard Murray Mr. and Mrs. Duane Nadolski Mr. and Mrs. William Paul Linda Radder David Rasmussen

Charles Roy Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Schnuck Sharon Lynne Wilson Center Skylight Music Theatre Fred and Patricia Storm Barb and Harry Stratton Dr. and Mrs. Sherman Swanson David Ungermann Tom and Ellen Walvoord Dr. and Mrs. Sam Wann Otto and Reinhilde Wiegmann Prati and Norm Wojtal $99 and under Constance Almond Buzz Killer Espresso David and MaryJo Dandurand Mr. Scott Downey Mr. and Mrs. John Emory Jr. Ms. Carol Goldstein Trudy Haas Mr. and Mrs. G.O. Headrick Betty Lee Hunter Mr. and Mrs. David Jones K. Paul and Alyce Katayama Henry Koc Judith Lasca Robert and Carolyn Lawrence John and Kiara Mack Katharine Malin Milwaukee Chamber Theatre Milwaukee Repertory Theater Next Act Theatre Mary Novak Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Richman Mr. George Simonds Ms. Margaret Steinam Robert and Alice Streicher Temple Hills Coffee The Philharmonic Joy Towell L. David and Sally Waibel Ms. Marie Weiss Mr. and Mrs.Steven Witteman Greg and Gelaney Wyder C. Merrill and Mary York

Frankly Music - Miró Quartet  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you