Page 1

ISSUE ELEVEN| AUGUST 2015

maria glot | shipley street arts| rainbow morris


British Science Festival Bradford 7–10 September Celebrate the best of British science. Expand your horizons with four days of free events, talks and performances from across the scientific spectrum. Join leading academics to discover, discuss and debate the latest ideas and innovations set to change our future. To discover more, visit: britishsciencefestival.org BritishScienceFestival @BritishSciFest #BSF15 BritSciAssoc

Save the date! HOSTED BY

SUPPORTED BY

The British Science Association is a registered charity: 212479 and SC039236


Contents ISSUE ELEVEN AUGUST 2015

5_a note from the editor 6_maria glot interview 14_shipley street arts festival 20_the cellar trust 24_rainbow morris 28_saltaire festival opening weekend 30_sunday at the saltaire festival 34_LIVE MUSIC previews 38_WHAT’S ON 42_quick fire questions This month’s cover was provided by SIMON SUGDEN whose stunning picture was among the many wonderful photos sent in this month. If you’d like to see your image on the cover send your entry to submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk.

SUBMISSIONS If you would like to contribute to the Saltaire Review email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group or activity.

ADVERTISE

For more information on how to advertise email advertise@thesaltairereview.co.uk.

DISCLAIMER This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying without permission.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


A VERY LOCAL EDUCATION ADULT GUIDANCE EVENING:

Tuesday 7th July & Thursday 27th August, 4.30-7.30pm Salt Building, Victoria Road, Saltaire, BD18 3LQ

Part-time co guide 15/1 urse 6 coming soon. Preorder your copy today!

w: www.shipley.ac.uk t: 01274 327222 e: enquiries@shipley.ac.uk


A note from the editor By mike farren

O

ver the last few months, the Saltaire was my great fortune to take the helm in an Review has become part of the fabric exciting month, after we have enjoyed the of the village. When I spoke to this bustle and the colour of the Shipley Street month’s featured interviewee Maria Glot, she Arts Festival. We are also starting to gear up in voiced what many had said to earnest for the Saltaire Festival, me: “It’s wonderful is the Saltaire and we continue our look at the Review. I’ve read every copy Festival’s musical strand, which “I feel Saltaire cover to cover, and I promote it we began last month, as well as is really like mad among all my visitors.” providing a general preview of the drama, arts and crafts, food coming into The Saltaire Review has been a and drink and the many other its own as boon for me, too, giving me the events that make the Festival so a thriving, opportunity to get to know the eagerly anticipated. fascinating characters who make creative Saltaire such a wonderful place However, away from the highcommunity, to live. All of this has come at a profile festivals everyday life time when I feel Saltaire is really goes on, with the invaluable living with coming into its own as a thriving, work provided by the Cellar heritage but creative community, living with Trust and another of the groups not being heritage but not being defined – Rainbow Morris – who provide by it. Saltaire with its character. defined by it.” To be entrusted with the guest editorship for a month while Haigh takes a little time to pursue other projects is a great honour for me, and I hope I haven’t slipped too far from the high standards he has set. It

Above all I was pleased to get an interview with Maria Glot, one of the characters who has helped shape the Saltaire we know and love today. This, too, was an honour for which I am profoundly grateful.

5


You can’t promote Saltaire sitting on your backside! Maria Glot, with the help of ‘common as muck’ millworker Ellin Dooley, puts Saltaire on the map. BY mike farren

M

aria Glot’s association with Saltaire began early. A bright girl from a Polish-speaking household, she found that her English skills were holding her back at St. Walburga’s primary school and she was in danger of being B-streamed. Maria responded with typical pragmatism and determination. “I thought, ‘I’m going to find a library.’ I walked from St. Walburga’s to the library in Saltaire and said, ‘I need someone to help me speak English.’ A wonderful lady put a book in my hand. It was Jane Eyre. I think I can remember every word of that book. I loved it. I started it and every day I popped down there and read.”

listen to Maria instead, and once she became fluent they started to talk to her about their lives. “I listened to stories of real people who lived and worked in Saltaire. I always feel they’re more true to life than what historians write. I use these stories now in my talks. I’ve been told fascinating stories of Saltaire. I knew at the age of nine that I was totally involved.”

“‘Come to Bradford and die.’ was literally what was in the newspapers.”

Not only did this put her fledgling academic career back on track, it also kindled the love of two things that have come to be central to her life - Saltaire and the stories of everyday people.

A large part of Maria’s character could be seen as having been shaped by tragedies that took place before she was born. She explains her family background. “My grandfather owned a farm in Poland. He was a kulak – a landowner – he had a wife, children, everything. Then, in the middle of the night, February 1942, the Russians marched in with guns. The family were shipped out to Siberia because they wouldn’t sign their land over to the collective. My grandmother starved to death.”

When the librarian was busy old former mill workers who went to read the newspapers would

After arriving in England in 1947 the family initially settled around Dewsbury, where Maria

6


photo courtesy of saltairevillageexperience.co.uk

As Bradford Council’s Tourism Officer, Maria Glot marketed Saltaire as an industrial heritage site in the 1980s.

Ripper was killing people. No matter what people in Bradford tried to do to invite inward investment, they couldn’t. ‘Come to Bradford and die.’ was literally what was in the newspapers.

would be born, before grandfather’s dislike of seeing his family in a council house led him to uproot them to St. Paul’s Road, Shipley. This was her home while at St. Walburga’s and St. Joseph’s College, until she left to study politics and history at Liverpool University.

It was then that the Council, reasoning that innovative thinking was needed, decided to encourage tourism to the area. After failing to recruit readymade experts they went internal. Despite knowing nothing about tourism Maria applied, and a rigorous selection process ended with a ringing endorsement, ‘Maria, we’ve decided to give you the job. You’re the best of a bad bunch!’

Although after university Maria lived in Brighton and London, she returned to Bradford so that she could be near her family with her young son and took a job in the recreation division of Bradford Council. It was 1978 and she paints a grim picture of the city then. “63,000 jobs were lost in Bradford between 1974 and 1979,” she tells me. “Unemployment on council estates was 25%. The Yorkshire

With a one-year appointment and the hint that many thought it an impossible job,

7


photo by tom humphreys

what ensued was a year of hard graft and struggles with preconceptions about Bradford that almost saw the cynics proved right. “The Tourist Boards patted me on the head and said, ‘Maria, nobody’s going to sell Bradford as a tourist destination.’ I kept telling people, ‘We’ve got the Five Rise Locks, we’ve got the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway, we’ve got the beautiful Brontes… you should see Ilkley Moor!’” Undaunted Maria and her team put together packages such as In The Footsteps Of The Brontes and The Industrial Heritage Trail, found an agent and fixed a London launch. “I got myself a Bronte frock, sent out invites, then got on the 125 to London. Because I was a local government officer I wasn’t allowed a taxi. I had to come on the underground in costume!” Once more no press turned up but salvation came from an unexpected source.

“The Tourist Boards patted me on the head and said, ‘Maria, nobody’s going to sell Bradford as a tourist destination.’”

“This lovely man stopped me in the reception and said, ‘You don’t look very happy’. I said, ‘I’m not. I’ve failed. I’m trying to sell Bradford as a tourist destination. I think it’s wonderful but nobody’s listening.’”

photo by mike farren

his tricorn hat, ermine, chains and full regalia. We ordered a red carpet and flower baskets. We went to Bottomley’s in Keighley and ordered a giant stick of rock with Bradford through it. I got Hammonds Brass Band playing Ilkley Moor.” The tour included a visit to Saltaire where Edward Stammers, MD of the still-working mill, presented a bolt of cloth.

The lovely man in question was comedian and writer Spike Milligan. He phoned his press friends and helped out for three days. Suddenly there was some positive publicity. The first booking, of an Industrial Heritage package, came in August. “I said, ‘Why have you booked?’ He said, ‘All the neighbours were going on about these places they were going to, Greece or Spain, so I said I was going to Bradford.’”

Tourism in Bradford went from strength to strength for the next few years. “At the end of that first year we’d had four and a half thousand people. The hotels loved me. Everybody loved me.” However, Maria is keen to share credit with others – marketing manager Eddie Fenn, Mike Woodhams, and conservation officer Arthur Saul. “We did ‘Bradford – A Surprising

Eager to make the most of this coup Maria made arrangements. “The Lord Mayor put on

8


Left to Right: Maria Glot as Ellin Dooley, Roger Clarke as Rev. David Cowan, Viv Swaine as Mrs. Susan Excell & Sally Clegg as Mrs. Caroline Hill.

her beloved Saltaire. Her current major interest, Salts Walks, had its roots in research for Shipley College, looking at potential for a conference and education centre for guided walks. As the College didn’t have the resources or expertise Maria once again took it up, with the first guides being herself and Clive Woods, the local historian and another key figure in the rebirth of Saltaire. “We set it up with the view that it had to make money but the overwhelming reason was that we wanted people who visited Saltaire to have the best experience they could. We also wanted to spread business around the village. We made sure that if a group came they would eat in the Mill for instance, they’d have tea, coffee and biscuits at the church, then they’d have an afternoon tea in one of the tea rooms. I still do that today “As we were doing this, if there were any extra profits Clive suggested we could put the blue and white street signs back. It’s amazing how quickly you raise money when you’ve got a cause. The Village Society continued until every single one was done. Then Saltaire United Reformed Church needed some help, so we started the walks there, and each group raises money. I’ve just written a cheque for £518.”

Place’ and all the beautiful posters. That was Eddie Fenn’s idea.” Of course Maria’s work brought her into contact with Jonathan Silver. “I went straight to him when he bought the mill. He was going to put in shop units. I explained how tourism gives the impression of a nice place to be. He listened. He’s the one who said, ‘Wherever you’re living, Maria, move to Saltaire.’ And I did. That was 1987. Now when I say I live in Saltaire, people say, ‘You lucky thing,’ but it wasn’t like that when I first bought it. You could buy a house here for less than anything in Bradford.”

A few days after the interview I sit in as Maria and her team – Roger Clarke, Sally Clegg, Sheila Lansdale and Viv Swain – take 72 German schoolchildren around Saltaire. The tour is informative, but Maria delights in the amiable humiliation of a couple of the party, along with a line in double-entendres that would make the Carry On team blush. “We know how to pitch,” she explains. “The children like the gory bits. They like to know what happened to the wee

After taking redundancy from Bradford Council in 1995 Maria narrowed her focus to

9


photo courtesy of saltairevillageexperience.co.uk

Maria Glot meets the BBC’s Countryfile team outside her Saltaire home.

and the poo. We tell them that they were beaten in school and they like that. Equally adults like the fact that if they ask a serious question, we’re very knowledgeable. There’s very little we don’t know about Saltaire.”

grandmother!’ This happens all the time, not just in the groups that come here. I go out and speak to groups. You can’t promote your area sitting on your backside.”

“Saltaire This sense of energy and purpose The character who allows Maria is typical of Maria. It’s also the kind has to be so much licence is Ellin Dooley, of vitality she appreciates in her a living ‘common as muck, lowest of the surroundings. “Saltaire has to be a low, ordinary mill worker, with living thing. I love the street market thing. I twelve children and another on and music in the park. You’ve got love the the way’. She adopted the Dooley to have events and music to bring character seven years ago. “Each people in. We can’t preserve it in street person who comes to Saltaire aspic. Titus Salt wouldn’t. It had market gets a laminated bookmark with to make money or it wasn’t worth the history of a real person. One doing. I think he’d love this. I just and music year a WI from Derby got off want it to be a lovely place to live the coach and I handed them and work which, certainly for me, in the all a bookmark and this woman it is.” park.” looked down and said, ‘Who set me up? I’ve been going on for Thanks to Maria and those like her, ages about researching my family. You’ve just that’s how Saltaire is for many others as well. put Ellin Dooley in my hand. That’s my great10


Tues steak night

5oz Fillet, chips, tomatoes, mushrooms plus glass of wine or pint of beer only £12 (10oz T-bone £15)

Wed to Fri

Early bird – 2 courses only £13.95 (order before 7pm)

Open Tues to Sat from 6pm

Top quality British food – Fantastic canalside location

visit www.waterside-restaurant.co.uk for menus 7 Wharf Street, Shipley, BD17 7DW Tel 01274 594444 (Opposite the Tapas Tree and downstairs from the gym)

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

THE ORIGINAL EMMERDALE PUB

Great food • hand pulled ales • warm welcome Open seven days a week Quiz night and Play Your Cards Right – Thurs starting at 9pm • Live bands visit www.thewoolpackesholt.com for menus, events & food times Follow us on facebook 20 Main Street, Esholt, BD17 7QZ • Tel 01274 809495


“For all your legal needs” Convenient parking nearby Close to Shipley station

34 Westgate, Shipley, Bradford West Yorkshire, BD18 3QX

Telephone: 01274 580999 Email: info@birdanddaniels.com www.birdanddaniels.com

‘Independent property professionals in Saltaire since 1982

‘we are here to help you SELL your property’

www.cotsonreddish.co.uk

01274 533124


An Invitation... Thinking of Selling or Letting? This is an invitation to receive a free valuation of your property and to discuss all aspects of selling or letting your home with our local experienced sales and lettings teams. All of our staff have a wealth of knowledge of the local area and would be delighted to spend time discussing a marketing package best suited to you. To arange a convenient appointment please contact us on the number below.

55 Bingley Road | Saltaire | BD18 4SB

01274 592280

saltaire@kmmaxfield.com www.kmmaxfield.com


Street Arts Festival goes swimmingly Meticulous planning helps waterway-themed festival make a splash By Helen Carr of Shipley recognise the benefits of an arts festival, so we’re proud to be hosting one.

First off, we’d like to say a huge thank you to all the marvellous people who contributed time and effort to Shipley Street Arts Festival 2015, and to everybody who came along and enjoyed all the colours, sounds and sights over three days of fun. We’re very proud of how it all came together, and we’ve been delighted by the responses. Teachers have said the festival provided invaluable opportunities for children, performers were thrilled by enthusiastic audiences and people have really appreciated the efforts to provide so much creative opportunity and artistic enlightenment.

As a local arts entertainment business Q20 Theatre is a familiar face in Shipley. In the past we’ve had pirate days, Christmas parades, Valentine’s Day amusements, the very popular photography gallery (Shipley Focus’d) and countless creative workshops, which we’ve always enjoyed what “It was with Shipley being our home. We fantastic see the potential and know the importance of investing in the to see the people. With the loss of Shipley’s creative Town Centre Management vision of team this year - due to Bradford local people Council cuts - it was more vital than ever to redouble our efforts alongside bring arts experiences to the the work of to people of Shipley, and not to let renowned its communities be marginalised. street Shipley Street Arts Festival 2015 performance was a festival with a mission!

You may be surprised to learn it takes a year to put together a festival of three days. There’s a huge amount of work involved - planning, applying for funding, more planning, liaising artistes.” with the council, community We decided this year on a theme, groups and centres, schools, something that directly connected booking performers, more planning, lots with Shipley and the local area. We focused of paperwork and thousands of hours of on Rivers and Canals, the canal of course dedicated work. But of course it’s worth the having been such an essential part of Shipley’s effort. As the feedback proves the people history, transporting goods from the many

14


photo by roger v moody

Acrobats and performers brought colour and excitement to the streets of Saltaire.

mills in the area to the rest of the country. Though the days of the Industrial Revolution are long gone and you’ll no longer see horsedrawn barges the canal and the river remain, still shaping the towns that grew around them. And though sometimes easy to overlook, they continue to be sources of astonishing local beauty, providing many leisure opportunities and home to a dazzling array of wildlife.

Catt and made with the help of local children. It was fantastic to see the creative vision of local people alongside the work of renowned street performance artistes. It was inspiring to see the huge fish decorated by our local schoolchildren alongside The Whale (the inflatable whale with a mermaid story-teller inside, presented by Circo Rum Ba Ba, was a big hit with visitors both young and old), to hear local musicians play as you watched the mesmerising Pif-Pif ‘Planetary’ – a performance and sculpture in one – and to be the first audiences for 2Faced Dance’s brand new superhero-themed show KAPOW!, which goes on an international tour this year. Through the Shipley Street Arts and Saltaire Festival joint commission, 2Faced Dance presented its opening performances of KAPOW! at Shipley’s Festival in June and will return for a second set at the Saltaire Festival in September.

We were delighted by the responses from our local schools and community groups. Fabulous creations came flooding in, with shoals of fish swimming along the railings of Shipley Baptist Church, the SHIPLEY letters – returning from last year – reimagined and recreated, waves of artworks for this year’s new art trail, a rowing boat inscribed with thoughts and memories of the canal from local residents and of course the large-scale leviathan fish sculpture designed by Morwenna

15


photo by roger v moody

photo by simon sugden

photo by simon sugden

Family fun, entertainment and super-heroics at the Shipley Street Arts Festival.

With the pirate show, the crafts market, face painting, dance performances, music of every style, a film screening, workshops, a giant heron, canal-side history-based shows and everything else, there was so much to do and see. And we hope it will continue to grow – every year we want the festival to get a little bit bigger and a bit more ambitious. Because the effort invested in three days of arts and entertainment has a ripple effect (keeping to the theme of water!) which grows and keeps profiting the people of the communities around it.

16

One of our favourite things from the festival this year was the creation of the large-scale pavement art, run by Urban Canvas. It involved a drawing of a huge, bright-eyed nautilus with long tentacles reaching out across the length of Wellcroft, its whole body decorated by locals and visitors, each of them contributing to a spectacular piece of artwork, engaging with the community and exploring their own creative impulses – in short, a perfect way to sum up the Shipley Street Arts Festival.


DC Marvel Image Dark Horse IDW

AD

Units 35 & 36 | Shipley Indoor Market Hall | Westgate | Shipley | BD18 3QT T. 07851 779366 | E. info@narrowescapecomics.co.uk

cellar the

Volunteer Ambassadors

trust

Building brighter futures with people recovering from mental health problems

The Cellar Trust is looking for Volunteer Ambassadors to help support its community fundraising programme. This varied and rewarding role involves helping to run fundraising activities, representing the charity at events and engaging people with the work that we do. For a discussion about the role, or to request an information pack with application details please contact Andrew McCarthy E: andrew.mccarthy@thecellartrust.org T: 01274 586474 For details of all volunteering opportunities at The Cellar Trust contact volunteering@thecellartrust.org

www.thecellartrust.org /TheCellarTrust @TheCellarTrust


HAIR DESIGN TEAM TEL: 01274 591 916

Venue Hire, Weddings, Events...

appointment card Hair Design Team 97 Kirkgate Shipley BD18 3LR www. hairdesignteam.co.uk

30% off

HAIR DESIGN TEAM TEL: 01274 591 916

A Cut and Finish appointment card HAIR DESIGN with this TEAM advert TEL:*New 01274 591Only 916 Customers

appointment card

Hair Design Team 97 Kirkgate Shipley Hair Design Team BD18 3LR 97 Kirkgate

Come and talk to our friendly team to help you plan your next event. 01274 327305

Shipley

www. hairdesignteam.co.uk BD18 3LR

www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk

HAIR DESIGN TEAM

www. hairdesignteam.co.uk

Registered Charity 511978

TEL: 01274 591 916

appointment card Hair Design Team 97 Kirkgate Shipley BD18 3LR www. hairdesignteam.co.uk

Independent record shop, real ale, craft beer, charcuterie counter. The Record CafĂŠ, 45-47 North Parade, Bradford, BD1 3JH

therecordcafe.co.uk

01274 723 143

facebook/therecordcafe

@therecordcafe


Open to all for Breakfast, Lunch, Evening Meals & Live Entertainment

Victoria Mills, Salts Mill Road, Shipley

Tel: 01274 592078 @VM_Lounge

VMLounge

s ’ e f f i l c t u S ltaire of Sa

The Quality

Family Butcher Est 1954

OWN TRADITIONAL DRY CURED BACON Home Made Sausages & Black Pudding Fresh Poultry & Licensed Game Dealer Locally Sourced Beef, Lamb and pork

FREE ENTRY NaTioNalmEdiamusEum.oRg.uk/lighT

OPENING HOURS Monday: 8am - 4pm Tuesday: Closed Wednesday: 8am - 4.30pm Thursday: 8am - 4.30pm Friday: 8am - 4.30pm Saturday: 8am - 1pm Sunday: Closed 14 Katherine Street, Saltaire Tel: 01274 584174

10% Off With This Advert!


Building brighter futures How the Cellar Trust provides therapeutic support, training and hope for those affected by mental health issues

By Andrew McCarthy furniture and dressing-up clothes, which were sold through local craft fairs. The aim was to provide a relaxed non-threatening environment where people could gain confidence and social skills before applying for paid employment.”

Over 100,000 people in Bradford and Airedale suffer from mental ill health and nationally one in four experience mental health problems each year. This can not only have a devastating effect on individuals and those close to them but is also a major concern for local and national economies. The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development estimates mental health issues cost the UK economy around £70 billion a year. The Cellar Trust, based in Shipley, is a registered charity working to help people affected by mental ill health across Bradford and surrounding areas. Many of those the charity works with have experienced multiple deprivation and have little sense of direction or hope of a better future. The Trust’s founding principle is that every individual has value and potential and can learn, develop and grow.

The project and demand for its services has grown - particularly after changes in mental health provision resulting from the closure of large psychiatric hospitals. The Trust responded by combining therapeutic activity with vocational skill development “As well and training to help people recover and get back to work. as having When the project outgrew its therapeutic original home it relocated to the value, the skill old St Walburga’s Primary, where shops provide it still operates.

experience in a real, working environment.”

With a background in higher education management, ShutlerJones led a government funded initiative on health and wellbeing in higher education, including founding the UK Universities Wellbeing and Engagement Network. “The Trust now works with around 250 people a year, all referred by GPs and secondary mental health services. Its service is unique in the Bradford area, combining one-to-one and group therapeutic support, personal development, education, training and work experience to offer a pathway back to employment and education.”

The Cellar Trust’s Chief Executive, Kim ShutlerJones explains that the charity was originally established in the mid-1980s by a Bradford social worker. “It was initiated in frustration that there was so little provision in the community for people with long-term mental health problems. It began operating in the cellar of a Victorian house used as a group home for people recently discharged from hospital. Woodwork, textiles and painting workshops produced children’s play

Supported

20

employment

opportunities

are


photo by luke holroyd

Crafts such as woodworking are part of the skills training offered by the Cellar Trust. available through a range of ‘skill shops’. Retail operates in the Trust’s charity shop on Kirkgate, Shipley, and catering from the Cellar Trust cafe on Farfield Road, which is also home to conferencing and reception, with facilities used by community groups, local companies and employers, and a woodwork skill shop, producing handmade garden furniture and other products. Horticulture is at an allotment in Marley, growing organic fruit and vegetables for the Trust’s cafe and Shipley Health Store. Animal care is run from Prism City Farm.

those working with The Cellar Trust to realise their potential. “The Cellar Trust is committed to empowering people who have experienced mental health problems to take control of their lives and regain independence, by developing the confidence and skills to return to employment or education. “The Trust receives around half the funds it needs to maintain its services from the NHS and Bradford Council. That leaves around £250,000 to be raised through earned income (e.g. the Trust’s cafe and charity shop), and fundraising – including grants from charitable funders, local business support and individual donations.”

“As well as having therapeutic value, the skill shops provide experience in a real, working environment”, explains Shutler-Jones. “People can develop routines, team working and communication skills, while benefiting from support, training and the chance to gain qualifications.” The Trust offers several courses to help people develop practical skills to get back to work or education, as well as a support group helping them once they are in work.

The Trust is currently looking for volunteers to help its community fundraising work through events and other activity aimed at raising the charity’s profile across Bradford. For further details about The Cellar Trust or if you think you can help contact Andrew McCarthy, 01274 586474 and volunteering@thecellartrust.org

Shutler-Jones’s commitment is to to enable

21


Summer is here West Yorkshire Over the past four years, FACEwy has provided a hassle-free print distribution service - specifically tailored to and supportive of arts, culture and enterprise in West Yorkshire - come rain, shine or Yorkshire gale. Wharfedatole; 2,000 flyers ll 100 high footfa locations

Airedale;

Saltaire;

2,000 flyers to ll 100 high footfa locations

1,250 flyers to al 1,250 residenti locations

Bradford City Centre;

Leeds City Centre;

2,000 flyers to ll 100 high footfa locations

100 2,000 flyers to high footfall locations

Packages starting from just £65 per 1,000 flyers 20% off introductory offer on selected packages during July and August 2015

○ Bradford ○ Leeds ○ Calderdale ○ Kirklees ○ Wakefield ○ North Yorkshire ○ York ○ Manchester For more information about our service and packages, or to make a booking, contact Martyn.

07743 426 846 admin@facewy.co.uk www.facewy.co.uk

Local. Independent. At the drop of a hat!


Dallas in Wonderland TV presenter Dallas Campbell gives an insight into his show at the British Science Festival in September

Tell us more about your event at the British Science Festival... It’s a chance to talk about my own science adventure, including why I’m doing what I’m doing, and crucially, why we need to think about science in a much broader less isolated way. Why did you want to come and tell people about your experiences as a TV presenter at the British Science Festival? Television is still one of the main windows in which we can all explore the world. I was hugely influenced by science television growing up. It’s a powerful way of getting people engaged with a wide range of ideas, places and people. What’s the scariest thing you’ve done for a TV programme? Sitting on a twitchy horse as the world’s largest Brazilian cattle herd decide to break rank and stampede past was pretty terrifying!

What’s on your TV presenting ‘to do list’- is there anything you’d like to do, or anyone you really would like to work with? My list is long and extensive. I have wide ranging interests. In an age of obsessive specialisation this is sometimes ‘remarked upon’ which is a dreadful shame. The Ascent Of Man by Jacob Bronowski is still television’s greatest science series to which we all aspire. If Tomorrow’s World ever returned to our screens I would lobby hard to be in the line up. Werner Herzog is high on my list of fantasy people to work with. He has a wonderful way of interpreting the world. I want to try and make interesting, entertaining, thought provoking, popular telly that people want to watch that isn’t measured by brow height. You can see Dallas present his show on Wednesday 9th September at the National Media Museum, Bradford for free. To find out more and book tickets visit: www.britishsciencefestival.org

The British Science Festival is supported by Siemens and hosted by the University of Bradford

23


Jingling Bells and Clattering Clogs Celebrate 25 years of fun and friendship with Rainbow Morris in Roberts Park

Y

By MARJORIE LEACH ou can celebrate Rainbow Morris’s and Lancashire e.g. Peover, Knutsford and Silver Jubilee, along with other local Blackburn. During the First World War women dance teams, in Roberts Park near became involved in Morris dancing to ensure the bandstand, 1-4pm on Saturday 8 August. the tradition didn’t die. You’ll hear the sound of music, jingling bells, the clatter of clogs and shaking of sticks made The origins of some of the dances which took from mill bobbins and recognise us by our place in Wakes Weeks were to celebrate the bright, blue waistcoats and coming of spring, and the onskirts decorated with rainbowgoing Rushbearing processions coloured ribbons. We’ll also be symbolise the Harvest Festival “It has kept wearing straw hats bedecked - we danced at Sowerby Bridge me fit, been with flowers and either waving Rushbearing procession last vibrant red hankies or dancing September. Many traditional fun and with colourful garland hoops. dances have been adapted offered good, If you wish you can join in and new ones devised. Alison, supportive the Festival Frolic - a simple one of our members, very friendships skipping dance. We’re also successfully choreographed a dancing on 12 September at while the team Rainbow Knitting Dance in line Saltaire Festival. with the 2013 Saltaire Festival has provided theme, which we performed in valued The Rainbow Morris team or Roberts Park. Saltaire residents side was formed in 1990. We’re entertainment.” might remember the Victoria a mixed dance team without Road lions wearing their scarves any men at present and the then! dance style is a form of English folk dance. North West Morris style is based on processional The earliest reference to Morris dancing was dances with a dance leader and usually eight, six in Elizabethan times in a courtly setting. The or four dancers. The leader calls the figures. The North West Morris tradition was developed by dances consist of a repeated chorus (step up) mill workers in the 19th century and many of separated by five or six movements – e.g. stars, the dances are named after towns in Cheshire rounds, squares, middle and back, cross and

24


Rainbow Morris bring ancient traditions to life with colour and enthusiasm.

circle - and end with a dance off. The rhythmic steps tend to be a polka (rant), skipping or marching step. Traditionally accordion, melodeon, fiddle, guitar and drum accompany the dancing. Without our dedicated musicians (special thanks to Terry) our dancing wouldn’t be as much fun. To sum up my 25-year involvement with Rainbow Morris, it has kept me fit, been fun and offered good, supportive friendships while the team has provided valued entertainment at fetes and festivals. Occasionally the team receives a fee but more often than not we perform for free. A highlight of our dance career was a trip to Prague in 2008 where we danced with teams from all over the world in the centre of the historic city. In the last year we have danced in Keswick, Cockermouth, Durham and St. Anne’s as well as participated in local events in Centenary Square, at church fairs, and outside pubs within a ten mile radius

25

of Saltaire. The dancing is not competitive and always, whether dancing on our own or with other teams, there’s a spirit of goodwill and lots of laughter. Often bigger events end in all teams enthusiastically joining in a mass dance which is enormous fun. If you feel you would like to have a go at Morris Dancing or play a musical instrument for us, please come along to our practice nights. You don’t need previous dancing experience - just a willingness to have a go, though potential musicians need some musical ability! We would dearly like to recruit new members as we want other people to share in the enjoyment we have and would love to see the team going for another 25 years. We practice on Monday evenings (not Bank Holidays) at Shipley Resource Centre on Otley Road, 7-8.30 p.m. Check out our website www.rainbowmorris.co.uk or email our secretary: kay.wilkinson@aol.co.uk for more information.


Hirst Wood Nursery School & Children’s Centre Provide teacher led, quality nursery education for 3-5 year olds If you would like FREE 15 hours for you child, offered as either 2.5 days or morning / afternoon sessions. Before and after school care and top up days, which can be bought to enhance your nursery place, from 8am-6pm Then please contact us using the details below. Clarence Road, Shipley BD18 4NJ Tel: 01274 584 368 • Email: office@hirstwoodnscc.co.uk facebook.com/Hirstwoodnscc

twitter.com/HWNSCC

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Exclusive Offer for Saltaire Review Readers!

Buy one get one free! on all tapas*

Valid from Sunday - Thursday How to Claim Your Discount

This offer is on bookings only. Customers must quote this advert when they book and bring it with them to make sure they receive their discount. *Cheapest Tapas free.

Only redeemable at Tapas Tree Restaurant, Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley, BD17 7DW. Only One voucher per party. Cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer. Management have the right to cancel this offer at any time. Voucher does not have any cash value. Offer subject to change without prior notice.

*Voucher Valid until 31st August 2015


An Exciting Start to Saltaire Festival Festival emphasises community, heritage and the local environment By Ros Garside soldier. Sam recently bought a violin made in 1915 by Richard Howard, shortly before he was conscripted to fight. Made In The Great War tells the moving story of Richard, the last instrument he ever made and how his life was overtaken by World War One.”

One of the reasons for having an arts and community festival in Saltaire is to showcase our wonderful village, one of only two UNESCO World Heritage sites in Yorkshire. This is a particularly strong theme of the Festival’s opening weekend with its emphasis on community, heritage and exploration of the local environment.

On Saturday 12 and Sunday 13 September, pop-up shops will encourage visitors to tour the village finding delights for sale and other surprises. Open gardens allow visitors to see how creatively local people have developed their back yards and for the second year this includes professional outdoor sculpture in each of the gardens. Sculpture by Sam Shendi, a nationally acclaimed artist,

Thus the Festival opens on Friday 11 September with Made In The Great War, and as Simon Hegginbotham, the event promoter, explains, “This event marks the ongoing 100th anniversary of World War One and Sam Sweeney, fiddle player with Bellowhead, has created an extraordinary performance telling the true story of a Yorkshire musician and

photo by joe priestly

Poignant memories of the Bradford City fire in The 56 at Saltaire Festival.

28


will be displayed outside Victoria Hall. Also outside the Hall you’ll be able to share your views on the local area in a public conversation. No doubt you’ll want to venture inside to admire the Hall itself and to enjoy another Saltaire Inspired Makers’ Fair featuring high quality hand-made products. While you’re around that area you might wish to sample the Science Fair in the Salt Building. Here you can meet real-life scientists and sample their work, enjoy hands-on demonstrations and ask questions on life as a scientist. On the fringes of the village don’t miss The Cellar Project in Farfield Road where beautifully crafted woodwork products made in the joinery skill shop include garden furniture and bird boxes, along with plants and herbs. And Canalside Allotments and the new Community Nature Reserve on Hirst Lane will be welcoming visitors. There’ll also be a promenade performance on both Saturday and Sunday - a stroll from the Visitors’ Centre will take you on a dramatic journey through the history, culture and myths linked to our local waterways. Buskers On A Barge, on Saturday afternoon, is another water-based event.

exhibition The Arrival Of Spring will still be showing in Salts Mill throughout the Festival. The Mill also features a children’s art exhibition in the bookshop and a new installation, The Silent Wild. The Methodist Church hosts its own art exhibition which will be open during both weekends of the Festival.

Events in Roberts Park for all the family during the opening weekend were featured in a previous article and there’ll also be music on the bandstand at sunset on Saturday and Sunday afternoon. If you want to know more about Roberts Park, ask a Friend – of Roberts Park that is – by visiting them at their information stall. “Bradford’s

history is remembered on Saturday evening in The 56, a moving documentary drama based entirely on testimony from those who lived through the Bradford City fire.”

Bradford’s history is remembered on Saturday evening in The 56, a moving documentary drama based entirely on testimony from those who lived through the Bradford City fire thirty years ago. The Edinburgh Fringe Review described this play as ‘examining themes of solidarity, strength and community in the face of overwhelming tragedy’. Profits from the production go to the Bradford Burns Unit.

We’re fortunate that the David Hockney

If the thought of all this activity is making you hungry or thirsty then you won’t be disappointed come Festival time. The popular beer festival takes place at Saltaire Brewery on Friday 11 and Saturday 13 September. Don’t Tell Titus on Victoria Road is running two food events on Friday 11 and Sunday 13. There are a number of fine cafes and bars to choose from in the village and around the park and some of the pop-ups are offering refreshments.

Saltaire Festival runs 11 to 20 September and printed programmes are out now. Please also check our website (www. saltairefestival.co.uk) for full programme details, additional events and late changes. Trail maps for open gardens, pop-up houses and other village events during the first weekend of the Festival will be available on the website from mid-August and in leaflet form from early September. Anyone who would like to get involved and support the Festival should contact volunteers@ saltairefestival.co.uk We welcome all volunteer help even if you can only spare an hour or two.

29


A grand finale A look ahead to sunday night on the saltaire festival main stage

S

BY bernie sheehan unday 20 September sees the finale of courses to follow. And now that our appetite this year’s Saltaire Festival, and what has been whetted what better than Fie Fie Fie, better way to spend the day than being with their electro-acoustic blend of guitars, part of the festivities in Roberts Park? On saxophones, keyboards and percussion, and Sunday the excitement gets the enigmatic Daniel Varley on cranked up on the main stage vocals. Hailing from Dewsbury with some of the hottest musical and with global plays of their talent around, and Sunday CD Can You Hear This? under “Saltaire promises to keep things cooking their belt, the band create a truly Festival has with more offerings from the unique sound and are tipped by so much to region’s top acts. many to go far. Catch them on offer that stage from 1.15pm. Whether it’s rock, funk, folk, choosing or blues that floats your boat, Saltaire Festival has so much what to do you’re bound to find something offer that choosing what to and where to to that pleases. How about do and where to go between go between sophisticated-and-laid-back bands need not be a problem. to start things off at noon on On the beautifully refurbished bands need Saturday? The Sentimentalists bandstand you can catch some of not be a combine outstanding musical the brightest new and emerging problem.” skills and a dramatic visual musical talent, while relaxing presence that harks back to the with a drink from one of the smoke-filled bars of 1940s Paris. many bars or enjoying delicious Smooth and beautifully melodic, their original artisan food from the speciality food stalls. and haunting songs will linger long in the And there are plenty to choose from! memory and serve as the perfect aperitif for the

30


photo BY simon sugden

The Saltaire Festival main stage is expected to draw huge crowds once again this September.

Back on the main stage and guaranteed to get everybody groovin’ with their fantastic reggae bluebeat and ska we welcome the outstanding masters of cool, Trenchtown UK. This seven piece from Yorkshire have delighted audiences throughout Europe and beyond with their authentic rhythms and vocals, and have long been firm favourites on the festival circuit. These Rudeboys have been known to get packed dance halls screaming for more, so don’t forget your shades and pork pie hats when you groove to the smooth Trenchtown UK, on stage from 2.30pm. Trying to meet the musical needs and tastes of the modern festivalgoer is daunting, but over the course of the two days Roberts Park will be hosting something to excite even the most jaded musical palate, and so we eagerly anticipate The Ford Valley Wranglers, a foottapping combo playing rock, skiffle and jive in

true 50s style, with Glen on vocals, acoustic guitar and harmonica, Steve on Telecaster and Paul on double bass, all combining for a true taste of Americana. Why not treat yourself to a hotdog and a cool soda just to make the scene complete? There can be few better ways to spend a day than listening to great music, particularly in a beautiful and historic setting, so the day’s final act will not disappoint. Twelve wonderful musicians collectively known as The Beatleaders take to the stage playing Tamla Motown, soul and old-school R’n’B, for a high-octane send off to this year’s Saltaire Festival Bands in The Park. You’ll want to join in and sing along with songs you never even thought you knew, as this dynamic and funky ensemble swing you homeward. Be prepared to scream and shout, because The Beatleaders really know how to put on a show!

31


We are aagenuine family business with stores loWe family business with stores loWe are are a genuine genuine family business with stores located in both Baildon and Skipton, only a stones cated in both Baildon and Skipton, only a stones cated in both Baildon and Skipton, only a stones throw away from Saltaire and surrounding areas. throw away from and surrounding areas. throwwith awayhaving from Saltaire Saltaire and surrounding areas. Along products to suit each and eveAlong with having products to suit each and eveAlong with having products to suit each and every budget, we lay our reputation at your feet and ry budget, we lay our reputation at your feet and ry budget, we lay our reputation at your feet and pride ourselves on finding you the perfect floor to pride ourselves on finding you the perfect floor to pride ourselves on finding you the perfect floor to suit your exact needs and requirements. suit your exact needs and requirements. suit your exact needs and requirements. Quotations are without obligation, as is our Quotations Quotations are are without without obligation, obligation, as as is is our our friendly, knowledgable advice. So call in and befriendly, knowledgable advice. So call in and friendly, knowledgable advice. So call in and bebegin to transform your house in to a home today. gin gin to to transform transform your your house house in in to to aa home home today. today. Tom, James, John and Judith. Tom, Tom, James, James, John John and and Judith. Judith.

Baildon Baildon Baildon Airedale AiredaleHouse House

Airedale House 15-17 15-17 Northgate 15-17Northgate Northgate Baildon Baildon Baildon West West Yorkshire WestYorkshire Yorkshire BD17 6JZ BD17 BD17 6JZ 6JZ

Opening Opening Hours OpeningHours Hours Monday Monday Friday Monday---Friday Friday 9:00 17:30 9:00 17:30 9:00 - 17:30 Saturday Saturday Saturday 9:00 9:00 13:00 9:00---13:00 13:00

01274 01274 945624 01274945624 945624

Skipton Skipton Unit 3A

Unit 3A Sandylands Sandylands Business Business Park Park Skipton Skipton North North Yorkshire Yorkshire BD23 BD23 2AA 2AA

01756 01756 790323 790323

www.thecarpet-company.co.uk www.thecarpet-company.co.uk www.thecarpet-company.co.uk

Facebook.com/thecarpetcompanybaildon thecarpetcompany@gmail.com Facebook.com/thecarpetcompanybaildon Facebook.com/thecarpetcompanybaildon||| thecarpetcompany@gmail.com thecarpetcompany@gmail.com


Dick Gaughan 12th july, The Live Room, Caroline Club, Saltaire

By Keith Belcher A welcome return to Saltaire for veteran Leith troubadour Dick Gaughan, one of The Live Room’s first guests in June 2012.

Over two sets Dick delivered a set list of many old favourites. Songs of philosophical, political and social commentary, written by himself, Robbie Burns, Johnny Cash and others. It’s not often that folk artists dedicate songs to George Gideon Osborne but that was the case with Shipwreck, the second song performed. The line ‘The great only look great because we are on our knees’ indicates the politics of the song. First was Keep Looking at the Light, written about the last miners’ strike. The voice might not have been as strong as in the past but the strength, quality and conviction of the songs still came through loud and clear. The introductions were generally lengthy, giving detailed background to the songs’ history, along with Scottish and Irish history lessons. Sandwiched between the songs Dick played the instrumental Slievenamon (Mountain of the Women), a traditional Irish lament more often performed on fiddle. Why Old Men Cry

34

commented on the similarity on the looks of the faces of old miners who had their industry taken away, and World War One veterans. This song was initially written after a visit to the graveyards at Ypres but finished when seeing the devastation that the loss of an industry and a way of life caused. Dick finished the first set with his own song A Different Kind of Love Song. More strong political commentary included the very powerful Whatever Happened, a biting commentary on how the 60s/70s generation lost their way, and the less contemporary but equally relevant Both Sides The Tweed. Dick’s favourite Burns song Now Westlin’ Winds took us more into nature and its beauty. Two songs segued together about the injustices suffered by native Americans, Johnny Cash’s Apache Tears and Dick’s own Geronimo’s Cadillac with great audience participation. Dick finished the evening with, in his words, “the most optimistic song I know”, Ewan MacColl’s The Father’s Song. Dick left the stage to great applause, many pausing to thank the great man on their way out.


Noche Latina 10th july, caroline street club

By R. Gill A hot and sultry night at Caroline Social Club, on the evening of Friday 10 July. The sun had shone all day and despite the cool of the night the temperature kept rising because Noche Latina never fails to deliver the heat, the rhythms, the sounds, and the spectacle of dancers enjoying salsa from a live band.

is a master of these sessions and soon had the place rocking and ready for the lessons. This part of the evening is an opportunity to get to know new moves and brush up your personal repertoire. Building up a stock of moves is fun and why experienced dancers are always keen to learn more.

Noche Latina opens its doors on the second Friday of every month, apart from August, and this evening resident band Salsa Como Loco was live on stage.

After the lessons there were a few DJ tracks followed by the first set from Salsa Como Loco. There was a surge in atmosphere as the band started - live Salsa has an irresistible effect on the soul and dancing needs to be done.

Regulars and newcomers started drifting in when the doors opened at 8pm. The atmosphere, always relaxed, welcoming and friendly, began to kick in soon after and there was a warm welcome for this month’s dance teacher Alan of the Latin Quarter, arriving with his dance partner Sarah.

The live nature of the band is electrifying compared to recorded and reproduced music, even from the best DJ. So when the band plays the dance floor is full, the customers are strutting their moves and the joint is steaming, even with doors and windows wide open. After the live classic salsa tracks it’s time for a break and some more tunes from DJ Dave while the audience catch their breath and slake their thirst. Then it’s more pulsating live numbers from the band.

There were classes for experienced dancers and also for absolute beginners. Beginners have an introduction to salsa from an experienced regular Mike, who has a talent for getting people going from scratch. To get the ball rolling there was a warm-up salsa line dance led by Alan and Sarah. Alan

Things continue to buzz for a final DJ session before the lights come on and reality delivers us back from the magical world of salsa.

35


Saltaire Beer Festival 11th & 12th september, Saltaire Brewery

By wendy carthew Saltaire is known for many wonderful things. Heritage and history, the vibrant arts and music scene, the community spirit and pride of the residents living in a UNESCO world heritage site, and of course the hugely popular annual festival in September that celebrates them all.

It is also renowned as a destination for real ale fans, for whom a pilgrimage on Yorkshire’s Ale Trail to Saltaire is rewarded with a chance to visit Saltaire Brewery, one of the county’s leading micro-breweries, as well as local gems such as Fanny’s Ale House, The Fox, and Cap and Collar, offering a great choice of real ale experiences. While for some the arts and music festival is the reason to visit Saltaire in September, for real ale lovers the place to be is Saltaire Brewery’s annual beer festival. Held on the first weekend of the Saltaire Festival and hosted at the brewery, it gives discerning drinkers the opportunity to try cask beers from some of the UK’s best micro-breweries, as well as international keg beers and artisan ciders and perries. “We’re only ten minutes walk from either Salts Mill along the canal towpath or Shipley train station, which means it’s easy for festival goers to include a trip to our beer festival as

36

part of Saltaire Festival’s first weekend. We love Saltaire Festival, being able to add to the fun, and all beer fans are very welcome!” says managing director Ewen Gordon. Already home to the Saltaire Brewery Beer Club on the last Friday of most months (except February, with Bradford CAMRA’s beer festival at Victoria Hall, and December when it’s the second or third Friday), the Saltaire Brewery Beer Festival means the Brewery ramps up its usual showcase of Saltaire beers with up to 40 real ales from some of the UK’s best breweries. Plenty of choice to keep a real ale lover happy for an afternoon and evening! If you can’t wait until a monthly Beer Club or the Beer Festival to try Saltaire’s ales the Saltaire Brewery Tap is open from Thursday to Sunday and the shop is open seven days a week. Saltaire Brewery Beer Festival - Friday 11 and Saturday 12 September, at Saltaire Brewery, Dockfield Road, BD17 7AR. For more information about the Brewery, opening hours and events, visit www.saltairebrewery.co.uk or call 01274 594959.


WHAT’S ON?

find out what’s happening in the area this month Saturday 1 August

Tuesday 4 August

SHOWTIME DINNER AND SHOW 7PM, THE HOP SALTAIRE

Victoria Hall Wedding Open Evening 5:30-9:30PM Victoria Hall

It’s showtime! Dinner and show featuring Take That Live. £26.95 P/P, tickets include a welcome drink, three course dinner and show, VIP seats upstairs and table service all night. The bar will be open as usual.

Wondering if we’re the perfect match for your special day? Why not stop by and find out how we can be your perfect canvas? All five of our stunning rooms will be available for viewing, some will also be set up with our furniture and dressed to help you envisage how the space can work for you. Our lovely team will be on hand to answer your questions and appointments can also be made if you’d like some extra special attention to chat through your ideas.

YORKSHIRE DAY BEER & FOOD FESTIVAL 11AM-MIDNIGHT, BRADFORD BREWERY Launch of the Northern Powerhouse... that’s the first ever collaboration beer created by Bradford and Leeds breweries. Who will be first to try it? With 50 Yorkshire beers and a Yorkshire cider bar, boar roast in the beer garden and veggie street food in the bar. Music all day from local musicians and buskers. Saturday night sounds from No Hands DJs. Laid back acoustic music all day on Sunday, culminating in Sunday night fun with Shipley’s very own Front Room Disco DJ Will Oddsox.

Sunday 2 August Saltaire Cricket Club Table Top Sale 10AM-1PM Victoria Hall A wide variety of stalls selling small collectable antiques and toy cars, books, good quality second-hand clothing, handmade jewellery, scented candles and much more!

Fiona-Katie Roberts 2.30-4PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire Unique performer and builder of the triple-harp, with rings on her fingers and bells on her toes. Free event with collection.

Cinema Organ Society Concert 2.30-5PM Victoria Hall A cinema organ concert featuring popular music from film, television and radio on the world famous mighty Wurlitzer. The performer for this concert is David Gray.

WEDNESDAY 12 AUGUST FREE FAMILY DROP-IN - DAVID HOCKNEYINSPIRED PAPER PULP 11AM-3PM, CARTWRIGHT HALL A chance to experiment and make your own art using colourful paper pulp. No experience required and suitable for all. Free event.

Saturday 8 August

Saturday 15 August

Saltaire Local Produce Market 10AM-3PM Caroline Street Car Park, Saltaire

Bingley Local Produce Market 10AM-3PM Market Square, Bingley Bingley Local Produce Market is an event for the everyone. Shoppers get to meet the producers and growers of the food they buy and even taste free samples!

Saltaire Local Produce Market is an event for everyone. Shoppers get to meet the producers and growers of the food they buy and even taste free samples!

Aire Valley Shuffle 7-9PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire

Lego Fun Day 1.30-4PM Kirkgate Centre

Sunday 9 August

Once a month the main hall of the Kirkgate Centre is filled with Lego, K’nex and Meccano for children (and parents) creating all kinds of amazing things. A cafe serves affordable hot drinks, fresh crepes and healthy homemade savouries and cakes. £2 per family.

Hall Royd Band 2.30-4PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire

Front Room Disco 8PM Kirkgate Centre

Aire Valley Shuffle bring a show to swing along to. The Half Moon Cafe is open for food and drink, and the bandstand shows off its lights. Free event.

Front Room Disco brings you an eclectic alternative mix of music. Covering indie, alternative, ska, reggae, punk, disco and 80s pop. With Wil Oddsox. A bar serves local ales, quality wines and soft drinks. £3

The traditional brass band Sunday concert-in-the-park from the local outfit. Free event with collection.

SEND US YOUR EVENT LISTINGS...

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first serve basis.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


BAND NIGHT 9PM, THE HOP SALTAIRE Brilliant soul ska and new wave band The Detail will be taking the stage, providing us with great music and good times throughout the night.

Sunday 16 August Darren Dutson Bromley Freternity 2.30-4PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire Another local star playing standards and more on jazz guitar. Free event with collection.

PICK OF THE MONTH

Thursday 20 August

spooky men’s chorale

Shipley College Post-GSCE Advice & Guidance Event 10AM-3PM, Salt Building, Victoria Road If you’ve just completed your GCSEs find out how we can help you take your next step. Drop in anytime. www. shipley.ac.uk

Friday 21 August Shipley College Post-GSCE Advice & Guidance Event 10AM-3PM, Salt Building, Victoria Road If you’ve just completed your GCSEs find out how we can help you take your next step. Drop in anytime. www. shipley.ac.uk

Shipley Young Adult Fiction Writers’ Night Out 7PM, Don’t Tell Titus, Victoria Road This event is open to all writers, of any genre and style – we’re also open to non-writers coming along as long as they don’t mind a lot of chit-chat about literature and writing! To RSVP please either Facebook, Tweet us or email (all info on the get in touch page).

Sunday 23 August Strid 2.30-4PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire Folk duo Jenni and Simon with fine guitar backing. Free event with collection.

Thursday 27 August Shipley College Adult Guidance Evening 4.30-7.30PM, Salt Building, Victoria Road

bingley arts centre, 27th august Equal parts monk, Visigoth and village idiot, the Spooky Men’s Chorale explores the paradoxes of latter day masculinity with unbridled enthusiasm, a pleasing array of deep harmonies, and a twinkle in their eye. They’ve somehow mastered the impossible art of being both musically immaculate and blitheringly stupid, whilst essaying an increasingly preposterous array of subject matter: tools, mastodons, their own body parts, surfing, gluttony, and how to scare off hostile neighbouring tribes at 5.43 am. An event for adults aged 19+ to find out more about our part-time courses, to receive advice and guidance from tutors and the opportunity to enrol on our courses. Drop in anytime. www. shipley.ac.uk

Friday 28 August Cinema Organ Society Dance 7.30PM Victoria Hall Hosted 50/50 ballroom and sequence dancing to the sounds of the mighty Wurlitzer! The performer for this event will be Phil Kelsall MBE.

Saturday 29 August SHOWTIME DINNER AND SHOW 7PM, THE HOP SALTAIRE It’s showtime! Dinner and show featuring a Bob Marley Tribute. £26.95 P/P, tickets include a welcome drink, three course dinner and show, VIP seats upstairs and table service all night. The bar will be open as usual.

Spooky Men’s Chorale 7.30PM Bingley Arts Centre From the Blue Mountains in Australia, the Spooky Men’s Chorale have been gleefully smashing up and reassembling

39

the world of men’s singing since 2001, and will now continue their long, slow, global conquest with a sixth tour of the UK, tenderly brandishing their latest album Warm.

Saturday 29 August Record Club 8-11.30pm £3 Kirkgate Centre 39a Kirkgate, Shipley Bring and listen to vinyl in a relaxed setting with great company and a bottled beer/wine bar.

Sunday 30 August Fiddle & Feet, Rainbow Morris 2.30-4PM Roberts Park Bandstand, Saltaire Tap and Morris dancing to traditional instruments. Free event with collection.

Monday 31 August Cinema Organ Society Concert 2.30-5PM Victoria Hall A Cinema Organ Concert featuring popular music from film, television and radio on the world famous mighty Wurlitzer. The performer for this concert is Walt Stony from the USA.


Weekly events

YOUR GUIDE TO ongoing events in and around saltaire MONDAYS General Knowledge Quiz

The Ring O’ Bells

8PM

General knowledge pub quiz with prizes

URC Bell Ringers

United Reformed Church

7PM

Bell ringing club practice session

Rainbow Morris Dancers

Shipley Resource Centre

7pm

North West tradition morris dancing club

Bradford Voices

Saltaire Methodist Church

7PM

Friendly community choir

Line Dancing

Caroline Street Social Club 7.30pm Line Dancing classes, anyone welcome

SALTAIRE STRIDERS

Caroline Street Car Patk

7pm

Club training and beginners sessions

General Knowledge Quiz

The Hop Saltaire

9PM

General knowledge quiz with free supper

Bradford Chorale

Northcliffe Church Shipley 7PM

Taekwondo

Victoria Hall

4.30pm Self-defence class for all abilities

Ki-Rin Karate

Victoria Hall

6pm

SLIMMING WORLD CLUB

Caroline Street Social Club 9AM

General Knowledge Quiz

VM Lounge, Victoria Mills 8.30pm General knowledge quiz with prizes

TUESDAYS Leading choral society practice session

Karate classes for all ages and abilities Weight-loss support group

WEDNESDAYS ROLL BACK THE CARPET

Victoria Hall

8.15PM Appalachian clog dancing group

BuddhaLand

Kirkgate Centre

7.30PM Drop-in meditation session

YOGA

Kirkgate Centre

6.10pm Class based on Ashtanga Vinyasa flow yoga.

Shipley Acting Workshop

Kirkgate Centre

7pm

Workshops exploring acting techniques

Owlet Dance

Kirkgate Centre

1pm

A tea dance for the over 50s

General Knowledge Quiz

The Rosse, Saltaire

9PM

Pub quiz with open the box raffle

SALTAIRE STRIDERS

Outside Nuffield Health

7PM

Club training session for distance runners

Diddi Dance

Kirkgate Centre

9.30am Dancing and coordination games for children

Acoustic session

The Hop

9pm

tHURSDAYS

The best in local and national talent

SEND US YOUR EVENT LISTINGS...

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first serve basis.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


• Showing all Sky and BT Sports • 8 Real Ales • 7 Premium Lagers • Large Variation of Bottled Beers Available

The Ring O’Bells Food Served Mon - Thurs Fri Sat and Sun

Mondays 12 – 9pm 12 – 8pm 12 – 7pm

Mon - Fri Special Menu Offer 12- 3pm Sunday Lunches Also Available

General Knowledge Quiz Win Jackpot of £50 and Food/Drink Vouchers Tuesdays Poker Night Everybody Welcome including Acoustic Night Players and Singers Saturdays Live Music On Occasion Any Small Parties/Funerals etc. Catered For.

Tel: 01274 584386 3 Bradford Road, Shipley, BD18 3PR


Jeremy Belsten & Lisa Fraser quick fire questions

Who are you and what do you do? We are Jeremy Belsten and Lisa Fraser and we run a craft bakery in Saltaire.

living inside Bounty world!

How did you get involved in baking and how did you come to set up your business? We spent years working in different kitchens until a running joke about the ‘Notorious Cherry Bun Two’ (a fictional pair of criminal bakers) and a shared obsession for cake & pizza led us to set up Edward Street Bakery. What’s your relationship with Saltaire and Shipley? Lisa grew up near Saltaire & Jez has lived and worked in Saltaire for a super long time. Shipley & Saltaire are happening!! Why live anywhere else? Ace people, great places and perfect countryside right on our door step. What’s the best thing about being a baker? The best thing about being a baker is simple. If you wash up after using chocolate and bake a coconut slice at the same time, it makes chocolate water and coconut air. Which is like

42

What are your plans for the business in future? Our launch at The Triangle has been amazing. We plan to expand the availability there, with a lasting collaboration. Long term we will be moving into a larger space for bread production with our shoes firmly planted in the Saltaire and Shipley area. How can people enjoy your products? Our baked fancies are available from the proper dudes at The Triangle in Shipley between Wednesday and Sunday, from midday. We’ll be at Saltaire market in collaboration with the super cool Casa Espresso of Shipley. We’ll also be part of Saltaire Festival, at 6 Edward Street, Friday-Sunday, 18th-20th September, with the proper ace guys of northern Monk Brewery. You can nudge us on Twitter @ edwardstbakery, or look out for our soon to be web site www.edwardstbakery.co.uk. Failing all of the above, stop us in the street and demand cake. We often travel with cake.


Summer theatre workshops Play in a Day

From script to performance in a single day! Bring a pack lunch. Friday 21st August, 10am – 3.30pm. £10 per child (5 – 7 year olds) Friday 28th August, 10am – 3.30pm. £10 per child (8 – 11 year olds)

Mini Beasts

Puppetry and story telling Wednesday 19th August, 10am – 12pm. £5 per child (5 – 7 year olds) Tuesday 25th August, 10am – 12pm. £5 per child (5 – 7 year olds)

Puppetry

Bringing things to life through imagination and movement Tuesday 18th August, 1.30pm–3.30pm. £5 per child (8 – 11year olds) Tuesday 25th August, 1.30pm–3.30pm. £5 per child (11 – 16 year olds)

Legend of the Bradford Boar

Drama, games and puppetry to explore a local legend Tuesday 18th August, 10am – 12pm. £5 per child (5–7 year olds) Wednesday 19th August, 1.30am – 3.30pm. £5 per child (8–11 year olds)

Romans and Celts

Battling Boudicca vs Crafty Caesar Wednesday 26th August, 10am – 12pm. £5 per child (8–11 year olds)

Ah-ha me arties

Pirate adventures with stories and songs Wednesday 26th August, 1.30pm – 3.30pm. £5 per person (5–7 year olds)

Owl babies

30 minute performances for the little and the young at heart 18th, 19th, 25th & 26th August, 4.30pm. £3. Suitable for ages 3+ and their families. Booking essential! Please call 01274 580186 or email admin@kirkgatecentre.org.uk

39a Kirkgate, Shipley BD18 3EH. Tel: 01274 580186 www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk. Twitter: @kirkgate_centre

creative ∙ cultural ∙ community ∙ space


The Saltaire Review | Issue Eleven | August 2015  

A free to pick up community magazine covering the Shipley/Saltaire area.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you