Page 1

2016–2017

Admission Profile

Excellence with Purpose Emory University, located in Atlanta, Georgia, is a highly selective institution that pursues excellence with purpose. In the classroom, we combine interdisciplinary studies, hands-on learning, and a vast network of research opportunities, both domestic and abroad. Classes are small (more than 80% are under 30 students) and taught by renowned scholars. Emory students engage in a challenging academic environment as well as with a vibrant, ethicallyengaged student body.

Enrollment

Emory College 5,631 Oxford College 936 School of Nursing 331

Goizueta Business School 845 Total Undergraduate 7,803 All University 14,724

Emory University Scholar Programs

Financial Aid

• Emory University Scholar Programs offer partial to full merit-based scholarships

Emory University is committed to meeting 100% of demonstrated financial need for all admitted domestic students.

apply.emory.edu/merit

apply.emory.edu/apply/financing.php

• Scholar programs provide distinct resources and support with the aim to empower students to reach their full potential and have a notable impact on the university and beyond

Average financial aid package

• Interested students must apply by November 15 (if applying Early Decision 1, deadline is November 1) • 6%* of the 7,300 scholar applicants were selected for scholar programs and/or received a merit-based award *Date of Record: July 2016

Emory College

Oxford College

$42,277

$36,702

Percent who receive need-based financial aid

43%

49%

Percent who receive Federal Pell Grants

20%

21%

All figures are from the 2015–2016 academic year.

Application Plan

Application Deadline

Admission Notification

Early Decision I

November 1

By December 15

Scholar Programs

November 15

By February 15

Early Decision II

January 1

By February 15

Regular Decision

January 1

By April 1


Paths through Emory • First-year students choose to enroll at one of two locations for their first two years, Emory College of Arts and Sciences or Oxford College • As sophomores, all students decide where they want to finish their Emory University experience: – Emory College of Arts and Sciences (no application process necessary) – School of Nursing (no application process necessary if prerequisites have been satisfied) – Goizueta Business School (students must apply as sophomores or juniors and be admitted into program) • As juniors, all Oxford students continue to the Atlanta campus

BBA BS/BA BSN FRESHMAN YEAR

SOPHOMORE YEAR

Most Popular Majors for Class of 2016 Graduates • Business Administration (BBA) • Biology (BA or BS) • Economics • Nursing (BSN) • Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology • Psychology • International Studies • Political Science • Applied Mathematics • Computer Science

JUNIOR YEAR

SENIOR YEAR


Oxford College

Oxford, GA (38 miles east of Atlanta) • Small community environment with many early leadership opportunities • True liberal arts campus in small-town setting • 86% of classes have fewer than 30 students • 12:1 student:faculty ratio • Average class is 20 students • Total enrollment is 936, only freshmen and sophomores • Freshman class is 510

Admitted First-Year Students (25th – 75th Percentile*)

SAT Critical Reading Math Writing Combined ACT GPA (unweighted) Applicants Accepted Enrolled

640-760 640-740 1940-2210 29-33 3.57-3.92 8,644 3,280 (37.9%) 510

From public high schools

60

From private/independent/ parochial schools

38%

Male Female

1.8% Did Not Identify 2.4% Multiracial

630-730

Enrolling Class

Admitted through an Early Decision plan

Self-Identified Race/Ethnicity of Enrolling Class

%

34.5%

7.8 9.4%

Caucasian

28.8% Asian/Asian American/ Pacific Islander

15.3%

Geographic Distribution of Enrolling Class

Latino/Hispanic

International

Total States: 38 + DC & PR

5.5%

34.1% 41% 59%

Black/African % American

6.3%

7.6

%

3.9%

*Date of Record: July 2016

International

40.6% 18.3%

13.7%


Emory College of Arts and Sciences Atlanta, GA

• Hands-on research and 500+ student clubs, sports teams, and performing arts groups • Located in Atlanta, neighboring the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) • 80% of classes have fewer than 30 students • 8:1 student:faculty ratio • Average class is 24 students • Total enrollment is 5,631 • Freshman class is 1,371

Admitted First-Year Students (25th – 75th Percentile*)

SAT Critical Reading Math Writing Combined ACT GPA (unweighted) Applicants Accepted Enrolled

670-770 670-770 2030-2270 31-34 3.71-3.97 19,924 5,014 (25.2%) 1,371

From public high schools

57

From private/independent/ parochial schools

43%

Male Female

1.5% Did Not Identify 4.6% Multiracial

660-750

Enrolling Class

Admitted through an Early Decision plan

Self-Identified Race/Ethnicity of Enrolling Class

%

Caucasian

18.7%

Asian/ Asian American/ Pacific Islander

10.9%

Black/African American Latino/Hispanic

16.3% International

Geographic Distribution of Enrolling Class

Total States: 45 + DC & PR

7.0%

48.4% 42% 58%

7.1%

40.8%

10.1%

8.4% 4.9%

21.2% 30.1%

*Date of Record: July 2016

International

18.3%


Connect with Us John Latting deanofadmission@emory.edu Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Enrollment and Dean of Admission Kelley Lips kelley.lips@emory.edu Dean of Enrollment Services for Oxford College. Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming Scott Allen scott.allen@emory.edu New York City (five boroughs), Asia, Oceania, Southeast Asia Rashmi Anand rganand@emory.edu Tennessee Mark Butt mark.butt@emory.edu Africa, Canada, Central Asia, Europe, India, Middle East Madeline Clifton madeline.clifton@emory.edu California (San Diego area), Nevada, Utah Sarah Darden sarah.darden@emory.edu Kentucky, North Carolina Joel Dobben joel.dobben@emory.edu Alaska, California (Northern California, and Central Valley), Hawaii, Oregon, Washington Giles Eady giles.eady@emory.edu New Jersey Timothy Fields tlfield@emory.edu Georgia*, Illinois Farish Jerman fjerman@emory.edu Connecticut, Delaware, Pennsylvania

Dylan Keene dylan.keene@emory.edu Georgia*, Virginia, West Virginia

Brandi Smith brandi.smith2@emory.edu Louisiana, Texas

Giselle F. Martin giselle.martin@emory.edu Maryland, Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Caribbean, Central America, South America

Stacey Towler stacey.towler@emory.edu Georgia*

Nicholas Missler nicholas.missler@emory.edu Florida (excluding Miami area) Maddie Monahan mmonaha@emory.edu Georgia*, US Territories (Marshall Islands, Guam, American Samoa) Ally Paauwe ally.paauwe@emory.edu Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Olivia Wise olivia.j.wise@emory.edu Arkansas, Georgia*, Indiana, Michigan, Missouri, Ohio TBD admission@emory.edu Colorado, Georgia*, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Wisconsin *Visit apply.emory.edu/contact.php for the most up-to-date territory divisions and listings within Georgia

Louisa Pinto louisa.a.pinto@emory.edu Alabama, Georgia*, Mississippi, South Carolina Jared Richardson jared.richardson@emory.edu New York (Upstate, Westchester County, Long Island) Malisha Richardson malisha.richardson@emory.edu California (Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Inland Empire, Orange County) William Segura william.segura@emory.edu Arizona, South Florida (including Broward, Dade, Palm Beach, Collier, Hendry, and Monroe counties), New Mexico

Campus Visits apply.emory.edu/visit

We invite you and your students to visit Emory University! Both Emory College and Oxford College offer information sessions and campus tours Monday through Friday. Select Saturday session are also offered at Emory College. Sessions are scheduled in such a way that guests can visit both campuses in one day, with the evening free to explore Atlanta.

Office of Admission Emory College of Arts and Sciences Office of Undergraduate Admission 1390 Oxford Road NE Atlanta, GA 30322-1016 404-727-6036 admission@emory.edu

Oxford College Office of Enrollment Services 122 Few Circle Oxford, GA 30054-1418 770-784-8328 oxadmission@emory.edu

If you would like to visit Emory University, please contact our office or your regional admission representative.

Join the Discussion:

Our staff may be in your area this year to connect with you as well as prospective students. To see if we will be in your city, visit apply. emory.edu/visit/emoryinyourarea.php.

apply.emory.edu

@EmoryAdmission

@EmoryAdmission

EmoryUniversity

admission.emory

blog.emoryadmission.com

2016-2017 Admission Profile  

2016-2017 Admission Profile

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you