__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

4TH CANADIAN FINTECH & AI AWARDS 2018 NOVEMBER 26, 2018 THE CARLU, TORONTO

CELEBRATING CANADIAN INNOVATION


Table of Contents 05

The Awards

06

Partner & Sponsors

07

Speakers

08

Agenda

10

Entertainment

11

Award Presenters

12

Advisors & Judges

15

Award Categories Nominees in House

17

FinTech Startups

18

FinTech Companies

19

AI Companies

21

Law Firms & Advisory Firms

22

Financial Institutions & RegTech Companies

23

Blockchain Companies & Investment Firms

24

Global Impact in FinTech & AI for Good

25

Accelerators & Incubators

27

Message from our Founder

#FinTechAwards Celebrating Canadian Innovation 04


About Us The Digital Finance Institute is a think tank for financial technology and artificial intelligence. We represent a strategic link in digital finance between the financial services industry, NGOs, academia, financial regulators and policy makers to promote financial innovation and vibrancy through thought leadership, engagement, advocacy, research and education.

Awards The Canadian FinTech & AI Awards were started in Toronto in 2015 by the Digital Finance Institute to recognize and celebrate Canadian innovation in financial technology and artificial intelligence. The Awards bring together, on an annual basis, Canada’s leaders in finance to celebrate and support Canadian technology from coast to coast to coast.

#FinTechAwards Celebrating Canadian Innovation 05


Industry Partner

Master of Ceremonies

Auditor

Sponsors

Raffle Donations

06

Interested in sponsoring us next year? Email us at info@digitalfinanceinstitute.org


Master of Ceremonies Geoffrey Cher – Wildeboer Dellelce LLP Geoff Cher is a partner at the law firm of Wildeboer Dellelce LLP in Toronto and a well known lawyer in the FinTech sector. He practices in the areas of corporate and securities law.

Ellis Odynn – Digital Finance Institute Ellis Odynn is the Executive Director of the Digital Finance Institute. She heads the DFI’s artificial intelligence division and research team. Ms. Odynn responsibilities span many of institute’s key initiatives — from building partnerships, conducting outreach and managing international affairs.

Opening Remarks John Tory – Mayor of Toronto John Tory, the 65th Mayor of Toronto, has been a long-time champion of Toronto, including in FInTech & AI. He uses his experience leading organizations and businesses to promote Toronto on the world stage, attract jobs and investment, and secure the city’s future as a global capital for business.

Keynote Peter Maoloni – Interac Corp. Peter Maoloni is VP, Product & Platform Delivery at Interac. His expert knowledge of global payments standards and payment modernization make him a leading authority. With over 20 years at Interac, Peter is a veteran in the payments space and leads Interac's vision and platform development. 07


AGE 7:00

Awards Ceremony Start

7:15

Awards Magic

7:30

Opening Remarks –Mayor John Tory

7:40

Keynote

08

– Peter Maoloni of Interac Corp. Salad Served

7:55

RegTech Company of the Year

8:02

Accelerator of the Year

8:09

Global Impact in FinTech

8:16

FinTech Leader of the Year

8:25

Judge’s Choice 1 Award

31

Main Course

8:32

AI for Good

8:40

Advisory Firm of the Year

50

08


NDA Networking

Singing Performance

9:00

AI Leader of the Year

9:10

Blockchain Company of the Year

9:17

Law Firm of the Year

9:24

Dessert

AI Company of the Year

9:31

Investment Firm of the Year

9:38

Judge's Choice 2 Award

9:45

FinTech Startup of the Year

9:54

FinTech Company of the Year

10:01

Dance Performance

10:08

Financial Institution of the Year

10:13

Closing Remarks

10:20

Awards End

10:30

Move to Awards After Party

09


TNEMNIATRETNE 10

WORLD RENOWNED COMEDY MAGICIAN

Mark Correira

SINGING ACT

Rebecca Willow

CLOSING PERFORMANCE

DAAM Dance Group


Awards Presenters In order of appearance

Michael Wekerle Former CBC Dragon

Ann Kaplan iFinance Canada

Christine Duhaime Digital Finance Institute

Ozge Yeloglu Microsoft Canada

Paul Parisi Paypal Canada

Arthur B. McDonald Nobel Prize Winner

Anthony Di Iorio Decentral

Stuart Holt Dunn Holdun

Santanu Pal CIBC

Mark O'Connell Interac Corp.

Alain Bergeron Mackenzie Investments

Scott Davidson NEO Exchange

Ellis Odynn Digital Finance Institute

Perry Dellelce Wildeboer Dellelce LLP

Margaret Stuart BlackBerry

Craig Smith CPA Ontario

11


Advisors & Judges

12


Advisors & Judges

12

Abhishek Gupta Microsoft

Abhishek Punia Draper Associates

Alex Norman TechTO

Alexander Peh RBC

Alexandra Posadzki The Globe and Mail

Alvaro Lozada Cauduro American Express

Andrew McCormack Payments Canada

Balinder Ahluwalia Mastercard

Brian Klein Baker Marquart LLP

Bryan Rutledge McAfee

Cari Covent Canadian Tire Corp

Chris Hatton HSBC

Dan Wardle Vidyard

Ed White HSBC

Frank Holmes Hive Technologies

Gillian Riley Scotiabank

Greg Elcich CIBC

Isabel Lee Global Payments Inc.

Janos Barberis SuperCharger

Jeff Overall Microsoft

Jennifer Urbanski LinkedIn

Jeremy Bornstein Mastercard

Jim Brown Samsung Pay Canada

Jim Orlando OMERS Ventures

Kieran Beer ACAMS 13


Advisors & Judges

14

Kikelomo Lawal Interac Corp.

Mark Cauwels Capital One Canada

Mark O'Connell Interac Corp.

Markus Templer LinkedIn

Marshall Self Google

Mathieu Plouffe Oracle

Megh Gupta Element AI

Oshoma Momoh MaRS Discovery District

Ozge Yeloglu Microsoft Canada

Rajan Kanwar EY

Roger Ver Bitcoin.com

Sanjay Srivastava Genpact

Siddha Ganju Nvidia

Simon Chan Communitech

Stefano Capaccioli CoinLex

Stephen Lund Opportunities New Brunswick

Stuart Davis BMO Financial Group

Susanne Chishti FINTECH Circle

Tom Osborne Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Tony Cyriac BMO Financial Group

Valentine Goddard Artificial Intelligence Impact Alliance

Vivek Nair Visa

Wendy Chamberlin Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Xavier-Henri HervĂŠ District 3 Innovation Centre

Yoni Levy Facebook & Instagram


15 AWARD CATEGORIES

FinTech Startup of the Year FinTech Company of the Year AI Company of the Year Global Impact in FinTech AI for Good Law Firm of the Year Advisory Firm of the Year Financial Institution of the Year

Blockchain Company of the Year RegTech Company of the Year Investment Firm of the Year Accelerator of the Year FinTech Leader of the Year AI Leader of the Year Judge’s Choice Award

15


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

Mark Tse mtse@bluink.ca

FINTECH STARTUPS

media@borrowell.com

Laura Wilson laura.wilson@coinsquare.com

Yves-Gabriel Leboeuf yg@flinks.io

Peter-Paul Van Hoeken peter-paul@frontfundr.com

Monique Morden monique.morden@judi.ai

Andrew Kirkland andrew@justwealth.com

Julien Brault julien@hardbacon.com

Bruner Noziere bruner@netdollar.ca

Eric Arnold eric@planswell.com

Vlad Sherbatov info@smarter.loans

Hanif Joshaghani hanif@symend.com

Declan McDonald declan@pricerazzi.com

17


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

Rahul Deb rdeb@encorefx.com

Steve Taylor steve.taylor@bluerush.com

David Souaid david@evolocity.ca

Kathryn Barban kbarban@flexiti.com

Peter Maoloni pmaoloni@interac.ca

Candice Co Candice_Co@intuit.com

John Shmuel john@lowestrates.ca

Natalie Bell natalie@magicalcredit.ca

Wayne Pommen wayne@paybright.com

Alyssa Furtado alyssa@ratehub.ca 18

FINTECH COMPANIES


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

John McLeod john.mcleod@versapay.com

NOMINEES IN HOUSE

FINTECH COMPANIES

Rob Maurin media@waveapps.com

AI COMPANIES

Marc Poirier mpoirier@web.com

Eli Fathi eli@mindbridge.ai 19


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

LAW FIRMS

Paul Horbal phorbal@bereskinparr.com

Ana Badour abadour@mccarthy.ca

Geoffrey Cher gcher@wildlaw.ca

NOMINEES IN HOUSE

ADVISORY FIRMS

Rob Maurin media@waveapps.com 21


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Peter Poon Peter.Poon@bmo.com

Cheryl Brean cheryl.brean@rbc.com

Anastasia Mourogova-Millin amourogova-millin@vcib.ca

NOMINEES IN HOUSE

22

Tel Matrundola TelM@versabank.com

REGTECH COMPANIES


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

Laura Wilson laura.wilson@coinsquare.com

BLOCKCHAIN COMPANIES

Elena Sinelnikova Elena.sinelnikova@cryptochicks.ca

Alyson Gaffney agaffney@leonovus.com

Bilal Hammoud bilal.hammoud@ndax.io

NOMINEES IN HOUSE

INVESTMENT FIRMS

Abi Tamot abi.tamot@investfortuna.com

Kate Grant kate@informationvp.com

Karim Gillani karim@luge.vc

Karel Vuong kvuong@p3vc.com 23


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

GLOBAL IMPACT IN FINTECH

E. Jay Saunders ejsaunders@semosancus.com

NOMINEES IN HOUSE

Hemal Mehta Hemal.Mehta@haptik.ai

24

AI FOR GOOD


NOMINEES IN HOUSE

ACCELERATORS/ INCUBATORS

Helen Kontozopoulos helen@cs.toronto.edu

Tabatha Laverty tlaverty@acceleratorcentre.com

Yashin Shah yashin.shah@ryerson.ca

Jan Christopher Arp jan@holtaccelerator.ai

Sue Britton sbritton@fintechgrowthsyndic ate.com

Sarah Howe showe@yorku.ca

Tiffany Linke-Boyko tiffany@startupedmonton.com

#FinTechAwards Celebrating Canadian Innovation 25


In 2015, we started the Canadian FinTech & AI Awards to recognize Canadians excelling in financial services, to celebrate innovation leadership and to create an annual event where the FinTech & AI community could come together from across the country. For our first year, a few hundred people gathered in Toronto. Now the Awards attracts over 2,800 attendees. Canadians have an incredible history of global innovation leadership - we invented insulin, alkaline batteries, the gas mask, the pace maker, and even the Bloody Caesar. In technology, we invented the telephone, the first quantum computer, java programming language, and the first smart contract which registers copyright on the Blockchain. Our impact in business leadership is felt around the world - for example in Africa, a shoe is called a "bata" (after Canada's Bata Shoes), and the electric street car you ride in San Francisco was invented in Canada. Not only that, the artificial sugar you put in your coffee - also a Canadian invention. At the Digital Finance Institute, we created the Awards to recognize this type of leading innovation in Canada with a focus on financial services. Our financial services community is full of countless stories of incredible vision, ground breaking innovation and timeless hard work that we recognize tonight. FinTech & AI are the future of global finance and by working together and supporting each others' successes, Canada will reach that future faster. On behalf of the Institute, thank you for joining our Awards Gala Dinner to celebrate Canadian Innovation.

Christine Duhaime, BA, JD Founder, Digital Finance Institute 27


FOLLOW US: @dfinstitute @cafintechawards @digitalfinanceinstitute

@digitalfinanceinstitute

@digitalfinanceinstitute

Profile for Digital Finance Institute

Canadian FinTech & AI Awards - 2018 Agenda (OFFICIAL)  

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded