__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1


About Us The Digital Finance Institute is a think tank for financial technology and artificial intelligence. We represent a strategic link in digital finance between the financial services industry, NGOs, academia, financial regulators and policy makers to promote financial innovation and vibrancy through thought leadership, engagement, advocacy, research and education.

digitalfinanceinstitute.org

Awards The Canadian FinTech & AI Awards were launched five years ago to recognize and celebrate Canadian innovation in financial technology and artificial intelligence. The Awards bring together Canada’s leaders in finance to celebrate and support Canadian technology from coast to coast to coast, and help build bridges across the country through innovation.

fintechawards.org

Canada FinTech Week Canada FinTech Week was launched by the Digital Finance Institute to bring the financial services sector together to showcase Canadian innovation with a full week of investment opportunities, leadership sessions, networking, meetups and much more, created around our flagship FinTech Canada Conference. Canada FinTech Week acts as the vehicle for the engagement of FinTech, enabling key connections and supporting financial innovation in Canada. Join us for 2020!

fintechweek.ca


Sponsors

In Partnership with


Master of Ceremonies

Geoffrey Cher – Wildeboer Dellelce LLP Geoff Cher is a partner at the law firm of Wildeboer Dellelce LLP in Toronto and a well known lawyer in the FinTech sector. He practices in the areas of corporate and securities law.

Welcoming Remarks

Ellis Odynn – Digital Finance Institute Ellis Odynn is the Executive Director and Chief AI Officer at the Digital Finance Institute. She is also the Executive Producer of the Canadian FinTech & AI Awards and Canada FinTech Week.

Accounting Firm Amar Joshi – RSM Canada Amar Joshi is the Director of Management Consulting at RSM Canada. He has over 14 years of consulting experience delivering revenue uplift, cost reduction and risk avoidance engagements to clients across industries.


A G E N D A

7:00 Award Ceremony Starts 7:15 Opening Entertainment 7:26 Welcoming Remarks Salad Served 7:37 Advisory Firm of the Year Award Presentation 7:43 HSBC Diversity & Inclusion in Innovation Award Presentation 7:50 Accelerator / Incubator of the Year Award Presentation 7:56 Blockchain Company of the Year Award Presentation 8:02 Judges' Choice Award: Technology Impact Award Presentation 8:08 Central 1 Credit Union of the Year Award Presentation Main Course Served 8:16 Investment Firm of the Year Award Presentation 8:22 Law Firm of the Year Award Presentation Networking Break 8:49 Responsible Innovation in Financial Services Award Presentation 8:55 RegTech Solution of the Year Award Presentation 9:01 Visa Entrepreneur / Innovation Leader of the Year Award Presentation Dessert Served 9:09 Scotiabank FemTech Leader of the Year Award Presentation 9:16 Judges' Choice Award: Leadership Award Presentation 9:22 Payments Company of the Year Award Presentation 9:28 ATB AI Company of the Year Award Presentation 9:35 CIBC FinTech Startup of the Year Award Presentation 9:42 Closing Entertainment 9:50 ICICI Bank FinTech Company of the Year Award Presentation 9:57 Canadian Bankers Association Bank Innovator of the Year Award Presentation 10:04 Closing Remarks Awards VIP After Party


[MENU] Fresh Bread & Butter SALAD Baby Arugula & Frisee Salad Toasted Pumpkin & Sunflower Seeds, Grapes & Sundried Cherries, Roasted Heirloom Squash, White Balsamic Dressing ENTRÉE Honey Glazed Local Chicken Breast Roasted Herb Potatoes, Merlot Chicken Glaze DESSERT Banoffee Tart Caramel Mousse, Banana, Torched Meringue, Ganache, Fleur de sel, Micro Mint Freshly Brewed Coffee - Regular & Decaffeinated LOT 35 Teas

E N T E R T A I N M E N T

OPENING PERFORMANCE Gavin McLeod

CLOSING PERFORMANCE DAAM Dance Group


18 AWARDS

CIBC FinTech Startup of the Year ICICI Bank FinTech Company of the Year Canadian Bankers Association Bank Innovator of the Year ATB AI Company of the Year HSBC Diversity & Inclusion in Innovation Award Visa Entrepreneur / Innovation Leader of the Year Scotiabank FemTech Leader of the Year Central 1 Credit Union of the Year

Accelerator / Incubator of the Year Law Firm of the Year Payments Company of the Year Advisory Firm of the Year Investment Firm of the Year RegTech Solution of the Year Blockchain Company of the Year Responsible Innovation in Financial Services Judges‘ Choice Award: Leadership Judges‘ Choice Award: Technology Impact


Award Presenters

Alice Li, Miss Global International

Brian Weiner, Visa Canada

Dan Semmens, ATB Financial

Elizabeth Duke, Central 1

Geoff Smith, EllisDon

Lori Fazaa, HSBC Bank Canada

Malcolm Mercer, Law Society of Ontario

Marina Mandal, Canadian Bankers Association

Pamela Hilborn, Scotiabank

Perry Dellelce, Wildeboer Dellelce LLP

Sandeep Goel, ICICI Bank Canada

Scarlett Sieber, CCG Catalyst Consulting Group

Stephen Krajinovic, ET Canada

Stephen Maher, Maclean's Magazine

Terry Hickey, CIBC

Vivene Salmon, Canadian Bar Association

Geoffrey Cher, Wildeboer Dellelce LLP

Ellis Odynn, Digital Finance Institute

Tongtong Xu, Digital Finance Institute

Eunji Lee, Digital Finance Institute


Nominees in House CIBC FinTech Startup of the Year

Ryan Yates ryan.yates@apaylo.com

Tiffany T Johnston Tiffany@blockerts.com

David Kantanka david@finaeo.com

Megan Harris mharris@fispan.com

Omar Kaywan omar@gooseinsurance.com

Julien Brault julien@hardbacon.com

Paul Birkness paul@pungle.ca

Michael Rabkin michael@sigone.capital

Ben Abbasi b.abbasi@quadfi.com

Tiffany Kaminsky tiffany@symend.com

media@tua.ca

Robert Kirwin rkirwin@vigilantcs.com


Nominees in House ICICI Bank FinTech Company of the Year

Karen Lourdes klourdes@blockstation.com

media@borrowell.com

Chris McLellan chris.mclellan@cinchy.com

Tobi Adam tobi.adam@coinsquare.com

Daniel Whiting daniel.whiting@ethoca.com

Elisabeth Laett elisabeth.laett@exagens.com

Michael Barr michael.barr@ficanex.ca

Kathryn Barban kbarban@flexiti.com

Justine Melman justine.melman@flybits.com

Jonathan Hoyles Jonathan@glancepay.com

Stacey Brown SBrown@goeasy.com

Brian Smith bsmith@inovatec.com

Adrienne Vaughan avaughan@interac.ca

Andrew Kirkland andrew@justwealth.com

Brock Murray bmurray@katipult.com

marketing@lendesk.com

John Shmuel john@lowestrates.ca

media@merrco.ca

Roy Sarkar roy.sarkar@mindbridge.ai

Tolu Aibana tolu.aibana@lendified.com

Matt DeMargel MDemargel@919Marketing.com


Nominees in House Kevin Wallace kevin.wallace@nanopay.net

Jon Aikman jaikman@nordai.co

Donna Galloway donna.galloway@portfolioplus.com

Saba Shariff sshariff@symcor.com

Courtney Wattie courtney@paybright.com

Sarah Douglas Sarah.Douglas@securekey.com

Michael Rabkin michael@sigone.capital

John Mcleod john.mcleod@versapay.com

Chantelle Bianchi chantelle@wysdom.ai

Canadian Bankers Association Bank Innovator of the Year

Deborah Chatterton Deborah.Chatterton@concentra.ca

Teresa Pagnutti Teresa.Pagnutti@meridiancu.ca

Julie Wainwright julie.wainwright@scotiabank.com

Shabeen Hanifa Shabeen_Hanifa@manulife.com


Nominees in House Canadian Bankers Association Bank Innovator of the Year

Deborah Chatterton Deborah.Chatterton@concentra.ca

Teresa Pagnutti Teresa.Pagnutti@meridiancu.ca

Julie Wainwright julie.wainwright@scotiabank.com

Shabeen Hanifa Shabeen_Hanifa@manulife.com


Nominees in House ATB AI Company of the Year

Peter Suma peter.suma@appliedbrainresearch.com

Kelly Cherniwchan kelly@chata.ai

Naheed Kurji naheed.kurji@cyclicarx.com

Mark Evans mevans@daisyintel.com

Mehdi Merai mehdi@dataperformers.com

Andrew Peek Andrew@delphia.com

Jon Lipinski jon@ecopiatech.com.

Lisa Seguin lisa.seguin@elementai.com

Elisabeth Laett elisabeth.laett@exagens.com

Kody Gurfein kgurfein@exiger.com

Justine Melman justine.melman@flybits.com

Steven Jast Steven@gazelle.ai

Shelley Fraser sfraser@lixar.com

Philip Poulidis philip@odaia.ai

Monica Hovsepian mhovsepi@opentext.com

Roy Sarkar roy.sarkar@mindbridge.ai

press@plyzer.com

Ben Abbasi b.abbasi@quadfi.com

Kundan Joshi kundan@theapplabb.com

Evan Chrapko evan.chrapko@trustscience.com

Chantelle Bianchi chantelle@wysdom.ai

Kailah Bharath kailah@zoom.ai

Michael Filion michaelf@stradigi.ai

Dani Mario dmario@vendasta.com

Dr. Paul Kruszewski paul@wrnch.ai


Nominees in House HSBC Diversity & Inclusion in Innovation Award

Vincent Jackson vjackson@blg.com

Adrienne Vaughan avaughan@interac.ca

Sue Hutchinson Mastercard

Victoria Pelletier IBM


Nominees in House Visa Entrepreneur / Innovation Leader of the Year Alex Conconi Lendesk

Aly Dhalla Finaeo

Andrew Graham Borrowell

Andrew Kirkland Justwealth

Cole Diamond Coinsquare

Darrell MacMullin Securekey

Jose Ribau Cadillac Fairview

Kate Arthur Kids Code Jeunesse

Kundan Joshi TheAppLabb

Mark O'Connell Interac Corp.

Marwan Forzley Veem

Michael Rabkin SigOne Capital

Mo Nikjoo QuadFi Inc.

Rojin Nair Celero

Stuart Davis Scotiabank

Sue Britton FinTech Growth Syndicate


Nominees in House Scotiabank FemTech Leader of the Year Aimee Gagnon Lendesk

Andrea Fiederer Goeasy Ltd.

Carolina Bessega Stradigi AI

Charley Butler Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan

Debbie Gamble Interac Corp.

Donna Galloway Portfolio+ Inc.

Eva Wong Borrowell

Fatema Pirone CIBC

Jane Yuen CIBC

Jennifer Stott RBC

Jenny Hui Element AI

Kashmera Self Interac Corp.

Laviva Mazhar Luge Capital

Louanne Gemin Linedata

Malini Mitra Paypal

Michelle Joliat BMO Financial Group

Miyo Yamashita Mindbridge AI

Nora Curic CIBC

Rania Llewellyn Scotiabank

Saba Shariff Symcor Inc.

Sarah Bevan UBS Bank

Sue Britton FinTech Growth Syndicate

Tiffany Kaminsky Symend


Nominees in House Central 1 Credit Union of the Year

Erin McKinley erin.mckinley@coastcapitalsavings.com

Lori Walsh lori.walsh@cornerstonecu.com

Ken Shea ken.shea@creditu.ca

Teresa Pagnutti Teresa.Pagnutti@meridiancu.ca

Accelerator / Incubator of the Year

Laura Elvidge lelvidge@acceleratorcentre.com

Michelle Peng Greenberg mpgreenberg@marsdd.com

Sarah Spagnuolo sarah@holtaccelerator.ai

Mike Tremblay mtremblay@investottawa.ca

Law Firm of the Year Vincent Jackson vjackson@blg.com

Lindsay Amadio lamadio@mcleod-law.com

James Hatch James.Hatch@gowlingwlg.com


Nominees in House Payments Company of the Year Josh Knotek johnknotek@clearpaycanada.com

Ryan Yates ryan.yates@apaylo.com

Gaurav Sharda gaurav.sharda@trucash.com

Chris Minos Chris.Minos@everlink.ca

Jonathan Hoyles Jonathan@glancepay.com

Adrienne Vaughan avaughan@interac.ca

Mani Singh mani.singh@expertus.ca

media@merrco.ca

Maxime Doucet-Benoit mdoucet-benoit@mobeewave.com

Kevin Wallace kevin.wallace@nanopay.net

Courtney Wattie courtney@paybright.com

Malini Mitra Malini.mitra@paypal.com

Paul Birkness paul@pungle.ca

Julie Wainwright julie.wainwright@scotiabank.com

Saba Shariff sshariff@symcor.com

Shawn Abrishami shawn@techpos.ca

Kathryn Barban kbarban@flexiti.com

Laura Gillis laura@smooth.tech

John Mcleod john.mcleod@versapay.com


Nominees in House Advisory Firm of the Year

Ainsley Murray amurray@fintechgrowthsyndicate.com

Investment Firm of the Year

Cristin Gray cristin@informationvp.com

media@luge.vc

RegTech Solution of the Year

Karen Lourdes klourdes@blockstation.com

Anu Sood anu.sood@caseware.com

Monica Hovsepian mhovsepi@opentext.com

Ariadna Larrea Ariadna.Larrea@fenergo.com

Sarah Douglas Sarah.Douglas@securekey.com

Kody Gurfein kgurfein@exiger.com

Robert Kirwin rkirwin@vigilantcs.com


Nominees in House Blockchain Company of the Year marketing@bidali.com

SĂŠbastien DiMichele sdimichele@blockchainfoundry.com

Lance Morginn lance@blockchaingroup.io

Karen Lourdes klourdes@blockstation.com

Tobi Adam tobi.adam@coinsquare.com

Jonathan Hoyles Jonathan@glancepay.com

Michael Rabkin michael@sigone.capital

Tiffany T Johnston Tiffany@blockerts.com

Kevin Wallace kevin.wallace@nanopay.net


Building Bridges with Innovation In 2015, we started the Awards to recognize Canadians excelling in financial services, to celebrate innovation leadership and to build bridges across the country with an event where the innovation community could come together to celebrate each other and Canadian innovation.

The very first year, a hundred or so people attended and we had 3 awards. Now, the Awards attract hundreds of attendees and we recognize a wide spectrum of participants who contribute to creating amazing Canadian innovation. Our Awards recognize financial institutions, FinTechs, AI companies, law firms, investment firms, advisory firms, innovators and many others, all of whom help drive Canadian innovation leadership. Our financial services sector is full of stories of incredible vision, ground breaking innovation and timeless hard work that tonight, we recognize. We believe innovation, and AI, are the future of global finance and by working together and supporting each others' successes, Canada will reach that future faster. On behalf of the Digital Finance Institute, thank you for joining our Awards Gala Dinner to celebrate Canadian Innovation. Christine Duhaime, BA, JD Founder


Profile for Digital Finance Institute

Canadian FinTech & AI Awards - 2019 Agenda (OFFICIAL)  

The 5th Annual Canadian FinTech & AI Awards, brought to you by the Digital Finance Institute, took place on November 18, 2019 at the Fairmon...

Canadian FinTech & AI Awards - 2019 Agenda (OFFICIAL)  

The 5th Annual Canadian FinTech & AI Awards, brought to you by the Digital Finance Institute, took place on November 18, 2019 at the Fairmon...

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded