Page 1

byu religious education

REVIEW CALENDAR

COMMENTS

INTERVIEWS & SPOTLIGHTS

FALL 2008

S T U D E N T & T E A C H E R U P D AT E S

BOOKS

Eldin Ricks

From the Battlefield to the Vatican to the Classroom


Message from the Dean’s Office

i

am writing at the end of a semester in

which I enjoyed my classes as much as I ever have in my twenty-eight-year teaching career in Religious Education. Let me tell you about my classes and about some of my students. My New Testament class was a lively and energetic group of students. I never was able to get some of them to show up for class on time, but they were clever, inquisitive, and fun to be around. They kept me on my toes as we learned together about our Savior’s earthly ministry. As we went through the pages of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, we became better acquainted with not only Jesus but also those who wrote the records and those whose lives intersected with His, both the heroes and the villains of the New Testament. Like others of our Religious Education faculty, I try to teach not only the doctrine and the scriptural text but also scripture-reading skills that will serve my students well throughout their lives. In the process, I always gain new perspectives.

I also taught two sections of Islam and the Gospel, a one-hour course in which we give our students a rapid introduction to Islam in a Latter-day Saint setting. About three hundred students take the class each year, either from me or from my colleague Brian Hauglid. Because of this unique Religious Education course, many BYU graduates are better equipped to function knowledgeably in today’s world. This semester, I had three Muslim students in my classes—Lina from Palestine, Nada from Morocco, and Ujal from Bangladesh. All three, like the many other Muslim students I’ve had in my classes before, helped by sharing with their Latter-day Saint classmates some of their life’s experiences and perspectives. I learn new things from students every time. The variety of courses we teach in Religious Education—mostly focused on the scriptures and the doctrines of the Church—enhances our students’ BYU experience greatly. When I retire, I plan to calculate—or at least estimate—how many students I taught over the years at BYU. In the meantime, to the many thousands of students who have passed through Religious Education classes, I join with my colleagues in thanking you for all we have learned from you.

Kent P. Jackson Associate Dean of Religious Education


contents

BYU Religious Education Review A Publication of the Religious Studies Center WEB: BYUReligiousEducationReview.org

RESEARCh UPDATE:

COVER ARTICLE:

OUTREACh:

Deciphering the Oxyrhynchus Papyri

Eldin Ricks: From the Battlefield to the Vatican to the Classroom

Interview with Fred E. Woods

6 Foreword

8

12

...........................................

2

Being Anxiously Engaged by Richard Neitzel Holzapfel

Bruce and Nancy Winn

Upcoming Events. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

3

highlights . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 historian’s Corner . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . The Basic Course in Religion by Richard O. Cowan Conversations

.....................................

Donor Spotlights . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19

5

16

Arnold K. Garr

Brent and Connie McKinley

Student Section . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20 Computer Support Assists Faculty, Develops Skills

New Publications . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 Notes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 Faculty and Staff

Patty Smith

RELIGIOUS STUDIES CENTER Director Terry B. Ball Associate Director Kent P. Jackson Advisory Board Richard E. Bennett Arnold K. Garr Paul Y. hoskisson Dennis L. Largey

John P. Livingstone Camille Fronk Olsen Dennis A. Wright Editorial Advisory Board Nelson M. Boren Tad R. Callister Kathy K. Clayton Milly Day Eric D. Gustafson Randall L. hall Jolene E. Rockwood

Jack L. Rushton Lynne K. Speierman Thomas L. Tyler Thomas R. Valletta Victor L. Walch Publications Director Richard Neitzel holzapfel Executive Editor R. Devan Jensen

Production Manager Brent R. Nordgren Administrative Assistant Joany O. Pinegar Student Editorial Interns Rachel A. Grover heather C. Jacobsen

Julia T. Manning Erin T. Mecklenburg Rachel A. Morris Jonathon R. Owen Lacey K. Wulf

DESIGN & PRODUCTION Stephen hales Creative Inc. Creative Director Stephen hales Art Director Kelly Nield Designer Brad Jeppson

FAL L 2 0 0 8 1


foreword

being anxiously engaged t

Religious Education faculty members continue to respond to the Lord’s command to be engaged in many good causes beyond their classroom assignments.

he prophet joseph smith was

on his first historic visit to Jackson County, Missouri, in August 1831 when he heard the voice of the Lord, “Verily I say, men should be anxiously engaged in a good cause, and do many things of their own free will, and bring to pass much righteousness” (D&C 58:27). Religious Education

Andrew H. Hedges, associate

faculty members continue to respond to the Lord’s command to be engaged

professor of Church history and

in many good causes beyond their

doctrine, replaces Brown as the

classroom assignments. As we release

editor in chief of the newly expanded

our second issue of the Religious

Journal of Book of Mormon and

Education Review, I would like to

Professor S. Kent Brown retired in August.

Restoration Scripture. In addition to his work on

highlight just a few who are doing so. My past professor and colleague

campus, John B. Stohlton, profes-

are heavily involved as administrators

S. Kent Brown retired in August

sor of ancient scripture, has

and contributors in our sister research

as professor of ancient scripture,

served as executive director of

institutions. For example, Andrew C.

director of FARMS, and director of

the American Association of

Skinner, professor of ancient scrip-

the Laura F. Willes Center for Book

Presidents of Independent Colleges

ture and former dean of Religious

of Mormon Studies. For six years he

and Universities (AAPICU) since

Education, recently completed a

was also the editor of the Journal of

February 1995. The APPICU has

term of service as executive director

Book of Mormon Studies. He has now

about two hundred members who

of the Neal A. Maxwell Institute for

accepted an assignment to serve as

are presidents representing different

Religious Scholarship and as the chair

academic coordinator at the BYU

private colleges and universities,

of the Council on Religious Endeavors

Jerusalem Center for Near Eastern

including many sponsored by various

(CORE) at Brigham Young University.

Studies.

religious denominations. Through

Our Religious Education faculty

2 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


I extend my gratitude for so many people who hearken to the Lord’s gentle command to be “anxiously engaged” because their efforts bless me, the university community, and many more beyond BYU campus.

upcoming events Open to the campus community and general public*

OCTOBER 2008

Friday, October 10 The 2008 Church History Symposium, sponsored by Religious Education and the Religious Studies Center,

Many more faculty members serve in significant responsibilities beyond their Religious Education teaching assignments. However, there is one colleague I would like to introduce to you. You may already recognize his distinct baritone voice

October 24–25 The 37th Annual Sidney B. Sperry Symposium. Keynote address will be on Friday, October 24, in the Joseph Smith Building auditorium on BYU campus. Topic is

City, this is the 178th Annual General

“The Doctrine and Covenants:

speakers selected from the General Authorities and general officers of the

general conference.

Friday and Saturday,

Center at Temple Square in Salt Lake

Christ of Latter-day Saints, with

afternoon session of the October 2007

Center. Topic is John Taylor.

announcing, “From the Conference

Conference of The Church of Jesus

Daniel K Judd speaking in the Sunday

will be held at the BYU Conference

Revelations in Context.”

FEBRUARY 2009

Friday, February 27 The 2009 Church History Symposium,

Church.” That voice belongs to Lloyd

sponsored by Religious Education

D. Newell, an associate professor of

and the Religious Studies Center,

Church history and doctrine. I extend my gratitude for

will be held at the BYU Conference Center. Topic is “Preserving the History of the Latter-day Saints.”

involvement in this association,

so many people who hearken to

Stohlton blesses many lives because

the Lord’s gentle command to be

he helps with efforts to keep these

“anxiously engaged” because their

private institutions independent of

efforts bless me, the university

Student Symposium. In the

government control.

community, and many more beyond

Wilkinson Center on BYU campus

Daniel K Judd, professor of

BYU campus.

ancient scripture, currently serves

Friday, February 27 The 2009 Religious Education

from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m. (Luncheon served to presenters from 11 a.m. until 1 p.m.)

as the first counselor in the Church’s general Sunday School presidency.

APRIL 2009

Elder John M. Madsen, profes-

Saturday, April 11

sor emeritus in Church history and

The 2009 Religious Education Easter

doctrine, was called to the Second

Richard Neitzel Holzapfel

Conference. In the Joseph Smith

Quorum of the Seventy in August

Publications Director

Building auditorium on BYU campus

1992 before being called to the First

Religious Studies Center

from 9 a.m. until noon.

Quorum in April 1997. *For more information, please contact Brent Nordgren at 422-3293. FA LL 2 0 0 8 3


highlights

Faculty Highlight SUSAN EASTON BLACK (susan_black@byu.edu) IS A PROFESSOR OF ChURCh hISTORY AND DOCTRINE AT BYU.

s

usan easton black has been recognized for her teaching,

scholarship, and writing for the past thirty years. With over a hundred book titles and nearly 150 articles to her credit, it is little wonder that she received the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2000, the highest award given to a professor at BYU. Black is the first religion professor to be so recognized since C. Wilfred Griggs in 1995 and Hugh Nibley in 1965. Although Dr. Black could discuss her many accomplishments, she dismisses any notoriety by turning conversations to her latest research. Whether the topic is the ministry of Jesus Christ, the prophetic role of Joseph Smith, or the events surrounding the Restoration, it is the weaving of details into the tapestry of her work that has become her hallmark. To her, it is important to remember in written form those who have gone before—those whose faith, sacrifice, and devotion have made our day so wonderful.

Susan Easton Black feels blessed to share the knowledge she has gained with

She feels blessed to share the knowledge she has gained with hundreds of students each semester and with television audiences worldwide. Of her young

hundreds of students each semester.

students she says, “They are the noble and great of the rising generation. Their

Courtesy of Richard B. Crookston.

goodness, hope, and devotion to the Lord are all inspiring to me.” This respect is mirrored in comments by the students who say she is one of their favorite teachers. Susan Easton Black is married to Harvey Black, and they are the parents of eight children.

Joseph Smith Translation Reexamined by Paul Y. Hoskisson PAUL Y. hOSKISSON (paul_hoskisson@byu.edu) IS A PROFESSOR OF ANCIENT SCRIPTURE AT BYU.

O

ne of the most important

One of the editors, Kent P. Jackson,

transcriptions that are currently avail-

Latter-day Saint reference

has continued to work on the next

able in the book. It will also contain

books published in the last ten years

stage of the project, a Joseph Smith

images and transcriptions of other

appeared in 2004, namely Joseph

Translation research library, slated

JST-related manuscripts and publica-

Smith’s New Translation of the Bible:

for release within the next year on

tions not included in the book. Users

Original Manuscripts, edited by Scott

DVD. With funding from the Religious

of the electronic version will be able to

h. Faulring, Kent P. Jackson, and

Studies Center, his student assistant

retrieve passages in the Joseph Smith

Robert J. Matthews, and published by

Carolyn Plocher has been working

Translation and bring up in a parallel

the Religious Studies Center. Years

with BYU’s WordCruncher team to

window the corresponding image from

in the making, this publication made

prepare the electronic publication.

the manuscripts. The text and images

available for the first time the texts

The research library will include

will then scroll together. This DVD will

Joseph used to produce his “transla-

images of all of the handwritten pages

be a valuable resource for research and

tion” of the Bible, commonly referred

containing the Prophet’s dictation of

for those interested in learning more

to as the Joseph Smith Translation.

his New Translation, as well as all the

about the Joseph Smith Translation.

4 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


A Message from the Teaching Fellow by Jerome M. Perkins JEROME M. PERKINS (jerry_perkins@byu.edu) IS A TEAChING PROFESSOR OF ChURCh hISTORY AND DOCTRINE AT BYU.

A

mong Latter-day Saints,” wrote

more to achieve than simply increas-

illustrate excellent teaching practices.

Adrian P. Van Mondfrans, “the

ing knowledge. Teaching must uplift

The collection will contain illustrations

ultimate purpose of teaching the

and change lives, clearly establish the

of effective teaching alternatives to

gospel is the transformation of lives.

doctrines of eternal life, and develop

the more traditional lecture method,

Neither the process of intensive study

stronger faith and testimony in both

with each illustration being filmed in

nor the knowledge gained is an end in

students and teachers. These goals

an actual classroom setting. The clips

itself” (in Encyclopedia of Mormonism,

necessitate active, creative, and

will then be made available on a Web

ed. Daniel h. Ludlow [New York:

powerful teaching.

site, and Religious Education faculty

Macmillan, 1992], 1442). Religious

To engender the type of teaching

and transfer professors will be able

Education professors and instructors

that changes lives, Religious Education

view this collection to adopt useful

fully understand that in teaching the

has instituted a “Best Practices” proj-

ideas and improve their own teaching

gospel of Jesus Christ, there is much

ect that will include video clips that

practices.

Historian’s Corner: The Basic Course in Religion designate) would be a serious educational and spiritual error and a blow to the missionary program of the Church.” The petitioners

is a foundation course. “2. The Book of Mormon has greater

argued that requiring the Book of Mormon

student appeal than any religion

during the students’ second year would be

course offered at the Brigham Young

“a major setback to the religion program of the University” because of the number who dropped out after their first year.1 Glenn L. Pearson, hugh Nibley, Reid E. Bankhead, and Eldin Ricks appended individual

D

“1. The Book of Mormon, by its very nature,

University. “3. The Book of Mormon teaches the high standard of personal conduct that is stressed as one of the principle aims of the [existing theology courses].”2

statements. Eldin’s statement acknowledged,

uring 1960 a heated debate erupted

“I wish also to stress that in urging a study of

As a result of these efforts, the Book of

among BYU religion faculty members

the Book of Mormon, I am in nowise minimiz-

Mormon requirement was adopted and

whether the basic course should be in

ing the value of the other standard works of

implemented the next academic year. (For

theology or the Book of Mormon. On

the Church. . . . My only point is that the Book

more on Eldin Ricks, see the “Teaching

November 28 a group of fifteen faculty

of Mormon should be studied first.” he also

Legacy” article.)

members, including Eldin Ricks, wrote to

acknowledged, “I am not opposed to the study

university and Church leaders, urging the

of theology. I am convinced, however, that

cause of the Book of Mormon. The faculty

the Book of Mormon should be the founda-

Richard O. Cowan

members agreed to provide each member

tion course of theological study as I am also

Professor of Church history and doctrine at

of the college a copy of their arguments.

convinced that it should be the foundation

Brigham Young University.

After affirming their support for university

course of a study of the four standard works.”

leaders, the faculty members argued that

he then presented three reasons for making the

“to fail to require the Book of Mormon of all

Book of Mormon “the basic required course in

B.Y.U. students (with those few exceptions

religion for all students at the Brigham Young

which the administration shall see fit to

University. These are:

1 Glenn L. Pearson and others to Ernest L. Wilkinson and the Board of Trustees, November 28, 1960. 2 Eldin Ricks to Ernest L. Wilkinson and the Board of Trustees, November 28, 1960.

FA LL 2 0 0 8 5


RESEA RCH UPDATE

DECIPHERING THE

OXYRHYNCHUS PAPYRI

by Thomas A. Wayment

ThOMAS A. WAYMENT (thom_wayment@byu.edu) IS AN ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ANCIENT SCRIPTURE AT BYU.

L

ocated nearly one hundred miles south

there are a few Latin and Coptic texts dating to the

of Cairo and west of the Nile, the ancient city of

Ptolemaic, Roman, and Byzantine periods. Even though

Oxyrhynchus (modern el-Bahnasa, Egypt) was

90 percent of the papyri are documentary—recording

a thriving city in Roman times and at one time boasted a

tax burdens, contracts for the sale of goods, and other

large Christian community beginning in the late second

mundane affairs of daily life—nearly 10 percent are literary

century and reaching its pinnacle in the fourth and fifth

and preserve classical and biblical texts.

centuries. After the Muslim conquest of Egypt (AD 641),

No one had expected the discovery of so many papyri,

the Christian community began to decline significantly

and the excavators commissioned local crews to make tin

towards the end of the seventh century. Because of its

boxes so the papyri could be safely transported back to

relative obscurity and the preference by archaeologists

Oxford. Some of the papyri were even transported in old

to excavate more glamorous sites, Oxyrhynchus was

kerosene cans that were cut apart and made into boxes. The

neglected until 1897, when two Oxford fellows, Bernard

crews making the boxes struggled to keep up with the exca-

Grenfell and Arthur Hunt, began digging at the site with

vators, who were excavating hundreds of papyri each day.

the hope of discovering discarded papyri hidden in the ruins of the ancient city.

After the papyri were cleaned, flattened, and placed under glass, they were edited and prepared for publica-

Outside the ancient city of Oxyrhynchus, several

tion. Although the papyri have been consistently edited

rubbish mounds lay undisturbed and appeared to be rela-

and published since their initial discovery, only a small

tively uninteresting. Grenfell, in particular, felt that these

percentage of the entire

rubbish mounds had very little to offer the excavators,

collection has appeared

and he wrote in his own diary that they contained nothing

in print, perhaps one

more than ancient rubbish. The team soon realized, however, what lay underneath the mounds, and eventually they unearthed the largest collection of papyri ever discovered, eventually yielding roughly 500,000 papyri fragments, the vast majority of which represent singular texts. Most of the papyri were written in Greek, although

Papyrus Manuscript p9 (recto; 1 John 4:11–12, 14–17), early third century AD. This is the earliest surviving manuscript of 1 John. Used by permission, Houghton Library, Harvard University (call number

6 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW

SM 3736).


Oxyrhynchus has provided scholars with fragments of all four Gospels, Romans, the majority of Paul’s epistles, and apocryphal texts. percent of the total number of papyri discovered. Over the past century the curators of the collection have faced several different obstacles in editing the papyri for publication, namely abraded and damaged surfaces, obscured text, papyri that were reused (thus containing two texts per page), and a variety of surface corruptions. In 2006 a team of scholars from Brigham Young University, including Thomas A. Wayment from the Department of Ancient Scripture, traveled to Oxford to apply multispectral imaging to the problematic papyri. Previously, this technology had yielded impressive results on burned texts and other texts that were difficult to

Papyrus Manuscript p4 (recto; Luke 6:4–16), AD 150–75. This is the earliest surviving manuscript of the Gospel of Luke. Used by permission, Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris, France.

read because of similar surface damage. During the trip

anguish for the wickedness and the abominations of his

to Oxford they were permitted to image a wide variety of

people” (Mosiah 3:7). Although these verses in the Book of

texts to determine whether the technology could unlock

Mormon cannot confirm the similar verses in the biblical

the text of the difficult-to-read papyri.

account, they do testify that Jesus did indeed sweat drops

Because Oxyrhynchus has so far yielded roughly half of the oldest New Testament papyri, as well as texts

of blood as part of His anguish for His people. As a result of the images taken in 2006, the team was

of classical authors such as Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey,

able to reedit P.Oxy 2383 and conclude definitively that

the plays of Euripides, Sophocles’ Oedipus Rex, Euclid’s

the text has suffered corruption and scribal correction.

Elements, and other important Greek and Latin authors,

Specifically, the new edition of this fragment raises the

the potential to randomly select papyri and produce new

distinct possibility that Luke 22:43–44 may have been

editions of them was enormous. As for Christian texts,

excluded from this particular fragment because of scribal

Oxyrhynchus has provided scholars with fragments of all

error and not because those verses were not originally part

four Gospels, Romans, the majority of Paul’s epistles, and

of the biblical text.

apocryphal texts such as the Gospel of Thomas, the Gospel

The BYU team is currently working on a fragment of

according to the Hebrews, and the Shepherd of Hermas. A

the Gospel of Peter (P.Oxy 2949), as well as several texts

text the team selected was P.Oxy 2383 (∏75), one of the

that have not yet appeared in print. One is of particular

oldest fragments of the Gospel of Luke. Importantly, this

interest for biblical scholars and contains an unpublished

fragment contains on its front side the text of Luke 22:41–

fragment of the text of Philemon. This fragment will likely

45, but it skips over the verse that records the appearance

confirm the already established text of Philemon as we

of an angel from heaven to strengthen Jesus while He

have it in our New Testament today, but frequently the

prayed in Gethsemane and the verse mentioning Jesus’s

papyri will offer variant readings and changes in wording.

sweat as great drops of blood. This fragment and several

The team is also working on several early fragments of

later texts have led some scholars to conclude these verses

the Gospel of Matthew that show signs of scribal correc-

were a later interpolation and were not part of what Luke

tion. Multispectral imaging technology may also provide

recorded about Gethsemane.

a tool for differentiating between inks on a single papyrus

Interestingly, King Mosiah refers to a similar event

leaf, and they are working with the Matthew fragments to

in the Book of Mormon when he prophesied, “for behold,

determine if indeed it will be possible to detect the hands

blood cometh from every pore, so great shall be his

of the original author and a later corrector. FALL 2 0 0 8 7


TEACHING LEGACY

the o t D L E I F E L From the B A T T : M O O R S S A L C V A T I C A N to the Ricks

n i d l E f o y r o t S e h T

by Richard O. Cowan All photography courtesy of Irene Hailes Ricks, except as noted.

RIChARD O. COWAN (richard_cowan@byu.edu) IS A PROFESSOR OF ChURCh hISTORY AND DOCTRINE AT BYU.

E

ldin Ricks was the thirteenth person to join BYU’s

Even before going on his mission, Eldin had contem-

religion faculty. Although many of today’s readers

plated becoming a chaplain in the army reserve but was

may not recognize his name, he was well known

told that he would need an undergraduate college degree,

to his contemporaries, and his contributions to Religious

plus three years of graduate study and three years in active

Education and Church members’ study of the standard

ministry. With the outbreak of hostilities, however, the

works were substantial.

requirement for graduate study was dropped. This meant

He was born March 26, 1916, in Rexburg, Idaho, but

that Eldin’s college degree, two years in the mission field,

his family subsequently moved to the Los Angeles area,

and one year as a seminary teacher qualified him to be a

where Eldin graduated from high school. Following his

chaplain, and he was eventually assigned to duty in North

mission, Eldin decided to finish his college education at

Africa and Italy.

Brigham Young University and graduated in 1941 with a

The World War II requirement that servicemen

bachelor’s degree. He then began teaching English and

had to register either as Catholic or Protestant posed a

seminary at Overton in southern Nevada.

challenge for the Latter-day Saint chaplain. There was

8 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


no way Chaplain Ricks could readily identify members of his faith. He devised a unique and effective solution. He painted a beehive and the word Deseret on the side of his Jeep. These symbols would probably mean nothing to most

Opposite: The 1954

but would be readily recognized by Latter-day Saints. This

chaplain school Ricks

tactic worked and many young men and women immedi-

attended at Fort Slocum

ately established contact with him.

in New York. (Eldin is the

1

far left on the fourth row.)

While visiting Rome in August 1945, a few months following World War II, Chaplain Ricks had a unique

Left: Eldin Ricks as an

experience. He and three other Latter-day Saints planned

army chaplain in 1943–44.

to attend a public audience with Pope Pius XII at which up to two thousand people might be present. He first went to visit Beth Davis, whom he had met at BYU and who was then working at the United States Mission to the Holy See

Even before going on his mission, Eldin had contemplated becoming a chaplain in the army rese rve. (comparable to an embassy at the Vatican). After chatting

of rooms, they were just outside the chamber where the

for a little while, he casually remarked to her, “Beth, we’re

pope granted private audiences. They were told that it

on our way over to see the pope.”

was customary for visitors to kneel and kiss the pope’s

“Oh, would you like to see the pope?” she responded.

ring. They wanted to be courteous but felt it would not be

With surprise, he realized that she might be able

appropriate to do either. Finally a bell tinkled, and they

to arrange a personal visit. “Beth, if you could arrange a

were ushered in. Pope Pius XII extended his hand in greet-

private audience for us, I’d love you for life,” the young

ing, and the visitors shook hands with him. He initiated

chaplain remarked.

the conversation by asking how long they had been in Italy.

Beth introduced Chaplain Ricks to her superior,

Then, after visiting about his trip to the United States a

suggesting the possibility of arranging the audience.

few years earlier, the pope offered to give his guests souve-

Rather skeptically, the woman asked about the purpose of

nirs of their visit: crucifixes, missals (books containing

the visit. Having wondered for some time what it would

what is said and sung during mass), or other mementos.

be like to meet the pope and give him a copy of the Book

After accepting these gifts, Chaplain Ricks announced:

of Mormon, he answered, “To present the pope with a

“We too would like to leave a souvenir of our visit with

copy of Mormon scriptures.” Eldin held his breath until

you. We have visited St. Peter’s Cathedral, and there we

she acknowledged that this would be a good reason. She

see the treasures brought by the rulers and representatives

said, however, that such visits were arranged from two

of many nations. Our gift by comparison is of very little

to six months in advance and asked the chaplain when

value in dollars and cents, but the message it contains is

he would like to schedule the appointment. “It doesn’t

of infinite value.” Eldin then handed the pope a copy of

matter to us,” he replied, “as long as it is before two o’clock

the Book of Mormon and explained that it was a record

tomorrow afternoon.” She laughed, doubting whether this

of God’s dealings with a branch of the house of Israel that

would be possible, but instructed him to call back later

inhabited ancient America.

that afternoon. After calling, he was delighted to learn the appointment had been made. At 12:30 the next afternoon, Eldin and his companions were at the Vatican. After passing through a series

“Do you mean that Christ was in America?” the pope inquired. “Yes, sir,” the chaplain affirmed. Eldin then reminded the pope of Christ’s promise to visit “other sheep” as FAL L 2 0 0 8 9


Right: Ricks wanted to meet

during World War II, having served as a member of the

Pope Pius XII to give him a

Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service. Elder

Book of Mormon.

Harold B. Lee, the Church’s Servicemen’s Coordinator, brought them together by assigning them to a committee

Below: In 1953 Sidney B. Sperry and Eldin Ricks led BYU’s first

planning programs for returning military personnel. Eldin

Travel Study tour to the Holy

and Irene became the parents of four children.

Land. In coming years he would visit the Holy Land over

In the fall of 1949, Eldin also began his career as a

twenty-five times.

teacher of religion at BYU ( just three years after Hugh B. Brown and Hugh Nibley had joined the faculty). For the next thirty-two years, Eldin Ricks served as a beloved professor, teaching and sharing his testimony with thousands of students. In 1953 Sidney B. Sperry and Eldin Ricks led BYU’s first Travel Study tour to the Holy Land. Eldin had first visited Palestine while serving as a chaplain in North Africa. In coming years he would visit the Holy Land over twenty-five times, and this significant part of the world would become an important area of focus in his personal research. The scriptures, particularly the Book of Mormon, were an important area of emphasis. After only three months in the mission field, he had the idea for what

In 1953 Sidney B. Sperry and Eldin Ricks led BYU’s first Travel Study tour to the Holy Land.

would become his most popular publication: “As I examined several different scripture aids, I noted that the recorded in John chapter 10. The pope seemed sufficiently

emphasis was almost exclusively on Bible references. I

interested that Eldin reached for the book and turned down

began to form lists of my own that also included references

the page at 3 Nephi chapter 8, explaining that here was the

from latter-day scripture.” He believed this project would

record of how the Savior’s promise had been fulfilled.

be of benefit to missionaries and gospel students every-

As Eldin returned the book to him, the pope asked,

where. Therefore, after his mission, he worked on it “during every available free moment for the next three

“You mean I may have this?” “Yes, sir,” Eldin eagerly affirmed, “we wish it to be our

years.” The first edition of his Combination Reference

gift to you, and we urge you to read it. It is a message for all

appeared in 1943, and many more editions followed. This

people everywhere, and we are certain of its truth.”

book became a trusted tool for generations of mission-

2

Back in civilian life, Eldin took graduate classes and

aries and was translated into other languages, the first

taught religion part-time at BYU before receiving his

edition in Spanish appearing in 1951. As a missionary

master’s degree at the University of Southern California in

in the early 1960s, President Cecil O. Samuelson said

1949. That same year on June 9, he married Irene Hailes

the volume was “a tremendous help in my studies, talk

from Salt Lake City. Like Eldin, she had military experience

preparation, and general understanding of the scriptures.”

10 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


He added, “These were the days before the Topical Guide

Mormon should be the basic course. The relative merits

published with our current editions of the scriptures was

of each proposal were discussed vigorously and at great

available. The little Ready Reference was a very handy and

length in religion faculty meetings through the remain-

convenient tool. I pay great tribute to Eldin Ricks for his

der of that year. In November several faculty members,

tremendous contributions in teaching the gospel and help-

including Eldin, wrote to university president Ernest L.

ing others teach the gospel.”3

Wilkinson and the Board of Trustees advocating the Book

Eldin Ricks had a significant impact on the religion

of Mormon course.5 On March 15, 1961, Elders Harold B.

curriculum at BYU. In 1960 a committee suggested that the

Lee and Marion G. Romney of the Quorum of the Twelve

basic religion course should be “in Doctrines and Principles

Apostles strongly recommended that “the basic course

of the Gospel and Practical LDS Living.” A group of faculty

required for all freshmen at the Brigham Young University

members, however, strongly believed that the Book of

and in every other Church school be the Book of Mormon.”6

4

During the 1960s, Eldin authored his New Testament and Book of Mormon study guides, which were used by thousands of students in coming decades. The Case for Left: The first edition of the

the Book of Mormon Witnesses appeared in 1961. Other

Combination Reference appeared

publications followed. In King of Kings, he presented a

in 1943, and many more editions followed. The first edition in Spanish

harmony of the Gospels’ accounts of the life of Christ. He

appeared in 1951. Courtesy of Richard

authored an appendix for his special wide-margin edition

B. Crookston.

of the Book of Mormon suited for in-depth study and note taking. He prepared a complete electronic database for the

Below: Eldin and Irene Ricks in 1986.

scriptures, which proved a significant resource when the Church published its new edition of the standard works in 1979–81. Eldin’s Thorough Concordance of the LDS Standard Works was published by FARMS in 1995 after his death. Professor Ricks retired from the Religious Education faculty in 1981. “Eldin Ricks was a great, kind man—a real scholar,” affirmed Dean Robert J. Matthews. “As a teacher he was very thorough. He did not leave one stone unturned.”7 Brother Ricks died of heart failure on September 7, 1992. His contributions, however, live on. Although most present BYU students may not know his name, they are nevertheless being blessed by the scripture-based curriculum he helped put in place. Similarly, Latter-day Saints around the world are strengthened by study resources in the standard works that are built on the foundation laid by Eldin Ricks.

1 Irene Ricks interview, April 23, 2008, interview by Richard O. Cowan. 2 Eldin Ricks interview, November 4, 1983, interview by Richard O. Cowan; recording in author’s possession. 3 Cecil O. Samuelson to Richard O. Cowan, April 28, 2008. 4 General Education Committee Report, May 1960, 2.

5 For extracts from this correspondence, see “historian’s Corner” herein. 6 harold B. Lee and Marion G. Romney to the Church Board of Education and BYU Board of Trustees, March 15, 1961. 7 Thomas Mchoes, “Former BYU Teacher Dies at Age 76,” Daily Universe, September 10, 1992.

FA LL 2 0 0 8 11


outreach

richard l. evans chair of religious understanding Interview with Fred E. Woods Interview by Erin Tanner Mecklenburg

FRED E. WOODS (fred_woods@byu.edu) IS A PROFESSOR OF ChURCh hISTORY AND DOCTRINE AT BYU. ERIN TANNER MECKLENBURG (erinqtan@gmail.com) IS STUDYING ART hISTORY AT BYU.

mecklenburg: What in your life has

discipline, but I have multiple

Because his beautiful wife contracted

best prepared you for your assignment

research projects. I received a PhD in

leprosy and went to the settlement on

as an Evans professor?

Middle East Studies with an empha-

Molokai, he decided to stay with her

woods: My eclectic background is

sis in the Hebrew Bible, but I’ve also

and ended up getting leprosy himself.

an asset because this is a chair of reli-

been deeply involved in Mormon

He died about two weeks before his

gious understanding.

maritime migration studies and

wife. While in Kalaupapa, he was the

always interested in improving the art

ecclesiastical leader for the Saints

background. My father was educated

of teaching. In my current assign-

there and became best friends with

at a Seventh-day Adventist academy.

ment, I’m dealing with people of

the leader of the Catholic faith, Father

My mother was a member of the

different faiths, varied interests, and a

Damien. Their relationship seems

Church of Christ for half a century,

host of nationalities, so it’s been help-

to have fostered a wonderful inter-

and I was baptized in that church

ful to have a fairly broad background.

faith collaboration that continues to

I come from a mixed Christian

the present. It was a perfect way to

when I was fourteen. As a teenager, my sister joined a Baptist youth

mecklenburg: What projects and

capture St. Augustine’s maxim, “In

group. I would say my family has a

publications have you been involved

the essentials, unity; in the non-essen-

very strong Christian background,

with as part of the Evans Chair?

tials, liberty; and in all things, charity.”

but different strands of Christianity.

woods: Primarily I’ve been work-

We’re doing an hour-long

I became a Latter-day Saint when I

ing with telling the interfaith story

documentary that will air next year,

was just turning twenty in southern

of a leprosy settlement on the

and it’s been a wonderful way to use

California. Growing up in the Los

Hawaiian island of Molokai known

a historical model for what can and

Angeles region with such diverse

as Kalaupapa. I’ve been interviewing

should be done in building bridges,

religiosity, culture, and ethnicity

patients there for several years. In my

looking for the common ground

provided valuable experience.

historical research I found a wonder-

instead of battleground with people

I have an interest in many

ful story of a Hawaiian Mormon

of other faiths. I’ve been teaching

things in both ancient scripture and

convert by the name of Jonathan

others about Kalaupapa at a number

LDS Church history. I don’t know

Napela. He was probably the most

of universities, and one of the things

if I’m the master of any particular

influential island Latter-day Saint.

I’ve targeted is using the Newman

12 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


The best thing about my assignment has been the great people I’ve met. I’ve been truly amazed how many fabulous people there are who are not ­Latter-day Saints. BYU choir and orchestra performing “Come, Thou Font of Every Blessing.” After showing this piece, I again Fred E. Woods, Richard L. Evans Chair professor, interviewed by Erin Tanner Mecklenburg.

asked the question, “Are Mormons

Courtesy of Richard B. Crookston.

really Christians, or are Christians really Mormons?” mecklenburg: What are some of the

Church’s equivalent of our Latter-day

conferences you’ve participated in, and

Globalization for Common Good

Saint institutes of religion.

which universities have you lectured at

organization. My first contact with

Centers, which are the Catholic

I’ve also been involved with the

during your time as the Evans Chair?

them was in Honolulu, and I went to

ment has been the great people I’ve

woods: I really enjoyed a confer-

Australia to attend one of their annual

met. I’ve been truly amazed how

ence in 2005 at Seoul, where my

conferences. I’m also involved with a

many fabulous people there are who

father had served in the Korean War.

BYU conference in 2009 which deals

are not Latter-day Saints. I have

It was the celebration of the 200th

with the role of religion in establish-

discovered that there truly are many

anniversary of Joseph Smith’s birth,

ing global peace.

wonderful people “who are only kept

so my topic was “The Thoughts and

from the truth because they know

Teachings of Joseph Smith.” It was a

of academic institutions. Several of

not where to find it” (D&C 123:12).

great experience to lecture to a large

the international lectures have been

They have put me to shame with their

group of people of different faiths.

at universities in the British Isles. I’ve

kindness, their unselfish acts, their

One of the questions they asked was,

also lectured to students of MIT and

humility, and their authenticity. It’s

“Are Mormons really Christians?”

also Georgetown. A key lecture was

been a very humbling experience, and

This is something I have heard again

in Honolulu at Chaminade University

I feel that I have friends in a number

and again from various people over

because the president very graciously

of places, both in and out of the U.S. I

several decades. That question was

wrote a very strong letter that

love my assignment. I’d love to keep

later used for another speaking

opened up a number of doors with

it a few more decades, but I’m certain

opportunity at Derby University in

other Catholic universities. I have

there are many other people who will

the United Kingdom the follow-

lectured at a number of other institu-

serve in this assignment and do great

ing year. I posed the question, then

tions, including George Washington

things with their talents and unique

spoke on the topic and ended the

University and UC–Berkeley. There

experience.

lecture with a five-minute clip of the

were great people I met on each

The best thing about my assign-

I have been lecturing at a number

FAL L 2 0 0 8 13


There’s a spirit in ­Mormonism that zapped me. campus. For example, at Georgetown, Father Timothy Godfrey was just so delightful, such a great host. I have also been to Texas Tech and the University of Texas. The past few months I taught students at Bowling Green State University in Ohio and the University of Missouri at St. Louis, where I was a visiting professor a few years ago. In addition, I gave a presentation to an interfaith audience at Ohio State University, where I

Fred Woods meets with Father David E. Farnum November 8, 2007, at the University Catholic

have a son who is a graduate student.

Center in Austin, Texas. Courtesy of Mark J. Sanderson.

I then spent several weeks lecturing in Ukraine at academic conferences

and maybe dispelled the thoughts that

type of boundary between culture

and teaching at different universities.

Mormons aren’t Christians?

and religion, and these people are

My plan for the fall of 2008 includes

woods: I do, but I don’t think it’s

very wonderful human beings. The

lectures at Catholic University

because of me. There’s a spirit in

documentary will be aired on BYU

and New York State University. I

Mormonism that zapped me and

Television, and we’re hoping to

also recently presented at Durham

touches others who really listen. As

launch it on PBS as well. I have also

University, as well as the University

a young man searching for truth, the

been invited to present this film

of Iceland. This latter university has

last thing I thought I would ever be

next year in Melbourne, Australia, at

extended an invitation to teach an

was a Mormon, but listening to the

the World Parliament of Religions.

intensive course on Mormonism in

message of a restoration of the fulness

There’s so much to do as far as

2009. That will be a great opportunity,

of the gospel of Jesus Christ has

building bridges with other faiths

and it just seems like one thing leads

changed my life.

and helping the LDS Church come

to another in networking, so I’ve been

out of obscurity in many areas of

very fortunate. My own colleagues

of Kalaupapa is going to be abso-

the world. President Hinckley was a

here have been super about helping

lutely tremendous because there’s

great mentor. He was such a master at

with different leads and contacts.

something special about experienc-

interfaith relations. I recently went to

ing the power of this unique, loving

Iceland, where I visited with the pres-

mecklenburg: It sounds like a lot of

community. The interviews with

ident of Iceland in his home. During

the topics you’ve presented have been

these patients from Kalaupapa have

our hour-long visit, he expressed

interfaith. Do you feel like these visits

had a transforming impact on my

delight at the humor of President

have built bridges with other faiths

life. The disease eradicated any

Hinckley. At the time of President

14 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW

The documentary titled The Soul


You can memorize the scriptures—but if you don’t have love and respect for other human beings, they can see right through you.

issues and Mormonism—what it is

don’t have to water down your own

mecklenburg: What have been

a team. When I bring people to my

faith to get along with people. And

the most meaningful or memorable

home it is the one-two punch; this

he demonstrated that in a number of

moments you have experienced in this

is not just Fred Woods doing things.

public venues with some hard-hitting

appointment?

My wife is a very active person in

people like Larry King, Mike Wallace,

woods: People. I think of Father

the Evans Chair assignment. She is

and others.

Vince Heier, who served in St.

my chief editor, my confidante and

Hinckley’s passing, the president of Iceland wrote a beautiful letter expressing his friendship and paying tribute to the legacy he left. President Hinckley knew how to build relationships and how to generate light instead of heat. There is a very big difference between the two, and you

and what it isn’t.

One thing I wanted to say is that

my assignment has not been a oneman band. “The sin of ingratitude is a crime more despicable than revenge,” someone once said. I’ve had tremendous help from my wife—we’ve been

Louis at the Archdiocese, where he

consultant. She has been terrific.

mecklenburg: What advice would

graciously permitted me to give a

My mother has been and continues

you give to those who want to be more

presentation. I have a hobby of study-

to be a great influence in helping

involved with interfaith work?

ing the American West, and he’s been

me understand things not only from

woods: My advice would be to

a great fan of Custer. In fact, I think he

the outside looking in but also from

review some of the principles that

has the largest Custer collection in the

the inside looking out, to deal with

Stephen R. Covey has written about.

United States. So we can share that

different issues and realize sometimes

In one of his many books he talks

wonderful interest in the American

there is more than one right answer.

about the principle of seeking to

West and then talk about more seri-

Tremendous support has also come

understand before you seek to be

ous things. Arun Joshi is a gentleman

from my department chairs, the

understood. Listening to the other

from India I hosted when he came to

late professor Paul Peterson and Dr.

person first is absolutely critical. Most

BYU. I think of him as a wonderful,

Arnold Garr. Former dean Andrew

important, though, is cultivating love

caring person. He is Hindu and full of

Skinner and current dean Terry Ball

for another human being, because you

the Light of Christ to a great degree.

have provided continual encourage-

can have an encyclopedic mind—you

Different friendships I’ve developed

ment. And academic vice president

can memorize the scriptures—but

have been the most meaningful,

John Tanner has also been a great

if you don’t have love and respect

friendships with Jewish rabbis,

support. I’ve also had constant back-

for other human beings, they can

such as Rabbi Jonathan Ginsburg at

ing from my family and colleagues.

see right through you. Doctrine and

George Washington University. I also

It’s wonderful when you really feel

Covenants section 12, verse 8 says that

consider Dr. Pétur Pétursson at the

that people have joy in the success of

no one can assist in this work unless

University of Iceland both a friend

others. That is a great thing because it

they have love. When I go to confer-

and a colleague, as well as Professor

is teamwork, and as far I’m concerned

ences or meet different people I’ve

Douglas Davies (Durham University),

I am playing one instrument in the

worked with, there is a genuine feel-

who is probably the most well

orchestra, but there are others who

ing of love, respect, and friendship.

known scholar (from another faith)

are playing different instruments and

In addition, you just need to throw

on Mormon studies in the United

doing a wonderful job. I admire their

your line in the water. You go seeking

Kingdom. I remember the people,

wonderful work. I’m just glad to be

to be led by the Spirit, not knowing

people you can go out to dinner with

in the orchestra and acknowledge the

beforehand what will happen. Like

and have a great time talking about

Lord’s hand in directing His marvel-

any assignment of this nature, being

most anything, as well as engage in

ous symphony.

led by the Spirit is crucial.

serious conversation about interfaith FALL 2 0 0 8 15


Q&A A Conversation with Arnold K. Garr Department Chair of Church history and Doctrine Interview by R. Devan Jensen ARNOLD K. GARR (arnold_garr@byu.edu) IS ThE DEPARTMENT ChAIR OF ChURCh hISTORY AND DOCTRINE AT BYU. R. DEVAN JENSEN (devan_jensen@byu.edu) IS ThE EXECUTIVE EDITOR FOR ThE RELIGIOUS STUDIES CENTER.

Q: Was he a serious candidate for the presidency?

A: Yes, absolutely. After he announced his candidacy, the Quorum of the Twelve called for volunteers in general conference to serve as electioneer missionaries for Joseph Smith. By April 15, 1844, 337 missionaries had been appointed to campaign for Joseph Smith in all twenty-six states and the Wisconsin Territory. This was the largest missionary force in the history of the Church up to that Arnold K. Garr, department chair, and Linda Godfrey, department secretary. Courtesy of Richard B. Crookston.

time. Fifteen hundred copies of his platform were sent to the president of the United States and his cabinet,

Q: You recently published a book

them. He helped write the Nauvoo

the justices of the Supreme Court,

on Joseph Smith’s campaign for the

Charter and served on the first city

senators, representatives, principal

presidency of the United States.1

council. He was an extremely active

newspapers in the United States, and

What did you learn?

participant, introducing the first

many postmasters. At least forty-five

eleven bills in the first five meet-

newspapers in twenty-two states

giant who became very involved in

ings. After John C. Bennett resigned

published articles about Joseph

politics toward the end of his life

as mayor because of his “spiritual

Smith’s campaign. In addition, ten

because he wanted to make a differ-

wifery” scandal, Joseph Smith was

Apostles campaigned throughout

ence. He met with President Van

chosen to take his place. The Prophet

the eastern states, and that is why

Buren after the Saints were expelled

was a man who truly wanted to

they were so scattered when the

from Missouri. When they moved to

change the world for the better.

Martyrdom occurred.

A: Joseph Smith was a spiritual

Nauvoo, he was determined to protect 16 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


When we are not setting goals, we are bored and risk becoming boring!

He was deeply concerned about

Q: I notice you have books on

a great secular figure, and the volume I wrote on Joseph Smith was a politi-

display by your colleagues in Church

cal history of a great spiritual figure.

history. Why do you have them here?

Columbus has been fascinating for

A: I display the books that they

many Church members because he

issues of the time, including increas-

write, and I read them when I can.

fulfilled the prophecy in 1 Nephi 13:12

ing the powers of the president,

These are very useful resources. I

and was one of the forerunners of the

abolishing slavery, and reducing

am impressed with the quality of the

Restoration of the gospel. His first

congressional salaries. He wanted

Regional Studies books, especially

voyage, in particular, teaches us three

the president to be able to intervene

in recent years. I strongly believe

important qualities of leaders: (1) set

in issues of domestic upheaval in

in taking those trips to broaden our

goals, (2) work hard, and (3) perse-

the states, such as Governor Lilburn

faculty’s perspective and help them

vere. He was imperfect as a person.

Boggs’s extermination order against

teach Church history more effec-

He made many mistakes, but he kept

the Saints in Missouri. Joseph was

tively, particularly international

trying. In my mind, success is defined

opposed to slavery and proposed that

Church history.

as the accomplishment of righteous

the government buy the slaves’ free-

goals, and Columbus exemplified

dom through selling federal lands and

that approach. I believe we are much

reducing the number of Congressmen

Q: Some years ago you published

from 223 to 40. He also proposed

a book on the life of Christopher

making progress toward them. When

paying for slaves’ freedom by cutting

Columbus. What did you learn from

we are not setting goals, we are bored

the salaries of Congressmen from

this experience?

and risk becoming boring!

eight dollars to two dollars a day, the

A: It is ironic that the book I wrote

same amount a farmer made.

on Columbus was a spiritual history of

happier when we are setting goals and

1 Arnold K. Garr, Joseph Smith: Presidential Candidate (Orem, UT: Millennial Press, 2007).

The 2008 Sperry Symposium on the Doctrine and Covenants Interview with Patty Smith Interview by Christopher C. Jones Patty A. Smith (patty_smith@byu.edu) is the supervisor of the faculty support center for Religious ­Education. Christopher C. Jones (chrisjones13@gmail.com) is a master’s student of history at BYU.

Q: Could you briefly outline the

Lecture Series, and the book was just

2009 symposium, which will be the

history of the Sperry Symposium?

an 8½-by-11-inch softbound. When

thirty-eighth.

A: The first one was in April 1973

Brother Sperry passed away, he left

and had only three speakers: Milton

money to help the people of the

number of speakers rather than

The first year there were a

Backman, Kent Brown, and Wilfred

Church get to know the scriptures

just two or three was in 1978. Our

Griggs. It was called The Sperry

better. We are now preparing for the

symposium in October focuses on FAL L 2 0 0 8 17


the book of scripture that the body of the Church reads the following year in Gospel Doctrine. I think our main target audience is the Gospel Doctrine teachers who are trying to get some good background for the upcoming year.

This is an important paper because it will bless the lives of not only a Gospel Doctrine teacher but also someone who really wants to learn more.

writing to people like me who are interested in the scriptures, who enjoy reading them and want to know more.” One criticism from the committee is, “This paper does not break any new ground. There’s nothing new.” My comment is, “A Gospel Doctrine teacher in Tucson, Arizona, does not have the resources

Q: The symposium this year

He and Leaun Otten have written two

that we have here. This person has

focuses on the Doctrine and

books on the Doctrine and Covenants

put together, all in one article, a

Covenants. Can you tell us a little

together, so he is perfect for this

very concise explanation. It may not

bit more about some of the papers

assignment. The book will include

break new ground, and yet it’s a nice,

that particularly stand out to you?

about ten of the presentations, and

concise way of explaining some-

there will be another ten-plus at the

thing.” I try to be that voice to say,

actual symposium.

“I think this is an important paper

A: The committee felt this one needed to provide heavy-duty

research and background for the

I try to be the layman’s voice

because it will bless the lives of not

basis of the Doctrine and Covenants.

on the committee and say, “You

only a Gospel Doctrine teacher but

Elder Max Caldwell, an emeritus

are scholars, but remember you’re

also someone who really wants to

Seventy, will be the keynote speaker.

not writing only to scholars. You’re

learn more.”

Q: I work as a research assistant for the Joseph Smith Papers project, so I noticed Robert Woodford’s and Grant Underwood’s papers from the Joseph Smith Papers project. This seems like a great way for a more general audience to be introduced to the Joseph Smith Papers project and its purpose and mission.

A: Absolutely. I know that Andrew Hedges, who is the chair, is heavily involved in that project. I’m sure he knew when the first volume of the Joseph Smith Papers project would become public. This comes at a great time when they can be explained, and several scholars involved with that project are on the committee. It is great timing.

Patty A. Smith coordinates the Sperry Symposium held annually in October. Courtesy of Richard B. Crookston.

18 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


donors learn the gospel and join the Church. Now Nancy is an

Bruce and Nancy Winn

early-morning seminary teacher herself, continuing her education through the BYU online program. In her spare time she enjoys being a full-time grandma, running, quilting, and scrapbooking. A mother of seven, she also mothers the singles branch where Bruce is branch president. After serving as a missionary companion with Terry B. Ball in the Japan Kobe Mission, Bruce returned to BYU to obtain his undergraduate and graduate degrees. Bruce and his family then moved to Delaware, where they still reside. His allegiance to BYU has not lessened with time. “I believe that contributing to Religious Education helps BYU meet its true mission of providing not only a great education but also one rooted in the gospel of Jesus Christ. BYU is

t

a unique institution in this respect, and I hope to be able

attended there. Their children have all attended there.

teams and bleed blue when they lose, my money goes to

Two daughters, a son, and a daughter-in-law graduated in

Religious Education, where I believe the school really

April. Nancy says, “Raising children in a non-LDS envi-

makes a difference in people’s lives.”

he winns have deep roots at byu. both

to help further this work. So, while I cheer for the sports

These generous donors created an endowment to

ronment, it is important to have somewhere they can go to have a gospel-centered education. We feel very blessed

fund ancient scripture research, both for the faculty and

to have been able to attend and have our children attend

mentored students. Dean Ball stated, “The creation of the

BYU.” Nancy was raised in Hawaii, where her mother was

Bruce and Nancy Winn Family Ancient Scripture Research

called to be an early-morning seminary teacher. It was a

Endowment will be a wonderful blessing for our entire

challenge that required sacrifice from every member of

faculty as well as for hundreds of students in our mentored

the family, but it turned out to be an answer to prayers.

student research programs.

Her mother’s service helped encourage her father to

Brent and Connie McKinley

J

Brent and Connie K. McKinley have been

our friends and colleagues become better

generous to Religious Education over the

acquainted with them.”

years. They say, “Religious Education is work-

The McKinleys have been married for

ing to make better (and more) teaching tools

thirty years and have nine children and eight

available to the countries around the world

grandchildren. Both are real estate investors

where the Church missionary effort is making

in Washington. While Brent and Connie share

a difference in people’s lives.” Although neither

an interest in western art, their other interests

attended BYU, they see the worthy cause in

are quite diverse. Brent’s hobbies also include

Religious Education and choose to support it.

classic cars and Colt SAA pistols, and Connie’s

Dean Terry B. Ball said, “hardworking, generous, salt-of-the earth people like Brent

include dolls and horses. Ken McCarty, assistant dean of Religious

and Connie do so much to build the kingdom

Education, said, “They have made it their

and bless the lives of others. We are so pleased

personal goal to quietly lift those around them

they would allow us to use this venue to help

who need a helping hand in life.”

To donate to Religious Education programs, visit Friends of Religious Education at fore.byu.edu. FALL 2 0 0 8 19


computer support assists faculty, develops skills

Photos by Richard B. Crookston

Computer support representatives (CSRs) in ­Religious Education have the unique opportunity and responsibility to assist faculty, staff, and students with their technology-related needs. The mission of the computer support employees is to provide the necessary support for technologyrelated issues and create a friendly, efficient, and progressive environment that supports the mission of Religious Education. The CSRs offer a wide array of assistance in diverse issues such as hardware replacement, Web programming, e-mail support, and Blackboard course management. The ­students’ fields of study are just as diverse, ranging from The computer support team assist faculty, staff, and students with their technology-related needs.

s

tudent CSRs learn a variety of skills while

engineering to biology, with career aspirations ­spanning from physician to entrepreneur.

through these opportunities equate to improved

working for Religious Education. Scott Brown, a student

­communication and professional relations. The ultimate

CSR, said he was initially afraid he made a mistake in

goal of the computer support employees is to create a

turning down a higher paying job to work here, but after

comfortable atmosphere in which the professors can

working for two years in Religious Education, he knows he

resolve issues and improve confidence with technology.”

made the right decision. He states, “As a student CSR, I get

Fulfilling this ultimate goal requires that the students

an opportunity to learn useful skills, build my résumé, and

maintain an open line of communication with the profes-

get to know the great faculty that works here. The ­religion

sors and help them understand the technology issues.

professors are some of the smartest people I’ve ever

met. . . . One of the best parts of the job is just being with

professors. Matt LeBaron says, “The thing that I love

great people who work here. They are doing a noble work,

most about this job is the opportunity to work closely

and it means something to be a small part of that. It’s nice

with the professors. They are just nice, ordinary people

to know that the work we do is making a difference.”

with extraordinary abilities. One of the professors I have

The student CSRs really enjoy working with the

This association with professors helps the student

worked with always makes my day better. Whenever I ask

employees improve communication skills and become

him how his day is going, he responds, ‘Best day ever!’ His

more effective in the professional world. CSR Colin

attitude always brightens my day and reflects the attitude

Edwards says, “The experiences and skills obtained

of the entire department.” Matt also mentions, “I love

20 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


student section “The thing that I love most about this job is the opportunity to work closely with the professors. They are just nice, ordinary people with extraordinary abilities.”

diverse learning experience. Scott Brown states, “While a large part of our time is devoted to helping professors, there’s actually a large range of projects that we’re working on at

being able to help people. There is nothing quite like the

a given time. . . . We try to

feeling you get when you succeed in fixing somebody’s

be as accommodating as

problem. There are always frustrating or stressful times,

possible to those that need

but the feeling that comes after solving someone’s problem

our help. And each day that

makes up for them all.”

means something different.

In addition to associating with professors, students

It’s a pretty vague job

Scott Brown assisting Aaronita Openshaw in the seminary

learn valuable skills as they hone their computer

description, but it also keeps

abilities and develop expertise in troubleshooting.

us on our feet. Every day I

“Troubleshooting is a useful skill no matter your profes-

run into a new problem and learn something new from it.

sion,” says João Fontoura, a student CSR studying to

Because of the things I’ve learned here I’ve been able to

become a physician. He continues, “Troubleshooting tech-

build my résumé and gain a good deal of experience work-

niques do not change from one field of work to another.

ing in the computer industry.”

The only thing that changes is what you are troubleshoot-

training office.

Richard Crookston, full-time systems administrator

ing; this job provides me excellent experience for the

for Religious Education, mentions it is sometimes a chal-

future.”

lenge to find computer-savvy students with the personality

Employment within Religious Education provides

and sociability to work efficiently with professors, staff,

student CSRs a great opportunity to work on a variety of

and students. He states, “Computer support employees

projects and problems. A student may be assigned to set

need not only to solve the tasks and problems they are

up a Web site in PHP to run queries on a MySQL database

given but also to do it in a manner that reflects the mission

running on an IIS7 virtualized Windows server and,

of Religious Education.” He adds, “Students who work

while working on that project, take support phone calls

for Religious Education Computer Support gain not only

asking what it means to right click with a mouse. It is a

technical knowledge but also the skills and traits to be successful in any area of employment.” The students bring considerable skills to the team, but they continue to learn on the job. This growth comes in the form of difficult questions posed by Religious Education’s computer “power users” as well as the challenging projects they are assigned. Students also receive continual training through online resources and department meetings. For those of the CSR staff going into computerrelated professions, this job provides a unique hands-on experience. Ian Shields states, “I love all the cool toys and software. I enjoy helping the professors and students gain a greater understanding of software and hardware capabilities.” Ultimately, each individual that works as a student CSR for Religious Education leaves knowing more about how to be successful and how to make a difference

João Fontoura helping Larry C. Porter in the computer support office.

in their future careers, whatever they may be. FA L L 2 0 0 8 21


More than the life of one man, these records reflect the everyday struggles of a people whose lives were in transition as they set the foundations of a new society.

new publications

To purchase the following publications, visit www.byubookstore.com and click on book title or search by the ISBN number; or call the BYU Bookstore toll-free at 1-800-253-2578.

above

than the life of one man, these records

whose survey work left a lasting

An Uncommon Common Pioneer:

reflect the everyday struggles of a

impression. Although not a promi-

The Journals of James Henry

people whose lives were in transi-

nent religious leader, he was often in

Martineau, 1828–1918

tion as they set the foundations of a

contact with or serving those with

James Henry Martineau’s journals

new society. Martineau’s contribu-

authority. This volume offers a reflec-

are a rich historical resource. They

tions to the settlements of northern

tion of this common, yet uncommon,

present the life of a Mormon convert,

and southern Utah, southern Idaho,

Latter-day Saint pioneer.

a pioneer, and an individual dedicat-

southeast Arizona, and the Mormon

ISBN: 978-0-8425-2697-5, Retail: $39.95

ing his life in the service of his family,

colonies in northern Mexico are

his country, and his church. More

monumental. He was a civil engineer

22 B YU R EL I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW


Take a journey through time to scenes

down by the river Jordan, John the

Hallowed Ground,

of the pioneer era. Through video

Baptist was baptizing those who

Sacred Journeys:

and photographs, Brigham Young

desired to follow the Savior. When

Salt Lake City,

University professors tell the story

the Savior approached him, John

Ensign to the

from the Saints’ arrival in the Salt

declared, “Behold the Lamb of

Nations

Lake Valley to present-day restora-

God, which taketh away the sin of

Tour the historic

tions. In this virtual tour of Salt Lake

the world” (John 1:29). After John

sites of Salt Lake City from the

City, some photographs even offer

baptized Jesus, he bore record “that

comfort of your own home. This

360-degree views.

he had baptized the Lamb of God”

full-color book includes a virtual tour

ISBN: 978-0-8425-2689-0, Retail: $9.95

(1 Nephi 10:10). The next day, when

DVD. Both the book and the DVD

John and two of his disciples saw

explain the historical and modern

Jesus, the Baptist again proclaimed,

significance of each site. The authors

Regional Studies

“Behold the Lamb of God!” (John

guide the DVD tours with descrip-

in Latter-day Saint

1:36). This volume celebrates the life

tions and details of historic sites.

Church History:

and sacrifice of the Lamb of God.

ISBN: 978-0-8425-2671-5, Retail: $29.95

The Pacific Isles

ISBN: 978-0-8425-2693-7, Retail: $18.95

Although the term “Church history” Hallowed Ground,

makes most

upcoming publication

Sacred Journeys:

Latter-day Saints think of New York,

The Doctrine and Covenants:

Salt Lake City,

Pennsylvania, Ohio, Missouri, Illinois,

Revelations in Context, the

Ensign to the

and Utah, the islands in the Pacific

37th Annual Sidney B. Sperry

Nations, Walking

played a major—and early—role in the

Symposium

Tours

unfolding of the Restoration. William

Awareness of the background and

This travel-size

Barratt served a mission in Australia

development of Joseph Smith’s reve-

companion to the larger Salt Lake

in 1840. Addison Pratt arrived in the

lations allows us to better understand

City, Ensign to the Nations takes the

Society Islands in 1844. In the early

their significance. The 37th Annual

tourist on three distinct walking

1850s, the Hawaiians were being

Sidney B. Sperry Symposium can help

tours of Salt Lake City. The first tour

taught the gospel. This volume of

readers gain that knowledge. Written

is of the Temple Square area. The

Regional Studies includes topics such

by scholars trained in a variety of

second tour is of the Pioneer Business

as the Oahu Tabernacle, the Mormon

fields, the articles are intended to help

District, and the third tour is of the

Tabernacle Choir’s performances in

Latter-day Saints better appreciate

Capitol Building and Daughters of

the Pacific Islands, and the destruc-

the setting in which Joseph received

Utah Pioneers Museum area. Each

tive fire in the Apia Samoa Temple.

his revelations. This volume will help

tour offers explanations of historical

ISBN: 978-0-615-20037-8, Retail: $14.95

readers better understand and appre-

and modern significance of sites.

ciate the significant roles Joseph

ISBN: 978-0-8425-2670-8, Retail: $8.95

Smith’s revelations have played, and “Behold the Lamb

continue to play, in the dispensation

of God”: An Easter

of the fulness of times.

Hallowed Ground,

Celebration

ISBN: 978-1-60641-015-8, Retail: $24.95

Sacred Journeys:

Followers of Jesus

Salt Lake City,

Christ since the

Ensign to the

beginning have

Nations DVD

referred to their Savior as the Lamb of God. While FA L L 2 0 0 8 23


notes

faculty and staff ADVANCEMENTS Eric D. Huntsman was appointed

Cynthia Doxey received the B. West Belnap Citizenship Award at the

associate professor of ancient

Religious Education spring social

scripture.

on March 22. She married Rick

Craig James Ostler was appointed full professor of Church history and doctrine. Matthew O. Richardson was appointed full professor of Church history and doctrine.

Green on June 27 and moved to Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Michael D. Rhodes received the Richard Lloyd Anderson Research Award at the Religious Education spring social on March 22. Steven C. Harper received the

ASSIGNMENTS

the Young Faculty Award on

Lloyd D. Newell has been appointed

August 26.

to the Moral Education

Richard Neitzel Holzapfel received

Professorship for 2008–10.

the Honors Professor of the Year

He replaces Douglas E. Brinley,

on August 14.

who held the position for the past two years. Jerome M. Perkins has been

Eric D. Huntsman received the Alcuin Fellowship on August 26. Robert L. Millet was awarded the

appointed the Teaching Fellow

Abraham O. Smoot Professorship

for an additional year. His term

on August 26.

Cynthia Doxey received the B. West Belnap Citizenship Award. Courtesy of Richard B. Crookston.

Matthew O. Richardson received the Circle of Honor Award at the university’s Unforum on April 15. Guy L. Dorius received the Ephraim Hatch Fellowship.

will now expire in August 2009.

RETIREMENTS S. Kent Brown, professor of ancient scripture and director of the Foundation for Ancient Research and Mormon Studies, retired in August. Douglas E. Brinley, professor of Church history and doctrine, retired in August.

AWARDS Richard O. Cowan received the Robert J. Matthews Teaching Award at the Religious Education spring social on March 22.

24 B YU R E L I G I OU S EDUCATIO N REV IEW

Matthew O. Richardson received the Circle of Honor Award from President Cecil O. Samuelson. Courtesy of Mark Philbrick/BYU.


FOREVER GRATEFUL FOR THOSE WHO SUPPORT THE COLLEGE OF RELIGION ANNUAL FUND. nnual Fund donations provide students with opportunities to join professors on advanced research. Stanley Thayne enjoyed two of these remarkable experiences. For his first project, Stanley worked with English language professor Cynthia Hallen exploring how Mormonism was portrayed in 19th century periodical literature. His second mentored learning grant allowed Stanley to team with J. Spencer Fluhman of the College of Religion. Both of Stanley’s papers were published, a high honor for anyone, but particularly rare for an undergraduate.

Stanley expresses his appreciation for his opportunities saying, “I am very grateful for those who donated money for my research scholarships, and also for the Neal A. Maxwell Institute and the professors who took time to work with me.” Through the BYU Annual Fund, you have an opportunity to support educations for eternity. Consider designating your next gift to the College of Religion.

www.annualfund.byu.edu % 801-422-3963


Invitation from Friends of Religious Education Religious Education is fortunate to have

Saturday, September 20: Professor Daniel

the support of the Friends of Religious

K Judd will speak on the same topic at the

Education (FORE). This group sponsors

Bellevue Washington South Stake Center.

firesides, tours, and other activities to promote our work. Most recently FORE

Saturday, October 11: Professor Robert

sponsored a historic Salt Lake City walk-

L. Millet will speak on “The Vision of

ing tour. Attendees were invited to be

Mormonism: Overcoming Doubt” at the

guests of the Hallowed Ground, Sacred

Irvine California Stake Center.

Journeys research team as they gave their first walking tour. This tour gave a rare

These lectures are free and open to the

and insightful look into the history, special

public. If you would like to join the Friends

sites, and key events that have shaped the

of Religious Education or receive addi-

Church’s hometown. We invite readers to

tional information on upcoming events,

attend three upcoming events.

please contact our office for details at rsc@byu.edu or 801-422-3293. We hope to

BYU Lecture Series

hear from you.

Friday, September 19: Professor Daniel K Judd will speak on “The Creation, Fall, and Atonement: The Lord’s Plan for Individuals and Families” at the Everett Washington Stake Center. WEB: BYUReligiousEducationReview.org


Millions discover their favorite reads on issuu every month.

Give your content the digital home it deserves. Get it to any device in seconds.