Page 1

Will business ever adopt

WWW.BUSINESSREVIEWUSA.COM

SNAPCHAT ?

WWW.BUSINESSREVIEWCANADA.CA

TOP10 ESSENTIAL APPS for business

“BEST

presidential candidates for businesses”

MAY 2016


Nutrition

Consumer Care

Ingredients You Can Trust

Lonza offers evidence-based health ingredients to the food, dietary supplement and pharmaceutical markets. Products carrying the following quality seals on the packaging show the end-consumer that they contain high quality ingredients from Lonza Ltd, Switzerland. Lonza’s nutritional quality seals signify: – Evidence-based ingredients you and your customers can trust – Regulatory and scientific support – Reliable service

Lonza Inc. Allendale, NJ, USA Tel +1 800 365 8324 contact.allendale@lonza.com

www.lonzanutrition.com

All product information corresponds to Lonza’s knowledge on the subject at the date of publication, but Lonza makes no warranty as to its accuracy or completeness and Lonza assumes no obligation to update it. Product information is intended for use by recipients experienced and knowledgeable in the field, who are capable of and responsible for independently determining the suitability of ingredients for intended uses and to ensure their compliance with applicable law. All trademarks belong to Lonza or its affiliates. © 2016 Lonza


EDITOR’S COMMENT

“BE A YARDSTICK OF QUALIT Y. SOME PEOPLE AREN’T USED TO AN ENVIRONMENT WHERE EXCELLENCE IS EXPECTED” - Steve Jobs

A S A B U S I N E S S L E A D E R , you are more than just a public face of the

company—you’re also a touchstone for your executive team and staff, setting the tone for your organization and its potential for success. Are you guiding your team effectively, and living up to your full leadership potential? In this month’s issue, we’re looking at leadership in different forms. As presidential candidates compete for the United States’ ultimate CEO position, we’re examining their qualities and how each one may complement the business world. As effective leadership also means pushing your team to explore and master new concepts, we’re looking at Snapchat and the best apps to guide your own path. So read on, and consider the standards that your actions set for your team and its future.

Sasha Orman Editor Sasha.orman@bizclikmedia.com 3


6

CONTENTS

FEATURES

TECHNOLOGY The curious history of Snapchat and its increasing importance for businesses TOP 10

Essential Business Apps For North America

12 LEADERSHIP 4 April 2016 Best presidential candidates for businesses

20


28

HuntAustin

COMPANY PROFILES CONSTRUCTION

70

28 HuntAustin Joint Venture - Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport

North Texas Water District

46 KPRS 58 Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District - EchoWater Project 70 North Texas Water District - Stewart Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant

SUPPLY CHAIN 82 Amerisan

46 KPRS

82

Amerisan

92

MSD of Greater Cincinnati

GOVERNMENT 92 MSD of Greater Cincinnati 5


v

T ETCE CHHN NO OLLO GOYG Y

The curious history SNAPCHAT & its incr importance for bus Though originally developed as an instant social media platform for a young demographic, Snapchat is rapidly evolving into a marketing powerhouse. W RI T T E N BY: BUS I NE S S RE V I E W S TA FF


y of reasing sinesses


TECHNOLOGY IN A MODERN world flooded with social apps, and with more being created almost every day, Snapchat stands out as one of the most successful, in the top five with Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, and the worldconquering Facebook. Launched in 2011, by the end of 2014 the app had 30 million active users and 60 million downloads, with over 40 percent of 18 year-olds in the United States using Snapchat on a daily basis. Snapchat is a relatively recent player in the social app game, but its rise to success is an informative story for any would-be Internet entrepreneur. WHAT IS SNAPCHAT? Snapchat is a social media tool that allows its users to send photos and videos that expire within seconds of being opened. Users can set these messages to last for one to 10 seconds, giving the recipient a brief chance to view them, after which they are permanently deleted. Another feature is the ability to create a post or a collection of posts to allow unlimited viewing for a 24-hour period, known as Snapchat Stories, by all members on the poster’s friend list. Recent updates allow users to chat by video, use 8

May 2016

facial-recognition filters to change their appearance, and choose from a broad selection of emojis and animations for direct messaging. THE HISTORY OF SNAPCHAT Snapchat began life in July of 2011 as the brainchild of Stanford University students Bobby Murphy, Evan Spiegel, and Reggie Brown, and was originally called Picaboo, for iOS only. It was renamed Snapchat two months later. The app caught on quickly, and began to attract the notice of some serious


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

investors, among them Lightspeed Ventures, Benchmark Capital, and Institutional Venture Partners. The two main reasons put forth for the app’s phenomenal success are that it closely mimics the way communication works in real life, as person-to-person interaction that lasts only a few seconds and then the moment is gone. Secondly, parents and other members of older generations have a dominant presence on Facebook, causing younger users to seek out a new platform.

Snapchat came on the scene at just the right time. In November of 2013, the Wall Street Journal reported that Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg offered $3 billion to acquire Snapchat, but this offer was turned down. In the same month, it was reported that Google offered $4 billion to buy the app, but that offer was also declined. Snapchat’s rise to fame was not without some difficulties. Almost from the very beginning, the selfdescribed “brogrammers” had a falling 9


TECHNOLOGY

out. Murphy and Spiegel decided to cut fellow co-founder Brown out of business dealings, though Brown claimed to have originated the idea for the app. Not surprisingly, this led to numerous lawsuits eventually settled in 2014. Despite this controversy, Snapchat has continued to prosper, launching new features and versions, including an app for kids under the age of 13 called Snapkidz. As of May of 2015, usage rates reached 2 billion pictures and videos per day, and in 2016 it reached a record of 7 billion videos a day, with a valuation of between 10 and 20 billion dollars.

10

May 2016

SNAPCHAT FOR BUSINESS As an advertising platform, Snapchat offers significant opportunities for businesses. Although more expensive than traditional app advertisement, the exposure that ads get on the app is unparalleled. A new feature called “Discover” offers content from major news and entertainment sites like CNN, People, Buzzfeed, ESPN, and many more. The content is ad-supported, and it’s estimated that the ads on the feature are viewed up to 1 million times per day, at a cost between 10-15 cents per view. Still, with that kind of exposure, many businesses looking to target a younger


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

demographic may consider the price tag worth it. Ads can now also be sold within Snapchat Stories, with the app offering geographically-filtered ads within individual snaps. In 2015 Snapchat signed a deal with the NFL to feature specific games within their Stories feature, another lucrative opportunity for ad placement. Snapchat has proven itself to be an effective social media marketing platform for businesses, especially for targeting mobile-device users with coupons and special offers. The future looks exceptionally bright

for this newest of shining stars in the social media constellation. With no lack of funding or users, and plenty of money rolling in for development, it’s certain that the app will continue to add more features in an attempt to broaden its user demographic base, with Facebook-like features such as the ability to create personal profiles and improved functionality. With usage in the billions and the potential to rake in new market shares, businesses can no longer write off Snapchat as just a millennial obsession.

11


LEADERSHIP

BES

PRESID CANDID

FOR BU

Written by: Busin


ST

DENTIAL DATES

USINESS

ness Review staff


LEADERSHIP

Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders, Donald Trump, Ted Cruz: which of the current presidential candidates is best for businesses and business owners? The following is a look at the candidates and how their respective platforms might impact their business friendliness.

HILLARY CLINTON (Democratic Candidate) Clinton has declared her love for small businesses, but small business owners aren’t entirely sure they love

14 May 2016

Hillary Clinton

her. In an Alignable poll, only 19 percent of business owners thought that Clinton would help their business. Still, Clinton states that she would cut taxes for small businesses, reduce regulations, and free up capital for investment. One interesting idea to come out of her campaign is to provide tax breaks to smaller businesses that offer profitsharing to their employees for two years. She would also enact legislation that would protect contract workers who work for companies in the “gig


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

economy,� ad hoc job assignments that are arranged over the internet or mobile apps. This could have some far reaching implications for start up businesses, as current legislation has multiple gray areas.

TED CRUZ (Republican Candidate) Though Cruz was second behind Trump in the primaries at the time of publication he seems to have a business friendly attitude. Cruz is a self-proclaimed libertarian and a member of the Tea Party, with a plan to eliminate the IRS and all tax brackets. In its place, corporations would be charged a flat 16 percent tax, while individuals would be charged a 10 percent flat tax. He would also eliminate the payroll tax. When compared to other Republicans in a Manta poll, Cruz was favored by 16 percent of respondents. Companies that have taken their business and money overseas to avoid taxes could bring back the profits in a small one-time tax. Cruz’s libertarian views allow the free market to reign, thus making it positive for business.

Ted Cruz


LEADERSHIP

JOHN KASICH (Republican Candidate) Although his nomination is a long shot, Kasich is the third Republican contender. As governor of Ohio, Kasich cut the state’s income tax to 16 percent and phased out most income tax for small businesses. He eliminated the death tax as well. Kasich would repeal Obamacare, and while he acknowledges climate change as legitimate, he does not think that the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) should regulate factory or vehicle emissions.

John Kasich

Bernie Sanders

BERNIE SANDERS (Democratic Candidate) Sanders was second behind Trump with 23 percent in the Alignable poll asking small business owners who would help their business if he were president. Sanders plans to raise the minimum wage to $15 an hour and tax the top bracket around 50 percent. He would increase also the capital gains tax as well as tax Wall Street bankers on speculation. Under Sanders, the Affordable Care Act would convert into a single-payer system, which would be managed by the U.S. government, thus reducing the burden on business owners to provide health insurance coverage. Instead, an increase in payroll taxes would fund the program.


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

Donald Trump

DONALD TRUMP (Republican Candidate) According to CNBC.com, Trump is a front runner when small business owners were asked who would help small business the best. In an Alignable poll, 29 percent of business owners thought that Trump was best for their business. Trump’s closest rival in that poll was Bernie Sanders with 23

percent. A poll from Manta also placed Trump high on the choices of small business owners. CNBC.com posts the Manta figures close to 38 percent favor Trump for president. If taking only Republicans into account for choice, 60 percent of those surveyed thought Trump would be good for business. According to Inc., Trump would 17


LEADERSHIP

drop corporate, LLC and S-Corps taxes to 15 percent. Corporations that have left the United States or have put their money overseas could return the money to the U.S. with a one-time tax of 10 percent. Trump would fix the capital gains taxes at no more than 20 percent and drop the top tax bracket down to just 20 percent. He would 18 May 2016

also eliminate the estate tax making it easier for companies to be inherited.

WHO IS THE BEST CANDIDATE FOR BUSINESS? Ostensibly, Trump seems to have the most business friendly agenda followed by Cruz, Kasich, and Clinton, but practical application of his plans


F E AT U R E A R T I C L E S H O R T E N E D H E A D L I N E

may not produce real business friendly results. Neither Kasich nor Clinton appear to have definitive plans. Meanwhile, Clinton’s plan to expand protections to 1099 workers may hurt startups in the long run, even though the two year tax breaks on profit sharing is a positive step. Sanders, while his relief on health care is

laudable, will increase the tax burden on large corporations in terms of taxes and payroll. Note: The views and opinions expressed in this article do not necessarily reflect the policies or positions of Business Review USA & Canada and do not represent an official endorsement. 19


TOP 10

TOP

ESSE BUSINES FOR NORTH


P 10

ENTIAL SS APPS H AMERICA To increase their agility, productivity, and communication, businesses of all sizes can benefit from the following apps. Written by: Glen White 21


TOP 10

10

LINKEDIN

So who doesn’t know what LinkedIn is? It is the world’s biggest social network for business with over 400 million users, but many seem to forget to download the app to their smartphone. Apparently only around 25 percent of users have the app. I guess that’s because it’s not that great as an app, but it is still very useful and a very powerful business tool. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Jeff Weiner WWW.LINKEDIN.COM @LINKEDIN

9

EVERNOTE

So how many times do we take down a note and then forget where we put it, or hear the phrase “my notes are all over the place”? Well there is quite an easy solution, and that is to download the Evernote App onto your phone. Create your own range of online notebooks, search easily for your notes, and organize all of your notes by keyword or color. It is easy having in on your phone, because your notes are available wherever you go. It’s also a great place to keep that “To Do List” that you keep forgetting about. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Chris O’Neill WWW.EVERNOTE.COM @EVERNOTE

22

May 2016


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

8

SQUARE

So we are all in business to make money, but sometimes the hard bit can be getting paid. Square is effectively a great app to solve that problem. Allowing users to take credit cards on the go, it can provide the equivalent of a cash register in your pocket. It also can sync with your laptop to provide cool analytics to better understand your business and drive sales. It’s just a great way to process payments from your smartphone. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Jack Dorsey WWW.SQUAREUP.COM @SQUARE

7

CISCO WEBEX

We hear all about globalization, and technology does allow business to be done anywhere in the world— so how do we all meet up regularly? Cisco WebEx is a very popular app that allows users to stay in touch using tools such as on-demand collaboration, online meetings, web and video conferencing. It allows peer to peer brainstorming over the video chat, private meeting rooms, screen sharing, and more. You can effectively work and meet whoever, whenever, wherever. Platforms: Apps available on iOS, Android and Desktop (Mac / Windows) CEO: Chuck Robbins WWW.WEBEX.COM @WEBEX 23


TOP 10

6

OFFICE MOBILE

So you love Outlook on your laptop or at your desk, yet what about when you are on the go, away from the office? Well another great app is Microsoft Office Mobile, which is essentially a free office suite by Microsoft for smartphones and tablets. It is meant to be compatible with desktop versions of the office suite and allows you to use all of the popular products such as Word, Excel and PowerPoint from your phone. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Satya Nadella WWW.OFFICE.COM/MOBILE @OFFICE

5

DROPBOX

Decent cloud storage is almost a necessity today, whether at home or at work. So you could be linked to the Microsoft Cloud or Microsoft’s OneDrive, but we recommend using Dropbox as an independent app. Launched back in 2007, Dropbox offer free basic accounts (2GB) or you can upgrade to Dropbox Pro and get 1TB of data for US$13.99 a month. Dropbox can be used to store any type of file, as well as share files with others as a great “all-rounder” in the crowded world of cloud storage. Platforms: Apps available on iOS, Android and Desktop (Mac / Windows) CEO: Drew Houston WWW.DROPBOX.COM @DROPBOX


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

4

PLAY VIDEO

OPENTABLE

Many business deals are struck over breakfast, lunch, and especially dinner. When you’re travelling and looking for just the right place, you may just want to download Opentable. This easyto-use app allows you to look for available tables at restaurants in real-time. The popular app provides online reservations for some 31,000 restaurants worldwide and allows users to book based on times, dates, type of cuisine, and price range, and we thoroughly recommended when travelling on business. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Christa Quaries WWW.OPENTABLE.COM @OPENTABLE

3

SKYPE FOR BUSINESS

Microsoft has now launched a new iOS and Android app, called Skype for Business, a piece of software that’s meant as a modern replacement for Microsoft Lync. SFB allows you to collaborate with anyone, anywhere, on any device via Microsoft Cloud or Office 365. Helpful for instant messaging, online meetings and screen sharing, SFB also lets you interact with Outlook products such as Calendar, Word, PowerPoint, etc. and is protected by strong authentication and encryption. Platforms: Apps available on iOS, Android and Desktop (Mac / Windows) CEO: Satya Nadella WWW.SKYPE.COM/EN/BUSINESS @SKYPEBUSINESS 25


TOP 10

2

UBER

So if you haven’t already heard of Uber, what planet have you been living on? This incredibly successful “technology unicorn” is an unbelievable story of the new economy and how a company can start from scratch in 2009 and estimated by some to now be worth in excess of US$60B today, yes I did say US$60B. So from a business perspective, Uber is a super smart way to get a ride anywhere, from potentially anyone, depending on how much you are prepared to pay. For most business travelers where the service is available, it is by far the easiest way to get “black car 26

May 2016

service,” whether that be a luxury five-door sedan to an even more luxurious seven-seat SUV. Uber is ultra-price competitive, it’s easy to download and use and it’s even easier to set up from a payment perspective – no cash needed. Uber beats most local taxi services hands down. Platforms: Available on iOS and Android CEO: Travis Kalanick WWW.UBER.COM @UBER PLAY VIDEO


BUSINESS REVIEW USA & CANADA

1

SLACK

So the web creates the biggest opportunity for collaboration, but how do we collaborate and moreover, how do we collaborate as a team at work? Well if you haven’t heard of Slack by now, you soon will, as you may have already seen their crazy animal advertisements on TV. At its heart, Slack is an instant messaging and collaboration system on steroids, but there is a lot more to Slack than that. This innovative team communication app provides unique functionality that is extremely powerful for companies

of all sizes. Slack offers channels, private meetings, direct messages, file sharing, search, notifications and so on. Slack has four price tiers: free, standard at US$8 month, plus at US$15 month, and enterprise, coming soon. Platforms: Apps available on iOS, Android and Desktop (Mac / Windows) or just use it through your browser CEO: Stewart Butterfield WWW.SLACK.COM @SLACKHQ PLAY VIDEO

27


Setting the bar

SKY HIGH General contractors Hunt and Austin join forces on a modernization project at Phoenix’s Sky Harbor International Airport Written by: Robert Spence Produced by: Tom Venturo


29


HUNT AUSTIN

Northwest Exterior Perspective

A

rizona’s pride and joy, the Sky Harbor International Airport, is getting a makeover. The renowned airport — located in the heart of Phoenix, three miles southeast of downtown— serves nearly 40 million passengers every year and has 30

May 2016

become a mainstream destination for travelers. With those numbers projected to grow considerably by 2019, the airport is undergoing an expansion project to accommodate the rising growth while also creating a world-class traveling experience for passengers.


M O D E R N I Z AT I O N PROJECT The need to expand Sky Harbor is clear. The day after the 2015 Super Bowl the airport set a one-day record for passengers. Another record was set in March, when monthly traffic came in at a

staggering 4.25 million passengers. To keep pace with growth in the area, the City of Phoenix has greenlit a five-year, $590 million designbuild project known as the Terminal 3 Modernization Program at Sky Harbor International. This project, which aims to accommodate the w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

31


HUNT AUSTIN expanding demand on the airport, will benefit generations to come. The expansion will take place in three construction phases over a five-year period. The first will expand security checkpoints at Terminal 3, while the second phase will expand ticketing and baggage claim, concessions and passenger load and unloading areas. Finally, the third phase will add nine gates to the South Concourse. Renovations include the South Concourse, which will feature a new passenger concourse consisting of a passenger level and an apron level for service and support functions.

SUPPLIER PROFILE

CONSTRUCTION

Meanwhile, the North Concourse is set to undergo a comprehensive renovation of the passenger and apron levels including 10 gates, with an expansion at the mid-point as a ‘node’ to accommodate additional amenities. PHOENIX’S FINEST Under the leadership of Austin Commercial and joint venture partner Hunt Construction, the project will include expanded and upgraded checkpoints, additional ticket counters, baggage processing capacity, baggage claim carousels, gates, and expanded

JBT CORPORATION

JBT®, is a global leader in the design and manufacture of cutting edge ground support equipment including loaders, deicers, and tow tractors; and, airport gate equipment, featuring Jetway® passenger boarding bridges, JetPower® 400 Hz ground power units, JetAire® preconditioned air units, JetFlo® potable water cabinets, BagBuddy® luggage lift, Apron Management Systems, and many more products and services. JBT has expanded the JetPower® 400 Hz ground power and JetAire® preconditioned air product families to supply mobile, hangar and military applications as well as high-pressure bleed air carts. Jetway Systems® offers customized solutions for air transportation with the lowest life cycle costs possible. For more than 50 years, JBT®, has been the name relied on for the very best in gate related products and services.

Website: www.jbtaerotech.com

w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

33


For Dependability, Safety and Custom Solutions!

STEEL FABRICATION & ERECTION CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION PLANNING & DESIGN COATINGS TOWERS & PLATFORMS STRUCTURAL SUPPORTS DESIGN-BUILD

Expert design and engineering provides maximum project value and return Resolute Performance Contracting is a specialty contractor with expertise in design-build structural steel fabrication and erection, concrete, and coatings. At RPC, we are relentlessly committed to safety and exceeding expectations every step of the way. Our team of professional constructors, engineers and managers can provide creative solutions to suit the most challenging operational needs.

Call us: 623-208-7560 or visit: www.resolutepc.com


HUNT AUSTIN

CONSTRUCTION

food concessions and retail stores, along with the installation of dynamic signage to direct traffic around the airport. “The project is very unique in terms of the two companies working together, combined with the design and build aspect,” said TG Mason, project manager for the Modernization Program. “For this project we had a three-headed design team. DWL Architects and Planners were the original designers for Terminal 3 and took the lead. They have a tremendous amount of experience here in Phoenix.”

SUPPLIER PROFILE

West Yard, May 2015

RESOLUTE PERFORMANCE CONTRACTING

Resolute Performance Contracting executes scopes ranging from complete EPC services to subcontracted steel fabrication and erection and concrete installation. Typical projects run from site identification through preliminary designs (always with an eye for value-engineering as identified by the RPC design staff) all the way to final commissioning and delivery. At Resolute, we believe our exceptional safety record is the best measure of our project success. We are licensed General Contractors in Hawaii, California, Arizona, New Mexico and Tennessee. Resolute’s expertise includes steel fabrication (the company has its own fabrication shop) and erection, concrete installations, corrosive environments mitigation, pile driving, design, surveying, site preparation, safety, general conditions and tenant improvements. Successful projects include commercial solar installations (covered parking structures, roof and ground mount) across the US; handrail and concrete for a major stadium renovation; miscellaneous and structural steel for a luxury hotel; and the miscellaneous metals package for an airport. Website: www.resolutepc.com

w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

35


Air conditioning powered by the efďŹ ciency and reliability of Huntair Fanwall Technology and System Optimization

Terminal Three at Phoenix Sky Harbor Just Got a Whole Lot Cooler There is a long list of new improvements for the renovation of Sky Harbor International Airport Terminal Three. Arguably the coolest improvement is the condition of the air inside. Thanks to the team at Varitec and Huntair along with the new Huntair Fanwall Technology Units, the new Terminal Three will deliver cool, comfortable air at optimal efďŹ ciency, saving money and energy for the life of the project. Sky Harbor, meet the future of HVAC.

VaritecSolutions.com


HUNT AUSTIN According to Mason other collaborators included Dallas-based Corgan, an international leader in aviation, and The Smith Group, one of the oldest continually operating architects in the United States for the last 100 years. “We looked to them as the design visionary, to bring the contextualization of Phoenix to the airport,” said Mason. “With everyone together it creates a unique a team. There’s lots of industry insight and collaboration going on, and I think it’s best for the project.” Echoing the sun-emblazoned

SUPPLIER PROFILE

CONSTRUCTION

South Elevation Exterior, May 2015

VARITEC AND HUNTAIR

For over 40 years Varitec has been a leader in engineering, developing and installing large-scale, energy-efficient HVAC systems for commercial buildings. Varitec delivers world-class solutions by partnering with world-leading HVAC brands such as Nortek Air Solutions and Huntair. Huntair’s Fanwall Technology and System Optimization features industry-leading airflow and acoustic performance, energy efficiency, electrical and installed cost savings, as well as easy maintenance as compared to alternative options.  Varitec’s years of industry expertise combined with Huntair’s leadership in manufacturing come together to deliver solutions that provide an owning experience that is second to none. Website: www.varitecsolutions.com | www.huntair.com

w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

37


133 E Comstock Dr, Suite 1 Chandler AZ 85225 P: 480-951-5301 F: 480-951-5989 E: info@flemingwest.com

www.flemingwest.com

Every bolt and beam. Every permit and approval. It all needs to come together, quickly and efficiently. Choose a partner who will make each connection a strong one.

Fleming West, your single source multi-story material / erection company.

Arizona state flag, a unique feature of the expansion project incorporates one of the most pervasive symbols of Phoenix. “We had one of our design partners use their proprietary software to map the patterns of the sun during the year because we wanted to design the building so it could maximize light from the sun,” Mason said. He added the project is also aiming to be LEED silver certified 38

May 2016

part, as most of the material being used is recycled. CHALLENGES For HuntAustin, the primary challenge for the Modernization Program lies in the fact Terminal 3 has remained — and will continue to remain — in operation during construction. “It’s kind of like performing heart surgery,” said Mason. Determined to live up to Sky


CONSTRUCTION

w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

39


3045 S. 7th Street Phoenix, AZ 85040 602-233-3339 Office Ksomerville@buesingcorp.com

MASS EXCAVATION / TRUCKING SHORING & DRILLING

Sky Harbor Terminal 3 Admin Building Hunt-Austin JV

SITE DEVELOPMENT / GRADING STRUCTURAL EXCAVATION & BACKFILL CONCRETE & ASPHALT RECYCLING

Buesing Corp, in our 51st year, conducts work in the commercial, industrial, residential, solar, multi-family, healthcare, higher education, hospitality, and public work markets. We are a leader in the industry and have worked hard to gain the trust and reputation from our customers over the years. Safety, quality, schedule and equipment uptime are important to Buesing Corp. Our talented, hardworking, and loyal people help make Buesing Corp. Simply The Best! www.buesingcorp.com

Serving Arizona Since 1983

Full Service Electrical Contractor

24 / 7 On-Demand Maintenance and Repair QA / QC Programs Solar Power Design and Installation Solar Hybrid Mechanical Solutions Thermal Imaging, Data Logging, Load Studies

LED Lighting Solutions to Save You Money

www.kortmaninc.com | 602-256-6103


HUNT AUSTIN

Harbor’s motto of “America’s Friendliest Airport,” Hunt Austin is committed to making the construction efforts as painless as possible. “We’re doing this in phases in order to minimize the impact on travelers,” Mason said. “We interface with our team regularly and coordinate with the airport to reduce impact. The focus is on the

CONSTRUCTION

customer.” The first phase was completed earlier last year, while phase two is scheduled to be finished in late 2017. The project is expected to be fully completed by 2020. “When phase one opens it will include state of the art security checkpoint,” said Mason. “It uses the latest technologies in aviation and TSA to create a comfortable

w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

41


“WHEN PHASE ONE OPENS IT WILL INCLUDE STATE OF THE ART SECURITY CHECKPOINT” – TG Mason, project manager for the Modernization Program

42

May 2016


Saving Lives and Property Since 1985

Sunstate Installations, Inc is a full service Arizona Corporation specializing in service, sales and installations of building specialties, architectural woodwork, gym equipment, modular casework, lab casework, lab equipment, and furnishings.

AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER COMPANY ARIZONA

CALIFORNIA

21605 N. Central Ave. Phoenix, AZ 85024 623-580-7800

170 N. Maple St. Suite 112 Corona, CA 92880 951-273-1889

COLORADO

RESPECT INTEGRITY INNOVATION TEAMWORK SERVICE SAFETY

5580 Havana St. Suite 4A Denver, CO 80239 303-371-9660

2851 S. 45th Street Phoenix, AZ 85040

Fax: 480.981.4742 Email: sunstateinstallations@msn.com

480.981.2343 www.sunstateinstallations.com

M.A.G. Construction, establised in 1982 is an experienced Masonry Contractor willing to construct any size project.

QUALITY, DEPENDABILITY AND TRUST Inspired Networks, Inc. is a Professional Services IT Consulting firm with a proven track record of delivering projects across six continents, including more than 125 Tier-1 and Tier-2 airports.

COMMERCIAL & GOVERNMENT

480-892-9548 770 N. Monterey St, Suite B Gilbert, AZ 85233

info@magconstructionaz.com www.magconstructionaz.com

info@inspirednetworks.com | www.inspirednetworks.com


HUNT AUSTIN

feeling for passengers.” “ A P R O J E C T I S O N LY A S GOOD AS ITS PEOPLE” According to Mason, a majority of the subcontractors used were local 44

May 2016

to Phoenix, or had local offices. “We wanted to find local expertise and maximize the local workforce and small business. “One of the things I can’t stress enough is that a project is only as


CONSTRUCTION

Company Information NAME

HuntAustin Joint Venture PROJECT NAME

Sky Harbor International Airport PROJECT BUDGET

$590 million INDUSTRY

Construction HEADQUARTERS

Phoenix, Arizona - USA

good as its people. We’ve been very fortunate with Hunt and Austin to pull forward this great team,” said Mason. “Everyone has worked really well together, taking a lot of pride in the project. They’re proud to put their name on this. There’s a lot of personal satisfaction for me as well.” w w w. h u n t a u s t i n j v. c o m

45


BUILDING FOR SUCCESS Full-service general contracting firm KPRS seeks to help build the California landscape Written by: Sasha Orman Produced by: Tom Venturo 47


KPRS

Glendale Arts Colony. The housing project is constructed using sustainable green pr

S

outhern California is a land of dreamers, with entrepreneurs changing the state of industry and architects envisioning a brighter landscape. With concrete, steel and knowhow, contractors help both make their dreams a reality. Brea-based KPRS Inc. shares in this progress, lending its expertise in design build, construction and management to Los Angeles area clients. 48

May 2016

C R E AT I N G A N E W V I S I O N In November 2014, Meta Housing Corporation teamed with the YMCA and the city of Glendale to begin development on the Glendale Arts Colony, a 70-unit multifamily affordable apartment complex with a very special vision. Designed by architectural firm Studio One Eleven, the project contains not just four stories of residential housing but community rooms, a sculpture


CONSTRUCTION

rinciples, and built to LEED Sliver standards certification

garden, and professional art studio and gallery spaces. “The idea is to attract young artists to the area, and to develop affordable housing for those artists,” explained Paul Buse, Senior Project Manager and Partner at KPRS. To handle the building and structural challenges of this project, Meta Housing Corporation and Studio One Eleven turned to the proven capabilities of KPRS.

“THE IDEA IS TO ATTRACT YOUNG ARTISTS TO THE AREA, AND TO DEVELOP AFFORDABLE HOUSING FOR THOSE ARTISTS” – Paul Buse, Senior Project Manager and Partner at KPRS w w w. k p r s i n c . c o m

49


AIR CONDITIONING • REFRIGERATION • ENERGY MANAGEMENT • CONTROLS ACR Energy Systems is an HVAC Contractor EST 1991. We provide quality installations and services, and meet project deadlines. We specialize in New Construction and Retrofits of Commercial & Industrial Buildings. We offer Design and Build or Customer Specified Installation of HVAC. We offer replacement of existing HVAC Units and Retro-Fit existing systems to save Energy and provide full se service and maintenance to all HVAC Systems.

3002 Dow Avenue, Suite 502, Tustin CA 92780 P: (949)716-1259 F: (949)716-1258 E: admin@acrenergysystems.com

Almost 1,000 building developments in Southern California began with a solid foundation and Crew Inc. performing the demolition, clear and grub, over-excavation, compaction, and finish grading work.

We supply, install, repair and service the following: • PACKAGE UNITS UP TO 300 TONS • SPLIT SYSTEMS UP TO 300 TONS • WATER CHILLERS UP TO 300 TONS • COMMERCIAL WATER BOILERS • COOLING TOWERS & WATER PUMPS • DDC CONTROLS & ZONING SYSTEMS • VARIABLE REFRIGERANT SYSTEMS (VRF)

WWW.ACRENERGYSYSTEMS.COM

Quality You Can Trust Richmond Plastering Inc. is an industry leader providing the very best in quality workmanship for over 36 years. We have expertise in all Plaster and EIFS specialty systems.

Building Together Since 1994 19618 S. Susana Rd, Rancho Dominguez, CA 90221

Call: 310.608.6860 www.crewgrading.com

Contact Tom Richmond 12102 Centralia Ave, Hawaiian Gardens, CA 90716 EMAIL: tomr@richmondplastering.com PH: 562 924-4202 or 1-800-8-STUCCO

www.richmondplastering.com Lic # 454093


CONSTRUCTION

“This is built on a small piece of property, so the perimeter of the building is very near the property lines of the site,” said Buse. “We are also building right adjacent to a YMCA that has parking issues of its own. So, dealing with construction access is probably the biggest challenge, and getting enough manpower to stay on schedule and getting vendors on board with that is challenging in and of itself.” Working and finding access avenues within such close quarters requires finesse. KPRS was able

to overcome these challenges on a tight timeline, keeping the Glendale Arts Colony on schedule to open September 2016. REBUILDING WITHIN COMMUNITIES KPRS also realizes new visions for existing landmarks, like its 92,000 square foot Lake Forest Gateway Shopping Center and 59,908 square foot San Clemente Phase I and II projects currently under construction. Both retail projects have entailed extensive renovations

Lake Forest Gateway. The renovated shopping destination includes multiple lifestyle communal areas with fountains, trellises, and other amenities

w w w. k p r s i n c . c o m

51


KPRS

Lake Forest Gateway. The 9-acre retail center is located at the epicenter of South Or

to modernize existing shopping centers for today’s consumers. KPRS has been involved with both projects from the design build phase forward, and have been instrumental in navigating each project’s unique challenges—from full depth reclamation to improve existing subgrade issues to tunnel barricades and precision planning 52

May 2016

for utility overhauls that don’t interfere with tenant operations. “The number one priority whenever you’re renovating an existing, operating center is always safety—safety for the public, safety for the tenants, and safety for the construction personnel,” said Buse. “I think the challenge on many existing retail centers is that


CONSTRUCTION

range County, CA near the 5 and 405 Freeways

the utility infrastructure completely changes, which creates distinct challenges keeping the existing tenants operational.” With this eye to safety and innovation, KPRS is able to stay on track with plans while satisfying building owners and working tenants alike. “Getting us involved in the early

design phase helps to facilitate the process and make important decisions early on—like what will we do with the existing tenants?” said Buse. “There are also a lot of unknowns that are uncovered through the process whenever you’re doing existing façade renovation. KPRS does a great job in helping the owner minimize w w w. k p r s i n c . c o m

53


C O M PA N Y N A M E

Lake Forest Gateway. Major tenants include Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Panera Bre

cost by way of looking at different alternate methods of achieving the look that the architect was after.� WORKING TOGETHER T O S TAY O N TA S K With large construction projects for multiple tenants, especially remodeling projects where tenants 54

May 2016

are often doing business throughout the construction process, time is of the essence. KPRS understands this and takes every step possible to ensure that projects run smoothly and that everyone is on the same page. “A lot of it is just partnering with the vendors we have gathered and


CONSTRUCTION

“LIKE ANYTHING ELSE, THE SQUEAKY WHEEL GETS THE GREASE—IF YOU STAY IN FRONT OF THE VENDORS AND IMPRESS ON THEM HOW IMPORTANT IT IS TO HAVE A COMMON GOAL OF SCHEDULE, THAT TENDS TO GO A LONG WAY.”

ead and Nekter Juice Bar

making sure they understand how important it is to stay on schedule,” said Buse. “Like anything else, the squeaky wheel gets the grease—if you stay in front of the vendors and impress on them how important it is to have a common goal of schedule, that tends to go a long way.” Careful preparation also lays the

– Paul Buse, Senior Project Manager and Partner at KPRS

groundwork for a more streamlined project, and is key to KPRS construction plans. “It is all about preplanning—getting information out there as early as possible as to when you need materials, when you need manpower, and when their time to arrive on site is going to be,” Buse adds. “Getting that in well w w w. k p r s i n c . c o m

55


KPRS

 TELECOMMUNICATIONS  TECHNICAL SERVICES  POWER / ELECTRICAL

 WET UTILITES  INSIDE PLANT  SPECIALTY SERVICES

VCI Construction is a full services general engineering contractor providing engineering, underground substructure, aerial, storm drainage, sewer, wet utility infrastructure, wireless communications and electric service construction. Diversiied service offerings is what keeps VCI ahead of its competition and provide solutions to our customers ever changing needs. 1921 W. Eleventh St., Upland, CA 91786 Tel: 909‐949‐1350 / 909‐946‐0924 CA 765716 / NV 0074442 / AZ 278321 / HI C32256

ahead of time is what helps you stay on schedule.” RESPECT FOR THE CLIENT AND THE PROJECT Whether it’s a remodel or a full build out from the foundation up, some parts of construction projects are bound to be similar. But from site logistics to client and tenant needs, every project also has components that make it unique. KPRS believes 56

May 2016

San Clemente Plaza. Phase I of the pro new anchor stores: Sports Authority, St the Plaza feature modern tower elemen

in finding that unique aspect of each assignment it takes on, and giving it the extra attention needed so that all parties involved can be proud to put their names on the finished product. “For us it’s about service to the client and the project goals,” said Buse. “I’ve often found that if you look at the project as something of its own entity, and give that project what it needs to be successful, generally all parties that are a part of the project become successful


CONSTRUCTION

Company Information INDUSTRY

General Contractor HEADQUARTERS

Brea, California - USA FOUNDED

1998 EMPLOYEES

165

oject included the renovation of an old K-Mart into three tein Mart and Sprouts Market. Other improvements to nts on the facade, with copper domes

REVENUE

$300,000,000

as a result. If you can get vendors and the consultants and the owner on board with that as a team, it tends to work to the project’s benefit.” After all, just as a rising tide lifts all ships, a successful construction project is a win for everyone who made it happen along the way. Through its hard work and innovative ideas, KPRS strives to achieve that kind of win every time. “Then the owner is successful, our vendors are successful, the consultants are successful,” said Buse. “And ultimately KPRS is successful as well.” w w w. k p r s i n c . c o m

57


PROTECTING THE

SACRAMENTO RIVER WATERSHED How the Regional San EchoWater Project will bring Sacramento’s wastewater treatment to a whole new level Written by: Sasha Orman Produced by: Tom Venturo


59


S A C R A M E N T O R E G I O N A L C O U N T Y S A N I TAT I O N D I S T R I C T

A

t the end of 2010, the state of California issued a new set of rigorous water quality guidelines, along with its latest permit for Regional San. Created out of concern for the ongoing health and safety of the Sacramento River where wastewater is safely discharged, as well as a broader concern for water usage in California, this mandate includes heightened regulations regarding ammonia and nitrate removal and stricter guidelines for pathogen reduction. To meet the requirements within the mandate, Sacramento’s wastewater treatment plant needs to improve its ammonia and nitrate removal rate by 2021 and enhance pathogen removal by 2023. Because its current wastewater treatment facility, which went online in 1982, does not meet these news treatment requirements, Regional San aims to meet the new mandates with the EchoWater Project, one of the largest public works projects in Sacramento history. With this project, Regional San is on its way to increasing opportunities for 60

May 2016

recycled water usage and achieving a higher standard of water quality in the Sacramento River watershed. FROM PILOT TO FULLS C A L E I N N O V AT I O N “We’re calling this major upgrade the ‘EchoWater Project’ to reflect how it will take our wastewater and


E C H O W AT E R P R O J E C T

return it to a clean, natural state— much like an ‘echo’ returning to its original source,” stated Regional San in its launch of the project. Regional San’s goal with the EchoWater Project is a full upgrade of functionality from an advanced secondary to a tertiary level of treatment. This will have several

concrete effects, including a 95 percent ammonia reduction in water discharged to the Sacramento River. Regional San’s EchoWater Project consists of about 15 individual initiatives working in concert to achieve this overarching goal. At the center of these projects is the construction of a massive biological w w w. re g i o n a l s a n . c o m

61


S A C R A M E N T O R E G I O N A L C O U N T Y S A N I TAT I O N D I S T R I C T

nutrient removal (BNR) facility. A $600 million development the size of 20 football fields, the facility will be able to effectively remove practically all ammonia and nitrate from wastewater as it flows through the plant. Regional San perfected the capabilities of its new BNR facility by first building a 0.5 million gallon per day (MGD) “pilot” facility for hands-on research. “The pilot facility was designed and built in 10 months,” said

Vick Kyotani, Deputy Director of Operations and Program Manager for the EchoWater Project. “It was operated for a 12 month period to validate the BNR process, and test three filtration technologies and three disinfection technologies.” After testing nine different treatment train options in total, Regional San used its data along with business case evaluations and life cycle cost analyses to decide on the most cost effective technology

Intentional Design | Exceptional Places

calpo hom & dong ARCHITECTS 2120 20th Street Suite One, Sacramento CA, 95818 phone: 916-446-7741 web: chdarchitects.com

Auburn Constructors is proud to partner with SRCSD on the EchoWater Project. For over 25 years Auburn Constructors has been committed to providing outstanding performance, value and client satisfaction in the construction of water and wastewater treatment facilities. 730 W. Stadium Ln. Sacramento, CA 95834

T: 916·924·0344 F: 916·924·1800 W: www.auburnconstructors.com


E C H O W AT E R P R O J E C T

“The pilot plant allowed us to select the technologies to complete a facility plan that was needed to complete the environmental permitting process.” – Vick Kyotani, Deputy Director of Operations and Program Manager for the EchoWater Project w w w. re g i o n a l s a n . c o m

63


C O M PA N Y N A M E

to achieve its goals. “The pilot plant allowed us to select the technologies to complete a facility plan that was needed to complete the environmental permitting process,” said Kyotani, explaining how Regional San will integrate its pilot program findings into the full scale facility. “Selecting the most cost effective solutions used for the basis of designs 64

May 2016

allowed us to progress the design faster—we did not need to select the technology as part of the design process. This reduced the design time required, and a second phase of testing on the selected technologies has allowed us to get approval of higher filter loading rates and more optimized disinfection parameters which will significantly reduce project costs.”


A N A R R AY O F UPGRADES Beyond the main BNR facility, the additional initiatives will support and enhance water quality through such features as: • Tertiary treatment facilities with functionalities including granular media filters, pump station and chlorine contact basins;

• A massive flow equalization project, which will provide increased storage to existing basins to reduce peak flow volumes to the BNR facility; • Nitrifying sidestream treatment to reduce ammonia loads before they reach the main BNR facility, reducing strain and chemical costs on the main plant; • New and improved disinfection w w w. re g i o n a l s a n . c o m

65


C O M PA N Y N A M E

66

May 2016


E C H O W AT E R P R O J E C T

chemical storage facilities, which will replace the current existing gasbased disinfection system with a safer liquid system, and; • An all-new return activated sludge pumping system, which will provide upgraded replacements for the 48 existing pumps, VFDs and electrical power and control panels currently in use at secondary sedimentation tanks. Regional San is also taking an innovative approach to design throughout the EchoWater Project, improving efficiencies and accuracy through design tools and methods like 3D design models to reduce the occurrence of design errors, reliability centered design (RCD) and maintenance (RCM), and 5D modeling with Synchro technology to watch construction in time lapse and identify potential timing conflicts before they occur. “The goals of these efforts are to provide the most efficient and reliable systems possible, not only in terms of initial capital cost, but more importantly for the long term life of the assets,” said Kyotani.

BENEFITTING SACR AM ENTO’S ENVIRONMENT AND THE COMMUNIT Y When completed, the EchoWater Project will bring multiple benefits to Sacramento and its residents, not least of which is a higher standard of water quality for the Sacramento River, which will in turn provide better protection for the delicate Sacramento River Delta ecosystem. “The entire treated flow from the upgraded plant will meet Title 22 recycled water quality,” said Kyotani, noting that Regional San is actively working on projects to increase the usage of recycled w w w. re g i o n a l s a n . c o m

67


S A C R A M E N T O R E G I O N A L C O U N T Y S A N I TAT I O N D I S T R I C T

water in and around the city and county of Sacramento. “We currently supply about three MGD of recycled water for irrigation to communities in the Elk Grove area south of the treatment plant, and will be supplying about one MGD for cooling tower use to a cogeneration 68

May 2016

facility in the City of Sacramento,” he said. “We are also in the planning stages of a large recycled water project for agriculture in south Sacramento County.” Regional San is also exploring further environmental improvements with this project. One project


E C H O W AT E R P R O J E C T

Company Information NAME

Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District INDUSTRY

Wastewater treatment plant HEADQUARTERS

Elk Grove, CA - USA FOUNDED

1973 EMPLOYEES

375 PROJECT NAME

EchoWater Project PROJECT BUDGET

already in progress is a solar array, which will generate power that will in turn be fed back to the wastewater treatment plant to mitigate additional electricity usage from the EchoWater Project. Not only will this potentially create savings for ratepayers, but the use of renewable energy will create a treatment plant that is more environmentally sound.

$1.85 billion P O P U L AT I O N SERVED

Approximately 1.4 million

w w w. re g i o n a l s a n . c o m

69


SERVICE FOR A

GROWING COMMUNITY The North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) provides regional service through unity Written by: Eric Harding Produced by: Jason Wright


71


N O R T H T E X A S M U N I C I PA L WAT E R D I S T R I C T

W

ith a goal of meeting the drinking water, wastewater treatment and solid waste disposal needs for the member cities and customers, the North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) looks to provide regional service through unity to fulfill the needs of today and tomorrow. With a service population projected to double by 2040 and triple by 2060, North Texas is home to one of the fastest growing regions in the United States. To continue to meet the needs of the cities it serves, NTMWD will continue to collaborate with the cities to develop infrastructure requirements to meet the needs of the region, today and tomorrow. “The partnerships we have with those cities are really important,” said NTMWD assistant deputy director of wastewater Jenna Covington. “They’re our clients; we’re here to serve them. “Having those strong partnerships is critical to us being a good service provider to them.” 72

May 2016

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT NTMWD identifies future infrastructure needs to accommodate growth, develop and execute projects to meet the needs of the community.


CONSTRUCTION

Projects such as the new Dallas Cowboys training facility and the “$5 billion mile” of projects along the Dallas North Tollway invite huge amounts of growth to the area. NTMWD is preparing for this through infrastructure development

and reinforcement projects, working closely with the city to project land use and population projections through build out. “We’re in a very fast-growing area,” said Covington. “There’s significant challenge and w w w. n t m w d . c o m

73


N O R T H T E X A S M U N I C I PA L WAT E R D I S T R I C T

opportunities associated with that, which puts us in a unique position.” Such an opportunity comes in the form of the Stewart Creek Waste Water Treatment Program (WWTP). Currently rated at 5 million gallons per day (mgd), this set of construction projects is set to expand that figure to 10 mgd. The facility is permitted to discharge up to 15 million gallons 74

May 2016

per day in the future, with additional improvements. “There’s a lot of big development happening within the service area of this facility,” said Covington. “There’s a lot of commercial development and residential highrise development in that general vicinity that had really happened over the last couple years. The changing economic conditions are a


CONSTRUCTION

big driver.� Regulations have not changed as a result of the growth, however. For example, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality has implemented new discharge requirements for facilities discharging in close proximity to reservoirs. NTMWD is staying abreast of these increasing water quality

discharge requirements, and has made provisions to meet the requirements using chemical precipitation on an interim basis. N E W W AY S O F T H I N K I N G NTMWD has closely coordinated with the City of Frisco to optimize the network of infrastructure and to meet the current and future needs for community members. w w w. n t m w d . c o m

75


WE ARE H 2 OBSESSED.

WATER OUR FOCUS OUR B U S IN E S S

OUR PASSION

Water is all we do. It’s all we think about, every day of every week. And the results have been inspirational. Today, we have grown to become the largest engineering firm in the country solely dedicated to water and wastewater.*

*Per Engineering News-Record, May 11, 2015, “Top 500 Design Firms” ranking.

An example is the ability to transfer flow from Stewart Creek WWTP to Panther Creek WWTP (an existing 10 mgd facility also serving City of Frisco). This transfer has been used as an interim measure to support current development, provide redundancy, flexibility, and optimize capital capacity expansions. The existing facility is continuing to be leveraged to reduce capital expenditures associated with the expansion. 76

May 2016

1.800.523.5826 | carollo.com

NTMWD uses Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition (SCADA) to allow for a better understanding of what’s happening within the facility. This tool increases efficiency by controlling the equipment to produce higher quality water and save operating costs. SCADA systems are adaptable in several different industries because they can range from simple configurations to large, complex projects. Virtually anywhere you look in today’s society, there is some


CONSTRUCTION


C O M PA N Y N A M E

“Communicating with stakeholders and addressing concerns has built trust.” – Jenna Covington, NTMWD assistant deputy director of wastewater 78

May 2016

type of SCADA system running behind the scenes. In NTMWD’s case, this system is used at ten water and wastewater treatment facilities. S U S TA I N A B I L I T Y MEASURES The City of Frisco is the leading utility for non-potable water reuse


CONSTRUCTION

in North Texas, and NTMWD is pleased to partner with them in its sustainability endeavor. Both the Stewart Creek WWTP and Panther Creek WWTP effluent water is used throughout the city for irrigation at locations such as Toyota Stadium, multiple schools, city parks, athletic complexes and open spaces. In addition, NTMWD is a leading utility in the nation for indirect potable water reuse. Treated effluent is diverted into the 2,000 acre constructed wetlands for

polishing and returned for use as water supply. NTMWD plans to continue putting significant emphasis on public education, awareness of efficient use of water, and implementation of water reuse strategies. MANAG ING COM M UNIT Y NEEDS AND CITIZEN INPUT “Communicating with stakeholders and addressing concerns has built trust. We maintain an open line of communication with neighbors and w w w. n t m w d . c o m

79


N O R T H T E X A S M U N I C I PA L WAT E R D I S T R I C T

other stake holders such as nearby home owners associations and elected officials,� said Covington. During the planning for the expansion of the plant, NTMWD and the City of Frisco held joint stakeholder meetings with local residents to address concerns, 80

May 2016

explain the need for the project, and discuss the treatment technologies that would be employed to address their concerns. “Part of the Stewart Creek WWTP project is the construction of a berm with landscaping to create a nice visual, capture and treat foul air to


CONSTRUCTION

Company Information NAME

North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) INDUSTRY

Water, Construction HEADQUARTERS

Wylie, Texas - USA EMPLOYEES

751 MANAGEMENT

Assistant deputy director of wastewater: Jenna Covington

reduce odor impacts, and consistently produce high quality effluent that is used throughout the city for irrigation and discharged into Stewart Creek. “NTMWD puts significant investment and emphasis on developing and maintaining a good neighbor status,” Covington said.

w w w. n t m w d . c o m

81


A safer world for

FOOD PROCESSIN

QA Consultant Silas Boyt discusses the evolution of food safe and sustainability in the food processing industry Written by: Sasha Orman Produced by: Jason Wright


NG

ety

83


AMERISAN USA

Food processing sanitation experts- Meat and Poultry

H

ow safe is your food? That all depends on the meticulous care of the food processors working to manufacture and package the products that wind up on your plate every day. Amerisan USA is a company dedicated to helping the food processing industry—from Fortune 500 giants to medium-sized and small processors—reach its potential in safety and compliance with federal and international standards. 84

May 2016

“What people are looking for is a resource to provide meticulous and excellent customer service,” says Silas Boyt, Quality Assurance Consultant for Amerisan USA. “We achieve this by leveraging our focus on providing clients with what they need: leading edge food safety solutions, innovative industry trends, best practices, which all result in compliance for the customer—which is key—and great value.”


S U P P LY C H A I N

From color coded buckets and dustpans to x-ray and metal detectable brushes and cable ties, Amerisan offers businesses the tools they need to make life easier for their employees and safer for the consumers they serve. PURSUING FOOD SAFET Y Between easily accessible social media and continuous news cycles, food safety issues are at the

“ WHAT PEOPLE ARE LOOKING FOR IS A RESOURCE TO PROVIDE METICULOUS AND EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE” – Silas Boyt, Quality Assurance Consultant for Amerisan USA

w w w. a m e r i s a n u s a . c o m

85


AMERISAN USA

Increased efficiency with 5S Shadow Boards

forefront of public concern more than ever before. Food processors must be vigilant in protecting themselves against pathogens and other contaminants—a problem that reaches consumers and triggers a recall can be incredibly costly in more ways than one. “Recall is the biggest dread of any processor,” says Boyt. “The average cost of a recall to a food company 86

May 2016

is about $10 million US dollars in direct costs, and then you have the additional damage to the brand and to loss in sales which is significantly higher. With such high risks, it’s imperative that operational mistakes are reduced to a minimum or eliminated through implementation of HACCP programs and GMP programs. Even 5S can play a great part in increasing food safety.”


S U P P LY C H A I N

Resin-set brushware ensures filament retention

While these programs are a processor’s most important line of defense, Amerisan is able to help enhance the safety routines of its clients with products and solutions designed to cut down on contamination. “Using metal detectable items is one way to greatly reduce the risk of foreign particle contamination,” says Boyt. “It also validates to the consumer that the processor is taking into account due diligence in protecting the product and their brand for the consumer.”

Products like resin-set brooms and cleaning brushes are another line of defense against contamination. “We acquired one client that found some brush bristles in their products—they threw away eight tons of product, which is huge, and luckily they found it before it went out into market. Since then, they have only used our Resin Set Brushes,” Boyt recounts. “There are many steps that processors can take to protect themselves, and that’s where we are able to help them, bringing these new innovative w w w. a m e r i s a n u s a . c o m

87


AMERISAN USA

products to market.” D I F F E R E N T W AY S O F GOING GREEN When the goal is to kill as many pathogens and bacteria as possible, the priority for food processors is not whether a cleaning product is environmentally friendly—the priority is simply whether or not it’s the most powerful and effective cleaning product for the job. But a business like Amerisan does not have to give up on sustainability

altogether. “It is tough to make this industry go green, but we encourage it,” says Boyt, explaining that there are other ways to help their clients embrace more sustainable practices. “With the technology and innovation we have today, we can help them reduce waste and reduce consumption,” Boyt continues. “We helped one client reduce consumption by 50 percent which made a substantial difference on its carbon footprint and its bottom line.

Custom Shadow Boards accommodate facility needs

88

May 2016


S U P P LY C H A I N

Metal Detectors pick up foreign particle contamination, increasing consumer safety

So it’s not necessarily going green by having green products, but by actually tackling it in a different way and approaching it from outside the box to reduce waste—as opposed to just providing greener waste.”

THE FUTURE OF THE INDUSTRY AND AMERISAN Food safety best practices and regulations continue to evolve at different rates around the world, w w w. a m e r i s a n u s a . c o m

89


AMERISAN USA

FBK has been developing and manufacturing brushes since 1887, gaining experience that spans 3 centuries! The products perform where uncompromising cleanliness is the overarching requirement. Typical market include: food and beverage processing, food handlers, service sector, pharmaceutical and medical manufactures, contract cleaners etc.

Teknikvej 53, DK-5260 Odense S, Denmark Tel: +45 6614 3661 Fax: +45 6614 3123 Email: ks@fbk.dk Web: www.fbk.dk

and so are the wants and needs of processors working to meet more rigorous demands. “People aren’t necessarily looking for the lowest item cost nowadays— they’re looking for the lowest cost of ownership, which takes everything into account from quality of the product through to its longevity,” says Boyt. “We’ve seen a shift in focus by the industry to see the real value of what they’re getting. The culture of our business is very 90

May 2016

FDA Compliant materials ensure sa

customer service-led, in order to meet the deadlines and demands of the industry operates. The team is very dedicated, enthusiastic, and empowered to take care of our clients’ needs, providing great feats of exceptional customer experiences on a daily basis.” Amerisan is there to help the industry comply with auditing bodies from the FDA to the SQF & BRC (British Retail Consortium) through a range of solutions. As


S U P P LY C H A I N

Company Information NAME

Amerisan USA INDUSTRY

Food processing sanitation HEADQUARTERS

Folcroft, Pennsylvania FOUNDED

2002

afety and compliance on the production line

demand grows, Amerisan has continued to grow between 20 and 50 percent year over year, expanding its national supply chain network to 14 strategic warehouse locations and its global reach through strategic partnerships in order to better serve as a trusted partner to the modern food processing industry. “The world is becoming constantly smaller, with communications and travel improving,� says Boyt. As these changes continue, Amerisan is continuing its mission of making sure that world is a safer one as well. w w w. a m e r i s a n u s a . c o m

91


THE FUTURE OF

WATER QUALITY HAS ARRIVED

The Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati (MSD) takes the lead in using innovative technologies to reduce sewer overflows and improve water quality for its communities and the environment Written by: Eric Harding Produced by: Tom Venturo 93


M E T R O P O L I TA N S E W E R D I S T R I C T O F G R E AT E R C I N C I N N AT I

I

nnovative technologies are helping the Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati (MSD) improve water quality in local streams and rivers while keeping costs in check. The technologies, which range from satellite imagery to algae from the South pole and real-time controls to DNA genetic markers, are highlighted below. REDUCING SEWER OVERFLOWS AND COSTS T H R O U G H R E A L -T I M E CONTROLS Like a number of utilities across the nation, MSD is faced with a federal mandate to address water quality 94

May 2016

impairments caused by combined sewer overflows (CSOs), a mixture of raw sewage and stormwater. During a typical year, about 11 billion gallons discharge from more than 200 combined sewer overflow (CSO) outfalls along local rivers and streams. The utility is under a $3.1 billion unfunded Consent Decree to reduce the overflows, with hundreds of sewer and stormwater projects slated for construction. With costs passed along to customers through ever-increasing sewer rates, MSD is seeking new and less expensive ways to address wet weather issues. In early 2015, MSD deployed its Wet Weather SCADA system


GOVERNMENT

covering Mill Creek, its largest watershed. This transformational technology is designed to use available storage capacity in existing sewer infrastructure (e.g., interceptor sewers, storage tanks or high-rate treatment units) to avoid overflows, in lieu of building expensive new infrastructure. The system uses sensors to provide real-time monitoring of wastewater flows in the sewer system over large geographic areas, a sophisticated SCADAbased computer system, and the physical control of flows. Within the first several weeks of operation, the technology was used to store flows at a high-rate

treatment facility, avoiding 1.4 million gallons in overflows at a location nearly 11 miles away. The Wet Weather SCADA technology is being advanced in other MSD watersheds and is anticipated to save tens of millions of dollars in capital investments in wet weather projects. DETECTION OF P O L L U TA N T S A N D P O L L U TA N T L O A D I N G Many different pollutants and pollution sources can contribute to a decline in water quality. MSD is responsible for reducing sewer overflows, but it’s hard to improve water quality with w w w. m s d g c . o r g

95


M E T R O P O L I TA N S E W E R D I S T R I C T O F G R E AT E R C I N C I N N AT I

continuing discharges from industries, leaking septic tanks and runoff from dog parks, residential areas and farmland. To address this challenge, MSD is exploring three technologies to help detect and measure pollutants and their sources and use that information to prioritize capital projects that achieve the biggest bang for the buck. Understanding 96

May 2016

the true cause of water quality impairment is a huge benefit when it comes to making decisions addressing major pollution issues. • DNA Source Tracking: MSD partnered with the U.S. EPA and University of Cincinnati to develop an analytical laboratory method that uses DNA and RNA (genetic markers) to detect where pollutants


GOVERNMENT

in local streams and rivers are coming from and their quantities. The genetic markers can tell you whether the pollutant is animal fecal matter or from a human and can also identify pollutant loadings such as sewer overflows vs. leaking septic systems. MSD is using this information to support decision-making for capital projects related to sewer overflows

or stormwater management. The method also helps MSD communicate and collaborate with other local agencies, such as the health department, park district or environmental services to reduce water quality impacts from other sources. • Remote Sensing: MSD is pilot testing a new technology that uses satellite images of local streams and rivers – combined with a proprietary algorithm – to detect pollutant loadings and hot spots on a watershed scale. The technology was developed by Blue Water Satellite, Inc. with the assistance of Black & Veatch, a national design engineering firm. One pilot study focused on total suspended solids, phosphorus, phycocyanin, and chlorophyll-a in the Ohio River during normal river conditions. A second pilot study looked at hot spots in communities on septic systems. • Decision-Making Tool: MSD is using a decision-making tool called the Integrated Prioritization System (IPS) that analyzes water quality monitoring data and w w w. m s d g c . o r g

97


M E T R O P O L I TA N S E W E R D I S T R I C T O F G R E AT E R C I N C I N N AT I

Wet weather SCADA

presents it in a comprehensive Excel-based database format. Developed by the Midwest Biodiversity Institute, the tool allows users to query, view, map and export data summarizing the conditions of local streams and rivers. The IPS accesses recent water quality monitoring data for the Little Miami, Mill Creek, Great Miami and Ohio River basins, as well as historical monitoring data prior to 2011.

98

May 2016

N E W T R E AT M E N T TECHNOLOGIES As a wastewater utility, MSD is charged with treating sewage and discharging clean effluent that meets water quality standards and complies with environmental permits. • Future of Disinfection: Disinfection of treated effluent prior to discharging it into a local stream or river is an essential part of the wastewater treatment


GOVERNMENT

process. Although most solids, organic matter, and metals are removed from wastewater during the treatment process, the effluent still contains bacteria, viruses and other disease-causing organisms. Disinfection is the only way to destroy these pathogens to

maintain water quality and prevent disease. MSD’s plants currently use sodium hypochlorite (liquid chlorine) or ultraviolet (UV)-based systems. Both methods are highly effective, but are either expensive (UV) or create byproducts (sodium

Pilot study of community with septic tanks (left) and pilot study of Ohio River w w w. m s d g c . o r g

99


M E T R O P O L I TA N S E W E R D I S T R I C T O F G R E AT E R C I N C I N N AT I

100

May 2016


GOVERNMENT

Pilot testing of native Ohio algae

hypochlorite), many of them toxic. To address these challenges, MSD is currently evaluating paracetic acid as a potential new disinfectant. Testing in the lab showed that paracetic acid met the following criteria: > Powerful enough to neutralize a wide spectrum of bacteria, viruses and other microorganisms > Effective with a short contact time > Does not produce any toxic

byproducts > Does not require neutralization after disinfection treatment > Not affected by the type of contaminants and level of organic matter in the wastewater > Safe to use and store MSD is now preparing for a pilot study to validate the lab data. MSD’s ultimate goal is to improve the environment, conserve energy, and reduce the cost of wastewater treatment at MSD plants by w w w. m s d g c . o r g

101


M E T R O P O L I TA N S E W E R D I S T R I C T O F G R E AT E R C I N C I N N AT I

Excellence in Engineering Since 1946.

Municipal/General Civil Green Infrastructure Solutions Transportation Wastewater Water Supply Building and Facilities Aviation

www.strand.com

MSD Cincinnati_Construction Global-Business Review USA Qtr pg Ad.indd 1

513.861.5600

4/4/2016 1:28:26 PM

switching to paracetic acid. • Using Algae to Fight Algae: Wastewater is loaded with organic matter and nutrients like ammonia and phosphorus. During warm weather, nutrient-loving microorganisms or “bugs” in the secondary aeration tanks do a great job of “eating” the excess nutrients. But during colder weather, the bacteria can become dormant, causing increased levels of nutrients 102

May 2016

in the effluent discharged to local streams and rivers, which can potentially lead to permit violations or algal blooms. To address this challenge, MSD is developing an all-weather, algaebased technology to remove and recover nutrients from wastewater. A native Ohio algae and an algae from the Antarctic (South pole) have been tested in the laboratory and show promising results. MSD is now


GOVERNMENT

Company Information NAME

Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati (MSD) INDUSTRY

Government HEADQUARTERS

Cincinnati, Ohio - USA FOUNDED

1968 EMPLOYEES

About 550

focusing on pilot studies of both strains of algae, with the goal of blending the two types of algae to create a nutrient removal system that works in all temperatures. Besides removing nutrients from effluent, this technology also has the potential to reduce the cost of sludge incineration. Excess algae, which has been dewatered, has a very high fuel burn rate and can be mixed with sludge prior to incineration to reduce the amount of natural gas needed to burn the sludge.

REVENUE

About $287 million (projected operating revenue for 2016)

w w w. m s d g c . o r g

103


104

Business Review USA & Canada May 2016  
Business Review USA & Canada May 2016