Page 1



THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT EMMA GRZONKOWSKI IS A RISING STAR OF THE CONTEMPORARY ART WORLD. A FIGURATIVE ARTIST WHO DRAWS ON LONG PERIODS OF INTROSPECTION AND SELF REFLECTION TO PORTRAY A RANGE OF POIGNANT THEMES, EMMA PRESENTS THE VIEWER WITH AN INTRICATE VISUALISATION OF HUMAN EMOTION. It has been said that the mark of a true artist is inviting us to see into their soul through their work; the Seven Deadly Sins does just that. Inspired by Emma’s inner reflections, the body of work explores pride, envy, gluttony, lust, anger, greed and sloth and renders Emma’s bewildering internal world with compelling intimacy. Boldly conceived and skilfully created, it is a collection of art which is shaped by big, precisely articulated sentiment. Colour is central to Emma’s work and is deftly applied to create a powerful, richly intricate narrative of fragile beauty, uncomfortably honest perceptions and lucid emotions. Every seemingly careless brush stroke has its part to play in the tapestry of the work. Emma’s willingness to allow raw emotion to remain unencumbered by societal norms and free of constraints, has resulted in a powerful collection, exuding confidence and eloquence. The subject of The Seven Deadly Sins is a familiar theme that has been well documented and explored throughout art history. From ‘The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things’ (circa 1500), an apocalyptic depiction of the cardinal sins by Renaissance artist, Hieronymus Bosch, to modern masters such as magic realist artist Paul Cadmus and his unearthly interpretation entitled ‘The Seven Deadly Sins Suite’ (1945–1949), it is a subject that demands artistic attention.  In the hands of Emma Grzonkowski, the Seven Deadly Sins have become a compelling, disturbing and profound reflection of human fallibility which conveys a sense of the infinite complexity of the human condition and leaves the viewer with a very real sense of our foibles. This captivating collection is presented with an appealing frankness and emotional acuity. What is evident is Emma’s ability to evoke the chaos and vulnerability that beleaguers human life, whilst presenting an adroit and aesthetically beautiful body of work.  5

greed Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 36" x 28" • £695


lust 10

Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 28" x 36" • £695

envy Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 36" x 28" • £695


pride 18

Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 36" x 28" • £695

Sloth Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 28" x 36" • £695


gluttony 26

Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 36" x 28" • £695

wrath Limited Edition Canvas on Board of 49 Image Size 36" x 28" • £695


GREED Greed (Avaritia) is the excessive love of wealth and the power which comes with it. Like lust and gluttony, it is a sin of excess. Whether manifested by hoarding or by lavish spending, it is a peculiarly earth-bound sin, looking to nothing beyond the material rewards of this life.

LUST Lust (Luxuria) is usually thought of as excessive thoughts or desires of a sexual nature. It is a shared sin. Although mutual indulgence only serves to push both parties along the road to Hell, it is not, in intention, wholly selfish.

ENVY Envy (Invidia) differs from that of Pride in that it contains an element of fear. It is self-sufficient, rejecting with contempt the notion that anybody can be equal or superior. To be envious is to be afraid of losing something by the admission of superiority in others, causing hatred upon other’s gifts and good fortune and taking every opportunity to run them down or deprive them of their happiness.

PRIDE Pride (Superbia) is considered the original of the seven deadly sins is the root of all sin others. It is defined as the excessive love of one’s self, the endeavour to be more important or attractive than 34

others and failing to recognise the good in others. Dante’s definition was “love of self perverted to hatred and contempt for one’s neighbour.”

SLOTH Sloth (Accidia or Akedia) is not merely idleness of mind and laziness of body: it is poisoning the will as indifferent and the deliberate refusal of joy. It culminates in morbid introspection and despair. Sloth is often seen as being considerably less serious than the other sins, more a sin of omission than of commission.

GLUTTONY Gluttony (Gula) is an unjustified attention to the pleasures in life. More specifically, it is the overindulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste.

WRATH Wrath (Ira) is also known as Rage and can be described as the blinding of judgment, ultimately causing uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger. It presents with self-destructiveness impatience, revenge, vigilantism and violence. Wrath is the only sin not necessarily associated with selfishness or self-interest. Dante described vengeance as “love of justice perverted to revenge and spite”.

Š Washington Green 2012. The content of this brochure is subject to copyright and no part can be reproduced without prior permission. The images contained within this literature are an artistic representation of the collection. To best experience our art, we recommend you contact your local gallery to arrange a viewing.

Emma Grzonkowski | The Seven Deadly Sins  
Emma Grzonkowski | The Seven Deadly Sins