Page 1

ADELPHI UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

VISITORS INFORMATION GUIDE & TRAVEL INFORMATION

OFFICIAL SPONSOR OF ADELPHI ATHLETICS

L

PIZZERIA


CONTACT INFORMATION ADELPHI UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS DEPARTMENT CENTER FOR RECREATION & SPORTs

OFFICIAL SPONSOR OF ADELPHI ATHLETICS

1 SOUTH AVENUE P.O. BOX 701 GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK PHONE: 516-877-4179 FAX: 516-877-4237

Name Position 516-877- ADMINISTRATION Danny McCabe Director of Athletics 4231 Kate Whalen Senior Associate AD, SWA/Compliance 4235 Emily Dorko Associate AD for External Relations 4293 Eugene Marquardt Equipment Manager 3782 Andrew McCabe Asst. AD Facilties/Game Day Operations 4294 Brittany Cullinane Business Manager 4295 Vincent Amodeo Coordinator of Athletic Marketing/Special Events 4241 Nichole Doran Coordinator of Athletic Administration 4179 Jennifer O’Hanlon Athletic Department Administrative Assistant 4240

dmccabe@adelphi.edu kwhalen@adelphi.edu edorko@adelphi.edu emarquardt@adelphi.edu amccabe@adelphi.edu bcullinane@adelphi.edu vamodeo@adelphi.edu ndoran@adelphi.edu johanlon@adelphi.edu

COACHING STAFF Gary Book Brooke DeRosa Dave Duke Missy Traversi Danielle MacKnight Carla Campagna Gordon Purdie Dom Scala Pat McCabe Robert Smith Katie Rees Mary Moore Joanna Haich Dennis Kearney Charles Cohen James Sweeney

gbook@adelphi.edu bderosa@adelphi.edu dduke@adelphi.edu mtraversi@adelphi.edu dmacknight@adelphi.edu ccampagna@adelphi.edu purdie@adelphi.edu scala@adelphi.edu pmccabe@adelphi.edu rsmith@adelphi.edu krees@adelphi.edu mmoore@adelphi.edu jhaich@adelphi.edu dkearney@adelphi.edu ccohen@adelphi.edu jsweeney@adelphi.edu

Asst. AD/Head Men’s Soccer Coach Asst. AD/Head Women’s Soccer Coach Asst. AD/Head Men’s Basketball Coach Asst. AD/Head Women’s Basketball Coach Asst. AD/Head Volleyball Coach Asst. AD/Head Softball Coach Asst. AD/Head Men’s Lacrosse Coach Asst. AD/Head Baseball Coach Head Women’s Lacrosse Coach Head Men’s/Women’s Swimming Coach Head Cross Country/Track & Field Coach Head Field Hockey Coach Head Men’s & Women’s Tennis Coach Head Women’s Bowling Coach Head Men’s Golf Coach Head Women’s Golf Coach

4234 4307 4239 4246 3780 3959 4244 3957 4330 4247 4308 3947 3782 4240 3777 4232

E-Mail


ATHLETIC MEDIA RELATIONS AND EVENT MANAGEMENT ATHLETIC FACILITIES Center for Recreation & Sport: Janet L. Ficke Field: William J. Bonomo Memorial Field: Motamed Field: Tennis Courts:

Emily Dorko

Men’s & Women’s Basketball Volleyball Softball (Located on West End of Campus) Baseball Men’s & Women’s Soccer Men’s & Women’s Lacrosse Women’s Field Hockey Men’s and Women’s Tennis

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS/MEDIA RELATIONS

Associate AD/ Director of External Relations Phone: 516-877-4293 edorko@adelphi.edu Victoria Chiesa Vincent Amodeo

Coordinator of Sports Information Phone: 516-877-3774 vchiesa@adelphi.edu

Coordinator of Athletic Marketing and Special Events Phone: 516-877-4241 vamodeo@adelphi.edu

Morgan Metcalf

Graduate Assistant Phone: 516-877-4236 mmetcalf@adelphi.edu

Mailing Address: Center for Recreation & Sports Adelphi University 1 South Avenue P.O. Box 701 Garden City, NY 11530 NCAA Affiliation: Division II Conference Affiliations: Northeast-10 (NE10) - All Sports, Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC)- All Sports and East Coast Conference (ECC)- Bowling

EVENT MANAGEMENT Any questions regarding event management/game day operations,please contact: Andrew McCabe Asst. AD Facilities/Game Operations amccabe@adelphi.edu 516-877-4294 Fallon McCarthy Graduate Assistant fmccarthy@adelphi.edu 516-877-8583 Jack Thorsen Graduate Assistant jthorsen@adelphi.edu 516-877-4667 Ryan Cerrati Graduate Assistant rcerrati@adelphi.edu 516-877-3776


ATHLETIC TRAINING Adelphi University Department of Athletics Athletic Training Room

Adelphi University Public Safety 516-877-3500 Adelphi University Health Services 516-877-6000

Mike Gavagan, MA, ATC

Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Medicine

Services and Equipment Available During Contests 1.

Certified Athletic Trainer: Present at all home contests. The athletic training room will be available two hours prior to any contest and one hour after the contest.

2. The following equipment and supplies will be available in the athletic training room and/or at the competition site: Ice Water Cups Splints Crutches Heat Muscle Stim. Ultrasound Automated External Defibrillator (AED) 3.

Modalities: Treatments are available and must be administered by a Certified Athletic Trainer. If a team is traveling without a certified athletic trainer, a prior email or note is needed for treatments.

4.

The team orthopedist will be on call.

5.

The Adelphi Athletic Training Staff will be available for your team as needed. If you need to make special arrangements, contact Mike Gavagan prior to the contest. If the team is not travelling with an athletic trainer please notify us in advance. Our athletic training staff will be happy to assist with you pre-game treatment needs. However, please provide us with your own tape and supplies.

PERSONNEL Title ext 516- Email Mike Gavagan Asst. AD for Sports Medicine 877-4230 gavagan@adelphi.edu Renee Crossan Assistant Athletic Trainer 877-4245 crossan@adelphi.edu Kara Megherian Assistant Athletic Trainer 877-4245 kmegherian@adelphi.edu Samantha Caruso Assistant Athletic Trainer 877-8508 scaruso@adelphi.edu Rory Grady Assistant Athletic Trainer 237-8507 rgrady@adelphi.edu Casandra Lammers Graduate Assistant 237-8556 sarajoweinstein@mail.adelphi.edu SaraJo Weinstein Graduate Assistant 237-8556 casandralammers@mail.adelphi.edu


DIRECTIONS/TICKET INFO From Upstate New York (by car): N.Y. State Thruway (south) across the Tappan Zee Bridge. Take Exit 8 (Cross Westchester Expressway) to Sprain Brook Parkway (south) which becomes the Bronx River Parkway as your enter New York City. Proceed to the Cross-Bronx Expressway (east) to Throgs Neck Bridge exit. Cross Throgs Neck Bridge and take Cross Island Parkway (south) to Grand Central Parkway (east). Grand Central will become the Northern State Parkway at Nassau County border. Take exit 26 S (new Hyde Park Road). Make a right onto New Hyde Park Road and follow to Stewart Avenue (approximately three miles). Turn left onto Stewart Avenue. Follow Stewart to Nassau Boulevard. Turn right onto Nassau Boulevard. And take an immediate left onto South Avenue after crossing the train tracks. Adelphi is five blocks down on the right hand side. From Upstate New York (by commercial vehicle/bus): Same as above except after crossing Throgs Neck Bridge, take Clearview Expressway to Long Island Expressway (route 495) east to exit 34 S (New Hyde Park Road). Then follow as above. From New Jersey & South (by car): I-95 North to Exit 13 (Route 287 east). Go through Staten Island and cross over the Verrazano Narrows Bridge. Take the Belt Parkway east to the Southern State Parkway east (towards Long Island). Follow Southern State to exit 17 north. At the end of the exit, turn right onto Hempstead Avenue. At second traffic light turn left onto Nassau Boulevard. Proceed to South Avenue, turn right, and Adelphi will be five blocks down on the right. From New Jersey & South (by bus/commercial vehicle): Follow directions above and cross over Verrazano Narrows Bridge. Take Brooklyn-Queens Expressway to the Long Island Expressway East (Route 495). Follow Long Island Expressway to exit 34 S and follow directions above for Upstate New York. (Note: An alternative from Norther New Jersey would be the George Washington Brdge to the Cross Bronx Expressway to the Throgs Neck Bridge. Then follow directions above for Upstate New York). By Train: Long Island Rail Road (LIRR) Hempstead Line from Penn Station (New York City) or Atlantic Ave. Station (Brooklyn) to Nassau Blvd. station. Walk five blocks east on South Ave. to campus.

TICKET INFORMATION (MEN’S/WOMEN’S BASKETBALL ONLY) General Admission - $5 Non-AU students with a valid ID - $3 Adelphi Alumni - $3 Children & Seniors - $3 Adelphi faculty and current students - FREE with ID Please be advised that tickets will be sold at all Northeast-10 Conference Tournament events and NCAA Tournament games. Visit aupanthers.com before attending to confirm ticket prices or call 516-877-4240.


LOCAL RESTAURANTS & HOTELS RECOMMENDED RESTAURANTS

Luigi’s Pizzeria Restaurant 526 Jericho Turnpike Mineola, NY 11501 Phone: 516-294-7400 Mention “Adelphi University Athletics” when placing a to-go ordering or when planning a reservation!

The Greene Turtle

700 Hempstead Turnpike Franklin Square, NY 11010 Phone: 516-743-9700

Avo Taco

2340 Jericho Turnpike New Hyde Park, NY 11040 Phone: (516) 373-2340

Bella Rosa Pizzeria & Restaurant 2335 Jericho Turnpike Garden City Park, NY 11040 Phone: 516-877-7263 10% off Team Meal

Hurricane Grill & Wings 630 Stewart Avenue Garden City, NY 11530 Phone: 516-542-9464

Moe’s Southwest Grill 674 Stewart Avenue Garden City, NY Phone: 516-794-8200

Panera Bread 165 Old Country Road Carle Place, NY Phone: 516-739-2090

Olive Garden 1120 Old Country Rd Westbury, NY Phone: 516-683-3377

Mama Theresa’s 2429 Jericho Turnpike Garden City, NY Phone: 516-747-3111

Hampton Inn 1 North Avenue Garden City, NY 11530 Phone: 516-227-2720

La Quinta Inn & Suites 821 Stewart Avenue Garden City, NY 11530 Phone: 516-705-9003

Garden City Hotel 45 Seventh Street Garden City, NY 11530 Phone: 516-747-3000

Hyatt Place 5 North Ave Garden City, NY 11530 Phone: 516-222-6277

Red Roof Inn 699 Dibblee Drive Westbury, NY 11590 Phone: 516-794-2555

Long Island Marriott 101 James Doolittle Blvd Uniondale, NY 11553 Phone: 516-229-5046

RECOMMENDED HOTELS


CAMPUS MAP A

JANET L. FICKE FIELD

B

SOUTH AVENUE

C

E

D

PG

GOLF COURSE

UNC

LVH

P1

P2

SWL

RHB

WDH

HHE

RHA

NEX

CRS SCB

BLH

WILLIAM J. BONOMO MEMORIAL FIELD

PAC

EDH

MOTAMED FIELD

P6

WLH

CHH

P4

SWB

PSX

HRH

ALH

ELC

PRACTICE FIELD

TENNIS COURTS

PSH

GMB

Gates

WALDORF SCHOOL

P5

N

KFA G

I

AHE

HWC

CAM BR ID GE AV EN

P8

ADA Accessible

PG

P7

UE

Parking

BROMPTON ROAD

LNH

EHA

EHB

H F

CAMPUS DIRECTORY

P3

P7

AHE

ANGELLO ALUMNI HOUSE

ALH

ALUMNAE HALL

BLH

BLODGETT HALL

CHH

CHAPMAN HALL

CRS

CENTER FOR RECREATION AND SPORTS

EDH

EDDY HALL

EHA

EARLE HALL A

EHB

EARLE HALL B

ELC

ALICE BROWN EARLY LEARNING CENTER

GMB

GROUNDS MAINTENANCE BUILDING

HHE

HAGEDORN HALL OF ENTERPRISE

HRH

HARVEY HALL

HWC

HY WEINBERG CENTER

KFA

ADELE AND HERBERT J. KLAPPER CENTER FOR FINE ARTS

LNH

LINEN HALL

LVH

LEVERMORE HALL

NEX

NEXUS BUILDING

PAC

PERFORMING ARTS CENTER

PSH

POST HALL

RHA

RESIDENCE HALL A (NEW HALL)

RHB

RESIDENCE HALL B

SCB

SCIENCE BUILDING

SWB

SOCIAL WORK BUILDING

SWL

SWIRBUL LIBRARY

UNC

RUTH S. HARLEY UNIVERSITY CENTER

WDH

WOODRUFF HALL

WLH

WALDO HALL

PG

PARKING GARAGE

PSX

POST HALL ANNEX

Garden City

P9 Pool Parking Lot

SPORTSMANSHIP STATEMENT The Northeast-10 and Adelphi University encourage and promote sportsmanship by student-athletes, coaches and spectators. Profanity, racial or ethnic comments or other intimidating actions directed at student-athletes, coaches, team representatives and officials will not be tolerated and are grounds for removal from Adelphi University.

Profile for AU Sports Info

Adelphi Athletics Visitor's Guide  

Adelphi Athletics Visitor's Guide  

Advertisement