Issuu on Google+

2016 New York Photo Annual


Cover Erez Sabag


Lynn Goldsmith

Dan Winters

Seth Resnick

Joe McNally

Rosanne Olson

Gerd Ludwig

Look No Further

Gail Mooney

Jay Maisel

American Society of Media Photographers We Have The Best


Photo by Seth Resnick

Photographer websitev


4

Thomas Donley President, ASMP New York

This book represents the face of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP). More specifically, this book is the face of ASMP New York. We are a community of roughly 1,000 members out of approximately 7,000 nationally. We are also one chapter of 39 within the oldest and largest trade organization of it’s kind in the U.S. (No matter where you happen to be in the U.S. you can easily go to Find A Photographer on asmp.org; or directly to, findaphotographer.org, and search for the talent you’re looking for.) The range of work that is represented here in this beautifully produced volume is a brilliant testament to who we are as creators and as a very dynamic creative community. As we all know, the business of photography has been in a constant state of flux in recent years, continuously changing into new forms that brings along with it new behavioral patterns – affecting both photographer and art buyer in their own ways. In an environment where we’re seeing newspaper and magazine photography staffs being dismantled alongside the ongoing technological advances in photo gear that have opened the floodgates of photography to the many, it’s hard not to come to the conclusion that photographers really don’t matter anymore and that we’re expendable. On the occasion of the release of our 2016 New York Photo Annual, I would like to take this moment to say emphatically on behalf of our broad and exceptionally talented community of photographers and visual creators – we matter, greatly! In the midst of all the breathtaking gear innovations in photography today the best sensor ever created to capture powerful imagery to inspire, to educate and


5

to move an audience will always remain with the soul of the professional photographer themselves. It is our sensibilities that truly set us apart from all others and are responsible for harnessing and guiding the photographic tools of any given age – past, present or future. For most, artistic pursuits are a calling, it’s not just a job. The outcome and essence of that calling is what ends up in a book, on a gallery wall, illustrating an online exposé or fulfilling a client’s concept. I say, we matter more than ever. As for those responsible for producing this newest version of our Photo Annual, I would like to start by thanking our curator, Julie Grahame, for her talents and great humor, and to our book designer Elias Barere for creating another amazing volume of photography. Big thanks are due to ASMP New York Sponsorship Chair, Salem Krieger, for developing our very rewarding relationship with Xerox – and to Xerox for their vision and partnership. I’d like to offer many a thanks to Jan Klier, a Seattle transplant, who has brought an eager enthusiasm and know-how along with a fully developed plan on how to launch this project here in NY and keep it going strong. And finally, as this book allows us to showcase who we are to our world, I’d like to thank all of you for taking a moment to getting to know us just a little bit better. Please enjoy the pages within. Thomas Donley President, ASMP New York


6

Leland Bobbe lelandbobbe.com


7

Cynthia Matthews cynthiamatthews.com


8

Constance Halporn photogirl.photoshelter.com


9

Eric Fischer ericfischer.com


10

Todd Weinstein toddweinstein.com


11

Liam Sharp liamsharp.com


12

Doug Menuez menuez.com


13

Chris Lee chrisleephotographer.com


14

George Zimbel georgezimbel.com


15

Barbara Bordnick barbarabordnick.com


Jan Klier janklier.com


18

Barbara Alper barbaraalper.com


19

Colin Miller colinmillerphoto.com


20

Philippe Cheng philippechengphotography.com


21

Lou Manna loumanna.com


22

Bill Wadman billwadman.com


23

Marvin E Newman marnew1@gmail.com


Eric Meola ericmeola.com


26

Stephen Wilkes stephenwilkes.com

Jason Bell jasonbellphoto.com


27


28

Jay Maisel jaymaisel.com


29

Catherine Ursillo catherineursillo.com


30

Kate Bader KateBaderPhoto@gmail.com


31

Ron Jautz jautzphoto.com


32

Gail Mooney kellymooney.com


33

John Rae raephoto.com


34

Ted Horowitz horowitzphoto.com


35

Paulette Tavormina paulettetavormina.com


36

Philip Ficks philipficks.com


37

Lynn Goldsmith lynngoldsmith.com


38

Barry Rosenthal barryrosenthal.com


39

Joseph Squillante hudsonriverphotography.com


40

Spencer Jones glasshouseassignment.com


41

Daniel Sorine sorinephoto.com


42

Peter Murphy peter-murphy.com


43

Teresa Kruszewski teresakruszewski.nyc


44

Erin Patrice O’Brien erinpatriceobrien.com


45

Geoff Green geoffgreen.com


46

Inger McCabe Elliott ingerelliott@gmail.com


47

Bill Bernstein billbernstein.com


48

Matt Greenslade photo-nyc.com


49

Matthew Septimus matthewseptimus.com


50

Michele Curel michelecurel.com


51

Keith Ellenbogen bluereef.com


Stephen Mallon stephenmallon.com


54

Katarina Kojic katarinakojic.com


55

Elliott Kaufman ekaufmanfineart.com


56

Deborah Feingold deborahfeingold.com


57

Rod Goodman rodgoodmanphoto.com


58

Michelle Kawka michellekawka.com


59

Viviane Moos vivianemoos.com


60

David Forbert dforbert@nycap.rr.com


61

David Vargas davidvargasphotography.com


62

Marco Castro marcocastrophotography.wordpress.com


63

Lois Greenfield loisgreenfield.com


64

David Neff davepix.com


65

Margaret McCarthy margaretmccarthy.com


Ronald Nicolaysen rnicolaysen.com


68

Eric Hason erichason.com


69

Michael Weschler michaelweschler.com


70

Andrew Prokos andrewprokos.com


71

Frederick Charles fcharles.com


72

Henry Leutwyler henryleutwyler.com


73

Erez Sabag erezsabag.com


74

Donnelly Marks donnellymarks.com


75

Liam Alexander liam-alexander.com


76

Andrew Matheson andrewbmatheson.com


77

Jonathan Atkin shipshooter.com


78

Carey Kirkella careykirkella.com


79

Clayton Price cpricephoto.com


80

Mark La Rosa marklarosaphotography.com


81

Richard Berenholtz photographynewyork.com


82

Jason Gardner jasongardner.net


83

Raeford Dwyer raeforddwyer.com


84

Michael Blase blase.photography


85

Thomas Donley thomasdonley.com


86

Alex Geana alexgeanaphotography.com


87

Jonathan Blanc blancimages.com


88

Susan May Tell susanmaytell.com


89

Ken Jones fultonstudio.com


90

Stefan Falke stefanfalke.com


91

Brigitte Lacombe brigittelacombe.com


92

Nancy Scherl nancyascherlphotography.com


93

Wendy Barrows wendybarrows.com


94

Elaine Ellman elaineellman.com


95

Frank Rocco frankrocco.com


Luan Luu luanluu.com


98

Ed Lefkowicz lefkowicz.com


99

Joe Goldman joegoldman-films.com


100

Bruce Katz brucekatzphoto.com


101

Larry Fink lfink@epix.net


102

Paul Barton bartonfoto@aol.com


103

John Muggenborg johnmuggenborg.com


Luiz Ribeiro luizcribeiro.com


106

Ashok Sinha ashoksinha.com


107

Mariette Pathy Allen mariettepathyallen.com


108

Michael A Smith smithshot.com


109

Erika Stone erikastone.com


110

Metin Oner metinoner.com


111

Steve Dreyer stevedreyer.com


112

This Book Was Lovingly Curated By Julie Grahame juliegrahame.com julie@juliegrahame.com


113

This Book Was Lovingly Produced By Jan Klier janklier.com

This Book Was Lovingly Designed By Eli Barere / Pocket Elephant pocketelephant.net

Assistant Producer & Designer Katarina Kojic katarinakojic.com

Sponsorship Director Salem Krieger salemkrieger.com

This Book Was Lovingly Printed By Xerox

Printed on a Xerox® iGen® 5 Press with Matte Dry Ink on Sappi McCoy Silk 100# Text (148 gsm) and 80# Cover (270 gsm). Matte Film Lamination on cover. Perfect Bound offline using PUR. © 2016 American Society of Media Photographers, New York Chapter. All images in this book were reproduced with permission of the respective photographers. All images are protected by copyrights held by the respective photographers. No images in this book nor the book in total may be reproduced without the explicit permission of the copyright holders.


2015 New York Photo Annual 2016

2016 New York Photo Annual


2016 Photo Annual