Kaleidoscope

Page 1

Catalog cover designed by Stephen C. Wagner

Exhibition Administrator and Catalog interior designed by Karen M. Gutfreund

Copyright 2023 by Arc Gallery & Studios

2

About Kaleidoscope

“Life is like an ever-shifting kaleidoscope a slight change, and all patterns alter.” - Sharon Salzberg

A kaleidoscope is a viewing instrument that creates a continually changing pattern of shapes and colors. It is a treasure trove of beautiful colors, ever shifting, ever delightful to the eye. It draws the viewer into a new world that envelopes their vision with an infinity of patterns.

Exhibitions runs May 13—June 10, 2023 at Arc Gallery & Studios, 1246 Folsom Street, San Francisco, CA

About Arc

Founded in 2011, Arc Studios & Gallery features ten artist studios, a 1,000 square foot art gallery, two smaller galleries and an art education center, along with the Kearny Street Workshop office, the San Francisco Artist Network office and Cafe Suspiro Coffee Shop. Arc is located at 1246 Folsom Street between 8th and 9th Streets in San Francisco’s South of Market neighborhood. Arc supports the making of quality art in all media, provides a nurturing environment for artists to create their work, builds a community of artists to encourage exploration of art, provides resources for the professional development of visual artists, and promotes appreciation of the visual arts in the City of San Francisco.

www.arc-sf.com

@arcgallerysf

3

Juror’s Statement

It’s an honor to serve as the guest juror for the Kaleidoscope National Juried Exhibition at Arc Gallery. Inspired by Sharon Salzber’s quote, “Life is like an ever-shifting kaleidoscope a slight change, and all patterns alter,” I was invited to curate a collection of works that capture the essence of a kaleidoscope's ever-changing patterns and the impact of color on our emotions and perceptions. It was an exciting challenge to narrow the many entries down to cohesive works that I felt best represented this multifaceted theme.

A Juror’s Award was presented to three artists whose work captured the magic and wonder of a kaleidoscope: In Violet Light by Chloe McEldowney, a leafy plant flourishes amidst a fragmented environment, creating a striking contrast through the clever interplay of artistic techniques. Surrounded by metallic material, the male figure in Clairvoyance by Heather Heitzenrater appears immersed in his own inner world the reflective silver surface creates a mesmerizing distortion of his surroundings, adding to the surreal and psychological atmosphere of the scene. Another painting, Infinite Loop in Universe by Jung Sun Lee depicts a geometric cluster of intricate shapes and patterns that evolve and transform within the composition, creating an endless sensation of visual illusions.

The work featured in this exhibition offers a delightful and captivating experience that draws viewers into a new world of possibilities and colorful compositions. Whether through the brilliance of bright hues or the iridescence of fused glass, each piece presents a unique representation of the kaleidoscopic potential of color and pattern, captivating our senses and inspiring new perspectives. We invite you to join us in this exploration, to discover the enchanting beauty of color and its ever-shifting patterns.

BIO: Ashley L. Voss is a gallerist and arts advocate based in San Francisco, California. She is the owner/director of Voss Gallery, an art gallery dedicated to showcasing New Contemporary work by emerging and mid-career artists in both solo and thematically organized group shows. Most recently, Ashley worked as the Gallery Manager for Art Attack SF and Curatorial & Communications Manager for PARSE NOLA. She has held additional positions at a number of arts organizations, including Q Artists Cooperative and The Riverfront Arts Center in Stevens Point, WI, and Anton Haardt Gallery, The Front, and the Contemporary Arts Center in New Orleans, LA. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Arts Management degree with an emphasis in Art History from the University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point.

4

SC Altaires, Iris (from Sacred Portals, Veils & Mandalas series) (2023), Fluorescent acrylic on 100% cotton paper, 48 x 48 inches, *online

5
6
Sally Baker, Glass Bowl with Kimono, (2019) Transparent watercolor on 140lb. Arches Cold Pressed Paper, 25 x 26.5 inches (framed), *gallery
7
Ben Benet, Elevation, (2023), Embroidery floss and sewing needles on wood, 36 x 24 x 4 inches, *gallery
8
Andi Benet, Fate Threads, (2022), Metal archival print, 18 x 12 inches, *online
9
Greta Boesel, Pagoda (Kelly-Ann Callahan), (2020)
Digital
image printed on photo paper and face-mounted behind 1/4-inch-thick polished acrylic, 12 x 12 x .75 inches, *gallery
10
Shannon Byrnes, Sadie's Mirage, (2023), Acrylic on paper, 24 x 18 inches, *gallery
11
Janine Castillo, Slanted Shadows, (2022), Oil on canvas, 48 x 36 inches, *gallery
12
Vibrata Chromodoris, Ratio, (2022), Acrylic, mixed media on wood panel, 12 x 12 inches, *gallery
13
Retura Claar, Dissolve into Desire, (2022), Ultra premium photo paper, luster, 8 x 12 inches, *online
14
Meghan Oona Clifford, The Committal, (2023) Acrylic on paper-mounted cradled wood panel, 24 x 36 inches, *online
15
Genie Davis, Prismatic Bundle of Horses, (2017), Multiple media, 20 x 16 inches, *online
16
Rachel Dawson, Inside the Crystal Palace, (2022), Oil and acrylic on canvas, 34 x 42 inches, *online
17
Emily Denlinger, Infinite Density Discovery Phase, (2021) Dye and pigment ink on watercolor paper, 22 x 22 inches, *gallery
18
Judy DeSimone, The Light Show, (2023), Ceramic, 12 x 8 x 4 inches, *gallery
19
Vincent Escareno, Nature Boy, (2022), Oil on board, 24 x 24 inches, *gallery
20
Jonathan Farber, Joy As The Fire Catches , (2022), Digital drawing on paper, 14 x 17 inches, *gallery
21 Electra Field, Wonderspace3, (2021), Photographic metal print, 16 x 20 inches, *gallery
22
Anne Foresman, Flying South, (2023), Acrylic on board, 28 x 28 inches , *gallery
23
Jonathan Gaber, Chroma Kappa, (2022), Acrylic paint on stretched canvas, 36 x 36 x 1.5 inches, *gallery
24
Heather Galloway, Lay of the Land Series 2, (2022), Pastel and acrylic on wood panel, 48 x 48 inches, *gallery
25
Heather Galloway, Lay of the Land Series 1, (2022), Paper mounted on wooden frame, 48 x 60 inches, *online
26
Michaela Graves, Existing Within, (2021), Watercolor and acrylic on paper, 9 x 7 inches, *online
27
Heather Heitzenrater, Clairvoyance, (2021), Oil on wooden panel, 24 x 24 inches, *award
28
Scott Idleman, Half Square, (2018), Cut paper mounted on cradled wood panel, 36 x 36 x 1.5 inches, *gallery
29
Deborah Ikeda, Tie Dye Kaleidoscope Bowl, (2023) Fusible glass sheet and powders, 13 x 11 3/4 x 3 1/8 inches, *gallery
30
Will Jaggers, Dive, (2022), Acrylic paint, 60 x 48 inches, *online
31
Carlye Jesch, Alton, (2021), Acrylic paint with various texture gels and pastes, 36 x 24 x 1.5 inches, *online
32
Milan Jilka, Refrain, (2022), Acrylic on board, 25.5 x 19.5 inches, *gallery

Quinn Keck, Always Halfway Somewhere, (2021) Oil and digital mixed media on canvas, 36 x 24 inches, *gallery

33
34
Bussie Parker Kehoe, Party Favor, (2023), Discarded house paint, 18 x 18 x 2 inches, *online
35
Gregory Kessler, Transiency, (2022), Pencil and acrylic on paper, 22 x 16 inches, *online
36
Sujata Khanolkar, Riot of Colors - 1, (2022), Stretched canvas, 16 x 12 inches, *online

Susan Kirshenbaum, Exploding Through the Trees (from the Women and Nature series) (2023), Dye-infused aluminum print, edition 1/1, framed, 48 x 24 inches, *online

37
38
Joseph Kosdrosky, Super Hippie Sci-Fi Hero, (2023), Acrylic on canvas, 24 x 24 x 2 inches, *gallery
39
John Kraft, RCG (Rose Colored Glasses), (2023), Acrylic and resin on wood, 24 x 24 x 1.75 inches, *gallery
40
Georgianna Krieger, Water Is Life, (2020), Cast cement and gypsum, 23 x 10 x 12 inches, *online
41
Kim Larson, Dialogue, (2021) Stained glass, iridescent and dichroic glass, lightweight cement substrate, 14 x 35 x 2 inches, *gallery
42
Liz Lauter, Eve Considers Descending from Her Pedestal, (2022) Terra cotta and majolica glaze, colorants, high temp wire, beads, glass, 18 x 14 x 6 inches, *gallery
43
Jung Sun Lee, Infinite Loop in Universe, (2022), Acrylic painting and acrylic drawing on canvas, 24 x 24 inches, *award
44
Mark Lightfoot, N, (2022), Fused glass wall sculpture mounted on wooden cradled panel, 14 x 14 x 2 inches, *gallery
45
Jennifer Linderman, All Systems Go 2, (2023), Acrylic paint, collage, wood panel, varnish, 8 x 8 inches, *gallery
46
Monica Loncola, Peony Blooms from Garden Series, (2023) Ink on mylar, vectorized in adobe illustrator to color, 12 x 18 inches, *online
47
48
Natalia Lvova, Love Kaleidoscope, (2023), Oil on canvas, 30 x 40 x 1.5 inches, *gallery
49 Don Manderson, Breach, (2020) Printed digital montage mounted on foam board with thin black frame, 40 x 40 inches, *gallery
50
Michelle Mansour, Circuit Warrior of Renewal, (2022) Acrylic, ink, and silicone on muslin on panel, 12 inch diameter, *gallery
51
Chloe McEldowney, Violet Light, (2022), Oil on panel, 30 x 24 x 2 inches, *award
52
Michele de la Menardiere, Restless Beauty, (2022), Acrylic, pencil, gel mediums, 36 x 36 inches, *online
53
Kathleen Mitchell, Ripples, (2022), Acrylic on board, 24 x 36 inches, *online
54
Henry Parada, Blue Explosion, (2012), Acrylic on gessoboard, 60 x 60 inches, *online
55
Dominique Pfahl, Guerre et Paix, (2022), Paper, wood panel, 30 x 24 inches, *gallery
56
Johanna Poethig, Earth Station Blue, (2022), Acrylic on wood, 40 x 40 inches, *gallery
57
Julia Pope, Ruminate, (2022), Oil on linen, 8 x 10 inches, *online
58
Jenifer Renzel, The Expressway, (2022), Mixed media on paper, 11 x 15 inches, 16 x 20 framed, *online
59
Arlon Rosenoff, Daybreak, (2023), Oil, 40 x 40 inches, *online
60
Jodi Schulz, Crack Rabbits, (2023), Acrylic and collage on wood cradleboard, 24 x 24 inches, *online
61
Pauline Crowther Scott, Holly Park, (2022), Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 30 inches, *gallery
62
Durba Sen, Reflections and Pause, (2020), Acrylic painting on canvas, 20 x 20 x 1.5 inches, *gallery
63
Jennifer Sharkey, Pinwheel, (2023), Acrylic on wood, 16 inch diameter, *gallery
64
SICERRA, Evanescent, (2021), Butterfly wings, 20 x 20 x 3 inches, *gallery
65
Gordon Sizelove, Seismic Shift, (2022), Acrylic on canvas, 24 x 45 inches, *online
66
Christa Stephens, Nocturne, (2022), Acrylic and colored pencil on panel, 25.5 x 19.5 x 2.5 inches, *online
67
Stephanie Thwaites, Gemscape, (2022), Mixed media, collage, acrylic on wood panel, 12 x 12 inches, *online
68
Frank Trozzo, Variation 3, (2017), Acrylic on canvas, 22 x 28 inches, *gallery
69
Liz Vaughn, Beauty Masks and Trade Secrets , (2023), Oil paint, canvas, 28 x 22 inches, *gallery
70
Mira Waksman, Voyage, (2022), Acrylic mix media and collage on wood panel , 16 x 12 x 1.75 inches, *gallery
71
Julie Waltz-Stalker, Ooh Child, (2023), Oil on cradled panel, 7 x 5 inches, *gallery
72
Bryn Williams, Silence, (2023) Acrylic, transparency film, paper, pins, metal, resin on canvas, 21 x 21 x 1.5 inches, *online
73
Alicia Woods, Number 47 Greens, (2021), Acrylic on wood panel, 24 x 24 inches, *online
74
Nanette Wylde, On Longing I, (2016), Oil based ink on Rives BFK, 20 x 20 inches, 22 x 22 framed, *gallery

ARTIST DIRECTORY

SC Altaires San Francisco, CA altairesart.com

Sally Baker Sebastopol, CA sallybaker.com

Ben Benet Tiburon, CA benjaminnoahbenet.com

Andi Benet San Francisco, CA andi.love

Greta Boesel San Francisco, CA gretaboesel.com

Shannon Byrnes San Francisco, CA shannonbyrnes40@gmail.com

Janine Castillo Vallejo, CA janinebarreracastillo.com

Vibrata Chromodoris Vallejo, CA vibrata.com

Retura Claar Bishop, CA returaclaarart.com

Meghan Oona Clifford Watsonville, CA meghanoonaclifford.com

Genie Davis San Francisco, CA geniedavis8@gmail.com

Rachel Dawson Oakland, CA racheldawson.com

Emily Denlinger Cape Girardeau, MO emilydenlinger.com

Judy DeSimone West Chester, PA judydesimoneceramics.com

Vincent Escareno San Francisco, CA @vwaynesf

Jonathan Farber Reno, NV nevadajon.com

Electra Field El Granada, CA electrafieldphotography.com

Anne Foresman Middleborouogh, MA anneforesman.com

Jonathan Gaber Lafayette, CA jonathangaber.com

Heather Galloway Sacramento, CA heathergallowayarts.com

Heather Galloway Sacramento, CA heathergallowayarts.com

Michaela Graves Hollister, CA michaelagravesstudio.com

Heather Heitzenrater Pittsburgh, PA heatherheitzenrater.com

Scott Idleman San Francisco, CA scottidlemanart.com

Deborah Ikeda San Jose, CA deborahikeda.com

Will Jaggers San Francisco, CA williamjaggers.com

Carlye Jesch Napa, CA artbycarlye.com

Milan Jilka Springdale, AR milanjilka.com

Quinn Keck San Francisco, CA quinnkeck.com

Bussie Parker Kehoe San Francisco, CA bussieparkerkehoe.com

75

Gregory Kessler Palouse, WA palouseartstudio.com

Sujata Khanolkar Sunnyvale, CA @nytcreations Susan Kirshenbaum San Francisco, CA cherrypits.net

Joseph Kosdrosky Novato, CA josephkosdrosky.com

John Kraft San Rafael, CA johnkraft.com

Georgianna Krieger Oakland, CA shesculpts.com

Kim Larson Oakland, CA kimlarsonart.com

Liz Lauter Forest Knolls, CA lizlauterstudio.com

Jung Sun Lee San Jose, CA jungsunleeart.com

Mark Lightfoot Oakland, CA marklightfoot.com

Jennifer Linderman Oakland, CA jenniferlindermanart.com

Monica Loncola San Rafael, CA monicaloncola.com

Bao-Khang Luu San Francisco, CA baokhangluu.com

Natalia Lvova PALO ALTO, CA lvova.pro

Don Manderson Pensacola, FL dmandersonart.com

Michelle Mansour Oakland, CA michellemansour.com

Chloe McEldowney Wilmington, DE chloemceldowney.com

Michele de la Menardiere San Francisco, CA delamenardiere.com

Kathleen Mitchell Cupertino, CA kathleenmitchellstudio.com

Henry Parada West Sacramento, CA henryparada.com

Dominique Pfahl Graton, CA dominiquepfahl.com

Johanna Poethig Oakland, CA johannapoethig.com

Julia Pope San Francisco, CA

Jenifer Renzel San Jose, CA jjrenzel.com

Arlon Rosenoff Rathdrum, ID arlonrosenoff.com

Jodi Schulz West Wendover, NV jodilurieschulz.com

Pauline Crowther Scott San Francisco, CA paulinecrowtherscott.com

Durba Sen Fremont, CA durbasen.com

Jennifer Sharkey Leicester, NC dotmandalaart.store

SICERRA San Francisco, CA sicerra.com

76

Gordon Sizelove San Francisco, CA gordonsizelove.com

Christa Stephens Santa Fe, NM abstractometry.com

Stephanie Thwaites Novato, CA stephaniethwaites.com

Frank Trozzo Napa, CA franktrozzo.com

Liz Vaughn Marana, AZ lizvaughn.com

Mira Waksman San Francisco, CA miranwaksmanart.com

Julie Waltz-Stalker Corning, NY waltzstalker.com

Bryn Williams Los Angeles, CA

@brynwilliamsartist

Alicia Woods Brisbane, CA alwoodsartist.com

Nanette Wylde Redwood City, CA preneo.org/nwylde

77
Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.