Page 1

A

R

A

B

I

A

N

H

O

R

S

E

W

O

R

L

D

h8

F

E

B

R

U

A

R Y

2

0

1

0


ARABIAN HORSE WORLD

CONTENTS FEB R UA RY

2010

7 V O L U M E

50

7 N U M B E R

5

AROUND THE WORLD 2009 World Championships, Salon du Cheval, by Caroline Reeves ............................................. 82 2009 Brazilian Nationals............................................................................................................... 90 Centro Brasileiro Arabian Horse Show, by Cindy Reich................................................................ 96 Perth Royal Show, by Chris Ros ................................................................................................... 138 Western Australian 2009 Championships, by Chris Ros ............................................................ 142

GENERAL Russian Arabian Breeder Profiles ...................................................................................... 102 AHW ’s Heritage Horse: *Marsianin, by Mary Jane Parkinson .......................................... 104 Alltech World Equestrian Games Endurance Championship, by Genie Stewart-Spears ..... 112 Day Dream Arabians — Continuum of Dreams .............................................................. 121 *Aladdinn Tribute, by Kirsten Mathieson ........................................................................... 148 First-Time Sires of National Winners ......................................................................................... 154 A Call to Action, by Jen Miller................................................................................................... 160 The Trot In-Hand, by Wendye Gardiner ................................................................................... 162 AHW ’s 2010 Trainers Directory ...................................................................................... 173 2010 Scottsdale Contenders ....................................................................................................... 180

D E PA R T M E N T S What in the World — Why I Am Looking Forward to Scottsdale, by Liz Bentley......................6 AHW Web Site Table of Contents ............................................................................................... 10 Letters to the World ...................................................................................................................... 16 Racing Enthusiasts in April........................................................................................................... 73 Las Vegas Show Preview and Contenders in April ..................................................................... 120 The Official Pyramid Report in May ......................................................................................... 137 Stud Farm Diaries: Homing in on the Status of Cloning, by Cindy Reich ................................. 166 At the Waterhole ......................................................................................................................... 169 Let Arabian Horse World Design Your Web Site....................................................................... 173 Scottsdale Coverage in May ........................................................................................................ 180 AHW ’s Print Possibilities — Promotional Cards, Brochures, etc.............................................. 183 Arab Year ..................................................................................................................................... 184 Classified Ads (Opportunities).................................................................................................... 188 For Sale/At Stud Directory ......................................................................................................... 195 Upcoming Issues ......................................................................................................................... 197 Map and Index of Advertisers ..................................................................................................... 198

COVER: The 18-year-old stallion Showkayce (Fame VF x Kay by Kaiyoum), owned by Day Dream Arabians, Santa Ynez, California. See story on page 121. Photo by April Visel. PHOTOS FROM TOP: Page 82, page 112, page 160, page 148, page 162.

4 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010


######################

G68>C< ##########Enthusiasts### L>CEA68:H=DL

JOIN US IN APRIL AS WE CELEBRATE THE RACING WORLD AND THE 2009 DARLEY AWARD WINNERS

$695 Standard Color Page 路 $795 Premium Color Page

###################### All full-page color advertisers in April are entitled to a free profile.

Arabian Horse World 路 800-955-9423 or 805-771-2300 路 info@arabianhorseworld.com

73 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2009


A R A B I A N

H O R S E

Publisher Editor and Sales Manager Editor Sales Associates Art Director Art Production

Circulation/Accounting Manager Production Manager Computer Systems Staff Writers

W O R L D

Denise P. Hearst Lynn Anderson Mary Jane Parkinson Robin Cloward, Wendy Flynn Melanie K. Davis Leigh Brandt, Louise Herndon, Elizabeth Howard, John Johnson, Jamie Kirkland, Kirsten Mathieson, Sannie Ricasata, Janet Van Hoorebeke Rhonda Hall Gary Gannon Douglas Tatelman Steve Andersen, Betty Finke, Joanne Fox, Nancy Ryan, Cindy Reich

SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC Equine Group VP, Group Publishing Director Editorial Director Associate Group Publishing Director

Susan M. Harding Cathy Laws Dave Andrick

OFFICERS OF SOURCE INTERLINK COMPANIES, INC. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer President and Chief Operating Officer President, Source Interlink Distribution Chief Financial Officer General Counsel

Gregory Mays James R. Gillis Alan Tuchman Marc Fierman Cynthia L. Beauchamp

SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC Chief Operating Officer Sr. VP, Chief Creative Officer Sr. VP, Chief Revenue & Marketing Officer Sr. VP, Business Development Sr. VP, Manufacturing & Production VP, Finance

Chris Argentieri Alan Alpanian Brad Gerber Jacqueline Blum Kevin Mullan Colleen Artell

DIGITAL President, Digital Media Sr. VP, Digital

Greg Goff John Cobb

SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC Consumer Marketing Sr. VP, Single Copy VP, Circulation Planning & Operations

Rich Baron Arlene Perez

ENTHUSIAST MEDIA SUBSCRIPTION COMPANY, INC. Consumer Marketing VP, Consumer Marketing

Tom Slater

Copyright Š2010 by Source Interlink Magazines, LLC. All rights reserved. Arabian Horse World is a Source Interlink Media, LLC Publication Reproductions of contents, either whole or in part, not permitted without written consent of publisher. Address all advertising and subscription related queries to: ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101 , Cambria, CA 93428 Phone: (800) 955-9423 or (805) 771-2300, Fax: (805) 927-6522 www.arabianhorseworld.com s info@arabianhorseworld.com SUBSCRIPTION RATES (NO REFUNDS): All residents of the U.S. and possessions $40 per year, $59.95 for two years. Canadian $72 per year ($128 two years) in U.S. funds. Foreign $88 per year ($160 two years), bank draft in U.S. funds must accompany order. For all subscription information contact 1-800-955-9423. Send new subscription and change of address information to Arabian Horse World, 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101, Cambria, CA 93428. RENEWALS: Send to Arabian Horse World, 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101, Cambria, CA 93428. Allow six weeks for processing. ARABIAN HORSE WORLDâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S WORLDWIDE WEB ADDRESS: sHTTPWWWARABIANHORSEWORLDCOM s% MAILSHOULDBESENTTOINFO ARABIANHORSEWORLDCOM Arabian Horse World reserves the right to edit all written materials submitted for publication. Printed in the USA Any submissions or contributions from readers shall be subject to and governed by Source Interlink Mediaâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s User Content Submission Terms and Conditions, which are posted at http://privacy. sourceinterlinkmedia.com/submissions.html

6 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010

WHAT IN THE

WORLD

Why I am looking forward to by Liz Bentley Scottsdale

T

he Scottsdale horse show is my favorite show of the year. I have been a spectator many years, a judge for two years, and I show there every year. I love this show. The management is amazingly efficient, professional, and exhibitor friendly. They always have well over 2,000 horses year after year, seven rings running, 21 judges employed, and a host of special presentations and demonstrations scheduled constantly. It runs smoothly. If there are problems, few spectators or exhibitors know about them. Itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s much more than a show; it is an event and itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s a grand affair. The stands are full. Victory pictures have smiling excited faces in the stands with people clapping and having a great time. When I think of Scottsdale, I close my eyes, draw in a deep breath and feel Scottsdale and hold that for a whole year. The air is crisp and clean (low humidity). The smells are intoxicating. Shavings first come to mind â&#x20AC;&#x201D; fresh shavings everywhere. Then sticky buns, cinnamon and buttery, and the espresso coffee aromas are first in the mornings. Around 10:00 a.m. the chicken curry, Italian sausage, and the Greek meats start sizzling. (I know the timing of all this especially keenly because I judged there twice!) The breakfast burritos are cranking out endlessly as well as the crepes. Oh yes, there are horses there too, from everywhere. Sometimes before they announce the winners in the classes, the announcers will name all the states represented in that one class and there may be anywhere from 10 to 20-plus different states from where trainers and owners have packed up their horses and trekked hundreds and some thousands of miles to show. Thatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s excitement. Thatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s competition. Thatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Scottsdale. One of my favorite memories as a judge was standing in the center of Wendell Arena at 2:00 p.m. on a perfect, sunny 80-degree Scottsdale day judging a section of yearling Arabian colts. The stands were overflowing with spectators and there was standing room only. The air was buzzing with energy. Entertainers were in the stands watching this class with enthusiasm and interest. No one was paying any attention to them. Everyone was focused on the great colts


PHOTOS: APRIL VISEL

Right: Trainer Liz Bentley, pictured at Scottsdale 2007, after winning Champion Western Pleasure with Second Tsultan (Second Echo x Tschantillee) and Reserve Champion Western Pleasure Junior Horse with Pshenandoah (Padrons Psyche x Sonora Love). She and Second Tsultan won the open western in 2008 as well.

we were judging. It doesn’t get any better than that. To me, that was the epitome of the Arabian horse world. Is Scottsdale perfect? Maybe not. But whatever I didn’t like the year before is a faded memory and I can only remember what I love and that is so strong we all keep coming back each year. My client list gets longer every year — it’s very close to matching my Nationals numbers. Why? It’s simple. The clients have fun. The amateur riders get to show to two different panels of judges and they get to show all week long. They get to show in their championship classes on their

finals days even if they blow a lead in their qualifying class. Because there are all levels of competition from the limit rider to the AOTR and AATR classes, all my amateurs can show there. Sometimes my amateurs are so excited to “make the card” that they don’t get discouraged and everyone stays warm and fuzzy all week. Did I mention the parties, stallion presentations, great sales events? If all this doesn’t impress you, how about the jackpot classes that pay all that money? I am excited to show in the Signature Stallions Hunter Pleasure Futurity class offering over $50,000 in total prize money! This show is the biggest Arabian show in the world and for most of us, our first show of the year. We get to see 7 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010

all the trainers in all the divisions for two weeks. This is the biggest halter show of the year and the horses are selling for high dollars before the show even starts, and it’s exciting to see who wins. Horses sell in all categories at the show and usually you come home with a few different faces than you started out with. That’s fun. The other thing that greatly impresses me is the volunteer depth and organization that is involved. It’s huge. The attention to detail and the dedication these people put into their work is second to none, and I do notice it every year because it makes my time there fun. The ladies in the patrons’ lounge do an amazing job every year and I always look forward to seeing what they come up with this time. It’s decorated so sweetly with fun tablecloths, fresh flowers, and of course, great food. I love the details the show tends to, like picture-taking for the public on an Arabian horse. How great! When someone tells me they are going to Scottsdale this year for the first time I always tell them, “You’re going to love it! It’s the Greatest Show on Earth!”


LETTERS TO THE WORLD The following letters are in response to a “Breaking News” item on www. arabianhorseworld.com regarding the shooting of two mares at Varian Arabians in Arroyo Grande, California. Pam Borkowski, Pflugerville, Texas: The shooting of these mares is a heartbreaking outrage! The shooters should go to a jail like the one in Arizona where inmates sleep in tents. I want them caught and arrested. If possible, please provide updates on this case. Marilyn Askins, Wichita Falls, Texas: Can you please keep us updated on this? It is so shocking. My only hope is that it was an idiot hunter mistaking these pretty girls for deer but it is still such a tragedy. You really hate to think that it was purposeful. Editor’s Note: Please see “A Call to Action” on page ___ for more on the Varian Arabians shooting incident. The following letters are in response to the article “New Resolutions” regarding Cerebellar Abiotrophy, by Scott Benjamin and Beth Minnich (January 2010 issue, page 262). Barbara R. Isaacs, Camano Island, Washington: This is good and positive information on which to start off the new year. Thank you for the clear explanation! Brenda Wahler, Helena, Montana: I want to note that CA is of unique concern due to the potential breedability of mildly affected individuals, particularly mares. While SCIDand LFS-affected foals will virtually always die as suckling foals, the same is not true of CA-affected animals; only the most obvious, severe cases will be euthanized as foals, and while colts showing any clinical signs of CA are apt to be euthanized (particularly as CA-affected horses are prone to falling over

when they rear, which limits the breeding ability of a stallion), it is not uncommon for a mildly affected filly, particularly if misdiagnosed as having had a head injury due to a CA-induced accident, to be placed in the broodmare band and allowed to produce a lifetime of carriers. Lorriee M. Golanty, Paso Robles, California: The explanation of the percentage of CA status of foal from a carrier to a carrier, etc., is not quite right. In such a breeding, while it is statistically possible to have that exact distribution with all the foals produced, the reality is that with each breeding, the chances are: a 25 percent chance that the foal will be clear, a 50 percent chance that the foal will be a carrier, and a 25 percent chance that the foal will be affected. Therefore, a carrier mare and carrier stallion could have all affected foals with each foal they have, all clear foals, or all carrier foals — also unlikely, but since these percentages apply with each breeding, it is possible. As such, the possible chances (or percentages) also apply to the other breeding combinations described. It’s a roll of the dice, each time you undertake the breeding in one of the combinations, in accordance with Mendelian inheritance statistical probabilities of such combinations. Dr. Marieke Wevers, Acton, Ontario, Canada: I just read the letter from Betty Radtke (December 2009 issue, page 239) regarding the location of the Nationals, and I could not agree more, except to add that the same goes for the Canadian Nationals. The Toronto area would be an ideal location for hosting the Canadian Nationals. Toronto has a significantly greater population base, within a three-hour driving radius, compared to Regina, and a greater number of Arabian horse owners in 16 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010

this region as well. There are many fantastic locations to host this type of event and Toronto is universally considered a beautiful, clean, safe place to visit (many European friends are just waiting for another excuse to visit this region). Currently there are many popular international horse jumping, dressage, and eventing shows sucessfully hosted every year in the surrounding area. Also, Ontario has just been awarded the upcoming Pan Am games and the Toronto region will be hosting the equestrian events. This announcement has generated and will generate even more interest in equestrian sports — the Arabian horse industry could do well to ride the wave of these events. Perhaps it is time to consider a different concept, which would see the value in marketing tourist attractions along with the Arabian horse breeders in each of the locations. I would suggest that a rotation of locations would be more interesting and would attract a greater number of exhibitors and spectators who want to enjoy the lifestyle benefits of owning and showing Arabian horses. Mona Witherill, Cohasset, Minnesota: In this day and age of technical wizardry why are most Arabian horse farm Web sites so out of date? Are horses selling so fast that people do not have time to list them? Or are these ones from 2007 and 2008 still taking up space on the farm? Please people, for those of us who are stuck up here in Siberia (northern Minnesota) — this is our lifeline. I do a lot of pre-trip planning, including looking at horses for sale online. Of 12 Arabian horse farm sites I visited, possibly two have current information as to the year — but only one has horses for sale current, almost up to the minute. This is Midwest Training Centre and David Boggs. No wonder the guy sells so many horses. Get it? Will be dreaming of Scottsdale — let’s hope your horse is in my dreams.


Waterhole

The Latest Scoop

Arabians Shine at 2010 Tournament of Roses Parade

A

rabian horses were well represented at this year’s Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena, California. Eleven Arabian horse and rider pairs from the firstever Region 1 Versatile Arabian Group strolled down Colorado Boulevard led by Region 1 director Nancy Harvey, who drove a carriage pulled by a beautiful Arabian. Participants The Region 1 Versatile Arabian in their finest tack and Group, led by director Nancy Harvey, in the 2010 Tournament costumes represented of Roses Parade on New Year’s varied Arabian disciplines Day in Pasadena, California. including driving, dressage, hunter, western, sidesaddle, sheriff, working cow, and native costume. The Region 1 group was selected from a field of 43 equestrian team applicants. This was the first year the group, comprised of Arabian and Half-Arabian horses from the Southern California area, rode in the parade. “We sent out an e-mail blast to everyone in Region 1 and received an overwhelming response — about 30-40 applications,” says Nancy. “We chose participants with the most parade experience and the most respected in versatility. We wanted to show what Arabians could do besides look pretty in costume. “The original idea to form an Arabian horse group and ride in this parade came from participant Jan Roeder,” she says. “It was her dream to ride in the Rose Parade on her horse ‘Go For The Gold,’ so we decided to form a group spotlighting the versatility of the breed. We found out at the end of July that the Rose Parade had invited us to participate. Most of us had never met before, so we had to get organized quickly after our acceptance. We went on a couple of practice 169 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010


waterhole

Barn Fire at Stoneback Arabians Claims Eight Horses

the latest scoop

parades — the Norco parade on Labor Day and San Dimas parade in September — and won first place in both parades” “The horses behaved perfectly,” Nancy says. “I was amazed at how well they did. We were at the parade route by 6:30 a.m. Those horses sat in the line for one and a half hours — a half-hour of this next to a marching band. Many people were milling around before the parade started — running in front of them. You do have to have a very broke horse to even participate in a parade of this caliber — and all of ours were. (The horses ranged in age from 10 to 25.) “The Tournament was happy to have Arabian horses back in the parade. They also seemed to appreciate the fact that our presentation was so unique. The best quote we got the whole day was from the person in charge of all of the parade’s equestrian groups. He said, ‘The mules are crazy running around. The Arabians? They’re … quiet.’ “We were very fortunate to have such wonderful riders/ horses and the best support crew anywhere,” says Nancy. Members of the group included: Nancy Harvey, Marshal, Sierra Madre — Carriage Driver with Patagonia X (New Market x Penelope) Nicki McGinnis, Norco — Dressage on Navajo X (Millennium LOA x MWF Najada) Amanda Wood, San Juan Capistrano — Hunter on Empress Sorsha (Classy Kid x Bint Zorka) Sandra Harris, Brawley — Cowgirl on MJP Princess Zia (Coma Zi x Collett McCoy) Amanda Waterfield, Alta Loma — Sheriff on Leprachan SCR (Pachole x Bekkah Ambrielle) Gayle Peña, Moreno Valley — Western on CH Satin Doll (EF Emberr x TLC Snowflake) Terry Banister, Westlake Village — Antique Sidesaddle on CR Bey Eclipse (TAAPS x NV Bey Mirage) Anne Keinberger, Palos Verdes — Western on Sweet Sara V (Desperado V x Sweet Sanadika V) Molly Jenks, Norco — Native Costume on Rock-On (Reign On x Bridens Jilida) Debra Duncan-Montoya, Valley Center — Native Costume on Sol Spirit (Sol-um x Esprit Jolie) Jan Roeder, Assistant Marshal, Cowan Heights — Native Costume on Go For The Gold (Cal Dorado x Miramar) Outwalkers: Theodore Lange, Whittier Patricia Fichtner, Norco Ann Clausen, Santa Ynez

E

ight horses perished in a barn fire at longtime Arabian trainer and breeder Randy Stoneback’s Pennsylvania facility on January 5. Two of the horses lost recently won National championships at Sport Horse Nationals. The fire engulfed the building so quickly that the Stonebacks’ were only able to rescue a few horses. In addition, the fire consumed virtually all of the Stonebacks’ farm equipment including tractors, a trailer, spreaders, tack, and hay. The Stoneback family is well known in Pennsylvania for its work with horses spanning over 50 years. Randy has trained horses his whole life, and his parents, Dr. Stoneback and his wife, Marge, recently moved in with Randy because of health problems. Tax deductible donations to the Stoneback family can be made through the Horsemen’s Distress Fund. Send to the address below and indicate on the check the funds will be earmarked for the Stonebacks: The Arabian Horsemen’s Distress Fund 236 Henry Sanford Road Bridgewater, CT 06752 Donations can also be made online at www. horsemensdistressfund.com/how-you-can-help/index.html (click on “Make A Donation”). The fund is a separate, restricted account with 501c3 charitable status, managed by a five-person board. The family will be notified of all who donate. If you would like to send a personal message to the family, please send to Randy Stoneback, 127 Tripps Lane, Strattanville, PA 15258.

Passages Lynda Entratter

L

ynda Entratter, founder of Jabar Ltd., Alpharetta, Georgia, and St. Louis, Missouri, passed away in January. Recalls associate and good friend Michael Byatt, “For most of our lives we have always been told ‘If it sounds too good to be true it probably is.’ My friend, Lynda Entratter, proved this old adage wrong; she was too good to be true. The life she led, the love she shared, and the generosity she embraced were not too good to be true; they were her. “While devastated by the loss of our dear friend, her close circle of friends recognizes what a gift she was not only to us and to her animals, but to the world. The compassion she had for all living things made each of us reflect on how we treated those that share the planet earth; she made us better people.

170 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010


Lynda Entratter with *Padron (Patron x *Odessa NSB).

And through the example that she gave us just by being there, we will, in turn, impact all who cross our paths forever in a more positive manner. “And about her animals … Oh, the way she loved them, all of them! In her office at the farm, the discarded, the crippled, the lost, all had a home with warm lodgings, fresh water, plentiful food, and a lap to lie in if lonely. Lynda gave of herself to any animal that needed to be cared for. When a horse named *Padron needed her the most, she did what few would do. Although late in life and not a prolific breeder any longer, he needed a home where no one would expect a thing of him. But to provide for him would cost a small fortune. That did not dissuade her; she paid the price and never looked back. *Padron owed nothing to anyone anymore — he was only expected to live as he wanted — he would at last call all the shots. *Padron lived happily until he was 30 years of age. The examples of the horses that were dropped off at her doorstep go on and on. People knew they could take advantage of Lynda’s generosity, but Lynda never backed away. “Perhaps more than anyone else, I benefited from Lynda’s generosity, and she never expected to be paid back. As many may recall, I was honored to have ridden her wonderful JA Rave Review to U.S. National Champion English Pleasure in 1994. In November of that year, a month after Nationals, Lynda suggested we have lunch; I met her at one of our favorite hangouts. There, she handed me an envelope; I opened it, and enclosed were the signed papers of Rave. She gave him to me. Stunned, I asked her why. She merely said, ‘You love him so much, and he loves you, you belong to each other.’ And that was that. Rave was mine. Too good to be true? Nope, it was true. “Lynda was not only good to her animals, she was good to people that needed someone. The humans in her life were

sometimes like the animals in her life. She embraced, helped, cared for, and loved people that were not always loved by all, or that were not ‘mainstream’ or ‘perfect.’ She championed the different and the original. She allowed all of us to be who we were without judgment. The only thing she insisted on was fairness to all. If you did that, you were in. If not, she would not tolerate it — you were out. “I feel certain that I speak for many when I say that Lynda taught us to be better people. We learned through her actions to look beyond what she did, what she looked like, and to view the world and its people with more fairness. She was a true gift and inspiration. I am certain that she is wherever the best go when they depart the mortal world. “My dear Lynda, we miss you, and love you. I hope you are at peace, riding through fields on Jabar and *Padron, with your beautiful horses, dogs, cats, and birds, all at your side.” The stallion *Padron spent his later years with Lynda and staff at Jabar. Recalls photographer Jerry Sparagowski, “She would always come out and watch *Padron being photographed when we had a shooting session. I’d known *Padron since he was a yearling — through the good and the bad — and it was such a pleasure to see him at Jabar where they were taking such good care of him. Linda donated thousands to the breed, but you’d never know it. She was quiet and didn’t make a big issue out of things. When I would go there sometimes we’d just get pictures of Linda with the horse. She was pretty frail and he was not, so we had to be careful, especially later on. One of my fondest memories is sitting on the sofas chitchatting about this and that — the last time I saw her we were doing just that — in November right after Nationals. I’ll miss her.”

Greener Pastures Maar Bilahh: May 29, 1984 - December 19, 2009

“A

very special straight Egyptian mare passed away in December,” says Dr. Jody Cruz of Rancho Bulakenyo, Los Osos, California. “We bred Maar Bilahh (El Halimaar x Bint Nabilahh) and sold her at the Gleannloch Legacy sale in 1986, where she topped the sale as a two-year-old, selling to Imperial Egyptian Stud. She was a very successful

171 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010

Maar Bilahh (El Halimaar x Bint Nabilahh)


show horse, winning Region 15 Champion Mare, East Coast Champion Mare, Egyptian Event Champion Supreme Champion Mare, and then was U.S. National Top Ten Futurity Mare in 1987. She was sold to Ariela Arabians in Israel and was Israeli National Champion Mare and Middle East Reserve Supreme Champion Mare.” Maar Bilahh was known as the “Queen Mother of Ariela Arabians” and was one of the best-known straight Egyptian mares in the world. Ariela's manager, Chen Kedar, along with the entire Ariela Arabians staff, is devastated by the loss.

Bold-Hawk: April 1978 - January 2010

T

aylor Ranch Arabians in Payson, Utah, lost two of its favorite stallions in January. Bold-Hawk (Ibn Lutan x Bint Dede) and *Aladdinn were stablemates and best friends — both lived to old age in the loving care of their owners the Taylor family. While *Aladdinn spent only his later years at the Taylors’, Bold-Hawk spent most of his life there and was a family favorite. Recalls Rick Taylor, “We bought him as a yearling from Stan Bonnett, an old-time Arabian breeder in Utah. Stan also had his sire Ibn Lutan, who was a National Champion Park horse. His mother was a part-Egyptian, beautiful white mare. Bold-Hawk was a snow-white stallion in his old age.

“Every one of our nine children grew up on that stallion. He was the most unbelievable stallion I’ve ever had. You could put a three-year-old on him and completely trust him; however, I could get on him and he was like a fiery dragon. He was one of those intelligent, wonderful horses that are far more intelligent than people give them credit Bold-Hawk (Ibn Lutan x Bint for. He and my kids rode in Dede) with Rick Taylor and son parades, on trails, in shows. Isaac, then a three-year-old, during a leadline class. Even when we acquired three big-name stallions at the ranch (*Aladdinn, *Muscat, and *Nariadni), visitors always wanted to see Bold-Hawk — they just loved him. He had big type and big black eyes — and he backed up his looks by being a real people-oriented horse. “He’s one of the few stallions I’ve had in my lifetime that every foal that we had from him sold,” adds Rick. “To me a great stallion passes on who he is. That’s what our other three stallions did, and Bold-Hawk was certainly in that group.”

BONNE VIVANT FIR

ST -TI SIR ME ES OF NA TIO WIN NA L NN ER S — PR OF ILE

(Monogramm x Bonne Cherie), owned by Cheryl Showah of ASA Farm, Washington Depot, Connecticut.

“Upon seeing Bonne Vivant’s pedigree and video in the Magness Dispersal, I knew he was destined to bring the excitement of *Bask back into the Arabian breed,” says Cheryl Showah. “His sheer beauty, elegance, extreme neck length, placement and hinge, conformation, free shoulder and motion, sold me immediately. Now the No. 1 bay Monogramm son in North America, Bonne Vivant, is linebred to successfully pass on his wonderful traits, producing like his illustrious grandsire, the legendary Negatraz. “In his first foal crop, Bonne Vivant sired both National Top Ten Covenannt ASA (also a multiple grand champion in stallion halter and sport horse, now showing

talent under saddle), and ASA Hannah, a beautiful winning halter filly. Other offspring, out of daughters of MHR Nobility, *El Ghazi and others, are ready to follow suit. Some exemplary halter and performance mares are already booked for 2010. “After he won multiple Regional titles in main-ring stallion halter, a bout with EPM (now fully recovered, thank the Lord!) forced a change in focus to a less stressful training regimen. With Larry Jones (one of the top Arabian Sport Horse trainers) at his side, Bonne Vivant’s ‘rehab’ consisted of outscoring, in conformation, all 342 horses (all sexes) that he has so far faced at Regionals, and beating all 23 stallions at the trot! “ASA Farm’s ‘Foal Buyback Guarantee’ (call for details) proves our confidence in this one-of-akind breeding stallion.”

PHOTO BY KARA HITE (PICSOFYOU.COM). PHOTO UNALTERED.


Let Arabian Horse World

Design Your Web Site. Let Arabian Horse World World’s award-winning

designers create an elegant look for your Web presence. Best of all, you can take advantage of the traffic to our own Web site with a link to your site and a listing on our new monthly directory of AHW-designed Web sites!

www.arabiansofsecretcreek.com

ARABIAN HORSE WORLD www.ridemediagroup.com

www.whisana.com

■ FREE Link to your Web site on arabianhorseworld.com ■ FREE Listing on AHW’s Map & Index each month ■ FREE Listing on AHW’s Web Ads

Visit these AHW designed sites administered by Pappy Productions. www.aaecarabians.com www.alhadiyeh.com www.alipashaarabians.com www.alshahaniastud.com www.amescharisma.com www.anzapadron.com www.arabiansofsecretcreek.com www.brookvillearabians.com www.chacaro.com www.chevtarabians.com www.crimsonfarmsllc.com www.ferrellarabians.com www.geminiarabians.com www.harasdecardenas.com www.hothamriverarabians.com www.marjesticwa.com www.mbaarabians.com

www.michaelbyattarabians.com www.miragev.com www.nezpercearabians.com www.oakwerth.com www.orientaarabians.com www.oryzafarms.com www.ridemediagroup.com www.rojoarabians.com www.rrarabians.com www.sierradoradaarabians.com www.soleilca.com www.starlinearabians.com www.sypoltinsurance.com www.taylorarabian.com www.varianarabians.com www.whisana.com

ARABIAN HORSE WORLD

Get your Web site designed by: Arabian Horse World · 800-955-9423 or 805-771-2300 www.arabianhorseworld.com info@arabianhorseworld.com

173 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 FEBRUARY 2010


Arabian Horse World February 2010 Issue Preview  

COVER: The 18-year-old stallion Showkayce (Fame VF x Kay by Kaiyoum), owned by Day Dream Arabians, Santa Ynez, California. Photo by April Vi...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you