Page 1

A R A B I A N

H O R S E

W O R L D

h8

N O V E M B E R

2 0 0 9


CONTENTS NOVEMBER

2009

7 V O L U M E

50

7 N U M B E R

2

SHOWS 2009 Youth Nationals ........................................................................................................ 36 In the Ribbons at Youth Nationals ..................................................................................... 46 2009 Canadian Nationals................................................................................................... 52 2009 Canadian Nationals Leading Sires, research by Douglas S. Tatelman ........................... 78

GENERAL Halsdon Arabians’ Elandra ................................................................................................. 32 AHW’s Centerfold of the Month: Bey Ambition ................................................................ 48 Cover Story: An Interview with Frank Spönle, by Elisa Grassi and Mike Wilson ................. 82 Arabian Racing: Qatar Cup Racing, Paris, France, by Steve Andersen ................................ 114 Arabian Racing: Retama Park and Delaware Racing, by Steve Andersen ............................ 120 Black Magic — Black Arabian Breeder Profiles ................................................................ 122 AHW ’s Heritage Horse: *Astraled, by Mary Jane Parkinson .............................................. 127 Proud Papas Contest Results ............................................................................................ 128 In Memory of Patrick Swayze, by Kirsten Mathieson ......................................................... 132 AHW ’s Freshman Sires ..................................................................................................... 131

D E PA R T M E N T S What in the World : In Their Own Words — Manny Vierra, by Lynn Anderson ................... 6 NEW! AHW Web Site Table of Contents .......................................................................... 10 Arabian Horse World’s Stallions in December, January, and March ..................................... 16 2010 Scottsdale Contenders in February ............................................................................ 81 Stud Farm Diaries: Rabies Review, by Cindy Reich ........................................................... 140 AHW ’s 2010 Calendar ..................................................................................................... 144 Letters to the World .......................................................................................................... 145 At the Waterhole .............................................................................................................. 148 Classified Ads (Opportunities) ......................................................................................... 152 Holiday Gift Ideas from Arabian Horse World .................................................................. 157 Arab Year.......................................................................................................................... 158 For Sale/At Stud Directory ............................................................................................... 159 Ad Rates/Map and Index ................................................................................................. 162 Solid Gold: U.S. Nationals and Sport Horse Nationals in January ................................... 164 Upcoming Issues .............................................................................................................. 166 AHW ’s New Web Site ...................................................................................................... 167 Go to www.arabianhorseworld.com for more! COVER: International Champion Mare Bess Fa’Izah (WH Justice x Sharon El Khendal), owned by Ajman Stud, and pictured with Frank Spönle and Elisa Grassi’s daughter Virginia. The mare is another of a long list of champions shown by Frank Spönle. See his story on page 82. Photo by Gregor Aymar. PHOTOS FROM TOP: Page 36, page 52, page 114, page 132.

4 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009


A R A B I A N

H O R S E

Publisher Editor and Sales Manager Editor Sales Associates Art Director Art Production

Circulation/Accounting Manager Production Manager Computer Systems Staff Writers

W O R L D

Denise P. Hearst Lynn Anderson Mary Jane Parkinson Carol Earnest, Wendy Flynn Melanie K. Davis Leigh Brandt, Robin Cloward, Louise Herndon, Elizabeth Howard, John Johnson, Jamie Kirkland, Kirsten Mathieson, Sannie Ricasata, Janet Van Hoorebeke Rhonda Hall Gary Gannon Douglas Tatelman Steve Andersen, Betty Finke, Joanne Fox, Nancy Ryan, Cindy Reich

SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC Equine Group VP, Group Publishing Director Susan M. Harding Editorial Director Cathy Laws Associate Group Publishing Director Dave Andrick GROUP MANAGEMENT Senior VP Al Crolius Director, CFO Ken Lockwood SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC President, Digital Media Greg Goff SVP, Chief Creative Officer Alan Alpanian SVP, Operations Chris Argentieri SVP, Manufacturing & Production Kevin Mullan VP, Finance Colleen Artell Consumer Marketing, SOURCE INTERLINK MEDIA, LLC VP, Single Copy Rich Baron VP, Circulation Planning & Operations Arlene Perez Consumer Marketing, ENTHUSIAST MEDIA SUBSCRIPTION COMPANY, INC. VP, Consumer Marketing Tom Slater OFFICERS OF SOURCE Chairman and Chief Executive Officer President and Chief Operating Officer President, Source Interlink Distribution Chief Financial Officer General Counsel

WHAT IN THE

WORLD

In Their Own Words — November Breeder Snapshot: Manny Vierra by Lynn Anderson

T

his month, we’re kicking off a new series of interviews with breeders who have demonstrated, long term, their commitment to the Arabian breed. Snapshots, if you will, of who they are, where they’ve been in their journey with horses, and, most of all, where they are going. We know that their passion and their quest will inspire others to pursue their own goals with renewed fervor. We begin with Manny Vierra of Valley Oaks Arabians, Brentwood, California. Manny is a big guy with a big heart and a gigantic love for the breed.

INTERLINK COMPANIES, INC. Gregory Mays James R. Gillis Alan Tuchman Marc Fierman Cynthia L. Beauchamp

Copyright Š2009 by Source Interlink Magazines, LLC. All rights reserved. Address all advertising and subscription related queries to: ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101 , Cambria, CA 93428 Phone: (800) 955-9423 or (805) 771-2300, Fax: (805) 927-6522 www.arabianhorseworld.com s info@arabianhorseworld.com Arabian Horse World is a Source Interlink Media, LLC Publication

SUBSCRIPTION RATES (NO REFUNDS): All residents of the U.S. and possessions $40 per year, $59.95 for two years. Canadian $72 per year ($128 two years) in U.S. funds. Foreign $88 per year ($160 two years), bank draft in U.S. funds must accompany order. For all subscription information contact 1-800-955-9423. Send new subscription and change of address information to Arabian Horse World, 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101, Cambria, CA 93428. RENEWALS: Send to Arabian Horse World, 1316 Tamson Drive, Suite 101, Cambria, CA 93428. Allow six weeks for processing. ARABIAN HORSE WORLD’S WORLDWIDE WEB ADDRESS:

sHTTPWWWARABIANHORSEWORLDCOM

s% MAILSHOULDBESENTTOINFO ARABIANHORSEWORLDCOM Arabian Horse World reserves the right to edit all written materials submitted for publication.

Printed in the USA

6 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009

Manny Vierra of Valley Oak Arabians.

“I remember clearly the first Arabian I fell in love with, a chestnut filly named Caress. It was back in 1980 or so and I would often stop by Trinity Arabians in Cupertino to visit and just to look at their horses. This particular filly was so sweet and personable that I soon bonded with her and wound up owning her. From then on I knew that Arabians would always be part of my life. Their beauty, loving attitudes, and beauty swept me off my feet — a feeling I still get being around them.


“I “I have to admit, I’m addicted to these horses. After all these years, traveling all over the world, I’m still in love, and I’m pleased with the direction we’re headed in as breeders in this country. One of the best things, I feel, is that we’re getting back to type, type, and type. For the longest time it seemed that all people cared about was extremely long necks. But now it’s important to have a world market for our horses, and if you travel around the world, you’ll see that those people are looking for type. “I’ve made many trips to Poland and the Polish breeders, whom I consider to be some of the very best breeders in the world, have deliberately added type to their programs. They always had the structure and ability in their horses and then they added Monogramm and stallions with Egyptian influence like Ararat, *Laheeb IASB, *Gazal Al Shaqab, and so forth. These sorts of crosses on Polish mares have resulted in horses like *El Dorada, *Pianissima, and *Emandoria, to name just a few. “Some of the horses that have had the greatest impact on me have been horses from the famous “E” line in Poland: particularly Emigrantka (Eukaliptus x Emigracja by Palas). Emigrantka was known as “The Queen of Poland” and I was fortunate to be able to lease her daughter *El Dorada (by *Sanadik El Shaklan) for two years and bring her to the U.S., where she went unanimous U.S. National Champion Mare. She also produced three wonderful foals for me, one of which I’ve retained. “Emigrantka was also the dam of *Emigrant (by Ararat [Palas x Arra]). I went crazy for *Emigrant when I first saw him—beautiful eyes, movement, structure — a powerhouse. Raymond Mazzei is a true old-time breeder and

GET UP IN THE MORNING

has been very BECAUSE OF ALL THIS T S instrumental in helping me with A PA S S I O N my breeding program. And he said I had to see this horse. their horses. Because of the weakness He was right; when I saw *Emigrant I of the dollar against the euro, the thought immediately that that blood Europeans could be coming here right had to be in this country. He won now and buying great horses and getting at Aachen, the European National a 50 percent discount on everything Championships, was Polish National Champion Stallion and leading herd sire they purchased. Yet, they’re not doing it. “One reason, I feel, is that our at Michalow for about ten years. He’s judging system is doing us a big the most credentialed Polish stallion disservice. The judges seem to be to come to this country since *Bask. afraid to award high scores even when Raymond and I tried for two years to warranted. The European buyers see buy him and the Poles only let him go some of the cumulative scores given here because they had begun to use his son and think maybe the horses aren’t any Gaspar (x Gaskonia by Probat), also a good — and that’s not true. Polish National Champion. “The U.S. National show seems to “I’m so excited to have *Emigrant, not only for what he can do for my own have lost its flair, its fun. And, there’s the perception that if you don’t have program, but because of the potential your horse with one of the five top he represents for other U.S. breeders handlers you don’t stand a chance. There who choose to use him. I get up in are rare exceptions, of course, such as the morning because of all this. It’s Bey Ambition’s win this year, which I a passion. “*Emigrant’s daughters are treasured was happy to see and which was very well deserved. all over the world,” Manny continues. “That said, I must say that some “And three of his Michalow-bred of our top showmen have been big stallions are national or international influences and helped me through the champions, including Polish National years and I’m a better horseman and a Champions Gaspar and Emrod (x better breeder for it. Empressa by Probat), and Babolna “A long time ago, someone told International Champion Migrant (x me, ‘Live your life today, and enjoy Mina by Monogramm).” what you enjoy today because this is “As far as showing goes, I’ve had not a dress rehearsal.’ I’ve pretty much great successes and great experiences, lived like that. My dream is that years done my share of winning and losing. from now, people will remember me It goes hand in hand. But I’m not really as a breeder and say, ‘There’s one thing crazy about the showring right now. about Manny: he found his course and I’d like to see the breeders take control. There’s very little European participation he stuck to it, and his program has influenced breeding programs all around at our shows, and yet we go to Aachen, the world.’” etc., and look at their horses and buy

. I ’

.”

7 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009


At the

Waterhole

The Latest Scoop

A Visit to Halsdon Arabians, United Kingdom by George Zbyszewski

O

n September 29, following the Breeders Cup Show in Aachen, Germany, Frank and Carol Hennessey, along with Vincent Languille and me, paid a short visit to Charlie and Shirley Watts’s Halsdon Arabians in the United Kingdom. The farm is unique since it consists of several individual farms in one big complex. Traveling between farms provides an opportunity to visit a different group of horses. In the barn nearest to the Watts’s residence are the oldest horses and those probably the closest to Charlie and Shirley Watts’s hearts. It was a tremendous pleasure to see 30-year-old stallion Piechur, who does not look his age at all. He goes every day to his own pasture from where he can peruse the other pastures and look at his favorite mares. All senior horses at the farm receive special care helping them to live their lives in the most comfortable conditions. The old mares like Alejka, Pikieta, and Donia peacefully graze lush pastures at Halsdon. The presentation started with the stallions: Lothar El Nyhl, Pilot, Ferryt, HS Etiquette, Vivaldi Rach, and continued with some broodmares of importance, including Albula, Andromeda, Peczora, Egina, Maesta, Emilda, HS Ramirra, and the incredible Elandra, who had just come back from the Aachen show where she was named Top Five along with four other Monogramm daughters in the lineup. Mrs. Watts is planning to show Elandra again at the Salon du Cheval in Paris. During the tour of the pastures the newest acquisition of Halsdon was presented, a gray daughter of Ekstern, Pinta, purchased in August during the Pride of Poland Sale in Janow Podlaski. “Carol and I have never seen more magnificent horses in a uniquely magical setting, being cared for by generous and gracious people who truly love animals,” says Frank Hennessey. 148 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009

George Zbyszewski, Shirley Watts, and Carol Hennessey at Halsdon Arabians.

I felt like a child in a toy store looking at Shirley’s collection. It was hard to say goodbye to this peaceful, beautiful place. Not only because of Shirley and Charlie’s warm hospitality, but also because of the incredible Arabian horses and the 18 adopted Watts dogs.

Passages: Russell Vento Jr. 1959-October 2009

T

he Arabian horse community was shocked and saddened by the recent death of Russell Vento Jr., an influential amateur rider and breeder of Arabian horses for more


Right: Russ Vento Jr. with daughter Skylar and Monrovia X (Barbary x Mi Kauai). Below: Russ Vento Jr. and Bob Battaglia.

than 30 years. Russ was most prominently known as the moving force behind Battaglia Farms, handling the breeding operation as well as training programs for the Scottsdale, Arizona, facility. He personally owned or showed more than 35 National, Regional, and NSH champions. “Life takes strange turns,” says Bob Battaglia, “We did this together for 22 years — there’s a big part of me missing. I’m taking one day at a time. “Russ’s love and energy for the Arabian horse and the people in the business was second to none,” Bob continues. “The response from the community has been overwhelming. It is so gratifying to know that his life and everything that he did and said and felt about the Arabian horse made a difference. That’s a testament to him.” Says client Ward Weaver, “I’ve known Russ for many years, and he was a very considerate and understanding person who was also a very good horseman and friend.” To Sherry Layne, Russ was not only a great horse trainer but also a good friend. She had memorial pins made with the phrase “This Ride’s for Russ,” and distributed them at the U.S. National show in October. “We all wore pins on our lapels to remind people that we were doing this for him,” she

says. “Russ and I go way back. My Half-Arabian All Star (Take Heart x Always MTA) was kind of a naughty horse until he started working with her. She turned out to be a superstar in performance and halter, winning National Champion English Pleasure with me and unanimous Triple Crown halter champion with Keith Krichke. Russ loved her dearly.” “I’ve been with Bob Battaglia for 12-15 years. Russ was a dear friend. Probably one of my best friends,” says client Brandi Sharp. “Scottsdale is about an hour’s flight for me, but Russ would always call me two to three times a week just to check in. He’d tell me how the horses were doing and ask about my family. He spent most of his mornings assisting Bob and calling all of his amateurs just to check in on them. Horse shows will be completely different without him. He’s the one who did my hair, tied my tie, helped with my outfit, and he was even out there wiping my boots off. He was the most compassionate person. He really cared about people and the horses, too.” Fellow trainer Mary Trowbridge adds, “A gentleman, a horseman, a family man … all are terms that Russ gave a living, working definition to. I’ve known Russ professionally and as a friend for over thirty years. Since the very beginning of his time as a part of this industry, he has always exemplified all that is good and to be aspired to in this world. He was and will remain one of God’s great creations. We will not be as good without him as we were when he was with us.” “There were 300 people at his interment, an expression of the love and respect that everyone had for him, and the joy he brought to everyone,” says Bob. “He died happy and content with his life, and that’s the most that I could have hoped for.” A celebration of Russ Vento’s life will take place Saturday, November 14, at 1:00 p.m., at Battaglia Farms, Scottsdale, Arizona. In lieu of flowers, Morris Animal Foundation and The Horsemen’s Distress Fund are accepting donations in Russ’s memory.

Greener Pastures *Lech PASB March 23, 1984-September 14, 2009 by Nancy Ryan ust a week earlier he had me up in the middle of the night — again — because the old Polish mare at the cattle ranch next door had jimmied the latch on her gate and made her way over to the fence bordering Lech’s pasture. As I marched across the wet grass, I could hear Lech (Palas x *Dunkierka) down the hill in the darkness. He was busy flirting and at the same time hollering at the two Quarter Horse geldings that always follow the bay mare on her late-night rendezvous. As

J

149 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009


exasperating as they could be, these rude awakenings rewarded me with a show of Lech’s stallion behavior and display of dominance. And they never failed to amaze me. Here he was at 25, so youthful, impressively powerful and beautiful. I took a mental snapshot of his big white shoulders and arched neck catching a pattern of moonlight and shadow as he courted the old girl underneath a big oak tree. No wonder the mare couldn’t resist him. Breaking up the party, *Lech PASB (Palas x *Dunkierka) I grabbed her halter and led her and her tagalong cohorts back to their pasture. I returned to my old friend to reassure him, pet him, and tell him once again that he was still King of the Hill and the most magnificent Arabian in the whole wide world. Now a week later, he lay silent at our feet. Just like that, one morning his body decided it was time. He was tired out, and it was just too much effort to stand this time. Lech was ready to cut his losses, and he had let us know. There was no struggling. He was quiet and alert. He drank and ate a good last meal and nibbled on his hay. He was brave, dignified, and trusted us to take the best care of him until the very end. The clinic sent out a younger, newer vet who had a naturally good bedside manner. This was his first visit to our place. When it was over, he went back to his truck and returned with clipboard in hand, and asked me, for the record, what the horse’s name was. At first I couldn’t speak. Then I wiped away some tears and the words started to come. I spoke proudly. “His name is Lech. Lech PASB. That stands for the Polish Arabian Stud Book.” I gave the young vet the Cliff Notes version — of how Lech was bred at a state stud named Michalow, the son of one of that country’s most influential stallions. I told him how as a yearling, he was the colt that sold for the highest price at a star-studded auction in Kentucky. I told him that he was a champion in Arizona — the only time he was shown — that he had been all over the country, that he had sired dozens of foals, and then suddenly — dropped off the face of the Earth, only to suffer like many Arabians of that time — nameless, hungry for food and affection — until a series of more fortunate events led him to us many years later. What the vet never will know is how much this one special horse completely and utterly changed the course of our lives, to positively influence how we relate to others, set priorities and values and in essence, how we view the world. This is a fact. He’s buried at the crest of his big grassy pasture, where he’s still King of the Hill and where his son Lechscaliber, daughter Alechsandra and favorite mare Tattianna graze nearby. We are proud to have known Lech for the eight years he was with us. It was indeed a privilege. 150 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009

Asfour: August 8, 1984-October 2, 2009

T

he legendary Egyptian stallion Asfour (Malik x Hanan) passed away at the age of 25 at his home at Marion Richmond’s Simeon Stud in Australia. Bred in Germany by Dr. Hans Nagel, the grey stallion was the cornerstone of Simeon Stud’s breeding program, siring champions around the world. A tribute will appear in the December issue of AHW as part of the Pyramid Society’s Egyptian Stallion Guide.

Gil: 1981-2009

M

ichalow-bred Polish National Reserve Senior Champion Stallion Gil (Probat x Gildia) passed away at his stud, Vlasakker Arabians, in the Netherlands, at the age of 28. In addition to being a successful show horse before his importation to the Netherlands, Gil sired more than 20 foals in Poland. His progeny includes daughter Sarmacja (x Saszetka), Derby and Oaks winner and dam of Janow Podlaski Stud-bred racehorses. Say his owners at Vlasakker, “Horses can not be made any sweeter and friendlier than Gil.”

Emiliusz: 2000-2009

M

ichalow Stud-bred Emiliusz (Laheeb x Emocja by Monogramm) recently passed away at the age of nine years old at Rodolfo Guzzo’s training center in Brazil. He was recently purchased by Jaime Pinheiro of Haras Vila dos Pinheiros. In 2005, Emiliusz was purchased from the Michalow State Stud by Johanna Ullström. He stood at the European Training Centre in Belgium and achieved numerous successes in the showring including 2006 Tulip


Emiliusz (Laheeb x Emocja by Monogramm)

Cup Reserve Senior Champion Stallion, 2007 Scandinavian Open Senior Champion Stallion, and class winner at the 2008 Al Khalediah Show. He has offspring in Belgium and Sweden, and breedings have been sold to Australia as well as to South Africa. His only Polish offspring is the 2009 filly Gaja Valentina (x Ganga by Emigrant).

Mahrniqa March 28, 1990-October 15, 2009 by Steva Allgood, Liberty, North Carolina ost of us have animals that come in and out of our lives, but there are a precious few that just wrap themselves around your heart and soul. So it was with our little white fairy who was the center and the energy of Shadow Oaks Farm. Just 45 minutes after checking on the horses in the pasture, I saw Nika go down with acute colic. Two vets worked on her for hours, but it was just her time to go. We have all been devastated by the loss. Mahrniqa (Qadim El Nisr x Glorieta Dalima), aka Nika, was loving and Mahrniqa (Qadim El Nisr x Glorieta Dalima) gentle with the foals, and fiery and tenacious in her protection of the herd. Larry, my husband, and I were so blessed that she allowed us to be her friends. Her nobility, elegance, beauty, and charm went hand in hand with her intelligence, wisdom, and spirit.

M

Nika was the epitome of the family Arabian horse — beautiful, trustworthy, and loyal. She was so gentle and kind in teaching us the language and subtleties of “horse talk.” When she was in motion, cars would stop on the road just to watch her strut her stuff! She was that exceptional … snow white, with huge knowing eyes, and so much charm she would draw you in before you knew it. Although she was small in stature, she was the alpha mare and the life and spirit of our farm who enhanced our lives by being with us. She will be forever missed and always loved. In the spring, a tree will be planted over her grave so it can rise to the sky and in this way, we will be able to keep a part of her with us. We hope she made it home safely on her final journey. Words are not adequate to describe how very much she is missed by not only us, but her herd as well. Until we meet again, my lady.

Star Lima April, 1979-September, 2009 by Dede Schuhmacher e are eternally grateful for the joy of living with such an example of beauty, grace, humor, and mischievous playfulness. Star Lima (Per-Lima by *Ansata Ibn Halima x Star Fila) greeted every day with contagious enthusiasm and anticipation that affected all of us — horses, humans, dogs, cats, birds. Everyone was uplifted by her spirited optimism and she was the soul of Schuhmacher Farm in northern New Mexico, near Santa Fe. Her last three years were spent in a lush turnout with Painting of Star Lima (Per-Lima x Star Peppy Roper, her Fila) by Dede Schumacher. lifelong Quarter Horse friend, in the central mountains of New Mexico, where the weather is perfect yearround. She died peacefully at 30 years old and Peppy Roper, also 30, died shortly thereafter. They are buried side by side under trees overlooking their pasture. As an artist I paint horses, and somehow, Star Lima shows up in every painting. We were blessed, and so was she.

W

151 6 ARABIAN HORSE WORLD 6 NOVEMBER 2009


Arabian Horse World November 2009 Preview  

COVER: International Champion Mare Bess Fa’Izah (WH Justice x Sharon El Khendal), owned by Ajman Stud, and pictured with Frank Spönle and El...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you