Page 1

November 9, 2013 - November 15, 2013, The Afro-American


Marjorie Rodgers Cheshire, chair, Baltimore School For The Arts and Laura Gamble

Western High School students, Mayor Stephanie Rawlings Blake, government and faith leaders came out to hear Baltimore’s own Jada Pinkett Smith at the Oct. 23 Girls Night Out sponsored by Associated Black Charities at Pinkett Smith’s alma mater, Baltimore School for the Arts. It was there that she became friends with Tupac Shakur; it was there that she found refinement for the gifts that have catapaulted her from the early days of Different World through many movies and an ongoing career in music and production. It was there, recently, that she talked about her career, her family, her challenges and encouraged the audience to pursue their dreams and let nothing impede their success.

Caprece Garrett-Jackson, Jada Pinkett-Smith and fashion designer, Jody Davis

Michele Brown and daughter, Kiara Waters Alesha Tanner, Rania Campbell, Jillian Hopkins, Jasmine Brooks and Tyaisha Boyd Charlene Smith and Barbara Little

Phyllis Allen, Pamela Burney, Joan Pratt, Balto. City Comptroller, Chineta Davis and Kelli Smith

Karen Pratt and Marisol Johnson

Jada Pinkett-Smith poses with her mother, Adrienne Banfield Jones

Al Shaw, Dr. Eleanor Wyche and Tonya Link

Doni Glover, B-more News and daughter, Nyinde Glover

Karen Evans, first vice chair ABC, Billie Jo McKinney, Candyce Norris, Whitney Karimah and Adrienne Banfield Jones, Jada’s mother

Students from Western Sr. High School pose with Jada Pinkett-Smith

Karen B. Evans, Diane Bell-McKoy and Jada Pinkett-Smith

Betty Hines, Jan Houbolt, Michael Sarbanes, Arthur Abramson and Toba Rainess

Dr. Walter and Andrea Amprey

David Sachs, incoming executive director, The LEADERship

Photos by Anderson Ward

Deborah Morgan, Greg Berwart, Nancy Jordon-Howard, Karen Miller, Walt Pearson, Omar Muhammad and Dave Beck

The Leadership program of the Greater Baltimore Freeman Hrabowski, president Donald and Alicia Harvey-Smith Christopher A. Eddings, Committee (GBC) celebrated its 30th anniversary on of The University of Maryland, Oct. 24 at Martin’s West. The Leadership program is an 2013 Sondheim Baltimore County and his wife, incubator for connecting business leaders who represent Exemplary LEADERship Jacqueline Coleman Hrabowski a broad spectrum of business, non-profit, and community Award Winner organizations in the Baltimore metropolitan area. More than 800 guests came to celebrate the anniversary as well as to pay tribute to the program’s Jan Houbolt, who is retiring after 25 years of service as the Executive Director of the Leadership program. Gary Thrift, Gregory Hunter, The celebration also focused on the presentation of the Mercer’s Award to the Leadership program class Connie Baker, Lisa Williams, Ann whose members have accumulated the greatest number Gallant and Thomas Brant Jr. of points for service. In spite of the competition among Iris Reeves, Barbara and John Herron the various Leadership classes being once again spirited Karlo Young, Andrea McCants, Swata as always, the Leadership Class of 2009 was Gandhi and Hugh Mohler again awarded the Mercer’s Award for the second consecutive time. The Leadership program’s new executive director, David Sachs was also introduced and warmly welcomed. A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 2013 Mayor Stephanie Sondheim Award, an award Marsha Reeves-Jews, Amsale Rawlings-Blake inaugurated in 2008 and presented every five Geletu and Shelonda Stokes and Mark Furst Sondheim Award finalist Burt Hash, Joan Hash, Mimi years to a Leadership Roeder Vaughan, Paul Taylor and Nathaniel Jones program graduate who Latara Harris and Nona Carroll exemplifies the legacy of Walter Sondheim, a prominent Baltimore civic leader and long-time advisor to the GBC who also counseled mayors, governors and other civic leaders. The recipient of the 2013 Sondheim Award Walton Pearson was Christopher Eddings, and Damien Davis president of the Daily Record and a member of the 1998 Leadership program The 2013 Mercer's Award Winners –Leadership Class of 2009 class. Freeman Hrabowski, president of UMBC and the recipient of the 2008 Sondheim Award, presented the award. Eddings was selected from among 11 finalists for the Sondheim award. Diane Bell McKoy, Lisa Williams and Carolyn Ross

Photos by Bill Tabron

November 9, 2013 - November 15, 2013, The Afro-American

Lt. Col. Priscilla Smalls, Edgar Brookins, the Rev. Dr. Gwendolyn Boyd and Joyce Hall Shambley

Hayfield Secondary High School JROTC Color Guard with Col. Karen Jordan (center)

The Rev. Joyce Willoughby, The Rev. Dr. Shakina Rawlings, Antoinette Mann, president, NoVAC and Rev. Boyd, keynote speaker

Musical entertainment by Brian Lenair

Recipients of the “Wounded Warriors” Award, Master Sgt. Sharlinda Warner (left) and Lt. Col. Myrna Myers (right) being presented by Antoinette Mann

Tameka Tunsil, first vice president; Cynthia Brown, second vice president; Cheron Burns, chair, fundraising committee and Gladys FitzhughPemberton, prayer breakfast sub-committee

Three Northern Virginia first ladies—Jaffe White of Bethlehem Baptist Church, Deaconess Bertha A. Scott of Laurel Grove Baptist Church and Angela S. Norman Pickett of First Baptist Church Merrifield—and

Angela S. Norman Pickett, first lady of First Baptist Church, Merrifield, Va.


Antoinette Mann presents “The First Ladies Award” to Deaconess Bertha Scott, first lady of Laurel Grove Baptist Church

Jaffee White, first lady of Bethlehem Baptist Church

“Wounded Warriors” Lt. Col. Myrna Myers and Master Sgt. Sharlinda Warner were honored by the Delta Sigma Theta Northern Virginia Alumnae Chapter. The recognition came at the “Sisters Called to Serve,” the third annual prayer breakfast hosted by the DST chapter and

its Northern Virginia Delta Education and Community Service Foundation Oct. 5 at the Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, Arlington, Va. Special prayers were given by the Rev. Joyce Willoughby and the Rev. Dr. Shakina Dunbar Rawlings.

Military officers who attended the prayer breakfast with Brigadier Gen. Clara Adams-Ender (Ret.), fifth from the left

Cheron Burns and Angela Fairwell Linda-Byrd Johnson, Linda Hitchens, Erika Garrett, Deborah Foreman and Marion Spraggins; Seated Francis Gipson Jr. and Clara Gipson

Alexis Davis, Michele Williams, Jeanette Spann, Susan G. Kelly and Carenna Kelly

Native American Women Warriors Organization members (all are on active duty) with Denyse Gordon (center), Ms. Veterans America 2012

Allaina Guitron (2nd from right) was crowned 2013 Ms. Veteran America

Ms. Veteran America contestants

The honored guest judges

Retired Maj. Gen. Dee Williams speaks to the guests

Gloria Talia Ferro, Cheryl Hood and Izella Dornell; seated - Richard Hood and Debbie Robertson

Denyse Gordon , the reigning Ms. Veteran America, handed her crown to Allaina Guitron, who was named the 2013 Ms. Veteran America at an annual competition Oct. 13. The staff sergeant from Syracuse, N.Y. emerged the winner from a field of 20 finalists at the National Conference Center in Leesburg, Va. The event was staged by Jaspen Boothe and its sponsors included SRE Inc., ANACOMP, Exelis Action Corps, INK Cosmetics, CSSS.NET, Maid Brigade, O’mak Designs and Salon deZEN of Alexandria.

Photos by Rob Roberts

Jaspen Boothe, founder of Final Salute and Competition Director with contestant, Marissa Stuck

Angela Jones, Cierra Boykins and Master Sgt. Apryl McWilliams

The three finalists

Retired Command Sgt. Maj. Michele Jones, Edgar Brookins, U.S. Army Retired. and USAF Capt. Rehema Stuckey

Eric Bartch, retired Marine Corps Sgt. Maj Carlton Kent, Jennifer London, Denyse Gordon, Dr. Jack London and Lt. Col. Justin Constantine Photos by Rob Roberts

Lifestyle - Sophisticated Settings November 9 2013