Page 1


The Afro-American, July 14, 2018 - July 20, 2018


he Kappa Alpha Psi Foundation of Metropolitan Baltimore hosted the 15th annual George L. Russell, Jr. Charities and Awards Brunch on June 30, at the Calvin and Tina Tyler Ballroom on the campus of Morgan State University. Ben Jealous, former president of the NAACP,

who recently was elected Maryland’s Democratic nominee for governor, was the keynote speaker for the brunch. Jealous said to the audience that “We have a responsibility to tell the

Kappa Silhouettes Johnetta Clark, Jackie Plenty, Cynthia Jordan and Carolyn Vaughan

Theodore R. Garrett, Polemarch, Ben Jealous, keynote speaker/Gubernatorial Candidate, Dr. Nathan L. Fletcher, president, Kappa Alpha Psi Foundation, Metropolitan Baltimore Howard Tutman Jr, 29th Internatonal Grand Polemarch (50 year)

Robert Jacobs, a 50-year Kappa

Kevin F. Clark, Master of Ceremony

Tanya Rush welcomed the Kappa Foundation members and guests on behalf of President David Wilson, Morgan State University

Milton Mayo gave the invocation

truth about us. Our Black men are doing great things every day.” Students from the Guide Right Service program were recognized for their achievements and scholarships were presented to high school students for college assistance. The George L. Russell Legacy Awards were presented to Joseph T. Jones Jr., Founder and CEO of the Center for Urban Families and John “Jake” Oliver, Publisher Emeritus, Afro-American Newspapers.

James Dingle, James Vaughan, Robert Webb and Joseph Lewis

Silhouettes officers are Camile Clark, Audrey Bennett, president, Melonie Garrett, Deborah Ferguson, Jackie Massey and Mary Clayton

James Massey Moses Hammett represented Joseph T. Jones, Founder and CEO of the Center for Urban Families

Randolph Edwards, a 50-year Kappa brother

Edie and Herb Jenkins

John “Jake” Oliver, AFRO’s Publisher Emeritus, receives the George L. Russell Legacy Award from Dr. Nathan L. Fletcher, President, Kappa Alpha Psi Foundation, Metropolitan Baltimore, Inc. and Theodore R. Garrett Jr. Polemarch, Baltimore (MD) Alumni Chapter

Del. Adrienne Jones and Sen. Nathaniel McFadden Duane Elliott, Vallen Emery and Anthony Ferguson

Donald M. Smith, Dr. J. Laws Nickens and Thomas Hampton

Guide Right Presentation to Keith Parker, “Kappa League of the Year” Award. He is flanked by Dr. Nathan L. Fletcher, Foundation President, Donald Chambers, chair, Guide Right program, Jonathan Grant and Theodore R. Garret Jr.

John Dameron, Mark McDuffie and Joseph Garrett Kappa younger men are Travis Covington, Aaron McNeil, Avery Church, Corey Fuller and Tyrell Snape

Kappa Alpha Psi, Fraternity, Baltimore, (MD) Alumni Chapter Photos by Dr. A. Lois De Laine

To purchase this digital photo page or photos contact Takiea Hinton: or 410.554.8277.


The Afro-American, July 14, 2018 - July 20, 2018

Robert Offutt and Dora Dee Hunter

Dr. Marco Clark, Founder and CEO of the Richard Wright Public Charter School of Journalism, and the school’s Media Arts faculty, staff and students hosted their 7th Annual Black Tie Gala on June 8 at the University of the District of Columbia (UDC), Student Center in Northwest Washington, D.C. The formal program included a sit down dinner and the presentations of honorees that included Ronald Mason, Dr. Marco Clark, D.C. Councilmember, Trayon White the president of UDC and Angie Gates, Director, the Office and Raheem DeVaughn of Cable, Television, Film, Music and Entertainment, Gwendolyn Jenkins, President, The Malcolm Jenkins Foundation, Malcolm Jenkins, NFL Player, philanthropist and entrepreneur, Shauna Small, Entrepreneur and mother and actor Michael Angie Gates, Director of the Rainey, Jr. Special guest included D.C. Office of Cable Television, Councilmember, Trayon White Sr. and R & B Pamela Jenkins, Edgar Brookins, General Film, Music and Entertainment singer/songwriter, Raheem DeVaughn. Manager, AFRO Washington, D.C. and Interim Director of  the Commission on the Arts and Humanities for the District of Columbia,  recipient of the Richard Wright award

Photos by Rob Roberts

Helen Compton-Harris, Gregory Adams and Dr. Renee Starlynn Allen


Dorothy Jackson, PIEF Executive Director, Award Recipient, Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker, Paula R. Burner and April Gaines-Jernigan, President of PIEF and Xi Omega Chapter

Zende Clark, Sylvia Cyrus, Joyce Henderson and Lmyra Clarke- White

Award recipient Ronald Mason, President, University of the District of Columbia

and Dr. Renee Starlynn Allen

Omega fraternity brothers: Horace Austin, Dr. Marco Clark, Gregory Adams, Chair, Board of Directors and Malcolm Day

Dr. Marco Clark, Founder/CEO, Richard Wright Public Charter School, Rev. Melvin Maxwell, recipient of the 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Achievement Award and R & B singer Raheem DeVaughn

Performance by the newly formed Richard Wright Dance Group

Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker and Author Loretta Woodward Veney were honored for their Alzheimer’s Awareness efforts at the The Pearl and Ivy Educational Foundation (PIEF) in collaboration with Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Xi Omega Chapter, which hosted its Annual Pink Hat Tea at the Renaissance Downtown in Northwest, Washington, D.C. The tea, which is in its ninth year, raises funds for scholarships for college-bound high school students in the District of Columbia and has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to hundreds of D.C. college-bound students. The Tea featured a lively hat fashion show curated by Rev. Georgiette Morgan-Thomas, owner of The American Hat Factory – the only Black-owned millinery factory in the country. The event also featured a silent auction, vendor marketplace, and live musical entertainment from singer Lanell Lightfoot, whose vocals brought audience members to their feet.

Nycole P. Hollington, Bora Mpinja, Jeanine Young Merriman, Yvette L. Gray, Vanessa Pritt, S. Cole Grant, Octavia C. Blackston, Jacqueline McGuire and L. Inez Gaynor-Vessels

The Hat Fashion Show

Mistress of Ceremony, Crystal Bailey April Gaines-Jernigan, Stacie Whiteside, Tonya Thomson Creek and Wanda L. King (Seated) Ferial Bishop, Darlene Jackson and Maggalean W. Weston

Award Recipients, Loretta Woodard-Veney, Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker and Renee Reed Newton

Sharon Falby, President of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Rho Mu Omega Chapter), Lavdena Orr, MD, Councilmember Brandon Todd, Shari McCoy and Doxie McCoy

Darlene Jackson, Paris Titus and Miya Jackson- Titus

Tamarva Anthony, Cole Grant, Ashley Gilmore, Raven Hill, Sheanita Howard, Tracie Hunter, Daphne King, Allison Watts and Gail M. Johnson Tycely Williams and Mary F. Johnson

Photos by Rob Roberts

To purchase this digital photo page or photos contact Takiea Hinton: or 410.554.8277.

LifeStyle 7-13-2018  
LifeStyle 7-13-2018