Tri-state Travel Guide
66 MISSOURI KANSAS OKLAHOMA
MISSOURI Carthage . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 Places to Stay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
Carterville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 Webb City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .12 Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17 Joplin . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .18 Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 Places to Stay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
KANSAS Galena . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .23 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .23
Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
Riverton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30 Baxter Springs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32 Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32 Places to Stay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .36 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 38
OKLAHOMA Quapaw and Commerce . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .40 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41 Miami . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41
Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42 Places to Stay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 44 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 45
Narcissa and Afton . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 46 Vinita . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .47 History . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .47 Attractions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 48 Places to Stay . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .49 Places to Eat . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 49
U. S. Route 66 Route 66 was never an ordinary road. On February 4, 1927, the U.S. 66 Highway Association was formed in Tulsa, Oklahoma and the road’s lifetime name — “The Main Street of America” — was born. It was known over the years by many other names, such as “The Way West,” “The Will Rogers Highway” and “The Mother Road.” It came to be known as the most magical road in the entire world. Even architect Frank Lloyd Wright once remarked, “Route 66 is a giant chute down which everything loose in this country is sliding into southern California.” Route 66 was commissioned on November 11, 1926 and was originally 2,448 miles from Chicago to Los Angeles. (The longest recorded length was 2,499 miles in 1929.) On June 17, 1935, it was extended from downtown Los Angeles to its famous termination point with Alt. U.S. 101, overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Santa Monica. On the same date, 66 was rerouted over the Chain of Rocks Bridge in north St. Louis and on September 26, 1937, it was rerouted directly west from Santa Rosa to Albuquerque, New Mexico, bypassing Santa Fe. Missouri was the third state to completely pave its portion of Route 66, following Illinois and Kansas. Route 66 became a destination unto itself. With its caverns and caves, scenic mountains, beautiful canyons and sparkling deserts being heavily promoted by the U.S. 66 Highway Association, Route 66 became the ultimate road trip. This spawned trading posts, alligator farms, fullservice gas stations, grills with fried chicken, “blue plate specials” and home-made pie, “mom and pop” motor courts, Native American festivals and every other type of tourist traps known to man.
U. S. Route 66 General Road Facts U. S. Route 66 (also known as the Will Rogers Highway after the humorist and colloquially know as the “Main Street of America” or the “Mother Road”) was a highway within the U. S. Highway System. One of the original U.S. highways, Route 66 was established on November 11, 1926 with road signs erected the following year. The highway which became one of the most famous roads in America covered a total of 2,448 miles. Route 66 served as a major pathway for those who migrated west, especially during the Dust Bowl of the 1930’s and it supported the economics of the communities through which the road passed. People doing business along the route became prosperous due to the growing popularity of the highway and those same people later fought to keep the highway alive in the face of the growing threat of being bypassed by the new Interstate Highway System.
A view from historic downtown Carterville
In 1999 the National Route 66 Preservation Bill was signed into law by President Bill Clinton, which provided for $10 million in matching fund grants for preserving and restoring the historic features along the route. In 2008, the World Monuments Fund added Route 66 to the World Monuments Watch. Sites along the route, such as
gas stations, motels, cafes, trading posts and drive-in movie theaters are threatened by development in urban areas and by abandonment and decay in rural areas. The Fund, aided by financial services company American Express, helped the National Park Service develop the Route 66 Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary.
Distance on Route 66 Miles Carthage, MO to Carterville, MO . . . . 7 Carterville, MO to Webb City, MO . . . . 2 Webb City, MO to Joplin, MO . . . . . . 2
As the popularity and mythical stature of Route 66 has continued
Joplin, MO to Galena, KS . . . . . . . . 6
to grow, demands have begun to mount to improve signage,
Galena, KS to Riverton, KS . . . . . . . . 5
return Route 66 to road atlases and revive its status as a continuous routing.
Riverton, KS to Baxter Springs, KS . . . . 4 Baxter Springs, KS to Quapaw, OK . . . . 4
The National Museum of American History in Washington, D.C. has a section on U.S. Route 66 in its “American on the Move” exhibition. In the exhibit is a portion of pavement of the route taken from Bridgeport, Oklahoma and a restored car and truck of the type that would have been driven on the road in the 1930s. Also on display is a “Hamons Court” neon sign that hung at a gas station and tourist cabins near Hydro, Oklahoma.
Quapaw, OK to Commerce, OK . . . . . 6 Commerce, OK to Miami, OK . . . . . . 1 Miami, OK to Afton, OK . . . . . . . . 14 Afton, OK to Vinita, OK . . . . . . . . 14
Route 66 MISSOURI Missouri Road History
in Springfield, Missouri on April 30, 1926 that officials first proposed the name of the new Chicago-to-Los Angeles highway. A placard in Park Central Square was dedicated to the city by Road” are still visible in downtown Springfield along Kearney Street, Glenstone Avenue, College and St. Louis streets and on Missouri 266 to Halltown. Although entrepreneurs Cyrus Avery of Tulsa, Oklahoma and John Woodruff of Springfield, Missouri deserve most of the credit for promoting the idea of an interregional link between Chicago and Los Angeles, their lobbying efforts were not realized until their dreams merged with the national program of highway and road development. During World War II, migration west increased because of warrelated industries in California. Route 66, already popular and fully paved, became one of the main routes and also served for moving military equipment. Fort Leonard Wood in Missouri was located near the highway, which was locally upgraded quickly to a divided highway to help with military traffic. In the 1950’s, Route 66 became the main highway for vacationers heading to Los Angeles. The road passed through many natural wonders on its way west. The sharp increase in tourism in turn gave rise to a burgeoning trade in all manner of roadside
curio shops and reptile farms. Meramec Caverns near St. Louis
began advertising on barns, billing itself as the “Jesse James
Kansas State Line
hideout.” It also marked the birth of the fast food industry. Changes like
Missouri State Line Oklahoma State Line
the Route 66 Association of Missouri and traces of the “Mother
motels, frozen custard stands, Indian
Missouri State Line Kansas State Line
Officially recognized as the birthplace of U.S. Route 66, it was
attractions, including teepee-shaped
these to the landscape further cemented 66’s reputation as a near-perfect microcosm of the culture of America, now linked by the automobile. Increased traffic led to a number of major and minor realignments of US 66 through the years, particularly in the years immediately following World War II when Illinois began widening US 66 to four lanes through virtually the entire state from Chicago to the Mississippi River just east of St. Louis, Missouri and included bypasses around virtually all of the towns. By the early-to-mid 1950’s, Missouri also upgraded its sections of US 66 to four lanes complete with bypasses. First Route 66 associations were founded in Arizona in 1987 and Missouri in 1989 (incorporated in 1990). Other groups in the other Route 66 states soon followed. In 1990, the state of Missouri declared Route 66 in that state a “State Historic Route.” The first “Historic Route 66” marker in Missouri was erected on Kearney Street at Glenstone Avenue in Springfield, Missouri (now replaced, the original sign has been placed at Route 66 State Park near Eureka).
The murals are from the Joplin, Mo. City Hall. 3
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI A History
in 2011 and will
Welcome to Carthage, Missouri; a unique crossroad of
architecture, history, art and inspiration. Established in the
over the next several
1840’s, burned to the ground during the Civil War and
years. Ultimately, the
reconstructed during the turn of the twentieth century, Carthage
owners plan to restore
boasts progress at every turn. During the mining boom,
it to its former glory
Carthage had more millionaires per capita than any other
and offer it as an
city in America. The families left the town with a legacy of
overnight attraction to
architectural marvels that comprise some of the largest historic
travelers on the Mother Road.
districts in the state of Missouri. Carthage has four historic district with over 550 buildings listed on the National Registry
Carthage Convention and Visitors Bureau
of Historic Places. Each building housed people or businesses
402 South Garrison, Carthage, MO
with impressive tales that continue to entrigue travelers today.
Civil War guerillas, wild west outlaws, and powerful business
The intersection of Garrison and Central in Carthage where
men and women have left their marks on Carthage history. In
Jefferson Highway meets Route 66 marks “The Crossroads of
modern times, Carthageniens celebrate their heritage through
America”. Named after Thomas Jefferson, the collection of roads
art and faith to keep those legends alive.
and trails was established as a North/South Route all through the area of The Louisiana Purchase. Paved in the early 1920’s
66 Drive-in Theater
parts of the Jefferson Highway were in exsistance when Route 66
17321 Old 66 Blvd., Carthage, MO
was commissioned. The Jefferson Highway, like the more famous
Route 66, carries a collection of Americana Mom & Pop stops
The last of the original six drive-in theatres still in operation
as well as diners and overnight stops. The Carthage CVB offers
and named after
a wide range of group and individual travel services including
the famous Mother
assistance with meeting planning, step on guided group tours
Road, Route 66. The
and travel brochures and maps. Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.
66 Drive In offers
to 5 p.m.
affordable family entertainment as only
Carthage Memorial Hall
G, PG and PG-13
407 S Garrison Ave., Carthage, MO
movies are shown
on the giant screen.
Carthage’s tribute to World War I soldiers was construction of
Open seasonally, weekends of April through September. Call
the Memorial Hall in 1924. Today its auditorium and meeting
for movies and show times.
rooms are the site of club activities, auctions and concerts; both rooms can be rented for public or private events. The Edwin W.
Wiggins Post 9 American Legion is located on the second floor.
107 South Garrison, Carthage, MO
Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Built in 1939 by Arthur Boots, this motel was once the model of
Civil War Museum
modern comfort with a streamline design, tile floors and a radio
205 S Grant St., Carthage, MO
and thermostat controlled temperature in every room. Clark
Gable once stayed in room 6. The Boots Motel was purchased
The museum presents artifacts and information about the
Battle of Carthage and the Civil War in southwest Missouri.
The focalpoint is a mural painted by Andy Thomas that features
2000 Oak Street, Municipal Park on West Oak (old Route 66)
battle action on the courthouse square. Mini-displays on Belle
Kiddieland was built in the 1950’s when Carthage Kiwanis Club
Starr, African-American and Native American contributions to
bought a miniature train and laid a one quarter mile oval track
the war and a diorama complete your visit. Hours: Tuesday-
on which to run the train and a station to load and unload the
Saturday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., Sunday, 1-5 p.m. and closed
passengers. In succeeding years, a kiddiecar drive was made
Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Years Day.
and airplane ride was erected and the tubs were devised. A total of four rides make up the largest non-profit amusement
Jasper County Courthouse
park in the USA. All proceeds go to programs designed to
302 South Main St. (Historic Carthage Square), Carthage, MO
enhance the quality of life in the area. Open Memorial Day -
Labor Day on Saturday and Sunday from 2-6 p.m. Rides are 50
Built in 1894-5, this
Romanesque Revival building is constructed
Maple Leaf Festival and Parade
of Carthage stone and
A 402 South Garrison Ave., Carthage, MO
listed on the National
Register of Historic
Annual event beginning on the second weekend in October
Places. Its turrets, towers
with the Carthage Historic Downtown Art Walk and concluding
and arches evoke a
with the largest Parade and circus in southwest Missouri. The
feel of a medieval
Parade Route is one and three-quarter miles long beginning
castle looming over
at the Historic Carthage Square. Other events throughout the
the city below. Inside
festival include Pageants, Lip Sync Contest, Brats on the Square
a wrought-iron cage
and 5 K race. Admission is free. Other events throughout the
elevator still operates
festival include Pageants, Lip Sync Contest, Brats on the Square,
and an array of military artifacts and mining specimens are
and 5 K race.
displayed along with the “Forged in Fire” mural by Lowell Davis that portrays the history of Jasper County. A display representing
the history of Route 66 was added in 2009. The Jasper County
1617 W Oak St.
Courthouse is said to be the second most photographed building
in the state of Missouri. Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30
p.m. and closed state and national holidays.
powersmuseum.com Revolving exhibits
Jasper County Records
on local history,
125 N Lincoln, Carthage, MO
gift shop, research
library and Jefferson
Historic county records are housed in the facility along with
Highway and Route 66 information. Check the website for event
the Marvin L. VanGilder archive of historic data, genealogical
dates for exhibit offerings. Hours: April through mid-December,
materials, maps and photographs. Files on the Battle of Carthage
Tuesday-Saturday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
and the Civil War in the region are also available. Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. and closed state and national holidays. 5
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
Stone’s Throw Dinner Theatre 796 S Stone, Carthage, MO 417-358-9665 stonesthrowdinnertheatre.webs.com Stone’s Throw Dinner Theatre features range from comedies to mysteries and dramas to children’s theatre. Your night at the theater starts with enjoying a three course meal especially prepared by a local chef. After dinner, take in our live action theatre in an experience you are sure to remember. At intermission, relax and try our dessert menu. It’s dinner and a show at its best! Reservations are required.
Victorian Homes Driving Tour 402 South Garrison, Carthage, MO
Red Oak II
County Loop 122, Carthage, MO
One of the state’s largest historic disricts on the National
Visit Red Oak II, the creation of “Missoura’s” homegrown,
Register of Historic Places, the driving tour is a self-guided
shade-tree artist, Lowell Davis. Take a trip to yesteryear and
leisurely look at the region’s most architecturally significant
stroll along the gravel path to view the re-creation of an 1800
residences. These private homes, erected between 1870 and
country village, featuring a general store, country church, one
1910 were built by quarry-men, mine owners, merchants and
room schoolhouse, town hall, a 1920’s cottage style Phillips 66
other capitalists in a variety of Victorian styles. Brochures and
gasoline station, Marshall’s Office and much more.
audio commentary available at the CVB office. Group Tours and step on guide services also available.
Whee Bridge Oak Street between Garrison & Baker 417-359-8181 One of the last of it’s kind and located on Historic Route 66, the Whee Bridge has brought delight and squeals to those who cross it for decades. With a sharp incline and drastic decent, the bridge tickles the tummy and gives the driver a sense of adventure. Tragicaly, the Whee Bridge is scheduled for demolition and reconstruction when budgets allow. Be sure to shout “Whee” as you cross!
Red Oak II in Carthage, MO
Carthage Inn 2244 Grand Ave., Carthage, MO 417-358-2499 carthageinn.com
5305 S. Garrison Avenue Carthage, MO 417-358-3666
13965 Ballard Loop Carthage, MO 417-359-0359
Dean’s Antique Mall & Flea Market
places to stay
Best Budget Inn 13008 State Highway 96 Carthage, MO 417-358-6911
Best Western Precious Moments Hotel 2701 Hazel, Carthage, MO 417-359-5900 hotel.preciousmoments.com
Big Red barn RV Park 5089 Country Lane 138 Carthage, MO 417-358-2432 bigredbarnrvpark.com
Boots Motel 107 S. Garrison, Carthage, MO 417-310-2989 bootsmotel.com Built in 1939 by Arthur Boots, this motel was once the model of moden comfort with a streamline design, tile floors and a radio & thermostat controlled temerature in every room. Clark Gable once stayed in room 6. The Boots Motel was purchased in 2011 and will undergo renovations over the next several years. Ultimately, the owners plan to restore it to its former glory and offer it as an overnight attraction to passers on the Mother Road.
1200 Oak Street, Carthage, MO 417-358-6104 More than 130 dealer booths & open daily. Browse the selection of new furniture and mattresses. Busses Welcome!
Econo Lodge 1441 W. Central Carthage, MO 417-358-3900 econolodge.com
Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast 1615 Grand Avenue, Carthage, MO 417-358-7265 grand-avenue.com
Guest House 417 E. Central, Carthage, MO 417-358-4077
Super 8 416 W. Fir Rd. Carthage, MO 417-359-9000 super8.com
PLACES TO EAT
Lucky J Steakhouse & Arena
11664 East Fir Road, Carthage, MO 417-358-2370 luckyjarena.com The ultimate American Midwest Experience: A restaurant and rodeo in one! Enjoy activities behind a glass window while savoring one of the finest steaks in the area. Activities include: team roping, barrel racing, cowboy mounted shooting and more.
102 N. Garrison Carthage, MO 417-358-1611
Boomer’s BBQ and Catering 1220 Oak Street, Carthage, MO 417-358-8112, boomersbbqandcatering. com
Braum’s Ice Cream 325 South Garrison, Carthage, MO 417-358-5088
Carthage Deli and Ice Cream 301 S. Main, Carthage, MO 417-358-8820, carthagedeli. com Memorabilia from years ago decorate the walls of the Carthage Deli. Serving excellent sandwiches, breakfast, cappuccinos and ice cream for over thirty years, The Carthage Deli is a must see site on the Historic Carthage Square.
Daylight Donuts 431 South Garrision, Carthage, MO 417-358-8020
Pancake Hut 301 South Garrison, Carthage, MO 417-358-9807
Sassy Spoon 413 Grant St. Carthage, MO 417-358-5810 Specializing in custom made sandwiches, soups, salads and desserts.
The White Rose Winery, Restaurant, Bed & Breakfast and Art Gallery 13001 Journey Road, Carthage, MO 417-359-9253 whiterosebed-breakfast.com
Whisler’s Drive-up 300 N. Garrision, Carthage, MO 417-358-4951 Fast-food drive-up hamburger, soft drinks and milkshake establishment.
The White Rose Winery, Restaurant, Bed & Breakfast and Art Gallery 13001 Journey Road, Carthage, MO 417-359-9253 whiterosebed-breakfast.com
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI Shopping
Colonial House 348 Grant Street
Carthage Hardware and Furniture
119 East 3rd., Carthage, MO
Colonial House is a family owned and operated business
Located on the north side of the historic Carthage Square. This
located on the Historic Carthage Square. Specializing in
old-time hardware store pre-dates the Civil War. Serving area
Colonial and Early American period home furnishings with
families for five generations, Carthage Hardware has grown
high end country accents, the unique store features Johnston
to include furniture, giftware and Precious Moments figures as
Benchwork, upholstered colonial settees and wing back chairs,
well as a huge grandfather clock shop and full hardware shop
Lt. Moses Willard chandeliers, and lamps, Riverbend handmade
including plumbing and lawn and garden. Come hear the wood
windsors and settees, reproduction pewter, braided and penny
floors squeak, smell the fragrance of the bulk seeds in the garden
rugs, candles and historic as well as reproduction prints and a
shop and enjoy the music of the clocks. A must see in Carthage
wide range of Americana prints and accessories. Many of our
on the Square. Hours: Monday-Saturday 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
pieces are hand made in the United States.
Cherry’s Custom Framing
Dean’s Antique Mall & Flea Market
310 South Howard Street, Carthage, MO
1200 Oak Street, Carthage, MO
More than 130 dealer booths & open daily. Browse the
The biggest little art gallery in the Midwest! Cherry’s is a
selection of new furniture and mattresses. Busses Welcome!
traditional gallery, featuring many artists, both locally and nationally recognized. We also carry Carthage historical prints
Historic Old Cabin Shop
and gift items. Open Monday-Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
155 North Black Powder Lane
Cherry’s Custom Framing & Art gallery is owned and operated
by Cherry and Joe Babcock located at 310 Howard St. in
Site of the authentic 1830’s cabin used as the meeting place to
Carthage, Missouri. The historic building has been used to
form Jasper County’s government in 1841, visitor’s can browse
house a black smith, a cabinet maker, and as well as storage for
through the adjacent retail shop that displays a large collection
Cantrell Seed House. The neighboring building once belonged
of Native American artifacts, as well as a facinating collection
to Raymond Cantrell, Cherry’s grandfather, who operated
of armaments. Guns, ammo, reloading black powder supplies
Cantrell’s Seed House, which was renowned for its wide
and bee supplies. Carry and conceal classes available. Open
selection of products and friendly service. Cherry continues
Tue-Fri 10am - 5 pm, Sat 9 am- 5 pm and Sun 1pm-5pm.
the tradition of service and selection in the art industry. Representing some of the finest artists in the nation specializing
in paintings and sculptures in a wide variety of subject matter.
The art in the gallery ranges from traditional oil paintings by
1515 Oak St., Carthage, MO
artists such as John Pototschnik, Theresa Rankin, Bob Tommey,
417- 358-3331, Ksjewelryandgift.com
Todd Williams, Jim Lewis, John Lasater, Lowell Davis, and Andy
A unique boutique located inside Lambeth Auto carrying the
Thomas, watercolors and oils by artists such as Jerry Ellis and
latest styles in fashion jewelry, fun stretchy bracelets, watches,
Bob Graham, sculptures of stone and bronze done by the
purses and much more. We offer free gift wrap for your
like of Richard Thompson and Robin Putnam, to the unique
convenience. Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m. After hours
contemporary style of Tricia Courtney.
Koka Art Gallery
Sports and Recreation
409 South Main 417-358-2889
Bud and Gloria’s Bait Shop
Koka Art Gallery is located right off the Historic Carthage
425 E Hwy 96, Carthage, MO
Square on Main Street. Featuring local artists and a variety of
mediums. Open Tues-Fri 10 am to 5:30 pm; Sat 9 am - 1 pm
Near Kellogg Lake, we assist floating and fishing enthusiasts
and other hours by appointment.
and offer canoe rental, live bait, fishing tackle and licenses.
Miss Madi’s Place Antiques and More
a.m.-6 p.m., Saturday 8 a.m.-6 p.m.
620 East Central Avenue, Carthage, MO 417-358-9000 Located on old Route 66 in a clean friendly environment, we offer a variety of new and old furniture, home décor, collectables, glassware, pottery, cast iron tools, jewelry, clothes, toys, books, movies and so much more. If we don’t have it, we will help you look for it. Hours: Monday-Friday 10 a.m.4:30 p.m. and Saturday 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Maple Leaf Marketplace 342 Grant Street, Carthage, MO 417-358-1860 Authentic 1800’s-1950’s Antique Furniture and small collectibles. Specializing in unique items of historic importance. Hours: Monday-Saturday 10 a.m-5 p.m. and Sunday by appointment.
Oldies and Oddities Mall 331 S. Main St., Carthage, MO 417- 358-1752 Located on the west side of the historic Carthage Square. Features two levels of collectibles, books, antiques, glassware and furniture from more than 60 dealers. Hours: MondaySunday 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Unique Décor 336 Grand St., Carthage, MO 417- 358-0077 Located on the east side of the historic Carthage Square, we are a gift shop for all occasions! We offer many Christian and Willow Tree items, cards, books, framed pictures, plaques, cardboard stand-ups, sports and entertainment memorabilia as well a the largest section of Route 66 items in Carthage and so much more! Hours: Monday-Saturday 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Propane exchange available. Hours: Monday-Friday 10:30
Carthage Golf Course 2000 Richard Webster Dr., Carthage, MO 417-237-7030, carthagegolfcourse.com Enjoy our beautiful 18-hole championship course with a view of Route 66! Four sets of tee boxes encourage play of all abilities while also providing the challenge of modern golf. Practice green, driving range, snack bar, PGA professional instruction and pro shop available.
Kellogg Lake 1215 Esterly Drive, East of Carthage on Old Route 66 A wonderful place to unwind and relax. A portion of the original Route 66 pavement runs along Spring River. Kellogg Lake features one of the largest outdoor classrooms in the region. Students and families alike can explore the diverse flora and fauna in the area. Enjoy fishing hiking and picnicking. Admission is free to the public. Hours: dawn to dusk.
Municipal Park 2000 Oak Street, Carthage, MO 417- 237-7035 Featuring a rock stadium, baseball and adult softball practice fields, and a variety of grills and covered shelters, the park is an ideal spot for family excursions.
Medicine Hat Trading Company 12724 Co Rd 70, Carthage, MO 417- 246-5889, medhattrails.com Located off Route 66 in Carthage, this is an opportunity to get back to nature. The Medicine Hat Trading Company offers family friendly horses, guided trail rides, camping, corporate challenges and private lessons. Hours: By reservation year round.
Municipal Park 521 Robert Ellis Young Dr., Carthage, MO 417- 237-0225 Featuring a rock stadium, baseball and adult softball practice fields, and grills and covered shelters. The park is an ideal spot for family excursions.”
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
Carthage Calendar of Events April
First Friday in April-66 Drive-in Theater Season opening
First Thursday through Sunday-Marian Days at CMC Fairview
Carthage Historic Downtown Art Walk at the Historic Carthage
Square Carthage Business Expo at Memorial Hall
October Second Friday and Saturday- Carthage Historic Downtown Art Walk at the Historic Carthage Square
First Saturday-Carthage Residents’ City-wide Garage Sale
Second Saturday through third Sunday-City-wide Annual Maple
Second Tuesday-Carthage Travel Rally at the Carthage CVB
Third Saturday-Annual Maple Leaf Festival Parade at Historic Carthage Square
Kids’ Fishing Day at Kellogg Lake Carthage Historic Downtown Art Walk at the Historic Carthage
Friday after Thanksgiving Day through December 31-Way of
Precious Moments Collectors’ Reunion at the Precious Moments
Salvation Driving Lights Tour at CMC Fairview and Grand
Chapel and Gardens
December First Saturday- Carthage Historic Downtown Art Walk at the
July 4-Celebration and Fireworks at Municipal Park
Historic Carthage Square
July 5-Battle of Carthage Vespers Service at the Battle of
First Saturday-Carthage Area Retailers’ Christmas Open House
Carthage State Park
First Monday-Carthage Christmas Parade at Historic Carthage
British Car Show at Historic Carthage Square
Carthage Area Retailers’ City-wide Sidewalk Sale All dates and events are subject to change. Details and event updates can be found at visit-carthage.com
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
SuperTAM on 66- Superman Memorabilia An Ice Cream Parlor with the Greatest Double-Dipper: Superman on 66! Owner, Larry Tamminen has been collecting superman memorabilia for over 30 years and has recently opened an ice cream shop to accommodate his museum. This parlor has all flavors of ice cream from the Chocolate Shoppe Ice Cream Company in Wisconsin. For some old fashion fun, drop by and have some ice cream and enjoy the Superman collection. Open March – October, Tuesday – Friday, 5 p.m. – 9 p.m. and weekends, 3 p.m. – 9 p.m. Located at 221 W. Main Street, Carterville, MO. For more information, please call 417-673-7750.
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
History of Webb City
to buy him out of the partnership. Daugherty was Webb’s neighbor and the new partnership continued to fight the
Our roots are literally in the
“devil water” as they attempted to mine the land. Granville
ground. John Webb, for whom
Ashcraft of Oronogo came to investigate and said he was
the city is named, plowed up a
sure he could overcome the water. Webb leased the land to
large chunk of lead ore one day
Daugherty and Ashcraft and Webb City’s history began.
in 1875 and from there sprang one of the richest lead and zinc mining areas in the world and this city. A bit of the history of the town can be read on its street signs and buildings, Aylor, Ball, Chinn, Daugherty and Webb. The city was established in the year 1876, the year of the 100th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence. A bright sunny day in June of 1873 brought a surprise to John C. Webb as he was plowing his fields. Webb had moved to this area from Tennessee in 1856 and purchased 200 acres of land in Jasper County. Farming was his passion and he enjoyed each day of his life. John was plowing the rich dirt on this bright summer day, when his plow blade hit a large chunk of rock. As he removed the rock from the dirt, a glimmer of sunlight bounced off the shiny metal mixed in the rock. Webb knew in an instant that the rock contained lead but he was a practical farmer and knew he had to finish his plowing and get the seed in the ground. Webb set the shiny rock aside and forgot about it until the fall of 1874. A traveling miner by the name of Murrell stopped by Webb’s farm in search of some food. After a warm supper, Murrell noticed the rock on the mantel and inquired of Webb if he knew what it was. Murrell was so excited as he informed Webb that if there was a chunk of lead that size to be uncovered there was much more to be found further down in the ground. After much persuasion, Webb said they could start digging after he harvested the crops. Murrell supplied the knowledge and Webb supplied the land and equipment and neither of them had any idea of the hard work they would entail as they fought the rising water each time they tried to dig a little deeper. Murrell became frustrated and jumped at the offer of W.A. Daugherty of $25
Other industrious men aided John C. Webb in establishing the town of Webbville. It was platted in July 1875 and the city was incorporated as Webb City in December of 1876. Elijah Lloyd helped Webb lay out the town, James E. McNair assisted in building beautiful homes and James O’Neill established the water works, the gas company and built the impressive Newland Hotel. A.H. Rogers connected all the mining towns with his Southwest Electric Railway. Charles McDaniel established the first telephone line in Webb City; the American Bell Telephone Company 1881. Charles Manker and William S. Stewart organized and established the Webb City Electric Telephone Company, which put two telephone lines in one town. Many contributions by local men helped put Webb City on the map. A town is not built by one man alone. Webb City has always had a good mode of transportation with a stagecoach company carrying folks into the new city as soon as word of the discovery of lead reached outlying areas. The Missouri and Northwestern Railway (The Frisco) Depot was built in the west end of town in 1879. Two years later the Missouri Pacific Railroad Depot was built on the east side of town. A.H. Rogers started the first mule drawn streetcar between Webb City and Carterville in 1889 but quickly grasped the invention of the electric streetcars and established the Southwest Missouri Railway Association in 1893 with the headquarters being established in Webb City. A miner could reach any local mining town by hopping on a streetcar. Webb City was noted as the Richest Zinc and Lead Mining District in the World in 1916 when the mining industry reached its peak. Zinc was valued at $135 a ton. In 1918, with the greatest ore strike in Oklahoma, the mining industry in Webb City began to decline. The leaders of Webb City
stepped up to the plate and determined that Webb City would
not fail. They went in search of industry. In 1920, Webb City
The home of Joseph Aylor, the President of the Merchant and
attained the distinction of increasing her industries more than
Miners Bank is located on the SW corner of Daugherty and
any other city in the United States with an increase of 250
Webb. A mining tycoon, Aylor was an example of the “from
percent. That same drive to survive has held the city of Webb
rags to riches story” in the mining business.
City together throughout the years. The City of Webb City, Chamber of Commerce and the School District work together to
Colonel James O’Neill Home
help make Webb City the community in which families want to
This beautiful home is located on the SW corner of Pennsylvania
raise their children.
and Broadway. O’Neill was responsible for establishing the Webb City water works, the gas company and built the lavish
Newland Hotel on Main Street of Webb City. The Colonel was an honest, generous, industrious and foresighted man who was
a major asset to the history of Webb City.
The home of E.T. (Elijah Thomas) Webb, son of the Founder of Webb City, John C. Webb is located on the SW corner of
George Bruen Home
Liberty and Broadway. The home was built around 1880.
Located at 16 S. Pennsylvania just south of the James O’Neill
E.T. Webb and his father established the Webb City Bank in
home. Bruen was the son-in-law and business partner to Colonel
1882. Well known for his art collection, E.T. displayed that
James O’Neill. He assisted the Colonel in all of his business
extensive art collection in this home.
ventures and was his right hand man.
The Ball Home
The home of Jane Chinn; a lady who was born before her time.
This home is located on the SW corner of Washington and
Eliza Jane Webb Stewart Chinn owned many mines and was
Daugherty. George Ball came to Webb City without a cent
quite a business minded lady. Jane and her husband Charles
to his name, no shoes on his feet and dreams of becoming
Chinn donated the funds to build and furnish the Jane Chinn
Hospital in 1910.
succeeded. He made
Jane Chinn Hospital
it rich in
This hospital was
also was in
built in 1910 at a
cost of $60,000. The
building has been
turned into Senior
Citizen housing. It is
located at the corner of Austin and Rose Streets.
the city’s growing housing districts.
Each house in the Ball addition had concrete balls on pedestals to note they were in the Ball Addition.
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
Points of Interest
Route 66 Mural Mural of highlights along Route 66 located on the Bruner
The Clubhouse Museum
Pharmacy building at Main and Broadway, Webb City, MO
Built in 1910 as the clubhouse employees of the Southwest Missouri Electric Railway Company, the museum now houses
Route 66 Theater
Webb City History. Tours by appointment contact 417-673-
A renovated, nostalgic theater
5866, 115 N Madison, Webb City, MO
from the era of Route 66 is great for family entertainmen,
Route 66 Cruise Night
featuring a different movie
In Downtown Webb
City, this event has car
24 S. Main, Webb City, MO
shows, classics, antiques and more. It is held on
Bridge- One of Missouriâ€™s oldest Steel bridges.
the second Saturday of
Brought to Webb City in1996 and set in place in 2006
the month April through
joining with the King Jack Park walking trail. The bridge was
September, from 5 â€“ 8 p.m.
transported from Georgia City, where it was erected in 1871.
Route 66 Lakeside Mural
Libary- Andrew Carnegie-1912
In his second Route 66 mural, artist John Biggs portrays vintage
One of the few Andrew Carnegie libraries still being used.
automobiles and motorcycles in a rural setting just east of
The new addition to the library blends well with the existing
Webb City. The Lakeside Route 66 mural is the bridge that was
building. The building exterior has samples of the lead and zinc
constructed in 1922. The mural is 8-by-16 and hangs in the
mined in this area. It is located at 101 S. Liberty Street, Webb
Route 66 Visitors Center and Chamber of Commerce office at
City, MO.Webb City Public Library
the corner of Webb Street and Broadway, Webb City, MO
One of the few Andrew Carnegie libraries still being used.
liberation of France in World War II. A commemorative plaque
The new addition to the library blends well with the existing
illustrates the crew and the gun’s operation.
structure. The building exterior has samples of the lead and zinc mined in this area. 101 Liberty, Webb City, MO
Kneeling Miner Statue, The 10 foot Kneeling Miner, created by Webb City artist Jack Dawson,
Webb City Mural
commemorates the city’s early 20th century history
The 30 foot oil mural depicting 100 years of Webb City history
of lead mining.
is on permanent display in one of the city’s oldest businesses, Mid-Missouri Bank, during business hours.
Old Streetcar No. 60, The fully restored 1893 streetcar rumbles around the tracks in King Jack Park on the second
Civil War History
Saturday of the month
Webb City was not incorporated as a city during the Civil War,
from 9 a.m.to Noon and
but many of the Jasper County residents who were living in the
also by appointment for
area that would become Webb City did their patriotic duty and
went to fight the battles. John C. Webb, the founder of the city
even joined in battles of the Civil Wars. His son-in-law, William Hall was one of the first to join with the newly formed Jasper
Praying Hands, A wonderful statue by artist
County Confederates and later served as the Treasurer of the
Jack Dawson was built in 1974 and dedicated
Jasper County United Confederate Veteran’s Camp.
during Webb City’s Centennial in 1976. The statue is a reminder of “Hands in Prayer, World
at Peace”. The statue is known worldwide and the flag was donated by a local family.
King Jack Park 555 S. Main, Webb City, MO est. 1967
Streetcar Depot, The old Prosperity Junction streetcar depot
Home of the Praying Hands, the Kneeling Miner, the Southwest
has been reconstructed at the entrance to King Jack Park, next
Missouri Association Marker, the Old # 60 Streetcar, the
to the re-laid tracks. It houses a display on the Southwest
Mining Days Community Building, the Amphitheater, Sucker
Missouri Electric Railway.
Flats (beautiful lake from an abandoned mine), Paradise Lake with the old Georgia City Bridge, the award winning Farmer’s
Webb City Farmers Market, Year-round award winning
Market, the Howitzer gun, “Jeannie” from WWII, tennis courts,
farmers market. May – October: Tuesday and Friday, 11
soccer fields, walking trails, softball and baseball fields. King
a.m. – 2 p.m. June – September: Saturday, 9 a.m. – Noon.
Jack Park is located on the south end of Main Street.
November – April: first and third Friday, 11 a.m. – 2 p.m.
Georgia City Bridge, one of Missouri’s oldest steel bridges. Brought to Webb City in 1996 and set in place in 2006 joining with the King Jack Park walking trail. The bridge was transported from Georgia City, where it was erected in 1871. Jeannie, The Number One Gun of Battery B, Jeannie, a 105mm howitzer, played a lead role in the 79th Division’s
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI Information Visitor’s Center- Broadway and Webb Streets on Route 66 Chamber of Commerce – in the Visitor’s Center City Hall – Main and Second Streets, Webb City Genealogy Society – Third Floor of Library, First and Liberty Streets, Webb City, MO.
Places to Eat Arby’s Roast Beef – 1704 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Bamboo Chinese Carryout – 111 N. Madison, Webb City, MO Bradbury Bishop Deli- Nostalgic – 201 N. Main, Webb City, MO Cooper’s Grill – 1505 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Culver’s- America’s 1st Route 66 Culver’s – 475 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Memorial Park – est. 1919 The park was established in memory of those who
Del Rio Bordertown Café – 1801 N. Range Line, Webb City, MO
perished during World War I. Since then memorial has
Domino’s Pizza – 1010 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
been added to honor those who gave their life in service for our country in all wars. It is located on Daugherty Street between Ball and Pennsylvania Streets, Webb City, MO
Hatten Park – est. 1933
El Rey Tacos and Burritos – 402 S. Jefferson, Webb City, MO Fat T’s – 660 West Daugherty, Webb City, MO Granny Shaffer’s – Family dining – 2728 N. Rangeline, Webb City, MO
to the city, this park was the previous location of the
Kentucky Fried Chicken – 1731 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Webb City College which was built in 1894. Many
Maria’s – Mexican – 1010 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
class reunion picnics and family fun has been celebrated
McDonald’s – 410 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Named in honor of A.D. Hatten, who donated the land
at this park. It is located at College and Austin Streets, Webb City, MO Other parks in the city include, House Memorial and Hall Street.
Mucho Mexico – 708 W. 4th Street, Webb City, MO Norma’s – family cooking- 21 S. Main, Webb City, MO Norma’s House of Pancakes – 2613 N. Range Line, Webb City, MO Papa John’s Pizza – 501 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Papa Murphy’s Pizza – 1715 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Shopping on Route 66
Pizza Hut – 1897 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Quizno’s Subs – 501 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Memorial Park – est. 1919 Beaver’s Dam –Antiques & Notions – 210 East Broadway, Webb City, MO
Sonic Drive In – 1310 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Sub Shop Deli – 328 S. Hall, Webb City, MO Subway – 1612 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Bruner’s Pharmacy & Gifts – 101 West
Subway at Wal Mart – 1212 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Daugherty, Webb City, MO
Taco Bell – 1708 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Clawpaws Pet Shop – 212 N. Main, Webb City,
Taco Gringo- locally owned – 1401 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Henkle’s Ace Hardware & Gifts – 1201 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
‘Lil Rascals – 510 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Thai Spice – 209 N. Main, Webb City, MO Up In Flames Woodfire Pizza and Pasta – 1612 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Waffle House – 1208 S. Madison, Webb City, MO Wendy’s – 1229 S. Madison, Webb City, MO
Take Nature’s Path & The Coffee Place – 510 S. Madison, Webb City, MO 17
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
Newman Building and the Murals at Joplin City Hall 602 S. Main Street Joplin, MO Celebrating its 100th Birthday in November of 2010; this five story commercial building was constructed in 1910 in the Chicago Style of commercial architecture by local architect Austin Allen. Owned and operated by Joseph Newman, the Newman Building was known as the largest and finest department store in the region and was referred to as “a palatial home of merchandising” by the Joplin News Herald upon its grand opening. Newman’s was the anchor for the downtown retail district into the mid Sixties and eventually moved to Northpark Mall, located in what is now the Range Line retail district. In 2003 city leaders purchased the building and began restoration work to convert this former department store into the current home for Joplin City Hall which houses several city departments along with two hanging murals, supporting mural exhibit and a pictorial history exhibit. The exhibits are free and open to the public Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. and by appointment on weekends. Call 417-625-4789 or 800-657-2534 for more information. On permanent display in Joplin City Hall, “Joplin at the Turn of the Century, 1896-1906” is Thomas Hart Benton’s only autobiographical work and certainly one of his finest creations. Dedicated on Joplin’s 100th birthday in 1973, the stunning work depicts early Joplin and its mining history. Accompanying the mural is the fascinating Evolution of a Mural, a display documenting the development of the piece and Benton’s thought process behind For more information on Hotels, Restaurants and Attractions call us at 800-657-2534.
the creation of his final mural. It includes the artist’s rough sketches and drawings of the monumental
work in progress.Commissioned in 2009 by the Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce Cultural Affairs Committee and donated to the City of Joplin, the mural entitled “Route 66 – Joplin, Missouri” was completed and dedicated in April of 2010. Artist Anthony Benton Gude, the grandson of Thomas Hart Benton, created the piece as a reflection of Joplin during the mid Twentieth century with specific focus on Route 66 and its relevance to the vitality of Main Street America. This piece is on permanent display in Joplin City Hall.
istoric Sunshine Lamp District— H Downtown Joplin The historic downtown district has recently received a facelift thanks to a revitalization project initiated by the city in 2005. Historic buildings have received new facades and restoration to architectural details that have been complemented by the new streetscaping and introduction of trees, flowering plants, light poles and park benches. All of the recent improvements have served as a catalyst to bring back local retail and restaurants and provide activities and events for Route 66 enthusiasts traveling down the portion of the Mother Road that runs from 7th street to 2nd street along Main Street in the Historic Sunshine Lamp District. At one time, the downtown district played host to several large scale events including the Fall Fiesta, Festival of the Four States, movie premiers and more. New initiatives such as 3rd Thursday’s that feature art walks, music in the park and more and the Holiday Experience, a two-week Festival of events in December, hope to re-establish the district as a gathering place for community celebrations.
Joplin Memorial Hall—212 W. 8th Street Joplin, MO After World War I, the Robert S. Thurman post of the American Legion spearheaded an initiative to construct a grand opera house and convention hall that would stand as a memorial to the brave men and women that served in all branches of the armed forces. Construction on the $250,000 building began in August of 1924 and the building was dedicated on October 18, 1925. Nearly 2,000 people attended the dedication ceremony that included music by the 203rd regimental band and various speeches from political dignitaries. Monuments honoring World War I, World War II, Korea and Vietnam veterans are located on the grounds. Today the Hall hosts a variety of events including athletic tournaments, ballet, music concerts, the Shrine Circus, craft shows and more. See joplinmemorialhall.com for more information. In August of 1927, the Route 66 highway came through Joplin.
Schifferdecker Park—7th Street/Hwy 66 and Schifferdecker Ave., Joplin, MO Located just two miles west of the historic downtown district is Schifferdecker Park, named after German immigrant and prominent Joplin businessman Charles Schifferdecker. This park was once known as Electric Park, so named because of the 40,000 incandescent bulbs installed on the park structures and included amenities such as roller coaster rides, sideshows, animal exhibits, concession and souvenir stands, a skating rink, boating lagoon, German village beer garden and swimming pool. Over 12,000 people attended the grand opening of Electric Park and it was dubbed the “Coney Island of the Kansas-Missouri mining District” by the Joplin Globe. In 1912, the amusement park was forced to close due to the fact that it
Schifferdecker Park became increasingly popular with tourists and campers due to the fact that they could stay for no charge at the park which supplied fuel, water and police protection for overnight guests. Although the Electric Park had long since been dismantled, guests could still enjoy the serene beauty of The Sunken Garden, the swimming pool, the golf course and the zoo on the park grounds. Today Schifferdecker Park is home to a public swimming pool, the Joplin Museum Complex, the Joplin Athletic Complex, Joplin Little Theatre and the Schifferdecker Golf Course. The golf course is an 18-hole public golf course that continues to host one of the oldest golf tournaments west of the Mississippi, the Ozark Amateur, which was established in 1922.
could not sustain the cost of daily operation. In 1913, Charles Schifferdecker deeded 40 acres of the park to the City of Joplin with the stipulation that it be used perpetually as a free park. continued on page 20 19
Attractions on Route 66 MISSOURI
Joplin Museum Complex—4th Street and Schifferdecker Ave., Joplin, MO Nestled in the heart of Schifferdecker Park is the Joplin Museum Complex which is home to two outstanding educational museums: The Everett J. Ritchie Tri-State Mineral Museum and the Dorthea B. Hoover Historical Museum. As they tour the complex, guests will learn about the origins of Joplin as a mining boomtown while inside a replica of a mine shaft and hear the story of the city’s growth and development into Missouri’s fourth largest metropolitan area. The museum also features displays about Historic Route 66, Bonnie and Clyde’s adventures in Joplin, the mysterious Spooklight and more! The Museum Complex is open daily, excluding Mondays, and there is a nominal admission fee. Group discounts are available. Please call 417-623-1180 or log on to joplinmuseum.org for more information.
Route 66 Carousel Park—3834 West 7th Street Joplin, MO The park provides family entertainment for all ages with 36 holes of mini-golf, go-karts, arcade, amusement rides, batting cages, bumper boats, jumping pillow and much more. Located on Route 66, call 417-626-7710 or visit route66carouselpark.com for information.
Lodging on Route 66 1. Budget Inn 1822 W. 7th Street, Joplin, MO 417-623-6191 35 units, outdoor swimming pool 2. P laza Motel 2612 East 7th Street, Joplin, MO 417-623-0610 20 units Restaurants on Route 66 1. A rdes Main St. Bistro – Mediterranean 407 S. Main Street, Joplin, MO 417-624-3536 2. Caldone’s 218 E. Main Street, Joplin, MO 417-626-8111 3. Club 609 – Urban Fine Dining 609 S. Main Street, Joplin, MO 417-623-6090 4. H ackett Hot Wings – BBQ 520 S. Main Street, Joplin, MO 417-625-1333 5. Instant Karma – Gourmet Hot Dogs 527 S. Main Street Joplin, MO 417-206-3647 6. L otus Garden - Chinese Buffet 1818 W. 7th Street, Joplin, MO 417-624-6509 7. Lumpy’s BBQ 1316 Broadway, Joplin, MO 417-623-7183 8. M onterey Downtown Grill 212 S. Main Street Joplin, MO 417-624-4499 9. W oody’s Woodfire Pizza 1831 W. 7th Street, Joplin, MO 417-782-9663
Oktoberfest New to the Joplin event scene in 2011, Oktoberfest brought
Mother Road Marathon Established in 2010, the Mother Road Marathon is a race unlike any other in the nation. Beginning in Commerce, Oklahoma this 26.2 marathon winds through Quapaw, Oklahoma; Baxter Springs, Kansas; Riverton, Kansas and Galena, Kansas along route 66 ending in Joplin, Missouri. It is the only marathon in the country that crosses three states along the famous highway. Past races have drawn international runners from 6 countries and nationally from over 30 different states. The race was developed by the Joplin Convention & Visitors Bureau in partnership with the cities and agencies along the race route and is quickly garnering national attention among the race community having won a place in the top 25 race medal awards in the country from Marathon & Beyond magazine.
a long-awaited seasonal favorite to the heart of downtown. This two day event offered live music, a traditional style beer garden, craft vendors, kidsâ€™ activities and more. It is set amidst the historic backdrop of downtown Joplin. For more information, go to facebook.com/oktoberfestjoplin.
Holiday Experience Celebrating its fourth year in 2011, the Holiday Experience has grown from a four day schedule of events to over two weeksâ€™ worth of holiday celebration. Each year during the first two weeks of December, the Joplin Convention & Visitors Bureau promotes all of the Christmas and Holiday events happening. To kick it off, there is an unveiling of department store style Christmas windows at Joplin City Hall and the lighting of the city Christmas tree in Spiva Park. Other traditional favorites in the event lineup include the annual Joplin Jaycees Christmas Parade, Dickensfest celebration in Historic Murphysburg, The Living Christmas Tree at Ozark Christian College, Breakfast with Santa and the Candy Cane Hunt, Historic Holiday Tours, a Winter Wonderland Hike and many more! For more information, please visit visitjoplinmo.com or facebook.com/ holidayexperience or call 800-657-2534.
The Mother Road Marathon runs in mid October and features a half marathon and 5K event as well. Registration opens in early spring. For more information, go to runMRM.com or call 800-657-2534.
Third Thursday Developed in 2008 as an Art Walk by the Downtown Joplin Alliance, Third Thursday has grown to include street vendors, live music performances, special events and demonstrations, and seasonal favorites. These favorites include ghost tours and historic holiday tours as well as a thriving art walk filled with pop-up galleries and brick and mortar favorites. Third Thursday runs March through October in downtown Joplin along Main Street and neighboring streets. For more information, go to facebook.com/downtownjoplin.
Missouri State Line Kansas State Line
Missouri State Line Oklahoma State Line
Kansas State Line Oklahoma State Line
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
Upon leaving Missouri, one enters historic Galena Kansas. Nestled in the foothills of the Ozarks, Galena is a city with a long and exciting past. The early settlers in the area found rich soil, deeply timbered woods abounding in wild game and clear sparkling streams. The town lies within the region once designated as the Cherokee Neutral Lands. Settlement by white men was illegal but people came anyway, attracted by the richness of the natural resources. Little did they realize that this area would burst into a frenzy of activity and speculation beyond anyoneâ€™s imagination.
GALENA, KANSAS A History Galena Area during the Civil War This entire area was the scene of much violence during the period leading up to the Civil War. Border ruffians and guerillas clashed with the settlers, often robbing and even murdering those they suspected of being Free-Staters, supporting the effort to get Kansas admitted to the Union as a free, anti-slavery state. Stories abound about those dangerous days and legends have been told for years about settlers burying their meager treasure in the ground to keep it from intruders and of guerillas burying their pillaged loot with the idea of picking it up later. Whether treasures were buried throughout the area, no one knows for sure but through the years since, many have looked for buried treasure. During the Civil War, many local settlers left the area for safety, moving to points further west. Some returned after the war, only to find their cabins burned.
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
The First Mining Town in Southeast Kansas The existence of lead ore in the district was known to the Indians long before the coming of the white men. Most of the early settlers knew that lead ore was here but felt that it didn’t exist in quantities large enough to justify a mining operation. In spite of the indifference of some local people, others believed pay ore could be found along Short Creek, a tributary that ran through the valley just north of present day Route 66. At that time, the small settlement that had sprung up here after the Civil War was known as Short Creek. However, in 1876, a mass of pure lead ore was accidentally discovered at the bottom of a well on a farm. A company was formed, the farm purchased, buildings were erected and the mining camp of Bonanza came into existence. A year later, two young boys uncovered a large deposit of pure lead ore a mile southeast of the Bonanza. The news spread like wild fire and the mining boom began. Everywhere, corn fields and farms were bought and transformed into large mining fields. As news of the discovery spread, fortune hunters and adventurers rushed to the new camp and hundreds of tents dotted the landscape, and rudely constructed huts were thrown together as shelters for as many as 10,000 people. Almost every shaft sunk gave up large deposits of ore. For the next 40 years, great fortunes were
have persisted through the years of those wild and unruly days. At the height of all this activity, the animosity grew between the two cities and the city council of Empire ordered the construction of an 8-foot-high stockade at the edge of Short Creek, the city boundary on the south. Eventually, tensions eased and the people on both sides wanted the war between the towns to end. In July of 1907, the stockade was demolished and the city of Empire became a part of the city of Galena.
A Fine and Prosperous City Emerges Throughout the 1880’s and 1890’s, Galena grew into a city with imposing business buildings, grand homes, schools and churches. There were three large elementary schools within Galena proper and one high school. Additional elementary
made and lost, and the landscape was forever transformed.
schools were in Empire City and Spring Grove. The Catholic,
The Great Galena-Empire War
Churches were built, as well as two Baptist churches.
Two land companies were formed, one the Empire Town Company, to the north and the Galena Town Company to the south. In June of 1877, both cities had become incorporated, and the rivalry between the two was fierce. Eventually, the competition escalated into bloodshed that led to the creation of a physical wall that would separate the two towns. Between the communities, there grew up many businesses that were haunts of dissipation and vice. Saloons did big business. At these places assembled murderers, outlaws, gamblers, the ladies of the night and the outcasts of society. Keeping order 24
was a challenge for the upright citizens in both towns. Legends
Disciples of Christ, Episcopal, Methodist and Presbyterian
Most of those same buildings, constructed near the beginning of the 20th century, are still in use today. The Elks Club built an imposing building one block east of Route 66 on 7th Street. That building is still in use. In that same era, a city hall/ library/ police and fire department building was constructed on the corner of 5th and Main. The city operations were moved to newer facilities in the 1970’s but the original municipal building still stands.
Route 66 Brings the World through Galena
Throughout the 1950â€™s, as the mining diminished throughout the
In 1926, Route 66 was designated a national highway by the
area, the smelter cut back on its operation and employees. It had
federal government. Galena and Baxter Springs saw their main
been the major employer of workers in Galena but was no longer
streets become a part of a highway system that has become
needed after the local ores had been depleted. Eagle-Picher
legendary. When Americans
remains an active manufacturer today and is one of the oldest
took to the open road,
continuously operating companies in the nation, although its
they came along Kansas
product line is that of special purpose batteries and related items.
Route 66. During World
In June of 1980, the Galena facility was permanently closed.
War II, the Route carried long convoys of troops and
The End of an Era
equipment headed for points
Throughout the early years of the 20th century, the mining
of debarkation. Today, Route
activity continued, and much of the lead and zinc used in
66 is an important part of this
World War I came from this area. Shortly after that, many of
community and a new generation is now seeking to save the
the mines were no
history of the road and preserve the remaining structures and
longer producing much
sites found along the way.
and many of the miners moved to the recently opened Oklahoma mining fields some twenty miles away. Those who remained found themselves trying to keep a city going with greatly diminished population and public resources.
The Eagle-Picher Mining and Smelting Company
Today, little remains of the bustling downtown business district.
Located in the valley north of town and sitting next to Historic
With the closing of the mines and the later closing of the
Route 66 was the Eagle-Picher Smelter. Trains brought millions
Eagle-Picher Smelter, most people found employment in near-
of tons of ore from mines all over the Kansas and Oklahoma
by Joplin. Much of the mined land that surrounded the town
mine fields to be processed in the furnaces at the large ore-
on the north, east and west has been reclaimed. The grand
processing center. At one time, it employed hundreds of
buildings that flanked Main Street are nearly all gone. Those
workers. In 1935, violence came to the city when an attempt
that do remain still
was made to organize the miners into unions. Despite efforts
reveal glimpses of the
by mine owners and operators to prevent it, the area laborers
organized and elected to strike for better wages and working
that was so dominant
conditions. The situation grew ugly and dangerous when the
during the years
mining companies attempted to use replacement workers in the
that mining had
absence of the newly-unionized miners. Gunfire in the streets
brought such wealth
eventually led Governor Landon to declare martial law in the
to this corner of the
town and deploy the Kansas National Guard to enter Galena
and re-establish the peace.
are many of the continued on page 26 25
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
large homes built during Galena’s heyday by the movers and
Things to See and Do in Galena
shakers of the time. At least four of the early churches remain in their now historic buildings. Also remaining are the memories
The Eagle-Picher Smelter Site
of a prosperous mining town that once existed here and the
Located on Route 66, the Smelter is marked today by a single
countless stories and legends that live on in the memories of the
building. In the 1930’s, it was the scene of a showdown
oldest residents and that are still told by their descendents.
between striking union sympathizers and non-union workers. The National Guard eventually brought order to the scene.
Galena Today, a City Rediscovering Itself Today, Galena is proud of an excellent school system that
For years, the landscape around the facility was completely
regularly meets and exceeds state standards. The high school,
devoid of vegetation, a result of the contamination that occurred
remodeled in 1997 is home to one of the finest Performing
during the smelting of the lead and zinc ores. Recent efforts
Arts Centers in the area. Liberty Grade School is an imposing
have been made to reclaim the land and introduce new layers
stone building constructed by the WPA in 1939. Galena has
of topsoil but the progress has been slow. Historic signage
perhaps the most outstanding city park in southeast Kansas—
along Route 66 from the Missouri border tells the story.
Schermerhorn Park located a mile south of Route 66. Other parks include a city park at 13th and Main and the Pappy Litch
Route 66 Park in the downtown area on Main Street. Galena’s
This viaduct is listed on the
mining history is being saved and exhibited at the Mining
National Register of Historic
Museum located in the old Katy Railroad Station near the city
Places. It was built to carry
hall/library on Route 66.
Route 66 traffic over the railroad tracks that serviced
A committed downtown development committee is working
the Smelter during the
to enhance the appearance on Main Street (Route 66) with
late 1920’s and forward.
new sidewalks, lighting and plantings. That committee is also
Currently, the viaduct is being
committed to promoting the cultural arts in the city. Some
repaired in order to safely
restoration is ongoing on Main Street, with more planned in the
accommodate traffic on the Mother Road.
near future and a new orthopedic surgery center has opened within the city limits. Most new home building is taking place in
Red Hot Street / Hell’s Half Acre
the south end of the city, although there has been some notable
From a vantage point near the viaduct, one is overlooking
building in older sections of town. Galena will never have the
Hell’s Half Acre, earlier called Hickory Flats. To the west, from
population and financial well-being that marked its glory during
this point and to the south, the land was completely pocked
the mining era but it aspires to become an even better place to
with shafts and piles of mine waste called chat. Now, this area
live and raise families. The city stands ready to share its history
has been almost completely reclaimed by the EPA. The area,
with the rest of the world.
however, remains mostly under-mined, the result of the millions of tons of ore taken from the ground. Envision also the infamous Red Hot Street which ran east and west and featured many saloons, gambling houses and brothels. The stories this area could tell would be amazing.
4 Women on the Route
The Old City Hall
Located at First and Main where Route 66 makes a sharp turn
The city had this building constructed at the turn of the last
to the south, this
century to house
the city offices,
serves as a
and the city
on the Mother
city hall was
moved to west 7th Street on Route 66.
available and a large selection of Route 66 gifts and souvenirs are available. Of special interest is the tow truck, the model for
The Pappy Litch Park
the truck in the movie “Cars.” A frequent visitor at the center
is Dean Walker, a big Route 66 fan who was the human
occupied this corner
inspiration for the character of “Mater” in the “Cars” movie.
through the years.
The women who run the business are there to enthusiastically
During the mining era
help travelers with
in the late 1800’s,
a large livery stable
to 1934, the 4
stood here. Later a
Women on the Route
building was the site
station occupied this corner. The owner, Howard Litch, was an
of the Banks Hotel,
avid Galena historian. After his business closed, the building
an imposing brick
was razed. Howard “Pappy” Litch had spent much of his life
structure that was here
promoting his home town and saving its history. To honor him
at the end of the 1800’s. It is reputed to have had an infamous
for his life time of enthusiasm for his home town, the city built
guest, Belle Starr, who lived at the hotel for a time in the late
the Pappy Litch Park on the site of his former business. Located
at 6th and Main, it has become a venue for special city events, and a stopping place for travelers on Historic Route 66.
Golden Rule Store The Golden Rule Store occupied this building for many years,
and it remained largely unchanged from the late 1800’s until the
The Sapp Opera House was located
1980’s. In fact, it was owned and operated by theSenter family
on the southeast corner of 7th and
during most of that entire time. The business specialized in shoes
Main. The theatre was a three-story
and work clothes, although women’s fashions and children’s
brick structure built in 1901. There
clothes were also available. Until the store finally closed in the
were businesses on the ground floor,
1980’s, walking into this business was like a step back in time.
and a theatre on the 2nd floor. A constant stream of performers and speakers were engaged through the continued on page 28 27
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
years of its existence, many famous performers were booked,
be used as a park.
including the famous Harry Houdini. The theatre burned in
1930, thus ending another important iconic symbol of the early
days of Galena’s rich history. Today, a historic marker is all that
biggest project was
the construction of a rustic cabin on top
The Galena Mining Museum
of a high hill to be
The Missouri-Kansas Texas Railway Station was moved to its
used by Boy Scouts
present location in 1984 from its original home north of Front
and Camp Fire Girls.
Street on Main. It was brought to the area adjacent to the City
During the Great
Municipal Building on
Depression of the 1930’s, the WPA did extensive terracing of
Route 66 and became
the big hill and added fencing around the park, including an
the Galena Mining
impressive gateway and several outdoor cooking pavilions.
Museum. It contains
For the past 90 years, it has been a popular spot for class and
countless photos and
family reunions, church picnics, club gatherings and children’s
mining tools and
activities. The many trails up into the woods and along the bluffs
equipment as well as
are wonderful places to explore and enjoy the natural beauty
many historical items
of the place. The cool waters of Shoal Creek have always been
relative to the town’s
popular with swimmers. Caves found in the park are indications
rich history. Many people worked to make the museum a reality
that the area is honeycombed with underground caverns. The
and the museum was dedicated to the city in June of 1984.
Schermerhorn Cave is a large cave with a small opening that
Visitors are greeted by genial people who are willing to share
opens up into a huge cavern. The Schermerhorn Cave and
information and stories about the exciting years when Galena
the park around it are home to almost half of the state’s 44
was a major producer of lead and zinc. The Museum is open
threatened and endangered species. The woods and the area
during the summer months on Monday through Saturday from
along the creek are home to flora and fauna that are found
9-11:30 a.m. and winter months on Monday, Wednesday and
exclusively in the region. Every effort has been made to maintain
Friday from 1-3:00 p.m.
the natural habitat for these unique creatures and plants. The beauty of Schermerhorn Park remains and is still lovingly
maintained by the city. The park is open year-round. The location
One of the greatest places to experience the “Kansas Ozarks”
is ideal for fishing, canoeing, exploring and picnics.
is the beautiful Schermerhorn park, located 2 miles south of the stop light in downtown Galena. It is both a local and Kansas
Southeast Kansas Nature Center
treasure. In 1922, E.
The lovely structure at the top of the hill was built by the WPA
B Schermerhorn, a
in the early 1930’s to be used as a camp for Scouts. It has
local entrepreneur who
in recent years become the Southeast Kansas Nature Center,
made a fortune with
Schermerhorn Park, Galena, KS, 620-783-5207, 620-783-5265
his mining interests,
or 417-439-3234, seksnaturecenter.com. The center features
presented 22 acres
display cases with animal specimens in natural poses. Open
on Shoal Creek to
drawers give visitors an opportunity to feel rock specimens
the city of Galena to
and plants. A bird-watching window allows visitors to view a wide variety of wild birds as they feed. The center is a popular
Pappy Litch Park
for local school
502 Main Street, Galena, KS
classes and is manned by knowledgeable volunteers who are happy
The Grace House Located on 1302 Main Street, this restored home was built by wealthy mine owner, William Sapp in 1890. It is a gathering place for weddings, reunions and parties.
Tow Mater from the “Cars” movies I and II
1st and Main, Galena, KS
about the area. This outstanding center has been helped and encouraged by Pittsburg State University and the Gallaghar Audubon Society. Open year-round Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Sundays, 1-4 p.m.
Information Galena Mining and Historical Museum
Places to Shop Steve’s Candy 307 West 7th Street, Galena, KS. Homemade and specialty candy, May through September. Recipes from the Mining era, Saturdays only.
319 West 7th Street, Galena, KS, 620-783-2192
PLACES TO EAT Chopstix Express
Galena Archival Library
Tasty Oriental and American
320 West 7th Street, Galena, KS
Main Street Deli and Gift Bank
Galena City Complex
413 Main Street, Galena, KS
Administrative Offices 300 West 7th Street, Galena, KS
Specialty soups and sandwiches, a favorite on the Route
Galena Economic Development and Tourism Committee
Full, affordable Mexican menu
418 Main Street, Galena, KS
Southeast Kansas Nature Center
4 Women on the Route
Schermerhorn Park, Galena, KS, 620-783-5207, 620-783-5265
1st and Main, Galena, KS, old fashioned hamburgers and
or 417-439-3234, seksnaturecenter.com
Shermerhorn Park 1.8. miles south of city, 620-783-2373
Attractions Galena Mining and Historical Museum 319 W 7th St., Galena, KS, 620-783-2192
Vogel Family Vineyards
Franchise Fast Food Dairy Queen Brazier 500 East 7th Street, Galena, KS
Sonic Drive-In 505 West 7th Street, Galena, KS
Pizza Hut Corner of 7th St. and Cornwall, Galena, KS
116 Hillcrest, 1.7 Miles South of Route 66 stoplight By Appointment, vogelfamilyvineyards.com
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
RIVERTON, KANSAS A History Originally located in an area settled by Quakers, the unincorporated town of Riverton lies mid-way between Baxter Springs and Galena. In the mid-1870’s, a post office was established after the railroad was built from Joplin to Baxter Springs and passed through what is now Riverton. Originally, the small settlement acquired the name of Varck. The settlement, located on what was to become Route 66, kept that name until the Empire Electric power plant was built around 1914. At that time, the name was changed to Riverton. The unincorporated town was formerly the site of the Spring River Inn, a restaurant with a rich history, located on the banks of Spring River. Sadly, the inn was destroyed by fire in the 1990’s. Another iconic site, also located on Route 66, is the Old Riverton Store. Established by Leo and Lora Willliams in the 1930’s as a kind of country store, the building featured glass-paned folding doors extending across the front of the store, displaying all the produce. Later, groceries were added. During the 1940’s, the store attracted Route 66 travelers with signs such as “Y not Eat?” and “Free Ice Water.” The store was sold in the 1970’s to Joe and Isabell Eisler. Today, the store functions as a popular stop for travelers. The building retains its original look with various fixtures dating to earlier days. There is even a restored outhouse behind the building. To walk inside the store is like going back in time. The business today is called the Old Riverton Store. In addition to groceries, the business features a deli and a large inventory of Route 66 souvenirs. Guests may eat outside in good weather.
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
Route 66, the Mother Road, Becomes our Main Street In 1928, the section of Route 66 that passes through Kansas was paved, thus becoming one of the first segments of the famous route to be paved after its federal designation. Route 66 provided a good road for the many miners working in nearby mining fields to commute to work from outlying towns. It also provided a good route for trucks and other heavy equipment needed in the mining industry. Along the famous route
Red Oak II in Carthage, MO
were many iconic service stations, tourist courts and Mom and Pop eateries. Some of those sites remain today. Popular attractions along the route in Baxter Springs include the Phillips 66 Station Visitors’ Center and the famous Marsh Arch Rainbow Bridge north of town.
Baseball and Baxter Springs From the early days of the 20th century until the present day the people of Baxter Springs have loved baseball. Early teams played on pastures, mining companies formed teams and the famous Whiz Kids team came into existence. Mickey Mantle of the New York Yankees played ball for the Baxter Whiz Kids in the late 1940’s, just prior to his being drafted by the Yankees. Contact information Heritage Center 620-856-2385 Visitors’ Center 620-856-2066 Chamber of Commerce 620-856-3131
In the early 1950’s, the Little League program began when the local Lions Club provided funds to build one of the finest Little League complexes in the nation. The stadium and field have received national recognition. Numerous local teams have won state and regional titles. The American Legion teams have carried on the winning tradition, as have the Baxter High School Lions. Today, many ball fields are scattered throughout the town. The most impressive today is the Field of Dreams baseball complex located north of town on historic Route 66. A state of the art facility, it is the site of many area tournaments.
Progress into the Late 20th Century and the Early 21st Century With the closing of the mining era, Baxter Springs has made efforts to attract industry. Today, the city boasts of fine-award-winning schools, an active cultural arts community, an outstanding Heritage Center and Museum, and city leaders and citizens with a progressive attitude. Baxter Springs High School has recently been named a Blue Ribbon School, the only one of its size in the state of Kansas. Several innovative programs for students at risk have been developed, operating out of amazing facilities. The Cherokee County Arts Association is made up of enthusiastic patrons of the arts promoting the theatre, music and art in the community. The town has seen the restoration of numerous business places and historic homes. 31
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS A History The Osage Black Dog Trail The Osage Indians made frequent journeys each spring and autumn to their hunting grounds, many of which were located in and around Baxter Springs in the foothills of the Ozarks. The Osages believed that the water from the springs held curative powers. Chief Black Dog, the leader of the western band of Osages, conceived a plan to construct a permanent trail to connect their camping sites. It is said to have been wide enough for thirty horses to travel abreast. The trail is designated with a historic marker on the grounds of the Baxter Springs Heritage Center.
Illegal Settlement and the Man Who Gave the Town its Name The town site was originally in an area designated by the United States government as the Cherokee Neutral Lands. The purpose of this territory was to create a buffer zone between the border State of Missouri and the Osage Indians to the west. It was technically closed to white homesteaders but some trespassers did venture into claim choice land, among them the man for whom the town was named, John Baxter. Baxter and his large family settled on the west side of Spring River near the recently designated Military Road which connected Ft. Leavenworth in Kansas with Ft. Gibson in the Indian Territory. The family ran a trading post and an inn called Baxterâ€™s Place. Baxter was shot and killed in a dispute with another illegal homesteader and the family left the area. The family name remained Baxter Springs. The area where the Baxter trading post sat is marked with signage near the Ft. Blair site.
Bleeding Kansas During the years leading up to the Civil War, this area was the scene of much military activity. Border conflicts between Missouri and Kansas reached into this southern-most region and it truly could claim to be a part of Bleeding Kansas. The Military Road brought thousands of men with military equipment through the area. Numerous military camps for white troops, black troops and Indian brigades were found all over the site of present day Baxter Springs.
The Civil War in Baxter Springs In 1863, the First Kansas Colored Infantry commanded by Colonel James Williams was ordered to move from their headquarters in Ft. Scott, Kansas, to build an outpost at Baxter Springs. By October 1863, a frontier fort had been built, manned by the Second Kansas Colored Infantry and two companies of the 3rd Wisconsin Cavalry. Lt. James Pond was appointed commander of the fort. Shortly after he assumed command, the fort was attacked by the Confederate guerilla forces of William Quantrill on October 6, 1863. At the time of the attack, most of the 3rd Wisconsin troops were away on a foraging mission. The black troops, under the leadership of Lt. Pond, held the fort, even though they were outnumbered by as many as 300 men. Quantrillâ€™s troops regrouped, planning to attack again, when they encountered a military wagon train approaching from the north, accompanied by armed cavalry. They attacked the unsuspecting wagon train which was under the command of Gen. James Blunt. The entire area north of
Baxter Springs became a killing field as Quantrill’s men shot
as people began to come here from around the nation to drink
and killed more than 100 men, many as they tried to surrender.
of the water and bathe in the bath house. It was a time of
The encounter is known as the Baxter Springs Massacre. A
elegance and growth for this small city on the border of Indian
complete story of this unfortunate day is told at the Heritage
Center and at the Ft. Blair Historic Site. A self guided driving tour visits 12 significant Civil War sites in the city.
The First Cow Town in Kansas 1867-1874
The Hub of the Richest Lead and Zinc Mining District in the World
After the Civil War and beginning in 1867, Baxter Springs
In the early years of the 20th
became the terminus of
century, rich deposits of lead
cattle drives from Texas,
and zinc were discovered to
following the Eastern
the west and south of Baxter
Shawnee Trail. The first
Springs. The town then
Cow Town in Kansas,
became the hub of the mining
Baxter Springs was a
fields that surrounded it. This
typical wild and lawless
bonanza followed by some 30 years the peak of lead and zinc
cattle town for a period
mining to the east of Baxter Springs in Galena, Kansas, Joplin,
of about seven years.
Missouri and other points in western Missouri. Because of the
Located on the border of
great wealth from the mines, local citizens were able to build
Indian Territory, Baxter Springs became a mecca for outlaws
fine homes and thriving businesses. During World Wars I and
looking for the amenities of the town but close enough to the
II, the area produced most of the lead used in the war effort
Territory to escape the clutches of any federal marshals who
and the mines were at their peak of production. Shortly after
came in pursuit. Two of the town marshals were murdered
World War II, federal subsidies
on the main street during this turbulent period. Although little
for the mines ended and for many
remains of the original Cow Town, the stories about that period
mine owners, their operations
are legendary and the town still has a western flavor and
were no longer profitable. As
treasures the stories of its rowdy past. You can learn all about
the mines closed, they filled with
this early colorful period at the Baxter Springs Heritage Center.
water. Today, there is little left of the giant mountains of chat that dominated the landscape.
The Health Spa
Much of the land has been or
During the Cow Town era, the town grew and prospered. Many fine homes and businesses were built. However, after the
is being reclaimed by the Environmental Protection Agency.
cattle business moved to points west, the town suffered through
At the Heritage Center, you may see a replicated full sized
several years of economic hard times. By the 1880’s the town
underground mine and an amazing collection of photos and
fathers had come upon a plan to bring economic good times
artifacts from the mining era, including the collection from the
back. They began to advertise nationally that the town’s mineral
Picher, Oklahoma Mining Museum. The story of Picher, now
springs had great healing powers. A fine bath house was built
vacated after a buy-out by the Federal Government, is told at
and an even finer hotel was built to accommodate the visitors.
This plan brought a degree of economic recovery to the town
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
The Route 66 Visitors Center
the Cow Town Gallery and the Lead, Zinc Mining Galleries and
The Visitors Center is located in a restored Phillips 66 Gas
the Route 66 Gallery.
Station at 10th and Military Avenue (Route 66) and is one of the most popular stops on the 13.2 miles of Kansas Route 66.
The Heritage Center
The operating hours for the Visitors’ Center are 7 days a week
is located one block
10 a.m. to 3 p.m. It is listed on the National Register of Historic
east of Route 66 at
Places and is a popular
8th Street in what is
stop for Route 66
known as Springs
travelers. The restoration
Parks. On the grounds
was completed in 2007.
of the museum is a
With a grant from the
fully furnished 1870’s
National Park Service,
vintage log cabin,
the station has returned
iconic machinery pieces from the mining era, a Korean War
to the way it would
vintage army tank and a restored Burlington Railroad caboose.
have looked when it
The Historic Osage Black Dog Trail flanks the museum grounds
was built in 1930. The
on the north, site of the Osage camping grounds near the
oldest part of the station serves as a mini museum with Route 66
famous big spring.
and gas station memorabilia. The restrooms contain the original fixtures and lights. To visit the station is to step back 80 years in time. Today, the station serves as the headquarters for the Kansas Historic Route 66 Association. It is open daily during the summer months. During the winter months of November through March it is open Thursday through Sunday. The Visitors Center features information and tasteful Route 66 souvenirs and gifts and nostalgic memorabilia. Brochures and maps for area attractions as well as all of Route 66 are available. Stop by and sign the visitor’s wall, adding your name to the names of thousands of others who have stopped here.
The Heritage Center is open from 10 a.m.4:30 p.m. Monday through Saturday and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Sunday. Appointments for guided tours or for general information may be made by calling the Heritage Center, 620-856-2385 during regular hours. There is no admission charge but donations are gratefully
The Baxter Springs Heritage Center and Museum
accepted. ADA entrances and restrooms are available as well as
This museum and research center is considered to be one of the
adequate parking for buses.
best small town museums in the state of Kansas. It features 23,000 square feet of climate -controlled interpretive exhibits on two floors. The museum covers the history of this widely diverse historic town. Of special interest are the Civil War Gallery, the American Indian Gallery,
Fort Blair Located on Historic Route 66 between 6th and 7th Streets, this replicated fort is open year-round and is free of charge. It is constructed of logs and follows closely the official descriptions of the fort. Interpretive signage on the site tells the story of the heroic defense of the fort by the 2nd Kansas Colored Infantry. This engagement between black Union troops and the guerrilla troops under William Quantrill was one of the first uses of black
troops during the Civil
Field of Dreams Ball Park
War. The site is also
Located on Old Route 66 north of town, this is a state-of-the-art
noteworthy because of
facility, a fitting field for a town with a long-standing passion
other historic events.
for baseball. A must-see
To the south of the fort
stop on the route. The
site once grew the
Field of Dreams is a dream
come true. The complex
tree” where frontier
is the dream of former
justice was meted out
Baxter Springs High School baseball coach
during the Cow Town era. The original big spring was also
Don Karnes. Over the
south of the fort site. The first settler, John Baxter and his family built a home on this site in 1849. The fort is located on Route
past eight years, Coach Karnes’ dream has come true through
66 and the battle at the fort and the subsequent battle north of
his efforts and the hard work and contributions of many in
town are believed to be the only battles to take place directly
the community. The Field of Dreams is the home of the local
on what would later be Route 66.
American Legion baseball team. These teams represented Baxter Springs admirably over the years. In the years 2003
National Cemetery Plot #2
and 2004, the Baxter Springs American Legion teams have the
The Plot is located one-half mile west of town on Highway
distinction of winning the Division II National Championships
166. It is situated in the center of the city cemetery. In 1886,
consecutively. Playing a very competitive schedule, the legion
the Federal Government
teams consistently continue to perpetuate the baseball tradition
designated a national
of success and good sportsmanship that is synonymous with
cemetery plot to commemorate
Baxter Springs baseball.
those men killed in the attack on Ft. Blair and the Battle
The Marsh Arch Rainbow Bridge
of Baxter Springs which is
Located on Old Route 66, north of the city limits, the bridge is
also known as the Baxter
the only remaining bridge of this type left on Route 66 that is
Springs Massacre. It is the
still automobile accessible. It is listed on the National Register of
second federal cemetery to
Historic Places. This graceful bridge is a major destination site
be designated as a National
for Route 66 travelers.
Plot. A large imposing statue of a Union soldier sits atop a
Johnston Public Library
large stone base bearing the
Located one block west of Route 66 on
names of the nearly 100 men interred there. The cemetery plot
10th street, the Library is listed on the
is included in the self-guided civil war tour described later.
National Register of Historic Places. Built during the Cow Town era, the city leaders had hoped it would become the county courthouse. However, late one night, unknown persons entered the building and took all the county records to Columbus, Kansas, which later became the county seat. The building has served as a library for over 100 years. continued on page 36 35
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
Nez Perce Memorial
The Self-Guided Civil War Driving Tour
The Nez Perce Indians were brought to Baxter Springs in 1878
A self guided driving tour of 12 Civil War sites may be taken
as prisoners of the U.S. Cavalry. Many died en route or after
anytime with the aid of a map and brochure. These sites include
they arrived here. In 2007, the tribe constructed a memorial
battle sites, human interest sites and the national cemetery plot.
garden on the Johnston Library grounds.
Visitors can pick up brochures at the Heritage Center during open hours and at the Phillips 66 Visitors’ Center.
Frieze on Exterior Wall of American Bank
The Self-Guided Historic Baxter Springs Tour
Located at 12th and Military on Route
Three blocks of downtown Baxter Springs have been
66, American Bank commissioned this
designated a Historic District. A number of buildings, dating
work by a Texas artist, Paula Collins,
from the 1800’s, have been restored. Others are at various
who sculpted the mural of individually
stages of restoration. Fourteen buildings have been marked
fired clay bricks and then fitted them
with signs telling of the history of the buildings going back to
together to tell the story of Baxter
the Cow Town era. A self-guided walking tour in the downtown
Spring’s varied history.
historic district and a driving tour of historic Baxter Springs may be taken with the aid of a map and brochure at the Phillips 66 Visitors’ Center.
Historic Homes Eight homes, with either architectural or historic significance, have been designated with signage. These homes are all
PLACES TO STAY
located between 9th and 14th Streets on the east side of Military Avenue (Route 66). A
Baxter Inn For Less
brochure and map are available at
26th and Military, Baxter Springs, KS
the Heritage Center as well as the
Visitors’ Center and the Chamber of Commerce.
Campgrounds-At Riverside Park on East 12th Street (Highway 166). RV Hookups. Inquire at City Hall
Baxter Springs Little League Park This impressive Little League facility is located three blocks west
15th and Military, Baxter Springs, KS 620-856-2114
of Route 66 on the corner of 15th St. and Grant St. There
Lea Manor Guest House and Event Venue
is a baseball museum on the
709 East 12th St.,Baxter Springs, KS
site but is open only during
tournaments and special events. The local Lions Club has made this facility a reality.
Kiwanis Park-Mickey Mantle, Whiz Kids Site Located on east 12th street just before reaching Spring River, the ball field is no longer there but signage indicates the location of Home Plate and the Mickey Mantle Story.
Little Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast 11th and Military, Baxter Springs, KS 620-856-5716 thelittlebrickinn.com
ATTRACTIONS FOR GROUPS
Baxter Springs Chamber of Commerce
Guided Baseball Tour for bus groups, Offered as a
For information about special events such as Cow Town Days,
service by Baxter Springs Heritage Center.
City Wide Yard Sale, Christmas Parade, Concerts in the Park (during summer months)
Guided Civil War Tour for bus groups, Call Heritage
Located at 1021 Military Avenue, Baxter Springs, KS
Center for information, offered as a service by Baxter Springs
Email: email@example.com, 620-856-3131
Guided Ghost Tour, Call Heritage Center for information, Baxter Springs City Hall
Night Time only for groups of 10-12, small fee required.
For general information about the city 1445 Military Avenue, Baxter Springs, KS
Guided Mining Field Tour for bus groups, Offered
as a service by Baxter Springs Heritage Center.
Baxter Springs Heritage Center
Victorian Tea and Fashion Show or Hat show,
For information about Baxter Springs History, Living History
Maximum of 12 people. Call Heritage Center for information
Week, Guided Bus Tours, Christmas Homes Tour
and reservations, small fee required.
or points of interest on Kansas Route 66 Located at 8th and East Avenue, one block east of Military Avenue, Email: firstname.lastname@example.org 620-856-2385 baxterspringsmuseum.org
Phillips 66 Station Visitorsâ€™ Center For information about Route 66 in Kansas or anywhere along the route. Located at northeast corner of 10th and Military Avenue. Photo credit: Dustin Holmes
A photograph of historic downtown Baxter Springs, Kansas
PLACES TO EAT
Attractions on Route 66 KANSAS
There are 14 restaurants and fast food eating establishments within
Van’s Steak House
the city limits; all of them but one directly on Route 66. The ones
Located at 2447 Military, Baxter Springs, KS. This popular
described below are all home owned, iconic Route 66 eateries.
steak house has been an iconic Baxter Springs restaurant for many years. Excellent steaks, burgers and more. This place has
Angels on the Route
a true Cow Town atmosphere. Lunch and dinner.
Located at 1143 Military. This popular dining spot is located in a restored historic building. Specialties are sandwiches, soup
and frozen custard and Route 66 hospitality. Breakfast, lunch
Located at 1737 Military, Baxter Springs, KS. This cafe is a
popular gathering place for breakfast and lunch. Home owned, it is reminiscent of the cafes that dotted the Route 60 years ago.
Baxter Smoke House
Breakfast and lunch.
Located at 23rd and Military, Baxter Springs, KS. Barbecue at its best. Full menu, lunch and dinner. Breakfast on the weekends.
The following fast-food franchise businesses may be found along the Route.
Cafe on the Route Located at 11th and Military in a historic old bank building. Full menu, specializing in French Cuisine. This popular restaurant was recently featured on the Food Channel. Lunch and dinner.
El Cabrito Mexican Restaurant Located at 1524 Military, Baxter Springs, KS. Home owned and
KFC McDonald’s Pizza Hut Sonic Drive-In Subway Taco Bell
authentic. Excellent Mexican cuisine at reasonable prices. Lunch and dinner.
Red Ball Cafe Located two blocks off Route 66 at 539 West 5th Street, Baxter Springs, KS. This cafe, a 1950’s vintage short-order cafe, is like stepping back in time. Great live music on Tuesday nights. Lunch and dinner.
EVENTS Kiwanis Egg Hunt - Saturday before Easter 4th of July in Kiwanis Park Cowtown Days and Rodeo - 2nd Weekend August Historic Homes Christmas Tour - Weekend before Thanksgiving
Rice House Located at 2932, Baxter Springs, KS. Military Featuring Far East Cuisine.
2013 - 3 day Civil War encampment at Fort Blair site
Located at 2135 Military, Baxter Springs, KS. Popular noontime
For more information call 620-856-3131
and evening buffet featuring pastas, pizza and fried chicken and more.
Souper Sweets Located at 1648 Military, Baxter Springs, KS. Another home owned business, this charming spot specializes in pastries and a variety of baked items to die for. Open mornings. 38
Christmas Parade and Tree Lighting - 1st Saturday in
Kansas State Line Oklahoma State Line
Missouri State Line Oklahoma State Line
Oklahoma Road History Championed by Tulsa, Oklahoma businessman Cyrus Avery when the first talks about a national highway system began, U.S. 66 was first signed into law in 1927 as one of the original U.S. Highways, although it was not completely paved until 1938. Avery was adamant that the highway have a round number and had proposed number 60 to identify it. Avery settled on “66” (which was unassigned) because he thought the double-digit number would be easy to remember as well as pleasant to say and hear. After the new federal highway system was officially created, Cyrus Avery called for the establishment of the U.S. Highway 66 Association to the complete paving of the highway and to promote travel. In 1927, the association was officially established with John T. Woodruff of Springfield, Missouri elected as the first president. Contact information Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau
In 1953, the first major bypassing of U.S. 66 occurred in Oklahoma with
101 N. Main St., Miami, OK
the opening of the Turner Turnpike. Located between Tulsa and Oklahoma
City, the new 88-mile toll road paralleled US 66. The Turner Turnpike
was joined in 1957 by the new Will Rogers Turnpike, which connected Tulsa with the Oklahoma-Missouri border west of Joplin, Missouri, again paralleling US 66 and bypassing the towns in northeastern Oklahoma as well as the entire state of Kansas. Both Oklahoma turnpikes were soon designated as Interstate 44, along with the US 66 bypass at Tulsa that connected the city with both turnpikes. Although it is no longer possible to drive Route 66 uninterrupted some stretches are quite well preserved, including one between Springfield, Missouri and Tulsa, Oklahoma. Some sections of Route 66 still retain their historic eight-food-wide “sidewalk highway” form, never having been resurfaced to make them into full-width highways.
Quapaw and Commerce
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA
Quapaw The town was named after Quapaw Indians, originally from Arkansas. This is where Route 66 meets in the middle. “East meets West“ is their slogan. The Missouri section meets with the Oklahoma highway at this point in northeastern Oklahoma. Attractions: Murals painted on buildings along Main Street. You will notice updated sidewalks Zinc smelter mural in downtown Quapaw, Oklahoma
and a newly paved Main Street that runs through town. Visit the Dark Horse Zinc Mine built in 1907 and the Devil’s Promenade Road east of town – Spooklight. On July 4th each year the oldest Pow-Wow in the U. S. is held at Beaver Springs State Park. Commerce This town boasts a unique downtown with Route 66 Signage to welcome visitors. Originally called North Miami, the name was changed in 1914. Attractions: A nine foot statue of Mickey Mantle sits along Route 66 behind the Mickey Mantle Baseball
The Commerce Comet-Mickey Mantle
Field. The Mickey Mantle Boyhood Home located at 319 Quincy Street. Commerce is the site of the Turkey Fat Mine and the Rock Shop. Cal Campbell was killed here by the
Contact Information Quapaw
outlaws Bonnie & Clyde.
Contact Info: City Hall 918-674-2525
Commerce Contact Info: City Hall 918-675-4373
Historic Conoco gas station in Commerce, Oklahoma
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA
Miami is a unique Oklahoma town where you can find many fun-filled activities. Miami has several area attractions for your enjoyment. Whether you are visiting for a day or weekend, your schedule will be easy to fill. The town of Miami began with a dream, a partnership and a Congressional Act. Wayland C. Lykins, the son of a missionary to the Peoria Indians, came to the area to raise cattle in the 1890’s. He had a dream of a cattle empire with his town, Miami, as the hub. Continuing to follow his dreams, Lykins went to Washington D.C. for congressional approval of a town site. It was only after Thomas Richardville, scholarly chief of the Miami Tribe and friend of Lykins spoke to U.S. Indian Commissioner that the township patent was approved. The Contact Information
Ottawa Tribe sold 588 acres for the town and the first lot was sold to Dr. W.I.
Miami Convention and Visitor’s Bureau
McWilliams in June of 1891. Dr. McWilliams received the first deed to a white
101 North Main
man in Indian Territory and the town was named Miami, “My-Am-Uh,” after the
Miami, Okla. 74355
918-542-4435 Tourism has become a huge part of the growth of this community. Indian Gaming Facilities and a new Motorcycle Museum on Historic Route 66 have contributed to the increase in traffic to Miami. Today, Miami is a thriving community with a proud past. With roots from before statehood, look forward to experiencing Miami’s future growth and development.
Interior of the Coleman Theatre in downtown Miami
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA City of Miami Municipal Pool
103 N. Main Street Miami, OK colemantheatre.org This Theatre has been catching the eye of visitors on Route 66 since 1929. Built as a vaudeville theatre and movie palace, it hosted appearances by many early stars including Will Rogers, Bob Hope and Bing Crosby. It has been restored to its original style including the return of the “Mighty Wurlitzer” pipe organ. Today, the theatre hosts ballets, theatre performances, receptions, conferences and silent movies. Free tours are offered for visitors. Donations for tours are accepted. The Theatre is located at 103 N. Main Street, Miami, OK. For more information, call 918 540-2425. Hours of operation are Tuesday-Friday, 10 a.m. -4 p.m. and Saturday 10 a.m. – 2.p.m.
Charles Banks Wilson, famous regional artist, used the space to paint the large murals which now line the great dome of the Oklahoma State Capitol Building. Four “giclees” of those murals were donated by Mr. Wilson and the Gilcrease Art Museum in Tulsa for display in the gathering area of the Ballroom to commemorate the creation of these works of art in this facility. When the restoration of the Coleman Theatre began more than 22 years ago the completion of the ballroom area was just a dream. Now, like the restoration of the beautiful and historic theatre, that dream is a reality. Already, many events from wedding receptions, meetings, dinners, anniversary celebrations, school proms and more have been held and bookings are now being taken. For the most elegant and historic setting in the four state area for your event, visit the new Conference Center/Ballroom at the Coleman Theatre. Call 918-540-2425 to book your next event.
Coleman Theatre Conference Center & Ballroom
The Dobson Museum
14 B. Street SE Miami, OK miamiok.org The largest municipal swimming pool in the state of Oklahoma has six wading pools, a 45 foot speed slide, a 35 foot circular slide and water games for the entire family. The pool is open from Memorial Day weekend through August from 1 p.m. – 7 p.m. It is located at 14 B. Street SE, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918541-2315 or 918- 542.6185.
The Coleman Theatre
The new Conference Center/Ballroom Facility at the Coleman Theatre Complex is now open and ready to book for events. Located in the Historic Coleman Theatre “Beautiful” built by George Coleman opened on April 18, 1929. The facility consists of the originally intended ballroom area plus a new entrance with elevators and restrooms. As was customary in that era of construction, the ballroom area and shops were part of the plan for the elegant “big city” Vaudeville/Movie Palace. Shortly after the opening of the theatre in 1929 and before the completion of the ballroom, the local Masonic Lodge was lost in a fire. George Coleman, a mason, permitted the organization to move into the space planned for a ballroom in August of the same year. The masons and their auxiliaries met there until 1961, long after the death of Mr. Coleman in 1945. The space remained empty until now, except for one period of time when
110 A. Street SW Miami, OK 918-540-1404 Located just 1 block from historic Route 66, the Dobson Museum hosts more than 5,000 historical items of the area’s finest Indian artifacts, china, glassware, an extensive jug collection, area mining display, early day and foreign woodworking tools, displays of furniture and toys used by first settlers. The museum is also home to a native teepee that is on display. The museum is located at 110 A. Street SW, Miami, OK. For more information or to schedule group tours, please call 918-5401404. Regular business hours are Sunday, Wednesday and Friday, 1 p.m. – 4 p.m. Special arrangements can be made for group tours by calling in advance.
The Miami Original Nine-Foot Section
2801 N. Main Street Miami, OK miamiok.org During World War II, fifteen British flyers with the Air Force died while training at the Spartan School in Miami preparing for duty. They are interred in the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.) Cemetery. These soldiers are honored annually for their service to our country. It is important to note that the G.A.R. Cemetery has an ornamental fence that surrounds the property and a polished granite mausoleum featuring a sculpted Hands of Prayer mural. The cemetery is located at 2801 N. Main Street, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918 541-2288.
Off Route 66 Roadbed (“Ribbon Road”) South of Miami at the junction of E. 140th Road and S. 550 Road Miami, OK This three mile section is one of two sections of the original 9 foot wide road that remains intact. “Ribbon Road” continues to maintain a high degree of integrity because of the width of the road, the original setting, the original material which remains visible through gravel and eroded overlays of asphalt. It conveys the feeling of its past environment and is listed as an Oklahoma National Historic Landmark. The road is located south of Miami at the junction of E. 140th Road & S. 550 Road.
Grand Lake O’ The Cherokees
Mickey Mantle’s Boyhood Home
20 minutes south of Miami Grand Lake O’ The Cherokees was created in 1940. It is one of the premiere lakes in the Midwest and the crown jewel of a chain of lakes in the northeastern Oklahoma region. Its 46,500 surface acres of water are ideal for boating, skiing, fishing, swimming and sailing. With 1,300 miles of shoreline meandering through the foothills of the Ozark Mountains, everything from bustling lakeside communities to quiet secluded coves and lakeside resorts can be found along its shore. Grand Lake is located south of Miami, OK.
Lavern’s Wedding Chapel 15 B. Street SE Miami, OK In business since 1954, this chapel is a landmark in Northeastern Oklahoma. Located conveniently next to the Ottawa County Courthouse, getting married has never been easier! Lavern’s does not require prior reservations and operate on a first come, first serve basis. Requirements: must be 18 years of age, have a valid driver’s license or birth certificate, must obtain a Marriage License from the Ottawa County Courthouse. The chapel is located at 15 B. Street SE, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918- 542-4806. Hours of operation are Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. -5 p.m.
Miami Regional Airport 2600 Rex Plott Drive Miami, OK airnav.com/airport/KMIO
319 S. Quincy Street Commerce, OK
Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College 200 I. Street NE Miami, OK neo.edu Formerly known as the Miami School of Mines, this institution’s creation was indicative of the importance of mining in Northeastern Oklahoma in the early 1900’s. The school changed its name to Northeastern Oklahoma Junior College in 1924 and became Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College in 1943. NEO A&M offers associate degrees in arts, science and applied science, as well as one and two year certificate programs. The college campus is located at 200 I. Street NE, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918- 542-8441.
Miami Marathon Oil Company Service Station 331 S. Main Street Miami, OK Thought to be the oldest standing Marathon Oil Station, this landmark was built in 1929. It is significant due to its association with Route 66 and its “House with Canopy” architectural style. The station has recently undergone an exterior renovation and was named to the National Register of Historic Places in February of 1995. It currently operates as a beauty salon. Plans are in place to install replica gas pumps and new historic signage. The station is located at 331 S. Main Street, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918- 5411615.
Route 66 Vintage Iron Motorcycle Museum 128 S. Main Street Miami, OK route66vintageiron.com This large motorcycle museum features more than 25 vintage motorcycles including a 1919 Australian GCS motorcycle, the only one left in existence! It is also home to a large Steve McQueen collection, including his personal racing trophies. The museum recently opened a new Evil Knievel collection. The museum is located at 128 S. Main Street, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918- 542-6170. Hours of operation are Tuesday-Friday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. and Saturday 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. Tours are free and donations are accepted. 43
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA “The Spooklight” Spooklight Road, Quapaw, OK This unexplained phenomenon has been attracting visitors since 1866 and has created such a mystery that even the Army Corps of Engineers officially concluded that it was a “mysterious light of unknown origin.” People come from far and near for their chance at this experience. The road, also known as Spooklight Road, is near the Devil’s Promenade Area which is located in Ottawa County, near Quapaw, OK.
Waylan’s Ku-Ku Burger 915 N. Main Street Miami, OK In business for more than three decades, this famous international hotspot is the last of its kind and has become an icon located right on historic Route 66. The restaurant is full of Route 66 memorabilia and is famous for its hamburgers and unique giant Ku-Ku clock. The Ku-Ku is located at 915 N. Main Street, Miami, OK. For more information, please call 918- 542-1696.
Places to Stay Microtel Inn and Suites 2015 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-540-3333
Holiday Inn Express 509 Henley Avenue Miami, OK 918-542-7434
Hampton Inn 115 Deacon Turner Ave. Miami, OK 918-541-1500
Inn of Miami 2225 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-6681
EconoLodge 900 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-6631
Miami Events March Peoria Tribe Stomp Dance April Rodeo Miami May Miami Municipal Pool Opening Day June Miami Nation Annual Tribal Pow-Wow
Oklahoma 8-Man Football All-Star Game
2120 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-3382
Deluxe Inn Motel 1307 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-5600
Quapaw Tribal Pow-Wow Annual Buffalo Bike Run Miami Pow-Wows August Ottawa County Fair and Fairgrounds-Miami PBR Seneca Cayuga Tribal Greencorn Feast
Places to Eat Alene’s Patio Cafe 33 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-4780 Arby’s 1217 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-4041 Braums 2205 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-7744
Miami Events continued September Wyandotte Nation Tribal Pow-Wow Ottawa Tribal Pow-Wow Eastern Shawnee Tribal PowWow Miami NOW and Pow-Wow drums October Miami PBR and 2010 Mother Rd Marathon November Park of Lights December Route 66 Christmas Parade Christmas at the Coleman Theatre
High Winds Restaurant 61475 E. 100 Road Miami, OK 918-541-9463 Long John Silvers 1024 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-7294 McDonalds 1131 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-2094
Buttered Bunns 2123 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-540-2866 Chapters 31 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-540-0468 Charlie’s Chicken and BBQ 2400 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-8210
Pizza Inn 1620 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-1609 Quizno’s Subs 29 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-3700 Sonic Drive-In 1520 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-1865 Stonehill Grill 1220 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-3463 Subway 2240 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-540-0737
Milagros Mexican Restaurant 103 N. Central Miami, OK 918-542-1952
Chinese Chef 2516 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-6068
Mom’s Café 227 W. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-533-8749
Coleman House Restaurant 1000 Buffalo Run Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-7140
Montana Mike’s Steakhouse 840 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-8808
Daylight Donuts 1831 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-5247
Okie Burger 700 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-7948
Donut Palace 520 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-4833
Oriental Villa 2019 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918.542.7948
El Calvario 825 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-3390
Papa G’s Pizza 331 E. Steve Owens Blvd. Miami, OK 918-542-7077
El Charro’s 1402 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-4617
Pizza Hut 1320 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-542-8474
El Vallarta 20 Goodrich Blvd. Miami, OK 918-540-2244
Pizza Hut Express 101 A St. N.W. Miami, OK 918-540-2471
Subway 2415 N. Main Street Miami, OK 918-540-3300 Taco Bell 901 N. Main Miami, OK 918-542-9020 Taco Mayo 2310 N. Main Miami, OK 918-542-7141 The Clubhouse Restaurant 530 H. Street NE Miami, OK 918-542-7884
Waylan’s Ku-Ku 915 N. Main Miami, OK 918-542-1696 Woody’s Café 227 S. Main Miami, OK 918-540-3663
Narcissa and Afton
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA
Narcissa The only town that existed on the 9-foot roadway that ran between Miami and Afton was established in 1902. Attractions Murals painted on buildings along main street. Afton The town was named by Scottish railroad surveyor for his daughter, who was named after a River in Scotland. Afton was established in 1886. Former home of the “Buffalo Ranch” now closed. A truck stop by the same name, housing a café and grocery store are now at the old location. Across the street look for the Rest Haven Motel sign. Afton is home to Laurel Kane and her restored Afton Station, a vintage DX gas station. 918-257-4044, postcardsfromtheroad.net.
Historic 9 foot ribbon highway between Narcissa and Afton, Oklahoma-A National Register Property
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA
Welcome to Vinita! As you learn more about Vinita youâ€™ll see it is a great place to live and raise a family, with a population of nearly 6,500 friendly residents. Vinita is the county seat and is centered in the southern part of beautiful Craig County. Vinita is the gateway to green country nestled in northeast Oklahoma, in between Joplin, Missouri and Tulsa, Oklahoma set on Historic Route 66. The City of Vinita is a growing, dynamic environment in which new homes are popping up and businesses are thriving. The community is an economic hub for a geographic area that extends east through Ottawa County and south through Mayes and Rogers Counties in Oklahoma. Since its founding Vinita has experienced continual advancement and continues to experience welcomed growth and the partnership between the city government and the Chamber of Commerce ensures that the needs will be met for this growth along with the encouragement for future growth. Working together we will meet the challenges the future holds and leave the same potential and prosperity for our children and grandchildren to enjoy. Out of all of the attributes Vinita has to offer, the greatest is the people of Vinita who make this town what it is today.
Attractions on Route 66 OKLAHOMA
Summerside Vineyards and Winery
been featured in Gourmet Magazine for
Wilson (Historic Route 66), Vinita, OK.
its outstanding Chicken Fried Steak. When
Offering wine tastings and tours,
you come to Vinita you will definitely want
Summerside Winery is one of
to eat at Clanton’s. Come in and meet the
Oklahoma’s award winning wineries,
locals. We love to have visitors in our town
located just off of Historic Route 66. The
and you can expect to see friendly faces
July – Craig County Free Fair –
sound of music welcomes you and the
here. Clanton’s is located at 319 E. Illinois
This event is held at the Craig County
gift shop offers wine accessories and
(Historic Route 66), Vinita, OK.
Fairgrounds and is hosted by the
gift baskets. Enjoy a delicious range of Oklahoma wines and grape juices. From dry reds and whites through sweeter styles, these wines are produced, blended and bottled in the winery. The winery is open daily year-round from 9 a.m. to dusk and features a lovely outdoor patio, private dining room and wine cellar. Summerside Winery and Vineyards also has a lovely bistro. It opens daily at 11 a.m. The facility is also available after hours by reservation. Call 918-256-3000 for more information.
Eastern Trails Museum For pioneer and Indian heritage, visit the Eastern Trails Museum, located at 215 West Illinois Avenue, Vinita, OK is open Monday thru Saturday from 1- 4 p.m. Admission is free. The museum houses several exhibits which detail the story of the area’s early years. Early pioneer and Indian artifacts are featured at the Museum. Please call ahead 918-2569053.
Clanton’s Café A Vinita tradition since 1927 Clanton’s is the longest continually owned family restaurant in Oklahoma on Route 66. They feature great down home cooking and friendly service. Clanton’s has been featured on the hit TV show “Diners, Drive-ins and Dives” It has also 48
The Chuck Wagon A great meal and a visual treat! The Chuck Wagon is more than a wonderful restaurant; it is a feast for the eyes. The interior decor features a street scene
Events by Month
Craig Country Free Fair Board. The fair includes exhibits, livestock show, children’s games and nightly events. For more information call 918-256-7569.
August – Route 66 Summerfest
from the 1800s, complete with general
Car Show – This annual event
store, bank, jail and chapel. There is also
is sponsored by the Vinita Area
a gift shop adjacent to the restaurant.
Chamber of Commerce. The car
Located 2 miles west of Vinita on
show held at North Park begins with
Highway 66. 918-256-3180.
registration around 1 p.m. with food,
Center Cinemas One of the oldest working movie cinemas in Oklahoma, Center Theater was first opened in 1922 and had a single screen. The theater featured live
live entertainment, vendors and plenty of awards. A cruise night on Historic Route 66 in downtown Vinita is held in the evening after the show. For more information call 918-256-7133.
entertainment and movies. It was one of
Route 66 Sidewalk Sale – This
the earliest theaters constructed in the
event is normally held on the morning of
state. The theater has been completely
the Route 66 Summerfest Car Show in
remodeled and now features three
Downtown Vinita with many merchants
screens. First run movies are played
having specials throughout the town. In
at this theater nightly. Check out
the downtown area there are special
their website for the movie schedule.
entertainment and vendors. For more
Center Cinema is located at 124 South
information call 918-256-7133. Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo Parade – The parade is hosted by the Vinita Area Chamber of Commerce and begins at 11 a.m. from North Park through downtown Vinita on Historic Route 66, bring the family out to this wonderful event featuring over 1,000 participants. For more information call 918-256-7133.
August events continued–
Annual World’s Largest Calf Fry
October - Oktoberfest – This
All Settlers Day – Held on the same
Festival and Cook-Off – This annual
event is sponsored by the Holy Ghost
day as the Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo
event is held at the Craig County Free
Catholic Church and held on the Church
parade and hosted by the Vinita Area
Fairgrounds and is sponsored by the Vinita
grounds each fall. Activities include live
Chamber of Commerce, this event kicks
Area Chamber of Commerce with gates
entertainment, great food and arts and
off immediately following the parade
opening at 9 a.m. The event includes
crafts booths. For more information call
and is held at Cowboy Junction. With
kid’s entertainment, arts and crafts, cook-
live music, refreshments and many
off competition, celebrity judges, live
prizes, it’s an event not to be missed.
entertainment and plenty of fun. This event
This get-together provides a place to
has been a four state favorite for over
cool off and enjoy old friends and be
30 years with visitors coming annually
entertained. For more information call
as far as Florida. A Taste of the Country
(calf fry tasting) starts at 11 a.m. For more
Annual Will Rogers Memorial
information call 918-256-7133.
December - Route 66 Christmas Parade of Lights – Sponsored by the Vinita Area Chamber of Commerce the annual parade of lights is a winter favorite. The parade begins at 7 p.m. in downtown Vinita on Historic Route 66 with hot chocolate and cider stands set
Rodeo – One of the premier rodeos in
Cowboy Games – Held the morning
up along the parade route that will keep
the Southwest that has been taking place
of the Calf Fry, this annual event features
you warm. Don’t forget to visit Santa
for over 70 years. This event is sponsored
four-man teams of cowboys heading and
– after the parade at the Chamber of
by the American Legion Post #40 and held
heeling, doctoring, bulldogging, cutting
Commerce office. For more information
the last full week of August, Wednesday
and penning. Gates open at 9 a.m. and
through Saturday evening with a dance
conclude by noon just in time to head to
following each performance. For more
the Calf Fry. For more information call
information call 918-256-7133.
PLACES TO STAY
PLACES TO EAT
110 West Dwain Willis (Hwy 66), Vinita, OK
359 North Wilson, Vinita, OK, 918-256-9003
Chuck Wagon Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express
232 South 7th Street (Right off of Hwy 66), Vinita, OK
Park Hills Motel Vinita, OK, 918-256-5511
Route 66 Motel 519 South Wilson (Hwy 66) Vinita, OK 918-256-6429
Western Motel Vinita, OK, 918-256-7542
RV Parks Park Hills RV Park Vinita, OK 918-256-5511
Clanton’s Café 319 East Illinois (Hwy 66), Vinita, OK, 918-256-9053
El Cabrito 137 W Euclid (Hwy 66), Vinita, OK, 918-256-8492
Golden Spike Restaurant 414 East Illinois (Hwy 66), Vinita, OK, 918-256-7656
Hi-Way Café 918-256-5465
World’s Largest McDonald’s 767 East I-44, Vinita, OK, 918-256-5571
Shout and Sack 305 S Wilson (Hwy 66), Vinita, OK, 918-256-7859
Summerside Vineyards and Winery Bistro I-44 and Route 66 at the Turnpike gate, Vinita, OK 918-256-3000 49
Published on Apr 23, 2012
A great guide for cruising Route 66 through Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma; the guide includes lodging, dining and entertainment ideas