Your University magazine 2022-23

Page 38


Notes and news, awards and honours 38 YOUR UNIVERSITY | 2022/2023

We are always delighted to discover what our alumni are doing now, and their achievements that have been recognised.


Dr Ann Cairns (BSc Mathematics 1978, Hon LittD 2018) Honoured at the British America Business, Transatlantic Business Awards for Global Impact: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Professor Richard Horne (BSc Physics 1977) was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in recognition of his research into space weather – changes in the near-Earth space environment that disrupt modern technology and endanger human health. Tan Sri Kunasingam Sittampalam (BEng Civil and Structural Engineering 1977, MEng Civil and Structural Engineering 1980) was elected as an International Fellow to the Royal Academy of Engineering, the first and only Malaysian professional engineer to be elected since the Academy was established in 1976.

Andy Groarke (BA Architecture 1993, MA Architectural Studies 1997) was shortlisted for the RIBA Stirling prize for his work on the design for the new Windermere Jetty Museum. Dr Jala Makhzoumi (PhD Landscape 1996) was awarded the prestigious Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award from the International Federation of Landscape Architects. William Matthews (BA Architectural Studies 1990, Dip Architectural Studies 1993) was shortlisted for the RIBA Stirling prize for his work on the design for the new Tintagel Bridge. Nick Murray (BSc Zoology 1990) won his second Emmy for Outstanding Directing for a Reality Program, for the episode ‘Gettin’ Lucky’ on RuPaul’s Drag Race. Tony Rhoades (BEng Mechanical Engineering 1995, MPhil Mechanical Engineering 2004) together with his team at GroundWOW won the Stadium Business Innovation Award 2021 with the world’s first AI-based full-colour autonomous stadium ground printer. Professor Sudipta Seal (MMet Metallurgy 1992) was invited to deliver the Alpha Sigma Mu award lecture at ASM International’s annual meeting. The lectureship recognises outstanding professional achievements in material sciences. Dan Walker (BA History 1998, MA Journalism Studies 1999, Hon LittD 2019) made it to the quarter finals of Strictly


Dr Lisa Burger, CBE (BMus Music 1983, Hon LittD 2019) was honoured with the Special Recognition Olivier Award for her role in expanding the theatre’s reach and playing a key role in the industry’s postpandemic recovery, through programmes such as National Theatre at Home. Jennie Vickers (BA Law 1982) was named Global Security Influencer of the Year 2021 by IFSEC Global.



Your notes and news


Dan Walker