St. Michaels Points of Interest would come for a little excitement. They found it in town, where there were saloons and working-class townsfolk ready to do business with them. Fights were common especially in an area of town called Hells Crossing. At the end of Locust Street is Muskrat Park. It provides a grassy spot on the harbor for free summer concerts and is home to the two cannons that are replicas of the ones given to the town by Jacob Gibson in 1813 and confiscated by Federal troops at the beginning of the Civil War. 15. FREEDOMS FRIEND LODGE - Chartered in 1867 and constructed in 1883, the Freedoms Friend Lodge is the oldest lodge existing in Maryland and is a prominent historic site for our Black community. It is now the site of Blue Crab Coffee Company. 16. TALBOT COUNTY FREE LIBRARY - St. Michaels Branch is located at 106 S. Fremont Street. For more info. tel: 410-745-5877 or visit www.tcfl.org. 17. CARPENTER STREET SALOON - Life in the Colonial community revolved around the tavern. The traveler could, of course, obtain food, drink, lodging or even a fresh horse to speed his journey. This tavern was built in 1874 and has served the community as a bank, a newspaper
You'd Give Him the Moon and Stars. We'll Take Him There. Every child is born with unique potential. It takes a special place to recognize and develop it. Discover how small classes, challenging academics, and an exceptional faculty not only educate but inspire.
5 x1 2.193 10.82 org. 4 ll a c ol. l tour,untryscho sona a per rson@co le u e sched at kbald n or to ation Balderso Co-ed K-8 Day School m r fo 716 Goldsborough St., Easton, MD ore in email Kim For m countryschool.org
Tidewater Times july 2015