__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

ISSUE Five| february 2015

DAVID FORD| SALTAIRE Conversazione | GET OUT MORE


Oar-some deals! the Bar snack trio DeaL

The Mains Offer

Mains dishes £8.95 each or 2 for £15.00, every day of the week

Bar snacks £4.95 each or 3 for £12.00, throughout the week

pie & pinT Wednesdays £10 – chef’s choice of pie with complimentary drink*

Thursday nighT is specials nighT From 5pm – complimentary drink* with every Boathouse Special ordered from the menu

Fishy Friday Traditional Sunday Roasts

Every Friday 12- 9pm enjoy fish & chips for £10.00 with complimentary drink*

Traditional Sunday roasts (£9.95/£5.95 kids). All roasts are also available as hot sandwiches served with roast potatoes (£5.95). Free tub of ice-cream with every kid’s roast dinner.

* Pint or a medium glass of house wine or a draught soft drink Terms and conditions apply

Victoria Road, Saltaire BD18 3LA www.theboathouseinn.co.uk 01274 585690 Follow us on twitter @theboathouseinn


contents 5_NOTE FROM THE EDITOR

ISSUE Five | february 2015

6_david ford INTERVIEW 12_the Saltaire conversazione 17_THE bradford beer festival 20_get out more 24_ARTIST PROFILE: ian burdill

12

26_events at salts mill 30_IN:FOCUS 34_cabaret saltaire review 37_LIVE MUSIC Previews

20

38_WHAT’S ON 42_QUICK FIRE QUESTIONS

SUBMISSIONS

If you would like to contribute to the Saltaire Review email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. We’re always delighted to hear from writers, photographers and anyone involved in a local group or activity.

34

ADVERTISE

COVER shot COMPETITION

For more information on how to advertise email advertise@thesaltairereview.co.uk.

This months cover was provided by SIMON TURNER whose stunning picture was among the many wonderful photos sent in this month. If you’d like to see your image on the cover send your entry to submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. The deadline for submissions is February 17th.

This magazine is published by Festival Publications Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of content we accept no liability for any resulting loss or damage. Views expressed by contributors are their own and not those of the publisher. ©Festival Publications Ltd. All rights reserved. No reproduction or copying

DISCLAIMER

without permission.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


s ’ e f f i l c t S u aire of Salt

The Quality

Family Butcher Est 1954

OWN TRADITIONAL DRY CURED BACON Home Made Sausages & Black Pudding Fresh Poultry & Licensed Game Dealer Locally Sourced Beef, Lamb and pork

OPENING HOURS Monday: 8am - 4pm Tuesday: Closed Wednesday: 8am - 4.30pm Thursday: 8am - 4.30pm Friday: 8am - 4.30pm Saturday: 8am - 1pm Sunday: Closed 14 Katherine Street, Saltaire Tel: 01274 584174

vintage

NH Framing 10 Bromley Rd, Shipley, BD18 4DS NH Framing is Saltaire’s local picture-framer’s. We frame anything from prints and memorabilia to needlework and rugby shirts. For further details, contact Eileen or Nigel Hogg.

Email: nhframing@gmail.com

Tel: 07840908229

www.nhframing.co.uk


R O IT D E E H T M O R F E Janice Thornton NOT Hello and welcome Humanist Celebrant

“Human rights are not things that are put on the table for people to enjoy. These are things you fight for and then you protect.” Wangari Maathai

Bespoke Humanist Ceremonies Naming, Adoption Weddings, Renewal of Vows Funerals, Memorials, Ceremony of Remembrance

Tel: 01274 584654

Mob: 07954 574767

Email: janiceethornton@hotmail.co.uk www.humanist.org.uk/janicethornton

The

Orange Grove Family-run premium quality greengrocers and fishmongers

to issue five of the Saltaire Review.

It’s been a real challenge trying to cram everything into this issue and we have a genuine treat with two lead features this month, including exclusive news on the return of the Saltaire Conversazione. I’m super excited about this event and it will be intriguing to see how Molly and Rob manage to capture the spirit and ideas of historic Saltaire in the modern day. Once again I have to thank the brilliant Mike Farren, who continues to send in features of the highest standard. I feel lucky to have him involved and I’m sure you will all agree when I say he is a credit to the mag. It was also fascinating to hear the views and ideas of another active member of the community in Amanda Szekely’s excellent piece on David Ford. This magazine is all about people and I feel Amanda’s interview with David really hit the nail on the head. I know there are dozens more interesting and active individuals out there who would make for a great interview and I’d certainly welcome some nominations and suggestions from our readers. I’d also like to say a special thank you to Eddie Lawler who continues to send in regular articles packed full of intrigue and history, which really adds to the quality of the publication. Finally, I’m hoping the weather has improved a little by the time this gets back from the printers as I’m not sure my fingertips can survive another onslaught from the village letterboxes! But there’s always an upside and a quick glance at the front cover or the In:Focus page will back me up when I say Saltaire scrubs up well in the winter.

26 Bingley Road, Saltaire, BD18 4RS

01274 595005

Have a great month and please continue to send in your ideas, news, reviews, previews and photography to submissions@thesaltairereview. co.uk.

haigh simpson


Words Light up s s e n k r a D e h t BY Amanda Szekely

Longstanding Saltairian David Ford, owner of Saltaire Bookshop and Green Party candidate, tells Amanda Szekely about the importance of the written word and his commitment to the community We met the day after the terror attack on the Charlie Hebdo offices in Paris, and David was busy tweeting and Facebooking his response in defence of freedom of expression. He looked thoughtful at my remark that it was as if a darkness had descended on Paris. “But what literature does and what writing does is shine a light on that darkness,”

he said. “Books are ideas and the idea of words, of language itself, is important. There’s a principle at stake.” Just for a moment I am put in mind of Gandalf, raising his staff in righteous anger (‘You shall not pass!’) For there is something rather elf-like about David Ford. And there’s a kindling behind the quiet exterior that you sense could kick up quite a


storm if need be. In fact a social media storm is exactly what this longstanding Saltairian created last January when one of his postings went viral and national newspapers descended on him - the Guardian, Daily Mail, Independent and Times, no less. Search for ‘Saltaire Bookshop’ online, scroll down the page and you can still see the headlines: ‘Struggling second-hand bookshop owner stunned when his takings soar 4,000 per cent ...’, ‘Bookshop launches Facebook appeal after takings fall to £7.50’. “I was just having a little moan about what I’d earned in the shop the day before,” David says, modestly now. “The point I was making is if people don’t use local shops, then they will disappear.” Ah, a principle again. “What made it such a positive experience was that bookshops from different parts of the country got in touch to say, Thank you for doing this.” Support came from as far afield as Ukraine, Africa and Canada, he tells me. “I also got more followers on Facebook and Twitter and more people joined my Book Group, which was struggling at the time.” David has always been fully involved in the local community, not only as Chair of Saltaire Traders (he set it up two years ago after major roadworks at Saltaire roundabout hit business) but also as a committed member of the Green Party. I ask him about the importance of his social conscience and again he lights up: “I believe we were put on this earth to move things along for humanity - to do what we can with our three score years and ten. And there’s a lot to do. Good service to the community is really important and there are different ways you can do this. Being

7


“I believe we were put on this earth to move things along for humanity... and there’s a lot to do.” a councillor is a great way for me to use a different set of skills.

orders made in advance - if a book can’t be found in the shop - and most books arrive within a few days. “And I’m always open to suggestions – if someone wants me to open late for a private viewing, for instance (with a bit of notice!), I’m happy to accommodate that - my telephone number at home is the same as for the shop.”

“With the shop it’s really important to me that it works with the community. Right from the start I wanted to run events, to provide regular opportunities for people to hear writers.” At first he ran one event a week, emailing publishers and constantly networking for authors. “Now publishers The Bookshop sells tickets for local events contact me,” he says proudly - though quick such as the Live Room, Caroline Street to add that he doesn’t invite authors every Social Club and the Golden Cabinet’s time they’re offered: “I always want to make regular electronica/alternative gigs at the sure there’ll be enough of an audience Kirkgate Centre - as we talked several event - that it’ll be worthwhile to the writers.” organisers called in to check on sales, or just Evidence again that this is a man of firm to chat or ask for advice. principles. Two of the earliest writers to appear at the Bookshop were Ann David’s future plans include Cleeves, who writes the ‘Vera providing an area with easy Stanhope’ detective books chairs, coffee and perhaps (serialised as Vera on TV) newspapers. He also intends and Cath Staincliffe. “Cath to write blogs as well as David stood in 10 local used to live in Nab Wood,” continuing with his regular elections for the Green David says simply (she’s now postings on social media. Party from 1988 to 2000 “Financially famous for the Scott & Bailey it’s still detective books, also on TV). precarious, but I’m committed to the bookshop, though I wish it I ask him about local competition and was more successful …” mention the nearness of the bookshop in Salts Mill: “But it sells only new books,” he I ask him what his favourite book is: counters. ”It’s not just about the latest top “Bass Saxophone by a Czech author, Josef 10 best sellers. Literature goes back 5,000 Skvoreczy,” he tells me. “It’s about how he years. I’m proud to claim that along with survived under the Soviet yoke through his new books we also have ancient Greek love of jazz and how, through music and texts here. Aristophanes, for instance, is a literature, you can overcome oppression.” wonderfully funny playwright with a lot to teach new dramatists.” I think a wizard has the right to stir things up every now and again and, with our Besides, David stresses, his is a personal support, Saltaire will continue to benefit service. He offers a 10% discount on all from the presence of this one.

1988-2000


BOOK SHOP EVENTS Historian and journalist Professor Kathryn Hughes will be appearing on 25 February to talk about her new book, Great War Britain, Bradford: Remembering 1914-18. Hugh Cornwell, ex-lead singer and lyricist of The Stranglers, will be appearing on 19 March to publicise his second novel, Arnold Drive. He’ll read from the book, with time for questions and then book signing. Cornwell has described the book as “..like Being There meets Forrest Gump

meets Father Ted”. For the publishers, Unbound, it’s “..the story of a man’s journey from innocence to experience where he discovers his moral compass isn’t always pointing the right way …” Cornwell has a background in biochemistry, music and now literature, and is always interesting in interviews. A larger venue than the Bookshop is to be confirmed as a lot of interest is expected.

BIOGRAPHY David was born and brought up in the north east London borough of Wanstead. After taking a degree in History at Essex University he came to Bradford in 1984: “..partly for romantic, partly job-related and partly course-related reasons.”. Although those reasons didn’t work out, he chose to make his home here, working in adult literacy in the late Eighties before moving on to working in and then running bookshops. After running Harry Mann’s Bookshop in Keighley in partnership with the late Clive Woods - who ran a second hand bookshop in Saltaire for many years David opened his own new and second hand bookshop on Bingley Road, Saltaire before converting part of his home at 1 Myrtle Place into the Saltaire Bookshop in 2007. David stood in 10 local elections for the Green Party from 1988 to 2000 before finally winning Shipley West Ward, then

he represented Heaton from 2004-2007. After a gap of eight years David is running again as the Green Party candidate for Heaton. David has two sons from his first marriage, both now at university. Four years ago he married Vanessa Pilny, a doctor who works at a local hospice.

9


Open From

Mon - Fri

8.30am - 5.30pm

Saturday

8.30am - 12.30pm

Jubilee motors A service you can trust

MOTs | Servicing | Breakdown Recovery | Tyres Engine Diagnostics | Repairs Servicing from £29.50 + parts

Free Collection & Delivery Service

To All Surrounding Areas

r! fe f O ial Ts T c e O Sp M +VA 0 £3

Jubilee Motors, 7 Mount Place, Saltaire Road, Shipley, BD18 3HT

Tel: 01274 530833


Gents

Hair Co.

Opening Times Monday - CLOSED Tuesday - 9am - 4.30pm Wednesday - 9am - 4.30pm Thursday - 8.30am - 7.30pm (Appointment Only)

Friday - 9am - 5.30pm Saturday - Appointment Only

101 Saltaire Road, Saltaire, BD18 3HD

Tel:

01274 589555

‘Independent property professionals in Saltaire since 1982

‘we are here to help you SELL your property’

www.cotsonreddish.co.uk

01274 533124


conversazione starters PASSIONATE SALTARIANS ROB MARTIN AND MOLLY KENYON REVEAL AMBITIOUS AND EXCITING PLANS TO BRING BACK THE SALTAIRE CONVERSAZIONE THIS YEAR AFTER A 50 YEAR ABSENCE. By MIKE FARREN When I meet Rob Martin and Molly Kenyon, I’m instantly made aware of a contrast that will be familiar to all listeners to their BCB radio show, between Rob’s earthy Bradfordian tones and Molly’s New England accent. However, it quickly becomes apparent that the contrast points up the complimentary nature of the couple as a team.

Despite the greater length of her journey, Molly was the first to arrive in Saltaire, taking advantage of its transport connections to commute to Leeds. Rob, who moved to Saltaire primarily to join her, is nevertheless enthused about being part of the community here. “I think Saltaire is certainly one of the best places I’ve lived in – or the best place I’ve lived in,” he says, particularly singling out the willingness of the residents to be actively involved in

the community, when compared to other places in which he has lived. Molly echoes his comments, “I have really appreciated contributing to life in Saltaire and finding I get more back than I have anywhere else.” It’s presumably this appreciation that has led them to throw themselves so wholeheartedly into the world of Saltaire-based charities and community groups. They have been part of the team that has organised the World Heritage Weekend since 2011, this year doing so under the auspices of the Saltaire Stories charity they were instrumental in setting up. Molly explains, “The Saltaire Stories Charity has just been established in October 2014. It was the informal organiser of the previous World Heritage Weekends, but now officially this new charity is the organiser.”


The other significant change arriving in 2015 is the fact that the World Heritage Weekend will take the form of the return of the Saltaire Conversazione, an event that previously took place eighty-four times between 1878 and 1964. I had previously been unaware of the whole concept of the Conversazione, so Rob enlightened me. “The Conversazione arose the year after Sir Titus Salt died. Titus Junior invited all the VIPs in Bradford. It was a sharing of knowledge and new technology and entertainment.” The idea of a mixture of social and educational purposes seems to have been a characteristic of the Conversazione throughout its existence, and it’s one that fits in well with Rob and Molly’s aims in Saltaire. It’s also fortunate that several things have come together to enable them to mark their half-decade with this special event. Molly says, “It’s a nice coincidence that it’s the fifth time we’ve done World Heritage Weekend. Also, International

Sites and Monuments Day is 18 April every year. It’s the first time in five years that it’s fallen on a Saturday and it’s also in term time. And Victoria Hall has just done a rebrand.” Although the idea of the Conversazione seems unfamiliar to us now, Rob comments that it was not so rare in its Victorian heyday, with numerous bodies and institutions, from Trades Unions to London gentlemen’s clubs to learned societies, branding their get-togethers in this way. He wonders if Titus Junior latched on to the idea of a conversazione as a link to Saltaire’s Italianate architecture, while Molly speculates whether the use of a foreign word might have licensed the notoriously antiintellectual English to talk, for once, about ideas. Initially, those ideas were particularly concerned with science. The first Conversazione planned a double-coup, which, as Molly explains, didn’t quite work out. “They wanted to demonstrate electricity. They’d done a lot of preparation and then it didn’t work! Fortunately, they

13


“The challenge for us is to go back to the original concept, which was this really unusual cross-over between science and art, innovation and culture, technology, entertainment… and also where you could go to engage with ideas.” had the Bell telephone as well.” The telephone was used to make a call from the Conversazione to Titus Junior’s house at Milner Field. The Conversazione remained a feature of Saltaire life, with intermittent gaps until 1964, and there are people around who still remember it. Rob tells me of someone who has described demonstrating a Hammond Organ at the final Conversazione, while Molly relates the story of “..a 92 year old whose parents lived in Lockwood Street. His mother used to wrap him up in a blanket and put him in the bedroom window and he could watch the Daimlers and Mercedes Benzes and Rolls Royces arriving as people walked in in their finery.” Over the years, however, two things appear to have happened. Firstly, the Conversazione became more social, moving away from the initial, high-minded Victorian concept. Secondly, it slowly drifted down the social calendar to the point where, in 1965, it was decided to cancel it due to lack of public support. There may be many reasons for this, but Rob suggests that “most people in the village couldn’t afford to go,” meaning that daytime entry into this year’s Conversazione is going to be free, though evening events will be charged for. The pair are also very keen to combine the social and the educational functions in the re-vamped event. Molly says, “The challenge for us is to go back to the original concept, which was this really unusual cross-over between science and art, innovation and culture, technology, entertainment… and also where you could go to engage with ideas.”

At this stage in the planning many events remain to be confirmed, but there will be a strong element of involvement from Shipley College to help with the educational thread to the weekend. “The College has always been a strong partner in World Heritage Weekend,” says Molly, “This year, health and social care students are going to demonstrate CPR and first aid; floristry students are going to do the decoration of the hall and the room; travel and tourism students are going to do the hosting and welcoming; and some IT and Centre of Excellence students may be around to show their skills.” One way in which the event will attempt to ensure that it’s not the dry, worthy event that an educational intent might suggest is by including a strong participatory element. This year, rather than a full display of the Saltaire Archive, it will showcase particular items, with volunteers choosing an item, telling its story and engaging with anyone who wants to know more about it. This, along with Shipley College’s involvement and other elements – such as practical displays of crafts or art therapy workshops – will ensure that it’s a very hands-on experience. They’re even hoping to emphasise global links to other model villages, with the possibility of a Skype link with the village of Crespi d’Adda in Italy. However, the social aspect of the Conversazione will also be strongly represented. Molly is particularly keen on a formal high tea, which she sees as a tipping of the cap towards tradition. “It’s in a beautiful setting, it’s a vintage tea, and it’s the Travelling


PHOTO BY JANE ROBERTSHAW

THE INDOOR ELEMENTS OF THE CONVERSAZIONE WILL TAKE PLACE INSIDE VICTORIA HALL ON 18 APRIL.

Tea Ladies, who are a fascinating story in themselves. Then the speakers are Nick Salt and Jamie Roberts, who like the idea of presenting their families’ connection with the mill.” For Rob, highlights will include a satirical revue, written by Eddie Lawler, and the dance, with the Sultans of Swing performing. When I point out to him that a preview of a 1950s Conversazione had said that there was little danger of ‘jive, jitterbug or bebop’, he’s quick to assure me that there will be every danger of precisely those things this time! The indoor element of the event will take place in Victoria Hall on Saturday 18 April, but on Sunday 19 Rob tells me that there’ll be a Walk in the Park, and the Canal and River Trust putting on activities along the canal. “People will be selling from their boats and they’ll be

demonstrating games that people on the canal boats used to play. And then there’ll be music in the bandstand and hopefully some sculpture.” Live alpacas and the opening of the Shipley Glen Tramway will also feature on the Sunday. One thing to bear in mind, however, is that the Conversazione is planned to return for 2015 only. “It would be too much to do every year,” says Rob, while Molly warns people thinking of going, “Don’t think, ‘I’ll go next year,’ because this is the one for now!” Unique as it seems set to remain, the Conversazione promises to be a great opportunity for Saltaire to get together, honour tradition, and celebrate everything that’s great about the village! To read more about the history of the Conversazione visit saltairevillage.info

15


AAVERY VERYLOCAL LOCAL

EDUCATION EDUCATION APPLY APPLY ONLINE NOW FOR: NOW Full-time courses starting in

OPENDAY DAY OPEN

Full-time courses starting in September Septemberoror apprenticeships apprenticeships starting throughout throughout the year starting YYoouuccaann a alslsooeennqqu oonnlilnineeffuoirirree ppaarrtt--ttiimmoer ccoouurrsseesse

FULL PART-TIMECOURSES COURSESAND AND FULL && PART-TIME APPRENTICESHIPS& &TRAINEESHIPS TRAINEESHIPS APPRENTICESHIPS

Wednesday4th4thMarch March4.30-7pm 4.30-7pm Wednesday

ExhibitionHall, Hall,Exhibition ExhibitionRoad, Road, Exhibition Saltaire,BD18 BD183JW 3JW Saltaire,

T: 01274 327327 E: enquiries@shipley.ac.uk W: www.shipley.ac.uk T: 01274 327327 E: enquiries@shipley.ac.uk W: www.shipley.ac.uk


BRADFORD BEER FESTIVAL HEAD TO VICTORIA HALL FOR A WEEKEND OF TASTY TIPPLES AND ALE APPRECIATION By Clive Weaver

The Bradford Beer Festival is heading back to Victoria Hall again, with a weekend of beer tasting and entertainment from Thursday 26 February to Saturday 28 February. The Victoria Hall venue, which has housed the Bradford Beer Festival for over a decade now, is a favourite with both organisers and attendees, providing the event with Victorian charm, excellent facilities and enough room to pack in the thirsty crowds. The festival is organised by the Bradford Branch of CAMRA (the Campaign for Real Ale), founded in the 1970s and determined to preserve traditional real ale from the standardisation of bland, pasteurised keg beer by the large brewing companies. It now has over 160,000 members, with over 1,000 in the Bradford area alone. CAMRA’s success in promoting real ale - and therefore helping small and independent breweries to thrive - can be seen at the festival, where many of Yorkshire’s finest breweries will be appearing along with many more from around the UK. The festival itself will have over 100 real

ales, organised alphabetically by brewery and spread over three bars and two floors of Victoria Hall. Besides real ale there’ll also be a bar selling traditional cider, perry and fruit wines. For those who want to try a tipple from further afield there’ll be an International Beer Bar serving draught and bottled beer from around the world. On the entertainment front there are plans for a Mighty Wurlitzer session on Thursday, a traditional brass band session on Saturday afternoon. and live music groups on Friday and Saturday evening. There’ll also be the traditional Tombola, which always proves popular. Food will be available at all sessions, as will stalls selling chocolates and crisps. There’ll be the opportunity to buy books and other printed ephemera on the subject of .. you guessed it, beer. And the chance to buy souvenir polo shirts and sweatshirts with this year’s commemorative logo celebrating the Bradford Beer Festival. These will be at the cider bar. The festival is organised and staffed entirely by volunteer CAMRA members from the Bradford branch and other branches in the area, with proceeds from unused beer tokens going to our chosen charity, which this year is the Cystic Fibrosis Trust. For more information including where to buy tickets visit www.bradfordcamra.org.uk

17 photo courtesy of camra bradford


COMING SOON...

Independent record shop, real ale, craft beer, charcuterie counter. The Record Café, 45-47 North Parade, Bradford, BD1 3JH

therecordcafe.co.uk

01274 723 143

facebook/therecordcafe

@therecordcafe

the

Bradford Review ADVERTISE@THESALTAIREREVIEW.CO.UK SUBMISSIONS@THESALTAIREREVIEW.CO.UK

Getting Married? Victoria Hall is licensed for civil ceremonies and can host smaller weddings right up to 180 to dine with 350 evening guests. We’ve a range of packages, offers and (lovely) surprises for couples planning their wedding day. (We like to look after you) More details are available on our website and we’re happy to post you a wedding brochure or arrange a site visit.

Weddings

Events

Venue Hire

www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk Registered Charity 511978


Exclusive Offer for Saltaire Review Readers!

50% Off

Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley

Tel: 01274 533 988

Your Food Bill Sunday - Thursday (Excluding February 14th & 15th)

How to Claim Your Discount

This offer is on bookings only. Customers must quote this advert when they book and bring it with them to make sure they receive their discount. Only redeemable at Tapas Tree Restaurant, Wharf House, Wharf Street, Shipley, BD17 7DW. Only One voucher per party. Cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer. Excluding 14th & 15th February. Management have the right to cancel this offer at any time. Voucher does not have any cash value. Offer subject to change without prior notice.

*Voucher Valid until 31st March 2015

JI Estates | Estate Agents | Valuers | Property Consultants

Thinking of SELLING? We have

Buyers looking for a house just like Yours

Call now for FREE marketing advice to get you moving. 67 Bingley Road, Saltaire info@jiestates.co.uk www.jiestates.co.uk

01274 533322


EXPLORING THE GREAT OUTDOORS get out more is a local charity aiming to encourage parents and children to engage in outdoor play and learning By Annie Berrington

Most adults remember playing out a lot as kids; climbing trees, building dens, endless games of war against the kids from the next street or village. Talk to anyone of a certain age and they will get misty eyed about staying out all day, playing in the woods and only coming home when they got hungry. But - as we know - somewhere along the line childhood changed and today’s generation of children

a forest school programme in Hirst Wood in Saltaire for over a year. Every school holiday children aged 5-11 years come along to enjoy adventurous woodland games, crafts and activities, or simply to let themselves and their idea ideas run wild in a beautiful woodland setting. Get Out More CIC is a social enterprise with a mission to help people engage with nature and feel better about themselves in mind and body or, as we put it - we want people to get more out of life through getting outdoors more. We run a range of creative and accessible outdoor projects with people of all ages, but forest schools remain at the heart of what we do. We’ve been running successful holiday forest schools in Bradford woodlands since 2010 and are really chuffed that hundreds of Bradford children have grown up with us, making new friends, learning new skills and enjoying just being children outdoors. In fact some have literally

“hundreds of Bradford children have grown up with us, making new friends, learning new skills and enjoying just being children outdoors.” are rarely left unsupervised outdoors for long. Increased traffic and hyped media coverage mean that parents feel safer when they know where their children are – and that’s often inside watching television or playing online games. And whilst that’s understandable, it also means that children aren’t getting the same chances to get up close with nature and enjoy the freedom of the great outdoors as we once did. Forest schools are a programme of play and learning in a woodland environment where children visit woodlands on a regular basis, supported by qualified forest school leaders. As many good educational ideas do, this came from Scandinavia as an approach to early education, but has now been adopted in the UK for people of all ages in many different settings. Get Out More CIC has been running

grown up with us, so we’ve just started a new Saturday group for 10-15 year olds, to cater for the older children who are keen to learn more grown-up stuff like making fires and green woodworking. Sessions will take place in Saltaire and Shipley woodlands, amongst other places. Learning to love nature and connecting with it through play and adventure should be part of every childhood. Saltaire is lucky to sit in the middle of a rich and diverse natural environment, so let’s just get out more and enjoy it! Get Out More’s next Saltaire forest school is 19 to 20 February. This and other programmes can be found and booked through our website www.getoutmorecic.co.uk or on www.eventbrite.co.uk -


photo by SIMON SUGDEN

photo by SIMON SUGDEN

“Forest schools are a programme of play and learning in a woodland environment where children visit woodlands on a regular basis, supported by qualified forest school leaders.”

21 photos COURTESY OF get out more


55 Bingley Road | Saltaire | BD18 4SB

01274 592280

saltaire@kmmaxfield.com www.kmmaxfield.com

Actively selling and letting in your area! Karen Maxfield has 20 years experience in selling houses locally. She was the NAEA Young Estate Agent of the Year in 2005 and the first female president of Bradford and District Auctioneers and Estate Agents in 2010. Those who already know us are aware of our outstanding customer service. Whether you are thinking of selling or letting, call us for a free valuation. Karen Maxfield, Owner of KM Maxfield


TRY our

delicious homemade BREADS

www.211thedeli.co.uk

We offer a wide variety of hot and cold sandwiches, breakfasts, fresh salads, hot meals, and our delicious homemade breads and cakes are available every day either to eat in or to take away. Hot and cold drinks are also available, including beer and wine, perfect with one of our specials. Open Monday to Wednesday, 9am - 3pm. Thursday Friday & Saturday 9am - 9pm.

01274 595081 211 Bingley Road, Saltaire, BD18 4DH


capturing the coastline painter and photographer ian burdill explains his growing passion for art and his love of the north yorkshire coast By HAIGH SIMPSON

How would you describe your art? I take photographs using a digital camera and also a 120mm 6-7 film camera and I paint in oils. Colour is the thing for me, and line, they both feature very strongly in everything I do. I try to make things striking and I separate sections of real objects to make them look false and painterly in my photographs. In my paintings I like to continue the line of objects to make what is natural appear architectural and graphic.

Paintings get done as and when. I’m lucky enough to have a high-ceilinged cellar where I have an easel permanently set up so I can pop down for ten minutes when I have an idea or spend the day down there with a bucket of coffee and an ipod, if the opportunity arises.

What inspires and influences the work you do? For my photography it’s colour. That can be anywhere and on or in anything, there are no rules. In my paintings, much as I have tried to paint a range of subjects I always come back to the east coast of Yorkshire as far up as Teesside. I love Staithes, Redcar and Whitby. Ships and boats appear all the time, they all have character and the larger vessels defy science and logic, especially container ships which most definitely should not float.

Who are your favorite artists? Photographers are easy. Ernst Haas. He can do anything from pictures of oil on water to the iconic Albuquerque Route 66 rain shot. Saul Lieter was a pioneer in colour - if anyone says photography is not art, get them a copy of Early Colour, it’s genius. William Eggleston, he made me think. If someone has taken a photograph, why do you want to go and take it as well? Take something else. He only took one shot. If it didn’t work it didn’t work, ballsy and mad as a cut snake.

When do you do most of your work? Photographs are usually taken when I’m on family holidays. I try not to take millions like I used to as I think I got on everyone’s nerves, and the results are usually just as good. I like to use my film camera most now as it makes me think about what I want to achieve and if I take two pictures a day that are worth looking at, I’m happy. I use my digital to take pictures to paint. If I get good ones I’ll use them as photographic prints no problem, a good picture is a good picture.

Famous painters are harder as there are so many that I’m in awe of. Van Gogh and Rembrandt make me happy, especially when seen in Amsterdam. People who have really influenced me though are more local. There’s my magnificent friend, the painter Paula Dunn. She was the one who gave me some oil paints and some brushes and said stop talking about wanting to paint and paint, so I did and I am so grateful. Her oils are brilliant. Also in Saltaire is the superb Koot. He is a constant source of help and inspiration and

PADDY’S HOLE by ian burdill


Port Mullgrave by ian burdill

creates some incredible images. Rob Shaw from Staithes produces some of the most striking oils I have seen. I love his work and he’s also a top bloke who has been kind enough to host me in his house for the Staithes Arts and Heritage Festival, where I showed both paintings and photography. Do you have a particular painting you are most proud or fond of ? I like one that I did of Staithes. I had an idea and set about completing it in one session. I liked it and so did other people. I also like one of Paddy’s Hole at South Gare near Redcar, as it was at the start of my continuous lines that I can’t seem to stop doing. I have a photograph of Amsterdam railway station that I’m proud of. It was the last shot of the trip, while waiting for the train out to the airport. Also one taken of a stairway in Liverpool, which is to be used as a book cover for Dr Paul Hullah’s next publication. What is your relationship with Saltaire? My sister Mandy brought me here years ago when I used to live in Edinburgh. I loved it. When I returned to Yorkshire I visited the Mill frequently and eventually ended up working there. I saw a house getting its For Sale sign put up from the window at work. I rang up and bought it. I live there with my wife and son and several other creatures. I can’t

imagine living anywhere else (Staithes maybe). Where do your ideas come from? Tricky. They just arrive when I see something I like, I can’t be more specific than that. What’s the best thing about being an artist?. I don’t know, you’ll have to ask one. I can’t refer to myself as an artist in the same way as I can’t call my pictures work. I think that title is for others to give you. I’ve been in the company of many artists and I know I have a long way to go yet. The best thing about painting and photography is that it completely absorbs me, when I am doing either I’m happy. It can’t get much better than that. What have you got going on at the moment? I’m preparing for Saltaire Arts Trail. I also have the back room at The Old Grammar School Gallery in Otley for the month of March. A gallery on the coast has expressed an interest and then it’s the Staithes Arts and Heritage Festival again.

ARTISTS WANTED

We’re looking for local artists to feature in the magazine. If you would like to be interviewed please email us at submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk

25


more than just a mill EDDIE LAWLER EXAMINES THE RICH HISTORY OF EVENTS AND CULTURE AT SALTS MILL By EDDIE LAWLER

When we Saltaire folk fall out of bed of a morning, we expect familiar surroundings which we take for granted, that’s why we feel at home. Central to that feeling is an enormous edifice crafted from local sandstone, which no longer thunders to the vibrations of manufacture but has become a familiar friend, offering books, food, antiques and a range of other delights and events in a unique environment which is ‘warm’ in every sense. It didn’t have to be like this. When the textile company finally faced the funeral music this monster might have been demolished, or

turned into flats. But Jonathan Silver took Halifax’s Dean Clough as a model and gave the Old Mill new life as a centre combining modern manufacture (PACE) with retail and leisure – and with world-ranking art, which in London or Paris would generate a long queue and a sizeable admission charge. But in contrast with Dean Clough, where much of the space is divided by panelling to create small offices, Salt’s Mill largely retains the original extensive spaces, which with a touch of Hockney colour have become exciting in themselves. Excitement has, I believe, been part of the Silver family’s thinking since Day One of ownership, and the range of special, high-quality events in the Mill’s varied spaces is impressive. It has put Saltaire on the national map of culture, and it all began with a promenade version of West Side Story in 1988 before the Mill had really completed its modern character. Thereafter we have been able to visit one-

photos by matthew cooper


“Excitement has, I believe, been part of the Silver family’s thinking since Day One of ownership” off specials at irregular intervals, which make each of them a surprise. Before his premature death Jonathan had struck up highly fruitful links with Northern Broadsides and Leeds-born poet Tony Harrison, bringing us Tony’s stunning Trackers of Oxyrynchus, his Easter Passion Play - again a promenade performance taking the audience into unknown sections of the building - and his Poetry or Bust play about John Nicholson, the ill-fated Airedale Bard. Barry Rutter’s Broadsides brought us a somewhat more successful bard, with an uproarious Merry Wives of Windsor, contrasting with the sombre Blake Morrison version of Antigone.

of art-works inspired by that once thundering and overheated workspace. What next? Dunno, but you can bet it will be exciting, and another surprise. The latest high-quality performance was the Mill’s own contribution to the commemorations of World War 1 in 2014, in the form of readings by Simon Armitage of most of his poems written for a BBC TV Culture Show Special, accompanied by footage and commentary on the making of the programme. This was held in the Hockney Gallery on the third floor, a sellout and a fitting ‘special’ for this centenary.

And it contained a big surprise, at least to this Apart from theatre and the reviewer, who was naïvely unaware perennial - and yes Jonathan, that the film was produced you guessed right - prolific and directed by none other chameleon Hockney, than Zoë Silver. Jonathan’s we have seen all sorts daughter has been rather a promenade version of events, including the busy of late producing two of west side story is Siobhan Davies Dance children, but she was still performed at the mill Company in another ‘empty’ able to come up with this space, the vivacious Vivaldi highly original and compelling quartet Red Priest in a Hockney combination of film and spoken space, a photographic gallery of word. At the time of writing, you pop-star performers in West Yorkshire, can catch the programme on the BBC and numerous readings in and beyond iPlayer under the Culture Show heading. the bookshop area, including Carol Ann Duffy - another sound bet on a rising star. 2015? Your correspondent has no clue about what the Silvers are planning next Particularly revealing to myself and Joe as a one-off. All he can say is that – bet Public has been the opening of the ‘lobby’ you! – it will be surprising and exciting, and at the very top of the Mill to various artistic will contribute to the enrichment of the events, and the Cloth and Memory event community and its reputation. All he has to of 2013 lives on in the memory of many do is fall out of bed and invite a few friends who visited the international assemblage along to t’Mill.

1988

27


The Ring O’Bells A Warm welcome to all guests, both new and old...

Lunchtime Meal Deal Monday to Friday 12 - 3pm Enjoy 2 courses for £6.95 Or 3 courses for £8.95

*Call in advance and we can have it ready for you when you arrive

Tel: 01274 584386

3 Bradford Road, Shipley, BD18 3PR


In:FOCUS

THE PICK OF THE BUNCH FROM OUR READERS’ PHOTOS THIS MONTH

PHOTO BY IWORLD PHOTOGRAPHY

PHOTO PHOTOBYBYKATIE Iworld PRIOR Photography

PHOTO BY david craig


PHOTO BY KATIE PRIOR

PHOTO BY

PHOTO BY IWORLD PHOTOGRAPHY

PHOTO BY JANE ROBERTSHAW

31 PHOTO BY STEPHEN KHABRA

PHOTO BY JANE ROBERTSHAW


BINGLEY ARTS CENTRE The Home of Bingley Little Theatre

Live Events This FEBRUARY DRAMA UNLIMITED Present...

Wed 4th - Sat 7th , 7.15pm and Saturday Matinee at 2pm , £9 (£8 conc.)

the duckegg theatre group Present...

Peter Pan Sun 8th, 6pm, £8 (£7 conc.)

Main Street, Bingley, BD16 2LZ Box Office Open 11am - 3.30pm Weekdays Tel: 01274 567983

www.bingleyartscentre.co.uk


CABARET SALTAIRE @ CAROLINE STREET SOCIAL By MAGGIE CASWELL

As I made my way to Caroline Street Social Club for Saltaire Cabaret my anticipation was somewhat clouded by the worry of getting home in the snow. However, from the moment our genial Yorkshire host Squinty McGinty began his bumbling welcome concern about the weather diminished, to be totally forgotten by the time the curtains closed on yet another triumphant creation by Shoestring Forum. During the performance the audience was often invited to participate, beginning with a resounding chorus of Deliliah led by Squinty. We were then treated to an excellent dance routine by Scandalous Productions, followed by the hilarious Madame Zucchini who gave a unique Vegetable Theatre rendition of Pirates of the Carrot-Bean, featuring the infamous Captain Jack Marrow and a brave volunteer from the floor. We’d just about recovered our breath when Squinty’s cousin Billy

Button made his appearance and we were once again rolling in the aisles at his jokes, before joining in the chorus of crazy songs about dog poo and friendship. This was followed by a moving rendition of Anyone Who Had A Heart, beautifully sung by Charlie Hardwick - Emmerdale’s Val Pollard. She then partnered up with Squinty to perform Je t’aime and the room once again rocked with laughter as Squinty cavorted and contorted, the steam practically rising from beneath his flat hat. After a welcome interval we were introduced to Precious Cleaver, a woman closely resembling Billy - who, with deadpan expression, proceeded to perform two such hilarious songs about the end of the world that I thought I was going to die laughing! She was followed by Perry Comover, who looked like Steve Huison in a wig but sang just like Perry Como and had us splitting our sides when Mike Snakefinger Nicholas,


Gerry Cooper & Phil Snell @ IRREGULAR ROOTS 14 feb, KIRKGATE CENTRE

By JOE GRINT

PHOTOS BY JACK SMITH

talented resident keyboard player, joined in – tunelessly – with the singing. As a grand finale Bradford’s dazzling musicians the Cajun Aces had us all up and dancing in the aisles until the end of a truly brilliant night. I confess this was not my first Cabaret – and it certainly won’t be my last. So make sure you don’t miss out – become a member of the Cabaret, get tickets at a reduced rate - email squintymcginty@czeztikovbrothers.com - and then come along to the next gig on 27 March, featuring the New Rope String band plus the world famous Czeztikov Brothers with Gary the Amazing Psychic Goat-Boy. Tickets are also available at the Club. See you there!

reviewers WANTED

We’re looking for people to send in their reviews of local events. To feature in the next issue please email us at submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk

Make a date for some blues on Valentine’s Day when Shipley’s own Gerry Cooper on guitars and harmonica and his musical partner Phil Snell on mandolin and fiddle will be visiting the Kirkgate Centre in Shipley for the latest in the Kirkgate Irregular Roots series of concerts. Featuring ragtime, jugband and country blues styles Gerry and Phil will be presenting a programme of songs and tunes old and new, accompanied by amiable banter and underpinned by many years experience in a wide range of musical genres. With their new CD Truckin’ On Happy recently released - following on from their critically acclaimed Winding Boy & Other Tall Tales - there’ll be a wealth of new interpretations to enjoy as well as old favourites loved by their many fans. Supporting the duo will be Skinner & T’witch, a Leeds based duo performing inspirational songs with driving rhythms and intense harmonies. With organic bottled real ales and organic wines amongst other drinks behind the bar, plus a relaxing and informal atmosphere and great music, what better way to spend the evening!

35


Golden ~ Cabinet presents

22 Feb 2015

7 March 2015

Bash

out there techno with releases on Opal tapes

Karen Anonymous Gwyer Charles Hayward presents

Charles Hayward of This Heat presents his project involving members of Gnod & 2 Koi Karp

The Family Elan crazy folk from crazy people

Hey Colossus the boys that play heavy

Magpahi dream time folk

The Kirkgate Centre 39a Kirkgate

Golden ~ Cabinet

Shipley BD18 3EH goldencabinet.co.uk

facebook.com/goldencabinetuk

twitter.com/goldencabinetuk


BOURBON Y TEQUILA @NOCHE LATINA

13 FEB, CAROLINE ST SOCIAL CLUB By GARY MILLER

Noche Latina provides a wonderful taste of latin music and dance in the heart of the village, down at Caroline Social Club on the second Friday of every month. This month, on Friday 13 February Noche Latina presents the live band Bourbon Y Tequila, another fabulous local band whose repertoire of mainly original tunes, with a dash of salsa classics thrown in for good measure, has earned them an impressive reputation with audiences around the UK and across Europe. Led by the fabulous trumpeter Enrico

OBJEKT/MESH

@GOLDEN CABINET 7 FEB, KIRKGATE CENTRE By DAMIAN JONES

After a short break for Christmas and New Year gluttony it’s now time for another feast of experimental tuneage at Shipley’s Golden Cabinet. The first of three gigs in the next couple of months, Saturday 7 February sees the highly rated Objekt headline with an eclectic DJ set. He nominally plays techno, but of an Aphex-y kind that’s forever moving through genres. The music encompasses all of the variations available under the techno umbrella. Flowing through dubstep, trance, ambient, hip-hop and funk, Objekt can be one minute dark and moody, the next fluffy and light. If you have any interest in electronica you are bound to find something of interest in his

Marchesi, Bourbon y Tequila strike up a scorching salsa rhythm mixing timeless classics and Enrico’s own compositions to create a truly joyful experience. The band are sure to get the audience on their feet and dancing in no time, resulting in a happy and exciting atmosphere. Along with the live music there’ll be the usual dance classes at the start of the evening for both beginners and the more advanced, with one of our regular dance teachers, the marvelous Om. Noche Latina is always an all-dancing affair with non-stop music from both the live band and our resident DJ, so please come along and join the fun. Doors open at 8pm with the dance class starting soon, after so come early. If you want to know more and be kept up to date with future events, join us on our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/nochelatinasaltaire

set. Currently one of the most innovative DJs in Europe, with the ever-engrossing visual backdrops supplied by the GC crew this should be a stunning show. Ably supporting are Objekt labelmate M.E.S.H. and Negra Branca. M.E.S.H. loves to stick his beats on the top of some rather glossy and smooth backdrops, creating contrasting moods within the same track and often at the same time. Don’t get too comfy. To ease us in, a blissful live set from Negra Branca. With a mighty blend of melodic pop harmonies, chants, psychedelic electronic washes and deep bass, it’s an excellent and immersive live audio experience. This promises to be another top-notch night at the Kirkgate Centre, Shipley. If it sounds like your sort of thing take a look at the website - www.goldencabinet. 37


WHAT’S ON?

find out what’s happening in the area this month

sunday 1ST feb Shipley Film Society Family Matinee 3.30pm, Kirkgate Centre Chitty Chitty Bang Bang: A chirpy inventor succeeds in making a flying car. It’s not long before it’s spotted by an evil foreign dictator who wants it for his own dastardly plans. A daytime special for families. Reduced price for those in Chitty Chitty Bang Bangthemed fancy dress! www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

Shipley Film Society 7.30pm, Kirkgate Centre Micmacs Cert12A: From the director of Delicatessen and Amelie, Micmacs is an inventive and slightly surreal French comedy which follows Bazil, a man who has lost everything to weapons of war, in his revenge against two giant weapons manufacturers. www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

wednesday 4TH feb Saltaire Fine Arts & Decorative Society Lecture 2-3pm, Victoria Hall This month’s lecture is The Private Palaces of Cote D’Azur, by Nicholas Merchant. www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk

friday 6th feb Victoria Hall Movie Nights: The Big Lebowski (18)

7pm, Victoria Hall This Coen Brothers classic begins with mistaken identity, as we follow the Dude and his bowling buddies Walter and Donnie on a weird tale of intrigue, kidnapping, pornography, nihilists, White Russians and more White Russians. www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk

Saltaire Cricket Club Table Top Sale 10am-1pm, Victoria Hall A wide variety of stalls selling a host of treasures! From collectable antiques, toy cars and books to clothing and more. All proceeds go towards helping the Club. www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk

thursday 12th feb

saturday 7th feb

Saltaire WI: Craft Stations 7:30 p.m, St Peter’s Church Hall

Objekt / M.E.S.H. / Negra Branca 7pm, Kirkgate Centre

Saltaire WI meet on the second Thursday of each month. This month, join us for a selection of hands-on craft activities with a Valentine’s theme. All welcome. www.saltairewi.co.uk

Berlin-based Objekt will be the first to headline at a Golden Cabinet event with a DJ set. He’ll be supported by M.E.S.H., plus Gnod’s Marlene Ribeiro performing solo as Negra Branca. www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

friday 13th feb Noche Latina presents Bourbon Y Tequila 8pm, Caroline Social Club

sunday 8th feb Pasta-Making Workshop 11am-2pm, Kirkgate Centre

Noche Latina returns with live music from Bourbon Tequila, red hot Salsa for the dance floor. www.facebook.com/nochelatinasaltaire

Native Italian Poala teaches how to make pasta - £12 per person, all ingredients for pasta and sauce included, everyone welcome. www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

THE DUCKEGG THEATRE GROUP PRESENT PETER PAN 6PM, BINGLEY ARTS CENTRE a brand new family musical, ‘Peter Pan’, adapted from the J.M. Barrie classic by award winning playwright Haley Cox with music by Phil Collingwood. www.bingleyartscentre.co.uk

saturday 14th feb Kirkgate Irregular Roots 8pm, Kirkgate Centre Featuring ragtime, jugband and country blues styles - multiinstrumentalists Gerry Cooper and Phil Snell will be presenting a programme of songs and tunes old and new. Supporting will be Skinner & T’witch, a Leeds-based

SEND US YOUR EVENT LISTINGS...

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first serve basis.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


duo performing inspirational songs with driving rhythms and intense harmonies www.facebook.com/ Kirkgateirregularroots

6th february

Sunday 15th feb Victoria Hall: Wedding Open Day 11am–3pm, Victoria Hall Whether you’re thinking of choosing us, are already booked to hold your special day here, or if you’re yet to decide if we’re the venue for you, pop in to see how we can provide the perfect canvas for your wedding day in Saltaire. www.victoriahallsaltaire.co.uk

thursday 19th feb Saltaire Holiday Forest School 10am-2pm Hirst Wood, Hirst Lane Two day programme of outdoor play and adventure in the woods for children aged 5-11 years, with Get Out More forest schools, including den building, games, crafts and campfire. Book in advance. www.getoutmorecic.co.uk

Pleasure Grounds 7.45pm, Caroline Street Social Club Pleasure Grounds Present: Flash Bang Band, The Orielles, Bearfoot Beware, Otti Albietz And The Voices, DJ Verd . Three man lift-up psychpop unit from Brighton. Heavy but Happy! www.facebook.com/PleshaGrowwndz

saturday 21st feb Lego Fun Day 1.30pm - 4pm, Kirkgate centre The main hall of the Kirkgate Centre is filled with Lego, Kinex, Meccano for children (and parents), creating all kinds of amazing things. www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

Saltaire Live presents Michael McGoldrick, John McCusker & John

PICK OF THE MONTH Victoria Hall Movie Nights: The Big Lebowski This Coen Brothers classic begins with the mistaken identity, as we follow the Dude and his bowling buddies Walter and Donnie on a weird tale of intrigue, kidnapping, pornography, nihilists, White Russians and more White Russians. A licensed bar serving a range of drinks and snacks will make sure this is an evening well spent. All Tickets cost £5 and are available from Victoria Hall or by post (£1 per order). To book your tickets, call us on 01274 327305 or pop in to the venue!

Doyle 7.30pm, Victoria Hall Together, this trio are the very cream of traditional music, playing songs and tunes with a spark & fire that is surely as good as it gets.

Front Room Disco 8pm, Kirkgate Centre Front Room Disco brings you an eclectic alternative mix of music. Covering indie, alternative, ska, reggae, punk, disco and 80s pop. A bar serves local ales, quality wines and soft drinks. www.kirkgatecentre.org.uk

wednesday 25th feb Kathryn Hughes 7pm, Saltaire Book Shop Professor Kathryn Hughes talks about her new book, Great War Britain, Bradford: Remembering 1914-18.

thursday 26th feb CAMRA Beer Festival 2015 Various, Victoria Hall

Victoria Hall are proud to be hosting Bradford’s most popular beer festival. With over 100 real ales, cider & perry, fruit wines and international beers, it’s an unmissable extravaganza of love for traditional pubs, independent breweries and amazingly good brews!

Saturday 28 Feb Doodle Club 2.30pm, Kirkgate Centre A new club art club for children and families Sessions are run by the friendly folk at Sponge Tree, who provide plentiful materials, tuition and inspiration. £2 per child or £4 per family. www.sponge-tree.com

Shipley Record Club 8pm, Kirkgate Centre This month a space-themed evening of records and chat. www.recordclub.org.uk

39


Weekly events

YOUR GUIDE TO ongoing events in and around saltaire MONDAYS General Knowledge Quiz

The Ring O’ Bells

8PM

General knowledge pub quiz with prizes

URC Bell Ringers

United Reformed Church

7PM

Bell ringing club practice session

Rainbow Morris Dancers

Shipley Resource Centre

7pm

North West tradition morris dancing club

ZUMBA

Victoria Hall

7pm

Latin-inspired dance fitness party

Ballroom Dancing

Victoria Hall

8PM

Dancing class for beginners and improvers

Line Dancing

Caroline Street Social Club 7.30pm Line Dancing classes, anyone welcome

SALTAIRE STRIDERS

Caroline Street Car Park

7pm

Club training and beginners sessions

Bradford Chorale

Saltaire Methodist Church

7PM

Leading choral society practice session

Taekwondo

Victoria Hall

4.30pm Self-defence class for all abilities

Ki-Rin Karate

Victoria Hall

6pm

SLIMMING WORLD CLUB

Caroline Street Social Club 9AM

General Knowledge Quiz

VM Lounge, Victoria Mills 8.30pm General knowledge quiz with prizes

TUESDAYS

Karate classes for all ages and abilities Weight-loss support group

WEDNESDAYS ROLL BACK THE CARPET

Victoria Hall

8.15PM Appalachian clog dancing group

BuddhaLand

Kirkgate Centre

7.30PM Drop-in meditation session

YOGA

Kirkgate Centre

6.10pm Class based on Ashtanga Vinyasa flow yoga.

Shipley Acting Workshop

Kirkgate Centre

7pm

Workshops exploring acting techniques

Owlet Dance

Kirkgate Centre

1pm

A tea dance for the over 50s

General Knowledge Quiz

The Rosse, Saltaire

9PM

Pub quiz with open the box raffle

SALTAIRE STRIDERS

Outside Nuffield Health

7PM

Club training session for distance runners

Diddi Dance

Kirkgate Centre

9.30aM Dancing and coordination games for children

All For One Community Choir

Victoria Hall

7.30PM No auditions, just come and sing.

tHURSDAYS

SEND US YOUR EVENT LISTINGS...

If you have an event you would like to feature in our listings please email submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk. All listings are free of charge and are administered on a first come first serve basis.

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


Advertise in WHERE DO WE DELIVER?

Every month we deliver around 1,500 magazines to residential areas including every house in Saltaire and all 450+ apartments in the Victoria Mills complex. We also deliver magazines to over 100 high footfall venues in Saltaire, Shipley, Baildon and Bingley including shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, medical centres, libraries, tourist information and Salts Mill.

WHAT IS OUR READERSHIP?

We print just over 3,000 copies of the magazine each month, generating a readership of over 10,000.

WHAT IS the cost?

Advertising space starts from as little as £40 per month and we offer packages to suit all budgets with a free design service and discounts for up-front payment and longer term commitments. See below for our standard rates card...

STANDARD ADVERTS

PREMIUM ADVERTS

Full Page: £169

Back Page: £369

Half Page: £99

Page Three: £299

Quarter Page: £59

Inside Cover: £279

*10% discount for up-front payment *5% off for each additional month (up to six months)

Festival Publications LTD | Company Registration Number: 09017770 | 28 Rhodes Street, Saltaire, BD18 3JJ | Registered in England


amazingly talent Beardyman! They were interesting. What’s your biggest ambition?

My biggest ambition is that huge it can’t really be conceptualised or expressed using words. *Does a little Dance* Sadly my improvised dance of ambition is lost in print media, but trust me it was amazing. You have developed and been involved in a number of interesting projects in the past, are there any that stand out?

DAn carroll

I loved the Saltaire Live Lounge we organised as part of the Saltaire Festival. Musicians were invited to perform in people’s front rooms. Also the Guinness World Record we set for continuous broadcasting on BCB Radio, and the audio tour of Bradford’s history and architectural symbolism.

Who are you and what do you do?

Do you have any interesting ideas or projects going on at the moment?

QUICK-FIRE QUESTIONs

It’s a question I often ask myself but a starting point would be Daniel Carroll, broadcaster, father, runner and proud Bradfordian. I work at BCB Radio 106.6FM, where I train people to make radio. I also present the Electric Breakfast with my partner in crime Stephen Newsham and play electronic music on a Friday night at midnight What’s your relationship with Saltaire?

Me and Saltaire have been ‘going steady’ since 2006. It was a match made in heaven. She had the beauty and I had the intrigue. It’s not Facebook official just yet though so shhh don’t tell Titus. Who’s the most interesting person you’ve ever interviewed on the radio?

There’s this guy who runs the Saltaire Review, he’s an inspiration. Other broadcast highlights include Countdown’s Rachel Riley. SCHWING! And Time Team’s Tony Robinson, and the

I’ve just finished my first screenplay and we are about to launch a new radio / podcast / music blog project. Oh and my girlfriend is expecting our third child, which is rather exciting. Who would be your dream co-host?

It would depend on the type of programme, but If you’re pushing me for an answer then Mike Myers in character as Wayne from Wayne’s World. I think I would make a great Garth! We’d call the show asphinctersayswhat? Late night talk show format! What is the most embarrassing this that’s ever happened to you on air?

I don’t get embarrassed very easily but I once challenged a Hip Hop MC for a RAP OFF live on German radio. I dropped some improvised lyrics and asked him to take me on. He just looked at me like I was weird and walked off. Really I think he knew he was out of his depth!

SEND US YOUR STORY

If you know someone who has something interesting to say, why not get in touch? email us at submissions@thesaltairereview.co.uk

Find us on social media...

@saltairereview

facebook.co.uk/thesaltairereview


For expert advice with:

Wills |Family | Probate | Matrimonial Conveyancing | Court of Protection Lasting Powers of Attorney and Personal Injury Matters

Free Home Visits Available

www.atkinsonfirth.co.uk

Accreditations: Fenix House, New Kirkgate, Shipley West Yorkshire, BD18 3QY

Tel: 01274 584305 info@atkinsonfirth.co.uk


Profile for The Saltaire Review

The Saltaire Review Issue Five | February 2015  

A community magazine and what's on guide for Saltaire, West Yorkshire.

The Saltaire Review Issue Five | February 2015  

A community magazine and what's on guide for Saltaire, West Yorkshire.

Advertisement