__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 2

VOL. 27 // ISSUE 07

Copy Editor Kat Marusiak kat@ufvcascade.ca

Production Assistant Renée Campbell renee@ufvcascade.ca

Production Assistant Uyen Nguyen uyen@ufvcascade.ca

News Editor Jessica Barclay jessica@ufvcascade.ca

Opinion Editor Carissa Wiens carissa@ufvcascade.ca

Culture & Events Editor Cassie de Jong cassie@ufvcascade.ca

Arts in Review Editor Martin Castro martin@ufvcascade.ca

Multimedia Editor Mikaela Collins mikaela@ufvcascade.ca

Digital Media Manager Jeff Mijo-Burch jeff@ufvcascade.ca

Illustrator Simer Haer Illustrator Cory Jensen

Sports Writer Alex Jesus Staff Writer Andrea Sadowski

8

4

10-11

Staff Writer Darien Johnson

Event Reporter Alexandra Johnson

Staff Writer Julie Bond

Social Media Writer Laurel Logan

Staff Writer Caleb Silveira

Social Media Writer Uyen Nguyen

CONTRIBUTORS Chandy Dancey Aleister Gwynne Jenny Postma Denaye Reinhardt Christopher Smith Cover Design: Mikaela Collins Back Cover: UFV Career Centre & BCFS

WWW.UFVCASCADE.CA

ARTS

Illustrator Kayt Hine

OPINION

Production Manager Elyssa English elyssa@ufvcascade.ca

NEWS

Managing Editor Jessica Barclay jessica@ufvcascade.ca

CONTENTS

FEATURE

Business Manager Quintin Stamler quintin@ufvcascade.ca

Creative Director Joel Robertson-Taylor joel@ufvcascade.ca

CULTURE

Executive Editor (interim) Cat Friesen cat@ufvcascade.ca

18

12 9.......Events Calendar

Snapshots.......8 Study Break.......15 @UFVCASCADE FACEBOOK.COM/UFVCASCADE INSTAGRAM.COM/UFVCASCADE Volume 27 · Issue 07 Room S2111 33844 King Road Abbotsford, BC V2S 7M8 604.854.4529 The Cascade is UFV’s autonomous student newspaper. It originated under its current name in 1993, and achieved autonomy from the university and the Student Union Society in 2002. This means that The Cascade is a forum for UFV students to have their journalism published in an entirely student-run setting. It also acts as an alternative press for the Fraser Valley. The Cascade is funded with UFV student funds, and is overseen by the Cascade Journalism Society Board, a body run by a student majority. The Cascade is published every Wednesday with a print circulation of 1,000 and is distributed at Abbotsford, Chilliwack (CEP), Clearbrook, and Mission UFV campuses and throughout the surrounding communities. The Cascade is open to written, photo, and design work from all students; these can come in the form of a pitch to an editor, or an assignment from an editor. Writers meetings are held every Monday at 2:30 p.m. in The Cascade’s office on the Abbotsford campus. In order to be published in the newspaper, all work must first be approved by The Cascade’s editor-in-chief, copy editor, and corresponding section editor. The Cascade reserves the right to edit submissions for clarity and length. The Cascade will not print any articles that contain racist, sexist, homophobic or libellous content. Letters to the editor, while held to the same standard, are unedited, and should be under 200 words. As The Cascade is an autonomous student publication, opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect that of UFV, The Cascade’s staff and collective, or associated members.

2

19.......CIVL Shuffle

NEWS 4......Building D renovations

VP students presentation.......3

OPINION Saving money.......5 Dear Robin.......7

6.......Editorial 6.......Ending racism

CULTURE LNAP at UFV......12 Gender Revolution.......14

13.......UFV speaks 13.......Cascade Kitchen

SPORTS Men's basketball.......16

16.......Wrestling

ARTS ROMA.......17 Green Fuzz.......18

18......Other people's problems 19......Thank U, Next

Profile for The Cascade

The Cascade Vol.27 Iss.07  

The Cascade Vol.27 Iss.07  

Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded